Back to Evom page
Evom free download for Mac

Evom Reviews

1.0.2
13 August 2014

Convert videos for playback on iPod, AppleTV, or iTunes.

Bleech-Jef
17 June 2011

Most helpful

Evom is comparable to VidConverter but general generates much better results for the iPod and Apple TV presets. High quality all the way. Sadly it doesn't support xvid which I need. If it had, it would be a winner.
Like (3)
Version 0.99j

Read 34 Evom User Reviews

Rate this app:

WisdomL0RD
09 November 2012
Only creates black-blanc movies when the source is mkv therefore useless.
Like
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Ean
Ean
13 August 2014
From the dev's website:

What kind of videos can I convert?

Pretty much anything. If you run into a video that will not convert, please contact us and we'll look into fixing it asap.
Like
Sliwkaj
08 August 2012
Works nicely on Mountain Lion. Simple, but stable.
Like
Version 0.99m
Evom is pretty good in what it does - converting to idevices. It has no problems with timestamps and most times the quality is good to very good. Way better then other similar apps as Vidconvert.
Like
Version 0.99m
Pripyat
13 January 2012
We seriously need a fix for Mac OS X Lion. I've sent you some crash reports, but never heard back from you. Can't convert anything without a crash.
Like
Version 0.99m
Marco-2
15 November 2011
Neat converter for simple tasks. Thx for the free tool
Like
Version 0.99m
Bikeham
31 October 2011
Currently broken under Lion
Like (2)
Version 0.99m
Bleech-Jef
17 June 2011
Evom is comparable to VidConverter but general generates much better results for the iPod and Apple TV presets. High quality all the way. Sadly it doesn't support xvid which I need. If it had, it would be a winner.
Like (3)
Version 0.99j
Michael-Sebrecht
02 February 2011
Not bad but lacks some options. Free it is, so no complaints. ;)
Like
Version 0.99j
Greedyfranky
01 February 2011
If you are in need for a simple converting this the one to go imo No advanced features though. Results are good to very good.
Like
Version 0.99j
iMacintoshPower
04 January 2011
this is a plain and simple way to convert mov. files into what so ever. i really do not know why people disagree on this app. its a FREE plain and simple app that shows beginners how to convert movies file into other mainly basic files that other programs are mostly recognize as.
Like (2)
Version 0.99j
Stassi
01 October 2010
I just spent HOURS trying to get a Windows .avi file of a screen recording to work correctly on my Mac. Perian didn't work, neither Quicktime would work - the audio simply wouldn't play. After trying LOTS of conversion programs and even pro software (Premiere, Final Cut) I was about to give up. I'd almost had it working with Tune4Mac, but it turned the whole thing orange! I found mention of this on a website, and in 2 minutes had beautiful working .mov files, audio and video working, and perfectly in sync. Thank You!
Like (1)
Version 0.99h
2 answer(s)
Teslanaut
Teslanaut
07 November 2010
You probably could have saved yourself time and used VLC or MPlayer to play the format.
Like
Version 0.99j
Stassi
Stassi
07 November 2010
When I said I'd tried LOTS of programs to try to do this, the first one I'd tried was VLC. Did not work. It would not convert the audio at all.
Like
Version 0.99j
I would love to switch from Stomp to Evom, but Stomp compressed the video for iPhone and had better dimensions and a smaller size for the video. If Evom can fix this, I'd definitely switch over. I love how simplistic the interface is, I just think it's missing a couple of things!
Like
Version 0.99h
Lawrence-Kan
27 July 2010
I found that when I export a HD MP4 video to MOV, the video and audio aren't synced. Also, the sound quality and the video quality not good.
Like
Version 0.99f
Lawrence-Kan
27 July 2010
A great app. But the sound quality is not pretty good if I export a video to iPod-compatible format.
Like
Version 0.99f
Bumbleb
03 July 2010
It's worked for me before, but this last batch I ran through never turned up anywhere. It completed the conversions, but the resulting files were nowhere to be found... Weird and a waste of time.
Like
Version 0.99b
Lnr1
18 May 2010
Good app. REALLY nice interface and works really well. The only thing I can complain about is that when the movie > mp3 files are imported into itunes, they don't take the name of files but they get given a random name. It would be good if this was changed.
Like
Version 0.99b
karsten-1
30 April 2010
