Back to Subler page
Subler free download for Mac

Subler Reviews

06 September 2021

Mux and tag your MP4 files.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
OhEssex
OhEssex
May 26 2021
1.6.11
0.0
May 26 2021
0.0
Version: 1.6.11
I have an issue with Subler and have been trying unsuccessfully for over 30 minutes to figure out how to contact the developer or make a post to the bitbucket site after creating an account. What a counter-intuitive mess! Does anybody know how I can make a post to bitbucket or reach the developer?
Hanssen-P
Hanssen-P
Jan 5 2021
1.6.10
0.0
Jan 5 2021
0.0
Version: 1.6.10
This crashed plenty times on my new Mac Mini M1. Maybe this isn't M1 ready? It's a free tool so no stars for complaining though.
Mcr
Mcr
Oct 16 2020
1.6.7
5.0
Oct 16 2020
5.0
Version: 1.6.7
MACUPDATE: versions of Subler from 1.6.6 and later are Universal apps, capable of running on Intel and Apple Silicon CPUs, according to the developer. See developer note here https://bitbucket.org/galad87/subler/wiki/Release%20Notes . MU needs to start (or very soon) noting Universal compatibility in the app descriptions. The first Apple Silicon Mac will be available before the end of 2020 according to Apple, and will be running macOS 11, Big Sur.
A1D
A1D
May 23 2020
1.6.5
5.0
May 23 2020
5.0
Version: 1.6.5
Very useful, free tool. One of my video toolbox (as well as avidemux, mkvtoolnix and vlc) Big Thanks for the Devs!
heathsharp
heathsharp
Jan 13 2020
1.6.1
0.0
Jan 13 2020
0.0
Version: 1.6.1
The current version 1.6.1 crashes when trying to run on the latest version of Mac OS
jakedebacker
jakedebacker
Dec 23 2019
1.6
0.0
Dec 23 2019
0.0
Version: 1.6
I can't get this app to launch? I open the zip to install; the app opens in the downloads folder but when I double-click, nothing happens? Any help appreciated!
maricsbence05
maricsbence05
Oct 24 2019
1.5.20
5.0
Oct 24 2019
5.0
Version: 1.5.20
ah.... AWESOME! 10 Star! :)
steve-merritt
steve-merritt
Aug 14 2019
1.5.17
1.0
Aug 14 2019
1.0
Version: 1.5.17
Something's wrong with the most recent update. It won't load - I get a MacOS message saying it's corrupt. I'r redownloaded it twice after the in-app update also failed.
persecutor
persecutor
Jan 26 2019
1.5.8
5.0
Jan 26 2019
5.0
Version: 1.5.8
Good, very good indeed!
Mcr
Mcr
Oct 16 2018
1.5.3
5.0
Oct 16 2018
5.0
Version: 1.5.3
Is it just me, on version 1.5.3, all tracks get muxed even the ones i have UNchecked?
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Oct 6 2018
1.5.3
0.0
Oct 6 2018
0.0
Version: 1.5.3
Lame there is no built in help as to the settings to select.
watson-lisaa
watson-lisaa
Aug 19 2018
1.5
2.5
Aug 19 2018
2.5
Version: 1.5
It's great when it works which is far less often than when it crashes. Unfortunately, I haven't found anything that can replace it.
anonymous-dingo-702
anonymous-dingo-702
Apr 1 2018
1.4.9
5.0
Apr 1 2018
5.0
Version: 1.4.9
I would be glad to make a donation if I could get instructions I could understand. E.g . , I can't figure out how to add HARD subtitles -- it's a great app, but I need clearer directions -- non-technical.
Uncoy
Uncoy
Mar 24 2018
1.4.9
5.0
Mar 24 2018
5.0
Version: 1.4.9
Interface is very intuitive, apart from the strange Queue. As it takes just seconds to add titles to a track, I'm not sure why it needs a render queue at all and that mux operations are not just performed when ready. Probably goes back to a time of weaker and single processor computer. Worth considering retiring queue. What's especially awesome is that if your subtitles have an issue, it's very easy to preview the rendered file and then re-edit with corrected subtitles without having to rebuild from the original media file. I.e. Subler is non-destructive, it's final videos as editable as text in a Word Processor. Keep in mind you do need a subtitle application and the only one which is any pleasure to use at all is the fairly expensive Chinese Subtitle Edit Pro available on Apple's App Store only. Unlike Apple's software, the nitty gritty (which is important when encoding) is not hidden from you in Subler. But it's not cluttered either. Subler is one of the most impressive free applications I've ever used and much better than many expensive AV tools. Real professional software.
