Back to BetterTouchTool page
BetterTouchTool free download for Mac

BetterTouchTool Reviews3.579

07 August 2021

Customize multi-touch trackpad gestures.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ivryernest
ivryernest
Mar 29 2021
3.560
1.0
Mar 29 2021
1.0
Version: 3.560
I will never use software whose name includes "better"... In fact, better than what ?
patrone63
patrone63
Feb 4 2021
3.540
1.0
Feb 4 2021
1.0
Version: 3.540
non rispondono ad email. dopo aver pagato mi si chiede aggiornamento con altri soldi
ansonliss
ansonliss
Feb 1 2021
3.540
1.0
Feb 1 2021
1.0
Version: 3.540
I can't get my touchbar to go back to normal now, even after deleting the app
mrhugosantosabreu
mrhugosantosabreu
Sep 30 2020
3.402
5.0
Sep 30 2020
5.0
Version: 3.402
Great product and great support. Andreas is a gent. Keep it up guys I'm a huge fan.
leelancaster
leelancaster
Jun 16 2020
3.385
5.0
Jun 16 2020
5.0
Version: 3.385
I only use BetterTouchTool to resize my windows but I use it for that a gazillion times a day. Works great for me, been using it for years now. Works fine on Catalina. I'd be lost without it. Eventually I'll branch out and see what else little app can do.
dhaw777
dhaw777
Feb 24 2020
3.335
0.0
Feb 24 2020
0.0
Version: 3.335
I am trying to purchase bettertouchtool and when it tries to go to the purchase site it just spins and will not go there and then tells me that it cannot find the server. any thoughts on how to do this?
Web-Jive
Web-Jive
Feb 7 2020
3.311
0.0
Feb 7 2020
0.0
Version: 3.311
It doesn't work with Catalina. Not even the alpha version.
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
Jan 31 2020
3.275
5.0
Jan 31 2020
5.0
Version: 3.275
There are only two things that are certain in life: 1) The sun will rise tomorrow. 2) There will be a new release of BTT tomorrow. ;) Seriously, this is an amazing program.
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Jan 21 2020
3.225
5.0
Jan 21 2020
5.0
Version: 3.225
Does not work for me anymore, makes my Wacom super sluggish and has peaks of memory usage for no apparent reason (that are monitored by AppTamer). All I had set up were keyboard shortcuts. I won't rate it bad because it worked fine until he finally stopped updating daily... Oddly enough that is when it started acting up.
Foulger
Foulger
Dec 20 2019
3.214
5.0
Dec 20 2019
5.0
Version: 3.214
So perfect. Once set up it just runs in the background - silent and perfect
macupdate-643
macupdate-643
Dec 8 2019
3.209
1.0
Dec 8 2019
1.0
Version: 3.209
Spins Kernal process up to 1200%, crashes your machine, unstable, rendering not antialiased, drains battery. latest version of bettertouch & OSX as at 12/2019, it's not that they won't (eventually?) fix these problems but that with the next (non-alpha) update, they could come back again > Massive net productivity reduction Fantastic Idea, dismal implementation.
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
Oct 24 2019
3.207
5.0
Oct 24 2019
5.0
Version: 3.207
(from OSXDaily.com) The Green Button in OS X window bars used to “maximize” windows to fit the Mac screen, but since OS X Yosemite the Green Button now sends windows or apps into full screen mode by default. This can be modified one-off by Option+Clicking the green maximize button, but a better solution for some users is to permanently modify the behavior of this button to work like it used to instead. To change the green button maximize behavior you will need to use BetterTouchTool, a free application for OS X that performs many other functions and neat tricks with the Mac trackpad and mouse, but for the purposes here we’re just using it to adjust window maximizing universally throughout OS X. http://osxdaily.com/2015/03/11/change-the-green-button-maximize-behavior-in-os-x-yosemite-with-bettertouchtool/
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jul 15 2019
3.134
0.0
Jul 15 2019
0.0
Version: 3.134
v3.140 is the current version, and counting...
-> Current prices:
$7.50 for the Standard License in the USA.
