Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to BusyCal page
BusyCal free download for Mac

BusyCal Reviews

19 July 2021

Powerful calendar app with multiple syncing options.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
Jul 15 2021
2021.3.0
5.0
Jul 15 2021
5.0
Version: 2021.3.0
By far the best, most sophisticated and comprehensive and now with version 2021.3.0: beautifully designed calendar manager on the Mac. Worth every penny. At least for me. Period.
Pepper131
Pepper131
Jul 8 2021
2021.3.0
0.0
Jul 8 2021
0.0
Version: 2021.3.0
I used a cal by Calendar Man for years, but they stopped with OS 11. I had things that repeated on it for decades. I cal is ok but not fun to use.
gabriellacilmi333
gabriellacilmi333
Jun 11 2021
3.12.6.1
4.0
Jun 11 2021
4.0
Version: 3.12.6.1
Firstly! The price is expensive. There would be something to pay for. There are a lot of bugs, but they are never fixed. Only minor bugs are fixed. There are many problems with usability too. It seems that the developer deliberately creates errors and does not fix them, in order for us to use the program it would be inconvenient and we would have to wait for new updates in the hope that these bugs will be finally fixed. As if the developer is playing a tricky game with his users. Secondary! Using the program is inconvenient due to the presence of mocking bugs and shortcomings. So, by the way, most applications on the Apple platform. Some settings are impossible to change, and the default developer settings are terrible. As luck would have it! Thirdly! The default settings are not ideal. It takes a lot of time to work on the calendar settings. For the record, this is a drawback of all applications for Apple. In Windows 7, for example, just click next, next, next in the dialog box, and You be sure that everything will work perfectly. Because Windows applications are fine-tuned, and Apple applications are raw and of poor quality, like an eaten spoiled apple. Fourthly! The Support does not work at all. I have repeatedly written to the support about my ideas for optimizing the calendar, but not a single piece of advice was taken into account. The developer doesn't care about the consumer.
chrisjimmy196
chrisjimmy196
May 17 2021
3.12.6.1
4.0
May 17 2021
4.0
Version: 3.12.6.1
I have a lot of tasks every day. Perfect, that I have this reminder. Loooooove!
marrygarry001
marrygarry001
May 12 2021
3.12.6.1
5.0
May 12 2021
5.0
Version: 3.12.6.1
Like it)
Nazaire
Nazaire
Apr 8 2021
3.12.5
1.0
Apr 8 2021
1.0
Version: 3.12.5
I have limited use for extra functionalities but I like the looks better than the built-in Calendar.app. However the subscription model that forces payment for bug fixes is not acceptable, thus the low rating.
SiteCR2
SiteCR2
Apr 6 2021
3.12.5
2.0
Apr 6 2021
2.0
Version: 3.12.5
many long years later of being a busycal and busycontact person, the subscription model it is too much for what little I need in updates or capability. Heck unfortunately for what little I need now in my job, Outlook or gmail works just as fine. CYA
_brandon_
_brandon_
Mar 1 2021
3.12.3
0.0
Mar 1 2021
0.0
Version: 3.12.3
In MOST ways BusyCal is awesome, the best calendar I could find (at the time I compared them all). But it has one INFURIATING flaw: it constantly harasses you to update it, and there's no way to turn it off. It's working fine, and I don't need to upgrade it now. I'd rather wait a year or so until there's some really compelling improvement. Even though I've set the update check period to a month (there's no way to turn it off) it nags me far more often. This is REALLY HORRIBLE UX, and an unforgivable strategy to persuade users to upgrade.
Halfhitch
Halfhitch
Feb 2 2021
3.12.3
4.0
Feb 2 2021
4.0
Version: 3.12.3
I really like the app. Just be careful with the purchase, after about 2 years they started nagging me I no longer will receive updates unless I pay again but a reduced price. I can keep using my exisiting version. This nagging lasted about 2 weeks.
