Back to Spotify page
Spotify free download for Mac

Spotify Reviews

1.1.12.451.
17 August 2019

Stream music, create playlists and more.

FTBZ
05 May 2012

Most helpful

I don't want a Facebook account so I don't want Spotify. In my opinion this is a stupid choice to limit the use of this service to the Facebook users.
Like (9)
Version 0.8.3.222

Read 124 Spotify User Reviews

Rate this app:

awilkin
01 August 2019
I have the latest version of Spotify Premium & I absolutely LOVE IT SO MUCH!!!!!! It's my main source of entertainment & the best feature is that you can add songs to the queue depending on what you feel like listening to at the time! I have over 2000 songs. Listening to my favourite music is the best thing I love about life! 5 Stars! From Angie Wilkin Auckland, New Zealand :)
Like
Version 1.1.12.449.
ronn-2
03 February 2019
This software constitutes a problem with privacy, not to mention pays out almost nothing to artists. I would rather buy music upfront.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.99.250.
christineping1234
20 November 2018
Good
Like
Version 1.0.92.390.
Derekcurrie
18 September 2018
Spotify is forbidden on my Macs. Here's why: It's rare to find a more invasive application. Spotify has FORCED macOS to open the app absolutely every time you boot your Mac. The only solution is to DELETE the application. I've dug around in the Library folders to kill off all traces of daemons, automatically loading processes, login items, ad nauseam. And yet, somehow Spotify found another method of FORCING Spotify to boot with the OS. Therefore: VERBOTEN! If a developer is this ABUSIVE of their users, their software has no place on my devices. Gone. A big [expletives deleted] to Spotify for creating the worst app I've used so far in 2018. Congratulations. Disturbing.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.89.313
3 answer(s)
Joseluismen
Joseluismen
28 October 2018
In menu Spotify> preferences> show advanced settings and in option Open Spotify automatically when starting the computer, select NO. Do you do it and it does not work anyway?
It may also be that when updating the application, put the preferences back by default, instead of keeping the ones you select. To me it restores the option "Show the songs not available in the playlists" that I always activate, and the app insists on hiding in each update. Nor do I see now an option that bothers me a lot and always canceled, that at the end of my selected album, the playback with themes at random continued. I suppose they will pay a lot of money for forcing you to listen to unwanted songs. Your selection is good, but I do not like to be forced to be aware of whether it ends or not what you select.
Like (2)
sjk
sjk
13 December 2018
Joseluismen,

"In menu Spotify> preferences> show advanced settings and in option Open Spotify automatically when starting the computer, select NO."

That will only work when you're signed in to Spotify. Derekcurrie is correct. Without deleting the app, good luck preventing it from opening during login in a user account that ran the app once, never signed in, and never wants to.
Like (2)
Joseluismen
Joseluismen
14 December 2018
I am a premium user, and did not know that the automatic start depended on whether or not you are using an account. Is it because of being a premium or free user? Or maybe for not identifying?
In any case, bad for Spotify. When you do not allow the user to choose how to use your application clearly. For me, this works while it is not updated. In almost every update, you have to check all the preferences, which return to the original default status imposed by Spotify: auto-start, similar songs without end, news, show iTunes, ... While I'm still using the same version, remember the preferences.
I do not like it to be updated necessarily, and not to take into account the permissions. If you originally installed it as an administrator, but you use it with another user without such a privilege, you can not replace the original package and it does not work. It forces you to install as many applications as users, each with their private copy in their personal user folder.

