Back to ForeverSave page
ForeverSave free download for Mac

ForeverSave Reviews

2.1.6
07 December 2016

Universal auto-save and backup versioning.

jfm429
01 December 2009

Most helpful

Excellent piece of software. It can use some improvement (specifically the UI for setting application preferences as well as the way it handles autosave for programs I switch back and forth between) but other than that it works fairly well. I rate Features a 4 because of the lack of fine grained control in setting autosave times. I have to give Ease of Use a 2 because of the "wizard" style UI for changing per-application settings. PLEASE put all the per-application settings in an inspector panel or in a single sheet - I don't want to have to click through five settings screens to get to the one I want and then have to do that for every application if I want to change something for each. Having a master preferences set and then having each application's settings able to either use the defaults or manually override the global settings would help too.
Like (7)
Version 1.1.3

Read 51 ForeverSave User Reviews

Rate this app:

SunWolf
03 March 2020
Used to be great, helped me on quite a few occasions to regain information that would have been lost without FS2. Quite unreliable now under Catalina, Toolforcesoftware has not replied to a mail from November and two reminders since then. Anybody found an alternative to this once great piece of software?
Like
Version 2.1.6
Jlc1978
12 January 2020
Used to be great and saved me al ot of hassles when I need to revert to an older version. Now, it crashes under Catalina and no word from their support.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.6
gryphonent
25 November 2019
Gone the way of the Dodo. No update in 3 years. Time to get rid of it.
Like
Version 2.1.6
Mshep2
02 July 2019
Hey, what happened to Toolforce? I go to their webpage and get a "502 Bad Gateway" error. Are they out of business? Up until recently ForeverSave worked great.
Like
Version 2.1.6
1 answer(s)
billperry0
billperry0
08 August 2019
Today my ForeverSave app has disappeared. A message said my database was corrupt. After trying a bunch of stuff I even tried to rebuy it but it's not available for sale anyplace anymore and even the free trial doesn't download, I LOVED that app it's saved my butt many times.
Like
Version 2.1.6
BobbyThompsonRocks
30 April 2018
I used to rely on this program, but as of late it seems hit or miss... Lately it just seems to have become unreliable. I noticed recently that months have passed (and countless modifications made) since it had made a backup of anything... I decided to delete my entire history and set it up from scratch. It worked at first but after a couple of days I went back in and found it seemingly had stopped working... I can no longer rely upon this and am now looking for an alternative.
Like
Version 2.1.6
2 answer(s)
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
30 January 2019
Exact same thing happened to me. The app seldom gets updates, and only works intermittently..
Like
billperry0
billperry0
08 August 2019
Did you find an alternative? What is it?
Like
Version 2.1.6
gryphonent
19 November 2015
Reliable and out of your way… been using it for years.
Like
Version 2.1.5
Dana-Sutton
25 November 2014
Maybe this is a great utility. But it doesn't seem to work with Dreamweaver (v. 5), which happens to be my workhorse app., so I can't use it. Sad but true.
Like
Version 2.1.3
Maudlin
24 November 2014
I've used this since 2009 - its saved me several times. It was slightly fiddly to set up, and in some applications making sure its working properly took a bit of trial and error, but once going its a lifesaver. One time I accidentally deleted a conference presentation 15 minutes before I was due to give it. I restored it from ForeverSave, without losing any work.
Like
Version 2.1.3
ylluminate
15 April 2014
Really disappointed by this software for not using a binary diff for the file differences. Crazy to store the full size of files when you don't have to.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Ruben-R-Lujan
20 March 2014
I would really like to write a review of this App but, after paying the $9.99 as requested, I think I downloaded the App. but I can't seem to open it.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Rjmorita
19 November 2013
Unfortunately, autosave does not work on my Mac Mini with Mavericks installed. I have to manually hit Cmd-S every time I want to save a document. Even then, it only works with some applications and not all.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
JamesHarrisPhoto
15 November 2013
THANK YOU for updating this to work with Mavericks! I hadn't been able to use this app for the 6 months because of incompatibilities. This product has saved my bacon many times when I needed to get back to a previous version that I had accidentally saved over. Great app, and worth every penny the dev charges for it.
