Back to uBar page
uBar free download for Mac

uBar Reviews

23 August 2021

The Dock replacement.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ryashpool
ryashpool
May 26 2021
4.1.7
0.0
May 26 2021
0.0
Version: 4.1.7
A lot of negative reviews here. I installed it fine, it works really well, the only issue I have had is with finder always showing. I use it in conjunction with magnet and have no issues with windows maximising over the bar. So all in all very happy with it, Probably a bit expensive, but it works well and helps a lot with my window management which I think default mac/dock does a poor job of. Use the 14 day trial to test it out, have not tried it with multi monitor yet.
JrSpesh
JrSpesh
Apr 29 2021
4.1.7
1.0
Apr 29 2021
1.0
Version: 4.1.7
Terrible developer "support". No response by email for over two weeks so pasting contents here: Ubar does not work as expected or described. There are multiple problems with multimonitor support – apps from one window appear in the other, etc. I currently have Slack, Miro, Around all open my second monitor, and they only appear in ubar on the first monitor. It does not work with Microsoft teams – clicking the app name in ubar does nothing. Maybe more to do with teams and its floating notification window than anything specifically wrong with ubar, but other apps do not have this issue. The finder tab is always in ubar, despite not having any windows open. The space ubar takes up at the bottom of the screen is not “reserved” in the same way as other apps (eg context’s app drawer). This means the bottom 20px of all windows when maximised becomes invisible because ubar is sitting on top, unless the app is manually resized down. In short: avoid.
Foulger
Foulger
Mar 21 2021
4.1.7
4.0
Mar 21 2021
4.0
Version: 4.1.7
Thanks for the update which at least confirms that the author is actually still alive. Perhaps he will now actually start to answer E-Mails for the first time in years? I use uBar because the advantages outweigh the disadvantages but the developers extreme bad manners in not responding to E-Mail suggestions continue to make sure that it contains several serious flaws. Such a pity because with a little TLC it could become easier to use and take its place in the list of essential third party apps for Mac. If someone comes up with a better dock replacement I will dump uBar like a shot but in the meantime continue to use it on the basis that half a loaf is better than no bread. Regarding E-Mails 'Manners maketh man"!
bdikkat
bdikkat
Mar 17 2021
4.1.7
1.0
Mar 17 2021
1.0
Version: 4.1.7
I bought this but it's horrible aesthetically and functionally.
ivryernest
ivryernest
Mar 17 2021
4.1.7
1.0
Mar 17 2021
1.0
Version: 4.1.7
All the apps with "U" in their titles inevitably suggest me the "U-boats" of the last two World Wars ...
bickeno101
bickeno101
Feb 24 2021
4.1.6
5.0
Feb 24 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.6
This app is awesome, I tried making my 2008 computer look like big sur, and I found out that it was not as bad as I thought. i just had to change the settings
david-618
david-618
Feb 10 2021
4.1.6
5.0
Feb 10 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.6
Its true that the author never responds to emails. That's frustrating. But it's still the only app I've found that gives macOS a real app bar which is SO MUCH BETTER than the awful default macOS toolbar thing which is pretty awful from a UI design standpoint.
yaten2020
yaten2020
Dec 19 2020
4.1.6
1.0
Dec 19 2020
1.0
Version: 4.1.6
This app will fuck up your macbook. It destroyed my original Dock so much that i struggled to get it back. Its clunky and compromises the performance of the system.
Jlc1978
Jlc1978
Dec 16 2020
4.1.6
1.0
Dec 16 2020
1.0
Version: 4.1.6
good app but quits working randomly, no response from developer and no Big Sur update so far
misterjspencer
misterjspencer
Dec 8 2020
4.1.6
3.0
Dec 8 2020
3.0
Version: 4.1.6
does this work in Big Sur??
otanabata
otanabata
Aug 2 2020
4.1.6
3.0
Aug 2 2020
3.0
Version: 4.1.6
I don't understand the point of this app. I HATE the Windows "Start Bar," so I cannot fathom why anybody would want to replace the awesome macOS Dock with a Windows-like start bar.
