Back to SmillaEnlarger page
SmillaEnlarger free download for Mac

SmillaEnlarger Reviews

0.9.0
08 April 2010

Digital photo-enlarger produces sharp results (was ImageEnlarger).

Mac-Mail
09 July 2009

Most helpful

I'm a photo editor (by profession). This is a fantastic app. I've compared with a few pro apps and this one is even better than some of the pro stuff. Keep it up. The price is 100% great for everyone!
Like (3)
Version 0.8

Read 18 SmillaEnlarger User Reviews

Rate this app:

zlazkow
23 January 2019
Unfortunately it doesn't open anymore in Mojave. If Mischa Lusteck (the developer) could please update the SE, I'd gladly pay for that.
Like
Version 0.9.0
1 answer(s)
zlazkow
zlazkow
16 October 2019
Turned out it was updated in 2016, and opened in Mojave, but in Catalina it does not with a message that it needs to be updated. Yes, it is the best, except the extremely costly "pro" applications, which I doubt doing any better.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.0
CORN SYRUP KILLS
03 January 2016
Indispensable. The UI could use some streamlining but the results are phenomenal—could it really be this easy? Now I wish this was adapted for upscaling video.
Like
Version 0.9.0
Macvet22
25 December 2015
Definitely works as described and others define values. Have used occasionally and confidently to improve work of others and myself, just a smidgen...
Like
Version 0.9.0
Snappir
16 February 2015
looks good, but no choice of algorithms. If the author could add a list of algorithms and upgrade to a paid version, I'd gladly pay.
Like
Version 0.9.0
Macvet22
14 March 2014
2014- Quick and first glance seems really useful tool under OSX10.9 still...
Like
Version 0.9.0
yensteel
01 November 2013
Overall, the program works perfectly. Better yet, the program is free, customisable, and includes batch process. I don't have any professional applications to compare to, coming bicubic sampling. The speed is definitely slower than Bicubic, so it's not instantaneous, nothing to complain about really. I found that the interface does lag a bit when the program is batch processing at the time, and which causes me unable to move my mouse (I can move the mouse but it will cause incorrect settings chosen in the menu for example). I haven't seen any crashes yet.
Like
Version 0.9.0
Derision
04 December 2012
A long time ago, I got a copy of Shortcut S-Spline on a MacWorld CD or something. It only ran under OS9, but was amazing because I could take the pictures that were taken with my elderly 1.3 megapixel camera, blow up their resolution and then print them out, and they would look amazing on paper. I've been looking for a replacement for that since updating to OSX. My camera is no longer 1.3mp, but I like to have the option of enlarging some images. S-Spline still exists in the form of PhotoZoom, but costs an exorbitant sum of money to buy, money which I just can't justify spending to increase the DPI of an image that I probably won't print anyway. Then someone mentioned SmillaEnlarger and I gave it a go, not expecting much. Lo and behold, it did an admirable job. It's not as perfect as PhotoZoom's algorithm, but for a few quick enlargements its more than adequate.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.0
ryanbeymer
30 August 2011
Great app... simple does what it is supposed to do. Make pictures bigger.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.0
Soderberg
27 June 2011
Just tried this for a quick enlargement of a photo from 640 × 458 to 1024 × 733 (minimum dimensions requested from the recipient) ... looks fantastic! Effortless and pretty intuitive, I got the job done in about a minute after downloading. Lots of configurable options in the preview before saving your expanded file. Great!!
Like (2)
Version 0.9.0
Mac-Mail
23 December 2010
This is a wonderful piece of software. Any new updates in the near future?
Like (1)
Version 0.9.0
Arvidtp
15 September 2009
Excellent software! the algorithm seems to do a much better job than the Sinc (lanczos3) algorithm in GIMP - i just did a comparison. Smilla also takes out jpeg artifacts pretty darn well! The interface could use a little better organization, to make it more obvious, but it is quite usable. And I did find a way to drag-and-drop images from iPhoto - see my reply to one of the previous comments.
Like (1)
Version 0.8.9
Steven-Goodheart
15 July 2009
This is a fantastic program, for free! The one thing I wish it could do, so far, that it doesn't (unless I missed how to do it) is some sort of integration with iPhoto. The problem is, if one import one's images into iPhoto, (as opposed to just linking to them, an option in the iPhoto prefs) then all your photos are hidden away from the Finder inside the iPhoto library. In other words, you can't navigate to the iPhoto image via ImageEnlarger's source/browse buttons. I tried changing the External Editor in the iPhoto prefs from PhotoShop or Graphic Converter (or whatever one uses) to ImageEnlarger, and although iPhoto does then switch to ImageEnlarger, it doesn't open the image one selected for External Editing in iPhoto. If there's a way to do this that I've missed, I'd sure like to know, otherwise, I wish that this great little program was iPhoto savy. Thanks!
Like (3)
Version 0.8
6 answer(s)
Mlusteck
Mlusteck
15 July 2009
