Back to BetterTouchTool page
BetterTouchTool free download for Mac

BetterTouchTool Reviews

3.206
11 October 2019

Customize multi-touch trackpad gestures.

Mountabe
17 July 2015

Most helpful

DUNK
Like (4)
Version 1.07

Read 226 BetterTouchTool User Reviews

Rate this app:

Derekcurrie
15 July 2019
v3.140 is the current version, and counting...
-> Current prices:
$7.50 for the Standard License in the USA.
$21.00 for the "Lifetime" License in the USA.
Like
Version 3.134
bdikkat
11 June 2019
Another day, another BTT update. No wonder macupdate can't keep up.
Like (3)
Version 3.068
1 answer(s)
PaulWilkinson9977
PaulWilkinson9977
17 July 2019
Agree. Why are they updating it EVERY DAY? Can they not just update it once a week or something?!
Like (1)
tothtamasuzleti
05 June 2019
Simply work's great.
Like
Version 3.05
RogerKatz
27 May 2019
The MacUpdate URL downloads version 3.01, not 2.900
Like (1)
Version 2.900
Benmac
11 May 2019
If you have a new fangled Macbook with the touchbar and you're a power user, you owe it to yourself to use BTT. I make shortcuts for my most used commands which may have otherwise been buried in a submenu or have a hot key combination that I never remember.
Like (1)
Version 2.813
lflier
09 March 2019
I was previously using Karibiner to make the [Home] and [End] keys on my Mac keyboard behave the way they do in Windows (go to the beginning and end of the current line). It worked but there were a lot of steps to configure it (I had to download extra settings and then pick the right ones) Better Touch Tool is far more intuitive. You just type the key combination you want to map and then the key combination you want to map it to, and you're done. And not only that... Better Touch Tool has settings for windows, mice, and the MacBook Pro touch bar. Better Touch Tool is a very well put together and flexible tool, developed by one of those computer fanatics who give so much back to the rest of us. There's a very generous 45 day free trial, after which I recommend you show your support by purchasing a very reasonably priced $20 lifetime license.
Like (5)
Version 2.717
Macinman
22 February 2019
Hey guys, BTT is telling me that 2.7.18 is available in the auto update, however I get a download error when trying to autoupdate this version is not listed on the hopepage as the latest version to download, nor, is it listed here. Was curious if this is a genuine version, or if something is going on? Thanks.

