Back to Tuxera NTFS page
Tuxera NTFS free download for Mac

Tuxera NTFS Reviews

03 September 2021

NTFS driver developed from the popular open-source NTFS-3G driver.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Naoh
Naoh
Sep 3 2021
2020.1
0.0
Sep 3 2021
0.0
Version: 2020.1
Tuxera NTFS 2020.2 is now available.
rick-brands
rick-brands
Aug 8 2021
2020.1
0.0
Aug 8 2021
0.0
Version: 2020.1
It's been delaying playback pretty much every few seconds, whenever I'm playing music from my NTFS drive, or watching a movie - which is incredibly annoying. Also, it takes a tremendously long time to load the folders on that drive whenever I want to browse it. And yes, it's clearly Tuxera's fault, as I've recently replaced this dysfunctional app I paid good money for with a trial version of another 'NTFS for Mac' application, and everything's been running perfectly, without any lag whatsoever. A waste of money, and the source of a lot of frustration.
mjdembski
mjdembski
Jun 7 2021
2020.1
0.0
Jun 7 2021
0.0
Version: 2020.1
So far not working. I formatted a drive using the MAC disk utility and when reattached it could not recognize the drive. Formatted using Windows and it could see and recognize the drive. However when I renamed the drive and added files to it, neither showed when drive reattached. Shame on me for not getting the trial version first. So far I just wasted money and time trying to get it to work.
vasiliyvs45
vasiliyvs45
Dec 1 2019
2019
0.0
Dec 1 2019
0.0
Version: 2019
Hello. I am writing a negative review about this program. I enclose screenshots of correspondence with macsupport@tuxera.com, as well as repair receipts, after installing their program. This program erased the bootloader in the BIOS. I had to pay an overhaul. Tuxera is in no hurry to offset these costs. I also suffered work losses, but I ask you to compensate for the repair of my MacBook. http://joxi.ru/D2PGxW5IqGl3Dm http://joxi.ru/xAe6ndqURo79Jr http://joxi.ru/DrlR8n4iVp5Lv2 If anyone is interested in detailed correspondence, I can forward it to your email. http://joxi.ru/l2ZE5BOizpOgNm
ozgubulut
ozgubulut
Nov 16 2019
2019
0.0
Nov 16 2019
0.0
Version: 2019
Never download even the try out version of this sticky software. I made this mistake and even after deleting it keeps on asking me to delete. Terrible.
Thomas-U
Thomas-U
Jan 29 2019
2018
1.0
Jan 29 2019
1.0
Version: 2018
Tuxera 2018 seems to be broken under 10.14.3...
Mcr
Mcr
Dec 26 2018
2018
5.0
Dec 26 2018
5.0
Version: 2018
As of Dec 2018, the price for one license is actually only $18 USD, not the $31 listed on this page. And all updates/upgrades free for life, AND one license covers ALL your Macs, if for personal or non-commercial use. Latest update supports Mojave.

Compare that to the Pa@#$n NTFS product price of $21 per license, ONE LICENSE PER MACHINE, plus update fees (about $15) every time Apple issues a new macOS. There are some who say the Pa@#$n NTFS is faster, I can't say; Tuxera is 'fast enough' for my purposes; YMMV. I tried the Pa@#$n NTFS product about 5 years ago, after install and reboot, my Bootcamp disappeared
kolkataroy
kolkataroy
Sep 22 2018
2018
4.0
Sep 22 2018
4.0
Version: 2018
good but not work
TCalhau
TCalhau
Feb 16 2018
2016.1
4.5
Feb 16 2018
4.5
Version: 2016.1
The new version is Tuxera NTFS 2018. See: https://www.tuxera.com/blog/tuxera-ntfs-for-mac-2018-supports-high-sierra/
mightaswell-72
mightaswell-72
Jun 22 2017
2016.1
0.0
Jun 22 2017
0.0
Version: 2016.1
i Just received toshiba canvio 5tb from amazon comes with NTFS 2015.2 expired developer certification May 2, 2017. Not sure if I should trust and install anyway I have Yosemite 10.10.5 Should i send back? Should i install newer version of NTFS?
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
Apr 25 2017
2016.1
0.0
Apr 25 2017
0.0
Version: 2016.1
Version 2016.1 is from November 2016. Not sure why it's showing up as new?
TCalhau
TCalhau
Mar 24 2017
2016
4.5
Mar 24 2017
4.5
Version: 2016
In my modest opinion this is the best application of the genre.
ben-marko
ben-marko
Mar 11 2016
2015.3
0.0
Mar 11 2016
0.0
Version: 2015.3
With the last update, there is a new application installed called Tuxera Disk Manager. This is what allows reformatting to NTFS.

