Back to PhotoStyler page
PhotoStyler free download for Mac

PhotoStyler Reviews

6.8.5
25 September 2015

Add a sense of realism to your digital photos.

Polkadot
11 November 2011

Most helpful

PhotoStyler is one of the best programs of it's kind, IMHO, getting better with each release. It's value is increased by an outstanding and very responsive customer support. After submitting a problem report I received an updated test version almost immediatly, two days later an official update was released.
Like (7)
Version 6.0.1

Read 21 PhotoStyler User Reviews

Rate this app:

ben-stamp
25 April 2015
Although this (and other comparable apps) uses the default CIFilters from Apple this one has some great way of putting those in one package. Simple to use and results are pretty nice.
Like
Version 6.8.2
Fishboy
26 March 2015
I downloaded the app, but the demo places a ridiculous amount of watermarks across the filtered photo (more than 60 watermarks!), making it virtually impossible to view final results clearly. Most of the other high-end filtering apps are unrestricted during the demo period (ie: Totally Rad, OnOne Software, Nik Software, and Pixelmator, all offer a better demo experience with NO watermarks)
Like (3)
Version 6.7
1 answer(s)
zlazkow
zlazkow
27 September 2018
Yes. I like the application, but I've never seen any developer to cover the entire image in demo with ugly watermarks. Impossible to take a quick look or any look.
Like
Emmanuel-a3f43eb2
29 March 2013
Super easy to use and incredibly powerful. No other program has been able to do what this application can do with such ease and speed. I've used similar programs but they tend to have the same exact or similar filters, this application on the other hand can do a lot more and in a much cooler way.
Like (1)
Version 6.5.3
Magosilvan
27 October 2012
Simple yet powerful app with a rich number of presets (try Capuccino effect for instance) and a good support from the developer.
Like (1)
Version 6.5.2
Macatak
15 October 2012
Has potential. Amazing range of presets. Some observations (if developers read these things): - when app first launches and you choose an image, it opens image with the presets selector, with no obvious way to just get to the plain image and then work with it - if you close that window and open a subsequent image, it opens to an editing space; this is my expected behaviour; however, opens half-way off the screen! need to reposition window - then you can add filters - this initial launch behaviour can be modified in Preferences, to open a new blank project by default and show the Library; to me, this should be the default behaviour, but obviously the developers do not, so fine, but at least make it clear, perhaps with a button at the top, how to open the plain photo in a workspace - when viewing the Library, it is not clear how to apply the effects; for example, when applying a frame design, you'd think double-clicking would add the texture, wood let's say, but it does not; you have to drag the texture on to the palette, but holy cow, the Library is positioned over top of that filter dialog, so you have to move it; I am working on a MacBook Pro, so clearly the screen real estate is a factor, but I don't like that design; make the toolbars/palettes/libraries/presets/whatever all snap as docked screens on the side or bottom by default, resizing the centre image workspace, so that then they can be undocked as a user chooses, so as to clearly present to the user the options available - look at apps such as Photoshop...it opens with a default set of toolbars and palettes (floating mind you, but still visible!), that are easily customisable, but right from the get-go you have access to the core functions of the app; that's the paradigm folks are used to, IMHO - some windows do not focus properly; oddly, the About window shows up behind the Library; I am not a programmer, but that surely is not how something like that should work - if you have a workspace open and want to see Presets, you have to use a keyboard shortcut or choose a menu option; once the Presets screen opens, there is no (obvious) way to get back to the other screen - right now, the app is a bit haphazard in its design layout, with odd window behaviours and some aspects not terribly intuitive - you could avoid much of this by making the first Preset as 'none' or something suitable - this is just my opinion! - at version 6, I am somewhat surprised these elements still exist - I see some of these issues, interestingly, are addressed in the Neatberry online FAQ; my view is if the issue has to be addressed in an FAQ, it needs to be changed in the app as a default behaviour, generally, or that function revisited and revised to make it more intuitive - add comprehensive watermarking tools and PhotoStyler has the potential to be the ultimate styler app
Like (3)
Version 6.5.1
1 answer(s)
Gobra
Gobra
15 October 2012
Thanks a lot for the detailed comment. We'll do our best to ake the UI more obvious and clean in version 7.
Like (1)
IzzyRoberts
22 August 2012
Please can you offer a step by step to masking, I want to create a 'Colour splash' but it doesn't seem to working. Not sure if it is me or the app. Many thanks.
Like
Version 6.4
Vroller
