Back to Notify Pro page
Notify Pro free download for Mac

Notify Pro Reviews

2.1.6
06 August 2010

Gmail notifier supports multiple accounts.

Robrecord
03 May 2010

Most helpful

No updates in a while.. badly in need of an update. The functionality is only half there. Will it ever be improved?
Like (5)
Version 2.0.7

Read 45 Notify Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

CtrlAlt
02 September 2019
Can someone please update this app!!! This is the best app ever for what it does. Using it since 2010.
Like
Version 2.1.6
gberger8
18 June 2018
alternative
Like
Version 2.1.6
Turquoise
27 March 2015
Works with Yosemite (sort of). Dear developer, please update this great application, there isn't any viable alternative. Please.
Like
Version 2.1.6
3 answer(s)
deputat
deputat
22 April 2015
I second that!
Like
Emet1
Emet1
29 September 2015
I've got it running on 10.10.5 with 2 gmail accounts.
The only issue I've got is that the icon in the menubar looks normal until I click on it to view messages. Once I've clicked, it stays blue. It clears once I restart or log out/in.

Still the best gmail notifier EVER.
Like (3)
eacr89
eacr89
07 February 2016
The blue background on icon when clicking on it is annoying. It would be great if someone could fix that

I'm tired of looking for an alternative with no luck.

