Back to BusyCal page
BusyCal free download for Mac

BusyCal Reviews

3.7.1
17 September 2019

Powerful calendar app with multiple syncing options.

NoSuchUser
03 February 2013

Most helpful

Been using BusyCal 1.6 for a while now, and have recently been deciding whether to upgrade to the App Store version 2. BusyCal 1.6 has been great, offering a feature set that was sufficiently advanced above iCal to be worthwhile. However, the $50 price tag was too hard to swallow on it's own. As part of a bundle with Parallels for $50 total the price was right and it's been an exceptional value. I use the calendar for basic work/personal calendar functionality with Google Calendars. With the shift to the App Store, and the "introductory" $30 "upgrade fee" I've had to seriously re-examine whether version 2 of this software is actually worth the price. My conclusion? No. While pretty, it offers few useful features above Calendar.app in 10.8. My short list of advantages? The info pane shows the full location for meetings. Calendar.app cuts them off. Point to BusyCal. BusyCal has ToDo list functionality; Apple has moved the relatively worthless to-do list in iCal to Reminders and managed to make it even more worthless. 1/2 point to BusyCal, because it doesn't actually sync with reminders nor does it create a todo list that anything else can read. At least it's exportable. Calendar.app in 10.8 has excellent Google Calendar support (much better than iCal ever was), but not quite as good as BusyCal. Calendar.app has some issues keeping track of moved meetings where a restart of the app is required to re-sync. Point to BusyCal. BusyCal has status icons on meetings identifying meetings with attendees and recurring meetings. Calendar does not. Point to BusyCal. BusyCal has weather, and sunrise/sunset display. That's nice from a productivity standpoint. 1/2 point to BusyCal since I can live without this. BusyCal has an integrated info pane. Much nicer from a functionality standpoint. Point to BusyCal. If those features are good for you, and you do not currently own BusyCal, then $30 *might* be a good value. However, there is no real advantage I can see for BusyCal 2 over BusyCal 1.6 other than continued support and future bug fixes. BusyCal 2 drops features in favor of some improved eye-candy. All told, it's *maybe* worth $10 to upgrade from 1.6. $30? No way. $50? You're out of your mind. If there were a cheap upgrade path from 1.6 that reflects the actual improvement in the software I'd not give this a 2nd thought. As it stands, I'm simply looking for an alternative. Calendar.app is literally two small features away from replacing this product entirely. Asking me to re-purchase the app at an exorbitant price for what is essentially an AppStore-ified re-hash of what I already own (under the guise of "Mountain Lion support") is simply out of the question.
Like (29)
Version 2.0.2

Read 196 BusyCal User Reviews

Rate this app:

Tedg
07 August 2019
Have been using this for a very long time, and its incarnation before with Now Software. Users will have different preferences but for me this is solid and merges my Apple (personal) and Microsoft (work) calendars effectively. A good company.
Like
Version 3.6.7
Rumplestiltskin
04 June 2019
Absolutely stellar. When Apple's Calendar didn't send alarm notifications to my Google Calendar (making me miss appointments!), I switched to Busy Cal and that rectified things. That was a few years ago. I've been completely happy with this app and the few times I've had a tech support issue, I get an answer promptly.
Like
Version 3.6.3
Bjornr
28 May 2019
very smart app
Like
Version 3.6.2
ahmedhatata-ah
20 March 2019
The most convenient , powerful and reliable calendar application ever , the ability to create events and see your dates in day, weeks and month and most convenient way is the list view . The app integrates with to do lists and you can you use it from dock or menu bar . Adding icons and travel time is very nice touch from the developers seriously to the app and the most important part that you will not lose any notifications even if the app is not running . Great application that deserves a 5 star review
Like (1)
Version 3.6.1
AlainC6412
22 January 2019
The ability to show 8 days large, easier to carry from one week to the other, same day
Like (1)
Version 3.5.7
AlainC6412
10 December 2018
I save time because we can show 8 days large then carry an item to next week fast with the mouse
Like
Version 3.5.2
Noah R
31 October 2018
BusyCal has been my default calendar for years. It is very powerful, easy to use, and makes my busy life manageable. Sharing is simple and foolproof. The new dark mode implementation is awesome.
Like (2)
Version 3.5.2
Brun0
26 September 2018
No Dark Mode to work with Mojave ?
Like
Version 3.4.3
RogerKatz
31 July 2018
The current version is 3.3.13
Like
Version 3.3.12
Gilbrh03
11 June 2018
The software isn't worth the money compared with Apple's original software. the only interest is the integration of "Rappel" (Reminder?) in the calendar window.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.8
Biox
14 April 2018
Nice app but star rating is cut in half for its reporting to DoubleClick (Google tracking). If I pay this much for an app, I should expect absolute privacy, not whoring of my data to Google or anyone else.
Like (9)
Version 3.3.0
4 answer(s)
JonThaler
JonThaler
22 August 2018
What's the source of your information? I was unable to find anything about this on the web.
Like
Biox
Biox
22 August 2018
Little Snitch reported the attempted access.
Like (3)
burmayank
burmayank
17 November 2018
Thanks for that tip about Google pimping us users via this app. What a big disappointment!

