Back to iVideo Converter page
iVideo Converter free download for Mac

iVideo Converter Reviews

2.1.7
21 December 2009

GUI for FFmpeg video encoding tool.

Tommiddleton
31 July 2009

Most helpful

I like this converter. Many codecs and options - actually I never saw so many options in any converter I used. Preset for iPod and iPhone works perfect. I cannot test the other presets (PS3, X360, Wii, ...) but if they are on par with the iPod and iPhone presets it should be good. The preview functionality is awesome ! Incredible handy for cropping. Pity isn't free like Handbrake. But iVideoConverter is by far the best converter for OS X. And as a bonus it is running fine on my OS X 10.6 setup. (.. don't ask ;-)
Like (12)
Version 1.3.2

Read 102 iVideo Converter User Reviews

Rate this app:

Almar
30 October 2010
Please, what happened to this software?
Like (1)
Version 2.1.7
oklair1
23 June 2010
Perfect to enhance the volume of a digitalized VHS recording!... And desinterlace... and convert... and... :D
Like (1)
Version 2.1.7
Digitalvanilla
09 April 2010
This app was really incredible, I cannot believe they close it cause PayPal. Ok, P.P. is sucking more money (having personal experience too), but there are other systems, like MoneyBookers, which is far better then P.P. Btw,I really hope the developer wil be back. /** Lynx */ www.digitalvanilla.com
Like (1)
Version 2.1.7
1 answer(s)
Shane-Smith
Shane-Smith
03 May 2010
Tell me about it. Someone paid me via PayPal and charged me over $6 on a $200 invoice. What the hell! It's a same this is no longer being developed. This was my favorite converter out of them all.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.7
Shmk
07 February 2010
Major Douche alert this developer is a scum bag
Like (1)
Version 2.1.7
Shmk
12 January 2010
what a colossal a**hole! Take the money and run d**chbag
Like (3)
Version 2.1.7
Markoh
28 December 2009
iVideo Converter is currently unavailable. The developer has requested that MacUpdate no longer link to iVideo Converter, as changes in PayPal fees have made the app less viable to develop so it can no longer be purchased. This situation might change in the future, but no solution is expected short-term. =(
Like (2)
Version 2.1.6
5 answer(s)
Dlwhite
Dlwhite
28 December 2009
Oh, this is utterly ridiculous. Isn't there SOMEONE, SOMEWHERE who can produce a viable replacement for VisualHub? I try to support lots of indie developers, but I feel like 2009 was a particularly BAD year for getting burned by devs shutting down shortly after taking my money. VERY disappointed.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.6
Neo979
Neo979
28 December 2009
I agree that it has been a bad year for transcoders. However, if you haven't read the horror stories, PayPal has recently taken their legacy of ripping people off and elevated it to a whole new level of abusing their customers. eBay's trustworthiness is in freefall in general, and my personal opinion is that currently it is very risky (almost dangerous) to use any of their products/services. My point is that I wouldn't blame the dev in this case, because PayPal probably really did do something awful.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.7
Bgato
Bgato
29 December 2009
If PayPal is such a rip-off, why not use Kagi?
Like
Version 2.1.7
-M-S-
-M-S-
30 December 2009
BGATO: Because Kagi is an even bigger rip off. :)
Like (1)
Version 2.1.7
M2k
M2k
31 December 2009
Although I agree PayPal is a rip-off and getting worse, using this as an excuse not to sell or continue development of software is very lame indeed!! If required find an alternative payment processor, there are many, and if necessary increase the price slightly to compensate for the increased costs. Also, for those people who have just purchased the software you have at the very least a moral responsibility to continue offering those users support for a reasonable period of time. All in all I think the developer has used this excuse primarily to stop development, they have even disabled the home page which is shocking, leaving people in the dark without so much as a message on there stating what is happening. You can still access the other pages on the site by manually typing the address in, such as features, contact etc.. but most people will not realise this or know how to do it. Very disappointed with the developer!!!!
