Back to TunesArt page
TunesArt free download for Mac

TunesArt Reviews

1.9.4
21 January 2020

Display iTunes track info and cover art on your desktop.

Jolly-joker
26 February 2011

Most helpful

Great great application! If in future there will be 3 more shortcuts (like "search directly an artist", "track" and "album") it will be really perfect!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1

Read 39 TunesArt User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jolly-joker
26 February 2011
Great great application! If in future there will be 3 more shortcuts (like "search directly an artist", "track" and "album") it will be really perfect!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
donikatz
26 January 2011
My favorite iTunes notifier app. Good hotkeys controls. Last.fm sync. Love how you can use Growl AND also hover over the menubar for built-in notifier pop-up. Only problem I have is occasionally (rarely) it can cause iTunes to stutter when loading a new track. Quitting & relaunching TunesArt resolves that. Haven't taken the time to troubleshoot further, so could just be me.
Like
Version 1.2
3 answer(s)
shacklaw
shacklaw
20 February 2011
I actually stopped using this because of the stutter. It was getting on my nerves too often, almost every song change would cause it. I didn't try to troubleshoot it either, but perhaps it's when it writes either the lyrics or cover art to the track?
Like
shacklaw
shacklaw
20 February 2011
I just did some real quick "troubleshooting." It stutters when I have it set to fetch and automatically save lyrics. I turned that off and no stutter.
Like
Jib
Jib
20 February 2011
This problem is an iTunes problem, and I can't do anything for this problem :( It occurs when lyrics or cover art are saved into track. The only way to get rid of that is to disable auto-save of lyrics/artwork.
Like
Burak
30 November 2010
The only working lyrics fetcher, but it doesn't save lyrics to tracks automatically or manually. (Mac OS X 10.5.8 PPC, iTunes library on a WD network drive.)
Like
Version 1.2
Bobbster
04 November 2010
Awesome piece of software, with a lot a functions; really complete. I've tried almost everything out there, and imo this is the best. Thank you to the developer!
Like
Version 1.0.2
Regular-Warren
27 October 2010
I agree with the previous review. This is a really cool little companion app for iTunes. I love the layout and interface. I've been using this for a couple of days and the only issue I've noticed so far is that the album cover fetch feature seems a little inconsistent. For example, I'm currently listening to an 11-track album; TunesArt fetched the album cover for the first seven songs and has been unable to do so for songs 8-11. Still, I'm enjoying this app. Good stuff.
Like
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
29 October 2010
Thanks Warren for your review. About your album art issue, could you tell me if your album got all ID3 tags filled (artist, title, album...) ? I'm using Amazon services for fetching artworks, and sometimes their servers are not able to answer before a timeout I've defined. Maybe this is the reason, except if you experienced same issue with same album another day ?
Like
Version 1.0.2
Shock-J
25 October 2010
Love this app. I think this is the best iTunes "companion" app, free or paid. Super easy to setup and use and not bloated with a ton of useless features. I hope this update addresses the scrobbling issues with Last.fm. It felt redundant to be running this and the Last.fm app at the same time (but this one wasn't scrobbling correctly before). Note to developer: You removed the "Lock Cover" feature (or should I say preference) in the latest update(s). Any reason why? I found the feature to be essential. It totally prevents me from accidentally moving the cover. I know the feature is still "active" as my cover was still locked after updating even though the preference was missing. After updating I needed to adjust the cover and had to resort to moving my old prefs file out and letting the app create a new prefs file to do it. After I was done, I did move the LockCover key back to the new prefs file though. :-) I think you should put this pref back into the app. Just my two cents. Keep up the awesome work!
Like
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
25 October 2010
Thanks for your support :) "Lock cover" setting is still present, but was removed from main menu. You'll find it when right clicking on the desktop album cover.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Shock-J
Shock-J
25 October 2010
Well I'll be... I would not have thought to right click on album cover. Awesome, thanks for the tip!
