Back to MouseWizard page
MouseWizard free download for Mac

MouseWizard Reviews

6.2.0
24 August 2016

Get more from your Magic Mouse or trackpad.

Zephyris
22 January 2010

Most helpful

Sadly the developers unethical ways have me against the ropes. I bought version 5 two weeks ago and he wants $2 more from me to upgrade. Really? So every 2-3 months you'll probably bump a version and keep charging us. This is the weirdest selling policy I have encountered. The funny part is the developer acts and responds like I am the crazy one here asking for a free upgrade. Think long and hard before you decide to invest any money into this application and company.
Like (8)
Version 6.0

Read 23 MouseWizard User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jorge-Vañó-Cos
28 October 2012
The app does not work in my Mountain Lion. Just the battery level is working. Other mouse apps working Ok. Anybody knows a way out?
Like
Version 6.0.2
demetriwayne
06 August 2012
Can you Please explain how to make mousewizard right click...i like to use this feature to copy and paste and for itunes. i tried everything but i can't get it work...thanks!!
Like
Version 6.0.2
Eyekey
02 February 2010
This software is a joke. The developer charges for bugfixes. Every few weeks there is a new "major" release which doesn´t really give you anything new. I recommend Bettertouchtool. It´s free, has nearly daily updates and a LOT of features.
Like (6)
Version 6.0
5 answer(s)
Samuco
Samuco
03 February 2010
The 6.0 was the only payed upgrade for MouseWizard, and it did not "just contain bug fixes." This will possibly be the only payed upgrade ever. Eyekey, please download the application before giving it one star (See your recent downloads). If you prefer BetterTouchTool (which some people may), please do not review any other competing applications with lowest score to raise the other applications position. That's playing dirty ;)
Like (6)
Version 6.0
Eyekey
Eyekey
03 February 2010
Playing dirty... assuming you are the developer or affiliated with him, here are the right one´s talking about that. The cause why my download-list is empty is I always download directly from the source-webpage, because I don´t like people like you spying on me for what programs I try out.
Like (2)
Version 6.0
Samuco
Samuco
03 February 2010
Can you describe why you put one star for the review? It would help in further development if we knew what you don't like.
Like (4)
Version 6.0
Eyekey
Eyekey
03 February 2010
Ok, let´s start. You can´t set any application-specific shortcuts. All commands are global, which is very unproductive. There is no "real" middle click. There is no four finger click. In 2 finger mode, you can´t set the distance between fingers. You can´t activate the Trackpad Mode via mouse shortcut. You can´t set any touchpad-settings at all. "Whole hand" is useless, it triggers randomly. There is no difference between clicks and taps. Localisation is half baked. If you tried out a previous version and want to check out the newest one, the days will not be reseted. It´s not written in 64bit. Despite of these technical issues, there is more. The software is out for about 3 months in which it bumped out 6 mayor releases. The customer has no idea, what´s going on. When it first appeared, I was really excited and thinking about buying it. But a few DAYS later there was version 2 .. and then 3. So I thought, hey, updates are usually free, upgrades aren´t. Can I trust a company which sells updates as upgrades? But you gave them for free, so I thought, it was just bad version-spelling. So NOW you are charging again. After 2 months of development. This is just plain wrong. If you are unhappy with your revenues, it´s your fault. You have competitors. There are BTT, Magic Prefs and others. So people compare. While you are charging for this software, the other one´s are free. And they can do more. You should implement something, the others do not have, otherwise I don´t see the point. Also Samuco does not provide any information about its company on its website. No name, no address, no phone number, no tax identification number, nothing. This is kinda creepy.
Like (6)
Version 6.0
Samuco
Samuco
03 February 2010