Andreore
Andreore
Mar 15 2018
1.4.8
5.0
Mar 15 2018
5.0
Version: 1.4.8
Nice and powerful little tool to assemble video MP4 files. I find it irreplaceable to arrange media files in MP4 containers, including metadata and optimize the final files. A perfect addition to ffWorks or similar encoding programs.
davidvh
davidvh
Feb 11 2017
1.2.5
5.0
Feb 11 2017
5.0
Version: 1.2.5
Amazing app! A must have to add & remove audio, subtitles, and chapters. Tags movies and television shows, too!
Capn-Morgan
Capn-Morgan
Dec 2 2016
1.2.2
5.0
Dec 2 2016
5.0
Version: 1.2.2
Awesome app. I had been using Identify for years. A very welcome replacement. Works as advertised.
Charles-Fessart
Charles-Fessart
Oct 10 2016
1.1.8
5.0
Oct 10 2016
5.0
Version: 1.1.8
Muxing and metadating!
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
May 28 2016
1.0.9
4.0
May 28 2016
4.0
Version: 1.0.9
I discovered and checked out this app last night. Not bad at all for a free app . . . even though it doesn't meet my particular needs. I particularly like the fact that it automatically polls themoviedb.org website, retrieves cover art from there, and lets the user choose which cover art to add as the file's new Finder icon. If you do this with all of your video files, and then view the Finder window in icon view, set to 256 to 512 pixels, it presents a very nice display of your video collection.
mone741120
mone741120
Mar 30 2016
1.0.9
0.0
Mar 30 2016
0.0
Version: 1.0.9
Whatever I set the down mix setting from other audio codec to to AAC, the final setting after I import the video file will be AAC. 2ch
eswank
eswank
Jan 28 2016
1.0.8
4.0
Jan 28 2016
4.0
Version: 1.0.8
Great app. I was able to successfully add the explicit tags on my music. One issue I'm having is that when I sync the tracks to my iPhone, the "E" doesn't show up on the tracks that I edited with Subler. Anyone know how to help with this? Also, I wish you could add multiple tracks to a queue and do them all at once. I've been having to add the explicit tag one by one and doing the same thing with importing them to iTunes.
lucasm248
lucasm248
Jan 21 2016
1.0.8
5.0
Jan 21 2016
5.0
Version: 1.0.8
Must have
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
Jan 10 2016
1.0.8
0.0
Jan 10 2016
0.0
Version: 1.0.8
Awesome app however with each update Subler registers itself as the default app for certain video formats such as MP4 (I use VLC for all playback). Annoying but it may be an OS X thing rather than Subler trying to 'hijack' my settings.
delveccio
delveccio
Dec 19 2015
1.0.6
5.0
Dec 19 2015
5.0
Version: 1.0.6
I am legally blind and I use Subler to add audio descriptions to my video podcast so that my blind friends can also enjoy it. I am by no means a pro, but Subler made it very easy to add an audio description track so that my videos would be accessible to the blind. I couldn't believe it was free, and I am thankful it exists! Here's a tutorial I made on how to make videos accessible to the blind by adding audio descriptions using Subler: https://youtu.be/1siUNBsR_Gg
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Nov 19 2015
1.0.6
0.0
Nov 19 2015
0.0
Version: 1.0.6
Anyone managed to use other language libraries than english? If add one language from the source at 'https://code.google.com/p/tesseract-ocr/downloads/list' to the suggested folder '~/Library/Application Support/Subler/tessdata' subtitle conversion stops working.
gtrsteve
gtrsteve
Nov 18 2015
1.0.6
0.0
Nov 18 2015
0.0
Version: 1.0.6
When I open Subler Version 1.0.6, it lists it as 1.0.6 in the about Section. But if I right click Get Info on the icon, it lists as 1.0.5. Then I click on Quick Look "Subler.app" it lists it as 1.0.6. This is very odd.
