Back to Concentrate page
Concentrate free download for Mac

Concentrate Reviews

1.2.2
21 July 2012

Eliminate distractions by blocking Web sites and apps.

Gazman
12 April 2010

Most helpful

A couple of observations having just tried this out. 1) For the quit/block applications it would be good if it just blacklist all other applications by default. It would be tedious to have to go and add each application individually. 2) For me the quit applications feature doesn't seem to be working. Safari and Mail were both supposed to quit but neither did. 3) It would be good to have this running in the background as a menubar app rather than it still showing in the application switcher etc. I will try this further because it's an interesting concept if I can get it to work the way I want to.
Like (5)
Version 1.1.4

Read 23 Concentrate User Reviews

Rate this app:

Fiscalwise
07 December 2016
I want a Concentrate update for the newest MacOS, and am quite frustrated that it's not available. I loved the prior versions but the updates are overdue. PLEASE get with it! I'm rating the older version below-- with hope that the developers will resuscitate Concentrate.
Like
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Therealzenmonkey
Therealzenmonkey
31 August 2017
it's dead, mate. The developer is giving his attention to focus (heyfocus.com) and stopped working on concentrate. I'm in your corner, I wish this app would come back since I found nothing that can replace it. Very sad to see this app dissapear, but nothing to do about it. (besides sending a few suitcases of money to the dev)
Like
Therealzenmonkey
26 September 2015
I'm devastated. This was my productivity companion. This little app did all the right tricks for me to get me in a creative mood. I used it to block unwanted distractions, I used it to launch apps at one go, to get that inspiring background going, etc ... Now it's deceased. r.i.p. And there is no alternative. I tried a plethora of productivity apps, but none comes even close. Focus? yeah, blocking sites is nice and all, but they all do that and none of them does what concentrate does. Can't we just get concentrate back please, the working version. I'd pay up, I'd donate. 29$ for concentrate is a price I am willing to pay.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.2
5 answer(s)
steelie
steelie
20 October 2015
Just curious, what did Concentrate do for you that Focus doesn’t?

I’ve been using Focus for a while now and and ever since it added application blocking in version 1.2.X it seems to have covered off (most) everything Concentrate did for me.

Like I said, just curious.
Like
Therealzenmonkey
Therealzenmonkey
22 October 2015
Hi Steelie,

What Concentrate did for me was more then just blocking the apps I selected. I suppose Focus does that part very well. I'm not disrespecting focus in any way for what it does.

I can only describe my workflow and how concentrate helped me. With just one click I had the apps open that I wanted (four or five apps I use for this particular task), close all the other apps that I didn't need, blocked the distractions (apps, internet, social media) and (this is important for me, but I can understand that it's not that important for other people) it changed my desktop picture so I could get in the right mindset (yeah, pavlov is wringing his hands just around the corner ^_^)

if focus can give me
- change desktop image
- open selected apps
- close selected apps
on top of blocking selected websites, apps, social media, then that's a sale. But as far as I can see from the trial version, it is just strong on the blocking and not on the desktop image and opening apps. Or have I missed something? I do really hope that I missed the part above, I want to very much buy an app that does what concentrate did.

cheers

monkey
Like (1)
Therealzenmonkey
Therealzenmonkey
22 October 2015
oh, and if someone smarter than me can detail a workflow to do all this (open apps, change desktop image, close apps, block apps/sites) via multiple desktops (on mac) or apps like Alfred or vitamine-R or if there are other apps out there that can do all of the above, I would be very interested in learning how to do that.
Like
Dellu
Dellu
07 December 2015
God, I wish I can get this app back. It was amazing for managing projects.
Like
Therealzenmonkey
Therealzenmonkey
27 December 2015
Is it possible to replace this app with some other apps? Or some terminal commands?
I tried Alfred, but it was a jungle to me and couldn't get the thing working as I wanted to. (I really miss concentrate)