Like
Version 1.0.1
shacklaw
24 October 2010
Does this support iPod scrobbling? I'm still looking for an app to replace the ancient and awful Last.fm Scrobbler to handle iPod scrobbling (properly) in addition to iTunes scrobbling.
Like
Version 1.0
4 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
24 October 2010
I've planned to add iPod scrobbling in next major version. I've already something working pretty well, just need to debug and beta test.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
shacklaw
shacklaw
24 October 2010
Awesome, can't wait. Thanks for the update.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Riseofchaos
Riseofchaos
26 October 2010
AWESOME! I would love to be beta tester :-)
Like
Version 1.0.1
Webjib
Webjib
30 October 2010
Please contact me through my website, a beta is ready to download.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Riseofchaos
23 October 2010
This is the most awesome iTunes Controller / Cover App ever. I love it. Just installed version 1.0. Awesome work. TunesArt now supports Themes, if there would be iPod Scrobbling, Like.fm integration and a Last.fm love button, it would be the perfect app. Nothing more to say. Oh maybe: how could this app be free? :)
Like (4)
Version 1.0
Rumineo
09 October 2010
Simple, elegant, well thought out. Just what I needed. Thanks bunches!!
Like (2)
Version 0.9.5
Rabati
05 October 2010
Excellent, in my opinion the best application for Lyrics and Artworks RA
Like (1)
Version 0.9.5
Halle-helmie
23 June 2010
awh.... thanks bro... you're the best!!!!!
Like
Version 0.9.5
Halle-helmie
11 June 2010
this application is the best... nevertheless... i made a few mistakes of my own.. HIDE MENUBAR AND DOCK ICON!!! and now i can't access anything from it!! Could anyone help me please... is there any solution to this.. (I know..i know... i'm an idiot)
Like
Version 0.9.5
1 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
20 June 2010
The best way is to delete TunesArt preferences. Close TunesArt. Then go to to your user's "library" folder, then "Preferences" folder and look for the file "com.jib.TunesArt.plist" and delete it. Restart TunesArt.
Like
Version 0.9.5
Shock-J
07 April 2010
Just logged into Last.fm (in web browser) and I seem to be missing quite a bit of recently played music. TunesArt doesn't seem to be scrobbling correctly... Or should I say it's scrobbling sporadically. I went to the Last.fm tab in preferences, disabled scrobbling and then re-enabled it and TunesArt couldn't seem to connect to Last.fm. Could the last iTunes update (9.1) have affected scrobbling? Will have to use the real Last.fm app for now until this gets resolved. Still a great app, especially for free!
Like
Version 0.9.5
Eggshell
10 February 2010
pretty decent free soft , very pleased with the auto artwork and lyrics fetcher couple of suggestions: - better menu bar icon - more and better cover art choices ( check the ones made for bowtie )
Like
Version 0.9.5
Riseofchaos
22 January 2010
Thanks for the german translation!
Like (2)
Version 0.9.1
Pablito
17 January 2010
I like it. Works perfectly, smoothly, low memory, easy to use. It's perfect. And free!! voila!!!! thanks a lot.
Like (3)
Version 0.9
rs9020
16 January 2010
Laurent! You sound like someone who has been out of tech world for decades! What copying are you talking about? The option to use keyboard shortcuts? The option to display lyrics? The option to display coverart? The option to download artwork/lyrics? The option to use a similar coding language to create apps? The option to have an icon in the Menubar? The option to rate tracks? The option to display rating stars on the Menubar? The option to even create an iTunes plugin!? The option to have a search field to find songs? The option to have a matte-black background for windows? If these are your reasons Laurent, then, Webjib (developer of this app), you are guilty my friend! You are guilty of putting together such commonly found application functions in a simple, yet useful and appealing interface, and that too for free! You are guilty of not abiding by Laurent's illogical, senseless and baseless banter! You are guilty of even putting up your app on MacUpdate (coz CoverSutra had done that before you)! Laurent, if you dislike this app or the developer's style, do not use it! If you want to criticize it, please do, but with some facts or valid arguments. But I guess your arguments are the ones I mentioned above!