Like (3)
Version 2.1.7
info-803
26 December 2009
I don't get why people continue to post comments with questions and suggestions on MacUpdate. Instead, e-mail the developer. He is very responsive and friendly.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.6
4 answer(s)
M2k
M2k
31 December 2009
Yes, the developer is so friendly that they disabled the homepage to avoid communicating with people and users, most people will not know how to find their email, assuming it is even working still!! For what its worth their contacts page is: http://www.ivideoconverter.net/contacts.html
Like
Version 2.1.7
Sosh
Sosh
02 January 2010
Does anyone know where to find the email link to the developer if you have not already purchased the software? I would like to contact him and arrange some other way to pay for the software. Its very difficult to find another stable program that does the conversion so easily.
Like
Version 2.1.7
Kenshin3it
Kenshin3it
02 January 2010
try with email address in "contact page"
Like
Version 2.1.7
Kenshin3it
Kenshin3it
02 January 2010
info@ivideoconverter.net
Like
Version 2.1.7
Markoh
26 December 2009
What about the possibility to make more quiet parts in the soundtrack louder, when converting DTS to AC3? And what about 640 kbps for AC3?
Like (1)
Version 2.1.6
Ang
26 December 2009
Is it possible to simply have the default handbrake X264 preset + Apple HE AAC ?
Like
Version 2.1.6
avv3lenato
20 December 2009
1- iPhone preset: If you change default quality from “Preset”, Auto channel selection turns on. Why? 2- Preferences: “Keep Original” As Resolution Default; what's that for? Aspect ratio? If so, isn't working. I think that Aspect Ration MUST BE always as the original. Almost EVERY converted movie are stretched wrong! Anyway... A great piece of sotfware! ;-)
Like (1)
Version 2.1.5
1 answer(s)
Samcurbain
Samcurbain
20 December 2009
Instead of moaning mail the developer instead. He is very responsive.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.5
Yok-Yok
13 December 2009
Hello, is it possible to use CABAC ? Where do we change to High profile (H264)? Thank you for this great tool.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.4
Starts
12 December 2009
hi. Can I convert eyeTV files??
Like (1)
Version 2.1.4
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
12 December 2009
Probably; it appears to have MPEG Transport Stream input support. You might have to open the .mpeg files inside .eyetv recording packages directly. Why not download it and try? :)
Like (1)
Version 2.1.4
Ang
12 December 2009
Hello, How can i convert in Apple HE AAC ?
Like (2)
Version 2.1.4
Kenshin3it
11 December 2009
Thanks to dev for add HEX/UMH in motion estimation and for all tips that i've asked.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.4
Christians
11 December 2009
Thank you for making such a great piece of code. Using it for al my video needs. I am not going into details but this is worth every star. 5 all the way. The asking price is just silly to let this go. Now where is the next release? ;-)
Like (3)
Version 2.1.3
1 answer(s)
Christians
Christians
11 December 2009
rotfl .. while I was typing my review it seems v2.1.4 was released. rotfl THANK YOU DEV !! THANK YOU VERY MUCH !!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.4
avv3lenato
11 December 2009
Still very poor audio conversion from a 5.1 source. No stereo transcoding and very low sound quality. (VisualHub and HandBrake still convert a .mkv 5.1 to iPhone preset perfectly)
Like (3)
Version 2.1.3
3 answer(s)
Nathancollings
Nathancollings
11 December 2009
I have ask the dev to raise the audio sample bitrate for 5.1 by default. By default this is only 128kbits. If you set this to 256kbits or higher the quality is perfect. For now you have to do this manually.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.3
avv3lenato
avv3lenato
11 December 2009
I don't want 256kbits or higher... I want a simple stereo mixdown at 128kbps as specified in preset. It simply do not work!