(Google/YouTube/Chrome/Android users: Google is your pimp, NOT your friend; you are only Google's property/product who Google is marketing to Google's real customers {advertisers, insurance companies, employment departments, local & US law enforcement & intelligence agencies, & anyone else who wants to buy your Google-profile}. Your pimp CANNOT BE your FRIEND).
Like
Mykl.biz
Mykl.biz
11 March 2019
Were you using a Google Calendar account in BusyCal, at the time?
Like (2)
Winco
22 January 2018
BusyCal 3.2.8 just keeps getting better. Devs continually improving the app. Works well with BusyContacts app. 4.5 stars then. Half a star deducted because their graphic execution of the menu bar calendar is very cluttered and not as clean looking at Fantastical's version. If they worked on this element, it would get 5 stars from me.
Like
Version 3.2.8
parsyan-adelaida
03 July 2017
AHHH THANK YOU !!! You rock !!
Like (1)
Version 3.1.8
eraddio
25 April 2017
Like it very much! Nice option of adding pics instead of words. My favorite feature is syncing between mac and iphone, this is very useful. I don't understand why there is so much negative reviews here, I experienced only positive feelings using BusyCal...
Like (1)
Version 3.1.6
bobembry
05 April 2017
BusyCal's Filters, Tags, Multiple Calendars, and Weeks in Month View are great. It has all of the features I need. Never had any problems.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.6
Rob Davis
17 March 2017
I want to warn potential customers that BusyCal is a scam! I purchased BusyCal2 about two years ago and now it will no longer work because instead of updating they made version 2 obsolete (will no longer sync with Google) forcing customers to buy version 3. They offer a reduced price but it is not an option or a free update as it should be. I wrote to customer relations to request a refund or solution and was told by someone called Kirk ”there was never a guarantee that BusyCal 2 would work in perpetuity." They even offered as a solution that I use Apple Calendar! BusyMac is a fly-by-night scam business. There are plenty of other apps available. I used Outlook for years and that old version 17 years old still works. BusyMac is burning their own customers to scam new people. They claim it’s Google’s fault because of a change in the sync but who is going to fall for this when their version 3 does work. Basically BusyMac has turned off sync on the old version to force previous customers to buy again. Just glad I never fell for their BusyContacts! For those who say BusyMac needs to do this to keep developing software you are just repeating what the company tells you. A good business develops with long term satisfied customers who can keep enjoying a product they bought and expect it to keep working as it did when purchased while on the strength of that, gaining new customers with improved versions of the product. When old customers wish to update - not because they are forced to but because they choose to - a reduced price is the way to show respect. If a product is good more and more people will buy making the company successful. BusyMac’s BusyCal is a scam because it is not a good product. It is really doing nothing more than the free Calendar Apple provides. In fact, now that I have gone back to the Apple Calendar, I actually think it works better than BusyCal. It is more responsive, faster, better looking and has options that BusyCal does not have. Plus it integrates with Mac better obviously.
Like (5)
Version 3.1.5
2 answer(s)
bobembry
bobembry
29 October 2017
I disagree

BusyCal is ★★★★★ for its filtering views for people with hundreds of events to manage, Apple's Calendar app can't do this And the calendar app lacks tags.
Like
Lurker1
Lurker1
02 April 2018
BusyCal isn't to blame for Google breaking Google's iCal calendar, that's on Google. They've made numerous incompatible "enhancements" to their iCal servers (no longer iCal, because true iCal clients (or even modified clients like BusyCal) can no longer utilize their calendar servers.

