Back to SelfControl page
SelfControl free download for Mac

SelfControl Reviews3.0.3

13 September 2020

Block distracting websites for predetermined periods of time.

How would you rate SelfControl?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
katricekrebs
katricekrebs
Mar 17 2021
3.0.3
5.0
Mar 17 2021
5.0
Version: 3.0.3
Work perfectly after the update. Don't hesitate using, if you have the same problem as me((
wmatt2010
wmatt2010
Jun 18 2020
3.0.1
5.0
Jun 18 2020
5.0
Version: 3.0.1
Someone below said that this app doesn't prevent you from accessing Blacklist sites while you're using a VPN. I almost didn't download SelfControl because of that review. However, SelfControl works great with the VPN that I use all day nearly every day. Perhaps they've updated the app, or maybe it depends on the specific type of VPN you use? In any case, it works perfectly for me.
paulrobertconnor
paulrobertconnor
May 15 2020
2.3.2
1.0
May 15 2020
1.0
Version: 2.3.2
Doesn't block twitter
elityyyy988
elityyyy988
Nov 25 2019
2.3.1
4.0
Nov 25 2019
4.0
Version: 2.3.1
Staf
r-b-2
r-b-2
Nov 25 2019
2.3
5.0
Nov 25 2019
5.0
Version: 2.3
Love this app! New update though is misfiring. I can access every page on Safari. I tried: Adding pages again to blacklist while block is running (didn't help). Clearing cache and rebooted safari (didn't help). Trying if maybe the pages were blocked on chrome (they weren't). MacVersion: Mojave. I am open for suggestions if anyone has one! I guess Imma need to be strongminded today by myself and not allow myself to click on the blacklist pages.
colewhetstone
colewhetstone
Oct 27 2019
2.3
0.0
Oct 27 2019
0.0
Version: 2.3
For some reason, with the new update, I'm no longer able to block sites when using Google Chrome. Sites will be blocked on Safari, but is there some way around this?
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Sep 10 2019
2.2.2
5.0
Sep 10 2019
5.0
Version: 2.2.2
I use this on macOS 10.12 and it works great for Safari. Unfortunately other browsers may connect differently, so may inadvertently route around the block. Other types of blockers have the same issues in that case, so no blame on SelfControl. A great open source project and the source code is available at https://github.com/SelfControlApp/selfcontrol. You want it improved? Go at it.
kevin-139
kevin-139
Sep 9 2019
2.2.2
3.0
Sep 9 2019
3.0
Version: 2.2.2
Works. But at the same time doesn't. You can easily access any blocked site simply by using a VPN. Even the free one that comes with Opera.
TomM4006
TomM4006
Dec 22 2018
2.2.2
1.0
Dec 22 2018
1.0
Version: 2.2.2
It doesn't block subdomains, so it's more or less worthless.
vdtrinh27
vdtrinh27
Sep 6 2018
2.2.2
5.0
Sep 6 2018
5.0
Version: 2.2.2
An open-source application with a very simple interface that does what it is intended to do: temporarily block distracting websites for up to 24 hours while you accomplish other tasks on your computer. Very useful for those of us who want to block access to YouTube or Netflix while studying lecture slides or writing documents during a work session (and who wish to be able to use these sites after working). Perhaps less useful for those who already have self control over their impulses for binge watching everything Netflix or your favorite dance YouTube channel has to offer.
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
Feb 24 2018
2.2.2
2.0
Feb 24 2018
2.0
Version: 2.2.2
It doesn't indefinitely block specified websites - for up to a day max. What is the purpose of a website blocker that doesn't block malicious websites for once and all?
Mikaelf
Mikaelf
Aug 9 2017
2.2.1
0.0
Aug 9 2017
0.0
Version: 2.2.1
Shouldn't it be called LackOfSelfControl?
kevintardis
kevintardis
Apr 16 2017
2.1.1
5.0
Apr 16 2017
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
Let me say, this app is GREAT and it's FREE. It gives what it says, and it's perfect when you have to focus in any work. It save me in more than a way. Congrats to the creators and, in my case, the app is fully functional. Plus, you can change the standard time block limitation to months, which I use it. I do not write reviews but this app deserves it.
bianca96000
bianca96000
Feb 28 2017
2.1.1
3.5
Feb 28 2017
3.5
Version: 2.1.1
I really liked the fact that it's FREE and useful, the only thing is i mistakenly using the whitelist and found all the site i add still can open, and the other sites are all blocked, i contact the support and figured it out, still a good freee app.
sagehouston
sagehouston
Dec 18 2016
2.1.1
5.0
Dec 18 2016
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
only way i can ever do homework done! very amazing app and would recommend to everyone. very important to keep whitelist and blacklist separated however
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Oct 29 2016
2.1.1
5.0
Oct 29 2016
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
Unfortunately, this time SelfControl managed to block all the net for all apps and not just the sites in my black list. It worked great just a few weeks ago. This app has still been quite useful before so I hope this is not something that will happen again.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Sep 1 2016
2.1.1
5.0
Sep 1 2016
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
People actually are successfully using this on 10.11 El Capitan? I couldn't see a way to get it to work.
kothari-sanika
kothari-sanika
Apr 5 2016
2.1.1
5.0
Apr 5 2016
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
its great
noisdesign000
noisdesign000
Mar 8 2016
2.1.1
5.0
Mar 8 2016
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
Do what it does.