Camner
Camner
May 28 2020
4.1.6
3.0
May 28 2020
3.0
Version: 4.1.6
uBar is the best dock replacement I've seen. Unfortunately, it is quirky, and has bugs in it. Customer support is nonexistent. I've raised 5 "issues" through their support portal in the last year; I didn't get a response to any of them.
amporu
amporu
May 13 2020
4.1.6
4.0
May 13 2020
4.0
Version: 4.1.6
Im a windows user and to be honest this is the closest to taskbar, if not the best. I've experienced minor issues, sure, but the paid one is really worth it even with bugs. I reported an issue regarding the current version about ubar not adding the new window on the sidebar and i got a reply. I mean, they didn't fix it but i got a reply that they are working for ubar 5. So im not sure about others not receiving a reply about their reports. Im willing to wait for ubar5 because there is no other app that actually does exactly the same.
Foulger
Foulger
May 2 2020
4.1.6
4.0
May 2 2020
4.0
Version: 4.1.6
WOW! The developer is still alive. I wonder if he will respond to the multiple support requests over the last year. I think we all deserve an E-Mail to say what happened - can he fix our problems and is he going to stay alive
tgbaola
tgbaola
Apr 21 2020
4.1.5
1.0
Apr 21 2020
1.0
Version: 4.1.5
It doesn't work properly! Don't buy!
surfgasmlisboa
surfgasmlisboa
Feb 26 2020
4.1.5
1.0
Feb 26 2020
1.0
Version: 4.1.5
I have paid for the licence, but never received the licence to my email address! Contacted support and it is already a week without response! THE COMPANY IS STEALING MONEY.
stoneab
stoneab
Jan 29 2020
4.1.5
5.0
Jan 29 2020
5.0
Version: 4.1.5
I had a fresh install of MacOS Catalina, then immediately installed uBar. I haven't had any issues and updates just fine. Have installed multiple apps and then uninstalled, no issues with uBar at all.
jrw32982
jrw32982
Jan 22 2020
4.1.5
0.0
Jan 22 2020
0.0
Version: 4.1.5
In general, I like the app. But it has bugs that are affecting me and the support site (hosted at brawersoftware.atlassian.net) has been unavailable for a month, with no reply from the dev to my emails. I'm not happy paying $30 for an abandoned app. That's not the way to treat paying customers.
kaos-3
kaos-3
Dec 10 2019
4.1.5
5.0
Dec 10 2019
5.0
Version: 4.1.5
It doesn't work with Catalina :( u have to reset it to refresh apps... hope a update soon
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Nov 19 2019
4.1.5
1.0
Nov 19 2019
1.0
Version: 4.1.5
This developer has ignored everybody for months, including my support request last spring. Wondering if the horrible bug with the dock has been fixed. I will test it out, but if it hasn't, I'm abandoning this app for good.
Foulger
Foulger
Nov 18 2019
4.1.5
4.0
Nov 18 2019
4.0
Version: 4.1.5
Since Dock-It ceased to work, being 32 bit, I have tried ALL the dock replacements until finally settling on uBar 4. Once one gets used to the why's and wherefores, its usefulness quickly becomes apparent. One thing I would love to see implemented is being able to grab and drag favourite apps along the favourites task bar, rather than one step at a time. This is cranky and time consuming. Admittedly, once its done, its done but still..... Also would be nice to have 100% transparency instead of just 95%. Finally its good value for money on my Catalina machine, extremely stable. Finally settled on the correct app to replace the dock. Really finally, support E-Mails have for me, so far, gone unanswered. Thats a negative.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Nov 15 2019
4.1.4
1.0
Nov 15 2019
1.0
Version: 4.1.4
I'm assuming now that this is abandonware since the develop doesn't answer anything. Totally fails on Catalina, and has major problems on Mojave.
mdekkers
mdekkers
Oct 25 2019
4.1.4
1.0
Oct 25 2019
1.0
Version: 4.1.4
Relatively useful when it works. As others have noted - zero support. This broke with Catalina, broke more with the latest update, and zero response from the dev. So ultimately, this was a waste of money.
Zeropoint
Zeropoint
Sep 29 2019
4.1.4
2.0
Sep 29 2019
2.0
Version: 4.1.4
It's a useful app when it works. However, customer service seems nonexistent, no response at all. I am giving it a low rating based on poor client care.
denniswolsen
denniswolsen
Sep 4 2019
4.1.4
2.0
Sep 4 2019
2.0
Version: 4.1.4
utterly blows... but still far superior to the mac os dock and still worth the money in my opinion. i wish i could just install a proper free desktop (xfce etc.)