There is no "real" middle click. -> Middle Click (Graphics) is a real middle click. In 2 finger mode, you can´t set the distance between fingers. -> You use the gestures location menu to change the distance. You can´t set any touchpad-settings at all. -> All of the settings are also for the touchpad. To switch to touchpad mode, turn off the magic mouse. "Whole hand" is useless, it triggers randomly. -> It triggers when four fingers are on the mouse. You can alter the hold down delay in advanced settings. There is no difference between clicks and taps. -> There is. MouseWizard is the only software that can 'really' detect a click. The only action that only supports click is the Middle Click action. Localisation is half baked. -> The localisation only is for key elements. Does BTT have localisation? If you tried out a previous version and want to check out the newest one, the days will not be reseted. -> They do. There was a strange issue which set trial days to 0. It has been fixed. It´s not written in 64bit. -> It is in both 64 and 32, but it was compiled as 32 to support Leopard and PPC. 64 bit doesn't help the software. The multi-touch framework is also only 32-bit. Despite of these technical issues, there is more. -> Please name them. The software is out for about 3 months in which it bumped out 6 mayor releases. The customer has no idea, what´s going on. When it first appeared, I was really excited and thinking about buying it. But a few DAYS later there was version 2 .. and then 3. So I thought, hey, updates are usually free, upgrades aren´t. Can I trust a company which sells updates as upgrades? But you gave them for free, so I thought, it was just bad version-spelling. -> By days, you mean weeks. Version 5.5 to 6.0 was around 5 weeks. We also do give updates for free. There has only ever been two payed updates in three years that Samuco has been running.
Like (5)
Version 6.0
WiZZardP1
22 January 2010
I see I am not alone in my comments. I had a long email conversation with them last night/earlier this morning about their policies. They seem to want to make us pay for their bad pricing mistakes or miscalculations. The followings are some my conversation with them last night .. "This will probably be the only payed upgrade :) We weren't happy with the price at $2.50, so we changed it." Don't support bad business practices like this. I have had this for almost three months and now being charged again with only .50 discount over a new customer. This is bull.
Like (4)
Version 6.0
Genis
22 January 2010
I bought v5.51 seven weeks ago and yesterday I downloaded v6.0. My serial # wasn't accepted and I was thinking of contacting the developer sbout it since I could NOT see any reference at MacUpdate nor at the Dev's site about having to pay more to use v6.0. Now that I know, I'm out. As others have said, it's not the amount per se: it's the policy, st**id! Long live BetterTouchTool and/or MagicPrefs!
Like (3)
Version 6.0
Zephyris
22 January 2010
Sadly the developers unethical ways have me against the ropes. I bought version 5 two weeks ago and he wants $2 more from me to upgrade. Really? So every 2-3 months you'll probably bump a version and keep charging us. This is the weirdest selling policy I have encountered. The funny part is the developer acts and responds like I am the crazy one here asking for a free upgrade. Think long and hard before you decide to invest any money into this application and company.
Like (8)
Version 6.0
2 answer(s)
Fvdg
Fvdg
22 January 2010
Oh wait! I was under the impression it was free me for as I bought this one month afo or so - now I see I have to pay - again!. No no no no.... that is no good! I'm switching to MagicPrefs!
Like (7)
Version 6.0
Flashgen
Flashgen
18 February 2010
Yeah I had the same issue. Bought 5.5 and two weeks later 6.0 is released. When I queried the fact I had to pay for the "upgrade" - when the common practice amongst most established software firms is to provide a one month grace period (i.e. a free upgrade), I got the following response: "In this instance, its a little different because of how we have priced the software. Instead of requiring you to pay $5.00 (for a new license), we are selling it for $2.00. This means that you are only paying $4.50 in total for the product. For this reason, we don't have a grace period. Im sorry I could not help you in this matter." I particularly like the first line, which pretty much sums it up. Suffice it to say I won't be upgrading to another version in future for the same reason most others have cited. Sad as it's not a bad bit of software...
Like
Version 6.0
Steve27
22 January 2010
The good people at Samuco have changed their policy now.
Like (4)
Version 6.0
Steve27
21 January 2010
I originally purchased this utility for 2.50 two months ago. Now I am forced to pay another 2.00 for the upgrade. I realize that it is only 2.00 and I was told that I would get A .50 cent brake for being a previous customer. Thanks - and I had recommended a couple of features also. Thanks again. No thanks. I can get similar functionality out of MagicPrefs. Price is not the issue here. More the principle of charging for an upgrade after 2 months.