You cannot expect BusyCal to continue to update their legacy client forever. You've had 2 years before Google screwed you. As for Outlook, there's no way a 17 year old Outlook calendar client still works with Google, at least not 100%.
Like (2)
neartheredrocks
20 January 2017
BusyCal 3 (latest version: 3.1.4) has a much too wide minimum width for the To Do column which forces the width for the days in month view to be very narrow which then forces many entries to use more than one line.

I would be willing to pay for an upgrade from BusyCal 2 if that would get fixed but the developer has no interest to do this (I asked him to do this immediately after BusyCal 3.0.0 came out). He apparently thinks to know better than his users how wide the To Do column should be.

I therefore don't pay for an upgrade and stay with BusyCal 2.6.9 where the To Do column can be narrower (and the days wider). BusyCal 2.6.9 works very well in macOS 10.12 Sierra.

The 2 stars are for version 3 only; version 2 still deserves 5 stars.
Like (5)
Version 3.1.4
2 answer(s)
bobembry
bobembry
29 October 2017
The column width is adjustable.

But keeping To Dos in Reminders until you really want to work on them will prevent a lot of rescheduling
Like
JonThaler
JonThaler
22 August 2018
@bobembry: The column width is adjustable, but cannot be made narrow enough. I have the same complaint as @neartheredrocks, but wouldn't deduct 3 stars for that relatively minor issue.
Like (1)
Mhoutman
10 November 2016
Still my favourite on macOS. Best support too. (yet on iOS I prefer Fantastical)
Like
Version 3.1.2
Pugwash
12 October 2016
I 've been using this for a few months now and to be honest, for the money paid, think it's ok but that's all. Notifications is buggy, I've set it to show notifications using Busy Cal notifications only but still get both Busy Cal and Apple notifications. Menu bar Quick Entry functionality is mediocre at best, and on that point, I don't see the point of having menu bar Quick Entry which then opens the main window whether you like it or not anyway. I thought the idea of quick entry was just that, to enter from the menu bar uninterrupted, without having to open the app. Like I said for price charged it's ok,... just.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.6
Max-G
27 September 2016
Is Busycal 2.6.9 compatible with Sierra?
Could not find a comment on that on http://roaringapps.com
Like
Version 3.0.6
2 answer(s)
Max-G
Max-G
30 September 2016
Reply from BusyMac support:

"We are not testing BusyCal 2.6.9 on macOS Sierra, so if there are bugs, we won't be able to fix them. We would recommend that you look at upgrading to BusyCal 3, which is being tested and supported on Sierra"
Like
LS7160
LS7160
19 October 2016
I have v2 a long time already, works perfectly well in Sierra too (sofar).
Like
Cletus
30 July 2016
I purchased the last version of this software. It is good, but the upgrade fees are just way out of alignment for what you get.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.5
Dana-Sutton
29 July 2016
Increasing the chutzpah quotient of the developer's asking such a huge price for a fairly modest upgrade is the fact that BusyCal 3 has had five bugfix upgrades within the month or so it has been on the market. This strongly suggests that it was pushed out the door in a very half-baked condition, maybe because the developer was a little too eager to get his hands on our money, and the developer is striving like mad to fix software which should never have been released until all these bugs had been discovered in beta testing and firmly squashed. So the user base was being asked to fork over a large sum of money to purchase what was in essence a defective product. All in all, the developer has seriously dropped the ball. We in the BusyCal user base are owed an abject apology for this mistreatment.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.5
4 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
29 July 2016
Frequent updates after a major release are normal for any developer, not proof of a rushed release! You're offering many more insinuations than facts.
Like (1)
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
30 July 2016
Sorry, but I don't buy this. One or two bugfixes may be normal and understandable, but five within such such a short time is not.
Like (5)
Odysseus
Odysseus
30 July 2016
I wonder how much experience you have with software. In any case, I wouldn't complain about a developer's commitment to improving their product.
Like (2)
LS7160
LS7160
19 October 2016
I agree with you Dana. v3 is not adding anything.
Like (3)
evansgo
09 July 2016
Very average! As others have said I struggle to see the value in the latest upgrade. I bought it simply because I like to keep up to date and thought that it looked nice enough, I now regret that decision. Apart from very limited but expensive changes, I've now found out that their natural language is not a patch on Fantastical's! Just try entering "Sue visiting from the 23th July to the 28th July and you get an entry on the 23rd July and that is it, whereas Fantastical does it perfectly. Feeling a little ripped off by the Busy people.....
Like (6)
Version 3.0.3
1 answer(s)
OhEssex
OhEssex
10 July 2016
Yea - I too purchased this app and ended up abandoning it. Had all sorts of issues with the Exchange side of things and there with many aspects of the way things were presented that I thought were hard on the eyes.
Like (1)
Planetary-Paul
05 July 2016
My main view is the week view with 24 hours in a day. The new interface look for me simply means less contrast between calendar items; a definite downgrade. It reduces clarity and consequentially productiveness. The rounded corners and border lines helped immensely in separating individual items. When iCal removed them I dropped it within a heart beat.