PolkadotsAllOver
PolkadotsAllOver
Jan 19 2016
2.1.1
5.0
Jan 19 2016
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
Great app. The half star reviews sound a bit like white- and black-list have mistakenly been confused.
shhj65
shhj65
Jan 6 2016
2.1
0.0
Jan 6 2016
0.0
Version: 2.1
Is there a way in this app to limit the total hours in a day that is spent on a website? Is there another free app to do this in mac? Thanks
davidzeboulon
davidzeboulon
Jan 3 2016
2.0.2
0.5
Jan 3 2016
0.5
Version: 2.0.2
This definite turd is leaving me with a damaged mac, which can never again access facebook, regardless of how much bull$*t FAQ and troubleshooting, restarting browsers, clearing caches, restarting computer, "removing block manually" which systematically claims to have produced a killer file that doesn't exist anywhere, and general time wasting I had to go through. I'll try and find comfort in the thought that i haven't blocked any other site... I still think they should write on their page that the purpose of this piece of crap is to permanently wreck your computer, so people could make an informed decision.
BigBadGlen
BigBadGlen
Dec 2 2015
2.0.2
5.0
Dec 2 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0.2
This app is a lifesaver for me. It sounds like a number of reviewers here have gotten tripped up on the distinction between a white list (allow me to visit only these sites) and a black list (don't allow me to visit these specific sites, such as Facebook, Youtube, etc.). White listing is a bit dangerous, because you end up shutting down all sorts of network services -- mail, messenger, etc. This is great if you truly want to block out the internet, but it can make it very hard to get normal work done. Unfortunately, the interface around white listing vs. black listing is not great, so be careful and maybe restrict your first blocking session to 15 minutes so that any mistakes aren't catastrophic. Contrary to some other reports here, I've had no trouble with the app on any flavor of Mac. OK, time to turn on SelfControl and get some work done...
baarbr
baarbr
Nov 8 2015
2.0.2
5.0
Nov 8 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0.2
Love it, works great on Mavericks and Yosemite. Simple and effective!
danjdawsonva
danjdawsonva
Nov 6 2015
2.0.2
0.5
Nov 6 2015
0.5
Version: 2.0.2
Warning: do NOT download this piece of crap software. When I activated the timer, it did not block the three websites I put on my blacklist but, rather, stripped my computer completely of internet functionality. Additionally, it made my browser and several other programs with internet functions (such as itunes and the mail app) crash, unable to be reopened. Luckily I had the foresight to do a 15-minute test run before using it any longer, but even after the timer for that went off nothing changed. Using the "stop block manually" button was no help either. Only after restarting did my computer go back to normal. This software ended up wasting plenty of my time, rather than than saving any.
jiggamahninja
jiggamahninja
Nov 5 2015
2.0.2
4.5
Nov 5 2015
4.5
Version: 2.0.2
Just so you know, it's difficult (if not impossible) to stop the timer after you start it. I had to learn that the hard way after I accidentally set it for 6 hours. I tried "force quitting," turning off my computer, closing the app but nothing worked. Anyway, it's a great app! It's the only way I can do my work. Very simple to use. And you can have a blacklist (or whitelist) so you make sure you won't succumb to temptation. I'd only recommend that they move the "start" button away from the timer scale.
Annelynguris
Annelynguris
Oct 15 2015
2.0.2
5.0
Oct 15 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0.2
Hate this app. I was supposed to be on facebook and pinterest today, instead, I cleaned my house, finished my website, cooked for a month ahead, and swept the driveway. I also learned a new language.
louisemblundell
louisemblundell
Oct 6 2015
2.0.2
4.5
Oct 6 2015
4.5
Version: 2.0.2
Love this App! Someone recommended it to me, to help from being distracted when I was trying to study and it is brilliant! And you can't get around it once it's blocked - which is fabulous! I of course tried 'o) Thank you! My only suggestion would be for it to have a function where you could preset the timer, so you can't be tempted to have a quick peek BEFORE setting the SelfControl Timer when you first sit down at your computer.
eduardo-schafer
eduardo-schafer
Aug 12 2015
2.0.2
0.5
Aug 12 2015
0.5
Version: 2.0.2
This used to be a great app, but i heard it wouldn't work on yosemite. When they released version 2.0.2 i gave it a try again. The websites on my blacklist haven't been available for 2 days now, i don't know what to do. Its a shame.
acred
acred
Mar 19 2015
2.0.2
0.5
Mar 19 2015
0.5
Version: 2.0.2
This used to be perfect and work without a hitch - blocking only the listed websites for the specified time. Since the most recent update, however, this now completely blocks all internet functionality on my mac (running OSX 10.7.5) and then eventually goes on to take up all processing power, causing my mac to grind to a halt, require a forced shut down and restart. I tried to get the app to work on a few occasions and this has been the result every time. Avoid.