03 December 2011
Nice App, perhaps a bit complex for a basic user. Nice effects and frames. not really important but the icon is a copy/clone of instagram. good app
Like (2)
Version 6.0.1
1 answer(s)
Gobra
Gobra
08 December 2011
Hi, If you miss some features - let us know, the app is 80% built by users requests. Regarding the icon - not quite. "Instagram" icon is just a real-world camera, "Polaroid 600" actually. Our icon is a kind of compilation of the instant-cam basement, pro lens and flash. It's designed to show that PhotoStyler can produce styling and low-level processing as well, i.e. is "widely focused".
Like (11)
Polkadot
11 November 2011
PhotoStyler is one of the best programs of it's kind, IMHO, getting better with each release. It's value is increased by an outstanding and very responsive customer support. After submitting a problem report I received an updated test version almost immediatly, two days later an official update was released.
Like (7)
Version 6.0.1
Zx81
19 March 2011
I was not aware that Photostyler now "belonged" to a company called Neatberry and thet Corner-A had somehow been bought over ; from their site : "Our employes worked for AppsForLife and CornerA software brands". Well, I'd hate to be pessimistic, but this kind of move rarely led to something positive (RIP : Mori, Iview, MyPhotoEdit) Wait & see. Notes for the 5.3 update : "Since version 5.3 PhotoStyler is owned by the Neatberry vendor. All current licenses are valid and there are no charges planned, however, app Id was changed and it will query for license data and some other params. Visit product F.A.Q. page to get few tips about migration." I wonder what "some other params" are.
Like (2)
Version 5.3
3 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
19 March 2011
From the Photostyler FAQ, how to update to the new Neatberry app and fix some problems : "Since version 5.3 PhotoStyler is represented by Neatberry software vendor, not Corner-A. Old licenses are still valid and there is no need to purchase a new one, however, application bundle Id was changed and the app asks license data yet again. Plus, user textures and presets library is not visible. How to fix this? Quite simple, You must open ~/Library and locate some data there. First is com.corner-a.PhotoStyler.plist file located in the Preferences sub-folder, rename it to the com.neatberry.PhotoStyler. This will keep old license data and app’s preferences. Second, open Application Support and rename Corner-A Library folder to the Neatberry Library – this will move old presets and textures to the new app. All above is easier to do before the first run of the new app!" Couldn't they fix it themselves?
Like (1)
Gobra
Gobra
23 March 2011
This case is strongly different. Corner-A & AppsForLife were "allied" vendors with some number of mutual projects, co-compaigns of advertising and so on. Now we have a single vendor, single website, single support e-mail, single store with cross-sales discounts and special offers. But there are still the same guys behind the scene working on this software. For instance, I'm still the main developer of the PhotoStyler and LightFrame.
Like (2)
Gobra
Gobra
23 March 2011
Forgot to reply about this renames. Well, I though about managing this in auto-mode, but I personally hate software that changes anything on my machine at it's taste. It's just IMHO, but I really prefer a manual import of old data, for instance. I must be able to use older version of the app if I want to (PhotoStyler licenses are valid since version 1.0 and downgrade can be performed anytime). So, I thought it's not a bit point to re-enter the license or rename a file. Most people don't extend the Library and use built-in presets and textures - no changes for them at all.
Like (2)
Sealos
14 February 2011
I purchased this in a mini-bundle with Photostyler and I'm very pleased with the apps so far. I had a small issue with LightFrame and the dev made an immediate fix and updated the software. The only thing that is keeping me from giving it higher than a 4 is the general lack of documentation. The dev is VERY accessible, but it would be nice to have a detailed set of documentation.
Like (2)
Version 5.2.1
Malreynolds
14 February 2011
Would love to get this but I'm still running OS X 10.5. :( If I do buy this, will my activation code work for the older version for 10.5? And when and if I do upgrade to 10.6, will I be able to install or upgrade to the newer version with the same activation code?
Like
Version 5.2
1 answer(s)
Gobra
Gobra
14 February 2011
Yes, the license is valid for ALL versions. You can get version for 10.5 from the app website and upgrade later.
Like (1)
Patoche
17 October 2010
Every new version change for the better.. Il like very much this last one... On my Mac Pro the preview are blazing quick, and gives good idea for new treatments. Very good work, thanks to the dev, it is apps like this one that make me loving the Mac. Now if you can go with a preset called Leica style... ;-)
Like (3)
Version 4.5
Julsa1
05 September 2010
Very nice app if programms like Photoshop are "too much". Easy to use and the results are great ! Developer is quick in response and provides great service ! Worth every penny !
Like (3)
Version 4.1
Revco
