Back to Gruml page
Gruml free download for Mac

Gruml Reviews

1.3.0
01 August 2012

Google Reader viewer and account manager.

Steven-Goodheart
20 November 2009

Most helpful

Wow, I only had to use this for a day to have it supplant NetNewsWirte, which I think very highly of. I love the interface of this app, and I especially like how easy it is to send an article to Facebook, Twitter, Instapaper, ReadItLater, StumbleUpon, and Digg, to name a few. The program seems every bit as fast, if not faster, than NNW, and it syncs great with Google Reader. There are still rough edges...this is a beta, but wow, what a great start and great competition for NNW.
Like (9)
Version 0.9.14.434

Read 54 Gruml User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jazzyguy
26 November 2013
It is sad to see this go down. Maybe it will reemerge as a multi use RSS news reader.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.0
Steven-Goodheart
14 March 2013
I wonder what will happen to Gruml (and other readers that depend on Google Reader) when Google Reader shuts down in July? Is the beginning of the end of the RSS format?
Like
Version 1.3.0
Jayce
16 January 2013
Overall rating should read FIVE STAR. Reluctantly let go of NetNewsWire which has not functioned well since Simmons left. Looked for replacement, found Gruml--excellent! All the best of NNW, easy to configure, pulled in all my subscriptions without error (and there were far too many of them.) I may at some point find something to nitpick about but, after two days of heavy use, not yet.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.0
Aikwaar
04 September 2012
Crashes when coose deafault RSS reader under Preferences. Version Version 1.2 (1.2.0.565), Mac OS X 8.0.1
Like
Version 1.2
Bezierboy
03 September 2012
I like Gruml a lot, but it seems to lock up when left running for more than an hour or so at a time. I know it's a beta, but this is a pain. I am on Mountain Lion 8.0.1 on a MacBook Pro.
Like
Version 1.2
ferben
02 August 2012
Great app. Must have on Mac OS X 10.8 due drop RSS support in Mail.app and Safari 6.
Like
Version 1.2
MacBunny
01 August 2012
Very good!
Like
Version 1.2
Jeffsf
05 July 2012
Elegant and basically easy, and FREE. Quite a value. Does lots of things more easily than Google reader, most notably adjust type size for various screen resolutions. Shows authors. Has it's own tabbed browser. Two things I wish for [1] a way to choose to actually hide articles when read, so only the unread remain in the cue, and [2] a way to make such suggestions to the developer.
Like
Version 1.1
bramm1
03 June 2012
All of a sudden, I can't post articles to Pocket/Read It Later. I've restarted everything, checked all the preferences, and searched for other people with the same problem. No explanation or solution. I'm using Lion, OS X 10.7.4.
Like
Version 1.1
Tryme
10 March 2012
A suggestion to the developers - perhaps somewhere in your app AND on your website it might be nice to provide a way to contact you, or at least report a bug! You have a bug tracker page that is offline. This app is fantastic with exception to one very annoying bug, if you download via the app it slows to a complete crawl until the download completes. Why anybody would pay for a crippled, feature barren app like 'Reeder' when this far superior app is free is as confusing to me as the appeal the Khardasian sisters hold for so many people.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
navajosky
03 January 2012
easy to manage folder, to read, to edit, to share, it's just great
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Uncoy
30 November 2011
Fn awesome! Can't get three pain vertical layout out of Vienna. Google Reader sync not done there yet. NetNewsWire continues to bounce around like an (apparently buggy) tennis ball between payment models. Apparently people who paid $30 for v3.0 had to pay another $15 for v3.2. Ouch. Gruml just works out of the box. Some money going Andreas Schwelling's way. Love the simple looks.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Lumac52
02 September 2011
Anyone know what's new in 1.1? I can't find any info on the website. And I'm always a little nervous trying out apps that get access to my Google Account info.
Like
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Erunno
Erunno
03 September 2011
http://www.grumlapp.com/gruml-1-1-released New: support of new Lion features (fullscreen, sidebar, resume) Fixes sync issues with Google Reader Fixes problems switching between 3-column- and bottom-preview-style Fixes some problems with internal browser further bug fixes
