Back to Airlock page
Airlock free download for Mac

Airlock Reviews

1.5b1
27 July 2010

Auto-lock your Mac when your iPhone/iPod Touch goes out of range.

Xco
01 December 2009

Most helpful

Nice idea. But after 20 minutes of trying, still can't get it to work as advertised. I am running 10.6.2 on a 2008 Intel MacBook Pro.
Like (1)
Version 1.0

Read 19 Airlock User Reviews

Rate this app:

-M-S-
23 June 2011
A post from the developer on the current status of AirLock: http://support.themha.com/discussions/announcements/2-status-of-airlock
Like
Version 1.5b1
mbriney
24 January 2011
Buyer beware. I used Airlock and the application would sometimes not recognize my phone instantly. I would enter my password to unlock the machine. Unfortunately in doing this it disables the screensaver completely! Left the office for the weekend and the screensaver never activated causing the image I had up to be burned into my LCD. Bad product and I would not recommend it.
Like (1)
Version 1.5b1
niewiesznic-1
18 January 2011
Well, cool idea, but... I cant even install the app. It hangs System Preferences during attempt to install it. Its useless.
Like
Version 1.5b1
Section8
22 April 2010
This is the coolest app on the face of the earth, while bluetooth does drain your battery dry on both an iPhone and a MBP), if this is not an issue for you, Airlock is fantastic! just disable bluetooth when you need that extra juice.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Frankns
17 December 2009
There may be a conflict between Airlock and the OSX ScreenSaver. When the regular time-out on my screen-saver kicks in, it is set to lock the screen. But when Airlock has also locked my screen AND I do not have my iPhone nearby, I click on the unlock padlock in the lower right portion of my screen BUT I cannot get the cursor into the Airlock dialog box. I cannot enter my password and am stuck. Ugh. The solution -- so far -- has been a restart.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Blueillusion
12 December 2009
Almost great app! Everything seemed to work perfect but my mac wont go to sleep if airlock is on. I already e-mail the developer and hopefully they will fix it some time soon as its very important to me that my mac goes to sleep automatically as scheduled. For now im not using it because of that. Is anyone else experiencing this issue?
Like
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Blueillusion
Blueillusion
29 January 2010
The sleep issue has been solved. It appears that airlock wasn't getting along with some other app preventing imac to sleep. As i have deleted few apps i am not sure which one was causing issues with airlock.
Like
Version 1.0.1
kkereta
10 December 2009
great, add an option to lock the screen when going outside of the wireless network :)
Like
Version 1.0
Michaelfuchs
10 December 2009
Easy setup, works like a charm and is ever so cool - especially when running random "welcome back" AppleScripts (Text-to-Speech, check email, etc.) upon your return. Would be nice if we could customise the locked screen, but I'm sure that'll come...(?) Didn't really NEED this, but it was cheap enough to buy without a second thought.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Jic
Jic
11 December 2009
Dear Michaelfuchs, could you post some of the Scripts you mention in your comment? I would like to have a sound when this product locks the computer ("Dong"!!!!), in order to be sure that it was really locked, and maybe another one (or a message displayed) as a "come back". Sorry, but I am not a programmer!!!!
Like
Version 1.0.1
Kompost
07 December 2009
Works fine on my Desktop MacPro (2006), but there is not really need of this nice Tool. But on my MacBook (Late 2008, Alu) Airlock unfortunately doesn't work. Airlock find the iPhone 3GS and that was it. Airlock never scan or remark after that the iPhone.
Like
Version 1.0
Frankns
03 December 2009
Appears to work well with my MBP running 10.6.2 - 4GB. It can consume a fair amount of RAM - 140 MB or so: less than Safari; more than Mail. On occasion the lock will activate when I am at the machine and my iphone is on my hip. Moving the phone back to my desktop solves the problem right away. No rating yet ... too soon to know.
Like
Version 1.0
Sucrerat
03 December 2009
Works fine with my iPhone 3G and Macbook Pro. Very useful in my work. The price is right.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Xco
01 December 2009
Nice idea. But after 20 minutes of trying, still can't get it to work as advertised. I am running 10.6.2 on a 2008 Intel MacBook Pro.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Pmcarrion
Pmcarrion
02 December 2009
I second that.
Like
Version 1.0
Mactraxx
Mactraxx
02 December 2009
Doesn't work for me at all. Tried it on a MacPro and a MacBook Pro, both running 10.6.2. Going to ask for a refund. I think the posts saying it works are in collusion with the developer.
Like
Version 1.0
Mactraxx
Mactraxx
02 December 2009
Well, after a quick email to the developers, it seems they're aware of some of the issues people are having with this very interesting and cool utility. They quickly refunded my purchase without any hassle and I volunteered to do some testing for them if they needed, to get this working reliably. Hopefully they'll get the bugs worked out soon so I can try it out again.
Like
Version 1.0
2composers
01 December 2009
After attempting to install it under System Preferences by double-clicking the icon, it asks for the authorization, seems to work, but then the notification box reads: "An error occurred while installing Airlock." What gives? Working on a MacBook Pro 10.6.2 and iPhone 3G; both devices have Bluetooth switched on, and are next to each other.
Like
Version 1.0
Mindlessmuppet
01 December 2009
The application seems like a great idea, but it doesn't seem to want to work w/ my iPhone 3GS. I try to select my iPhone with the necessary bluetooth window open on my phone and it never finds it. I'm sure the application might work, but there seems to be some kinks to be worked out it seems. Great idea though.
Like
Version 1.0
Jic
01 December 2009
A clever utility, it worked very well for me. Note that this solution is the only Bluetooth device that I have attached to my MacBook Pro. I don't know what will happen if you have more of them, like a mouse or a keyboard, for example.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Wentworth3
Wentworth3
01 December 2009
I have been using Airlock with a bluetooth mouse - microsoft intellimouse explorer for bluetooth (old school) on my core 2 duo macbook all day with no issues.
Like
Version 1.0
Thmweb
01 December 2009
Looks like there are problems with the wireless Mighty Mouse. The Mac looses connection again and again. It connects after a couple again without I have to do anything. But this a no-go for me!
Like
Version 1.0
Gryffin
01 December 2009
Does exactly what it says on the tin! Been testing it for less than an hour so far, but I have a feeling I'll be paying for it before the day is over. Well done!
Like
Version 1.0
Pmcarrion
01 December 2009
Not ready for prime time. Will not unlock the computer automatically.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Gryffin
Gryffin
01 December 2009
Really? That's odd. It unlocks mine just fine. In fact, it unlocks faster than it locks; locking takes about ten seconds*, but it unlocks faster than I can enter my cubicle and sit down. (* with the default settings; you can have it poll more often, at the expense of some battery life on the iPhone.)
Like
Version 1.0
Wentworth3
01 December 2009
Bought this sucker! In record time between installing the demo and trying out. I am working in a cubefarm at the moment and this is just what I was looking for to automagically lock my computer when I walk away.
Like
Version 1.0