The new iOS app is weird, because it only allows for the present day to start the week view, so I never have a standard overview of the week without extra manipulation. So I quickly moved back to Week Cal which has superb contrast and a dark mode, no contest there.

So I very much like the Mac app for its functionality, but with v3 its interface clarity has taken a nose dive. I hope this will be fixed, which it easily can be.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.3
fh-4
03 July 2016
Discussed update briefly with busy cal. Started the 30 day trial. Six days later I was forced to pay & register, otherwise no busy cal. Not the old version - paid with 40 $, and no new version. That is not selling an upgrade, I call it theft.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.2
Dana-Sutton
01 July 2016
I'm going to stick with v.2. V.3 doesn't seem to have anything new to offer other than a handful of cosmetic changes, for which $29 is an absurdly high upgrade price. Who do they think they're kidding?
Like (4)
Version 3.0.2
3 answer(s)
fh-4
fh-4
03 July 2016
how did you manage to get back to version 2? My version 2 vanished after trial of version 3.
Like (1)
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
11 August 2016
Just in case you did not find this in the meantime yourself. Here are the instructions how to downgrade to Busycal 2:

https://support.busymac.com/help/74938-how-to-downgrade-from-busycal-3-to-busycal-2
Like (1)
Uncoy
Uncoy
26 February 2017
Thanks for the help finding Busycal 2 (which I own and based on the others' comments would not like to upgrade), Neartheredrocks.
Like
Stassi
30 June 2016
I love BusyCal and BusyContacts, but run some older software that's kept me from upgrading to OS 10.11 (because the upgrades would cost a fortune). If this still worked on Yosemite, they'd have my upgrade money in a minute. Almost did, based on their email. Thank goodness MacUpdate shows the new OS requirement! Sticking with V2, it seems...
Like (4)
Version 3.0.2
3 answer(s)
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
04 July 2016
Hey fh_4, I retrieved it from a Time Machine backup. We could have an interesting discussion about the ethics of issuing an item of demo software that makes the current version you're running disappear.
Like (2)
Lambsporriegetta
Lambsporriegetta
05 July 2016
My sentiments exactly. This happened when V2 came out. I know devs have to move on but these guys are pushing a little too hard. I'm not going to upgrade this again for fear that this is going to happen every time. There's other options.
Like (2)
Stassi
Stassi
06 July 2016
@Lambsporriiegetta - I think I agree. I'd wanted this app for ages - love how well it integrates to iCloud, and finally got to buying it. But I can't be forced to upgrade my OS, and by the time I DO, they'll release another version that's for the newest OS, and I'm always going to be a step behind. I suppose upgrading isn't going to be in the cards for me either - except I HATE the regular Mac calendar, and haven't had the satisfaction from Fantastical and others, that I'd gotten from BusyCal. What else do YOU recommend?
Like
Benjamin Shore
25 June 2016