UPDATE: I just realized that BTT has two update options in it's menu. Alpha versions and regular stable versions. For whatever reason I didn't know this existed outside the preferences. Anyway, the 2.7.18 giving Update errors appears to be the latest alpha version. Sorry for the mix up.
Like
Version 2.717
RobertA6380
16 February 2019
This is a serious piece of software and one, along with the dev(s), who should get way more time in the spotlight! But hey, maybe they don't want that. Anyways, one of the best pieces of software out there and anyone using a trackpad or anything else for that matter can greatly benefit by owning this!
Like (1)
Version 2.717
Maclover1-1
08 February 2019
The Most Updated app for Mac :0) The dev is really serious !! I likely only use 2% of its possibilities and even then it's already a real helper. The setting up can be a bit complex but it seems he UI is getting an overhaul soon.. seeing screenshots on here. Truly a Top 5 Must-Have Mac utility.
Like (1)
Version 2.714
brightonpete
14 January 2019
Modifying the behaviour of the mouse and trackpad should be a given with Apple. But BTT comes to the rescue, allowing me to move about the way my brain thinks it should be done. It can be a simple set-up like what I have, or you can make it as complex as you want. Well worth it - I bought a life-time license, as this app has been around & updated for quite some time now.
Like (1)
Version 2.693
MichaelHaeusler
09 November 2018
BTT is the gift that keeps on giving. So much functionality tucked away, neat little things, pro user tweaks etc. It's complex, but you need to dive in from time to time to get the hang of it. I only bought a license—I recommend a lifetime license—because I wanted my Touch Bar to be more than the gimmick that everyone says it is. I'm an avid touch bar user & tweaker now, thanks to BTT. Apple's Touch Bar + BTT is the best thing since sliced bread. Then there's the window resizing/snapping functionality, so you won't need other tools like Moom anymore. And of course, all the other functionality that's been there for many years. This is an awesome helper application, and if your Mac has a Touch Bar, then BTT is a must-have. Regular updates and bug fixes too.
Like (2)
Version 2.660
JohnF1664
28 August 2018
It's kind of cool but the UI is very very complex. You need a manual the size of a Bible to real tune it up.
Like (1)
Version 2.600
Neutralzone
23 July 2018
I never had much use for BTT before, but then I got a Mac with Touch Bar. Without BTT the Touch Bar is almost a waste of space. After customizing the Touch Bar with BTT, I have gotten my Touch Bar to the point where it's actually useful. I love having custom Touch Bar sets for individual applications. I would say BTT is essential for any Mac with a Touch Bar. And now I'm exploring the other features BTT has always had. Fair warning though, configuration takes a little time and study to get used to, but it is worth it.
Like (1)
Version 2.531
Drastin
12 June 2018
It's window snapping features alone make it worthwhile, but it doesn't stop there. Everything you need for window management.
Like (2)
Version 2.513
castantzen
04 June 2018
well operating app. a bit complicated though to adjust, but managable
Like
Version 2.507
Fturcheti
30 May 2018
One of the few absolutely necessary apps on every Mac I use.
Like (2)
Version 2.507
melissavwes
26 April 2018
great app!Very convenient.
Like (1)
Version 2.443
selizabethwebb
25 April 2018
I love this app! So convenient to use.
Like (1)
Version 2.443
Lee123
17 April 2018
This tool just keeps blowing me away at how functional it is and now with this new update you can have floating menus appear and be manipulated. The feature looks very interesting, I can see some people rolling their own workflows.
Like (1)
Version 2.441
Tomq
06 April 2018
Well, after decades of using mice on Macs (particularly the many programmable buttons and wheels on the Logitech Revolutions) I began to investigate using a trackpad which I have never liked using on laptops. Read a lot of reviews on the Apple Magic Trackpad 2 being a much better version than Apple Trackpad 1. Still, a bit hesitant to try the MTP2---until I read the powerful capabilities and very high reviews on BTT. Watch lots of UTube BTT videos and MTP2 Amz reviews and decided to give it a try. I am amazed at what BTT can do with MTP2. I has taken me a few weeks to stop tapping the MTP2 accidentally and now I am mouseless. Bought 2 more MTP2s for my other 2 computers and am a very happy kitty with this combination. It is true that the BTT documentation is limited, and even incomplete (- 1/2 star)---very unfortunate as there is so much that BTT can do so well. Good thing UTube videos are available. Developer is very friendly and helpful; quick replies. $20 for lifetime license---deal!
Like (2)
Version 2.425
1 answer(s)
Lee123
Lee123
17 April 2018
I guess I do not know the lingo but I had to look up MTP2 = Magic Trackpad 2. I might try one of those out, right now I really like my Magic Mouse that came with the iMac.
Like
droscar
03 March 2018
Very useful app and the developer has frequent updates. Minus one star for the incomplete documentation. Note: version 2.350 is an alpha. 2.340 is still the latest stable release.
Like (2)
Version 2.350
Igor-Freiberger
17 February 2018
BTT is one of these gems that really change the way you interacts with the computer. I use it so intensely that a Mac without it seems much harder to tame. Using BTT since it was a free alfa. It only get better and better, with quick update cycles that keep it up to the latest macOS and other apps. The facilities BTT provide are so wide I would need three or more tools to replace it. The improvements it did to my workflow: • to tap instead of clicking the mouse and the trackpad; • to add a double-click with middle-click and middle-tap gestures; • to launch frequently used apps with gestures; • to position and organize windows through simple shortcuts; • to trigger with keyboad shortcuts inner commands in several apps (like text case control, formatting options, or any command without built-in shortcut); • to launch a sequence of apps or open selected files through a simple shortcut (like to adjust music tags and artwork running iTunes, Yate, Photoshop, Covered and the music folders); • to do with a single command operations which mix several key types and mouse clicks (like changing view options in iTunes or using saved substitutions for rename tool in Path Finder); • to do a sequence of operations otherwise available just manually or through scripts, like commands in InDesign, Acrobat or even Finder. And, as one can easily see in the version history, BTT developer is always improving and polishing it.
Like (5)
Version 2.340
2 answer(s)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
08 March 2018
<quote> BTT is one of these gems that really change the way you interact with the computer. I use it so intensely that a Mac without it seems much harder to tame.</quote>

And I don't think it's a good thing. I felt the same way when I tried BTT a while back. It was cool until I had to switch and work on other Macs that didn't have BTT, and I was a paralyzed noob.

