Back to Boxee page
Boxee free download for Mac

Boxee Reviews

1.5.0
27 December 2011

Simple way of viewing online movies, music, TV, and photos on your iPad.

GeogProf
26 August 2010

Most helpful

Boxee STILL requires you to run Safari in 32-bit mode! For that alone, it deserves a 1-star review. It's now August of 2010, and Boxee has been in development since April 25, 2009 (v. 0.9.11.5774) -- and its devs STILL haven't been able to write it for Apple's contemporary operating system (10.6), which has existed since just a few months after Boxee was first released? That's a pretty sorry record. Perhaps they should start looking for a new career.
Like (6)
Version 0.9.22.13692

Read 31 Boxee User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jdgicker
23 July 2012
frequent crashes negate the usefulness.
Like
Version 1.5.0
randyharris
07 April 2012
Boxee made the final version 1.50 available for download here: http://code.google.com/p/boxee-for-computers/ (unsupported)
Like (2)
Version 1.5.0
Doug-S-
21 February 2012
Wait... So they are or they aren't doing desktop versions of this anymore? Because the official word was Boxee on the desktop was dead. And yet... Here this is.
Like
Version 1.5.0
1 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
21 February 2012
1.5.0 was the last version.
Like
Libertyforall1776
05 February 2012
Download link is dead... :(
Like
Version 1.5.0
1 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
11 February 2012
Ok, this is a mess-up, MU, Boxee and Boxee Media Manager are completely separate apps!
Like
OSX-FTW!
27 December 2011
My mouse only can travel about 50% across the screen here in version 1.5. I had to revert back to the stable build. :(
Like (1)
Version 1.5.0
Tim27
27 December 2011
Apparently, 1.5 will be the final version of the desktop app. They are concentrating only on their Boxee device from now on.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.0
2 answer(s)
Y-Guy
Y-Guy
27 December 2011
Guess I'm happy I never could get Boxee to work well for my needs, now they are they dropping it I have nothing to lose nor invested in it.
Like (2)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
12 January 2012
Here's the full note about this: http://blog.boxee.tv/2011/12/26/boxee-1-5-fall-software-update/ "Growing Past the PC This 1.5 release will be the last version of Boxee for PC/Mac/Ubuntu. It will be available on Boxee.tv through the end of January. We believe the future of TV will be driven by devices such as the Boxee Box, Connected TVs / Blu-Rays and 2nd screen devices such as tablets and phones. While there are still many users who have computers connected to their TVs, we believe this use case is likely to decline as users find better alternatives. People will continue to watch a lot of video on their computer, but it is more likely to be a laptop than a home-theater PC and probably through a browser rather than downloaded software. To our computer users… to those who have come out to our NYC and SF meetups, talked with us at Engadget, GDGT, and Giz Gallery events, or enjoyed Austin BBQ with us during SxSW, or simply messaged with us on Facebook, Twitter, and our forums… thank you for all your support – we would not be where we are today without you. But we can’t stay here. We are excited about the upcoming release of Boxee Live TV and our new product roadmap for 2012. If you are a current Boxee user on a computer we hope that you will enjoy 1.5 and maybe when you are ready to retire that good ol’ HTPC/Mac Mini you will decide to get a Boxee Box. Sincerely, Team Boxee"
Like
Jeff-H-
05 November 2011
The reason I got Boxee was to watch Vudu content. I linked my accounts no problem and see my rentals, however when I go to watch an movie (SD, all I've got so far), the movie plays for less then a minute and then I hear the fan of my mini spin up and it freezes, requiring a force stop. This has happened 3 times, which is every time. I have a brand new mini, 10.7.2, 8gb ram and newest Boxee.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.23.15885
1 answer(s)
Blackmagic
Blackmagic
30 December 2011
I know this is a late reply, but I was having the same problem, and it's the same on the Windows version of Boxee. They "fixed the glitch" by removing Vudu support for Boxee. Ugh.
Like
Rubaiyat
29 October 2011
Does this have anything over XBMC?
Like
Version 0.9.23.15885
Boxee really needs a Crackle.com plugin! ;-) Some pretty good free content there...
Like (1)
Version 0.9.23.15885
Jazzyguy
12 March 2011
I found my movies under my files/home/movies. I wonder why they don't show under "Movies"
Like (2)
Version 0.9.23.15885
Jazzyguy
11 March 2011
I like it but somehow it can't find all my movies. It only found one. Yet Front Row and XBMC found them all.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.23.15885
Jazzyguy
11 March 2011
Very nice Free App. I like it!
Like (3)
Version 0.9.23.15885
Djefis
09 February 2011
Good alternative to FrontRow.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.23.15885
Libertyforall1776
15 January 2011
Looks like Mac development has slowed down since the Boxee Box shipped... :-(
Like (1)
Version 0.9.23.15885
1 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
21 January 2011