Thanx in advance.
Like
tadpole-angel
13 February 2015
This just crashes for me and is pretty useless as you can just stop it when you want. I've also just discovered Focus (see steelie below) - http://www.heyfocus.com. It now blocks apps as well as websites. The developer is responsive and the app is under active development. Not as many options as Concentrate, but a very good alternative
Like
Version 1.2.2
Rick-gladwin
06 January 2015
I purchased this app while running Mavericks and it worked well, but not anymore. The app crashes 100% of the time when trying to use it to block websites on OS X Yosemite, the developer is unreachable, and the developer's webstore's domain is expired. This app is dead in the water. DO NOT download this app. Find an up-to-date alternative.
Like
Version 1.2.2
steelie
20 October 2014
Ever since upgrading to Yosemite, Concentrate crashes every time I try to authenticate “Admin Privileges” to block domains. If I choose “Don’t block Domains” it launches just fine but then doesn’t do what I need it to do. :( Anyone else experiencing this have a solution?
Like (2)
Version 1.2.2
3 answer(s)
ngko
ngko
22 October 2014
Same thing that happens to me! No solution from me yet, I can't even find a way to contact the people who made Concentrate...
Like
steelie
steelie
27 October 2014
Actually, I just discovered a new replacement, called Focus: http://www.heyfocus.com

It’s basically a lightweight version of what Concentrate offered. It doesn’t block or suppress apps from launching, but it blocks websites which has always been my main distraction.

I’ve been chatting back and forth with the developer a bit on Twitter and GitHub, and he says he hopes to have a “more polished release” (v1.0 ?) out sometime very soon—possible even this week. The version linked on the official site is a bit behind but the developer has his latest version on GitHub here: https://github.com/bradjasper/Focus/issues/13#issuecomment-60189363

Looks extremely promising. :)
Like (1)
steelie
steelie
06 November 2014
Alright, thankfully, Concentrate still works for blocking distracting apps in Yosemite. So, any Yosemite users looking to replicating Concentrate’s full functionality could try using a combination of Focus (linked above) and Concentrate.

Not that I expect a huge number of people to care, but I find it works really well for me—it’s just one extra click to activate both—so I figured I share.
Like
pamelakdouglas
14 September 2014
Amazing! Downloaded the trial .. and now I want to buy it ... but what's up with that link? store.madebyrocket.com It doesn't seem to be working. Any News?
Like
Version 1.2.2
Mikael-B
01 July 2013
Wow! I'm impressed. The authors are giving away a free license on the purchase link store.madebyrocket.com with the message: "Hi, until we're able to give Concentrate some needed love, 1.0 is free to use with the following information" What a nice gesture!
Like (4)
Version 1.2.2
4 answer(s)
Wonderv
Wonderv
25 October 2013
What about performance on ML and Mavericks since it was last updated in mid-2012? Anyone have experience? Thank you.
Like
GranadoMJ
GranadoMJ
26 October 2013
Actually, I just tried Concentrate in Mavericks today and it doesn't seem to be blocking the designated websites anymore. It's too bad as I really think there is a need for an application like this. I've already spoken with the developer and he has no plans of updating the application any further. It's too bad! At this point, I'm going to try Parental Controls in Mavericks to see if I can reproduce some of the things that Concentrate did (so easily). Otherwise, there doesn't seem to be any other application that does this, as easily and conveniently as Concentrate did. SelfControl is too invasive and Isolater or Vitamin R2 do not really get specific enough to block websites. Again, it's too bad.
Like
Rick-gladwin
Rick-gladwin
16 December 2014
It's a nice gesture to attract new users, but it does nothing for existing users who have paid for an app that doesn't work.

