Back to SelfControl page
SelfControl free download for Mac

SelfControl Reviews

2.2.2
19 October 2017

Block distracting websites for predetermined periods of time.

Annelynguris
15 October 2015

Most helpful

Hate this app. I was supposed to be on facebook and pinterest today, instead, I cleaned my house, finished my website, cooked for a month ahead, and swept the driveway. I also learned a new language.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.2

Read 68 SelfControl User Reviews

Rate this app:

Mikael-B
10 September 2019
I use this on macOS 10.12 and it works great for Safari. Unfortunately other browsers may connect differently, so may inadvertently route around the block. Other types of blockers have the same issues in that case, so no blame on SelfControl. A great open source project and the source code is available at https://github.com/SelfControlApp/selfcontrol. You want it improved? Go at it.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.2
kevin-139
09 September 2019
Works. But at the same time doesn't. You can easily access any blocked site simply by using a VPN. Even the free one that comes with Opera.
Like
Version 2.2.2
TomM4006
22 December 2018
It doesn't block subdomains, so it's more or less worthless.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.2
vdtrinh27
06 September 2018
An open-source application with a very simple interface that does what it is intended to do: temporarily block distracting websites for up to 24 hours while you accomplish other tasks on your computer. Very useful for those of us who want to block access to YouTube or Netflix while studying lecture slides or writing documents during a work session (and who wish to be able to use these sites after working). Perhaps less useful for those who already have self control over their impulses for binge watching everything Netflix or your favorite dance YouTube channel has to offer.
Like
Version 2.2.2
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
24 February 2018
It doesn't indefinitely block specified websites - for up to a day max. What is the purpose of a website blocker that doesn't block malicious websites for once and all?
Like
Version 2.2.2
2 answer(s)
martin.boeddeker
martin.boeddeker
24 February 2018
Try FindFocus as an alternative.
Like
leo-sokol
leo-sokol
02 March 2019
Yes it does, read the FAQ
Like
Mikaelf
09 August 2017
Shouldn't it be called LackOfSelfControl?
Like
Version 2.2.1
kevintardis
16 April 2017
Let me say, this app is GREAT and it's FREE. It gives what it says, and it's perfect when you have to focus in any work. It save me in more than a way. Congrats to the creators and, in my case, the app is fully functional. Plus, you can change the standard time block limitation to months, which I use it. I do not write reviews but this app deserves it.
Like
Version 2.1.1
bianca96000
28 February 2017
I really liked the fact that it's FREE and useful, the only thing is i mistakenly using the whitelist and found all the site i add still can open, and the other sites are all blocked, i contact the support and figured it out, still a good freee app.
Like
Version 2.1.1
sagehouston
18 December 2016
only way i can ever do homework done! very amazing app and would recommend to everyone. very important to keep whitelist and blacklist separated however
Like
Version 2.1.1
Mikael-B
29 October 2016
Unfortunately, this time SelfControl managed to block all the net for all apps and not just the sites in my black list. It worked great just a few weeks ago. This app has still been quite useful before so I hope this is not something that will happen again.
Like
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
29 October 2016
OK. Had to hack around in the system to get back my internet. I'm not going to base a review on this sole experience., but there seems to be some kind of incompatibility with OS X 10.11.6 at least. But it worked fine on this just a few weeks ago and for 15 minutes just the other day.
Like
Mikael-B
01 September 2016
People actually are successfully using this on 10.11 El Capitan? I couldn't see a way to get it to work.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
01 September 2016
OK, decided to try again as last time was before 2.1.1 came out. It seems to work even as I got the 00.00 dialogue on first start. stopped manually and now it's blocking. Great!
Like (1)
kothari-sanika
05 April 2016
its great
Like
Version 2.1.1
noisdesign000
08 March 2016
Do what it does.
Like
Version 2.1.1
PolkadotsAllOver
19 January 2016
Great app. The half star reviews sound a bit like white- and black-list have mistakenly been confused.
Like
Version 2.1.1
shhj65
06 January 2016
Is there a way in this app to limit the total hours in a day that is spent on a website? Is there another free app to do this in mac? Thanks
Like
Version 2.1
davidzeboulon
03 January 2016
This definite turd is leaving me with a damaged mac, which can never again access facebook, regardless of how much bull$*t FAQ and troubleshooting, restarting browsers, clearing caches, restarting computer, "removing block manually" which systematically claims to have produced a killer file that doesn't exist anywhere, and general time wasting I had to go through. I'll try and find comfort in the thought that i haven't blocked any other site... I still think they should write on their page that the purpose of this piece of crap is to permanently wreck your computer, so people could make an informed decision.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
Uncoy
Uncoy
28 December 2016
Here's where to go to kill this baby off:

/Library/Privileged Helper Tools

There's one filed named scheckup and another named org.eyebeam.SelfControl which you have to delete there.