When you format a drive you will need to unmount the drive before you hit the "format" button. Also, there isn't any progress bar so just be patient, it will look like it isn't doing anything, but it will finish. I tested this on a Silicon-Power 2TB external HD and an 8GB PNY flash drive.

And a huge bonus...(at least I hadn't noticed it before if it was there) it now supports formatting to ext2/3/4. Yay!
john-lewis504
john-lewis504
Mar 8 2016
2015.1
4.0
Mar 8 2016
4.0
Version: 2015.1
Paragon is good however I prefer Tuxera NTFS more. Waiting for its El Capitan support
eshareload
eshareload
Feb 16 2016
2015.1
3.5
Feb 16 2016
3.5
Version: 2015.1
From the Tuxera vs Paragon NFTS comparison (http://macntfs.com), Tuxera reveals more strengths. Just the price is still very high for simple using. They should provide more discount campaigns as Paragon does.
Atlanx
Atlanx
Jan 12 2016
2015.1
5.0
Jan 12 2016
5.0
Version: 2015.1
Works very well and all updates are free.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Nov 3 2015
2015
4.5
Nov 3 2015
4.5
Version: 2015
Without any doubt this is the best application of the genre.
rkmani21
rkmani21
Jul 21 2015
2014
5.0
Jul 21 2015
5.0
Version: 2014
Been using Tuxera for nearly 6 months and find it really stable. No nagging issues.
cmdr-spaceraygun
cmdr-spaceraygun
Apr 2 2015
2014
4.5
Apr 2 2015
4.5
Version: 2014
Prior to finding this commercial NTFS driver for OSX, I tried the free-as-in-beer driver from Seagate.com. My USB mounted and NTFS formatted Seagate HDD, however, would not be seen by the utility. No such issues with Tuxera. I got going quickly with no issues.
Welandr
Welandr
Mar 1 2015
2014
1.0
Mar 1 2015
1.0
Version: 2014
I THOUGHT OPEN SOURCE IS FOR FREE ? BACK UP.....MUCH TO EXp...
Steffan-M-
Steffan-M-
Dec 25 2014
2014
3.5
Dec 25 2014
3.5
Version: 2014
Well, not impressed MacUpdate Desktop on this. I am running Lion. First thing MUD wants to do is update Tuxera from 2013 to 2014. No info to the contrary I figured why not. Install process stops and asks for 2014 disk which of course I don't have. No way to cancel the install. Why? This is both a fault with Tuxera and MUD. Thanks but no thanks. Otherwise Tuxera has been great. Just back with MUB and this kind of problem is familiar. One reason I terminated before.
Atlanx
Atlanx
Dec 13 2014
2014
5.0
Dec 13 2014
5.0
Version: 2014
Just works.
Mcoyle
Mcoyle
Dec 12 2014
2014
0.0
Dec 12 2014
0.0
Version: 2014
This works great, but it's frustrating that NTFS (and ext3, etc) aren't r/w supported out of the box by the OS. It's so backwards thinking by Apple.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Oct 24 2014
2014
4.5
Oct 24 2014
4.5
Version: 2014
I bought and am really enjoying it! Three reasons made ​​me buy the product: 1 I need; 2 Works perfectly; 3 The license grants lifetime updates! My Tuxera: http://cl.ly/YD2h/Tuxera2014.png
TCalhau
TCalhau
Oct 20 2014
2014
4.5
Oct 20 2014
4.5
Version: 2014
Strange, very strange! When you click buy Tuxera NTFS for Mac appears not 2014. Instead appears Tuxera NTFS for Mac 2013! But I'm not going to buy from the 2013 version and Yes from the 2014 version. Need to fix this!