Jon-Stovell
Jon-Stovell
Sep 1 2015
1.0
5.0
Sep 1 2015
5.0
Version: 1.0
I use Subler to add full metadata to my video files. It intelligently identifies the video, retrieves the correct metadata and artwork, and embeds it into the file, and does it perfectly every single time. I have never yet seen it make a mistake (although I suppose if I intentionally misnamed my files I could fool it). And it is all so painless. Love it.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
May 25 2015
0.31
0.0
May 25 2015
0.0
Version: 0.31
If I have a default audio track which is with commentary and I want the default to be the audio track WITHOUT commentary, does Subler have a way I can switch this? Manually changing it each time via Apple TV is a pain. Alternately if not, what other tool can do this and what sets this parameter? TIA
davidv-2
davidv-2
Apr 28 2015
0.31
3.0
Apr 28 2015
3.0
Version: 0.31
This is actually a nice app, and I like it. However, I knocked off two stars because, after running the app, I found that it had been set as the default app for files with an MP4 extension. I can only assume that Subler made the change, which I consider downright offensive. If I am mistaken about the source of the drive-by modification, or if the developer fixes this fault, I'll be happy to revise my rating upward.
Raven-
Raven-
Nov 8 2014
0.29
5.0
Nov 8 2014
5.0
Version: 0.29
A very great app. A gratefully thank you!
TCalhau
TCalhau
Nov 4 2014
0.27
5.0
Nov 4 2014
5.0
Version: 0.27
Simply amazing and without doubt deserving of 5 stars! PERFECT!!!
Ruud-Altenburg
Ruud-Altenburg
Apr 18 2014
0.25
5.0
Apr 18 2014
5.0
Version: 0.25
Contrary to its what its name suggests, this app handles many tasks: mkv to m4v conversion, subtitle export (as srt) and meta tagging. It does take some effort to get it running on the latest versions of OS X (visit the website for info) and it lacks batch features, but I consider it essential.
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
Jan 11 2014
0.25
4.0
Jan 11 2014
4.0
Version: 0.25
I needed to fix some stubbornly unco-operative subtitles. It took a bit of hit and miss but I discovered the only method that worked was saving to .m4v and Forcing All Samples subtitles. Then I opened the .m4v file in QT 7 Pro and resaved it as a self-contained .mov. Bit round about but it was the only thing that worked.
atuser
atuser
Nov 21 2013
0.25
0.0
Nov 21 2013
0.0
Version: 0.25
The best tagger. However since v0.24, I'm unable to tag Rating as "USA movie: Unrated". After saving, it will always end up as "Unknown movie & TV: Unknown". Bug?
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
Oct 31 2013
0.24
4.5
Oct 31 2013
4.5
Version: 0.24
First, I was so relieved to find Subler. I use both MKV and MP4 for different reasons, and until now I could not do much about thumbnails, covers, and/or metadata for MP4. It is exceptional... but not as good as the sound/music metadata editors (and same for MKV) that I use... and I am speaking of actual "editors". Unlike what is claimed on the developer's websites, this is not a metadata "editor." Importing metadata makes it a... well, metadata "importer"... not "editor." And such a shame that it is not otherwise. I have found both TVDB and iTunes have typos, errata, and outright errors now and then in the metadata they distribute. In addition, iTunes has the worst thumbs, covers, and screens I have seen across the internet. iTunes also puts data into fields where it does not belong by media type. Lack of actual editing combined with mislabeling the ability to do so was frustrating, because I expected actual editing capability when I downloaded Subler. But it is far better in what it does than most comparable applications in the Mac world.
Anomia
Anomia
Oct 7 2013
0.23
4.0
Oct 7 2013
4.0
Version: 0.23
Thanks for a wonderful utility for movies on the mac. there is a problem that needs to be fixed by installing an updated codec, the info is here - http://www.techisky.com/how-to/solve-subler-mountain-lion-passthrough-ac3-audio-issue.html#comment-9109 It solved my strange crash and no response issues in multiple versions that had worked until an update. Also if it could be updated to an 64bit program
Albabe
Albabe
Jun 19 2013
0.19
0.0
Jun 19 2013
0.0
Version: 0.19
I've had "iffy" luck with Subler. I followed the Directions to the Letter, and the ap runs the length of the Progress Bar and then just stops. I'm on an old Intel 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Xeon in Snow Leopard.