Like (2)
Version 2.1.3
Christians
Christians
11 December 2009
Mixdown to stereo is possible but you have to disable Auto select channels. Then choose stereo or mono. I do this all the time when converting to my iPhone.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.3
Drdul
07 December 2009
I use VisualHub, and although it works well on 10.6, it has recently choked on a couple of videos. So I've started looking for an alternative. iVideo Converter looks good, has lots of options and works well. But the complete lack of documentation is a show-stopper for me. The reason I like VisualHub is it is noob-friendly, whereas (for me, at least) iVideo Converter isn't. I find the interface and configuration options rather intimidating. Maybe I could learn how to use it if there was some documentation, but not at this time.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
4 answer(s)
Peter-earthman
Peter-earthman
07 December 2009
You are kidding right? iVideo Converter is one the easiest converters I ever used. Drag in the source file and choose the codec and press the button on top. Easy. I know, there are advanced features but most people doesn't need to twiddle with those settings.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.3
Drdul
Drdul
11 December 2009
No, I wasn't kidding. The feature that iVideo Converter is missing (as compared with VisualHub) is device presets. I've previously run into an issue where a video converted to MP4 can be played on a Mac in iTunes, but not synced to one or more devices (Apple TV, iPhone, iPod). VisualHub enabled me to avoid this problem, as it has different settings for different devices. For video noobs like me it means I can ignore framerates, codecs and other settings. I like iVideo Converter, and I bought a licence because it works well and is reasonably priced. My original comment about the lack of any documentation still stands. Some explanation of the various settings and basic guidance regarding optimum settings for common devices would go a long way towards making iVideo Converter easier for noobs to use. As it is, I'm gonna have to take the plunge and learn this stuff (which in the long run will probably be a good thing).
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
Peter-earthman
Peter-earthman
11 December 2009
iVC has presets for iPod, iPhone, Apple TV, PSP, PS3, X306,... I use iPod and iPhone frequently and never got any issues. Try mailing the dev. He is very responsive.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
Drdul
Drdul
11 December 2009
You're right, it does! The popup list of codes was too long for my screen, so I didn't see the device presets at the bottom of the list. Thanks for pointing that out. I guess that illustrates the need for some documentation. :-)
Like
Version 2.1.4
John-Malis
05 December 2009
I asked the developer several times to include a Add to iTunes option and finally it is here. I am now a proud and happy registered users! Fantastic application for all my converting needs. The support is absolutely perfect too. The developer is fast in responding and very helpful.
Like (7)
Version 2.1.3
2 answer(s)
22duke
22duke
06 December 2009
where is that preference? as I cant find it in version 2.1.3
Like
Version 2.1.3
John-Malis
John-Malis
06 December 2009
In the preferences offcourse.
Like
Version 2.1.3
Siphyn87
04 December 2009
This software looks very promising, however I was wondering if there are any plans to add an author as dvd option, and a way to actually have the software burn to dvd afterwards. I currently use visualhub for this and it works great, but as everyone else on here knows visualhub hasn't been updated in quite a while, so it would be great to see this feature added. I know toast offers this option but toast is way slower than visualhub when it comes to authoring a dvd and then burning it.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
1 answer(s)
ag010c3648
ag010c3648
05 December 2009
the dvd option everyone want isn't coming due to legeal issues i already email the developer asking for this request myself ur going to have to use something else to do it i use http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/17019/mpeg2-works-4-advanced but there are others
Like
Version 2.1.3
26cab40
04 December 2009
How about a preset for AVCHD BD5 & BD9 ?
Like
Version 2.1.3
Shmk
01 December 2009
It would be nice if there was a bit of documentation somewhere.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.2
Registryrid
29 November 2009
That look good.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Philippe-Mac
28 November 2009
I am relatively new to OSX video processing tools and tried all 'top' rated applications at Macupdate. Important things I looked at - usability , easiness , noob-friendlyness and looks. This is a powerful tool for video conversion between almost all video types. The advanced options are mind-blowing. In all the tested tools I never encountered a tool which such a vast amount of tweak options! A manual should be great for people like me. So I basically stick to presets and some small resolutions tweaks. It al wend perfect. No flaws. Along the lines of workflow and converting I've found that iVideo-Converter is by far the leader of the pack. Handbrake can do this too but it is a pain to work with. I truly like the way iVideo-Converter looks and operates above the other tools I tried. It seems that I will now look into purchasing iVideo-Converter. 8-) And sorry for my bad english. I am from France.
Like (8)
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
Dr-Girlfriend
Dr-Girlfriend
30 November 2009
Your English is perfect. Great review!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Ang
28 November 2009
The Gui is better than handbrake ... thanks to DRAG n DROP ! But hey where is the great X264 (if h264 means x264 when i choose mp4 export, it's really important to inform the user)? But hey where is the fabulous core HE AAC (now completely supported by snow) ? Thank you
Like (5)
Version 2.1.2
6 answer(s)
Robotank
Robotank
28 November 2009
From the VideoLAN website: "x264 is a free library for encoding H264/AVC video streams." As Wikipedia explains, "H.264/MPEG-4 AVC is a standard for video compression." So, yes, x264 in HandBrake and H.264 in iVideoConverter mean the same thing (and AVC is another name for H.264). Make sense?
