Back to Language Switcher page
Language Switcher free download for Mac

Language Switcher Reviews

1.1.7
29 April 2011

Open applications in other languages.

Valentinissimo
31 July 2010

Most helpful

Excellent little program. Does exactly what you would expect. No surprises. Necessary for anybody who prefers to use Finder in one language (in my case French) and certain programs in another language (in my case English). An example for a program which I use only in English is Pixelmator or Photshop because I am used to all those terms in English and when the program starts in French I am lost. For your information: In Mac OS X 10.5 you could still change the language in "Information". This now longer works in 10.6.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.6

Read 17 Language Switcher User Reviews

Rate this app:

oklair1
21 September 2019
RIP Language Switcher. You worked fine for all those years, but as you are a 32-bit app, you are no longer working with macOS Catalina 10.15. But... good news! Another app named "App Language Chooser" is doing the same job. It's available for free in the Mac App Store: https://apps.apple.com/ca/app/app-language-chooser/id451732904?l=fr&mt=12
Like (1)
Version 1.1.7
2 answer(s)
porg
porg
02 November 2019
Thanks for this hint! In terms of usability "App Language Chooser" is inferior to "Language Switcher" for me, see my review of "App Language Chooser" in the App Store.
Like
Version 1.1.7
porg
porg
02 November 2019
My App Store review is entitled: Replacement for 32-bit "Language Switcher" but usability could be improved
Like
Version 1.1.7
mac-hannes
24 November 2017
Still works like a charm in 10.12.6. Nothing to complain at all.
Like
Version 1.1.7
Ivan-Jiang
14 October 2015
Yea, it works fine on El Capitan (10.11)
Like
Version 1.1.7
Håkan-Björk
21 September 2015
Does what it says. And does it good!
Like (1)
Version 1.1.7
Valentinissimo
31 July 2010
Excellent little program. Does exactly what you would expect. No surprises. Necessary for anybody who prefers to use Finder in one language (in my case French) and certain programs in another language (in my case English). An example for a program which I use only in English is Pixelmator or Photshop because I am used to all those terms in English and when the program starts in French I am lost. For your information: In Mac OS X 10.5 you could still change the language in "Information". This now longer works in 10.6.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.6
Gilles9
29 July 2010
Excellent
Like (1)
Version 1.1.6
Simen
20 January 2010
You should have a feature that the setting would stick to the app... I used to have 99% of my apps in english in regular Leopard, and 1% in norwegian. It would be great to keep having it like that without doing it manually every time.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.5
1 answer(s)
Tj-Hd-Software
Tj-Hd-Software
20 January 2010
This feature is already available in Language Switcher, and it's really easy to do - please see the built-in help for more information!
Like (3)
Version 1.1.5
Duhh
03 December 2009
This marvel of a little application brings back the power of users to choose an operating language on a per-application basis to Snow Leopard (10.6) users. I want to thank the developer for making this awesome little utility. The interface is beautiful, ergonomic and you have given us mac users of the world's many languages a true gift. Thank you.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
Roro01
29 October 2009
Many thanks to the developer for fixing the problem I mentioned below.
Like
Version 1.1.3
Captain-Nemo
04 October 2009
Now that Apple has disabled the ability to deselect languages from Snow Leopard's Info window, I found this program extremely useful. Many thanks to the developer. Be aware that Language Switcher will, by default, show only the programs in the Applications folder, excluding subfolders and other locations on your HD. Programs placed in subfolders (like iWork) or elsewhere will not appear unless you go to File in the menubar, then select an application using the submenu (shortcut Command + A).
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2
Jb-jb-fr
03 October 2009
It is an interesting software if you want to test an other language of a tools you write. But how to select a software in an other directory than Application?
Like
Version 1.1.2
Roro01
20 August 2009
This version doesn't work on my iMac Intel 10.5.8. It launches but the window is blank and it is impossible to add new applications.
Like
Version 1.1
Captain-Nemo
20 August 2009
Contrary to the developer's affirmation, there is no need to change your system language to open programs in a different one. This is implemented by going to the info window of the application, then deselecting all languages except the one you want the program to start in. It works nicely if you want an application to always open in the same language but can be time-consuming if you often switch between different ones. In this last case, Language Switcher comes real handy.
Like
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Nick-Lo
Nick-Lo
20 August 2009
"This is implemented by going to the info window of the application, then deselecting all languages except the one you want the program to start in." Actually you don't even need to do that. Set the order of your language preference in System Preferences > International > Language. If you then turn off the top one for an app in Get Info it will move down the list so e.g. if your top language was English followed by Spanish; Turning off English for that app will change it to Spanish.
Like
Version 1.1
Captain-Nemo
Captain-Nemo
21 August 2009
Thanks for the tip :-)
Like
Version 1.1
chris984
29 July 2009
No folders supported? I installed this for Pages (and the rest of iWork). Are these supported? Thanks
Like
Version 1.0.2
2 answer(s)
Tj-Hd-Software
Tj-Hd-Software
29 July 2009
Yes, folders are supported, so you can use iWork as you want, in any of the 8 available languages - please see the built-in help. You can always contact us directly if you need any help.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.2
chris984
chris984
29 July 2009
Thank you!
Like
Version 1.0.2
Roro01
29 July 2009
Can't delete applications from the list by using ctrl-click, thus, if you added an application to the list you are going to have it there for ever!!!
Like
Version 1.0.2
Ean
15 July 2009
Simply awesome. Extremely useful. Works like a charm, but needs the ability to exclude applications and delete from the list. There are only a few applications that I need to launch in different languages, and I'd like the ability to not have every app listed by default.
Like
Version 1.0
Elegraphy
15 July 2009
Is there a UB version available? I don't see any reason that this has to be intel only.
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 July 2009
Sorry, it is a Universal Binary - that was just a mistake in the listing. Thanks for pointing it out! Hope you like it.
Like
Version 1.0
Elegraphy
Elegraphy
15 July 2009
Great, thanks! I'll give it a try now!
Like
Version 1.0