Back to Adobe Digital Editions page
Adobe Digital Editions free download for Mac

Adobe Digital Editions Reviews

4.5.10
08 January 2019

Read and manage eBooks and other digital publications.

Borlox
25 July 2010

Most helpful

Fully embodies Adobe's habitual contempt for its users. Even leaving aside the intrinsically hostile nature of what it does, mere words can't convey how bad the interface is. It's nothing but a big Flash presentation. Like all Flash content, it's visual garbage. Need to activate an account? Don't bother trying to cut and paste your username and password -- you have to type them in, and get it right the first time, because if you make a mistake, you have to start over. Need to download a book? Don't plan on reading anything until it's done. Drop dead, Adobe, and take Flash with you.
Like (12)
Version 1.7.1

Read 21 Adobe Digital Editions User Reviews

Rate this app:

Baarten
24 March 2017
Latest version: 4.5.4.165157
Like
Version 4.5.2
Csean2006
28 December 2016
What in gods name is this POS???!!! I buy ebooks through the Kobo store and it seems I have to install ADE in order to transfer my books to my ereader later, as I don't have my ereader with me right now. I thought I might read some of them on my Mac, too. Bu this System 9 looking installer does nothing. Literally. All I get is a message saying "Verifying Digital Editions 4.5 Installer.pkg". Verifying that is embarrassingly utter crap in 2016, I assume. Unbelievable. I haven't seen this kind of stuff literally since System 9. WTF is this crapware?! If/when it doesn't work, and that leaves you unable to read what you've paid for, where do you have to turn? Torrents? What a joke.
Like
Version 4.5.2
WetNet
14 February 2016
This crap still uses FLASH! . . .of all things. . .
Like
Version 4.5.1
Wolpertinger
07 October 2015
The latest version is 4.5
Like
Version 4.0.3
Mrtomato
25 November 2014
This really doesn't look much different from V3. The main difference is, I suppose, that it transmits your private data privately. That's good, but why it's taken until V4 is a question worth asking! What's worse is that many booksellers and libraries use ADE to transmit ebooks to their customers and in my experience with V4 so far, V4 is very unstable. In fact, I've had to follow the recommendation of one bookseller and go back to V3, which the seller said "is more stable." Basically, V4 was not able to download certain ebooks properly and as a result the entire application would crash if those ebooks were opened. It actually downloaded the full file but because, according to the seller, the metadata from the publisher was not complete, ADE crashed. At any rate, I really don't like ADE as a general ebook reader. It's too chatty. I pay for my ebooks so I don't see why my reading habits or whatever need to be collected. The problem is that there really isn't a good ebook reader for mac as far as I know.
Like
Version 4.0.2
Panocha
17 November 2014
It looks like a really fugly attempt to copy Calibre, but to even compare them is unfair to Calibre because this is so limited in comparison.
Like
Version 4.0.2
1 answer(s)
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
18 November 2014
Wow. If this is an ugly copy of Calibre, it must be really ugly! I mean, Calibre might have looked acceptable on 10.4. It may be the ugliest programme I use on a daily basis.

Still, I don't know why you are comparing them. Calibre is a very different kind of programme. Most people I know do not use it for reading, they use it for managing their ebooks. Digital editions is a reader, not really a manager (or, not a very good manager anyway). What I don't like is that it hasn't been secure.
Like
Forn
08 October 2014
Phones home immediately and sends A LOT of informations to Adobe.. It even crawls the HD. Read all here: http://the-digital-reader.com/2014/10/06/adobe-spying-users-collecting-data-ebook-libraries/#.VDTgG-c1hww
Like
Version 3.0
Aadams77
21 July 2014
NO uninstall feature, NO uninstall tool, NO uninstall step-by-step support page...several UNanswered uninstall "support" questions in their forum (REALLY Adobe, is that the best that you can do)...I am baffled that a major software company that builds MacOS apps would deliver those apps using an installer and NOT providing any straightforward removal option(s)! In any event, here is a post from earlier today asking for help with the SAME issue that I am having with trying to uninstall this junk software (hopefully he/she gets an answer soon): https://forums.adobe.com/message/6570142
Like
Version 3.0
3 answer(s)
Aadams77
Aadams77
31 October 2014
Well, STILL no movement on the above link in the Adobe "Support" forums...