Like
Maltz2
Maltz2
11 October 2011
Unfortunately, Resume support under Lion means that the app has a habit of quitting when it's in the background and the window isn't open. :/
Like
Ron-Bell
27 August 2011
Very good Google Reader app. Fairly stable, easy to use, and with a robust suite of social network sharing capabilities built in, which NetNewsWire lacks (NNW only supports a handful). This app could benefit from a feature similar to NetNewsWire's smart folders to sort incoming articles into folders by keywords.
Like
Version 0.9.26.375
Bigboysdad
20 August 2011
Excellent app and very good reviews below too. Can't agree more about the need to include the option to open items in an external browser. Indeed, if that option becomes available in a future update then I'll know I can safely trash NetNewsWire.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.26.375
Sw-tester
12 August 2011
works pretty good. but missing a major feature, the preference to open articles in default browser instead of in the app.
Like
Version 0.9.26.375
1 answer(s)
Sw-tester
Sw-tester
24 August 2011
my bad, Gruml does have a default browser option. it is not obvious. go to Prefs > Advanced > URL Handling.
Like
Kanipan
04 August 2011
A very good Google Reader Client! Just have the following suggestion: 1. An Option to disable the sync of recommend items 2. An Option to hide the "Your Staff Column" (Like the new Mail App" 3. Lion Full Screen Support 4. Better Memory management, seems it used up about 200MB RAM
Like (1)
Version 0.9.26.375
Jazzyguy
31 May 2011
Something wrong with this beta. It keeps looking for articles but doesn't get beyond that.
Like (3)
Version 0.9.26.375
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
31 May 2011
It is now loading articles but it seems to be a lot slower at this than the last version.
Like (3)
cstephen87
06 May 2011
I have tried many other RSS Apps, and Gruml is by far the greatest thing that has happened to mac. In comparison to netnewswire, it does everything to match, and more!
Like (3)
Version 0.9.25.121
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
31 May 2011
In every way it is better than NNW and free as well!
Like (1)
L0xby
05 April 2011
would be nice if i could hide the sidebar (where "your stuff/feeds/folders" are listed). i really don't need to see that at all times.
Like
Version 0.9.24.1244
1 answer(s)
cstephen87
cstephen87
06 May 2011
Understood, but you can minimize those directories and folders too...
Like
Tlance
06 March 2011
Has there been any word from the developer as to whether or not gruml will become commercial app?
Like (2)
Version 0.9.24.1244
mjasinski
05 March 2011
Where can I find version 9.24?
Like (1)
Version 0.9.24.1238
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
06 March 2011
Looks like MacUpdate jumped the gun with 9.24. Probably will be fixed relatively quickly.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
05 March 2011
9.24 isn't on the developer's site.
Like (5)
Version 0.9.24.1238
Jazzyguy
05 March 2011
Don't know what is wrong but the d/l yields 9.23 not 9.24
Like (4)
Version 0.9.24.1238
Janguita
18 December 2010
Looking for the best feed reader for my AIR. I think that this is almost what I'm looking for. Please, don't stop developing. Can I donate?
Like
Version 0.9.22.148
FalstaffA
25 November 2010
"Please note: Gruml is currently still in beta stage" Apparently Gruml will make the Guinness Book of World Records for being the software with the longest beta stage in recent history. C'mon now, I know it's free and all, but seriously, this is getting ridiculous.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.22.148
1 answer(s)
Turkchgo
Turkchgo
29 December 2010
Nah, ridiculous is TheHitList app. :)
Like (3)
Prlab
02 November 2010
What piece of rubbish is this? Won't even allow me to log in my google details. Just hangs.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.22.148
Cmacuser
23 August 2010
I have been using Gruml for a little while now. Each release is getting better and better. With 0.9.21 it is ready for everyday use. The stability of the app has been much improved. Right now this app is free. I would gladly contribute / pay to use this app.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.21.910
Steven-Goodheart
23 August 2010
Gruml keeps getting better and better. This latest update fixes synching (and deleting of feeds vis a viz Google Reader) problems that made me have to use NetNewswire from time to time. This is definitely one of the best freeware products I use. Thanks so much!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.21.910
