Back to Adobe Digital Editions page
Adobe Digital Editions free download for Mac

Adobe Digital Editions Reviews4.5.11

31 March 2020

Read and manage eBooks and other digital publications.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
tttran
tttran
Mar 2 2021
4.5.11
0.0
Mar 2 2021
0.0
Version: 4.5.11
Horrible. Cant make notes, takes forever to scroll to a different page, everything is choppy. Very inconvenient and slow!
danielmprazado
danielmprazado
Feb 10 2021
4.5.11
0.0
Feb 10 2021
0.0
Version: 4.5.11
It's Horrible! I can't change page like a PDF. OPEN YOUR EYES CREATORS! DISGUSTING.
sarahkababji
sarahkababji
Jan 17 2021
4.5.11
1.0
Jan 17 2021
1.0
Version: 4.5.11
HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE. ADOBE PLEASE FIX IT. We're in 2020. - Frustrated students who are trying to learn and read in the midst of a pandemic.
ameda2537
ameda2537
Oct 27 2020
4.5.11
1.0
Oct 27 2020
1.0
Version: 4.5.11
Its my first review ever... That's how angry i am.. Stay away from this shit.
hajiwalu
hajiwalu
Oct 27 2020
4.5.11
1.0
Oct 27 2020
1.0
Version: 4.5.11
All this app has brought me is pain. Please use any other reading application instead.
hajiwalu
hajiwalu
Oct 27 2020
4.5.11
1.0
Oct 27 2020
1.0
Version: 4.5.11
Worst app I have ever used. Please do not use it. Please.
andrewwong
andrewwong
Oct 27 2020
4.5.11
1.0
Oct 27 2020
1.0
Version: 4.5.11
I downloaded a book for school which can only be opened with this app and am considering buying a physical copy of the book because the app is just so bad. Can't write notes 50% of the time(not a joke, it is random or at least unintuitive), can't copy paste, can't change font size, terrible UI, book marks are messy and much more. It's bad. Really bad. I cannot express how bad this application is. I wish I could give a negative review because of how much grief this app has caused me but I keep sunk cost fallacying myself into using it because I spent 20 bucks on a book. I have never felt so much hatred towards an app.
shayandar17
shayandar17
Oct 16 2020
4.5.11
1.0
Oct 16 2020
1.0
Version: 4.5.11
If I could give this a -5 star i would
shayandar17
shayandar17
Oct 16 2020
4.5.11
1.0
Oct 16 2020
1.0
Version: 4.5.11
USELESS! Can't highlight in multiple colours, can't copy or add notes, looks like an old windows 98 program. I have never worked with something so incompetent in my entire life. This is like 30 years behind. Not to mention the lag is horrible. I was forced to use this because of my textbook. If I could have avoided using this I would!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
benjir0520
benjir0520
Jun 30 2020
4.5.11
1.0
Jun 30 2020
1.0
Version: 4.5.11
I never review software, but decided to search the web for a place to write one just to warn the world about this useless program. Compared to the 3-4 other e-readers I've used, Adobe's UX feels 50 years behind. Formatting is terrible. Text interactions like note taking and highlighting are extremely basic. And the program memory gets bogged down after 5-10 minutes and I have to restart it. Every. Single. Time. Adobe makes some good software, but this is not it. There should be a warning to potential downloaders. Do better!
hamzamullasa
hamzamullasa
Jun 27 2020
4.5.11
1.0
Jun 27 2020
1.0
Version: 4.5.11
Horrible program. It is full of stupid errors like not being able to highlight a sentence that contains italics. You have to highlight the first half of the sentence, then the italicized words and then the rest of the sentence, all separately instead of being able to select the whole sentence and then click highlight. There's no logical reason for this. Even simple acts like flipping the page is difficult. If you use your mouse then you cannot use your key arrows without pressing them repeatedly until it works. Once you use your key arrows, you cannot use your mouse to click on next page without having to click it repeatedly. Why? No logical reason. I will never again use an Adobe Reader unless I am forced to. I've never used a worse epub reader. It is actually shocking how much they managed to mess up a such a simple program.
filmfreaks99
filmfreaks99
Jun 6 2020
4.5.11
0.0
Jun 6 2020
0.0
Version: 4.5.11
This product is steaming pile of sh*t. It is by far the worst digital reading tool I have ever seen, and I've been at University for 4 years...I seriously cannot believe they would pass this as a product. It's clunky, the pages don't load, word find doesn't work properly. My 206 page text book came up as one giant page of text. AVOID!! This is the worst software I've ever seen. WTF Adobe!?