Funjoy
Funjoy
Feb 2 2021
3.12.3
5.0
Feb 2 2021
5.0
Version: 3.12.3
BusyCal is one of those apps I considered for a couple of years before finally trying. There aren't a lot of Mac calendar-only apps out there. I ended up really, really liking it, and it's my main Mac calendar. Extremely powerful, syncs up my Apple Calendar and Google Calendars. Regularly updated too. If Apple Calendar is too basic for you and you don't want to pay $60/yr for Fantastical this app is what you want. It's about 90% as functional and pretty as Fantastical, but much, much cheaper with one-time purchase.
o1o
o1o
Feb 1 2021
3.12.2
1.0
Feb 1 2021
1.0
Version: 3.12.2
forcing the update, locking the data and then FAILING TO RESPOND TO MULTIPLE requests for support is irresponsible and basically extortion. ALL without any clear communicaiton. I was willing to pay the update but since you caused considerable damage, on principle I will not renew and try to make it as public as I can how disrepectful you are of your customers.
taebde
taebde
Jan 6 2021
3.12.2
1.0
Jan 6 2021
1.0
Version: 3.12.2
I really enjoyed the time with Busycal for years... Changing the license model without any upfront notice... I mean all of us bought a license years a go and now we have a 18 month subscription plan? WHAT A MESS
Rnetter
Rnetter
Jan 6 2021
3.12.2
1.0
Jan 6 2021
1.0
Version: 3.12.2
Use to like BusyContact and BusyCal but didn't realize that they want $30 for EACH of their program every 18 Month which I am not prepared to pay. Looking for alternatives now. Also, I assume they'll go out of business soon which is another reason to start looking for something new but they were good while it lasted :(
Jp7
Jp7
Jan 6 2021
3.12.2
1.0
Jan 6 2021
1.0
Version: 3.12.2
This suddenly re-defined license expiration is but greed. I'm done. I bought the Mac and iOS versions of BusyCal as well as the BusyContacts. Back to basic Apple and good riddance.
TomasA
TomasA
Jan 5 2021
3.12.2
1.0
Jan 5 2021
1.0
Version: 3.12.2
The company now wants users to pay 29;99 USD for an upgrade from 13.2.1 to 13.2.2. Which is a bug fix. Sad to say, but since Beehive Innovations bought BusyCal and BusyContacts ythey have fallen behind their competition. And charge almost 30 USD for a bugfix. My guess is that this app will be dead within a year, so I don't dare to pay even if I thought it was a fair price, Bye bye BusyCal and BusyContacts.
Mikenesmith
Mikenesmith
Jan 5 2021
3.12.2
1.0
Jan 5 2021
1.0
Version: 3.12.2
App works fine but deceptive and hidden "subsubscription" practice for updates is unacceptable. Charges 50% of price for minor version updates without any information on this practice when purchasing. Fantastical is a better and less expensive if you're looking for a subscription-based service. Heck, even Outlook is working acceptably now, if you already have to run MS products.
Zarquon
Zarquon
Oct 28 2020
3.10.4
4.0
Oct 28 2020
4.0
Version: 3.10.4
A worthy successor to Now Up-to-Date. I’ve used this software in one form or another for many years, almost every day. It’s not perfect—it has some rough edges—but it does what it needs to do.
thomascantor
thomascantor
Oct 15 2020
3.10.4
5.0
Oct 15 2020
5.0
Version: 3.10.4
A solid app, with a very responsive developer. It can sync with MacOS and iOS calendars and reminders, and I've gotten a lot of use out of it for seven+ years.
stephenjzeoli
stephenjzeoli
Sep 23 2020
3.10.4
4.0
Sep 23 2020
4.0
Version: 3.10.4
BusyCal is a solid calendar application with some additional, well-thought-out and useful features. The first of these is the ability to keep the info panel open all the time, so details are always in view. The second is that you can attach different kinds of data to a day in the calendar. Some of these are the usuals (events, tasks, reminders), but some are unusual, like longer journal entries, sticky notes, descriptive banners and timed todos. With a free trial, BusyCal is worth a look... although Apple does make it a little annoying to connect BusyCal to iCloud.
bdikkat
bdikkat
Aug 27 2020
3.10.3
5.0
Aug 27 2020
5.0
Version: 3.10.3
The best. The one I always come back to.