Like
Version 2.1.2
Ang
Ang
29 November 2009
A cat is a cat. A cat is an animal. But, hey, an animal isn't a cat ! Animal is just a standard like H264. x264 is H264 but h264 isn't x264 ! I'm talking about x264 specific Codec, not the h264 standard. Terminology is specific on almost all mac software, when we can read H264, it means Apple H264, not x264.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Ivc-Developer
Ivc-Developer
29 November 2009
FFMPEG uses X264 iVC uses FFMPEG = iVC uses X264 :-)
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Ang
Ang
29 November 2009
Perfect answer. Thank you very much
Like
Version 2.1.2
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
03 December 2009
As is usual with engineers their nomenclature and communication is appalling. All the codecs and standards have multiple names, in some cases of exactly the same thing, but to rule out easy comprehension, sometimes not.
Like
Version 2.1.2
tvalleau
tvalleau
05 December 2009
except that movies created with x264 are perfectly readable by Apple's (and, AFAIK everyone else's) H.264. X265 just does a better/faster job on the -ENcoding- side. You do not need the x264 plugin to play the resulting files.
Like
Version 2.1.3
Shane-Smith
24 November 2009
I've been using this software since version one and have never looked back. I was using handbrake but found the user interface to be not very mac like and gave me varied results. For those die hard handbrake fans you should know it will no longer support a variety of formats in the next version. Say good by to AVI, XviD, OGG and OGM. Not a huge problem if you don't need these, if you do I would strongly suggest giving iVC a try. The software is not perfect but then which software is? Here is my list of features I'd like to see: It would be nice if I could convert a DVD extraction to another format (VOB files). Maybe the function is their, but I couldn't find it. The ability to add files while it is converting Sometimes when I add files I wish to convert something before another. There doesn't seem to be a way to move files up or down in the list Can't wait for the next update.
Like (6)
Version 2.1.1
Booomwhadis
23 November 2009
Question: Does iVideo Converter support conversions to WMV3 (maybe even 2 pass ?). Or is the only option WMV2, like with VisualHub? I know Telestream/Flip4Mac supports WMV3. But their solution costs SERIOUS money. And please no replies like WMV is crap. There are clients demanding it nonetheless.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Goldyn-Chyld
22 November 2009
Hey guys, I've been considering getting iVideo Converter, but tell me one thing: what does it have that MPEG Streamclip or HandBrake (both FREE) don't have? In other words, is it really worth paying money for an app that does virtually the same thing as the two above-mentioned apps? Or is there something that I'm missing, and iVideo Converter actually offers more and better options than those two? Thanks
Like
Version 2.1.1
4 answer(s)
Mitchel
Mitchel
22 November 2009
I always used Handbrake with no problem. But now IVC has a stitching feature it is clearly a winner for me. I registered a week ago and used it quite regularly. * IVC has (too) many options to mess with but when needed it is nice to know it is available. Some presets needs some tweaking though. Luckily you can make your own custom presets. * IVC has a neat batch processing feature - Handbreak doesn't have this. * IVC interface has much more appeal to me too. Handbrake is totally outdated concerning GUI. It has more a Windows touch instead of OSX. * Last but not least the preview feature of IVC is also very handy. With Handbrake you only can display one frame of the source which is not very usable imo. IVC's preview shows the final quality. Incredible usability value. IVC is worth its 7eur imo
Like (6)
Version 2.1.1
Goldyn-Chyld
Goldyn-Chyld
22 November 2009
Mitchell, thanks for your reply. I've noticed that IVC also converts various Audio files. Do you have any experiences with it? Does it offer quality conversions?