I fear the communication with iPhoto is not yet possible, and as I use the platform-independent Qt-library it will probably not be for some time. But something I will implement in the next release is simple drag&drop, you drag a file or image onto the enlarger-window to open it. And of course iPhoto supports drag&drop, if you for example drag a picture from the iPhoto window onto a terminal window, you get the absolute path of the image as output. So throwing pictures from the iPhoto window onto the enlarger window will hopefully be possible with the next release.
Like (1)
Version 0.8
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
16 July 2009
Wow, drag and drop would be a great solution for now! Thanks for looking into that as a future upgrade possibility. For now, I'm just doing exports from iPhoto on stuff I want to work on in ImageEnlarger, and then go from there. ImageEnlarger is way cool. Thanks for creating it.
Like (1)
Version 0.8
Arvidtp
Arvidtp
15 September 2009
Actually you can drag and drop from iPhoto because SmillaEnlarger uses the native file open dialog. Just do Cmd-O and then drag your image from iphoto onto the open dialog box. Then hit return. I use this little known technique for all kinds of apps that otherwise don't support drag-and-drop. (It's also really handy if you want to save something in a folder that is already open in a finder window)
Like (1)
Version 0.8.9
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
15 September 2009
ARVIDTP, thanks for the way cool tip! Not only good here, but for other apps, too, as you say. Really, really useful! Thanks for taking the time to post. Steve
Like (1)
Version 0.8.9
Mlusteck
Mlusteck
15 September 2009
Since SmillaEnlarger 0.8.5 you should be able to drag and drop from iPhoto directly onto the enlarger. ( Works at least with my iPhoto 5 and Tiger ). And if you drop a batch of photos they are batch-processed ( since 0.8.9 - for details read Help ) ( Don't forget to uncheck 'Use Source Dir' or the enlargements are put into the depths of the iPhoto library ).
Like (1)
Version 0.8.9
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
15 September 2009
Thanks! I did notice that great change -- really increased the functionality of SmillaEnlarger for me, and others, too, I'm sure. That tip about unchecking "Use Source Dir" is one I didn't notice, until I buried a few files, so thanks! This is a tremendously useful free app -- many thanks!
Like (1)
Version 0.8.9
Mlusteck
09 July 2009
If you have problems with the enlarger, please visit the help-forum on the SourceForge-page of the project ( http://sourceforge.net/projects/imageenlarger/support ). Maybe a solution can be found there, at least I would be glad to receive detailed posts about the errors you encountered.
Like
Version 0.8
Ayub
09 July 2009
Great app. Was looking for something like that.
Like (2)
Version 0.8
Mac-Mail
09 July 2009
I'm a photo editor (by profession). This is a fantastic app. I've compared with a few pro apps and this one is even better than some of the pro stuff. Keep it up. The price is 100% great for everyone!
Like (3)
Version 0.8
Mlusteck
09 July 2009
I don't know yet where the bug is ( works on my G4 mac mini ), but you could try to use another output format instead of JPG: go to the bottom line of the window ("Enlarged:") and change the ending of the proposed filename to something other ( possible are .bmp, .png, .tiff ). Maybe one of these works, could be a JPEG-specific problem.
Like
Version 0.8
Diskrod
09 July 2009
I too am experiencing the same problem mentioned on saving; however, to save the enlarged picture, I press command shift 4 as a work around. This piece of software is what I have been looking for. Kudos to the developer(s).
Like (1)
Version 0.8
Legal-Eagle
09 July 2009
I wish I could work out how to get this application to work ! I go through all the motions but still end up with my original jpeg in its original size !!! And there is no inbuilt Help.
Like (1)
Version 0.8
4 answer(s)
Hogaku
Hogaku
09 July 2009
I agree...how do you save the enlargement? I may be missing something but I don't see a way to save.
Like
Version 0.8
Mlusteck
Mlusteck
09 July 2009
It should create a file with the name and location given at the bottom line of the window. By default "_e" is appended to the source name and the enlarged image placed to the same folder as the original. One reason why this doesn't work might be that at the moment calculation is aborted when you change something ( selected preview, clipping ) in the window. So you could try to do nothing until calculation is finished. If this doesn't work a serious bug might be involved. ( On my Mac Mini G4 saving works )
Like (1)
Version 0.8
Hogaku
Hogaku
09 July 2009
The image is saved in the source folder but it is not enlarged.
Like
Version 0.8
Mlusteck
Mlusteck
09 July 2009
If the enlarger really created a new file, it should differ from the original, unless zoom is at 100%. But you will not get just the 400x400 pixels shown in the preview but a magnified version of the complete image visible in the left "Source Clip" view. If you only want to enlarge a part of the source, mark it ( with left mouse-button down ) in the "Source Clip" view. After releasing the mouse, the left view should show the chosen clip of the source, and "Calculate" should render the enlarged version of the selected clip.
Like (1)
Version 0.8