Now your Mac is clean. Rather rudely the author does not supply an uninstaller at his Github page.

I had an older version of Self-Control which seemed involved in causing kernel panics which is why I had to do the research myself on how to clean out the Privileged Helper Tool library.
Like
BigBadGlen
02 December 2015
This app is a lifesaver for me. It sounds like a number of reviewers here have gotten tripped up on the distinction between a white list (allow me to visit only these sites) and a black list (don't allow me to visit these specific sites, such as Facebook, Youtube, etc.). White listing is a bit dangerous, because you end up shutting down all sorts of network services -- mail, messenger, etc. This is great if you truly want to block out the internet, but it can make it very hard to get normal work done. Unfortunately, the interface around white listing vs. black listing is not great, so be careful and maybe restrict your first blocking session to 15 minutes so that any mistakes aren't catastrophic. Contrary to some other reports here, I've had no trouble with the app on any flavor of Mac. OK, time to turn on SelfControl and get some work done...
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
baarbr
08 November 2015
Love it, works great on Mavericks and Yosemite. Simple and effective!
Like
Version 2.0.2
danjdawsonva
06 November 2015
Warning: do NOT download this piece of crap software. When I activated the timer, it did not block the three websites I put on my blacklist but, rather, stripped my computer completely of internet functionality. Additionally, it made my browser and several other programs with internet functions (such as itunes and the mail app) crash, unable to be reopened. Luckily I had the foresight to do a 15-minute test run before using it any longer, but even after the timer for that went off nothing changed. Using the "stop block manually" button was no help either. Only after restarting did my computer go back to normal. This software ended up wasting plenty of my time, rather than than saving any.
Like
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
BigBadGlen
BigBadGlen
02 December 2015
It sounds like you whitelisted instead of blacklisted, which means you shut down access to everything but the three sites. There is a radio button on the site list to toggle back and forth between white list and black list. Admittedly, this is pretty bad UI design, but the app does work as described.
Like
jiggamahninja
05 November 2015
Just so you know, it's difficult (if not impossible) to stop the timer after you start it. I had to learn that the hard way after I accidentally set it for 6 hours. I tried "force quitting," turning off my computer, closing the app but nothing worked. Anyway, it's a great app! It's the only way I can do my work. Very simple to use. And you can have a blacklist (or whitelist) so you make sure you won't succumb to temptation. I'd only recommend that they move the "start" button away from the timer scale.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Annelynguris
15 October 2015
Hate this app. I was supposed to be on facebook and pinterest today, instead, I cleaned my house, finished my website, cooked for a month ahead, and swept the driveway. I also learned a new language.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.2
louisemblundell
06 October 2015
Love this App! Someone recommended it to me, to help from being distracted when I was trying to study and it is brilliant! And you can't get around it once it's blocked - which is fabulous! I of course tried 'o) Thank you! My only suggestion would be for it to have a function where you could preset the timer, so you can't be tempted to have a quick peek BEFORE setting the SelfControl Timer when you first sit down at your computer.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
eduardo-schafer
12 August 2015
This used to be a great app, but i heard it wouldn't work on yosemite. When they released version 2.0.2 i gave it a try again. The websites on my blacklist haven't been available for 2 days now, i don't know what to do. Its a shame.
Like
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
louisemblundell
louisemblundell
06 October 2015
read the Help section for the App (look at the top of your screen when SelfControl has been clicked on, and you'll see the options. There is some really helpful (and pretty hilarious) advice on the page you're directed to.
Like
acred
19 March 2015
This used to be perfect and work without a hitch - blocking only the listed websites for the specified time. Since the most recent update, however, this now completely blocks all internet functionality on my mac (running OSX 10.7.5) and then eventually goes on to take up all processing power, causing my mac to grind to a halt, require a forced shut down and restart. I tried to get the app to work on a few occasions and this has been the result every time. Avoid.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
michael-lasker17-1
08 March 2015
The whitelist is too complex to operate and the blacklist doesn't work well because if you want to watch something you don't even have to use what you blocked. 0.5/5