So I trained myself to operate with the most default configuration possible, memorized just a few default keyboard shortcuts for a few basic operations in my apps, and got used to it. Not only I became quite fluent in most frequently used activities, but the same habit also worked on any Macs without any configuration hassles and tinkering. It is a liberating feeling, and it removes just one more thing I have to tinker with and maintain. And, I don't need to worry about the future of BTT or what the BTT developer might feel like doing in the next couple of years when things change or if he becomes unable to make enough money developing his apps. I'm sure the dev will say all kinds of assuring things, but then again, the other indie developers did as well, and they are gone now. (Zooom 2, Optimal Layout, etc. etc.) I'm fine with that for something that's not system-wide, but it's a huge setback when something has to do with the way basic Mac operation works, and you have a binding habit to apps like this. All good wishes to the BTT developer, though. Thanks, but no thanks.
Like (2)
droscar
droscar
26 March 2018
<quote>I don't think it's a good thing. I felt the same way when I tried BTT a while back. It was cool until I had to switch and work on other Macs that didn't have BTT, and I was a paralyzed noob.</quote>

Sad but true. I've been there many times over the decades with "power user" utilities and I know the feeling. Using another computer is frustrating enough but having a system update break an essential piece of software on your main machine is even worse. Nevertheless, having used BTT for some time there's no way I"m giving it up now.

BTW, I also depend on Default Folder, Little Snitch, 1Password and several others. C'est la vie.
Like (1)
niittymaa
25 January 2018
Really good app with full of useful features. Recommended!
Like
Version 2.332
macus
02 November 2017
If you are using the OS X 10.13.2 beta update be aware that Apple now seems to require additional permissions with software interfacing with the trackpad. BetterTouchTool will not work at all with this release.
Like
Version 2.310
1 answer(s)
macus
macus
05 November 2017
2.313 beta available which is now working with the OS X 10.13.2 beta. Again seems to be working well but will not support the Magic Mouse. Many kudos to Andreas for getting on top of this so quickly.
Like
droscar
17 September 2017
I finally have a reason to use a Magic Mouse instead of my $10 Logitech thanks to BTT. I give it a full five stars despite the fact that the documentation is only half finished and I was forced to experiment quite a bit to get some simple things to work correctly. The "what's changed" notes lag behind the releases but that's probably because updates are so frequent.

You definitely can't complain about the price or the length of the trial period.
Like
Version 2.297
droscar
17 September 2017
Versions 2.301 and 2.302 are alpha releases. As of 9/17/2017 v2.297 is still the latest stable release.
Like (1)
Version 2.301
1 answer(s)
xsir
xsir
20 September 2017
2.304 has been released in the stable channel as of today.
Like (1)
Scott-C-H-
23 August 2017
I commented on this utility back in February with negative and pessimistic tone, but I admit now that I was wrong. I find it super-useful after thoroughly trying it and becoming familiar with all the features. It makes my Trackpads far more powerful and feature-rich.