Although a pretty good program that I like to use, this company requires more paid upgrades than any other I use. I paid for 3 previous upgrades in a fairly short period of time. I stopped using the program a couple of years ago for that reason and then decided to buy it again. Big mistake. Now I find the same thing happening again. Never again.
Like (6)
Version 3.0.1
nnsa-2
23 June 2016
Brilliant piece of software and v3.0 is even better. I'm using this gem for years, very reliable. And now also available for iOS.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
mdinrockmd
23 June 2016
Unfortunately, I find this update pretty disappointing. As others have pointed out, I too am really struggling to see the value in a $30 upgrade - no substantial increase in functionality and the "new" menu bar app looks very poor and lacks any display options. Also, while I was glad to see an iOS version, I was again disappointed that there is no Apple Watch support.
Like (10)
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
23 June 2016
I'm not super happy with the upgrade, price or some changes. Like the location and functionality of the go next, last and today buttons. Bad placement and no way to move it. On the iOS version, no way to setup templates that I can see. Every item is manual entry.
Like (4)
TheScottMan
TheScottMan
09 March 2017
yeah, WAYYYY overpriced
Like
Winco
23 June 2016
I have been a NUTD/NC user and subsequently a BusyCal / BusyContact user from the beginning. I have just upgraded to 3.0 and I think this will be my last paid upgrade tbh. As another poster stated, AU$41 is a lot and the upgrade doesn't really 'upgrade' the usefulness to make the investment worthwhile. I wish I hadn't spent the money but I do heavily rely on BusyContact so I guess I need to maintain a companion Calendar app. By comparison, I also use Fantastical 2 for it's quick menu bar access. It's clean, uncluttered looks and ease of use. BusyMac have tried to match Fantastical 2 but it looks terrible. Very cluttered. Cramming info into a smaller pop-up. BC menu bar app simply doesn't cut it. So I'll be keeping Fantastical 2 for daily quick view and entry of appts and keep BusyCal for viewing and data entry of my more complex schedules I sometime need to enter.
Like (4)
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
nnsa-2
nnsa-2
23 June 2016
BusyCal (3) does NOT look terrible ! A very clean interface. So this is noncense.
Like (1)
Winco
Winco
23 June 2016
nnsa, thank you for your reply to my post. Perhaps I could have been clearer. I was specifically referring to the 'new feature' menu bar app component, not the full window view which essentially is a copy of Fantastical's menu bar view except it is no way as clean in the layout as Fantastical's menu bar view.

This is in part due to Fantastical taking the decision to make their pull down view larger than BusyMac have done with their version. It provides less of a cluttered view.

Also, the month calendar is cluttered with colored dots and bars that provide a so-called 'visual density map'. It would be useful if BusyMac provided a means to switch off the colored dots and bars.

Yes the main window view of BC 3 has a clean interface but then it always had a clean look. They have just tweaked it with more contemporary graphics. All good. But is it worth AU$41 for the upgrade. I don't think so. Still I paid for it and will lump it but I doubt I will upgrade again in the future.