Like
Version 2.1.1
F451
29 October 2013
I recently had an issue with ForeverSave's file saving and the developer promptly wrote me back. The issue turned out to be with the app that I was saving from (which that developer fixed) and not ForeverSave. Indispensable for mission critical work and past reference. I much prefer this means of document backup to Apple's. P.S. The developer mentioned that an update is on the way! I've not encountered what those with negative posts have mentioned. Either I'm lucky, or the developer has rekindled their passion for this app. I hope so as I use this everyday.
Like
Version 2.1
I do NOT recommend Tool Force Software's ForeverSave 2. It sadly falls into the camp of "promising product with lacking reliability and support". In other words, it is mediocre for long-term reliability. With a product that is designed to backup and instill data integrity, not delivering this promise is inexcusable. I previously relied on it to save revisions of my audio & other project files, in case I needed to jump back to a prior version and trace my steps. However, something recent happened which broke ForeverSave's reliability where sometimes it saved, sometimes it didn't — it may have been a change as I upgraded to Mountain Lion, but in any case, there's been no word from Tool Force on what's forthcoming, whereas other excellent Mac developers (like Ambrosia) have posted "Here's what you need to know about Mountain Lion compatibility..." That is simply quality, human communication. A high bar, yes, but one that keeps customers coming back for more (and investing in upgrades). Sometimes, ForeverSave would save for me. Sometimes it doesn't. And it has other quirks that aren't but could be explained in the UI — some of which I only found out after reading around. All of this waste of time was especially disappointing during time-sensitive work with deadlines. At the time I needed it most, ForeverSave let me down. Made me sad. :-( There is a positive note to this story! During weeks of no responses to my support emails and needing a solution, I was overjoyed to find an existing tool I use — Noodlesoft's Hazel — can have rules setup to provide the essential same universal auto-save functionality as ForeverSave. You can set it up to watch folders and save every X minutes, and get super-granular if you want. What's more, you can apply further automation like archiving (zipping) the files. Appending dates/times (again, just like ForeverSave) is doable too. And there's a preview function to save you from doing painful tests. Consider this: Hazel costs $25 (compared to ForeverSave's $20), Hazel can address the same functions as ForeverSave's core functionality, and contains many more automation capabilities for file management beyond saving. You can even load AppleScripts into it to integrate with other apps. For example, you can send file revisions to your Evernote database. Unlike ForeverSave, Hazel's support (and user community) are helpful and deliver the followup that works for me. I have revision history peace of mind again because of Hazel. Please do yourself a favor and see if Hazel meets your needs as well.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Revco
27 November 2011
Tried it with Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign CS5 and it didn't work. It did work with XPress 9 though.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
2 answer(s)
Cowicide
Cowicide
19 December 2011
Dev, is this true? Does FS not work with Adobe products like Dreamweaver either? I'm in 10.6.8, BTW.
Like
Tool Force Software
Tool Force Software
21 December 2011
Cowicide, ForeverSave 2 does work with Adobe products, including Dreamweaver on both 10.6 Snow Leopard and 10.7 Lion. If you have any problems with FS and Adobe software, please let us know!
Like (2)
BobbyThompsonRocks
27 September 2011
I started using this app a while back as a sort of version control. ForeverSave 1 worked quite well for doing this... Since v2 came out I have not been able to use the app in the same way. I've emailed them a few times and they seem to keep indicating it should be possible to use it the same way, but ironically enough I can't seem to find ANY way to get ForeverSave 2 to backup my files at all without auto-save enabled... Though they tell me it should work, if I open a file and make multiple modifications and multiple manual saves over a ten minute period, ForeverSave 2 simply will NOT do anything (the last email I sent them on this garnered no response, as of a couple months ago)... With the autosave feature in lion now upon us the days of ForeverSave are numbered. ForeverSave would continue to work for me in the way that I use it, but unfortunately v2 simply does not work in that way anymore...
Like (1)
Version 2.0.5
1 answer(s)
Cowicide
Cowicide
19 December 2011
Were you ever able to resolve this issue?