daniellapetta
daniellapetta
May 11 2020
3.9.0
2.0
May 11 2020
2.0
Version: 3.9.0
Price / quality mismatch. Poorly thought out, despite the fact that the price rolls over!
gabriellacilmi333
gabriellacilmi333
May 11 2020
3.9.0
4.0
May 11 2020
4.0
Version: 3.9.0
Limited functionality. Frequent updates that essentially do not fundamentally change anything. I do not like this application ...
claus-in-iceland
claus-in-iceland
Feb 12 2020
3.8.41
5.0
Feb 12 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.41
Very good calendar. Use it for years! Very good support, regular updates. And no subscription (and as the developer said, also not in the future)!!!
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
Jan 29 2020
3.8.2
5.0
Jan 29 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.2
I love BusyCal since years and really couldn't work without it any more. Together with BusyContacts it's a true killer combo in my daily work with the Mac – and especially working with many external teams. Worth every penny…
Frankhh
Frankhh
Jan 26 2020
3.8.2
5.0
Jan 26 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.2
Since the return of reminders last week my preferred calendar app across iOS devices and Mac. Clear and structured days / weeks / months views. Sometimes the natural voice feature delivers funny results but that is no better or worse than Siri's retarded artificial brain. I particularly like the option to consolidate my personal and business calendars in one app. If you developers are working on design progress: I often work with card based user interfaces where you can organize your tasks and meetings kanban style (or like sticky notes) - that would be a cool alternative for a day-view. Keep going!
aleksjunttila
aleksjunttila
Oct 22 2019
3.7.2
3.0
Oct 22 2019
3.0
Version: 3.7.2
The calendar is not completed, it is impossible to use it, because it is gray and blind to the eyes, so I give a true rating of three stars. I will explain: When I look at the week section, I can never understand at what point in time the event is. In the event at the beginning of the line, the time is simply not indicated. And also, in the left edge of the window in the time column, the numbers are so small and gray that with my eyesight (I have a slight cataract) I can not see anything at all. In the application settings, too, you cannot change the font, for example, make it larger and completely black. In the application settings, some important fonts cannot be changed! But original fonts small and gray. Very Badly! So this application is not useful because the font in the program is very gray and very small. I do not recommend you this program. The program costs 50 € and for the money it should be convenient, but it is not. Thank you for reading to the end. PS: I will also notice that all applications for Apple have the same problems with eyes, so people Refuse Apple.
Tedg
Tedg
Aug 7 2019
3.6.7
5.0
Aug 7 2019
5.0
Version: 3.6.7
Have been using this for a very long time, and its incarnation before with Now Software. Users will have different preferences but for me this is solid and merges my Apple (personal) and Microsoft (work) calendars effectively. A good company.
Rumplestiltskin
Rumplestiltskin
Jun 4 2019
3.6.3
5.0
Jun 4 2019
5.0
Version: 3.6.3
Absolutely stellar. When Apple's Calendar didn't send alarm notifications to my Google Calendar (making me miss appointments!), I switched to Busy Cal and that rectified things. That was a few years ago. I've been completely happy with this app and the few times I've had a tech support issue, I get an answer promptly.
Bjornr
Bjornr
May 28 2019
3.6.2
5.0
May 28 2019
5.0
Version: 3.6.2
very smart app
ahmedhatata-ah
ahmedhatata-ah
Mar 20 2019
3.6.1
5.0
Mar 20 2019
5.0
Version: 3.6.1
The most convenient , powerful and reliable calendar application ever , the ability to create events and see your dates in day, weeks and month and most convenient way is the list view . The app integrates with to do lists and you can you use it from dock or menu bar . Adding icons and travel time is very nice touch from the developers seriously to the app and the most important part that you will not lose any notifications even if the app is not running . Great application that deserves a 5 star review
AlainC6412
AlainC6412
Jan 22 2019
3.5.7
5.0
Jan 22 2019
5.0
Version: 3.5.7
The ability to show 8 days large, easier to carry from one week to the other, same day
AlainC6412
AlainC6412
Dec 10 2018
3.5.2
5.0
Dec 10 2018
5.0
Version: 3.5.2
I save time because we can show 8 days large then carry an item to next week fast with the mouse
Noah R
Noah R
Oct 31 2018
3.5.2
5.0
Oct 31 2018
5.0
Version: 3.5.2
BusyCal has been my default calendar for years. It is very powerful, easy to use, and makes my busy life manageable. Sharing is simple and foolproof. The new dark mode implementation is awesome.