:(
Like (2)
polocanada
05 October 2014
More info http://www.ghacks.net/2014/07/21/gmail-starts-block-less-secure-apps-enable-access/ Actually I did find out why it doesn't work anymore. It's because Google switched to Auth 2.0 this summer. So you can enable "less secure" access to your Gmail (which means effectively continue to use the old method).. or you need to look for different application. Selecting 2nd sign-in and application password is same as old method. But if you need to stick with an older app and you can't access account, you have no choice but going back with the old method.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.6
Grandduc
21 August 2014
Notify is incredibly well thought out and feature rich. You can even see (not just read) each message within the app., interact with it, and delete it without opening it in Gmail. If you are on SL or Lion, get it while you can. There is still a registering file available (see my comment below).
Like
Version 2.1.6
2 answer(s)
Techboy
Techboy
26 August 2014
I was interested in trying this since it's supposed to be compatible with Google Apps, but it won't connect to any of my App accounts, only my personal Gmail account. Is there a trick I'm missing?
Like
Grandduc
Grandduc
27 August 2014
Techboy,
I haven't tried this. I was just looking for a replacement for Gee, apparently disabled from Google's side, and delighted to find something better which still works, and works better.
Like
Lvdoc
12 March 2013
I just found Mail Call on the App Store. You can also find it here: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/46500/mail-call If you like Notify, this is the closest you're going to get to replacing it. It works pretty well, and the developer replied to an inquiry I had very promptly.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.6
megadice
25 November 2012
LOVE Notify. Sad to see that it is gone. I had it on two machines, and upgraded to pro when the developer made it free to do so. Now one machine has been completely reformatted and I can't unlock it anymore... anyone know if the licence is archived anywhere? or if I can get the licence or information from my one computer that still has a 'good' copy? Thanks in advance! J
Like (1)
Version 2.1.6
4 answer(s)
bbbc
bbbc
03 December 2012
Search Google for License.notify.zip to find it. MacUpdate should offer the license as an additional download since the author abandoned the project and gave this license file away for free.
Like (1)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
25 January 2013
https://anonfiles.com/file/6bdc702e9f055dcc744b7110a620f1f6
Like (2)
Rofra
Rofra
26 May 2013
Agree that it is a pity that is is no longer supported. But since i installed OS X 10.8, it works absolutely flawless (again). To early to dump :-)
Like
Grandduc
Grandduc
20 August 2014
http://cl.ly/040e1U3e1i103n0M0p1O
Drag file unto Notify register window.
Like (1)
Nmege
09 October 2012
Terrific, discreet interface, and very fast & efficient piece of software, my dream of an app come true. It strikes me as a utility Apple should have provided as soon as MacOS X came out. BTW the site is down (certificate problem and i won't take the risk) I would be grateful if someone could point me to where Notify stores its prefs? I would like to use it on several machines.
Like
Version 2.1.6
1 answer(s)
Nmege
Nmege
27 October 2012
Very Sad Update: now that the trial period is over, i can't use notify anymore as the page it takes you to to register is 404. Same for the "trick" the developer refers to above, stored on a 404 page :((
Like
Shane-Smith
27 October 2011
What the hell! This is the second piece of software I've purchased that has been discontinued. If your going to abandon the project at least give the code out so someone can continue the work.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.6
Beerlington
26 July 2011
Works really well for 10.6 and below. Lion support is just ok. It's functional but a little unstable.
Like
Version 2.1.6
1 answer(s)
Rofra
Rofra
08 November 2011
If you want to be notified for both Gmail- and IMAP-accounts, this still is the best app in spite of the instability under Lion. So I still use it and haven't found a good replacement yet. Just to bad that this software has been discontinued!
Like
JamesHarrisPhoto
18 February 2011
And so ends my use of Notify Pro. If anyone has been following the developer's forums, there have been several requests for POP support in addition to IMAP. I absolutely need both to be able to view all of my email accounts. Well this was the official response from the developer today: "We will not be supporting POP as we (me) don't have the resources to implement another protocol. It's as simple as that. Sorry!" And the thread was closed. Still on the hunt for a complete menubar-based solution.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.6
amhk90
10 January 2011
really cool, really easy, just grate
Like
Version 2.1.6
L0xby
04 November 2010
when i reply to a message using notify pro, the reply starts a new conversation/thread instead of continuing the original conversation. notify pro addresses the recipient using only their email address, whereas if you reply via your browser, it will use the name and email address, thus continuing the conversation.
Like
Version 2.1.6
Mutant
19 October 2010
When I delete from the Notify interface it doesn't dump it in Trash, it dumps it in IMAP/Trash. This is pretty annoying. http://cl.ly/894d09a7e0e8842ceba5 No preferences to change this.
Like
Version 2.1.6
Eggshell
13 July 2010
I don't know if this is the way it's suppose to work but Notify does not log automatically in my Gmail account on app launch . It doesn't remember my password and each time I have to re-enter it . Anyone else has the same issue ?
Like
Version 2.1.4
RasmusJ
13 July 2010
