Back to Apple Remote Desktop page
Apple Remote Desktop free download for Mac

Apple Remote Desktop Reviews

3.9.3
09 October 2019

Remotely control Macs; admin component.

Planetary-Paul
01 February 2015

Most helpful

Unfortunately the interface has been "redesigned", meaning the buttons have lost their colours and are now meaningless small B&W thingies for me. I had to turn on the text labels and use those. Apple's design trend of eradicating colour in interfaces is beyond bad IMHO. No complaints about performance here.
Like (6)
Version 3.8

Read 16 Apple Remote Desktop User Reviews

Rate this app:

mikalelu
11 February 2019
Goodbye old friend...the new version 10 is now a ten
Like
Version 3.9
Planetary-Paul
01 February 2015
Unfortunately the interface has been "redesigned", meaning the buttons have lost their colours and are now meaningless small B&W thingies for me. I had to turn on the text labels and use those. Apple's design trend of eradicating colour in interfaces is beyond bad IMHO. No complaints about performance here.
Like (6)
Version 3.8
Planetary-Paul
01 February 2015
Unfortunately the interface has been "redesigned", meaning the buttons have lost their colours and are now meaningless small B&W thingies for me. I had to turn on the text labels and use those. Apple's design trend of eradicating colour in interfaces is beyond bad IMHO. No complaints about performance here.
Like
Version 3.8
Macguruguy
01 February 2015
Current version on my mac is 3.8.2.
Like
Version 3.8
Neal
23 February 2014
This is a terrible app. ARD has become slower and less responsive with successive releases to the point where it now takes several seconds to display and activate a menu item on a remote Mac. Windows Remote Desktop is lightening fast, connects instantly and everything is doable in real time without ARD's laggy performance. Waste of money.
Like
Version 3.7.1
2 answer(s)
Foulger
Foulger
18 March 2014
I disagree, it gets better as it evolves. I have been using it for years and am perfectly happy with its operation. Please back up your assertions with facts and data. Any remote application is only as fast as the ISP's at both ends.
Like (6)
JoeT8820
JoeT8820
18 March 2014
I use both ARD and RDC and the two are targeting completely different uses, though some overlap. ARD is for managing and maintaining Macs, and organizationally set up to do that as well as screensharing to support users. For the price, it is the cheapest most effective solution around. Is it 100% foolproof? No, but it is a tool I use alone and to augment very expensive management systems. I am so glad Apple keeps updating it.
Like (1)
Jweisbin
24 September 2012
I've had version 3.6.1 since Aug 23. I don't understand this listing. This version still has problems controlling computers with multi-monitor displays.
Like
Version 3.6.1
5 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
24 September 2012
The previous 3.6.1 was build 471.16. This new one is 417.19. No idea what's changed, but Apple's page shows the Sept 24 date too: http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1595 (And the installer is tagged Sept 19.)
Like
Jweisbin
Jweisbin
24 September 2012
Doesn't show up in my software updates. And isn't 471 later than 417? I'm mystified.
Like
-M-S-
-M-S-
24 September 2012
Er, sorry—typo. I meant the newer one is 471.19. Sometimes Software Update lags behind, although since both are 3.6.1 maybe it won't pick it up. This is definitely unconventional for Apple.
Like
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
25 September 2012
What a mess. We need Steve Jobs back. Anyone have a shovel and flashlight?
Like (3)
Neil-M
Neil-M
25 September 2012
It's on SoftewareUPdate now.
Like
Theguy
15 June 2012
3.5.2 update breaks a PLIST setting to keep Command-Tab control locked to the local workstation. It was a hidden preference, only available through the terminal. At least Apple is improving the improvements.
Like
Version 3.5.2
judgejudith2
28 February 2012
This app works well for my usage, which is mainly as a remote desktop applicaiton. I don't really use the remote administration, but this app is nice in that you can locate other Macs, and either observe or control them (with password). Interesting application.
Like
Version 3.5.1
kirbypuff
03 January 2012
This is a great application for both small network/home use and enterprise use. Easy to remote access a mac, super easy to deploy software.
Like
Version 3.5.1
kayaqiu
26 July 2011
It is true that Apple Remote Desktop 3 makes your job easier than ever. But if free for all of us will terrific.Do you?
Like
Version 3.5
rardin
21 July 2011
I'm confused by the pricing of Version 3.5. Is $79.99 upgrade pricing? If not, is 3.5 limited to 10 clients, or is it really possible to buy ARD 3.5 for an unlimited number of clients for $79.99, compared to a whopping $499.00 for Version 3.3?
Like
Version 3.5
2 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
21 July 2011
$79.99 is the full version price from the Mac App Store, for unlimited clients (it had been already reduced to $299, and then it dropped to just $79.99 from the MAS).
Like
rardin
rardin
22 July 2011
That's certainly a bargain compared to the old pricing! Was the drop to $299 also MAS-only? As of this morning, store.apple.com is still showing the price for the unlimited clients version of ARD 5.3 as $499.00.
Like
Robk
07 January 2011
@MacUpdate -- The DOWNLOAD link does NOT work. It downloads the Remote Desktop Client NOT the Admin (server). In addition, the link to the Apple website brings up Remote Desktop v3.3.2 not v3.4. Please fix.
Like
Version 3.4
Donmontalvo
06 January 2011
So far so good. We upgraded all clients in our LAB environment. Haven't run into any issues.
Like (2)
Version 3.4
1 answer(s)
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
21 July 2011
OK 3.5 seems to crash when we refresh an IP range. Not consistently, but a good percentage of the time.
Like (1)
Islandmacman
15 January 2010
So far so good - 3.3 would beach ball on me, this version seems more stable and faster.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.2
Donmontalvo
12 January 2010
So far so good. The fix for crashes due to screen resolution is a welcome addition. Now, did this fix the issue where client workstations stop responding (even in environments where multicast is allowed on the switches)? Don
Like (1)
Version 3.3.2
Chin
18 September 2009
Does anybody know, what exactly the difference is to the built-in screen-sharing feature of Mac OS/X? Thanks in advance ...
Like (2)
Version 3.3v1.1
1 answer(s)
star-affinity
star-affinity
11 January 2010
There's a lot that's different - drag and drop of files between the remote and local computer being one thing there's a whole bunch of other features mainly intended for one who has to administer many computers (servers and users computers). I use it every day at work. Read more here: http://www.apple.com/remotedesktop/
Like (2)
Version 3.3.2