The appropriate gesture would be to fix the app.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
16 December 2014
Concentrate is working with blocking domains in Mavericks for me and Performance is very acceptable. I don't feel I have to upgrade to Yosemite just because I can. I have a working system and all my main software will continue ot support Mavericks. Lion especially and Mountain Lion were badly executed, so I'm in no rush.
Like
bowlerboy-jmb
29 June 2013
The system requirements say: REQUIREMENTS Intel/PPC, OS X 10.5 or later but version 1.2.2 is Intel only, according to the Get Info window on a PowerPC-based Mac, where the application will not run. The Developer's web site is quite sparse: there appears to be no way to download a legacy version that runs on a PPC Mac.
Like
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
01 July 2013
Cnet have version 1.1.5 here: http://download.cnet.com/Concentrate/3000-18509_4-75218390.html I think it's universal.
Like
Sonnendeck
25 May 2013
Great. Works perfectly good and is a big help.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Mikael-B
25 February 2013
Concentrate crashes for me on OS X 10.6.8 at the stage of adding any action by dragging it to the activity area. At the drag there is a crash: Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV) Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x0000000000000030 Crashed Thread: 0 It seems to me Concentrate isn't really compatible with OS X 10.6.8. What are your experiences under 10.6?
Like
Version 1.2.2
4 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
19 May 2013
And then for whatever reason it just works. Very strange, but possibly something to do with some permission error or so.
Like
signorinadaniellegmailcom8447
signorinadaniellegmailcom8447
01 July 2013
It simply crashes over and over again. It's so frustrating!! Every time I drag a new item it crashes...
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
01 July 2013
What OS X version are you on? It works now on OS X 10.6.8 for me. The drag and drop crashes are no more. Unfortunately I have no idea how I resolved this. I do recommend you repair your permissions though, while booted from the main system disk. I use: sudo diskutil repairPermissions / , in the Terminal usually.
Like
signorinadaniellegmailcom8447
signorinadaniellegmailcom8447
02 July 2013
Same: OS X 10.6.8 I'll try the permissions thing in the terminal... hope it works... thanks...
Like
Mikael-B
25 February 2013
Crashes for me on OS X 10.6.8 at the stage of adding an open app part. At the drag there is a crash. See troubleshooting for more.
Like
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
19 May 2013
It started working for unknown reasons. See Troubleshooting.
Like
Mikael-B
30 January 2013
Concentrate works really well, albeit a bit slow executing its tasks. Unfortunately I feel it's overpriced and not adjusted to prices in the Macworld of 2013. I'd pay $8-10 or so for this functionality. At $29 I'm contemplating a subscription to something like Rescuetime http://www.rescuetime.com which at $72 / year of course costs more, but also give much much more than Concentrate.
Like
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
19 May 2013
With still 54 free hours to go I must confess this app grows on me. It's very simple and fast to set up. I do find the open web sites to be immature and limited as it doesn't stop to check if the page is already loaded. And Concentrate doesn't send an "open" event but rather just writes out the URK in the location bar. Besides this nuisance I'm finding this somewhat useful. I've started to use "Self Control" for blocking web sites also when I have a break. It's free and a nice effective complement. I could certainly make do with that and Macbreakz that I already own. I'll see what I choose when my free hours run out.
Like
Mikael-B
29 January 2013
The macupdate link is too old. This is the current: http://www.getconcentrating.com/builds/concentrate.1.2.2.zip
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
25 February 2013
Well, link is updated.
Like
Chester-W
25 February 2012
Two problems: 1. When adding blocked websites, you can't add "google.com/reader", because the program changes it into "google.com" 2. If you are using Firefox, you will find that the blacklisted websites will be kept blocked even when you finish the concentrate activity. And you have to restart FF to be able to visit those websites. In fact, when I first opened the program and tried the example activity. It displayed the remaining time as some millions of minutes, and I couldn't stop the activity. I clicked on "Done" and it did not respond. Although I could click on Quit to terminate the program, the first impression was really bad, making me feel that it was not a reliable program. In addition, $29 is way too high. Websites like twitter and Facebook are the main distraction to me, and I can install some free addon/extension on my Firefox, Safari, and Chrome do block them (Leechblock on FF, WasteNoTime on Safari, and StayFocused on Chrome). Isolator can help me block distracting applications, though not so completely. The real value is that it can open the applications or documents that related to your work by just one click, which sometimes makes a big difference, when you are too lazy to open them.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