Brun0
Brun0
Sep 26 2018
3.4.3
0.0
Sep 26 2018
0.0
Version: 3.4.3
No Dark Mode to work with Mojave ?
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Jul 31 2018
3.3.12
0.0
Jul 31 2018
0.0
Version: 3.3.12
The current version is 3.3.13
Gilbrh03
Gilbrh03
Jun 11 2018
3.3.8
2.0
Jun 11 2018
2.0
Version: 3.3.8
The software isn't worth the money compared with Apple's original software. the only interest is the integration of "Rappel" (Reminder?) in the calendar window.
Biox
Biox
Apr 14 2018
3.3.0
2.5
Apr 14 2018
2.5
Version: 3.3.0
Nice app but star rating is cut in half for its reporting to DoubleClick (Google tracking). If I pay this much for an app, I should expect absolute privacy, not whoring of my data to Google or anyone else.
Winco
Winco
Jan 22 2018
3.2.8
4.5
Jan 22 2018
4.5
Version: 3.2.8
BusyCal 3.2.8 just keeps getting better. Devs continually improving the app. Works well with BusyContacts app. 4.5 stars then. Half a star deducted because their graphic execution of the menu bar calendar is very cluttered and not as clean looking at Fantastical's version. If they worked on this element, it would get 5 stars from me.
parsyan-adelaida
parsyan-adelaida
Jul 3 2017
3.1.8
5.0
Jul 3 2017
5.0
Version: 3.1.8
AHHH THANK YOU !!! You rock !!
eraddio
eraddio
Apr 25 2017
3.1.6
5.0
Apr 25 2017
5.0
Version: 3.1.6
Like it very much! Nice option of adding pics instead of words. My favorite feature is syncing between mac and iphone, this is very useful. I don't understand why there is so much negative reviews here, I experienced only positive feelings using BusyCal...
bobembry
bobembry
Apr 5 2017
3.1.6
5.0
Apr 5 2017
5.0
Version: 3.1.6
BusyCal's Filters, Tags, Multiple Calendars, and Weeks in Month View are great. It has all of the features I need. Never had any problems.
Rob Davis
Rob Davis
Mar 17 2017
3.1.5
0.5
Mar 17 2017
0.5
Version: 3.1.5
I want to warn potential customers that BusyCal is a scam! I purchased BusyCal2 about two years ago and now it will no longer work because instead of updating they made version 2 obsolete (will no longer sync with Google) forcing customers to buy version 3. They offer a reduced price but it is not an option or a free update as it should be. I wrote to customer relations to request a refund or solution and was told by someone called Kirk ”there was never a guarantee that BusyCal 2 would work in perpetuity." They even offered as a solution that I use Apple Calendar! BusyMac is a fly-by-night scam business. There are plenty of other apps available. I used Outlook for years and that old version 17 years old still works. BusyMac is burning their own customers to scam new people. They claim it’s Google’s fault because of a change in the sync but who is going to fall for this when their version 3 does work. Basically BusyMac has turned off sync on the old version to force previous customers to buy again. Just glad I never fell for their BusyContacts! For those who say BusyMac needs to do this to keep developing software you are just repeating what the company tells you. A good business develops with long term satisfied customers who can keep enjoying a product they bought and expect it to keep working as it did when purchased while on the strength of that, gaining new customers with improved versions of the product. When old customers wish to update - not because they are forced to but because they choose to - a reduced price is the way to show respect. If a product is good more and more people will buy making the company successful. BusyMac’s BusyCal is a scam because it is not a good product. It is really doing nothing more than the free Calendar Apple provides. In fact, now that I have gone back to the Apple Calendar, I actually think it works better than BusyCal. It is more responsive, faster, better looking and has options that BusyCal does not have. Plus it integrates with Mac better obviously.