Like (4)
Version 6.0
Fvdg
21 January 2010
Come on! 5 bucks and still you want everythinng for free? I found that this utility works in finer detail as the freeware versions. Me like! Me buy!
Like (3)
Version 6.0
Bushwhack
21 January 2010
I'm actually shocked that people would fall for this scam of a software!! Why charge?? There are better FREE alternatives that provide excellent software as well! BetterTouchTool and MagicPrefs are just to name a few. I am not affiliated with either, I just saw a Magic Mouse program popup on my MacUpdate RSS feed when when I saw that you had to pay for it I was shocked and just had to comment. Just letting everyone know to look at those FREE tools if you are short on cash before you pay $5 for something you can get elsewhere for free.
Like (6)
Version 6.0
Macnerd1984
21 January 2010
I love this app. £5.00 for such a useful bit of kit is a bargain. Really like the new Apple Mouse but I missed the 4th button from my Logitech MX700; not I have it back and all is right with the world. Just installed the app so stability is something I cant comment on but in terms of functionality and features this app is fabulous.
Like (3)
Version 5.5.1
Brighton-Pete
18 December 2009
Decided to give this a shot - activated most of the options. Place computer to sleep with hand covering mouse, and crash. Took me 5 minutes to get my new 27-inch iMac back to life! Thought it would be better than MousePrefs, but it isn't.
Like (2)
Version 5.5.1
A11en
17 December 2009
Does the demo mode only recognize the date it was installed and no total use? I can't demo the latest version because it thinks I've used it too long. [I haven't due to the lagging response earlier versions had.]
Like (1)
Version 5.5
1 answer(s)
Samuco
Samuco
17 December 2009
It only recognises when it was first opened. We may reset the trial version after we fix the leopard issue.
Like
Version 5.5
A11en
04 December 2009
One of the few that work with 10.5 and PPC. [Thank you for that!!] I really like the window and layout, especially seeing the hot spots when activated. I do however experience the following- - perhaps a bit unresponsive to clicks- I can't figure out why, sometimes it listens, sometimes doesn't. perhaps other system calls are getting in the way? I can't tell... - middle click doesn't seem to follow middle click behavior for programs like firefox etc. (middle click = open link in new tab, and close tab)- so maybe I'm just not getting middle click to work yet I anxiously await the new versions and bug fixes! Cheers!
Like
Version 5.1
Bshanker
02 December 2009
Battery level does not work for me with 5.0 or 5.1... I have deleted preferences and even hitting update still does not make it show any levels. I am using a MacBook Pro 17" from June 2009.
Like
Version 5.1
3 answer(s)
Samuco
Samuco
02 December 2009
We are looking into this issues on MacBooks
Like
Version 5.1
Samuco
Samuco
02 December 2009
*issue
Like
Version 5.1
Samuco
Samuco
17 December 2009
Fixed.
Like
Version 5.5.1
dwp-1
01 December 2009
I hate to say it but this software is getting worse the gestures rarely work, whether I use the click option or not. I am getting so disappointed.
Like (1)
Version 5.1
1 answer(s)
Samuco
Samuco
01 December 2009
If you tell us what is going wrong or not working, we can fix it. Please send a bug report to contact@samuco.net
Like (1)
Version 5.1
Fvdg
30 November 2009
Something Wrong with version 5! I'm very happy to see I can add my own shortcuts/keys to a function - but there is something wrong with this version in registering where the mouse is and the mouse clicks. Use a 'middel click' or a 'Three finger click' results in selecting a folder an my desktop... Trying to click something in a window does not work, it seems to think I'm clicking somewhere else on my screen. Quiting MouseWizard and all is normal again...
Like (1)
Version 5.0
3 answer(s)
Samuco
Samuco
30 November 2009
The issue here is probably with an old settings file. In terminal, enter this command: "rm ~/Library/Preferences/.MagicalWizard.plist". Then, relaunch MouseWizard. This resets the preferences file.
Like
Version 5.0
dwp-1
dwp-1
01 December 2009
I agree, works when it feels like it.
Like
Version 5.0
Samuco
Samuco
01 December 2009
??? MouseWizard 5.0 has a different settings system to 4.0. Its way more flexible, and you'll see what it can do when Scribe is done :)
Like
Version 5.0
Caroljiwa
23 November 2009
