Back to OpenEmu page
OpenEmu free download for Mac

OpenEmu Reviews

2.0.9.1
24 June 2019

Open Source game-emulation app (beta).

Invalid
25 December 2013

Most helpful

Probably the only emulator that doesn't work on Snow Leopard. No thanks.
Like (5)
Version 1.0

Read 20 OpenEmu User Reviews

Rate this app:

ylluminate
23 March 2017
Best of class, by far. Just wish MAME was a key feature. Some work, but the MAME world is flaky at best: http://choccyhobnob.com/articles/demystifying-mame-roms/ Author should lock into a version and focus on it for testing with community.
Like
Version 2.0.5
1 answer(s)
Janichsan
Janichsan
24 March 2017
The Experimental version of OpenEmu has MAME support, which by and large even works very well.

The main problems I see there is a lack of support for analog controllers, which makes many games unplayable. (Unfortunately, the developers seem to be a bit stubborn when asked about adding analog controller support to the MAME core, so I wouldn't expect it to be added any time soon, if at all.)
Like
BenjaminW
12 July 2016
Nice emu frontend. But I cannot get Mame roms to work. Pity. If anyone can give me some pointers how to get this up and running would be awesome.
Like
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
poetcsw-1
poetcsw-1
16 August 2016
You have to use the nightly build to play MAME games in experimental mode. The standard 2.x branch doesn't include MAME in the active emulators.
Like
Mysticalos
03 July 2016
2.0.2 is unstable. Crashes every time I open preferences. :\