So, some may feel my review is 'noncense' and you are welcome to your opinions. As a paid up client of this app, so am I and I posted it! :-)
Like (5)
LeMerlot
22 June 2016
My favorite Pro calendar app (technically) after years finally with a nice Pro design ! Surprised, speechless and happy – upgraded immediately… :)
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Frodo-life
22 June 2016
used to love this App and have it for the past couple of years but it's a Calendar app and now paying $AU41 for a upgrade of a Calendar app is a deal breaker for me. Far overpriced for what it is. I will stick with version 2x
Like (4)
Version 3.0
The-Axe
22 June 2016
3.0 won't launch just says "Persistent store migration failed, missing source managed object model" and dies. :-(
Like (1)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Raro
Raro
22 June 2016
Do you really think MacUpdate is the right place to post this? For me it seems to make more sense to address your problem directly to BusyMac at https://support.busymac.com/help
Like (1)
MichaelHaeusler
22 June 2016
Finally, finally, finally, a good menu bar implementation. Now I can safely trash Fantastical. As a standalone app, BusyCal was always the best. Now the whole package is to be recommended.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
22 June 2016
Why is this better than Fantastical?
Like (3)
nnsa-2
nnsa-2
23 June 2016
Fully agree !
Like
Mhoutman
22 June 2016
Well it was a but silent at BusyMac but now I know what they were working on: both BusyCal 3 for iOS and BusyCal 3 for mac. I updated to BusyCal 3 Mac without hesitating and am glad I did. FYI I have the BusyMac store version and not the MAS version which seems not available anymore. BusyCal 3 has a new look and shows with all features that this developer is caring about its customers. The unique list few is great feature which I use a lot. Also great integration with BusyContacts which is my favorite contact manager. Already 20 years ago I used Now-Up-to-Date/Contacts and these apps are a great successor.
Like (5)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Kitmos
Kitmos
23 June 2016
Loved Now-Up-to-Date/Contacts and have been looking for a replacement ever since.
Like (1)
Tekl
22 June 2016
What's new is hidden in the Blog: https://support.busymac.com/blog/71205-announcing-the-all-new-busycal-3-for-mac-and-ios
Like
Version 3.0
Rumplestiltskin
25 March 2016
Logical interface. Would like a few extra options (alarms appearing in certain views, for example). Super easy to setup with Google Calendar as the syncing engine. Apple's Calendar, by the way, will -not- send alarms along with events to Google Calendar so you never get reminders on your phone (or online)! BusyCal -does- get the syncing (with alarms) done right. Nice app.
Like
Version 2.6.9
Geoduck
24 March 2016
Totally agree with prior comment. This app is aging and less appealing on a daily basis. I've used this since it came out and the functionality is superb. But entering and editing time for appointments is awkward and in a 1994 kind of way. I've paid twice for a multi-user license upgrade and expect a better quality product. Company just seems to be gliding on the past.
Like
Version 2.6.9
1 answer(s)
Max-G
Max-G
16 June 2016
I agree. Also long-term bugs seem not to be fixed. Like changing fonts to uppercase (in title) also means change of fontsize. Standard keystrokes do not work, like cmd+b for boldface. Alarm setting is a tedious process. Rather limited prefs settings. Very few updates. 'Calendar 366 Plus' is becoming a serious contender at a fraction of the price.
Like
Rikyman
23 March 2016
The interface feels old to me. I am a user of version 1, and I think this one needs a new more appealing visual, interface today is a big part of a product.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.9
Evaluator
19 January 2016
I really like this app and have used it for years. Be advised that after upgrading my OSX to El Capitan, my Mail app and my iBank app started to load slowly (30 to 45 seconds). Both issues were traced to my using BusyCal. I have had to switch back to iCal.
Like
Version 2.6.9
2 answer(s)
OneAfter909
OneAfter909
10 February 2016
Did you see an improvement by simply quitting BusyCal, or did you have to restart and/or uninstall? Thanks!
Like
Evaluator
Evaluator
10 February 2016
UPDATE - I switched back to iCal and was not happy. BusyCal is simply a better program. I reloaded BusyCal and left iCal alone. The load delay I discussed before was gone. I think I had tried to disable iCal and may have screwed something up.