Like
Dana-Sutton
07 July 2011
If it's true that "Since developers need to implement Lion’s “Versions” API before an app supports versions, I think ForeverSave will be useful to many people even under Lion." then , yes, there's a reason for this app. But it has: it only automates Command+Save under conditions where that command works, i. e. only for the top document of an open application. It won't work even if your screensaver is working. Twenty bucks is pretty steep for aone-trick pony, and if you need automated archived backups you're probably better off getting a free Drobox account.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.5
DJSquint
23 June 2011
It works great. But wait a minute .. .. .. this is one of the new OS X 10.7 Lion features. Build in the OS is much safer imo Obsolete from July 2011 sad but true
Like (2)
Version 2.0.4
5 answer(s)
Werner-Freytag
Werner-Freytag
27 June 2011
In Lion this only works for applications that support it! No Word, no Photoshop - at least at the moment.
Like (2)
ric0ric
ric0ric
05 July 2011
Really, not in Word. It seemed to work when I tried out the Lion GM the other day...
Like (2)
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
05 July 2011
Werner, how do you know the new Lion feature will work only for applications that support it? I haven't happened to read this anywhere else, and if third-party utilities work like ForeverSave work with all applications, i don't see why Apple can't create a solution that does too. Please explain your statement.
Like
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
06 July 2011
I think there's plenty of 32 bits Intel Macs that can't run Lion because of apple greed commercial policy!
Like (1)
Tool Force Software
Tool Force Software
23 October 2011
You might laugh now - but in my opinion, ForeverSave 2 is much safer for the simple reason that FS2's backups and versions are real single files while Lion seems to write all versions directly to the file. It's simple, as soon as the original file disappears, all backups are gone. Think about it.
Like (1)
ChristopherPrice
16 June 2011
Seems like great software, but is the functionality redundant with Lion's "Versions"?
Like (3)
Version 2.0.3
4 answer(s)
Higherterrain
Higherterrain
20 June 2011
Agreed, but will help those that won't be making the jump.
Like (2)
Ozean
Ozean
20 June 2011
Since developers need to implement Lion’s “Versions” API before an app supports versions, I think ForeverSave will be useful to many people even under Lion. (You can guess how long it will take MS, Adobe etc. to support this feature, right?)
Like (2)
Higherterrain
Higherterrain
20 June 2011
Microsoft should if they have any sense left at the top.
Like (2)
pcharles
pcharles
21 June 2011
This would have been helpful for me if it came as a universal application. I am setting up an old Powerbook for my mother to do a few simple tasks and this auto save would have been great. I might have bought it for my Intel machines, but for $10 more I can get an entire OS.
Like (1)
Johnnyr
13 May 2011
Great software! It's a shame that it doesn't work at all with Adobe Illustrator CS5. It works with Photoshop CS5 which is great. So please add support for Illustrator CS5.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
Frankfx
Frankfx
04 July 2011
As for CS4, just drag the document loose from the tab bar and save the file manually, FS2 will pick up the saving process and you can put your document back in a tab on illustrators application frame. from now on FS2 keeps making versions. This workaround also works with fullscreen apps like ArtRage Studio pro. A dirty fix but for now the best thing if working on large projects. I hope this works for CS5. Strange though Photoshop has no problems at all since ForeverSave hit version 2
Like
Rshorts
30 April 2011
Its so reassuring to have this app running in the background, not only for crashes, but also for human error. Sure it slows down the odd time, but its only a few seconds to wait & I'm sure the developer is aware of it and is working on it. The free upgrade to v2 cannot be beat. This combined with Dropbox is all the reassurance you need for project files.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.2
22duke
26 April 2011
worke's as advertised however deleted it as it often renders my Mac unless for several minutes when it does some checking as soon as I delete FS all is back to normal
Like
Version 2.0.1
Diarbyrag
22 April 2011
This app has saved my sanity several times, I have one particular program which loves to hang or crash at the most unexpected times and the most recent auto backup has saved a lot of work and frustration. Thanks for the Free update to V.2, now I just need a new Mac running 10.6...