$21.00 for the "Lifetime" License in the USA.
bdikkat
bdikkat
Jun 11 2019
3.068
0.0
Jun 11 2019
0.0
Version: 3.068
Another day, another BTT update. No wonder macupdate can't keep up.
tothtamasuzleti
tothtamasuzleti
Jun 5 2019
3.05
4.5
Jun 5 2019
4.5
Version: 3.05
Simply work's great.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
May 27 2019
2.900
0.0
May 27 2019
0.0
Version: 2.900
The MacUpdate URL downloads version 3.01, not 2.900
Benmac
Benmac
May 11 2019
2.813
5.0
May 11 2019
5.0
Version: 2.813
If you have a new fangled Macbook with the touchbar and you're a power user, you owe it to yourself to use BTT. I make shortcuts for my most used commands which may have otherwise been buried in a submenu or have a hot key combination that I never remember.
lflier
lflier
Mar 9 2019
2.717
5.0
Mar 9 2019
5.0
Version: 2.717
I was previously using Karibiner to make the [Home] and [End] keys on my Mac keyboard behave the way they do in Windows (go to the beginning and end of the current line). It worked but there were a lot of steps to configure it (I had to download extra settings and then pick the right ones) Better Touch Tool is far more intuitive. You just type the key combination you want to map and then the key combination you want to map it to, and you're done. And not only that... Better Touch Tool has settings for windows, mice, and the MacBook Pro touch bar. Better Touch Tool is a very well put together and flexible tool, developed by one of those computer fanatics who give so much back to the rest of us. There's a very generous 45 day free trial, after which I recommend you show your support by purchasing a very reasonably priced $20 lifetime license.
Macinman
Macinman
Feb 22 2019
2.717
0.0
Feb 22 2019
0.0
Version: 2.717
Hey guys, BTT is telling me that 2.7.18 is available in the auto update, however I get a download error when trying to autoupdate this version is not listed on the hopepage as the latest version to download, nor, is it listed here. Was curious if this is a genuine version, or if something is going on? Thanks.

UPDATE: I just realized that BTT has two update options in it's menu. Alpha versions and regular stable versions. For whatever reason I didn't know this existed outside the preferences. Anyway, the 2.7.18 giving Update errors appears to be the latest alpha version. Sorry for the mix up.
RobertA6380
RobertA6380
Feb 16 2019
2.717
5.0
Feb 16 2019
5.0
Version: 2.717
This is a serious piece of software and one, along with the dev(s), who should get way more time in the spotlight! But hey, maybe they don't want that. Anyways, one of the best pieces of software out there and anyone using a trackpad or anything else for that matter can greatly benefit by owning this!
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Feb 8 2019
2.714
5.0
Feb 8 2019
5.0
Version: 2.714
The Most Updated app for Mac :0) The dev is really serious !! I likely only use 2% of its possibilities and even then it's already a real helper. The setting up can be a bit complex but it seems he UI is getting an overhaul soon.. seeing screenshots on here. Truly a Top 5 Must-Have Mac utility.
brightonpete
brightonpete
Jan 14 2019
2.693
5.0
Jan 14 2019
5.0
Version: 2.693
Modifying the behaviour of the mouse and trackpad should be a given with Apple. But BTT comes to the rescue, allowing me to move about the way my brain thinks it should be done. It can be a simple set-up like what I have, or you can make it as complex as you want. Well worth it - I bought a life-time license, as this app has been around & updated for quite some time now.
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Nov 9 2018
2.660
5.0
Nov 9 2018
5.0
Version: 2.660
BTT is the gift that keeps on giving. So much functionality tucked away, neat little things, pro user tweaks etc. It's complex, but you need to dive in from time to time to get the hang of it. I only bought a license—I recommend a lifetime license—because I wanted my Touch Bar to be more than the gimmick that everyone says it is. I'm an avid touch bar user & tweaker now, thanks to BTT. Apple's Touch Bar + BTT is the best thing since sliced bread. Then there's the window resizing/snapping functionality, so you won't need other tools like Moom anymore. And of course, all the other functionality that's been there for many years. This is an awesome helper application, and if your Mac has a Touch Bar, then BTT is a must-have. Regular updates and bug fixes too.
JohnF1664
JohnF1664
Aug 28 2018
2.600
4.0
Aug 28 2018
4.0
Version: 2.600
It's kind of cool but the UI is very very complex. You need a manual the size of a Bible to real tune it up.
Neutralzone
Neutralzone
Jul 23 2018
2.531
5.0
Jul 23 2018
5.0
Version: 2.531
I never had much use for BTT before, but then I got a Mac with Touch Bar. Without BTT the Touch Bar is almost a waste of space. After customizing the Touch Bar with BTT, I have gotten my Touch Bar to the point where it's actually useful. I love having custom Touch Bar sets for individual applications. I would say BTT is essential for any Mac with a Touch Bar. And now I'm exploring the other features BTT has always had. Fair warning though, configuration takes a little time and study to get used to, but it is worth it.