As for system utilities coming and going, I now find it kind of a mute point at this time. I realize the only constant is to change, it has always worked out one way or another at the end, and BTT's usefulness is well worth any potential trade-offs that haven't even happened in the first place. Frictionless workflow is paramount. BTT is so worth the price. Strongly recommended. Kudos to the developer of this useful app!
Like (2)
Version 2.292
1 answer(s)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
20 December 2017
Modified rating: ★☆☆☆☆
I should've stuck with my original review. I tried to be positive about this type of utilities and tried to love it. But the same pattern happened again. Some things glitched out at some point, some features turned out not working consistently, and so on. I ended up spending more time tinkering with it. This type of system enhancement is more prone to become inconsistent and glitchy. So tired of it.
Like (1)
Funjoy
19 August 2017
Love this app. Bought it the day it went from freeware (which it was for several years) to inexpensive pay app. A must-have. Makes my Magic Trackpad so much more useful.
Like (1)
Version 2.291
Sherman-Wilcox
11 August 2017
2.281 is in the alpha channel
Like
Version 2.281
3 answer(s)
Jlock
Jlock
11 August 2017
Downloading the latest from their website shows me its stable: https://www.boastr.net/downloads/
Like (1)
Fhall1
Fhall1
14 August 2017
When I go into the app and tell it to check for updates it tells me my version (2.270) is the latest version available.
Like
Jlock
Jlock
16 August 2017
Thank you for letting us know. The developer's website is stating otherwise and we reflect that version for the listing as it seems stable and there is no indication of it being a beta that I can find. If you find that it is pointing to a beta, please let us know and we can make changes.
Like
J. A. G.
23 July 2017
This is a must for anyone using a trackpad!
Like
Version 2.270
RavenNevermore
27 June 2017
It's now at 2.26
Like (1)
Version 2.25
DiLLAN mc
22 February 2017
Talking seriously, I can't imagine my life without these new gestures, though they are additional, I became very accustomed to use them. This is a beautiful idea to invent such helpful things. Good job!
Like (1)
Version 2.071
hannahwarmbier
17 February 2017
I've been using this app for years and was glad to pay when the author switched to the "pay what you want" model.
Like (1)
Version 2.04
Big77
11 February 2017
Been using it for years but have never been able to disable horizontal scrolling in Adobe apps. Wrote to developer twice -- once with that very question and once with a bug report but never received even an acknowledgement. I think it's a well-designed app -- it just doesn't usually work, at least not for me.
Like (1)
Version 2.04
Fra
10 February 2017
Does this update2.4 bring back the reactivity to tap that was lost in v.2 ?
Like
Version 2.04
Scott-C-H-
04 February 2017
Buyers, be aware. This type of “system enhancement” software often ends up becoming an abandonware, and your novel workflow is at the mercy of whether the developer of this app feels like keeping up. I’ve purchased so many apps like this one for many years. It is how it most often turns out; You buy a piece of software like this thinking your workflow would miraculously improve. Then, you start spending more time tinkering and troubleshooting. Soon, you become a volunteer beta tester while becoming more and more dependent upon a novel way of operating your Mac. After a while, you stop seeing updates and bug fixes. Then you painfully realize that the developer abandoned it. You will have to spend a lot of time relearning your habit which causes a lot of frustration. Your workflow gets ripped apart only because someone no longer felt like developing their tools and couldn’t make enough money to sustain the necessary effort. I'm sick and tired of this classic pattern with indie developers. I found that, in the long run, I was much better off just making good use of all the default features on my Mac. Get used to default keyboard shortcuts in each app and steer clear of anything that changes the way the default OS behaves. A single troubleshooting saga handily nullifies any small gains in UI efficiency over time.
Like (1)
Version 2.02
3 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
10 February 2017
I recognize what you're suggesting, but one could say something along these lines about any software. I've used Macs since 1987, and over the years, there have been plenty of sound, graphics, etc. applications that have ceased to work or be developed, and I've had to find alternatives.

Heck, even Apple has, over the years, changed software or features that have forced people to do things differently or seek alternatives. It's a major reason why I haven't upgraded to Sierra; too many apps I currently use no longer function properly with it. And I hardly want to be stuck using only Apple's applications. They don't all do what I want, and some software does it better than Apple.