The app is very easy to use, but i've tried to convert a wmv to mp4 and while the sound was ok, the video was jumping a lot. I've converted the video with Handbrake and the result was just what i wanted. I haven't tried to convert other files, so i guess it works great for other file formats. I guess with some under the hood improvements it would really become a nice alternative to the old visual hub. it's still beta, so i guess there's plenty potential left.
Like
Version 0.99b
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
11 February 2010
According to MacUpdate and the update module that's built into the app: Version 0.99b: Added automatic crash reporting framework. Added in-app feedback window (can be accessed through the Help menu). Other internal fixes. These were the supposed improvements for 0.99a. Why are they being repeated for 0.99b? The developer's own website doesn't even bother to list the changes in the version released on Feb 10. Why the obfuscation?
Like
Version 0.99b
randyharris
20 November 2009
I've used EVOM many time now to convert a variety of source input files for use on my AppleTV. It does a very stellar job of converting the video in my opinion, drop dead simple and it just works well. End of story. No settings to fuss with, just select AppleTV and press convert. It is not a fast transcode compared to some other applications I use, but I will say that it gives a more reliable high quality transfer than the other applications so I won't complain about the slower speed - it seems to result in a more reliable transcode. Audio conversion is where EVOM is lacking. Both Handbrake and the the now deprecated VisualHUB had the ability to retain Dolby Digital 5.1 audio track by doing either a 5.1 only, or a 2.0+5.1 audio tracks in the AppleTV files. If EVOM adds this ability to do 2.0+5.1 it will become my sole application for converting video for the AppleTV. Fantastic app that is lacking just one main feature (5.1+2.0). Ideally I would love to be able to bypass the internal metatagging and have it be able to pass the file on to a tagger of your choice, in my case it's iDentify.
Like
Version 0.97
Shmk
14 November 2009
When you open it for the first time it says it wants to install components what is it actually installing and where?
Like (1)
Version 0.97
2 answer(s)
Appscout
Appscout
11 December 2009
I agree. I'd like to know what gets 'downloaded and installed'. If I change my mind, I'd like to uninstall everything.
Like (1)
Version 0.98
Dokter-mac
Dokter-mac
11 December 2009
In your User Library/Application Support/Evom/ffmpeg (a Intel UNIX binary) ... That's the only one I know of. Greets.
Like
Version 0.98
Bikeham
26 September 2009
Apple TV import works now. Am very happy about this :)
Like
Version 0.97
Teslanaut
22 September 2009
Why have I not heard of this App before?!?!?!?!
Like (1)
Version 0.97
1 answer(s)
Teslanaut
Teslanaut
23 September 2009
Can we get the ability to change some encoding settings? I mean, when you say iPod, do you mean Nano? Touch? Classic? A little more control would be nice.
Like (1)
Version 0.97
Bikeham
30 August 2009
AppleTV setting doesn't work for me. I use iTunes instead, seems to work ok. I upgraded from earlier versions and something went amiss along the way?
Like
Version 0.96b
GeogProf
22 July 2009
This is a MUCH better version (compared to my attempt with v. 0.94b, listed below). Conversion of Underworld - Rise of the Lycans (720p. .mkv) this time was far, far better, though it took nearly 3 hours. The audio is as good as the conversion I made with MPEG Streamclip, and the video was very good too, though somewhat brighter and with a small amount of attendant pixelation in the bright areas. Impressively, the Evom 0.95b conversion came in at only 1.91 GB, compared to the MPEG Streamclip conversion at 3.98 GB from the 4.37 GB original. Making very good progress, and with seemingly appropriate settings for the m4p converter. The developer said s/he would fix the audio problem, and by golly s/he did! Kudos.
Like
Version 0.95b
1 answer(s)
GeogProf
GeogProf
22 July 2009
Actually, I realize now that it was not MPEG Streamclip that I used to make that first conversion of Underworld - Rise of the Lycans (720p).mkv, but rather Handbrake. Oh well.
Like
Version 0.95b
Bikeham
06 July 2009
I am having a problem with 0.95b. It keeps downloading new video components every time I initialise it. I've tried deleting and re-installing, deleting the plist files but still I am thwarted by this cantankerous problem. Apart from that, it works very nicely.
Like
Version 0.95b
The-Mast
17 June 2009
Great smooth little app. I haven't tested it extensively, but as far as I can tell, it does what it's supposed to. However, I would like a little leniency as far as final file formats go. I realize this is still in beta, but could you consider putting in an .m4v option in there?