23 August 2010
I'm in two minds about this app. I like what it does but I really dislike the interface and workflow. Those filter and tool bar icons everywhere are just too distracting. An option to just list the filters would be nice. As would an on/off checkbox next to the filters list instead of clicking on that little white blob in the used filter panel.
Like (4)
Version 4.0.4
1 answer(s)
Gobra
Gobra
17 October 2010
Thanks for the comment. I have spend some time re-designing the UI and I hope this new one from version 4.5 looks more OSX-style and closer to a regular graphics editor view.
Like (1)
Version 4.5
Soderberg
21 August 2010
Loving this app, very flexible and customizable. Especially like that you can layer filter effects plus import your own images as textures, which means the end results are virtually unlimited. There are plenty of parameters within the editors to tweak filters, and a configurable masking option so you can choose which parts of your image to apply each filter/texture to. This isn't for detail editing scenarios where you want to change the content of images, it's for quickly & easily enhancing/embellishing/layering images; it gives lots of options to be creative with how you mix & match, use filters etc., while not requiring the learning curve, time or cash that something like Photoshop requires - this is a "plug and play" setup. Custom presets of favourite filter/effect combinations make it easy to reproduce results when you put together a great "style". Also very impressed with the responsiveness of the developer. I ran into a couple of bugs and sent a report with my email address, and he wrote back within a couple of hours and within another couple had addressed the issues and fixed them; communication was attentive and thorough and he graciously answered my questions as well as addressed the bugs. Highly recommended!
Like (1)
Version 4.0.3
Marrlin
08 March 2010
Great App. Lots of fun for playing with your digital photos.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.1
Brighton-Pete
30 January 2010
A lot of people use Photoshop & its siblings. Most don't. This is a quick & easy app for transforming your photo's. It didn't work at first with my new iMac, but after a few quick e-mails to the author, this is the result. It works great & is fast. It includes a number of one-click filters and you are done. The frame is a bit simple, but for all else it does, it does so quite well. I like it.
Like (5)
Version 2.5.2
Helmo-Hass
02 January 2010
funny application.. but that's all.. Being addicted to PS since ever, I just find it useless on my own works. Not with the intention to open any flame, but comparing such a kind of toy to Adobe's PS... its just ridiculous If you can't use PS becose is a very complex tool and probably you don't have the necessary knowledge and probably the time to use it, its another story.
Like (2)
Version 2.4
1 answer(s)
Gobra
Gobra
03 January 2010
It is not correct to compare Adobe PhotoShop and PhotoStyler... It's like heavy armored tank and bicycle. First is really cool and powerful, but it is costly and some people need a bicycle, nothing more :) PhotoStyler is designed for quick photos editing: mostly color correction, frames and styling and i hope it does it's job well. Thanks for your comment!
Like (21)
Version 2.4
Sjsw
28 December 2009
I agree with MACTECHHEAD this is indeed an impressive little program. The "tatter" feature is, in my opinion, amazing in it's simplicity as well as it's output. It would take quite a while to pull the same thing off in PS and I haven't seen a PS action that does the same thing with quite as much control. My only quibble, and I want to stress this is not a deal breaker, is that I think that the price is slightly high for the relatively few "tricks" that it does. That being said, I'm considering purchasing a license because what PhotoStyler does do, it does very, very well and I really apreciate that aspect in ANY program. Congrats to the developer and hopefully he will keep adding features as development progresses.
Like (3)
Version 2.4
Will-O-Wisp
13 July 2009
Nice piece of software, but there are lots of improvements i'd like to see. Application lacks non-rectangular frames, doesn't contain color effects for Polaroid (dodge + noise and blur maybe), vintage. Built-in textures library is quite small, it looks like a "hint" not a complete tool. So my rating is 4 and i hope this one will grow.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Remote-Pc-Access-Software
Remote-Pc-Access-Software
23 October 2010
i am very fond of expose pictures and if i am talk about this photostyler then i would like to say that its easy programs like Photo shop are as well much and easy to use, the grades are great it provide fantastic service and output is great. remote pc access software pc access
Like
Version 4.5.1
Anonymous
02 July 2009
Exactly what my wife needs! I just ordered a copy and it seems she will sit all the night with our family photos :) Most of other image enhancers requires to know too much about color processing, this one talks on a "human" language. It is hard to think about brightness or color balance if you just want to make a funny-looking image.
Like (3)
Version 1.0