anonymous-mollusk-5346
anonymous-mollusk-5346
Apr 2 2014
2013.2
0.0
Apr 2 2014
0.0
Version: 2013.2
I wrote to Tuxera Customer Support requesting clarification on the licensing terms, and this was the response: "At the moment all our registered users are entitled to any upcoming updates/upgrades for free and we are not planning to change it." That seems pretty unequivocal. This combined with the fact that the license is per owner (ie. all computers personally owned) and not per computer makes it a better deal than Paragon's offering, despite the higher ticket price.
Visor
Visor
Oct 23 2013
2012.3.6
4.5
Oct 23 2013
4.5
Version: 2012.3.6
Latest version is now 2013.2 - the above link is out of date. Try this one instead: http://www.tuxera.com/products/tuxera-ntfs-for-mac/
kohly
kohly
Jan 25 2013
2012.3.4
5.0
Jan 25 2013
5.0
Version: 2012.3.4
OMG!!!! This app is a life saver!!! I have spent the last 7 days trying to fix the issue of my flexgo drive, thought I had lost 5 years worth of work, and as a 3D graphics designer, that is your worst nightmare! Long story short, downloaded & installed this, problem solved, I can now access it again!! Total business and life saver, a definite must have for anyone who uses ANY Seagate products for extra storage on a Mac!
Freddy-Moncada
Freddy-Moncada
Aug 11 2012
2012.3.3
5.0
Aug 11 2012
5.0
Version: 2012.3.3
Excellent software, work flawlessly on Mountain Lion, it even repair some problems on my NTFS external disk, Congrats to the developer team!!! The only observation its that I don't see and automatic updates.
Heliozoa
Heliozoa
Aug 11 2012
2012.3.3
0.0
Aug 11 2012
0.0
Version: 2012.3.3
Can anyone please comment on the differences of Tuxera NTFS and Paragon's similar offering? Does anyone know how Tuxera handles licenses? * Is there license a "lifetime" license * Is there license valid for a certain period of time during which they provide free upgrades? Or do you need to buy every new version? * How is there upgrade policy? Do you have to buy every new version you need for full price or is there an upgrade discount for previous customers? Thanks in advance for any feedback on this!
JBX
JBX
Jul 29 2012
2012.3.2
0.0
Jul 29 2012
0.0
Version: 2012.3.2
Not working under Mountain Lion.
novalue
novalue
May 27 2012
2012.3.2
5.0
May 27 2012
5.0
Version: 2012.3.2
NTFS disk image created is really fast
Ozron
Ozron
Apr 18 2012
2012.3.1
0.0
Apr 18 2012
0.0
Version: 2012.3.1
I'm running Lion fine so far with 2011.4.2. Can someone please tell me why I should upgrade to 2012.3.1?
Dimac
Dimac
Mar 7 2012
2011.4.2
4.0
Mar 7 2012
4.0
Version: 2011.4.2
Just downloaded and installed. So far, so good and worked seamlessly. Will update if things changed.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Jul 5 2011
2011.4
0.0
Jul 5 2011
0.0
Version: 2011.4
Why no Sparkle (version checking) support?
Pedro-Fardilha
Pedro-Fardilha
Dec 12 2009
2009.10
0.0
Dec 12 2009
0.0
Version: 2009.10
Humm... Does this mean that from now on, NTFS-3G will be treated as a second class citizen?