Like
Version 0.9
4 answer(s)
Avetenebrae
Avetenebrae
25 January 2010
Oh, I didn't know it was how the world worked today. You mean I can completely copy a software, or a car, or whatever, and tell the people who will complain: "Hey, if you don't like it, don't use it." You mean I can create my own company with an apple as logo (what is more common than a logo for a company? and an apple is a common fruit and name), sell mp3 players that look exactly like an iPod (what is more common than a screen, a button play, a control wheel?) and if Apple ask me I will just tell them: "hey, you don't have to use it if you don't like!" Pathetic.
Like
Version 0.9.1
rs9020
rs9020
25 January 2010
@ AVETENEBRAE/Laurent Which parts/features of this app do you think have been taken off Cover Stream?
Like
Version 0.9.1
Avetenebrae
Avetenebrae
25 January 2010
I'm talking about CoverSutra. Check the screenshots of the app here http://www.sophiestication.com/coversutra/
Like
Version 0.9.1
rs9020
rs9020
25 January 2010
I checked the screenshots of CoverSutra. The only thing that resembles CoverSutra is the small info window that shows up when clicking/hovering over the menubar icon. Even there, the cover-art is different in both apps. Also, TunesArt shows the duration of song. Other things like search windows, cover art on desktop etc. are what can be considered as industry standards. Many iTunes plugins have it.
Like
Version 0.9.1
Foyan
12 January 2010
Hey ! Great ! This application is now Universal Binary compiled. So TunesArt runs fine on PPC processors also !
Like (3)
Version 0.8.3
Mikeymike28
05 January 2010
I've been a huge advocate of Cover Stream simply because the Album Cover display options, particularly the one where the cover shows the reflection. The best part about this is that when one moves this display, it slants either left or right side depending on where the use chooses to place the album cover on the screen. The downside of Cover Stream is that it takes up so much cpu resources :( along with itunes. TunesArt solves that esthetic issue for me, but it lacks the slant-effect as described above. If TunesArt could implement this in the future, I am definitely sold :) Great program nonetheless.
Like
Version 0.8.3
Avetenebrae
04 January 2010
Big rip off CoverSutra. Support the original developers instead of supporting copycats.
Like (2)
Version 0.8.3
2 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
05 January 2010
Did you try TunesArt ? I guess you did not... TunesArt has a lot of features that Coversutra lacks, but the opposite is also true. There's many more similar software (Bowtie, Coverstream...) and each one is unique. If you don't like TunesArt, don't use it ! I've spent so many days on developing TunesArt, so please respect that. And TunesArt is free, so I make no money !
Like (8)
Version 0.8.3
Avetenebrae
Avetenebrae
05 January 2010
Lol oui merci je connais CoverSutra, Bowtie et Coversteam, je les ai designé tous les 3… Si tu cherche du respect pour ton travail, commence par respecter le travail des autres. Copier des interfaces, faire un mix de se que tu trouve bien dans les autre logiciels ne t'apportera pas le mien. Invente quelque chose, quelque chose d'innovant, et tu aura mon respect. Laurent
Like (2)
Version 0.8.3
Hal2007
03 January 2010
Has all the features I need! Perfect software. Seems better than CoverSutra right now. Thank you very much for making this free.
Like (4)
Version 0.8.3
Mlbkxbx
08 December 2009
Excellent! And for free. :) Thanks for the contribution. I happen to think looks are as important as function, and this is one of those rare apps that have both. Nice app icon, nice menu bar icon, good looking notifications and "now playing" desktop art "thingie" (for lack of a better description). I particularly like how it shows the song title of the online radio stations i'm listening too. I've tried others that couldn't do that. It's also nice that i can configure it to behave pretty much exactly like i want it too. You can turn off the menu bar icon, notifications, cover art, bezel notifications and keyboard short cuts individually. So if you like it to be minimalistic, you can set it up to be minimalistic. I can search for music from a HUD display (pallet?), start/stop/forward/back on the "cover art" or menu bar icon, download lyrics, set rating etc etc. I don't know about you, but for me it's absolutely perfect. Don't change a thing! ;)
Like
Version 0.8.1
Vma
07 December 2009
I love this tool! Thanks for writing this cool app and make it free! One problem I found during the few days of trying this: "Automatically Save Downloaded Lyrics in Current Track" option doesn't seem to work. The app did fetch the lyrics and found them (I had the lyrics window open). However, when I played the same same song next time, it would still try to fetch the lyrics again. I manually clicked on "Save into Track" didn't help. I selected "Get Info" from iTunes, and no content in the "Lyrics" tab. I am using iTunes 9.0.2, SL (10.6.2).