Given that caveat, there are also some developers with a very long history of regular updates, etc. BTT is such an app. I'm sticking with it for now. If/when the day arrives that I can no longer use it, then I'll find another way. The world evolves.
Like (6)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
11 February 2017
Apple has changed the way OS user interface worked over the years, but the changes are relatively graceful, and all the fundamental components have never changed. For example, the folder full of aliases registered in my Dock under 10.2 many years ago still works just fine on Sierra without additional software and tinkering. I don't even need to find an alternative.
Like
Robby-C
Robby-C
01 May 2017
I have to agree with both Scott-C when he warns about indie developer software longevity and Lvdoc's comment about the same problem with some Apple software. A case I had to support Lvdoc started when Apple put iBooks into iTunes originally. In 2010 I imported 1500 PDFs of handwritten music into iBooks. I filled up the Get Info panes of each file with data about each song I retrieved from Wiki and various music info sites. When Apple separated iBooks from iTunes it took many hours to retrieve those comments from a backup and put them into a Text Edit file. I'm confident of it being safe there… in final agreement with Scott-C.
Like (1)
Gazman
28 January 2017
Is this only for the 2nd generation Magic Mouse? I have the first gen Magic Mouse and no matter what I do, I can't get any of the gestures I assign in BTT to work. However, the keyboard shortcuts I assign to my bluetooth Logitech keyboard work just fine.
Like
Version 1.994
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
02 March 2017
I haven't tried it with the Magic Mouse, but it works great with the Magic Trackpad.
Like
Fhall1
20 January 2017
It should be pointed out that V1.963 is the latest stable version - the version listed here is an alpha.
Like
Version 1.989
Shk747
17 January 2017
hi dev, last one crashes with 16D30a .. ;-)
Like
Version 1.963
5 answer(s)
Jpwgibson
Jpwgibson
20 January 2017
Yes, crashes for me too after a minute or so (1.989).
Like
WetNet
WetNet
20 January 2017
try the alpha 1.991
Like
Jpwgibson
Jpwgibson
20 January 2017
Thanks for the tip. Where can I find the alpha?
Like
Jpwgibson
Jpwgibson
20 January 2017
I managed to find alpha 1.991. I installed it - and it's a crasher as well.
Like
Jpwgibson
Jpwgibson
02 February 2017
2.02 is great! It has fixed my crashing issue. Thanks, Andreas.
Like
Jpwgibson
11 October 2016
I really like this application, which I would say is essential. My only complaint is that the touch sensitivity (particularly on the Magic Mouse and my MacBook Air) seems to be dwindling. This has been the case on three of my Macs. My batteries are good (between 86-98% currently across the three Macs), and I've got the touch sensitivity ("Required tap pressure" in BetterTouchTool's settings) set at it's highest value (0), but often the tap feature simply doesn't work.
Like
Version 1.912
IRaklid
28 September 2016
Nice application. Super sufficient, I adore all that possible gestures. They makes my mac using more comfortable, more interesting, more customized.
Like (5)
Version 1.86
TheSameUnicorn
19 September 2016
Wow, the app is excellent. It breaths new life to my mac, I like these new features to trackpad. The most adorable for me are three fingers gestures - this is a great idea. With BetterTouchTool work became more pleasant and comfortable.
Like
Version 1.86
Mcr
18 September 2016
LOL, I read the title "BetterTouchTool" and assumed this was an app patterned after the Unix/OSX "Touch" utility, that updates file date/time stamps.
Like
Version 1.86
Brandondrew
30 August 2016
If you like to tweak your Mac and automate common tasks, this is a must-have app. It's a little rough around the edges, but it works well, is powerful, and is dirt cheap. Compare to the old QuicKeys, which was polished but very expensive, and is pretty much abandoned. And it couldn't handle gestures at all.
Like
Version 1.84
brewsterandy
17 August 2016
Primarily I decided to download this app just for fun. But the more I explored its functions the more helpful it became to me. The gestures I prefer the most are two-finger click and swipe. I'm pretty satisfied with this tool, hope one day they will add some new gestures that would be useful as well.
Like (1)
Version 1.83
Dark-Delphin
06 June 2016
Hands down, this is the best behind-the-scenes all-in-one productivity tool ever. Saves so much time and effort.
Like (2)
Version 1.75
Sergesouszero
04 June 2016
I’ve tried BTT briefly two or three times and wasn’t convinced. This time, I’ve decided to test it thoroughly and finally discovered that it’s one the best app ever made for the Mac. If you install BTT for the first time, don’t be afraid to go deep and explore every function. You’ll be happily surprised. P.-S. Bad English, I know. Not my first language. Sorry. P.-P.-S. MacUpdate, version 1.75 is out.
Like (1)
Version 1.69
2 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
14 July 2016
FWIW, I teach college, and your English is better than most of my students.
Like (1)
Sergesouszero
Sergesouszero
14 July 2016
Thank you!
Like
fiery12
11 April 2016
I use BetterTouchTool to map 3-th and 4-th buttons of my Logitech mouse to Copy (Cmd+C) And Paste (Cmd+V) commands. It works very well for over a year (no CPU problems). Now when I paid (donated) the recommended fee, it no longer tells me that it has expired. That nagging dialog several times created confusion while using my mouse. Finally it's gone. The only problem apart from the nasty expired dialog was that after an Apple security update (OS X 10.11.1 Security update), some dialogs stopped working with my mouse. I was able to confirm them only with the keyboard. These are all dialogs that ask for Keychain permission including Safari Extensions installation. The problem went away when I enabled BetterTouchTool in the list of system approved apps (System Preferences -> Security & Privacy -> Accessibility).
Like
Version 1.66
RavenNevermore
11 April 2016
To be honest, I always used this for pretty much one thing; to enable back/forward two finger swipes in the Finder, as in Safari.

So when the old version stopped working and it was now I paid version, I asked myself if it was worth the $3, or whatever. You can pay what you want.

Then I discovered the BTT Remote app for iOS. Since I pretty much use my iMac as a TV, that was appealing. Now I could control any app! Bwa ha ha ha ha ha!

So I went ahead and paid $5 for BTT. :)
Like (1)
Version 1.66
Benjamin-Leaman
10 February 2016
Developer site not responding, guess im gonna have to mod the .plist till its back up : /
Like (1)
Version 1.55