P.S. I do not speak English. This is a mechanical translation, I apologize in advance if it is not correct.
Like (1)
dan4ever
25 June 2018
Good!!!!
Like
Version 1.0.83.318
LeroyMorrison
07 June 2018
Best music app ever. I love the dark mode as well.
Like
Version 1.0.82.447.
gcbernstein2
28 May 2018
Best music app ever No lags, bugs etc Thanks guys for working on it.
Like
Version 1.0.77.338.
LeroyMorrison
28 April 2018
Best music service that there is! I love the dark mode interface and that it works so well between devices. Everyone should be using Spotify!
Like
Version 1.0.77.338.
MartaTessy
02 March 2018
The number 1 app on my Mac. Always open and always playing. I really love the Discovery Weekly. It’s the best way to find new music. Does not disappoint.
Like
Version 1.0.74.380.
anonymous-squid-3114
16 February 2018
For me - better than google play music
Like
Version 1.0.69.336.
kamilahuerta
13 February 2018
I'm not an advanced user to judge the functionality. I just started to use it and I like it so far :)
Like
Version 1.0.69.336.
Joseluismen
24 October 2017
It has a greater catalogue of “old” music: 50 ' s to 90 ' s, Apple Music concentrates solely in new developments. I like more to have the classic ones, and many complete discographies (although they lack some). Compatible with old devices, until iPhone 3GS (lately with some problem). Apple demands last version of everything, beginning by model of computer and devices. Very many better design than the one of Apple. Very easy to use. As much in devices as in mac, it works better and more clearly. Apple demands several clicks to be able to listen in album.And not always it is possible to listen to a complete CD. Better connections with related artists. More options and better selected. Four or the five you Apple only gives that everybody relates,and so you do not discover really new artists. In Spotify, it is on the contrary, very abierto, many relations and a world of new developments. As much noveles as already consecrated. Impressive.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.65.320.
hodredofye
23 October 2017
I like how it looks and the algorithm of figuring out what you might like is quite great. Easier to discover new music now.
Like
Version 1.0.65.320.
Marcossi
03 June 2017
I don't use it on my Mac as many people say it's a CPU sucker.
Like
Version 1.0.55.487.
1 answer(s)
Detlevski
Detlevski
05 September 2017
2.8%, you don't use Spotify because others say it's a CPU sucker?
Like (1)
Widber
04 April 2017
Version 1.0.52.725 is out
Like
Version 1.0.51.693.
knappeduivel
02 April 2017
Spotify has dropped the option to share an album or song with a friend. I wrote to complain, they claimed it was to make the application better.
Like
Version 1.0.51.693.
CharlesTheMacman
31 March 2017
Still the major music stream provider to me.
Like
Version 1.0.51.693.
knappeduivel
10 March 2017
The latest version introduces autoplay: if your chosen music finishes, Spotify will just put on some random music. It can be switched off but is on by default. Some may like that but I really, really hate it. If I want tot listen to random music I can turn on a radio.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.49.125.
1 answer(s)
Detlevski
Detlevski
11 March 2017
If you listen to a radiostation they don't use the (good) algorithm that Spotify uses. If you put a lot music in My Music and like or dislike songs it does a very good job figuring out what you might like. So, yes I enjoy the random music. It makes me discover new songs, new bands.
Like (2)
delh
24 February 2017
Seems to be really nice thing but I can't understand why it eats up 60% of cpu.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.49.125.
Kobalt
12 November 2016
Hard to tell, seeing that there is no info on the new release, so we're all left to wonder if it is addressing the little issue of continuously writing hundreds of gigabytes of needless data to your drive as is so eloquently explained here: http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2016/11/for-five-months-spotify-has-badly-abused-users-storage-drives/
Like (1)
Version 1.0.42.151.
3 answer(s)
siamlotus
siamlotus
12 November 2016
Apparently : http://www.cultofmac.com/453582/update-spotify-now-stop-killing-macs-ssd/
Like
Kobalt
Kobalt
13 November 2016
Aha.

"Spotify says that version 1.0.42, which is available to download now, finally eliminates the bug. We obviously recommend that you update as soon as possible — especially if you use a Mac with an SSD drive."