Like (1)
Version 0.8.1
rs9020
05 December 2009
This is one of the best iTunes companion app out there. And it's free! But, Mousqueak app has lured me away from TunesArt for now. Some requests for the developer though. The cover art could be a bit bigger and clearer/sharper. Option to show lyrics window at desktop level. Option to see a small current track info window on mouse-over the TunesArt icon in menubar. Instead of having two icons (Mini-controller and TunesArt icon), why not just have the Mini-Controller (if activated)? Then, you can right-click to see TunesArt menu items (just like in ByteController). The notification window is too small. An option to have something big like that in Mousqueak would be awesome!
Like
Version 0.8.1
1 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
05 December 2009
Thanks for your feedback. I'll try to take your ideas in consideration in upcoming versions (most of TunesArt features are users' requests).
Like
Version 0.8.1
pintapass
29 November 2009
If only TunesArt offered reliable iPod scrobbling (á la ScrobblePod), the gaggle of iPod companion apps (e.g., CoverSutra, GimmeSomeTune, Last.fm Scrobbler, ScrobblePod) I ran up until tonight, which is when I discovered this fantastic little app, would be rendered entirely superfluous. This is shaping up to be the iTunes companion app to rule them all, a great mix of aesthetics and functionality. My fingers are crossed for my feature request.
Like
Version 0.8
Hal2007
18 November 2009
This is just about perfect. I only wish it would offer shortcut keys for Volume Up/Volume Down. Other than that, as said, top notch. Can't be beat concerning the price (free!).
Like
Version 0.7.2
1 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
20 November 2009
Thanks for your feedback ! Shortcuts for Volume/Mute will be added to upcoming 0.8 version. Stay tuned, it should be available in a few days... ;)
Like (1)
Version 0.7.2
liang-case
12 November 2009
Hi, Ratting and its shortcut doesn't work for me on 10.6.2. TunesArt cannot actually change the rate of songs in iTunes 9.0.2. Any idea?
Like
Version 0.7.1
1 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
12 November 2009
Hi. I've got 10.6.2 and iTunes 9.023 and it works fine. Can you change rating with TunesArt menu or same problem ? In addition, can you change rating by clicking on the stars under the desktop corver art ? Did you try to change your keyboard shortcut for rating (for example, I use Alt+Cmd+Up_arrow-)
Like
Version 0.7.1
Riseofchaos
08 November 2009
Finally Growl and better LastFM Support. Awesome! :)
Like
Version 0.7
Abelle
01 November 2009
Very nice work, thank you.
Like (1)
Version 0.6
Michael-K
28 October 2009
I've tried Coversutra and Bowtie; this free app beats them both. It's much more stable than Bowtie (with stable last.fm scrobbling), and it is developing more rapidly than both apps. It also is better than Coversutra (IMO) because it shows rating of the current track and allows you to change the rating from the desktop art. But for me, the killer feature is the fact that it does not stretch or crop coverart that is not square; both Coversutra and Bowtie never handled rectangular artwork properly and would stretch (Bowtie) or crop (Coversutra). It's a small thing, but if I didn't care about these small things I'd be using Windows. Recommended to any user of the above two apps and any iTunes user, really.
Like
Version 0.5
Pablito
26 October 2009
I'm in love with this app. The options are great and layout is terrific! It runs smooth. No bugs until now and small memory footprint. I'm using for a couple of days, no regrets at all. One thing that could be easier is the lyrics saving, could be automatic instead of Edit and Save every song. But it's a small detail. Great job! congrats! Thank you so much for providing for free! Fully recommend!