Like
Version 2.0.2
tofurkyjunior
15 December 2014
So I was hoping this would be a great app, as I'd heard good things about the Cold Turkey app for the PC, and was hoping this would be the same thing. After installing it and blacklisting about 7 or so sites, I set the timer for 3 hours and then tried to go on those sites to make sure everything was working properly. Trouble was, I could still access the sites I'd blacklisted. Instead, every other site (except Google, for some weird reason), was blocked. Sites I needed for studying, such as Wolfram Alpha, Desmos, etc., were blocked along with literally everything else. Luckily I had my phone and I could look up tips for how to bypass the app. My mac's clock is now set 3 hours ahead and everything's working properly, but needless to say I'll be uninstalling the app and won't be using it again.
Like
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
BigBadGlen
BigBadGlen
02 December 2015
It sounds like you whitelisted instead of blacklisted, which means you shut down access to everything but the 7 sites. There is a radio button on the site list to toggle back and forth between white list and black list. Admittedly, this is pretty bad UI design, but the app does work as described.
Like
hughhai
07 December 2014
I had high hopes for this app. Unfortunately, instead of just blocking Facebook for me (yes, I followed the instructions properly), it blocked all access to the Internet completely: all browsers, Messenger, Mail - everything. I lost an entire day of work instead of reducing my distractions. Even worse, I could not upload files to meet a work deadline. Fortunately, once the timer ran out, everything is working normally. I am uninstalling immediately.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Monkeyjunkey
13 October 2014
Awesome software. It allows for a distraction free work experience. If you come from procrastination-nation and keep visiting websites while you should be working, this software is for you. Best part, it's open source :)
Like (1)
Version 2.0
GowthamanA3647
19 November 2013
It works reliably and easy to control facebook and other social networks
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Mikael-B
19 May 2013
Under OS X 10.6.8 Self Control works reliably and very well. No issues what so ever. I find the "unbreakable" block to relieve me of my pointless web browsing during work hours. Great Value!
Like (2)
Version 1.5.1
kennethchung
22 April 2013
I like it, this is a type of utility that I was looking for. It works great!!!! There is some stability issues, but it is good!!!!
Like (2)
Version 1.5.1
Jynto
30 March 2013
Nothing else like it. I've tried browser-based blockers, and they don't work because you can just switch to another browser. But this... just works. The interface could do with a little work. I'd prefer if it lived in the menu bar, rather than the dock. And it would be better if there was an option to extend the time period before the previous period runs out.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.1
boobear
30 March 2013
Is it possible to block skype?
Like
Version 1.5.1
leen8738
05 December 2012
Error -60031 received from the Security Server. How do I fix this??
Like
Version 1.4
jmdeamer
14 November 2012
Useless. Works inconsistently or not at all.
Like (1)
Version 1.4
REMitchell
12 November 2012
Yes, you can always bang your head against the wall, uninstall the software, restart your computer, figure out a sneaky way around it, or whatever -- but the activation energy to do that is way higher than it would be just to get back to work :-p It works fantastically for me, whenever I get frustrated by work, I tend to go to Facebook/Reddit out of habit. No more! It's really saved my sanity, and hours of my time!
Like (2)
Version 1.4
xxcourt
27 September 2012
I love selfcontrol! It has helped me get through homework several times...but now I have a problem. I guess the program is frozen, because the time is not counting down. I set it for an hour about 3 hours ago, and the clock is still stuck at 59 minutes. I've restarted the computer, restarted the app, etc trying to see if I can get it "unstuck" and get it to count down...but no luck thus far. Any help?
Like
Version 1.4
Pik80
03 August 2012
1.4 is not a universal app. Why does MacUpdate get this wrong so often?
Like
Version 1.4
2 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
03 August 2012
Sorry for the error. Corrections can always be submitted here (http://macupdate.com/developers/update/) or by emailing updates (at) macupdate (dot) com.
Like
Pik80
Pik80
14 August 2012
I noticed that on the page for Yojimbo Macupdate shows the last version that is available for PowerPC. This would be a really handy feature to add to the pages that feature software for Intel processors only.
Like
Alicedi
26 July 2012
As pointed out, its just too intrusive. Blocks sites but then blocks even the associated sites. You cannot unblock them once blocked. And it frequently crashed. I have been using Qustodio (www.qustodio.com) for a while and shall keep using it. Given that its free, it has a whole lot of features such as data tracking, site blocking, and even monitoring activities. I am a firm believer in the fact that in order to accomplish total parental control, you need complete programs and not just extensions.