audielimecheverria
audielimecheverria
Jun 4 2020
4.5.11
1.0
Jun 4 2020
1.0
Version: 4.5.11
Horrible app. I have no other choice my school is suing this app. I hope institutions will call for improvement.
youthrecipe
youthrecipe
Apr 16 2020
4.5.11
1.0
Apr 16 2020
1.0
Version: 4.5.11
4.5 version. Not worth even 1 star. I had no other option because local library ebook was viewable only in this junk. The worst part: when the computer authorization does not work, the fix requires PhD in IT. Even the fix is not stable. Even worse part: the viewer does not scale the font and one book page cannot fit the screen. Scroll does not work either. Adobe engineers should benchmark Google Earth. I wish all the Adobe developers be fired.
susangermein
susangermein
Nov 3 2019
4.5.10
0.0
Nov 3 2019
0.0
Version: 4.5.10
Terrible! I wish I'd never bought a book via Adobe Digital Editions. It's useful for scholarly work. Clumsy to navigate, you can't highlight or print anything. Stupid. The books I've downloaded to read from my uni library - couldn't read them. Hopeless.
Baarten
Baarten
Mar 24 2017
4.5.2
0.0
Mar 24 2017
0.0
Version: 4.5.2
Latest version: 4.5.4.165157
Csean2006
Csean2006
Dec 28 2016
4.5.2
0.0
Dec 28 2016
0.0
Version: 4.5.2
What in gods name is this POS???!!! I buy ebooks through the Kobo store and it seems I have to install ADE in order to transfer my books to my ereader later, as I don't have my ereader with me right now. I thought I might read some of them on my Mac, too. Bu this System 9 looking installer does nothing. Literally. All I get is a message saying "Verifying Digital Editions 4.5 Installer.pkg". Verifying that is embarrassingly utter crap in 2016, I assume. Unbelievable. I haven't seen this kind of stuff literally since System 9. WTF is this crapware?! If/when it doesn't work, and that leaves you unable to read what you've paid for, where do you have to turn? Torrents? What a joke.
WetNet
WetNet
Feb 14 2016
4.5.1
0.5
Feb 14 2016
0.5
Version: 4.5.1
This crap still uses FLASH! . . .of all things. . .
Wolpertinger
Wolpertinger
Oct 7 2015
4.0.3
0.0
Oct 7 2015
0.0
Version: 4.0.3
The latest version is 4.5
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
Nov 25 2014
4.0.2
2.5
Nov 25 2014
2.5
Version: 4.0.2
This really doesn't look much different from V3. The main difference is, I suppose, that it transmits your private data privately. That's good, but why it's taken until V4 is a question worth asking! What's worse is that many booksellers and libraries use ADE to transmit ebooks to their customers and in my experience with V4 so far, V4 is very unstable. In fact, I've had to follow the recommendation of one bookseller and go back to V3, which the seller said "is more stable." Basically, V4 was not able to download certain ebooks properly and as a result the entire application would crash if those ebooks were opened. It actually downloaded the full file but because, according to the seller, the metadata from the publisher was not complete, ADE crashed. At any rate, I really don't like ADE as a general ebook reader. It's too chatty. I pay for my ebooks so I don't see why my reading habits or whatever need to be collected. The problem is that there really isn't a good ebook reader for mac as far as I know.
Panocha
Panocha
Nov 17 2014
4.0.2
0.0
Nov 17 2014
0.0
Version: 4.0.2
It looks like a really fugly attempt to copy Calibre, but to even compare them is unfair to Calibre because this is so limited in comparison.
Forn
Forn
Oct 8 2014
3.0
0.5
Oct 8 2014
0.5
Version: 3.0
Phones home immediately and sends A LOT of informations to Adobe.. It even crawls the HD. Read all here: http://the-digital-reader.com/2014/10/06/adobe-spying-users-collecting-data-ebook-libraries/#.VDTgG-c1hww
Aadams77
Aadams77
Jul 21 2014
3.0
0.5
Jul 21 2014
0.5
Version: 3.0
NO uninstall feature, NO uninstall tool, NO uninstall step-by-step support page...several UNanswered uninstall "support" questions in their forum (REALLY Adobe, is that the best that you can do)...I am baffled that a major software company that builds MacOS apps would deliver those apps using an installer and NOT providing any straightforward removal option(s)! In any event, here is a post from earlier today asking for help with the SAME issue that I am having with trying to uninstall this junk software (hopefully he/she gets an answer soon): https://forums.adobe.com/message/6570142
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Mar 13 2014
3.0
5.0
Mar 13 2014
5.0
Version: 3.0
Great App in every way!