Like
Version 2.1.1
Robotank
Robotank
23 November 2009
Actually, HandBrake does have the ability to encode 10-second previews that show the results of your settings. You need to hit the "Live Preview" button when looking at the single frame previews, and it will encode a 10-second bit starting from where you're positioned the slider. Anyway, I use both HB and iVideo converter too. I use HB mostly for converting from DVD sources, and I use iVC for most other conversions, particularly when I need to concatenate videos or when I want to be able to pass through the video and/or audio from one container format to another. Actually, it's worth mentioning that, although HB accepts almost any input source, its output sources are fairly limited. For instance, the next release will not have XviD/AVI output (check out the HandBrake forums for information and access to snapshot builds). iVC offers many more options for output.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1
Goldyn-Chyld
Goldyn-Chyld
23 November 2009
Thanks guys. I went ahead and pulled the trigger on IVC... :)
Like
Version 2.1.1
Rasputinsrevenge
21 November 2009
Very fast! Only feature in my opinion that's missing: import to iTunes.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.1
Gurubez
21 November 2009
It can almost all...as good as VisuallHub
Like (4)
Version 2.1.1
gary-jamerson
16 November 2009
This application is working very well as described. I purchased promptly after experiencing perfect support from the developer. This application will replace several other apps I previously used.
Like (6)
Version 2.1
Andymoonar
16 November 2009
I kept an eye on this tool for some time now. Waiting for a merge option. And waiting has paid off and I registered immediately. Already merged some H264 files with no hassle and the final result is clean and crispy. It is really mind blowing how many options you get to play with. Just amazing stuff really. Simple - easy - nice UI - advanced options - lots of video formats - flexible. This is truly a winner in it is play field. No doubt about that
Like (7)
Version 2.1
Killer-Klown-Kar
15 November 2009
I suppose my complaint are with people salivating over this app. Good it is, perfect it is not. Although the Developer has put a considerable amount of time and effort into it, there are things that could be better. http://yfrog.com/0nvisualhubtestp This is three screen captures, from an original VCD, VisualHub, and iVideo, notice slight color shift or a "washed out" look on the iVideo. I'm sure this can be tweaked, but the test was done using stock settings. Also, iVideo represents itself as a Audio tool also, yet can't convert a audio file to a Apple iPhone ringtone. And finally, the developer as added a join feature, yet I'm guessing expects us to generate a few 1:59:00 files to test it out. So everyone stop slagging off VisualHub. It still does the job just fine for most peope. This like I said is a good tool, but misses the mark as far as the slobbering platitudes that are being heaped upon it.
Like (2)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Shmk
Shmk
16 November 2009
I bought this but now I don't know why lol, I can't really see any benefits over handbrake
Like (2)
Version 2.1
Killer-Klown-Kar
14 November 2009
Finally added a join function. I'll have to test this out using two very nice VCD's. I used VisualHub|> iTunes|> h.264|> High and Join and it did a rather remarkable job. So it will be rather interesting to see if this can do as well.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
2 answer(s)
Ivc-Developer
Ivc-Developer
15 November 2009
Yes, it took some time to implement. I only wanted to do this when it is possible with all codec iVC knows. As far as I know no other converter can stitch any codec to any other codec. I am quite pleased with the result. Said this, the only file format that cannot be stitched is .m2ts. Because of several format issues it is just not possible for the moment. All other codecs are ok. I will post a new update very soon with many improvements. Like a dedicated button on the main window for stitching, faster preparing of files, 2pass bug fix, .. If you find any issue concerning the stitching feature please mail me at info@ivideoconverter.net Thank you
Like (6)
Version 2.1
Ivc-Developer
Ivc-Developer
15 November 2009
Please note the stitching feature is not available in the trail version. This is done merely because of some technical issue and a two minute trail time is too little to stitch some videos anyway.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
YEEZUS
14 November 2009
with the addition of stitching videos…this program has just passed visualhub.
Like (3)
Version 2.1
Ivc-Developer
10 November 2009
Should be ok in the next release. ;-)
Like (5)
Version 2.0.11
incrzr
09 November 2009
I'd love to see iVC remember its windows positions and column settings. Even better: all in one Window! thanks
Like (1)
Version 2.0.11
Markoh
04 November 2009
Is there any chance of getting a higher bitrate for audio in future releases of iVideo? At the moment the highest bitrate is 256.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.10
Markoh
04 November 2009
The amount of HDD space I've saved by converting the DTS 5.1 track from a MKV to AC3 5.1 is mind boggling.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.10
Samcurbain
30 October 2009
It is safe to say this has become the leader in video converting. OK, VisualHUB was good but the interface is so awful it is a pain in the eye. It shows it ages now. VisualHUB also has problems and issues with several codecs. Besides the stitching feature it is not that good anymore. Anyway, iVC has clearly made a enormous progress and it is very stable and delivers high quality when you need it. Yes, the only negative thing I can think of is the lack of a stitching option but in general most people do not need this. This is a top notch product for audio and video converting purposes.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.10
1 answer(s)
Goldyn-Chyld
Goldyn-Chyld
08 November 2009
How does this app compare to MPEG Streamclip?