Drastin
Drastin
Jun 12 2018
2.513
5.0
Jun 12 2018
5.0
Version: 2.513
It's window snapping features alone make it worthwhile, but it doesn't stop there. Everything you need for window management.
castantzen
castantzen
Jun 4 2018
2.507
5.0
Jun 4 2018
5.0
Version: 2.507
well operating app. a bit complicated though to adjust, but managable
fturcheti
fturcheti
May 30 2018
2.507
5.0
May 30 2018
5.0
Version: 2.507
One of the few absolutely necessary apps on every Mac I use.
melissavwes
melissavwes
Apr 26 2018
2.443
5.0
Apr 26 2018
5.0
Version: 2.443
great app!Very convenient.
selizabethwebb
selizabethwebb
Apr 25 2018
2.443
4.5
Apr 25 2018
4.5
Version: 2.443
I love this app! So convenient to use.
Lee123
Lee123
Apr 17 2018
2.441
5.0
Apr 17 2018
5.0
Version: 2.441
This tool just keeps blowing me away at how functional it is and now with this new update you can have floating menus appear and be manipulated. The feature looks very interesting, I can see some people rolling their own workflows.
Tomq
Tomq
Apr 6 2018
2.425
4.5
Apr 6 2018
4.5
Version: 2.425
Well, after decades of using mice on Macs (particularly the many programmable buttons and wheels on the Logitech Revolutions) I began to investigate using a trackpad which I have never liked using on laptops. Read a lot of reviews on the Apple Magic Trackpad 2 being a much better version than Apple Trackpad 1. Still, a bit hesitant to try the MTP2---until I read the powerful capabilities and very high reviews on BTT. Watch lots of UTube BTT videos and MTP2 Amz reviews and decided to give it a try. I am amazed at what BTT can do with MTP2. I has taken me a few weeks to stop tapping the MTP2 accidentally and now I am mouseless. Bought 2 more MTP2s for my other 2 computers and am a very happy kitty with this combination. It is true that the BTT documentation is limited, and even incomplete (- 1/2 star)---very unfortunate as there is so much that BTT can do so well. Good thing UTube videos are available. Developer is very friendly and helpful; quick replies. $20 for lifetime license---deal!
droscar
droscar
Mar 3 2018
2.350
4.0
Mar 3 2018
4.0
Version: 2.350
Very useful app and the developer has frequent updates. Minus one star for the incomplete documentation. Note: version 2.350 is an alpha. 2.340 is still the latest stable release.
Igor-Freiberger
Igor-Freiberger
Feb 17 2018
2.340
5.0
Feb 17 2018
5.0
Version: 2.340
BTT is one of these gems that really change the way you interacts with the computer. I use it so intensely that a Mac without it seems much harder to tame. Using BTT since it was a free alfa. It only get better and better, with quick update cycles that keep it up to the latest macOS and other apps. The facilities BTT provide are so wide I would need three or more tools to replace it. The improvements it did to my workflow: • to tap instead of clicking the mouse and the trackpad; • to add a double-click with middle-click and middle-tap gestures; • to launch frequently used apps with gestures; • to position and organize windows through simple shortcuts; • to trigger with keyboad shortcuts inner commands in several apps (like text case control, formatting options, or any command without built-in shortcut); • to launch a sequence of apps or open selected files through a simple shortcut (like to adjust music tags and artwork running iTunes, Yate, Photoshop, Covered and the music folders); • to do with a single command operations which mix several key types and mouse clicks (like changing view options in iTunes or using saved substitutions for rename tool in Path Finder); • to do a sequence of operations otherwise available just manually or through scripts, like commands in InDesign, Acrobat or even Finder. And, as one can easily see in the version history, BTT developer is always improving and polishing it.
niittymaa
niittymaa
Jan 25 2018
2.332
5.0
Jan 25 2018
5.0
Version: 2.332
Really good app with full of useful features. Recommended!
macus
macus
Nov 2 2017
2.310
0.0
Nov 2 2017
0.0
Version: 2.310
If you are using the OS X 10.13.2 beta update be aware that Apple now seems to require additional permissions with software interfacing with the trackpad. BetterTouchTool will not work at all with this release.
droscar
droscar
Sep 17 2017
2.297
4.0
Sep 17 2017
4.0
Version: 2.297
I finally have a reason to use a Magic Mouse instead of my $10 Logitech thanks to BTT. I give it a full five stars despite the fact that the documentation is only half finished and I was forced to experiment quite a bit to get some simple things to work correctly. The "what's changed" notes lag behind the releases but that's probably because updates are so frequent.