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
Jan 20 2017
3.1.4
2.0
Jan 20 2017
2.0
Version: 3.1.4
BusyCal 3 (latest version: 3.1.4) has a much too wide minimum width for the To Do column which forces the width for the days in month view to be very narrow which then forces many entries to use more than one line.

I would be willing to pay for an upgrade from BusyCal 2 if that would get fixed but the developer has no interest to do this (I asked him to do this immediately after BusyCal 3.0.0 came out). He apparently thinks to know better than his users how wide the To Do column should be.

I therefore don't pay for an upgrade and stay with BusyCal 2.6.9 where the To Do column can be narrower (and the days wider). BusyCal 2.6.9 works very well in macOS 10.12 Sierra.

The 2 stars are for version 3 only; version 2 still deserves 5 stars.
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
Nov 10 2016
3.1.2
5.0
Nov 10 2016
5.0
Version: 3.1.2
Still my favourite on macOS. Best support too. (yet on iOS I prefer Fantastical)
Pugwash
Pugwash
Oct 12 2016
3.0.6
2.0
Oct 12 2016
2.0
Version: 3.0.6
I 've been using this for a few months now and to be honest, for the money paid, think it's ok but that's all. Notifications is buggy, I've set it to show notifications using Busy Cal notifications only but still get both Busy Cal and Apple notifications. Menu bar Quick Entry functionality is mediocre at best, and on that point, I don't see the point of having menu bar Quick Entry which then opens the main window whether you like it or not anyway. I thought the idea of quick entry was just that, to enter from the menu bar uninterrupted, without having to open the app. Like I said for price charged it's ok,... just.
Max-G
Max-G
Sep 27 2016
3.0.6
4.5
Sep 27 2016
4.5
Version: 3.0.6
Is Busycal 2.6.9 compatible with Sierra?
Could not find a comment on that on http://roaringapps.com
Cletus
Cletus
Jul 30 2016
3.0.5
0.0
Jul 30 2016
0.0
Version: 3.0.5
I purchased the last version of this software. It is good, but the upgrade fees are just way out of alignment for what you get.
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
Jul 29 2016
3.0.5
1.0
Jul 29 2016
1.0
Version: 3.0.5
Increasing the chutzpah quotient of the developer's asking such a huge price for a fairly modest upgrade is the fact that BusyCal 3 has had five bugfix upgrades within the month or so it has been on the market. This strongly suggests that it was pushed out the door in a very half-baked condition, maybe because the developer was a little too eager to get his hands on our money, and the developer is striving like mad to fix software which should never have been released until all these bugs had been discovered in beta testing and firmly squashed. So the user base was being asked to fork over a large sum of money to purchase what was in essence a defective product. All in all, the developer has seriously dropped the ball. We in the BusyCal user base are owed an abject apology for this mistreatment.
evansgo
evansgo
Jul 9 2016
3.0.3
1.0
Jul 9 2016
1.0
Version: 3.0.3
Very average! As others have said I struggle to see the value in the latest upgrade. I bought it simply because I like to keep up to date and thought that it looked nice enough, I now regret that decision. Apart from very limited but expensive changes, I've now found out that their natural language is not a patch on Fantastical's! Just try entering "Sue visiting from the 23th July to the 28th July and you get an entry on the 23rd July and that is it, whereas Fantastical does it perfectly. Feeling a little ripped off by the Busy people.....
Planetary-Paul
Planetary-Paul
Jul 5 2016
3.0.3
3.0
Jul 5 2016
3.0
Version: 3.0.3
My main view is the week view with 24 hours in a day. The new interface look for me simply means less contrast between calendar items; a definite downgrade. It reduces clarity and consequentially productiveness. The rounded corners and border lines helped immensely in separating individual items. When iCal removed them I dropped it within a heart beat.

The new iOS app is weird, because it only allows for the present day to start the week view, so I never have a standard overview of the week without extra manipulation. So I quickly moved back to Week Cal which has superb contrast and a dark mode, no contest there.

So I very much like the Mac app for its functionality, but with v3 its interface clarity has taken a nose dive. I hope this will be fixed, which it easily can be.