Like
Version 2.0.11
info-803
25 October 2009
Well, click the gear (Settings) button at the bottom-left of the main window and you can select NTSC or PAL under the FrameRate menu.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.10
2shae
25 October 2009
PAL / NTSC setting? Where is it?
Like
Version 2.0.10
Gavin-Cutshall
17 October 2009
This is definitely the program to buy if you are still mourning the loss of VisualHub. The interface is great, and it can be expanded to allow for advanced user setting. The only feature I would suggest is automatically adding the file to iTunes post-processing. Or, alternatively, post process in MetaX. My apologies if the ability is already there and I'm not seeing it. Also note that the developer is very quick to answer questions or e-mail serials post-purchase. For the $10 US, there's just nothing better on the market.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.9
1 answer(s)
Tokyojerry
Tokyojerry
17 October 2009
Gavin, greetings from Tokyo. I suggest communicate directly with the developer. I've communicated several emails with him already referencing suggestions I would like to see. He has been very communicable and enlightening as he continues to evolve this excellent swiss knife for conversions. A couple of the ideas I proposed already to him and he will place them on the 'todo' list are: 1. drag and drop a folder of video clips onto to IVC dock icon say, and launch the program as well as load the clips. 2. Create a short video tutorial on his website explaining very shortly, the myriad of advanced and advanced+ settings which go way over my head (and perhaps most people's heads). By having just a short explanation, and perhaps demo how to implement will go a long way. As the old saying goes, "A Picture says a 1000 words". :-)) Jerry Tokyo, Japan
Like (5)
Version 2.0.9
Steven-Goodheart
12 October 2009
What a fabulous program - a Swiss army knife not only for video, but audio, as well. I found this looking for a program that would do good and quick conversion of those .flv files you get at some many sites when you want to grab a video. When I looked at all the kinds of audio and video files this program would convert, I was totally blown away. It handles dozens of common and obscure file types. It's got to be a power-user's delight, but it's great for simple stuff, too. For example, it gives you a much faster way than iTunes to convert batches of MP3s to m4as, and of course, can quickly turn your m4as to MP3s if you need to. Change a .wmv file to a .mov, or vice versa? Piece of cake. The interface is simplicity itself, but if you look "under the hood," there is incredible horsepower here to change all sorts of settings for video/audio conversion -- stuff that goes way beyond my understanding of how these files are put together, but if you're a power-user, the settings are there for you. With iVideo Converter, I am now confident that no matter what video or audio format I come across, I can find a way to convert or modify it to suit my needs. What could be better? A previous reviewer called this the "Graphic Converter" for video and audio files -- that's a real compliment, and in this case, well-deserved. Best of all, all these features and functions come for a little less than $10! I'm now a delighted registered user and recommend this program without reserve to anyone needing to manipulate and convert video and audio files.
Like (7)
Version 2.0.8
ag010c3648
27 September 2009
Is there a comparable setting in iVideo Converter that allows me to drop in a video file and convert it to a .ISO file for easy burning to DVD? is this feature going to be added?
Like
Version 2.0.6
1 answer(s)
Robotank
Robotank
05 October 2009
I'm aware of a couple possible solutions. There's an app called ReduxEncoder that's being developed based on VisualHub's code, and it also offers the ability to convert a video file into a burnable ISO image in one step. However, ReduxEncoder currently doesn't work very well. It's really buggy, and I haven't yet gotten it to properly complete a conversion to an ISO image (I've gotten it to create the MPG file, but it just stops before it creates the DVD structure and the disk image). It is a work in progress (and it's free), so it may be worth keeping an eye on. There are also two little shareware apps I know of, MovieConverterStudio and MovieGate, that convert video files then create menus and burn to disk. Though neither app creates ISO images directly, I imagine it would be simple enough to make a disk image with the VIDEO_TS folders they create using something like DMGConverter. I'm currently using MovieConverterStudio, and it generally works very well for me.