Like (1)
Version 0.94b
Stanley-Marchal
14 June 2009
User it for some iPod conversions. Although they work the quality is not on par with other converters. Sometimes the result is messy and blocks popping up everywhere. A lot of work is still needed to make this converter useable. Too simple for me. Too few options. Too preliminary.
Like (1)
Version 0.94b
GeogProf
03 June 2009
Well, I tested Evom 0.94b by using it to convert 3 different video files into all of its available formats and comparing those to conversions of the same videos made with the latest versions of QuickTime, HandBrake (free) and MPEG Streamclip (free). The video quality of Evom's conversions was comparable to those of QT and HandBrake, but was substantially poorer than the conversion I made with MPEG Streamclip using the free x264Encoder QT plugin. The audio was another story -- it was substantially poorer in all cases. In fact, the audio was so poor that it completely overcame any advantage Evom accrues from its simplicity; so bad even that I removed it from my computer. If the developers of Evom can dramatically improve its audio conversion then I will again consider it for my super-simple conversion jobs (which is what it's made for). For now I will stick with the many other free alternatives that do a much better job, like HandBrake, MPEG Streamclip, VisualHub, iSquint, Prism, Video Monkey, The Exporter, etc.
Like
Version 0.94b
1 answer(s)
Johnrdevor
Johnrdevor
03 June 2009
Hi, we're looking into this audio issue and hope to have it resolved soon. Thanks for the feedback! :)
Like (1)
Version 0.94b
NomDeBits
30 May 2009
Works as advertised. Brilliant in its simplicity. This is a very no-nonsense approach. And what's most amazing to me is that these guys just spent a small fortune advertising on Daring Fireball. I came here ready to spend money, only to find that they're giving it away. I can't say that I've ever seen an independent freeware release promoted like this before. I look forward to seeing how this app develops. I don't want to see it bloated with features, but I'd love to see some scripting support. That, I'd definitely pay for. A scriptable version of this used with Hazel would be an impressive combination.
Like (2)
Version 0.93b
mathew-peterson
30 May 2009
Great app! It makes a difficult job extremely easy which is basically what the Mac is all about! None of the other programs are even remotely simple or intuitive! Free cannot be beaten either!
Like (1)
Version 0.92b
Nick2k5
29 May 2009
Great app! Dead simple to use, and fast too! Don't worry about codecs, file formats, bit rates... just drag the video (URL or file) onto the app and let it go to work. I actually watch movies on my ipod now because it's been made to easy.
Like (2)
Version 0.92b
GeogProf
28 May 2009
Well, I downloaded and screwed around with Evom 0.92b on my Late 2006 2.16 GHz iMac running 10.5.7 with 2 GB RAM for an hour and a half, and my impression is that it's OK since it's free, but there are other substantially better free and cheap shareware options available that give you much more freedom to customize your conversions. For instance, Handbrake gives you about 1,000 times more options and better documentation, and it's reasonably easy to use. Since Evom's main appeal is to those who are unfamiliar with video conversion, it might have a slight edge over Handbreak because it's so simple, but only if your conversion job fits within Evom's narrow parameters. It's sort of the same for ffmpegX, which is another great shareware app, but which has possibly the worst documentation around. Then there's MPEG Streamclip, and the old VisualHub and its recent spinoffs like Prism Video File Converter and VideoMonkey, x264 (one of the very best), and of course QuickTime Pro. So, I think Evom has a ways to go before it can compete with most of those mentioned here, but it's a good start.
Like
Version 0.92b
1 answer(s)
Johnrdevor
Johnrdevor
28 May 2009
Hi, thanks for the feedback. :) What kinds of options would you like added to Evom? Kind regards, John Devor
Like (1)
Version 0.92b
GeogProf
28 May 2009
Indeed. WTF?
Like
Version 0.92b
Pippin
28 May 2009
It says this is free but when launched it needs a registration/serial number to get full benefit. ???????
Like (1)
Version 0.92b
1 answer(s)
Johnrdevor
Johnrdevor
30 May 2009
We were considering making Evom shareware, but in the end decided to go freeware. The registration dialogue has been removed from 0.93b.
Like (1)
Version 0.93b