Back to Adobe Digital Editions page
Adobe Digital Editions free download for Mac

Adobe Digital Editions Reviews4.5.11

31 March 2020

Read and manage eBooks and other digital publications.

susangermein
03 November 2019
Version: 4.5.10

Most helpful

Terrible! I wish I'd never bought a book via Adobe Digital Editions. It's useful for scholarly work. Clumsy to navigate, you can't highlight or print anything. Stupid. The books I've downloaded to read from my uni library - couldn't read them. Hopeless.
(2)

How would you rate Adobe Digital Editions app?

Read 29 Adobe Digital Editions User Reviews

shayandar17
16 October 2020
Version: 4.5.11
If I could give this a -5 star i would
(0)
1
shayandar17
16 October 2020
Version: 4.5.11
USELESS! Can't highlight in multiple colours, can't copy or add notes, looks like an old windows 98 program. I have never worked with something so incompetent in my entire life. This is like 30 years behind. Not to mention the lag is horrible. I was forced to use this because of my textbook. If I could have avoided using this I would!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
(0)
1
benjir0520
30 June 2020
Version: 4.5.11
I never review software, but decided to search the web for a place to write one just to warn the world about this useless program. Compared to the 3-4 other e-readers I've used, Adobe's UX feels 50 years behind. Formatting is terrible. Text interactions like note taking and highlighting are extremely basic. And the program memory gets bogged down after 5-10 minutes and I have to restart it. Every. Single. Time. Adobe makes some good software, but this is not it. There should be a warning to potential downloaders. Do better!
(0)
1
hamzamullasa
27 June 2020
Version: 4.5.11
Horrible program. It is full of stupid errors like not being able to highlight a sentence that contains italics. You have to highlight the first half of the sentence, then the italicized words and then the rest of the sentence, all separately instead of being able to select the whole sentence and then click highlight. There's no logical reason for this. Even simple acts like flipping the page is difficult. If you use your mouse then you cannot use your key arrows without pressing them repeatedly until it works. Once you use your key arrows, you cannot use your mouse to click on next page without having to click it repeatedly. Why? No logical reason. I will never again use an Adobe Reader unless I am forced to. I've never used a worse epub reader. It is actually shocking how much they managed to mess up a such a simple program.
(0)
filmfreaks99
06 June 2020
Version: 4.5.11
This product is steaming pile of sh*t. It is by far the worst digital reading tool I have ever seen, and I've been at University for 4 years...I seriously cannot believe they would pass this as a product. It's clunky, the pages don't load, word find doesn't work properly. My 206 page text book came up as one giant page of text. AVOID!! This is the worst software I've ever seen. WTF Adobe!?
(0)
1
audielimecheverria
04 June 2020
Version: 4.5.11
Horrible app. I have no other choice my school is suing this app. I hope institutions will call for improvement.
(1)
1
youthrecipe
16 April 2020
Version: 4.5.11
4.5 version. Not worth even 1 star. I had no other option because local library ebook was viewable only in this junk. The worst part: when the computer authorization does not work, the fix requires PhD in IT. Even the fix is not stable. Even worse part: the viewer does not scale the font and one book page cannot fit the screen. Scroll does not work either. Adobe engineers should benchmark Google Earth. I wish all the Adobe developers be fired.
(2)
susangermein
03 November 2019
Version: 4.5.10
Terrible! I wish I'd never bought a book via Adobe Digital Editions. It's useful for scholarly work. Clumsy to navigate, you can't highlight or print anything. Stupid. The books I've downloaded to read from my uni library - couldn't read them. Hopeless.
(2)
Show comment (1)
Baarten
24 March 2017
Version: 4.5.2
Latest version: 4.5.4.165157
(0)
Csean2006
28 December 2016
Version: 4.5.2
What in gods name is this POS???!!! I buy ebooks through the Kobo store and it seems I have to install ADE in order to transfer my books to my ereader later, as I don't have my ereader with me right now. I thought I might read some of them on my Mac, too. Bu this System 9 looking installer does nothing. Literally. All I get is a message saying "Verifying Digital Editions 4.5 Installer.pkg". Verifying that is embarrassingly utter crap in 2016, I assume. Unbelievable. I haven't seen this kind of stuff literally since System 9. WTF is this crapware?! If/when it doesn't work, and that leaves you unable to read what you've paid for, where do you have to turn? Torrents? What a joke.
(0)
WetNet
14 February 2016
Version: 4.5.1
This crap still uses FLASH! . . .of all things. . .
(0)
Wolpertinger
07 October 2015
Version: 4.0.3
The latest version is 4.5
(0)
2.5
Mrtomato
25 November 2014
Version: 4.0.2
This really doesn't look much different from V3. The main difference is, I suppose, that it transmits your private data privately. That's good, but why it's taken until V4 is a question worth asking! What's worse is that many booksellers and libraries use ADE to transmit ebooks to their customers and in my experience with V4 so far, V4 is very unstable. In fact, I've had to follow the recommendation of one bookseller and go back to V3, which the seller said "is more stable." Basically, V4 was not able to download certain ebooks properly and as a result the entire application would crash if those ebooks were opened. It actually downloaded the full file but because, according to the seller, the metadata from the publisher was not complete, ADE crashed. At any rate, I really don't like ADE as a general ebook reader. It's too chatty. I pay for my ebooks so I don't see why my reading habits or whatever need to be collected. The problem is that there really isn't a good ebook reader for mac as far as I know.