Don't know why that's not mentioned here. Seems quite important information for users.
Like (2)
Marcossi
Marcossi
03 June 2017
I have a MBP with SSD, 16Gb RAM and 2.5 GHz Intel Core i7. Version 1.0.55.487 uses as much CPU as always.
Like
Marcossi
26 October 2016
Using 106% of my MBP mid 2014 Retina CPU is not ok, That's why the very low rating.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.39.157
elsid
27 June 2016
I like Spotify and use it a lot. But there are serious problems with both the interface and the service. For example, I recently was unable to use Spotify for 6 weeks. When I came back I found that 5 different albums were no longer available in one of my playlists. This happens often. Sometimes single songs disappear. And these are not pop hits, mostly they are older recordings. Also the interface is unreliable. Try randomizing a playlist and you will see. The progress bar often goes blank during playback. Sometimes a song will keep playing no matter what you do to select another. The worst part is these problems are longstanding. Spotify seems to have little interest in fixing them, even though users complain long and loud.
Like
Version 1.0.31.56.
fabiorico
06 June 2016
Since using Spotify, I have no longer problems with searching for favorite music. A huge collection of artists and genres makes it easy to create new playlists as often as you wish. A novice to this app may experience some difficulties with logging in and handling all the possible options but don't give up. Once you worked it out you will be grateful for developers for such a wonderful application. Thumbs up!
Like
Version 1.0.29.92.
Brooklyn-Al
24 April 2016
https://community.spotify.com/t5/Help-Desktop-Mac/Kernel-Panic-for-my-Mac-when-using-Spotify/m-p/1218495#M5020
Like
Version 1.0.27.75.
Brooklyn-Al
18 April 2016
Had a kernel panic X3, one for each of my iMacs with iteration 1.0.25.127 therefore hesitant to attempt 1.0.27.75. If anyone has good luck with this newest version please post.
Like
Version 1.0.27.75.
Brooklyn-Al
30 March 2016
Note, I had the Kernel Panics with two different iMacs, discussed below with Spotify Version 1.0.25.127 not Version 1.0.24.104.
Like
Version 1.0.25.127.
Brooklyn-Al
28 March 2016
There is a problem with the most recent iterations of Spotify. I experienced Kernel Panics on two different iMacs running Yosemite 10.10.5 when trying to launch Spotify. Until this gets sorted out, I advise Spotify users to stay away. My iMacs have never crashed until this recent bug in Spotify or Yosemite not sure which. What is clear is this bug could potentially damage your hard drive or necessitate disk repair as it did in my case.
Like
Version 1.0.24.104.
knappeduivel
14 March 2016
I love streaming music but the Spotify player is too limited for organizing a serious collection. Sadly at this point there is no better alternative, Apple music didn't work because of the size of my offline collection.
Like
Version 1.0.24.104.
Lvdoc
14 March 2016
It's a pretty good player. I wouldn't mind seeing a mini player and system-wide hot keys.
Like
Version 1.0.20.101.
Jlock
28 December 2015
I love this app.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.20.94.
fwilkinson
22 December 2015
Nice app and good selection of music.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.20.94.
1 answer(s)
Jlock
Jlock
28 December 2015
I couldn't have said it better!
Like (1)
StevensPeter
14 December 2015
Used Spotify for a very long time but switched to Apple Music which is for way better in all aspects. Goodbye Spotify ... Hello Apple Music
Like
Version 1.0.19.106.
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
28 December 2015
I wanted to give Apple Music a try, I really did. (I've been using Macs since 1987; I'm a major fanboy.) However, the very first thing it did - the very first thing - was hit me with an advertisement. At least other competitors have the decency to lull you in with some music before hitting you with the ads.