Iainf
Iainf
Sep 3 2019
4.1.4
1.0
Sep 3 2019
1.0
Version: 4.1.4
Update to my previous review. 2 support requests made in April (now September). On login to the Brawer software site both have tags showing "waiting for support". Draw your own conclusions but don't care how good the software with that lack of support
just4review
just4review
Jul 29 2019
4.1.4
2.0
Jul 29 2019
2.0
Version: 4.1.4
Purchased uBar as part of a MacHeist deal in April, 2019. Had some questions and opened a ticket in April. It's the end of July and still no response. So don't count on ANY support. All in all, I liked some of the features, but I didn't like how there's not a good way to have applications permanently located on the bar. If it's not open, it's not there. It's possible that I just missed the setting somewhere, but without a response from support, I guess I'll never know. Removed from my computer. Glad I didn't pay full price.
Alexvs
Alexvs
May 13 2019
4.1.4
1.0
May 13 2019
1.0
Version: 4.1.4
Don't buy it. Really. Leaks memory, consumes all RAM (in my case up to 16GB), dock hiding doesn't work (macOS Dock), NO DEVELOPER RESPONSE TO NUMEROUS REQUESTS AFTER 3 MONTHS.
gedeonh@tpg-com-au
gedeonh@tpg-com-au
Apr 25 2019
4.1.4
4.0
Apr 25 2019
4.0
Version: 4.1.4
very useful and a clever idea
Iainf
Iainf
Apr 8 2019
4.1.3
1.0
Apr 8 2019
1.0
Version: 4.1.3
Downloaded uBar to try it and liked a lot of what it does. I had some questions for the developer and submitted a form and subsequently an email to see if I could get some clarification. Since then I've heard nothing (in almost 2 weeks) so not sure if the developers have received my query or are just not responding. I see that the last update was Dec 2018 so it seems odd. Certainly not going to give my money to an unresponsive developer...
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Apr 3 2019
4.1.3
1.0
Apr 3 2019
1.0
Version: 4.1.3
Love the functionality of uBar, but currently can't use it because of the bugs it has with hiding Apple's own dock. The uBar preferences have the option to permanently hide the dock, but after enabling this feature, and rebooting, the dock is back and is sometimes frozen in it's unhidden state. Hope the dev can fix this.
Megavolt17
Megavolt17
Dec 15 2018
4.1.3
5.0
Dec 15 2018
5.0
Version: 4.1.3
Great replacement for (or addition to) the Dock. Fully customizable to show only what you want and how you want. I have mine set to show a few favorites (like what the Dock does), not show any program without active windows, dark mode and show as a Task Bar. Set yours however you prefer!
peterbreis
peterbreis
Sep 13 2018
4.0.7
0.5
Sep 13 2018
0.5
Version: 4.0.7
Thought I'd give it one last shot, but uBar completely fails to launch, yet again and macOS reports it is damaged and recommends I move it to Trash which I have done in the hope of getting Dock back. I can not see anywhere on Brawer's website where I can redownload the uBar v3. This has not been a wise purchase at all.
peterbreis
peterbreis
Sep 13 2018
4.0.7
0.5
Sep 13 2018
0.5
Version: 4.0.7
I have uBar 3 running on Sierra and initally liked it very much but what lets it done (badly) is its unreliability and that it causes more problems than it solves. It disappears at odd intervals and then fails to show up at all on relaunch, until eventually it stops working, and all the time I used it, it clashed with Apple's Dock. I used Terminal to hide Apple's Dock just to run uBar. Now I have nether. After a bit of fiddling I've got Apple's Dock back but half the Dock is below the bottom of the screen. uBar is SO expensive for what it is, I really am reluctant to spend any more money on it just in the hope of getting a fix in v4. When I have more time I'll try and get my Mac back to where it was before uBar, but it has proved a complete waste of money and enormous waste of time. That's the problem with these haxies, small improvements at huge cost. A lot of promise but poor delivery.
harry-common-uk
harry-common-uk
Sep 8 2018
4.0.7
0.0
Sep 8 2018
0.0
Version: 4.0.7
is ubar development still active does anyone know? the reason I ask is been waiting for a response to several support questions for about 2 months!
ben-marko
ben-marko
Sep 6 2018
4.0.7
4.0
Sep 6 2018
4.0
Version: 4.0.7
Vastly improved, much more stable. I decided to retry uBar and have been very, very pleased. A great way to appeal to switchers who miss this type of feature from Windows. I have only two requests...