(0)
Panocha
17 November 2014
Version: 4.0.2
It looks like a really fugly attempt to copy Calibre, but to even compare them is unfair to Calibre because this is so limited in comparison.
(0)
Show comment (1)
0.5
Forn
08 October 2014
Version: 3.0
Phones home immediately and sends A LOT of informations to Adobe.. It even crawls the HD. Read all here: http://the-digital-reader.com/2014/10/06/adobe-spying-users-collecting-data-ebook-libraries/#.VDTgG-c1hww
(0)
0.5
Aadams77
21 July 2014
Version: 3.0
NO uninstall feature, NO uninstall tool, NO uninstall step-by-step support page...several UNanswered uninstall "support" questions in their forum (REALLY Adobe, is that the best that you can do)...I am baffled that a major software company that builds MacOS apps would deliver those apps using an installer and NOT providing any straightforward removal option(s)! In any event, here is a post from earlier today asking for help with the SAME issue that I am having with trying to uninstall this junk software (hopefully he/she gets an answer soon): https://forums.adobe.com/message/6570142
(0)
Show comments (3)
Jazzyguy
13 March 2014
Version: 3.0
Great App in every way!
(1)
5
Jazzyguy
04 March 2014
Version: 3.0
Very nice little app and Free!
(1)
Libertyforall1776
03 March 2014
Version: 2.0
3.0 is out! http://www.adobe.com/products/digital-editions/download.html
(0)
0.5
MikeM1873
26 November 2013
Version: 2.0
The only reason I'm looking into this app is because when I try to run a new app I have called ePub to PDF, it tells me to run this adobe app first...along with a 'quit program' button and no other options... I'm now wondering if its all worth the hassle...anyone have an opinion?
(0)
3
anonymous-dingo-653
13 May 2012
Version: 1.8.1
Since my last review, I've sort of amended my position on this one. Not the best reader around, and certainly there are tons of issues in dealing with Adobe... however there are just as many in dealing with Apple where ebooks are concerned. In one aspect, I find it more convenient and exceptionally better than the outdated Stanza: quick testing the middle ground for ebooks I'm publishing.
(0)
0.5
Chocky
07 January 2012
Version: 1.8.1
Hands down the worst ebook reader out there. Its only purpose seems to be to access DRM encrusted offerings from public libraries.
(0)
Diarbyrag
11 December 2011
Version: 1.8.1
With Adobe's recent upgrade policy announcements I personally intend to have as little software as possible with the word Adobe on it anywhere near my computer even if they are giving it away ! When will they learn what customers want, they should leave their walled development castle, take off the blindfolds and travel out among real people, Viva Indies !
(2)
0.5
anonymous-dingo-653
11 December 2011
Version: 1.8.1
Definitely one of the most unfriendly, unversatile readers out there. And with Calibre around for format translation, well, ADE is essentially pointless.
(3)
1
Enyox
26 November 2010
Version: 1.7.2
Completely unusable. You cannot copy selected text, the app is very sluggish, when you try to print > save to pdf the program freezes. This was my last ebook purchase!
(3)
Aw21
11 September 2010
Version: 1.7.2
Crapware at its best.
(4)
1
Borlox
25 July 2010
Version: 1.7.1
Fully embodies Adobe's habitual contempt for its users. Even leaving aside the intrinsically hostile nature of what it does, mere words can't convey how bad the interface is. It's nothing but a big Flash presentation. Like all Flash content, it's visual garbage. Need to activate an account? Don't bother trying to cut and paste your username and password -- you have to type them in, and get it right the first time, because if you make a mistake, you have to start over. Need to download a book? Don't plan on reading anything until it's done. Drop dead, Adobe, and take Flash with you.
(13)
1
Macsweep
05 March 2010
Version: 1.7.1
Adobe Digital Editions is such a load of garbage...!!! The interface is very unintuitive. Looks like they took a windows application and brought it over to the Mac. The Page-Forward and Backward buttons are at the bottom of the window and are upward and downward -- that is to say vertically oriented. The natural way would be at the top and horizontally oriented. Clicking on the scroll bar has no more effect that clicking on the up/down scroll buttons, and to make matters worse the scroll buttons are Windows-like in that they are at the top and bottom of the window with no option to put them both on the bottom in a Mac-like fashion. The Adobe Digital Editions window will no remember it's position from one launch to the next. So, at each launch the user has to resize it. It also does not remember what size the document was last time. It starts out full-page, which may be fine on a low resolution screen. The only reason to use this junky piece of software is DRM and encrypted ebooks. And that is the ONLY reason I use it. If someone, anyone, knows of a better alternative that will handle DRM and encrypted PDF and maybe other ebook formats, please give a response here and a recommendation.
(6)
Chrischram
02 July 2009
Version: 1.7.1
Version 1.7.1 has been out since April. I wonder why it's showing up on these sites today.
(0)