FalstaffA
12 July 2010
UPDATE: Guys, Gruml's developer posted the following on Twitter: "FYI: still working on 0.9.21, which will include changes/improvements in backend and syncing. Further information will follow in a few days" 9:58 PM Jul 6th via CoTweet In case any of you is interested on the details of some of the issues scheduled (active tickets) to be addressed by Gruml's developer, they can be found here: http://bit.ly/aEnw8R
Like
Version 0.9.20.323
Drdul
21 June 2010
Why does this install Growl? How about an option to not install Growl (and if there is one, I missed it, so it needs to be easier to find).
Like
Version 0.9.20.323
Buligwyf
01 June 2010
Excuse my ignorance, but how do I delete a title. No matter what I highlight, the "select all" and "delete" remains grayed out under edit. MacBook OSX 10.6.3.
Like
Version 0.9.20.323
2 answer(s)
Buligwyf
Buligwyf
04 June 2010
Thank you Falstaffa. Yes, editing via Google Reader works. I should probably have figured out that myself, but I believe most viewers let you delete titles directly ( I might be wrong). Anyway, its not a deal breaker and I look forwards to exploring Gruml further. Cheers, B
Like
Version 0.9.20.323
Buligwyf
Buligwyf
04 June 2010
Woops! I was wrong. Despite having deleted the titles in Google Reader, they remain in Gruml ( at least for the time being ).
Like
Version 0.9.20.323
Supermacnerd
28 May 2010
I noticed this app takes up more memory then NNW and also more CPU but its 64bit as opposed to NNW. Still waiting for a stable release to see if I will make the switch but great program and clean interface
Like
Version 0.9.20.323
FalstaffA
23 May 2010
Well, I was expecting a solution to the Flash issues I've described experiencing with Gruml 0.9.18 and 0.9.19, as soon as I received a tweet from Gruml's developer announcing the release of 0.9.20.323 I downloaded it and installed it. Unfortunately, the Flash issue symptom I described on Gruml 0.9.18 has manifested itself again, in that case the plugin missing/not found image (lego block with question mark) was displayed where a Flash preview should be visible, I took a number of steps to verify whether the problem was at my end or not, after having concluded all such steps I sadly confirmed that the glitch is a Gruml specific one, none of my other Webkit applications displayed the glitch behavior. I have reverted to Gruml 0.9.17, which as was the case before trying 0.9.18, 0.9.19 & 0.9.20, works perfectly, without any Flash related glitches whatsoever.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.20.323
FalstaffA
15 May 2010
I'm looking forward to the release of Gruml 0.9.20, Gruml's developer Andreas Schwelling has done a very good job with this application, considering that it's still in Beta and bugs are not uncommon at that stage of development, all in all I must say that I love Gruml, so much so that it has become my default news reader, hopefully the issues that have been experienced with 0.9.19 will soon be resolved.
Like
Version 0.9.19.12
FalstaffA
11 May 2010
Gruml 0.9.19.12 refuses to load any Flash content, this Flash related bug is not the same one I found on Gruml 0.9.18, in that case the plugin missing/not found image (lego block with question mark) was displayed, in the case of 0.9.19.12 nothing shows up when clicking Flash content to play video, I've AGAIN reverted to Gruml 0.9.17, which works without any glitch.
Like
Version 0.9.19.12
Turkchgo
10 May 2010
I can't keep version .18 running on any machine, crashes after about 2 mins. Can't really tell what the problem is. I've switched back to the .17. I have about 500 feeds in 15 folders on Google Reader. I'm not sure if that's unusual or not.
Like
Version 0.9.18
1 answer(s)
Turkchgo
Turkchgo
14 May 2010
Version 19 doesn't fix the problem for me. :( Gruml won't stay running for more than 2 minutes before it crashes.
Like
Version 0.9.19.12
Sigil
10 May 2010
Yes, Gruml has Evernote support!!!!
Like
Version 0.9.18
FalstaffA
10 May 2010
Reverted to Gruml 0.9.17, all is well again, I hope the Flash glitch in 0.9.18 is quickly fixed, Gruml has great potential, especially for an application that is still in Beta, some of the recommendations that have been made by other reviewers are spot on, once the requested features are implemented, Gruml will reach the maturity of NetNewsWire, the sooner, the better.
Like
Version 0.9.18
FalstaffA
10 May 2010
Gruml 0.9.18 refuses to load any Flash content, I'm reverting to 0.9.17, note to developer, if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.18