- I cannot edit the list of folders (shortcuts) that sit under the Applications folder near the top of the uBar menu. I can edit the items in the list immediately below it, but not within this one list. So I am stuck with Mac/Desktop/Home/Documents/Downloads.

- Within the Menu tab in uBar Preferences, I cannot select multiple items at once within the same folder (so I can add them all at once - like in Applications - then worry about sorting them). I can only choose...One. Item. At. A. Time.
Shock-J
Shock-J
Jul 20 2018
4.0.7
2.0
Jul 20 2018
2.0
Version: 4.0.7
I agree with others that this is very Windows like, but the Dock does not have true multi-monitor support, so I decided to give this a try. This has serious issues with it multi-monitor support. First, the description claims uBar "will only display the apps and/or windows associated with that screen." This doesn't work at all. I have a Thunderbolt Display connected to a MacBook Pro (touch bar). When set to "ALL," no apps or windows show up at all on the Thunderbolt Display, no matter what's open. I can only see apps in UBar if it's set to "Mirror." Secondly, on the TB Display, auto-resizing doesn't work. Apps (Chrome, Firefox, everything). will display underneath uBar. Also, holding the CTRL key is supposed to reveal CPU & RAM info. Can't get that to work either. For an app that's on version 4, it feels very buggy an unpolished. You shouldn't be touting "PRO" multi-monitor support, when your software barely work in this aspect. Maybe version 5 will fix these glaring issues.
chrisspera
chrisspera
Mar 4 2018
4.0.5
2.5
Mar 4 2018
2.5
Version: 4.0.5
The application doesn't really fit the Mac paradigm of task managers and launchers. Its very much like the Windows 7/8/10 task bar and start button, meaning its ok, but very unMac like. As a veteran user of both operating systems (Mac at home and Windows guy at work), I find this more confusing than helpful and have uninstalled it for now. I may come back to this later...
ben-marko
ben-marko
Nov 21 2017
4.0.4
4.0
Nov 21 2017
4.0
Version: 4.0.4
It is good, and very convenient. But it cannot tell other applications not to display windows so that the bottom edge isn't hidden by uBar. This is a huge pain, as at first I constantly was resizing windows such as Safari, Photoshop, Mail, etc. If there was a way to get uBar to keep this from happening it would be very much worth the price. But it is enough of an irritation that I'll wait to buy for now.
garochristian
garochristian
Nov 18 2017
4.0.4
2.5
Nov 18 2017
2.5
Version: 4.0.4
Very awkward interface.; the screenshots on the website is very misleading. Still, I tried to to enjoy this app... until I realized that it was a memory hog. It consumes more memory than Google Chrome and Firefox combined! See for yourself... https://imgur.com/a/Qcns7
peterbreis
peterbreis
Nov 13 2017
4.0.4
0.5
Nov 13 2017
0.5
Version: 4.0.4
I have always thought the Dock was a terrible design but haven't found, till now, a replacement to keep the Dock out of the way. uBar is a clean & simple flexibly obvious design that lets you get at your full list of Apps, Docs, Folders and Volumes. The cream on the cake is the pop up clock and calendar. Wishes: Reorder Apps in sets on each row e.g. 3 rows Most Fav on top, least fav on bottom also working left to right in each Row. The clock and calendar should obey my System settings: 24hr clock w Monday as the first day of the week, showing Calendar Events as neatly as itsyCal. There should be a keyboard override to stretch up the toolbar rows whilst Auto-Hide is checked. I currently have to turn that off first. Even better: Pop up controllers like in the old Classic Mac Control Bar: sliders for Volume, Brightness, WiFi, Radio Channels etc. All in one access point. Apple should rethink The Dock and make it as easy to read and use as uBar. It's not too late
orgitnized
orgitnized
Nov 1 2017
4.0.3
0.0
Nov 1 2017
0.0
Version: 4.0.3
I do agree with ben-marko in that it would be great if apps could "see" the bar on the bottom. Going through the process of re-sizing windows as a result is a pain. There are a few app inconsistencies that are around, and I'm working with the developer on them. I'll be fair for now and keep this as a comment instead of downgrading the app for flaws that I see - especially since he has been responsive. As it is for now, I would give it a solid 4 because it does perform well, and I really do love the conveniences and neat little features associated with it. - Love the stability; doesn't crash at all - I really enjoy the many ways to customize so you can make it your own - I like holding a key to see which apps are using my CPU utilization all at once - I like seeing the application change in the bar interface when it stalls out and isn't responding Additionally, some folks have asked for ways to keep the standard dock hidden and small while using ubar - you can do it with this method if you'd like to just run it from your terminal: https://d.pr/n/cuqdCd+ I think saving custom themes would be cool, but I certainly don't take off points for that. It's cool to be able to pick from a few that I would put together, though. I'd love to save them as specific files from ubar and be able to use them when I feel like it instead of having to screenshot settings for custom colors. Again, if that's not a popular request, there's really not a need for adding it. Keep up the great work, Edward!