This version (4.0) is MUCH better than the last one. However, I prefer that the Mouse icon doesn't stay visible in the Dock. Is there anyway to get rid of this? Also, I can finally get the Dashboard to work with the 4th buttons BUT while in Dashboard the 4th button will not turn off the Dashboard again. I do really like this application though.
Like (2)
Version 4.0
3 answer(s)
Samuco
Samuco
23 November 2009
The dashboard issue has been fixed in 5.0. It's working great ;)
Like (1)
Version 4.0
Caroljiwa
Caroljiwa
23 November 2009
Thanks! WHen will version 5 be released?
Like (1)
Version 4.0
Samuco
Samuco
23 November 2009
Version 5.0 is going to be a massive release (We hope, anyway :)), so it could take a while to finish. The earliest will be by Friday, but this is really unlikely. It should be finished by Monday next week :). If you send an email to contact@samuco.net, we will send you the latest build which includes the fix.
Like (1)
Version 4.0
Fvdg
22 November 2009
Keystrokes? May I suggest adding the possibility to add a custom keystroke (for example I use Mouseexpose, and F10 to invoke it - would be nice if I could invoke F10 with a 'middle click')
Like (1)
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Samuco
Samuco
23 November 2009
This is being implemented into version 5.0. Just a heads up :)
Like (1)
Version 4.0
Jeffisme
22 November 2009
I'm really enjoying this software and its development. There just aren't enough features built into the MagicMouse, and that's where MouseWizard steps in. It is still being refined (I tried a pre-release version of 4.0), which is part of what makes it so good. You have a developer interested in improving an already good product; a developer who is just incredibly responsive and friendly and a price that is hard to beat.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Stewart01
21 November 2009
I tried mouse wizard but the gestures are awkward. BetterTouchTool IMO is both more flexible and intuitive. BTT is based of "Multi-clutch" which was released in 2008 shortly after the first Multitouch enabled touchpad laptops. I personally, wouldn't call BTT an imitator, its an alternative and the developer is very responsive too. This is called "competition". Both Steermouse and USB Overdrive will have Magic Mouse support too.
Like (6)
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Andreas-Hegenberg
Andreas-Hegenberg
28 November 2009
as a matter of fact BetterTouchTool was released days before MouseWizard, so calling BTT an imitator is just ridiculous. Still I like MouseWizard, it just aims on users that don't want to fiddle with the settings by themselves.
Like (2)
Version 4.0
Samuco
Samuco
29 November 2009
You don't understand what the statement means :)
Like (1)
Version 4.0
Steve27
15 November 2009
Tried this app yesterday as I was missing the added buttons on my mighty mouse. Had a couple of questions for the developer. He responded back immediately and added in my suggestions. Neve version was released next day. Great job and great utility. Would like to see a bit more flexibility on the programming of the additional buttons (Why I gave 4 out of 5) but can't beat the price. Great job, Great app, Great price. Can't wait for next release.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Canisbos
Canisbos
18 November 2009
You can beat the price. Look at BetterTouchTool.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Samuco
Samuco
21 November 2009
IMITATION THE BEST FORM OF COMPLIMENT There is certainly a lot of imitators out there. It is interesting to see how many of our products are copied, usually with poor quality results. Samuco is a creative not imitative company. We make quality products with the features that people actually want, are simple to use, technically superior and backed up by efficient and friendly online support. In our experience you pay for what you get. Lately we have been patenting our product developments. Interestingly enough our attorneys have been attempting to contact some of our imitators. But guess what, they don't respond and dive for cover. No creativity, poor quality and no support. If you want that - go for it. If you want something creative, well designed and supported try Samuco. Regards Samuco
Like (3)
Version 3.0
Samuco
14 November 2009
Version 2.0 brings Leopard support =D We are still testing it though... If you would like to try the Leopard version, shoot us an email.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Samuco
Samuco
18 November 2009
Yeah, we have been snowed under with iPet things at the moment =( This may delay version 3.0 for a while. In 3.0, we will *hopefully* add the click options, as well as much more.
Like (1)
Version 2.0