Like
Version 2.0.1
Hansjoerg
22 April 2011
Fantastic application, fast and great support. Thank you for this app.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
dipa
22 April 2011
ForeverSave is simple yet powerful. It is my "Behind the scene mac friend". I focus on my tasks and it takes care of backing up according to my preferences. I have had to restore projects from 2 applications & ForeverSave even let me chose between a "Copy" restore and an "Original". Now that I have updated it to the 2.0 version I love it even more. Beautiful interface, easily customizable, very effective and reliable...the Tool Force staff is great too!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Tool Force Software
21 April 2011
Thank you all for your comments, really appreicate it! Please note: We're offering ForeverSave 2 at 50% off for the first two weeks!
Like
Version 2.0
MacDefender
21 April 2011
As a long time user of ForeverSave I was surprised that the update to version 2 is free. The last version saved me hours (not to say weeks) of work. Was working on a manual for over a week and the through an error the whole manual including the backup file was destroyed. After a few minutes crying and beating my monitor I remembered that I had installed ForeverSave (you never really notive that it's working in the background). Took me just seconds to get the latest working version back and thus saved me lots of rewriting all the text. I also love that it's possible to config each application with different settings.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Theotreo
21 April 2011
Excellent. Really adds an extra layer of security! And VERY generous upgrade policy. Thumbs up!
Like
Version 2.0
Ranxho
21 April 2011
Wow. Rewritten, 2.0, Free Upgrade. Unheard of. Guys, you are the greatest. On top, this is a kick ass shareware. Save mine couple of time, work like magic.
Like
Version 2.0
Homer1
20 April 2011
I've been using this utility for over a year and it has saved my bacon at least twice that I can remember. And the thing is, once you install/configure it, you totally forget that it's running and keeping copies of your work. That is until things go wrong with whatever application you're working in. Then it hit you . . . I have backup copies. You launch the main application and BAM, all versions of your document are there for you to recover. Indispensable and worth twice the shareware price.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Jo*
20 April 2011
Thanks for making 2.0 a free upgrade. That's awesome!
Like (2)
Version 2.0
drwebmail
02 February 2011
By far one of the most useful pieces of software on my mac. This has saved me with Logic Pro daily (forgive the pun). Logic has no autosave. Logic can save a specified number of backup copies with intentional saves but it flushes these once you save over them. Any applescripts save over the logic file, which is no good. Basically this works perfectly in tandem with Logic because it saves backups to it's own database so I can have a bunch of autosave snapshots without messing with my "intentional" saves. Support replied to me within hours of my request. Highly Recommended!
Like (3)
Version 1.1.5
Rochade
11 January 2011
Phantastic App to keep versions of your files. There is only one other app with visual versioning is Gridiron's Flow - which is a great product too btw. But FS is not targeted mainly to designers, so for general purposes this is the one to go. The only thing I really miss is a way to share your versioning library. Of course you could use the same db on two macs but this leads to data inconsistency, so don't even try it.
Like
Version 1.1.5
Linda-Xing
11 June 2010
Really displeased with their email support. The support page is less than complete and when I emailed them to ask a simple question about their product I NEVER got a reply. Weak..... With so many great people making great things these days, buy from people that respect their customers.
Like
Version 1.1.5
1 answer(s)
Linda-Xing
Linda-Xing
18 June 2010
Update, I finally got a reply. Problem fixed? No, but seems it might be an Apple thing. Sad it took so long for them to tell me. Got used to super fast replies with Notify and Witopia.
Like
Version 1.1.5
JamesHarrisPhoto
20 May 2010
This program has saved my butt on 2 different occasions now. When I first purchased it, I wasn't sure how well it would work, but now this thing is an indispensable life-saver. Setting it up is very straight-forward, and when you need to go back in time to rescue a document because the app you were working it just crashed, it's just a few click away. Highly-recommended.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.5
Maclover1-1
08 May 2010
Unfortunately this does not work with Adobe Flash.. and works a little awkwardly with Adobe software in general.