I've been looking for a Notifier for Mac OS X for a great deal of time, that actually worked. And this one just stands out. Terrific interface, beautifully designed and best of all: It works! I would have given this Software 5 stars, but I would really like the author/developer to add one great missing feature: Support for "IMAP Idle". If this were supported, we could have real "Push Mail" to Mac OS X. Please add this Great Feature of the IMAP protocol. Else, I cannot seem to recommend this piece of software enough. Works absolutely great for MobileMe, Gmail and other IMAP protocol based Mail hosters. Thanks for an amazing piece of Software. - RasmusJ, Denmark, July 2010.
Like
Version 2.1.4
JamesHarrisPhoto
13 July 2010
This does not support POP email accounts, so they should let people know about this shortcoming on the download sites. I purchased this a while back so that I could unify all of my email address into one app, but without POP support, this falls WAY short of a complete solution. Until they address this I can't use it (and I own it).
Like (3)
Version 2.1.4
LeMerlot
08 July 2010
Great enhancement, nice slim interface - the new update makes things even faster. I couldn't live without it any more... For me Notify Pro would be absolutely perfect if it would provide the option to have all email accounts in a single view like iOS4.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
Burak
26 May 2010
Seems fine now.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.0
Robrecord
03 May 2010
No updates in a while.. badly in need of an update. The functionality is only half there. Will it ever be improved?
Like (5)
Version 2.0.7
Davidfreels
26 April 2010
I purchased as part of either a MUpromo or MacZot while using 10.6.2, am now on 10.6.3. I like the design and the interactiveness--however it constantly crashes and is really not useable. I'm disappointed but looking forward to an update to correct the crashing.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.7
Burak
03 March 2010
Brilliant; you don't have to open Mail.app or go to the webmail page, but I agree with ROBRECORD and add that the ability to send and receive attachments would be great.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.7
1 answer(s)
Burak
Burak
19 March 2010
Well... It truncates both incoming and outgoing messages. Developer doesn't responds my emails about this. It doesn't delete messages from the server. And really it's not necessary. Now I use Mail.app and Growl Mail. Much better and just a very little bit heavier on resources.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.7
Robrecord
02 February 2010
Very nice looking notifier, good job so far. It's nearly there. Certainly better than other notifiers. There are a few bugs and essential features missing. UI design is OK. I bought it, hoping for good things :) Need improvement in this version: • Quick look needs clickable URLs, 'mark read' option. Problem with periodically refreshing and scrolling to top. • Needs a 'star/flag this email' button. *crucial for the way I work with email* • 'Open mail' button/menu item opens Gmail web, rather than default email client. Suggestions: • Buttons could be prettier, need tool-tips. • Filter by label/folder would be nice (default= inbox). • Set label/folder would also be nice.
Like
Version 2.0.7
larrymcj
01 February 2010
I live by Gmail online and refuse to use it as IMAP with Apple Mail. I've tried every other similar notifier there is for Gmail, including Google's own Gmail Notifier. None of them compare to this. While it lacks a couple of minor features like being able to add Bcc: and Cc: from a reply or new email generated Notify, I'll bet they'll be in a future version. It's an awesome little utility! Clearly, the developer cares enough about this app to keep on adding features based on user recommendations as v2.x is much better than v1.x. Also, the developer actually replies to email...what a concept in today's world of "maybe I'll return your email or maybe not".
Like (1)
Version 2.0.7
Welded
18 January 2010
I don't want to set up Mail on my work computer but still want to keep an eye on my email accounts and Notify is the best option I've tried. The free version alone is quite good if you don't mind opening up the web interface to reply, make as read, etc. I didn't think I'd bother upgrading to the paid version, but I find having access to these basic mail functions is really quite handy and I'm happy to spend the money to support good software. I'd like to just give 4 stars to give the room app to improve, but what's the point in that? It is already a great leap better than 1.x and does everything I was looking for. Keep up the great work! * One quick feature request: disable images in email previews with a preference, please. :)
Like (3)
Version 2.0.7
Teslanaut
06 January 2010
See, this is what I love about Free Apps going to Paid. He gives you an option to stay on the Free version! Lets you hide or show the paid features until you decide to pay. Just awesome. I just wish I could pay for this through the App Store or something like that. If he made iPhone apps, I'd gladly buy them! So I guess I'll just stick to the Free features for this app. I don't really need to compose Email. (I still wish for a Twitter Plugin for this thing. This thing has the most awesome UI for it.)
Like (1)
Version 2.0.7
cholywell
12 December 2009
This is a fantastic program. It is well designed and the layout is good. The developers are working hard to release new versions and fix bugs. 3 versions released in a 4 hour period!
Like (2)
Version 2.0.6
Shane-Smith
10 December 2009
What a fantastic update even if you have to pay for it. I have a couple of feature requests though. 1) Have a preference for previewing the email by double clicking on it. 2) When replying to an email having a preference to copy the original email. That's it! Great job, keep the updates coming.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
2 answer(s)
Shane-Smith
Shane-Smith
10 December 2009
A couple more request.. - If your in preview mode it would be nice if you could do all the same things as in the main window. (reply, delete, mark as read, etc) - When replying to an email it should automatically mark as read. If not that then maybe a preference to have that ability for who ever wants it.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
larrymcj
larrymcj
01 February 2010
I agree with both your comments...hopefully, the developer reads these.