Like (1)
Version 1.4
2 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
03 August 2012
But Qustudio doesn't run on Mac OS X, does it?
Like (1)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
26 October 2013
What is the IP of the blocked sites? Chances are they are on the same IP. You can have several hundred of sites on one IP. This is not the fault of Self Control I think.
Like
generalmike23
08 June 2012
So far have had no problems, it blocks what i want and for how long i want. Other websites work fine. So far in college this app has helped me quite a bit. I would recommend this app, PLUS ITS FREE! Thanks for everyone who made it the app it is today and thanks for the creator for updating it!
Like (1)
Version 1.3
gsm54321
31 May 2012
This is a very dangerous program that interferes with more than just the select sites. I put this on for 4 hours, and like it should, it blocked the blacklisted sites. It also blocked a random assortment of pages like GOOGLE DOCS, and caused pages like wikipedia and EBSCO Host to render oddly, to the point where they couldn't be used. This program is dangerous and you should be very carful when using.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
trest90
23 May 2012
https://twitter.com/ doesn't seem to be blocked? i have copied and pasted it from safari into the blacklist but nothing seems to happen..?? thanks.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
trest90
trest90
23 May 2012
I take it back! there seems to be a bit of a delay but it's working fine now. Thanks, great app!
Like
Apowell-64
14 May 2012
I love this app, but it blocks proquest and I can't seem to figure out why (I don't have it set to be blocked). It remains blocked even after I turn off the "block common domains" feature
Like
Version 1.3
sapphire
23 March 2012
I love this app! However, I think it would be great if we could block websites for longer though, for maybe a week or two, for those of us in college who need the time during finals week? Intervals would be nice too, like if it could block the blacklist for say, 5 hours, then it gives us a 20 minute break, then it blocks it again. Also, I can't seem to block YouTube without blocking Google Docs! I assume it's because the accounts are linked, but for some reason it's just Docs, Gmail and Google stay fine...
Like (1)
Version 1.3
epimacuser
09 January 2012
you can still access Facebook in Chrome via "Access a cached copy" under the "Additional Suggestions" can you fix this?? totally relying on you for my Self Control. great idea for an application, though!
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Losmuertos
Losmuertos
13 February 2012
Just add webcache.googleusercontent.com to your blacklist, close chrome and reopen.
Like
epimacuser
09 January 2012
fantastic program. simple to understand. easy to use. super useful.
Like
Version 1.3
Spaceranger
18 December 2011
It works - but a lot of webpages looks like crap now!!! like if we were in 1995, I'm not an expert so I don't know how to discribe it. But it looks like some very simple HTML
Like
Version 1.3
2 answer(s)
Reegor
Reegor
22 December 2011
I doubt this is due to SC. You can either get to a web site, or you can't - no effect on what happens once you are there.
Like
SmokingSquirrel
SmokingSquirrel
16 April 2012
Spaceranger is right. When I use SC, CSS is disabled for some sites for some reason.
Like
izzo0o0o
12 November 2011
It seems to not block the website when it's stored as a favourite. Great idea though, damn facebook gets me every time.
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
izzo0o0o
izzo0o0o
12 November 2011
Oh that was only facebook doing that, and now that i've deleted the fav tab its all good. heh
Like
Affresco
29 October 2011
LOVE YOU for this, whoever you are who made it. I have a dissertation to write and its so awesome for stopping me FB. I don't know how to undo the timer once I've started it and I NEVER want to know :)
Like
Version 1.3
JillLam
05 October 2011
It won't refresh after the countdown is finished, it just stays in the form of the black countdown box but not the grey "start blocking website" box. I try quitting the apps and even restarting my mac, but every time I open it, it just pops up with the black count down box, please help!!
Like
Version 1.3
2 answer(s)
kmcartcart
kmcartcart
14 November 2011
Did you ever find a fix for this? I just installed the newest update and now SelfControl seems to have permanently blocked the websites on my Blacklist. I have the exact same problem as Jill where the Black Countdown box will not go away even thought it is at "00.00.00." Needless to say, this is very frustrating. Please help!
Like
Reegor
Reegor
22 December 2011
This has happened recently. The timer just shows 00:00:00. Possibly its due to my upgrade to OS 10.7.2, since the problem is very recent. I found a work-around by erasing all the preference files. But as soon as I ran it once, the problem resumed. I have used the program for a year, I hope someone figures out a solution.
Like