You may not be happy about the price, but I run my life by calendars and there is no I will ever go back to iCal.
Like
Mhoutman
14 January 2016
Still the best calendar app available with excellent support and regular updates. To have a more El Capitan look it could need some update to its GUI though. Highly recommended
Like
Version 2.6.9
MnogoMnogo
26 September 2015
Oh if only its natural language input were up to the standards of Fantastical 2, this would be the perfect calendar app. It is visually clear and appealing, and very customizable. (The layout of todo's in a separate pane is very nice.) Works with Exchange as well as iCloud and Google. Even has a menubar option, which is close to the equal of Fantastical 2. But the natural language input feature, though it exists, is way behind the competition. OK for basics, but anything fancy like "Second Wednesday and Friday of the month" is beyond it, but within the capabilities of Fantastical 2. Sadly, since in all other respects, this is for now the better program.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.7
mr-tylerdurden
04 August 2015
If you're a heavy calendar user, you owe it to yourself to try BusyCal, at the very least. It can move literally thousands of events from a google calendar to an icloud one instantly, on a MacBook Air at that. Of course, being able to process events in bulk easily only one of the beauties of this gem. The dedicated alerts system is awesome, you can customize the duration of snooze using keyboard only, by entering the numbers and pressing (m)inute, (h)our, (d)ay to switch. All the rest of the app is super keyboard-friendly as well. Everything is customizable, you can set your day-view to 2 days, week-view to 4 days and month view to 2 weeks if you wish, for instance. The appearance of events can also be customized to include or exlude beginning/end times, in different formats. If you don't need to work in the list view, moving events around, adding new ones, or selecting and editing several of them is a breeze, and much more intuitive than the stock app, or even Fantastical. Speaking of the latter, I thınk Fantastical is a great app in its own right, and I use both (I use Fant. exclusively for the menubar window on the Mac, and as my main calendar on iOS), but in terms of sheer power and user-friendliness, BusyCal is simply unparalleled, there is no close second. The app is extremely stable, saw it crash only twice in over 2 years of intense usage. I contacted the support only twice in that period, and in both times I received a quick and detailed reply. Personal Usage Notes: I have several personal calendars for different purposes (icloud and google) and one for work filled with thousands of freelancing events (generated by timetracking software). I also have an archive calendar, to which I move work-related events in bulk to keep the work calendar uncluttered with past events. -I am not affiliated in anyway with BusyCal LLC, nor do I work in the software industry. Merely my review as a long-time and extremely satisfied user-
Like (6)
Version 2.6.6
LeMerlot
22 April 2015
Maybe room for improvement design wise compared to e.g. Fantastical 2– but due to its (by far) leading technological perfection and an awesome support highly recommend to all professionals.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.6
Megavolt17
28 February 2015
For te ability to see To-Do items right on the calendar it's worth the price. Seeing weather on the calendar is a nice bones. Well integrated and laid out.
Like
Version 2.6.5
Rikyman
15 February 2015
Busycal is expensive, I have brought version 1 in 2014, the Windows and general aspect is not in conformity with yosemite, yes it adds funcionality but at a high price, Busy contacts is interesting, but if you have busycal 1.6.2, you are forced to buy version 2.6.4 of busycal, The developer forces you to buy the two producs. I like their products, but I do not think is worth my investiment... And If you have the app store version, there is no way to upgrade on the app store...
Like (3)
Version 2.6.4
1 answer(s)
Maxter
Maxter
27 March 2015
If you have the app store version, you can ask the dev to send you a license. You are then eligible to the upgrade.
Like (1)
Damian Weiss
13 February 2015
I can't understand the low rating of this excellent calendar app! I bought Busycal about a year ago, as I didn't like Apples iCal/Calendar anymore — there were inconsistencies, malfunctions and optical garbage over and over again. Then I discovered Busycal, and this little gem never disappointed me: It has a solid user interface, works reliably and has more functions then iCal/Calendar. Of course, 50 $ are much money for a calendar app, but on the other side it's a bargain when I consider the huge amount of time I wasted solving iCal/Calendar's problems.

Furthermore I started testing the other app of this company that will replace Apple's AddressBook/Contacts: BusyContacts. What should I say? BusyContacts costs again 50 $, but it's well worth it. Try it out yourself.

For all new buyers of BusyCal or BusyContacts: On the BusyMac store, you can get them both in a bundle for 80 $.
Like
Version 2.6.4
1 answer(s)
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
14 February 2015
And if you alrelady own BusyCal you can get BusyContracts for $29.
Like
Dana-Sutton
13 February 2015
Now that this same outfit puts out a substitute for Apple Contacts, my only criticism of them is that they don't put out a substitute for Apple Mail too. Some folks up in Cupertino ought to read the comments on this page. They'd discover that, yes, for us Mac users interface appearance does matter, that we don't particularly like the looks of some key Apple applications, and that many of us are willing to pay for the privilege of exerting some personal control over how our apps look. I want something that appeals to my own taste, rather than having to put up with something just because Jony Ives happens to like it.
Like (3)
Version 2.6.4
1 answer(s)
mr-tylerdurden
mr-tylerdurden
04 August 2015
Did someone say U2 ? : )
But seriously, I concur.
Like
piquadratpi2
13 February 2015
This is one of my most used applications at all. And it has many features I really use and miss in Apples calendar. It works in every OS X and is fast and stable. Therefore I think it is worth the money, even if it's a bit much. A big thanks to the developers!
Like
Version 2.6.4