Like
Version 2.0.7
O5220803
26 October 2009
Nice interface; works well under OSX 10.6. Suggestion: I would like to see the developer include "Delete" and "Reset Mail Counter" buttons in the next release. Notify is a well designed OSX application.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Andrewm8
28 September 2009
Just installed and tested Notify 1.0.5 - seems there are some problems: - added 3 accounts with no problem - Notify in the menubar shows unread count as 3 - in reality I have on 2 accounts 1 each unread message and on 1 account 5 unread messages, to the total of 7. Where the count 3 comes from? - no matter which account's tab I click on the Notify only shows subject and snip for the first account on the list - ?????
Like
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
Kyleve
Kyleve
18 October 2009
Hi These are known issues that seem to effect an extremely small amount of users - we will be fixing these in our 2.0 release.
Like
Version 1.0.5
P0ps
27 September 2009
Developer: will you be adding support for app accounts? This is an awesome program and your work is greatly appreciated.
Like
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
Kyleve
Kyleve
27 September 2009
Please see the following blog post for more information - http://vibealicious.com/blog/development/some-news-for-google-apps-users-aka-notify-1-1-and-beyond/
Like
Version 1.0.5
Violet
05 September 2009
This is exactly what I've been needing. Google Notifier only checks for new messages every 15-30 minutes, whenever it seems to feel like it, without an option in preferences to set how often you'd like it to check. Gmail Notifr had that option, but made itself pretty much useless by not showing you who sent your emails or the subjects of them. Notify has the best of all worlds - you can set it to check for new messages at lots of different intervals; you can see the sender, the subject, and even the first couple of lines of the email itself so you can decide if it's worth opening Gmail right then to check it; and I think the tabbed window interface is pretty darn clever. And I'm sure it's handy for lots of people that it can check up to four Gmail accounts, though that's not something I use myself. Notify, for me, is perfect as-is and just what I've been looking for. If they keep adding to it, great!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.4
5 answer(s)
Sjsw
Sjsw
12 September 2009
Gmail Notifr absolutely does tell you the sender of the email as well as the subject so your assertion that it does not is incorrect. In my opinion to call a program that was the only viable free alternative to Google's official notifier for over a year "worthless" and then give misleading information about it is irresponsible. If I sound "harsh" let's just say that I appreciate developers like James Chan who give their time and talent to the Mac community (with free programs) and that includes this developer as well, I think this could be a fine program as it matures and I really like the U.I.. Right now though it can't check Google Apps accounts (of which I have many) and I need to be able to check more than 4 accounts. That means, for now, that it won't work for me but it doesn't mean that I think it's "worthless". For many users this may be all that they need and I do appreciate the developers efforts and wish him well.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.5
Violet
Violet
13 September 2009
The only place I've ever seen Notifr tell you is in the growl notification once the email arrives. If you're not at the computer or you don't see it, you can't click on the menu icon and bring that up in the menu - unless you all are using a different version of Notifr than I am. :) For me, that makes it useless. Just my own opinion.
Like
Version 1.0.5
Sjsw
Sjsw
13 September 2009
I think that what must be going on here is that you are somehow confusing Gmail Notifr by James Chan with another program. Gmail Notifr has supported showing the sender and subject (from the menubar item pull down) since version 0.2.2 (Nov 3, 2008). That was 16 updates and almost 1 year ago. I find it revealing that someone commenting on a "Mac Update" site would not be "up-to-date" on software they purportedly use. Perhaps when you do your next review you should focus on the positives (or negatives) of the program you're reviewing instead of making comments about another program that, in this case, reveals your ignorance. When you make assertions that have no basis in fact, your have no credibility in this forum.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
Violet
Violet
13 September 2009
It's Gmail Notifr, and it's up to date. I haven't personally attacked you, so you can stop personally attacking me.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
Sjsw
Sjsw
14 September 2009
There is nothing personal about my comments and pointing out that you are mistaken is not an attack. You made a misleading (and flat out wrong) assertion that I have refuted with facts. If you're using a current version of Gmail Notifr then you know that it most certainly DOES tell you the sender and subject from the pull down menubar item yet you refuse to acknowledge that you are wrong. I wouldn't care save the fact that someone reading your review unchallenged might not try Gmail Notifr based on your erroneous evaluation of a major feature. At any rate, I'll leave it to others to draw their own conclusions about the value of your opinion in this forum.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
Stephan213
31 August 2009
I loved Notify when using Leopard, but I just tried installing it on Snow Leopard, and can't open the account configuration screen, let alone the preference menu. The app just doesn't open it. Any ideas?
Like
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
Kyleve
Kyleve
06 September 2009
Hi - try deleting your preference file - it's here: /Users//Library/Preferences/com.Vibealicious.Notify.plist All of our developers are on Snow Leopard and can't replicate your problem, so wiping the preferences might fix it.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.4