Like
Version 1.1.5
1 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
20 May 2010
Actually the opposite is true. Adobe software works awkwardly with everything else.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.5
thomasthomson1
22 March 2010
cant get this to install waste of money
Like
Version 1.1.5
2 answer(s)
thomasthomson1
thomasthomson1
22 March 2010
sorted macupdate sent me the wrong licence key developer helped
Like
Version 1.1.5
Tool Force Software
Tool Force Software
22 March 2010
Sorry about this issue, guys! MUPromo's licensing system hasn't been working properly for the first 2000 customers and if you're still not having your working key, please contact us directly or visit your MacUpdate Promo account, the keys should've been updated there. Thank you for your understanding.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.5
Nullset
10 March 2010
Fantastic little app, and the developer is very responsive. Made a feature request and it appeared within a week or so in a new version. Well worth the money ... if it saves you even once you'll be happy you invested in it.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.4
Frankfx
16 December 2009
Although there is this issue with the unified window mode in CS4 (which I really like a lot) the application does what is says on the box. Furthermore the developer is very supportive an responds quickly. He soon figured out why my CS4 wasn't working with ForeverSave So support: ***** I'm very fond of the application frame in CS4 so this may be a deal breaker for me (I haven't made up my mind yet) but if this doesn't apply to you there is no reason not to give ForeverSave a try. It just plainly works!
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
gcoghill
15 December 2009
I heard from a user that ForeverSave doesn't play well with the Adobe CS4 unified window interface. It works fine for me under 10.5.8, this person is using 10.6.2. Can anyone confirm?
Like (1)
Version 1.1.3
1 answer(s)
Jaswetz
Jaswetz
30 March 2011
I think you heard correct. I couldn't for the life of me figure out why this wasn't working and then saw your message. I turned off unified window and it started working.
Like
Coolmemin
08 December 2009
WOW is all I have to say. This is a beautifully done application to solve a very common problem for all applications: AUTOSAVE! This just saved me about an hour of work yesterday when I lost my Pages document. I just went into Foreversave and my last 20 autosaves were right there, waiting for me to pick. Absolutely brilliant! And at only $15 WOW just WOW WOW WOW!!!!! I am so excited to have this application and not lose my work. I wish I would have known about it earlier. I would give it 10 stars if i could
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
Michaelfuchs
04 December 2009
O.M.G. This is so frakking brilliant I can't believe it. If you use any of the standard crashware for a living (Word, Indesign, whatever) this can seriously save you from going crazy when yet another document you've been working on is lost to some rapid bug, umm... feature. ForeverSave is easy to configure, works like a charm, and even looks good (which I really didn't expect). Worth much more than they're asking for!
Like (3)
Version 1.1.3
jfm429
01 December 2009
Excellent piece of software. It can use some improvement (specifically the UI for setting application preferences as well as the way it handles autosave for programs I switch back and forth between) but other than that it works fairly well. I rate Features a 4 because of the lack of fine grained control in setting autosave times. I have to give Ease of Use a 2 because of the "wizard" style UI for changing per-application settings. PLEASE put all the per-application settings in an inspector panel or in a single sheet - I don't want to have to click through five settings screens to get to the one I want and then have to do that for every application if I want to change something for each. Having a master preferences set and then having each application's settings able to either use the defaults or manually override the global settings would help too.
Like (7)
Version 1.1.3
Nicksloan
25 November 2009
This is a neat idea, beautifully implemented. The trouble with most backup software is that nine tenths and more of what it backs up, you will never need. ForeverSave takes a unique approach, and allows you to decide on a per-app basis, which files are the most critical, and how often you need to save them, so you can focus your protection where it is most needed. I am using this in conjunction with SuperDuper and QRecall, as part of a comprehensive backup strategy, and so far it has proved very solid. I have dropped one star, only because I do not see it as yet being feature-complete: it needs a manual backup trigger, and a more sophisticated way of dealing with the redundancy of accumulated backups (rolling merge?), but the developer seems very responsive, and I would guess that ForeverSave has a bright future.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.2
Andrew-Ross
23 November 2009
This software is really very very useful indeed, it gives you a "auto backup confidence" of things you are working on now or have just finished, quietly saving backups in the background in the time frame and manner you want - In conjunction with Time Machine, this provides a solid working method if you are at all worried about loosing important data while you working between different programs - this is it. On my first use I wasn't clear on some of the save functions and how it worked between different programs, but with positive support, the developer showed me clearly how things worked and even was willing to screen share his/my computer to solve any problems I was having, that's great support! A well designed software, Should be standard issue for any Mac user!