Sigil
12 April 2010
This is a great reader! I love it, but lease add Evernote Support!
Like
Version 0.9.17.245
Gryffin
02 April 2010
I'm a NetNewsWire user from waaay back, but I tried Gruml. Not just open it and play for a few minutes; I used it as my only feedreader for a week. Launches fast, looks a lot like NNW, but then it's all down hill from there. In NNW, I can navigate through my feeds lightning-fast with the keyboard: left-arrow to get to the feed list, up- and down-arrow to navigate between the feeds, right-arrow to go to the article list, up- and down-arrow to move between articles, right-arrow or enter to open the article in a tab, left-arrow to go back to the feed list, up-and down-arrow… you get the idea. I can blast through a hundred articles in dozens of feeds as fast as I can hit the arrow keys. But not in Gruml. First of all, the whole interface regularly bogs down while it refreshes a feed, which it apparently does *constantly*; you can't tell it to just check for new articles every hour, for example. And while you can navigate from feed to feed with the arrow keys - like NNW - when you move to a new feed, it stops to refresh the article list, making you wait until it's done to hit right-arrow to navigate the articles, or to even *see* the new articles. Oh, and about 10% of the time, it fails to refresh the article list, leaving it blank until you navigate to another feed and ten back - only to wait for it to refresh *again*. Multiply those delay by a few dozen feeds, and in my experience, it takes two to three times as long to blast through my feeds. To make matters worse, many of Gruml's keyboard shortcuts don't require the Command key. Start typing when you think you're in a form field, and suddenly you're accidentally mangling your article and/or feed lists. Lotsa fun! Oh, and while Gruml has some interesting (if somewhat unfinished) social media features, it doesn't support scripts. In NetNewsWire, I use the Readability2 script to reformat articles for easy reading, and other scripts scripts that send articles to Instapaper, EverNote, Tumblr, etc. I found those very hard to do without in Gruml. In conclusion, Gruml could become a decent competitor to NetNewsWire, but it's really not there yet.
Like (4)
Version 0.9.17.245
Jazzyguy
01 March 2010
The "WIZARD" just takes your Google Reader address and password. That's all not like Window's Wizards. This is an OUTSATANDING app that will rival any paid newsreader as well as the free ones that are great like Vienna and Ensemble.I give it 5stars for its great functionality and GUI.
Like (5)
Version 0.9.16.422
pandora-1
28 February 2010
I quit the installer the minute I saw that it was a "wizard." Macs don't need magic to work, they just work. Winblows seems to be the place where wizards and magic are needed. Back to Cyndicate for me.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.16.422
1 answer(s)
csaborio
csaborio
01 April 2010
Hey, the 1990s called. They want your stupid OS wars back.
Like
Version 0.9.17.245
Turkchgo
19 February 2010
This app is truly one of the most feature complete interfaces to Google Reader out there. I cannot wait for the developer to move this thing further along. It's hooks into other applications and websites (Send Article To section) is phenomenal. My only complaint is the speed of development!
Like (3)
Version 0.9.15.991
Rewozz
03 February 2010
Gruml is truly a great replacement for NetNewsWire . Give it a try!
Like (3)
Version 0.9.15.991
Adammag
24 January 2010
Great software.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.15.991
Adammag
24 January 2010
Fantastic software. Changed the way I get/sync news forever. Thank you!
Like (4)
Version 0.9.15.991
SawtoothRising
17 January 2010
this is great, first app side implementation of tag support I've seen and a start to using google reader keyboard shortcuts. please please please implement *all* google reader shortcuts, as present in the online service, as "s" is star item "S" is share item. thanks
Like (4)
Version 0.9.15.991
Steven-Goodheart
20 November 2009
Wow, I only had to use this for a day to have it supplant NetNewsWirte, which I think very highly of. I love the interface of this app, and I especially like how easy it is to send an article to Facebook, Twitter, Instapaper, ReadItLater, StumbleUpon, and Digg, to name a few. The program seems every bit as fast, if not faster, than NNW, and it syncs great with Google Reader. There are still rough edges...this is a beta, but wow, what a great start and great competition for NNW.
Like (9)
Version 0.9.14.434