ich-net
ich-net
Oct 24 2017
4.0.3
4.0
Oct 24 2017
4.0
Version: 4.0.3
Version 4.03
For me better than the dock especially for window management (the dock is now only a hidden and on demand showing quick launcher for me).
The the new multi monitor support is very good.
And finally there is an option to show only apps with windows (more than zero windows). YES!! (Waiting since Version 2 of ubar (literally for years) for this little but very good feature).

If you use Epichrome (very good for using websites in their own window mit own dock symbol), ubar unfortunately shows two taskbar buttons per Epichrome window, which is a waste of valuable space in the "taskbar" of ubar. Developer is already informed about this issue, but please let him know, when you have this problem too.

Frankeed
Frankeed
Oct 20 2017
4.0.3
0.0
Oct 20 2017
0.0
Version: 4.0.3
Downloaded and installed the trial version last night. Logged in to my computer this morning and a window popped up saying my 14 day trial was over. Oh well, I'm not that unhappy with the Dock.
TheTechGuy
TheTechGuy
Oct 20 2017
4.0.3
5.0
Oct 20 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.3
I immediately like it better than the dock.
mike-310
mike-310
Oct 19 2017
4.0.3
5.0
Oct 19 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.3
SO much better than the standard OSX dock. uBar is indispensable for me and totally worth the money.
jameslentini
jameslentini
Oct 3 2017
4.0.3
5.0
Oct 3 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.3
An indispensible application for Mac users who want to ditch the dock and find a better (and neater looking) user experience. This is a must have app!
ben-marko
ben-marko
Sep 30 2017
4.0.3
4.0
Sep 30 2017
4.0
Version: 4.0.3
Very useful, and I keep the macOS dock hidden all the time now. A much more minimalist look to the desktop, it took me very little time to get used to the interface. It would be nice if other apps could “see” uBar - for example opening a Safari window places the bottom edge behind the uBar, so I have to drag the window to resize it. But overall it is well worth the money.
Dba
Dba
Sep 19 2017
4.0.0
0.5
Sep 19 2017
0.5
Version: 4.0.0
I have Ubar 3 and just tried the Ubar 4.0 demo. It doesn't work at all. Nothing happens when it is double clicked, and its window does not appear, though it does show as running in Activity Monitor. I did quit Ubar 3 before opening Ubar 4. I've moved the cursor to all 4 sides of the screen and clicked too, and even set Ubar 3's prefs to not auto hide, quit Ubar 3 and tried Ubar 4 again, but nothing shows up for Ubar 4. Too bad, I wanted to try and hopefully buy it but of course cannot. Maybe just a bug in the initial 4.0 release? I've sent the above as a support request to the dev from his website. Let's see if he gets back to me about this, or says something here about that. I can't give this new v4 a rating other than 1/2 star (THOUGH I do give v3 4.5 Stars)
roma-4
roma-4
Sep 12 2017
4.0.0
5.0
Sep 12 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.0
Works great on my Macbook 2015. Having a great (mac)OS working with a very convenient start menu and task bar. Lots of options even Microsoft didn't think about. Support is also great (if you'd ever need it)