Like
Version 2.0.7
Maulrat
27 September 2009
To the developer: Thanks very much for adding the higher bit rate selection for the audio ... bravo! I don't know if anyone else has this issue but when the program upgrades through its interface on startup it shuts down after it upgrades but it doesn't restart as I would expect it to like many other programs do ... its really not a big deal to restart the program manually but it would be a "niceity" if it rebooted on its own. Like I said, really no biggie.
Like (6)
Version 2.0.6
1 answer(s)
Ivc-Developer
Ivc-Developer
27 September 2009
About higher bitrates. I knew you would be happy with this. ;) About update: Yes, it does not restart after update. I will try to fix this in the next release. If there are other things you would like to see added just mail at info@ivideoconverter.net
Like (4)
Version 2.0.6
Nathancollings
19 September 2009
Used this program for about 3 weeks now and I am very happy with it. It is plain simple to use and the end results are of a high standard with the default settings. The good looking interface is a real bonus. VisualHub is gone .. iVideoConverter is much better. Just my two cents though. Five solid stars.
Like (8)
Version 2.0.5
Killer-Klown-Kar
19 September 2009
Kinda the GraphicConverter for Video. This has promise, but I have to agree a join video is needed. Also, while it's nice to have all the advanced settings a simpler method would be nice. As an example, if I want to crop 10 pixels off the bottom to get rid of the head roll, but still have my video at 480x360 there is no simple way to do it. Yes it can be done, but simple way to do it is the operative phrase here. Also, maybe I missed it but no video preview. :-( It's amazing how good Visual Hub really was, you don't miss your water until the well runs dry.
Like (6)
Version 2.0.5
5 answer(s)
Nathancollings
Nathancollings
19 September 2009
Strang you did not find the preview window. :) Just press the left top button, the one with the eye icon (get it? Eye? Preview?) ;-)
Like (6)
Version 2.0.5
Killer-Klown-Kar
Killer-Klown-Kar
19 September 2009
Well like I said, I missed it. As far as the cropping, keep original seems to be the key on that. So ok, pretty damn good. Needs to join video files though. Then you'll get my money.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Ivc-Developer
Ivc-Developer
20 September 2009
Anyone who can give me some useful info how to stitch video files with FFMPEG can contact me at info@ivideoconverter.net The FFMPEG -newvideo command just doesn't work very well and I only want to implement this if it works 100%. VisualHUB stitching doesn't work very well as far as I know. For example if the source video files are short, lets say -15secs, it just overlaps the movies instead of adding them. And it also seems to work good with avi output, other codecs have several issues. In short, if you know a good way to stitch video files with ffmpeg -> please send a mail to info@ivideoconverter.net
Like (5)
Version 2.0.5
Ivc-Developer
Ivc-Developer
21 September 2009
Don't place such messages here. A mail to info@ivideoconverter.net would be better. Anyway, CAT only works with avi file (that is how visualhub does it). I will only add stitching if every codec is supported.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Killer-Klown-Kar
Killer-Klown-Kar
27 September 2009
Odd you say that since I use Visual Hub to convert to and join MP4's all the time. Additionally as a developer I don't understand why you wouldn't support a feature people are asking for. But it's your pool table, and you can make the rules, just like it's my wallet.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.6
Maulrat
19 September 2009
Two things I would like to see added to this already great program. 1. A "Stitch Videos Together" feature, which is one that I sorely miss from Visual Hub .... unless its there and I've overlooked it somehow. 2. A boost in the audio quality for 5.1 audio ... currently the highest bitrate allowed it 256kbps ... when it really needs to be 384kbps (with 320 kbps as an option)
Like (4)
Version 2.0.5
Mredrup
06 September 2009
Great app one of my favourites, it should be mentioned the update to the current PPC version is available from the dev's site... there should really be a link here too to download the PPC update directly.
Like (7)
Version 2.0.3
info-803
04 September 2009
This simply is the best replacement for Visual Hub and also the best video converter available for the Mac! After using it for a while, I have concluded that iVideoConverter is stable, user-friendly and it works without any hassle. I'd say, check it out right now!
Like (10)
Version 2.0.2