Back to OpenEmu page
OpenEmu free download for Mac

OpenEmu Reviews

10 January 2021

Open Source game-emulation app.

How would you rate OpenEmu?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Macinman
Macinman
Jan 8 2021
2.3.2
0.0
Jan 8 2021
0.0
Version: 2.3.2
If anyone from the OpenEmu team reads this thread. OpenEmu crashes instantly on Big Sur 11.1 I had to revert to the previous version through a Time Machine backup to get it to start again without an instant crash. Computer: late 2015, 27 inch iMac OS: Big Sur 11.1 RAM 32 GB: OpenEmu version: 2.3.2, reverted to 2.3.1.
oroaroo
oroaroo
Dec 21 2020
2.2.1
2.0
Dec 21 2020
2.0
Version: 2.2.1
good emulator, convenient to have everything in one place, but my save files break quite easily. emulation quality doesn't really matter when i lose my progress. would be nice if users could sort ROMs into folders since there's already so much.
Stephen (OfficeTime Support)
Stephen (OfficeTime Support)
Aug 17 2020
2.2.1
5.0
Aug 17 2020
5.0
Version: 2.2.1
Getting a warning that you can't open it? Control click the icon and select Open.
spintseng
spintseng
Apr 17 2020
2.2.1
0.0
Apr 17 2020
0.0
Version: 2.2.1
Can not run at Mac OS 10.15.4... the Openemu program is OK. But,I try to open the game is fail. pop up lot of massage..
fametown
fametown
Mar 29 2020
2.2.1
5.0
Mar 29 2020
5.0
Version: 2.2.1
Una pequeña joya que se merece todas las estrellas. En su versión experimental funciona MAME a las mil maravillas. Puedo utilizar dos mandos de PS4 en mi Mac y disfrutar de clásicos. Encima es PRECIOSO, cuidado con todo mimo. ¡Alucinante!
enzoleknes
enzoleknes
Feb 28 2020
2.2.1
1.0
Feb 28 2020
1.0
Version: 2.2.1
its saying not app to open
Starchild80
Starchild80
Dec 28 2019
2.2
5.0
Dec 28 2019
5.0
Version: 2.2
5 Stars! It's by far the best Emulator and Game Library! Everything you need you will find in this piece of Software. When you are about to start with emulate Games, Choose OpenEmu, and you can start without trouble.
ylluminate
ylluminate
Mar 23 2017
2.0.5
5.0
Mar 23 2017
5.0
Version: 2.0.5
Best of class, by far. Just wish MAME was a key feature. Some work, but the MAME world is flaky at best: http://choccyhobnob.com/articles/demystifying-mame-roms/ Author should lock into a version and focus on it for testing with community.
BenjaminW
BenjaminW
Jul 12 2016
2.0.2
3.5
Jul 12 2016
3.5
Version: 2.0.2
Nice emu frontend. But I cannot get Mame roms to work. Pity. If anyone can give me some pointers how to get this up and running would be awesome.
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
Jul 3 2016
2.0.2
3.5
Jul 3 2016
3.5
Version: 2.0.2
2.0.2 is unstable. Crashes every time I open preferences. :\