So, my very first impression of Apple Music was also my last.
Like
stravedere
14 October 2015
KERNEL PANIC WITH VERSION 1.0.15.133
link to spotify forum: http://j.mp/1jzIgJx
Like
Version 1.0.15.133.
1 answer(s)
stravedere
stravedere
14 October 2015
webcache link http://j.mp/1hEuhkB
Like
Slice313
11 October 2015
Terrible, malware included. ads everywhere.
Like
Version 1.0.15.133.
Hkim
21 August 2015
Considering Spotify's privacy policy: "With your permission, we may collect information stored on your mobile device, such as contacts, photos, or media files. Local law may require that you seek the consent of your contacts to provide their personal information to Spotify, which may use that information for the purposes specified in this Privacy Policy.", and the monetary damage they cause musicians, I can not rate this "free" software low enough. Truely nothing is really free and this software is not worth the harm: www.wired.com/2015/08/cant-squat-spotifys-eerie-new-privacy-policy/
Like (2)
Version 1.0.11.134.
Tommy-Gun
10 August 2015
Always a big fan of Spotify. Now I am doing a trial run with Apple Music. atm it is awesome. Lets wait what both have in their sleeves to please us in the near future :)
Like
Version 1.0.11.134.
JohnF1664
31 July 2015
Would like to see a better and more deeply designed app UI. Otherwise works perfect
Like (1)
Version 1.0.9.133.
CDavid
31 July 2015

Like
Version 1.0.9.133.
CDavid
31 July 2015
I like Spotify. I really love the way this app looks and works. I have it both on my Mac and on my iPhone and believe me, these apps are really-really cool. I'm currently thinking about starting using Apple Music, however, I don't think I will cancel my subscription for Spotify. At least in the near future.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.9.133.
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
18 April 2016
I tried both. I stuck with Apple Music. It has everything I want, and I don't need a dedicated app... Plus I can upload music that's not on either service to stream to my devices. ;) (iCloud Music)
Like
Ketcheup
14 July 2015
This Green color is ugly...
Like
Version 1.0.9.133.
Brooklyn-Al
14 July 2015
Glad to see in the most current version you can designate were the cache files are to be stored. This feature is especially valuable with SSD's which decreases a huge number of disk writes.
Like
Version 1.0.9.133.
jostyee
14 July 2015
1.0.9.133 is compatible with El Capitan now, finally.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.9.133.
uknowme60
20 June 2015
MacUpdate show the newest version as 1.0.6.80 but when I downloaded with MacUpdate Desktop it download version 1.0.7.157.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.6.80.
Stephen-Fry
20 June 2015
Ones an awesome application, now bloated, slow and terrible to handle. Fingers crossed if the upcoming Apples Music can top this.
Like
Version 1.0.6.80.
Andrewm8
19 June 2015
Downloaded the installer, run it and the Spotify still shows version 0.9.17.6. Uninstalled, run installer again and still the old version. What gives?
Like
Version 1.0.6.80.
1 answer(s)
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
22 June 2015
Re-downloaded installer today, run it and finally got version 1.0.7.157 installed
Like
OSX-FTW!
05 June 2015
Free music. Be grateful.
Like
Version 1.0.5.186.
1 answer(s)
SmurfTurf
SmurfTurf
19 June 2015
Nothing is free.
Like (1)
Shock-J
01 June 2015
Latest version appears to be 1.0.6.80.
Like
Version 1.0.5.186.
Brooklyn-Al
25 May 2015
This program is down right devious. I deselect open at login, and as soon as I close it it has changed back on its own to open "minimized" at login. In addition, every time I open Spotify it shows up in system preferences as an automatic login item. This surreptitious coding is down right spooky. If there not doing it intentional, which I find hard to believe, then the people coding this program are not that bright.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.4.90.
starsizzle
22 May 2015
Killing net neutrality worldwide. This software might be a nice idea, but the politics behind it are problematic to put things mildly.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.4.90.
2 answer(s)
star-affinity
star-affinity
21 June 2015
Could you elaborate?
Like
Hkim
Hkim
14 July 2015
Not just that, using this service takes money away from the artists, who might recieve pennies in return for their work. I use Bandcamp.com for downloading music since the musician gets a far better percentage and the audio quality is far better than spotify.
Like
CDavid
15 May 2015
This was the first streaming music service I've tried. What I can say about it? Well, it's simple and easy-to-use. And there're lots of songs there. What else do we need? Probably nothing.
Like
Version 1.0.4.90.