Lumac52
19 October 2011
This app is great. It appears that all the existing reviews are out of date (based on older versions). The app is helping me get into a more productive mode, so I'm not going to spend more time writing this review. All I can say is that the product description is accurate and I find the product useful. I started the free trial and now I'm buying. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.2.1
GeogProf
18 April 2011
I see many comments about features and mechanics of this app, but isn't anyone shocked at the price for this? To me, $29 is delusional.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.1
Detlevski
08 May 2010
I would love to use the block URL's function, but it also blocks FTP access in BBEdit which makes it useless for me. The developer states this feature is difficult to implement as so many websites us different IP's, but I didn't know my webserver is hosting Social Networks sites. Without this feature $29 is way too much, for an application launcher ? For quitting programs?
Like (5)
Version 1.1.4
1 answer(s)
Macnerd1984
Macnerd1984
28 June 2011
I'm clicking on the happy face just for your profile photo. Golden.
Like (1)
Gazman
12 April 2010
A couple of observations having just tried this out. 1) For the quit/block applications it would be good if it just blacklist all other applications by default. It would be tedious to have to go and add each application individually. 2) For me the quit applications feature doesn't seem to be working. Safari and Mail were both supposed to quit but neither did. 3) It would be good to have this running in the background as a menubar app rather than it still showing in the application switcher etc. I will try this further because it's an interesting concept if I can get it to work the way I want to.
Like (5)
Version 1.1.4
Dameian
11 January 2010
I've just spent the day using Concentrate in conjunction with Isolator as a couple of people here suggested. My verdict is that this is, indeed, a useful and effective combo to help you stay focused. Concentrate helps eliminate distractions and keep you motivated while Isolator keeps your attention where it needs to be at any given moment. The Concentrate UI is simple, easy to work with, and over all pretty well done. As others mentioned, the ability to log/track time spent on any given activity would be extremely useful. One thing that I would add to that request would be a pause feature. As Concentrate is currently structured, you only have the ability to either press "Done" and completely exit the session or walk away from a ticking clock if you ever need to use the restroom, have lunch, take a 10 minute stretch break, etc. Other than those two items, well done and worth checking out if your mind tends to wander while you work.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.3
2 answer(s)
No-One
No-One
15 January 2010
I agree with you on the pause feature. That would be extremely useful for me.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.3
Fishscale
Fishscale
28 January 2010
Email the developer as not every developer reads macupdate. Over there at conceited software they are very responsive and are VERY open to user requests. I think if you brought your feature suggestion to them directly they would implement it, or start working on how to implement it. Good idea of pause by the way... never really thought of it. Good post too, I wish all MU members would be as thorough as you before posting a review.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.4
No-One
17 December 2009
This is a very good app. It allows me to get stuff done, and I really like the timer feature. Here are a few thing I wish this app included. 1. An option to hide the dock 2. The ability to disable certain apps, so you cannot open them until done. 3. I also agree with one comment about all options being already checked, and you chose which one to deselect.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.2
2 answer(s)
Cottser
Cottser
25 January 2010
You can actually do #2, by adding it the list in the Quit Applications action, and checking off "Block applications while concentrating". Works really well.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.4
Cottser
Cottser
25 January 2010
#1: https://concentrate.tenderapp.com/discussions/questions/1-showhide-dock
Like
Version 1.1.4
info-857
15 October 2009
Nice app in conjunction with Isolator as someone has already said. What IMHO this app is still lacking are some of these features: * Log the time spent concentrating, so you could know exactly how much time you have spent on a particular project; since Concentrate have already a built-in timer, I think that it would quite easy to write this time on a text file / CSV file / XML file. It would be a useful feature for any worker that makes invoices and bill in hours of work. * The ability to import and export all the preferences and the blacklists * (If possible) the ability to show a customized message when I try to visit a blocked website, something like: "Concentrate is actually blocking this website"