Anomia
Anomia
Jun 2 2013
0.19
4.0
Jun 2 2013
4.0
Version: 0.19
What a great tool and although it's not yet 64bit once that happens along with a few more tweaks, I can't see what else there is to want!!! Thanks!
tomtomklub
tomtomklub
Apr 30 2013
0.19
0.0
Apr 30 2013
0.0
Version: 0.19
Also useful for editing metadata of non-DRM'ed m4a purchases from the iTunes store.
Tchong
Tchong
Mar 31 2013
0.19
4.5
Mar 31 2013
4.5
Version: 0.19
Awesome app to add .srt subtitles to m4v file, to add others audios/chapters tracks or to rename the tracks. Usefull to mux a mkv file to m4v without re-encoding.
ben-marko
ben-marko
Feb 11 2013
0.19
0.5
Feb 11 2013
0.5
Version: 0.19
Found this to be difficult and unreliable. Loaded my .mp4 file, then Subler automatically found the .srt file and loaded that as well. But no clear menu choice to begin conversion. Tried clicking several of the buttons in the window, nothing begins muxing. Ridiculous. Even for free, this is a bad value.
GeogProf
GeogProf
Dec 22 2012
0.19
0.0
Dec 22 2012
0.0
Version: 0.19
I’m curious — why has Subler grown between versions 0.18 and 0.19 from 12.5 MB to 30.5 MB?
Thomas-Svendsen
Thomas-Svendsen
Nov 9 2012
0.18
4.0
Nov 9 2012
4.0
Version: 0.18
It works good when it does not crash. But ir crashes too often.
BahCmoa
BahCmoa
Oct 26 2012
0.18
3.5
Oct 26 2012
3.5
Version: 0.18
A pity that it crashes so often :( ... and for what i want to do, it would be perfect if we could select a codepage for the subtitles and not just a language cause i use many chinese subtitles, some in mandarin (simplified) and some in cantonese (traditional) and they have different codepage but i only can choose "chinese" as language so i often have "????#??&???" as subtitles :( ... Otherwise i like the ability to get all the infos as tag for a movie :) Something else, when we import a movie, we can choose to convert or passthrue for any track, it would be perfect if we can have this ability in the main window too, it would prevent to close and reimport a movie when we made a wrong choice.
Tam-Mott
Tam-Mott
Jul 26 2012
0.15
5.0
Jul 26 2012
5.0
Version: 0.15
I have been using this app running Mac OS X Lion, and I loved it. It was an amazing way to remux and add artwork and information to film files. However, since upgrading to Mountain Lion, the app doesn't open. That be great if there was the ability to add divx files and re-encode them to mp4 too. Please, please, please make an update that is compatible with Mountain Lion!
niewiesznic-1
niewiesznic-1
Jul 19 2012
0.15
4.0
Jul 19 2012
4.0
Version: 0.15
It was awesome, suddenly stopped working. Not working on 10.7.4. :( Please update !!!
Gamby
Gamby
Jun 26 2012
0.15
4.5
Jun 26 2012
4.5
Version: 0.15
I loved it on my MBP, and decided to install it on my iMac, but then it wouldn't take MKV or MP4(some of them)? I get a red stop sign, it won't even try, i always end up with a 444kb file. Help! And the last half star is yours :D My iMac is running Lion and Snow Leopard for the MBP. Thanks
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
Jun 23 2012
0.15
4.0
Jun 23 2012
4.0
Version: 0.15
In their wiki page: http://code.google.com/p/subler/wiki/UsingSubler They say: "- iii) Selecting the subtitle track in the listing will display an editor allowing you to make changes to the visual appearance of the subtitles." But when select the subtitle track in the listing I don't see any editor to make changes to the visual appearance of the subtitles. The subtitles always appear with a semi-transparent grey bar background, It's very annoying because it obscures the the movie image. :-( How do I remove this semi-transparent grey bar background from the subtitles? Thanks! Great and fast app, but this background thing ruins everything for me.
silverhand31
silverhand31
Jun 21 2012
0.15
4.0
Jun 21 2012
4.0
Version: 0.15
Nice, quick convert mkv -> mp4, without any config. I love that. BTW I can't not add new files in the Queue window, always crash.
OsloX
OsloX
May 19 2012
0.15
5.0
May 19 2012
5.0
Version: 0.15
Together with IFFmpeg a must have. Powerful for adding subtitles the easy way. Thank you for keeping this free !!