Got stable after leaving it open for a while before going right into preferences. Crash was tied to opening them while it was updating all the cores or something.
Like
Version 2.0.2
richb1993
28 February 2015
A good attempt at consolidating all emulators into one app. The database functionality is excellent. But many of the emulator settings are hidden away which makes playing some games that require tweaking difficult. Beautifully polished and excellent for a free app, but still needs work. Definitely worth looking into however.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.4
anonymous-dingo-1058
08 November 2014
Good idea to have the most of the emulators under the same app, but the ROM organization is very limited, there is no way to put the roms under sub-folders (nder the each machine's folder). They also could support the MESS too
Like
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
David-Brailsford
David-Brailsford
01 April 2016
there is these days using collections
Like
Mysticalos
31 May 2014
Every update is progress, but still unusable as it still won't open compressed rom files other emulators can. My entire genesis collection is in .bin compression format and openemu can't even touch those. It shows games in library but they don't even remotely open. Same problem with GBA. Most of those roms it won't even show in library at all. Again those roms work perfectly in any bannister emulator just fine. It seems a lot more work really needs to be done to ensure this emulator can recognize compressed roms or roms with or without headers.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
2 answer(s)
Mitchismo
Mitchismo
01 June 2014
Either expand them or rename them. With .bin, all you have to do is rename them to .smc. Also, you can get help on their IRC channel almost anytime you need it. The forums are active. Tru uncompressing your library. They won't take up much more space. Then make sure the extension is appropriate. Regarding headers and proper romsets, Bannister's projects work great but haven't been kept current. Romset compatibility changes with the emulators themselves, not just the front end. Make sure, also, you have the right core installed. Otherwise, errors are in the console. A little data massaging with an expansion tool or file-renaming tool and you'll be good to go. For Genesis and GBA, it will even grab most of the artwork.
Like (4)
David-Brailsford
David-Brailsford
01 April 2016
bins work in the current version
Like
Mysticalos
31 May 2014
Does 1.0.3 fix ability to read several rom formats it didn't recognize before? I still have large rom collections it doesn't recognize. Roms can be sort of a mess. compressed, uncompressed. Header, no header. However, my rom collection are all uniform. I ram them all through program to ensure they are all the same. However several systems are hit or miss for me still. Roms that open fine in any other emulator. :\
Like
Version 1.0.3
Mitchismo
31 May 2014
Emulation reinvented! Not only an amazing front-end, but it can automatically download all of the engines as well. Looks great, plays great, catalogs great. For a retro-game-collector/librarian, this is where it ends. Valhalla. :-)
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
Kripton
06 April 2014
I was looking for an emulator for GBA, then I found OpenEMU. It's wonderful! It works very well for me, finally I'm able to play some rom for gba, moreover I see there are the emulators for many other consoles too. So far it's stable and I never got an error (I use mavericks). Also the gui is well designed, both the main window and the preferences.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.2
LVDA
16 January 2014
I can't play any game. Nothing happen when click to play.
Like
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
Greedyfranky
Greedyfranky
07 March 2014
Maybe do some research how emulators work. And search for roms.
Like (2)
David-Brailsford
David-Brailsford
01 April 2016
did you drag any rooms in?
Like
Clarusad
04 January 2014
Could it be possible to have a Snow Leo version ?
Like (3)
Version 1.0.1
Invalid
25 December 2013
Probably the only emulator that doesn't work on Snow Leopard. No thanks.
Like (5)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
15 October 2014
Are you going to be still trying to find software for an obsolete OS 10 years from now? It's already five years old!
Like (1)
David-Brailsford
David-Brailsford
01 April 2016
you should rate on performance, not on how it wasn't adapted to work on a long discontinued platform
Like
Spudboy
25 December 2013
Outstanding product.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
SINNAxis
25 December 2013
best all-in-one emulator!
Like (3)
Version 1.0
Mysticalos
24 December 2013
Has potential, but needs more work. Does not read compressed roms at all. I had to uncompress snes roms for it to read them. Cheat system could use more work so you can actually search for cheats instead of just enter them. The copy your entire library thing to another folder is terrible. Just because apple did it, doesn't mean it's good. It can be disabled but the fact it's even a default (like it was in itunes) is dispicable. I like my roms folders as is. All of those asking why it doesn't have nintendo 64. It's not open source like the other emulators this thing deploys with. SixtyForce is commercial and likely isn't going to be supported any time soon. This open source multi emulator is basically a mac itunes gui thrown on all the open source projects combined. It's not a new emulator core at all.
Like
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
PhiloS9576
PhiloS9576
04 January 2014
Wow. So much negativity. I'm glad that I've got an easy way to enjoy games from multiple consoles in one place. Thanks Open Emu guys!
Like (2)
Headrush69
Headrush69
08 January 2014
Works fine with compressed roms. Maybe your's are in wrong format.
Like (2)
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
08 January 2014
Philo, it's not a negative or low review. Listing caveats is not negativity. I'm sorry if i don't rate something perfectly that still needs work. Headrush, roms are in correct format. it does not read compressed SNES roms in standard bin format that all other emulators can open and support. These are clean dumped properly compressed roms too that I've had since the bannister days of Rom organizer (the tool that actually properly compressed them).
Like (1)
Robertcoogan
23 December 2013
Plays Game Boy roms with no problem...but overall it is buggy, with sound coming in and out. Graphics were ok, little skipping and no freezing. This with 4 roms. And no nintendo 64 support...? Strange. Better if people wait, this feels like it was pushed out when it isn't quite ready for prime time.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0b7
1 answer(s)
star-affinity
star-affinity
04 January 2014
There's a test build avaliable with Nintendo 64 support. It will be incorporated in the stable version later on.
Like
tahitibub
19 October 2013
Hi, You can try OpenEmu with latest Mame module : http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=17529757#post17529757 http://www.mac-torrent-download.com/application/utility/openemu-with-all-cores-1-0-0b10-intel/ https://github.com/OpenEmu/OpenEmu/wiki/Compiling-From-Source-Guide
Like
Version 1.0.0b7
Daniel-Flugt
26 May 2012
I've had this for a spin and though I haven't been playing around with it for too long, it's oblivious it has potential. One feature I really love is that it appears to work with the Advanced Launcher in XBMC unlike most other emulators for the Mac. That said, it still has a long way to go, but this is after all still beta software. I'll be following this one with a lot of interest.
Like
Version 1.0.0b7
anonymous-dingo-1062
21 September 2009
This could be something fantastic IF developed right with a nice OS X interface. If they can get NES, SNES, SMS, Genesis, and TurboGrafx games working perfectly, it would be a great start. Then follow up with GBA, N64, and PS1 and you will have the PERFECT all in one emu. Do I think the devs can pull that off? No way. Do I hope they do? With every fiber of my being.
Like (3)
Version 1.0b2
Ilovemymac
20 September 2009
After playing with this for a while, I found that it is pretty good. It's not perfect, and is kind of buggy, but it does have potential. Sega Genesis, Sega 32X and Sega CD roms all crash the program. But all of the other emulators run fine. The sound quality is amazing. Until the bugs and crashes get worked out, I will stick to my other emulators for now. But I will be watching this one. Good start.
Like (1)
Version 1.0b2