Radiorhaeem
31 August 2009
Great gmail notifer application, but it appears to have an issue after running for a while in OS X 10.6. The pop-up dialog flashes and then refuses to open again. Only option is to kill the app with activity monitor. Seems to be related to telling Notify to launch the full gmail interface in a browser.
Like
Version 1.0.4
Cindi168
25 August 2009
This app is everything I wanted in a gmail notifier. This completely blows google notifier out of the water. I love how it supports multiple accounts, growl notification and is very easy to use. The UI is also quite nice. I haven't ran into any stability issues and it doesn't use up system resources. Can't wait for more features to be implemented (such as in app replies). I also wish the app could keep the read messages instead of deleting it after it was read. Would be nice if I could set up a notification sound too. All in all, great app!
Like
Version 1.0.3
Max-Lee
25 August 2009
Perfect! A simple and functional menu app that let you check all your GMail accounts. Great for me when Mail is blocked by my office firewall. Could I ask for anymore? Not really. Perhaps the ability to change the highlight color. But that's a very minor nit. Great! Thanks!
Like
Version 1.0.3
Royboy
25 August 2009
Notify doesn't run for me after upgrading to Notify 1.0.3.
Like
Version 1.0.3
1 answer(s)
Kyleve
Kyleve
25 August 2009
Delete your prefs file - it's in /Users/Yourname/Library/Preferences/com.Vibealicious.Notify.plist
Like
Version 1.0.3
Teslanaut
24 August 2009
I love the style going on in the screenshot. But if people like hud, why not make it a style choice option? :)
Like
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
Teslanaut
Teslanaut
24 August 2009
Sorry for commenting again, but semi-related, this is also how I want a Twitter client to be. In the menubar, unobtrusive, only showing itself when needed. Exactly like how Notify looks. Here's to hoping a developer can fill my wishes.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Doug-S-
24 August 2009
Rather nice and there are things about it I really, really like. However, and this is just an aesthetic wish on my part, I would rather they used the HUD interface over a more window-look. Even Apple is moving more in that direction.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Shane-Smith
24 August 2009
I'll hold of on giving a review since I feel it's missing a couple key things. 1) when messages arrive I have no idea who there are from. Adding the recipients email address would greatly improve the UI. 2) Having multiply email accounts is a very nice feature but I no way of knowing from which email account the message came from. I think this may be a bug. Since their are tabs I shouldn't see messages from messages from tab B and the same from tab A. Overall this is a very sleek application I just need a couple of extra things added to be useful for myself.
Like
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
Kyleve
Kyleve
24 August 2009
The emails appearing in more than one account is a known issue (seem to occur if you're using safari, since we share cookies with it) - This will be fixed in 1.1. As well, we're going to be adding the sender to the message in a release soon.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
Kyleve
Kyleve
24 August 2009
Hello, me again. I just pushed a 1.0.2 update that now displays the name of the sender.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Sjsw
23 August 2009
I agree with others that this app has some real promise. The interface is very nice and shows some real thought but it does comes up short on what I consider some pretty basic features such as being able to check Google Apps accounts, growl notifications, and limiting one to only 4 accounts (I have six counting my Google Apps accounts). Also (and of lesser importance) the menu bar icon could be certainly be improved to something that's a little less of an eyesore. A trip to Deviant Art to ask one of the many fine artists there for permission to use some basic mail icons could be one solution for the developer Overall I'll hold off on any kind of rating, I realize this is a new app and I really appreciate it being free at that. Hopefully we'll see some of the features mentioned above be implemented as that would make it a genuine competitor against some of the other apps in this category. Right now, Gmail Notifr is still the king, but I'll be pulling for this one, as I said I really like the interface design.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Rob-h
23 August 2009
Nice little app. I like the way you can monitor multiple accounts, and the design of the preview window where you can see the start of each email is cool. Haven't had any problems with stability. There's a few things on my wishlist like a menu bar icon that stands out a bit more (perhaps give the user a choice of two or three different icons) or the ability to add an audible alert alongside the growl notification. Also, being able to delete emails from the preview list would be neat. Still, this is a useful app and it will be interesting to see how it develops.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Arya
22 August 2009
This app is very promising. It has a nice interface and features. Unfortunately, I can't use this app to check my google server email so I keep using Gmail Notifr. I'll keep looking for its development progress :-)
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
davinder-khabra
22 August 2009
the app is crashing for me, maybe because I have spaces in my password or its too long roughly 20 characters?
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Kyleve
Kyleve
22 August 2009
This is a known issue in 1.0 - We've fixed it in 1.0.1, which you can download either above or from our site.
Like
Version 1.0.1
davinder-khabra
davinder-khabra
22 August 2009
thanks, it works now
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
Tsehov
20 August 2009
This is very promising gmail notifier. I've been using Googles own notifier long time but I think I'll give this nice app a chance.
Like (2)
Version 1.0