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
21 December 2009
I agree that logging of time spent "concentrating" would be nice!
Like
Version 1.1.2
Jackv
14 October 2009
I think concentrate lives up to its full power when combined with Isolator (IMHO better than things), and SelfControl or Freedom for blocking websites. Freedom blocks everything, SelfControl allows you to edit a blacklist which can be easily expanded. I don´t think that it is a bad thing that it takes some time to setup: People that need that kind of app (like me) really don´t think about their workflows. this app pushes you to think what you really need for a given task. If you don´t take the time to do that, you can save the money as you won´t be satisfied with the app. But that´s not the apps fault. EDIT: I forgot to rate my review earlier.
Like (3)
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Jackv
Jackv
14 October 2009
Errata: I meant think (instead of things), of course
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Still-sparkling
02 September 2009
Concentrate has a clean and simple UI, but there are a few problems that keep it from reaching its true potential. -Setting up blocked apps and websites can be a chore because you can only pick one app/site at a time. When choosing websites to block, you must manually enter the names of each site from memory(!), one at a time, rather than multi-selecting a group from your bookmarks. A program such as this really should have a streamlined selection process; as of this version, Concentrate does not. -The same annoyance is true of blocking unwanted apps: you must add them one at a time from a dropdown list and every time you finish one, the window closes and you must start over again. The window is also annoyingly small (so you have to scroll to see all of your installed apps); you can resize it, but it doesn't remember the larger size, so why bother? A better solution would be to have an open window showing all installed apps and letting the user put a check mark by the apps s/he would like to have open. - A default group containing frequently used apps like TextEdit, Dictionary, and the user's default music playing app would be nice to have setup immediately after install. You can make such a group yourself, name it "Default" or whatever, and duplicate it repeatedly from within the app, but it's a tedious process due to the abovementioned annoyances. -There should be an option to block all websites completely instead of just individually. Such an option would come in handy when you want to work with files on the network, but also want to prevent the distractions of browsing online. -If you run Little Snitch, there will be interruptions every time Concentrate asks permission to access the network. This is especially irritating if you have apps that insist on phoning home to check for updates every time you open them, like the satanic Adobe updater. -The desktop is not blocked out; Writeroom and Think perform this function automatically. -When the timer finishes, an eye-searing white screen drops down to inform you that you are done. There is no way to change the color of this white background window, so the interruption is abrupt and unpleasant. -GUI is too small for users running high resolutions on large monitors. Non-adjustable font sizes. -Too expensive, especially when apps like Think and J-Dark are free. Despite all, I think Concentrate has real potential, especially if it fixes the problems I mentioned above. One area where it could be useful is as a program that forces you to take breaks (by locking down the entire computer for a few minutes), or as an app that keeps you on task when you need to do a single activity, like exercise. Concentrate could play your pre-loaded dvd and prevent you from doing anything else until your 30 minutes of working out is complete. For multi-task activities though, I prefer Think; it's more elegant and seems to flow more smoothly than Concentrate when switching between apps. However, I do really like the timer implementation in Concentrate, so I'll be keeping an eye on it to see how it develops (and if the price drops).
Like (4)
Version 1.0.2
2 answer(s)
David-Kallman
David-Kallman
14 October 2009
(This is not a review, but I don't know another way to ask the question.) That's a good review! Where are j-dark and think applications? I searched and was unable to find them.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Still-sparkling
Still-sparkling
14 December 2009
Hi, David. You can find Think and JDarkroom here on MacUpdate (although J-Dark is more of a doc writing app like WriteRoom): http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/23972/think http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/27802/jdarkroom There are also others apps in this category like Isolator, Self Control, Freedom, and Spirited Away: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/24052/isolator http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/31289/selfcontrol http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/27958/freedom http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/15844/spirited-away
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2