Like (2)
Version 1.1.2
Egn
22 November 2009
I was baffled by some apps not working but via excellent support provided by ForeverSave every issue was cleared in no time (and it is a Sunday!). This app is great for people who program and would like versioning but with much finer control over which apps and files created by those apps. I suppose anyone who continually produces versions of files can use this as it is very easy to lose info and with this you can return to any previous version you had of the same file(s).
Like
Version 1.1.2
Maudlin
22 November 2009
Bought it at MacZot's reduced rate a couple of days ago and already relied on it once to recover some data I had accidentally deleted. The attraction of ForeverSave is that if you're working on important documents, you can get it to back them up as frequently as you want (as often as once a minute if like), and recover any of the incremental backups, not just the last. Of course, TimeMachine does this for the whole drive, but if you're running TimeMachine every hour, you could still lose up to an hour's worth of work on a key document - disastrous if you're right up against a deadline. Also, ForeverSave doesn't seem to produce the general slowdown caused during TimeMachine backups, which sometimes makes me cancel a backup while its in progress. Some older applications are not compatible wtih ForeverSave (http://www.tool-forcesw.com/foreversave/faq/), but my first 48 hours experience with it are very positive
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2
Mrchips
21 November 2009
MacZOT has ForeverSave on sale for $8.97 until 10 PM PST tonight. I checked it out and bought it. It appears to be very professionally done, but I'll reserve rating it until I've played with it some more...
Like
Version 1.1.2
Rubaiyat
10 November 2009
This appears to be EverSave gone commercial. Pity it used to be free.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
3 answer(s)
Tool Force Software
Tool Force Software
10 November 2009
EverSave which has been renamed to ForeverSave Lite is still freeware without any limitations or ads. I've added lots of new features including the missing revolutionary 'Backup' feature to ForeverSave and I'd guess we've spent approx. at least 9 months on the development of it. By the way, ForeverSave Lite will be updated as well… Thanks and best regards, Tobias Jordan, Tool Force Software.
Like (5)
Version 1.1
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
10 November 2009
Yes I found that, thanks. I agree you should be paid for your efforts, and you have done the right thing with your users by generously offering the free lite alternative.
Like (4)
Version 1.1
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
10 November 2009
I will correct the links from my forum I have pointing back to here and recommend both versions. :)
Like (4)
Version 1.1
curlypaws
02 October 2009
A really neat utility, ForeverSave lets you save documents as you work on them. For each program you select, you can set options on how many versions of documents you would like to retain (and since you can be saving every few minutes, it offers a more granular save option than Time Machine). You can control how often saves are performed and whether ForeverSave prompts you for an initial filename if you haven't saved the document at all. All of this makes it indispensable when you are working on that important document only for the program to crash just before you saved things. If you are running ForeverSave then you'll only have lost a few minutes work - rather than something much worse. The program offers a very nice interface for setting up the configuration (and editing it) for each program - as well as a visual indication of the versions available for each program. You can exclude certain folders from saving if you need to do so. You have the option of saving and taking a backup version, just saving or just backing up. If you opt for backups you can then browse the versions of the various documents to find the one that you need. The only downside if you select a program like Interface Builder is that a lot of files may share the same name - so you might want to give things sensible names as unfortunately the full path isn't visible. You can always open a copy or the original document or use Quick Look to see what it is. There is an overall switch to close ForeverSave if you need to (I haven't found any reason to). The icon indicates whether the program is on or off. ForeverSave also comes with a very complete manual. I find it to be ideal for those situations where something happens and I've not saved the document for a long time. It also comes in handy if you save a version of the document and then decide you preferred an earlier version of it. You can go back and retrieve the old version. I'm very impressed with it.
Like (2)
Version 1.0