Like
Version 0.5
Soulslave
26 October 2009
im a huge GimmeSomeTune fan...but ill give it a try so far, im missing the "fetch lyrics" and i would like a nicer menubar icon and theme display ill be checking ur following updates, so keep it up cz is getting there ;)
Like
Version 0.5
3 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
26 October 2009
Thanks for your feedback. TunesArt can fetch Lyrics since version 0.4 (from lyrics.wikia.com). Currently, it will not fetch lyrics if no exact match is found in lyrics.wikia.com (I'll try to get better fetching in upcoming version of TunesArt). About menubar icon, any idea (I guess you mean : another icon) ? And what do you mean with "nicer theme display" ?
Like
Version 0.5
Soulslave
Soulslave
27 October 2009
sorry for what i said about the lyrics, i just saw them, and i like the display a lot better than the GimmeSomeTune display! try giving us a few music notes choices for the menubar icon, and when i mentioned themes it was cz i tought the themes for the album art could be a lil bit nicer, but i guess that comes with time so its OK oh, and i second the other reply about saving lyrics to songs automatically i see that ur really trying to make this a great app, it shows when u pay attention to each feedback everyone gives you. its always good to see that
Like
Version 0.5
Webjib
Webjib
27 October 2009
Thanks for your feedback. I think I can give several choices for the menubar icon, it should be easy to do. About themes, I don't have great design skills, so it's hard for me. I'd appreciate a designer's help for that part ;) Last, about lyrics, I'll make a personal setting to save the lyrics to file automatically, you're right. TunesArt is still young (development started 1 mont ago), so many things need to be bettered !
Like
Version 0.5
Voreball
26 October 2009
32.80 Mo RAM and 2.96 Go VRAM ? What a ravenous little buddy! (MacPro 2 x 3.2 4Core Intel Xeon - 10.5.8)
Like
Version 0.5
1 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
26 October 2009
Thanks for your comment. I've tried other similar application and I've found same values for some (Coversutra for example = 2.70 GO VRAM). But I'll try to reduce memory footprint in next version.
Like
Version 0.5
Legal-Eagle
26 October 2009
I would be most grateful if someone would explain to me how to get this application to work. I downloaded and installed it in my Application folder, but double-clicking on its icon does nothing whatsoever. It does not open, or do anything at all. In iTunes I do not see any evidence of its existence anywhere. I have some other art-finding applications which all work fine, so I am mystified as to why TunesArt does not. Particularly as others are giving it great reviews. I am running Mac OSX 10.5.8 on a 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo iMac G5. Thanks for any suggestions.
Like
Version 0.5
1 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
26 October 2009
Could you contact me through my website in order to find a solution ?
Like
Version 0.5
Jazzyguy
24 October 2009
Excellent Does exactly what it claims to do!
Like (2)
Version 0.4
Superman-S
24 October 2009
The Best, Perfect
Like (1)
Version 0.4
Weasel
18 October 2009
GimmeSomeTune does the same thing, it's universal & also free.
Like (1)
Version 0.3
1 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
18 October 2009
GimmeSomeTune is a great software too, but it has only a notification window whereas TunesArt can display coverart on desktop (with 4 different sytles) AND notification on track change (in a different window AND without growl). In addition, TunesArt has a great search feature, which can be controlled with keyboard if you'd like. By the way, TunesArt is young, and each version adds a lot of features (next one is Last.fm support). I stay tuned for any suggestion.
Like
Version 0.3
Foyan
17 October 2009
Seems to be a nice app, but Intel only alas. However Bowtie is Universal Binary and works fine on PPC comp. What about TunesArt ? Planned also ?
Like
Version 0.3
Hendo
06 October 2009
It's nice that it's free but what does this have that the equally free Bowtie doesn't?
Like
Version 0.2
1 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
06 October 2009
Bowtie is a great software, especially fully customizable. TunesArt has just born, some features will be added shortly. Give it a try and tell me.
Like
Version 0.2