Got stable after leaving it open for a while before going right into preferences. Crash was tied to opening them while it was updating all the cores or something.
richb1993
richb1993
Feb 28 2015
1.0.4
3.5
Feb 28 2015
3.5
Version: 1.0.4
A good attempt at consolidating all emulators into one app. The database functionality is excellent. But many of the emulator settings are hidden away which makes playing some games that require tweaking difficult. Beautifully polished and excellent for a free app, but still needs work. Definitely worth looking into however.
anonymous-dingo-1058
anonymous-dingo-1058
Nov 8 2014
1.0.4
2.0
Nov 8 2014
2.0
Version: 1.0.4
Good idea to have the most of the emulators under the same app, but the ROM organization is very limited, there is no way to put the roms under sub-folders (nder the each machine's folder). They also could support the MESS too
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
May 31 2014
1.0.3
3.5
May 31 2014
3.5
Version: 1.0.3
Every update is progress, but still unusable as it still won't open compressed rom files other emulators can. My entire genesis collection is in .bin compression format and openemu can't even touch those. It shows games in library but they don't even remotely open. Same problem with GBA. Most of those roms it won't even show in library at all. Again those roms work perfectly in any bannister emulator just fine. It seems a lot more work really needs to be done to ensure this emulator can recognize compressed roms or roms with or without headers.
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
May 31 2014
1.0.3
3.5
May 31 2014
3.5
Version: 1.0.3
Does 1.0.3 fix ability to read several rom formats it didn't recognize before? I still have large rom collections it doesn't recognize. Roms can be sort of a mess. compressed, uncompressed. Header, no header. However, my rom collection are all uniform. I ram them all through program to ensure they are all the same. However several systems are hit or miss for me still. Roms that open fine in any other emulator. :\
Mitchismo
Mitchismo
May 31 2014
1.0.3
5.0
May 31 2014
5.0
Version: 1.0.3
Emulation reinvented! Not only an amazing front-end, but it can automatically download all of the engines as well. Looks great, plays great, catalogs great. For a retro-game-collector/librarian, this is where it ends. Valhalla. :-)
Kripton
Kripton
Apr 6 2014
1.0.2
5.0
Apr 6 2014
5.0
Version: 1.0.2
I was looking for an emulator for GBA, then I found OpenEMU. It's wonderful! It works very well for me, finally I'm able to play some rom for gba, moreover I see there are the emulators for many other consoles too. So far it's stable and I never got an error (I use mavericks). Also the gui is well designed, both the main window and the preferences.
LVDA
LVDA
Jan 16 2014
1.0.1
4.0
Jan 16 2014
4.0
Version: 1.0.1
I can't play any game. Nothing happen when click to play.
Clarusad
Clarusad
Jan 4 2014
1.0.1
0.0
Jan 4 2014
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
Could it be possible to have a Snow Leo version ?
Invalid
Invalid
Dec 25 2013
1.0
0.5
Dec 25 2013
0.5
Version: 1.0
Probably the only emulator that doesn't work on Snow Leopard. No thanks.
Spudboy
Spudboy
Dec 25 2013
1.0
0.0
Dec 25 2013
0.0
Version: 1.0
Outstanding product.
SINNAxis
SINNAxis
Dec 25 2013
1.0
5.0
Dec 25 2013
5.0
Version: 1.0
best all-in-one emulator!
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
Dec 24 2013
1.0
3.5
Dec 24 2013
3.5
Version: 1.0
Has potential, but needs more work. Does not read compressed roms at all. I had to uncompress snes roms for it to read them. Cheat system could use more work so you can actually search for cheats instead of just enter them. The copy your entire library thing to another folder is terrible. Just because apple did it, doesn't mean it's good. It can be disabled but the fact it's even a default (like it was in itunes) is dispicable. I like my roms folders as is. All of those asking why it doesn't have nintendo 64. It's not open source like the other emulators this thing deploys with. SixtyForce is commercial and likely isn't going to be supported any time soon. This open source multi emulator is basically a mac itunes gui thrown on all the open source projects combined. It's not a new emulator core at all.
Robertcoogan
Robertcoogan
Dec 23 2013
1.0.0b7
2.5
Dec 23 2013
2.5
Version: 1.0.0b7
Plays Game Boy roms with no problem...but overall it is buggy, with sound coming in and out. Graphics were ok, little skipping and no freezing. This with 4 roms. And no nintendo 64 support...? Strange. Better if people wait, this feels like it was pushed out when it isn't quite ready for prime time.
tahitibub
tahitibub
Oct 19 2013
1.0.0b7
5.0
Oct 19 2013
5.0
Version: 1.0.0b7
Hi, You can try OpenEmu with latest Mame module : http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=17529757#post17529757 http://www.mac-torrent-download.com/application/utility/openemu-with-all-cores-1-0-0b10-intel/ https://github.com/OpenEmu/OpenEmu/wiki/Compiling-From-Source-Guide
Daniel-Flugt
Daniel-Flugt
May 26 2012
1.0.0b7
4.0
May 26 2012
4.0
Version: 1.0.0b7
I've had this for a spin and though I haven't been playing around with it for too long, it's oblivious it has potential. One feature I really love is that it appears to work with the Advanced Launcher in XBMC unlike most other emulators for the Mac. That said, it still has a long way to go, but this is after all still beta software. I'll be following this one with a lot of interest.
anonymous-dingo-1062
anonymous-dingo-1062
Sep 21 2009
1.0b2
0.0
Sep 21 2009
0.0
Version: 1.0b2
This could be something fantastic IF developed right with a nice OS X interface. If they can get NES, SNES, SMS, Genesis, and TurboGrafx games working perfectly, it would be a great start. Then follow up with GBA, N64, and PS1 and you will have the PERFECT all in one emu. Do I think the devs can pull that off? No way. Do I hope they do? With every fiber of my being.
Ilovemymac
Ilovemymac
Sep 20 2009
1.0b2
3.0
Sep 20 2009
3.0
Version: 1.0b2
After playing with this for a while, I found that it is pretty good. It's not perfect, and is kind of buggy, but it does have potential. Sega Genesis, Sega 32X and Sega CD roms all crash the program. But all of the other emulators run fine. The sound quality is amazing. Until the bugs and crashes get worked out, I will stick to my other emulators for now. But I will be watching this one. Good start.