...so, I just posted my question to the Apple Support Communities in the hope that some kind and knowledgable soul will take notice:
https://discussions.apple.com/message/26995014
Like
Aadams77
Aadams77
31 October 2014
Here (again) hopefully with some BETTER spacing?

Well, STILL no movement on the above link in the Adobe "Support" forums...

...so, I just posted my question to the Apple Support Communities in the hope that some kind and knowledgable soul will take notice:

https://discussions.apple.com/message/26995014
Like
Strider72
Strider72
18 November 2014
I can verify -- via Pacifist -- that the installer for Version 3 only installs the app. Yes, it's silly that they use an installer for what should be drag-and-drop; but that's really all it installs. (Of course it also makes a prefs files after you run it....)
Like
Jazzyguy
13 March 2014
Great App in every way!
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Jazzyguy
04 March 2014
Very nice little app and Free!
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Libertyforall1776
03 March 2014
3.0 is out! http://www.adobe.com/products/digital-editions/download.html
Like
Version 2.0
MikeM1873
26 November 2013
The only reason I'm looking into this app is because when I try to run a new app I have called ePub to PDF, it tells me to run this adobe app first...along with a 'quit program' button and no other options... I'm now wondering if its all worth the hassle...anyone have an opinion?
Like
Version 2.0
Since my last review, I've sort of amended my position on this one. Not the best reader around, and certainly there are tons of issues in dealing with Adobe... however there are just as many in dealing with Apple where ebooks are concerned. In one aspect, I find it more convenient and exceptionally better than the outdated Stanza: quick testing the middle ground for ebooks I'm publishing.
Like
Version 1.8.1
Chocky
07 January 2012
Hands down the worst ebook reader out there. Its only purpose seems to be to access DRM encrusted offerings from public libraries.
Like
Version 1.8.1
Diarbyrag
11 December 2011
With Adobe's recent upgrade policy announcements I personally intend to have as little software as possible with the word Adobe on it anywhere near my computer even if they are giving it away ! When will they learn what customers want, they should leave their walled development castle, take off the blindfolds and travel out among real people, Viva Indies !
Like (2)
Version 1.8.1
anonymous-dingo-653
11 December 2011
Definitely one of the most unfriendly, unversatile readers out there. And with Calibre around for format translation, well, ADE is essentially pointless.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.1
Enyox
26 November 2010
Completely unusable. You cannot copy selected text, the app is very sluggish, when you try to print > save to pdf the program freezes. This was my last ebook purchase!
Like (3)
Version 1.7.2
Aw21
11 September 2010
Crapware at its best.
Like (4)
Version 1.7.2
Borlox
25 July 2010
Fully embodies Adobe's habitual contempt for its users. Even leaving aside the intrinsically hostile nature of what it does, mere words can't convey how bad the interface is. It's nothing but a big Flash presentation. Like all Flash content, it's visual garbage. Need to activate an account? Don't bother trying to cut and paste your username and password -- you have to type them in, and get it right the first time, because if you make a mistake, you have to start over. Need to download a book? Don't plan on reading anything until it's done. Drop dead, Adobe, and take Flash with you.
Like (12)
Version 1.7.1
Macsweep
05 March 2010
Adobe Digital Editions is such a load of garbage...!!! The interface is very unintuitive. Looks like they took a windows application and brought it over to the Mac. The Page-Forward and Backward buttons are at the bottom of the window and are upward and downward -- that is to say vertically oriented. The natural way would be at the top and horizontally oriented. Clicking on the scroll bar has no more effect that clicking on the up/down scroll buttons, and to make matters worse the scroll buttons are Windows-like in that they are at the top and bottom of the window with no option to put them both on the bottom in a Mac-like fashion. The Adobe Digital Editions window will no remember it's position from one launch to the next. So, at each launch the user has to resize it. It also does not remember what size the document was last time. It starts out full-page, which may be fine on a low resolution screen. The only reason to use this junky piece of software is DRM and encrypted ebooks. And that is the ONLY reason I use it. If someone, anyone, knows of a better alternative that will handle DRM and encrypted PDF and maybe other ebook formats, please give a response here and a recommendation.
Like (6)
Version 1.7.1
Chrischram
02 July 2009
Version 1.7.1 has been out since April. I wonder why it's showing up on these sites today.
Like
Version 1.7.1