We need AirPlay support desperately... iOS Apple TV version too! 64-bit would be great as well.
Like (2)
Libertyforall1776
03 November 2010
STILL not 64-bit, just like the XBMC it is based on... Boxee Beta 0.9.23 Release Notes New features with this version since Boxee Beta 0.9.22.136xx point release ------------------------------------------------------------ - VUDU Support - VUDU is our first premium pay-per-view movie service with access to new release movies as soon as they come out on DVD along with a huge catalogue of TV shows and critically acclaimed films.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.23.15885
Libertyforall1776
04 September 2010
STILL no PowerPC support, yet XBMC (which both Boxee and Plex are based) has no problem running on PPC Macs!
Like (2)
Version 0.9.22.13692
Jeff-H-
03 September 2010
I was a Plex user for sometime but Plex was giving me problems in a few areas. As this should be a review about Boxee and NOT a list of my problems with Plex I'll just say that Plex became unusable in many ways and I was sort of forced to use Boxee...I'm glad I was! I feel that Boxee has a more pleasant looking GUI, it seems a little less bloated, and I think it uses a bit less CPU than Plex. It also handles Digital audio with no problems, one of the problems I was having with Plex and was one of the deal breakers with Plex. I'm still getting familiar with Boxee and I'm sure there will be a thing or two that I miss about Plex but I'm happy to do a bit of exploring and check out this new media center (new for me anyway). All-in-all a very good experience so far!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.22.13692
Michael-Fogler
26 August 2010
Works well, but the app freezes when I try to exit. Anyone else have this issue and know what can be done about it?
Like (1)
Version 0.9.22.13692
GeogProf
26 August 2010
Boxee STILL requires you to run Safari in 32-bit mode! For that alone, it deserves a 1-star review. It's now August of 2010, and Boxee has been in development since April 25, 2009 (v. 0.9.11.5774) -- and its devs STILL haven't been able to write it for Apple's contemporary operating system (10.6), which has existed since just a few months after Boxee was first released? That's a pretty sorry record. Perhaps they should start looking for a new career.
Like (6)
Version 0.9.22.13692
5 answer(s)
Dualist
Dualist
26 August 2010
You don't speak for all Mac users, or even most Mac users. I personally couldn't care less if Safari runs in 64bit mode, since I rarely use that annoying browser. Keep up the good work with Boxee and ignore the self-centered, arrogant jackasses please.
Like (3)
Version 0.9.22.13692
D9
D9
26 August 2010
RPAEGE: But you most certainly speak for yourself as if others care!
Like (6)
Version 0.9.22.13692
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
27 August 2010
Well Boxee partly relies on Flash too, and Adobe still cannot manage to get Flash 64-bit for Mac either -- so both are behind the curve...
Like (6)
Version 0.9.22.13692
PorkPieHat
PorkPieHat
28 August 2010
RPAEGE: In exactly what way were my comments self-centered or arrogant? What makes you think I claim to speak for anyone but myself? You, however, clearly think that you speak for most Mac users, never mind that those very people voted up my remarks +5 times while voting down yours -4 times. And what has burrowed so far up your bum that you'd react profanely to a non-personal commentary about software architecture? Did you forget to take your medication today?
Like (2)
Version 0.9.22.13692
GeogProf
GeogProf
28 August 2010
Oops, I just realized that I was still logged in on my wife's user account (PorkPieHat) when I wrote that last comment. Sorry for that.
Like
Version 0.9.22.13692
Libertyforall1776
17 July 2010
Nice, FINALLY some Mac HW acceleration -- now all we need is Boxee for iPhone/iPad!!! ;-)
Like (1)
Version 0.9.21.12563
shacklaw
12 June 2010
I finally managed to get my MacBook Pro hooked up to my old school tube television (a Sony Wega). This app (Boxee) makes the entire experience awesome. My Apple remote works fairly long distance, so I can just use that to run Boxee from the TV. It finds everything on my computer (movies, shows, etc.), and streams from Hulu, channel websites, Netflix, and more. Awesome.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.21.11497
Maboroshi
08 March 2010
I'm having the opposite problem. My remote now ONLY works in Boxee. I think its this "boxeeservice" application thats running in the background that seems to be completely blocking normal use of my apple remote. Annoyingly, even after quitting the app through Activity Monitor, within seconds the app reopens itself. Whats up with that??
Like
Version 0.9.20.10708
1 answer(s)
Wcitymike
Wcitymike
18 May 2010
"Annoyingly, even after quitting the app through Activity Monitor, within seconds the app reopens itself." You've got a launch agent or launchdaemon that's making sure it stays active. Check out ~/Library/LaunchAgents, /Library/LaunchAgents, /Library/LaunchDaemons, /System/Library/LaunchAgents, and /System/Library/LaunchDaemons. Type "launchctl unload" along with the name (and *full* path) of whatever one looks like it's keeping it active. It's most likely not going to be in the System directories, and take care before unloading anything located in *there*. Once you've done that, delete the file in question.