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Mar 4 2014
3.0
5.0
Mar 4 2014
5.0
Version: 3.0
Very nice little app and Free!
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Mar 3 2014
2.0
0.0
Mar 3 2014
0.0
Version: 2.0
3.0 is out! http://www.adobe.com/products/digital-editions/download.html
MikeM1873
MikeM1873
Nov 26 2013
2.0
0.5
Nov 26 2013
0.5
Version: 2.0
The only reason I'm looking into this app is because when I try to run a new app I have called ePub to PDF, it tells me to run this adobe app first...along with a 'quit program' button and no other options... I'm now wondering if its all worth the hassle...anyone have an opinion?
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
May 13 2012
1.8.1
3.0
May 13 2012
3.0
Version: 1.8.1
Since my last review, I've sort of amended my position on this one. Not the best reader around, and certainly there are tons of issues in dealing with Adobe... however there are just as many in dealing with Apple where ebooks are concerned. In one aspect, I find it more convenient and exceptionally better than the outdated Stanza: quick testing the middle ground for ebooks I'm publishing.
Chocky
Chocky
Jan 7 2012
1.8.1
0.5
Jan 7 2012
0.5
Version: 1.8.1
Hands down the worst ebook reader out there. Its only purpose seems to be to access DRM encrusted offerings from public libraries.
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
Dec 11 2011
1.8.1
0.0
Dec 11 2011
0.0
Version: 1.8.1
With Adobe's recent upgrade policy announcements I personally intend to have as little software as possible with the word Adobe on it anywhere near my computer even if they are giving it away ! When will they learn what customers want, they should leave their walled development castle, take off the blindfolds and travel out among real people, Viva Indies !
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
Dec 11 2011
1.8.1
3.0
Dec 11 2011
3.0
Version: 1.8.1
Definitely one of the most unfriendly, unversatile readers out there. And with Calibre around for format translation, well, ADE is essentially pointless.
Enyox
Enyox
Nov 26 2010
1.7.2
1.0
Nov 26 2010
1.0
Version: 1.7.2
Completely unusable. You cannot copy selected text, the app is very sluggish, when you try to print > save to pdf the program freezes. This was my last ebook purchase!
Aw21
Aw21
Sep 11 2010
1.7.2
0.0
Sep 11 2010
0.0
Version: 1.7.2
Crapware at its best.
Borlox
Borlox
Jul 25 2010
1.7.1
1.0
Jul 25 2010
1.0
Version: 1.7.1
Fully embodies Adobe's habitual contempt for its users. Even leaving aside the intrinsically hostile nature of what it does, mere words can't convey how bad the interface is. It's nothing but a big Flash presentation. Like all Flash content, it's visual garbage. Need to activate an account? Don't bother trying to cut and paste your username and password -- you have to type them in, and get it right the first time, because if you make a mistake, you have to start over. Need to download a book? Don't plan on reading anything until it's done. Drop dead, Adobe, and take Flash with you.
Macsweep
Macsweep
Mar 5 2010
1.7.1
1.0
Mar 5 2010
1.0
Version: 1.7.1
Adobe Digital Editions is such a load of garbage...!!! The interface is very unintuitive. Looks like they took a windows application and brought it over to the Mac. The Page-Forward and Backward buttons are at the bottom of the window and are upward and downward -- that is to say vertically oriented. The natural way would be at the top and horizontally oriented. Clicking on the scroll bar has no more effect that clicking on the up/down scroll buttons, and to make matters worse the scroll buttons are Windows-like in that they are at the top and bottom of the window with no option to put them both on the bottom in a Mac-like fashion. The Adobe Digital Editions window will no remember it's position from one launch to the next. So, at each launch the user has to resize it. It also does not remember what size the document was last time. It starts out full-page, which may be fine on a low resolution screen. The only reason to use this junky piece of software is DRM and encrypted ebooks. And that is the ONLY reason I use it. If someone, anyone, knows of a better alternative that will handle DRM and encrypted PDF and maybe other ebook formats, please give a response here and a recommendation.
Chrischram
Chrischram
Jul 2 2009
1.7.1
0.0
Jul 2 2009
0.0
Version: 1.7.1
Version 1.7.1 has been out since April. I wonder why it's showing up on these sites today.