You definitely can't complain about the price or the length of the trial period.
droscar
droscar
Sep 17 2017
2.301
4.0
Sep 17 2017
4.0
Version: 2.301
Versions 2.301 and 2.302 are alpha releases. As of 9/17/2017 v2.297 is still the latest stable release.
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
Aug 23 2017
2.292
5.0
Aug 23 2017
5.0
Version: 2.292
I commented on this utility back in February with negative and pessimistic tone, but I admit now that I was wrong. I find it super-useful after thoroughly trying it and becoming familiar with all the features. It makes my Trackpads far more powerful and feature-rich.

As for system utilities coming and going, I now find it kind of a mute point at this time. I realize the only constant is to change, it has always worked out one way or another at the end, and BTT's usefulness is well worth any potential trade-offs that haven't even happened in the first place. Frictionless workflow is paramount. BTT is so worth the price. Strongly recommended. Kudos to the developer of this useful app!
Funjoy
Funjoy
Aug 19 2017
2.291
5.0
Aug 19 2017
5.0
Version: 2.291
Love this app. Bought it the day it went from freeware (which it was for several years) to inexpensive pay app. A must-have. Makes my Magic Trackpad so much more useful.
Sherman-Wilcox
Sherman-Wilcox
Aug 11 2017
2.281
0.0
Aug 11 2017
0.0
Version: 2.281
2.281 is in the alpha channel
J. A. G.
J. A. G.
Jul 23 2017
2.270
5.0
Jul 23 2017
5.0
Version: 2.270
This is a must for anyone using a trackpad!
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
Jun 27 2017
2.25
5.0
Jun 27 2017
5.0
Version: 2.25
It's now at 2.26
DiLLAN mc
DiLLAN mc
Feb 22 2017
2.071
5.0
Feb 22 2017
5.0
Version: 2.071
Talking seriously, I can't imagine my life without these new gestures, though they are additional, I became very accustomed to use them. This is a beautiful idea to invent such helpful things. Good job!
hannahwarmbier
hannahwarmbier
Feb 17 2017
2.04
5.0
Feb 17 2017
5.0
Version: 2.04
I've been using this app for years and was glad to pay when the author switched to the "pay what you want" model.
Big77
Big77
Feb 11 2017
2.04
2.0
Feb 11 2017
2.0
Version: 2.04
Been using it for years but have never been able to disable horizontal scrolling in Adobe apps. Wrote to developer twice -- once with that very question and once with a bug report but never received even an acknowledgement. I think it's a well-designed app -- it just doesn't usually work, at least not for me.
Fra
Fra
Feb 10 2017
2.04
0.0
Feb 10 2017
0.0
Version: 2.04
Does this update2.4 bring back the reactivity to tap that was lost in v.2 ?
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
Feb 4 2017
2.02
5.0
Feb 4 2017
5.0
Version: 2.02
Buyers, be aware. This type of “system enhancement” software often ends up becoming an abandonware, and your novel workflow is at the mercy of whether the developer of this app feels like keeping up. I’ve purchased so many apps like this one for many years. It is how it most often turns out; You buy a piece of software like this thinking your workflow would miraculously improve. Then, you start spending more time tinkering and troubleshooting. Soon, you become a volunteer beta tester while becoming more and more dependent upon a novel way of operating your Mac. After a while, you stop seeing updates and bug fixes. Then you painfully realize that the developer abandoned it. You will have to spend a lot of time relearning your habit which causes a lot of frustration. Your workflow gets ripped apart only because someone no longer felt like developing their tools and couldn’t make enough money to sustain the necessary effort. I'm sick and tired of this classic pattern with indie developers. I found that, in the long run, I was much better off just making good use of all the default features on my Mac. Get used to default keyboard shortcuts in each app and steer clear of anything that changes the way the default OS behaves. A single troubleshooting saga handily nullifies any small gains in UI efficiency over time.
Gazman
Gazman
Jan 28 2017
1.994
0.0
Jan 28 2017
0.0
Version: 1.994
Is this only for the 2nd generation Magic Mouse? I have the first gen Magic Mouse and no matter what I do, I can't get any of the gestures I assign in BTT to work. However, the keyboard shortcuts I assign to my bluetooth Logitech keyboard work just fine.
Fhall1
Fhall1
Jan 20 2017
1.989
0.0
Jan 20 2017
0.0
Version: 1.989
It should be pointed out that V1.963 is the latest stable version - the version listed here is an alpha.