Like
Version 0.9.21.11497
Borndevil6
22 February 2010
One of the best media managments systems that i've used on the mac, had no problem running it on mac or my ubuntu machine. Excellent.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.20.10708
Darylf2
09 January 2010
This version won't work for me at all; the app just seems to hang. I can force-quit it, at least (i.e., it doesn't hang my whole Mac). I'm not impressed...
Like
Version 0.9.20.10261
1 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
22 February 2010
Look up the definition of beta software... ;-)
Like (2)
Version 0.9.20.10708
Tim27
08 January 2010
Has anyone had problems using their Apple remote with Boxee? My remote won't do anything in it.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.20.10261
2 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
08 January 2010
That works awesome! Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.20.10261
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
25 January 2010
Candelair did NOT fix my Apple Remote to work with the latest Boxee. :-( Any other ideas? TIA!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.20.10261
Islandmacman
05 January 2010
I was please to find this application because I wanted something to act like a media player from the computer to tv. Initially I was taken back by the interface - it's too "twitchy" and grows annoying with the iPhone-esque GUI motions. I feel like I'm maneuvering through my mail folders, and I can do without this for sure. Videos play well, there's a world of content out there. However, some of the video web sites are non-functional (itv.com), but perhaps I didn't add it properly. Also, boxee scans your computer for files - be warned, because your dirty collection will be added to the darn thing if you don't watch for it. But I will pass on using this further because the interface is far too annoying for any daily use. My friends will like the feature to add other channels (I hope foreign channels are accepted). Boxee seems quite stable, and you can't beat the price. I hope future updates improve some of the flaws that prevent me from using this.
Like
Version 0.9.14.6992
Doug-S-
23 December 2009
To be honest, this app would really be just short of a full four-star rating. I decided to give it that instead of a three since it's still in the early stages and I have much hope for it. I've been playing around with Boxee a bit of late and there are issues but I'm betting great things to come. Video playback, for example, is fantastic. Boxee can play a variety of formats very easily. I just watched a 1080p movie smooth as glass when QuickTime and VLC Player were showing choppy playback. The one drawback is that there seems to be an issue with subtitles, at least in MP4 videos. I'm sure this is something that will be fixed as the subtitles could be selected, they just didn't show up. There are a number of little bugs like this floating around the app but, again, it's alpha-ware. The interface is a bit confusing and takes some getting used to. Also, I would expect the desktop version to treat a mouse just fine but the way they've chosen to treat mice is... Odd. I'm not sure if it's necessarily a bad thing but it is different. I know some aren't overly enthralled with the UI's aesthetics but that is personal taste. I don't se a problem with it and am pleased that if nothing else it's highly responsive. I can't wait for a full beta and final release of this app. Hopefully that'll include a windowed mode or a standalone player mode for when I just want to watch a video without going through the interface.
Like
Version 0.9.14.6992
sjk
02 August 2009
[moved original, intended as a reply]
Like
Version 0.9.14.6992
Falknerx
04 July 2009
By far the best media center app on the mac.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.12.6566
3 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
01 August 2009
Care to share any reason(s) for that opinion?
Like (1)
Version 0.9.14.6992
Odysseus
Odysseus
01 August 2009
I find Plex to be much better than Boxee, although setup is a bit strange. It has a nicer-looking interface (although that's of course a matter of opinion), but it does recognize iTunes playlists unlike Boxee.
Like
Version 0.9.14.6992
sjk
sjk
02 August 2009
I noticed JAMUS also prefers Plex's interface over Boxee's. I haven't tried either (or XBMC) yet; just looking at some opinions for now (the more specific the better).
Like
Version 0.9.14.6992
Hihagen
04 July 2009
This is the best media center application. I have been using it on the AppleTV and my Mac Mini with great success. I recommend all to give it a try. I use it mainly with all my divx adn mp4 movies.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.12.6566
Supermacnerd
04 July 2009
Downloaded and tried installing and it would just hang on the splash screen. I know its a great app but my Intel Macbook Pro was having problems. I had to do a hard restart as my computer completely froze up. I tried it 3 times with the same result each time upon restart.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.12.6566