michael-lasker17-1
michael-lasker17-1
Mar 8 2015
2.0.2
0.5
Mar 8 2015
0.5
Version: 2.0.2
The whitelist is too complex to operate and the blacklist doesn't work well because if you want to watch something you don't even have to use what you blocked. 0.5/5
tofurkyjunior
tofurkyjunior
Dec 15 2014
2.0.2
0.5
Dec 15 2014
0.5
Version: 2.0.2
So I was hoping this would be a great app, as I'd heard good things about the Cold Turkey app for the PC, and was hoping this would be the same thing. After installing it and blacklisting about 7 or so sites, I set the timer for 3 hours and then tried to go on those sites to make sure everything was working properly. Trouble was, I could still access the sites I'd blacklisted. Instead, every other site (except Google, for some weird reason), was blocked. Sites I needed for studying, such as Wolfram Alpha, Desmos, etc., were blocked along with literally everything else. Luckily I had my phone and I could look up tips for how to bypass the app. My mac's clock is now set 3 hours ahead and everything's working properly, but needless to say I'll be uninstalling the app and won't be using it again.
hughhai
hughhai
Dec 7 2014
2.0.2
0.5
Dec 7 2014
0.5
Version: 2.0.2
I had high hopes for this app. Unfortunately, instead of just blocking Facebook for me (yes, I followed the instructions properly), it blocked all access to the Internet completely: all browsers, Messenger, Mail - everything. I lost an entire day of work instead of reducing my distractions. Even worse, I could not upload files to meet a work deadline. Fortunately, once the timer ran out, everything is working normally. I am uninstalling immediately.
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
Oct 13 2014
2.0
5.0
Oct 13 2014
5.0
Version: 2.0
Awesome software. It allows for a distraction free work experience. If you come from procrastination-nation and keep visiting websites while you should be working, this software is for you. Best part, it's open source :)
GowthamanA3647
GowthamanA3647
Nov 19 2013
1.5.1
4.0
Nov 19 2013
4.0
Version: 1.5.1
It works reliably and easy to control facebook and other social networks
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
May 19 2013
1.5.1
5.0
May 19 2013
5.0
Version: 1.5.1
Under OS X 10.6.8 Self Control works reliably and very well. No issues what so ever. I find the "unbreakable" block to relieve me of my pointless web browsing during work hours. Great Value!
kennethchung
kennethchung
Apr 22 2013
1.5.1
5.0
Apr 22 2013
5.0
Version: 1.5.1
I like it, this is a type of utility that I was looking for. It works great!!!! There is some stability issues, but it is good!!!!
Jynto
Jynto
Mar 30 2013
1.5.1
4.5
Mar 30 2013
4.5
Version: 1.5.1
Nothing else like it. I've tried browser-based blockers, and they don't work because you can just switch to another browser. But this... just works. The interface could do with a little work. I'd prefer if it lived in the menu bar, rather than the dock. And it would be better if there was an option to extend the time period before the previous period runs out.
boobear
boobear
Mar 30 2013
1.5.1
1.0
Mar 30 2013
1.0
Version: 1.5.1
Is it possible to block skype?
leen8738
leen8738
Dec 5 2012
1.4
0.0
Dec 5 2012
0.0
Version: 1.4
Error -60031 received from the Security Server. How do I fix this??
jmdeamer
jmdeamer
Nov 14 2012
1.4
0.5
Nov 14 2012
0.5
Version: 1.4
Useless. Works inconsistently or not at all.
REMitchell
REMitchell
Nov 12 2012
1.4
4.0
Nov 12 2012
4.0
Version: 1.4
Yes, you can always bang your head against the wall, uninstall the software, restart your computer, figure out a sneaky way around it, or whatever -- but the activation energy to do that is way higher than it would be just to get back to work :-p It works fantastically for me, whenever I get frustrated by work, I tend to go to Facebook/Reddit out of habit. No more! It's really saved my sanity, and hours of my time!
xxcourt
xxcourt
Sep 27 2012
1.4
0.0
Sep 27 2012
0.0
Version: 1.4
I love selfcontrol! It has helped me get through homework several times...but now I have a problem. I guess the program is frozen, because the time is not counting down. I set it for an hour about 3 hours ago, and the clock is still stuck at 59 minutes. I've restarted the computer, restarted the app, etc trying to see if I can get it "unstuck" and get it to count down...but no luck thus far. Any help?
Pik80
Pik80
Aug 3 2012
1.4
0.0
Aug 3 2012
0.0
Version: 1.4
1.4 is not a universal app. Why does MacUpdate get this wrong so often?
Alicedi
Alicedi
Jul 26 2012
1.4
0.5
Jul 26 2012
0.5
Version: 1.4
As pointed out, its just too intrusive. Blocks sites but then blocks even the associated sites. You cannot unblock them once blocked. And it frequently crashed. I have been using Qustodio (www.qustodio.com) for a while and shall keep using it. Given that its free, it has a whole lot of features such as data tracking, site blocking, and even monitoring activities. I am a firm believer in the fact that in order to accomplish total parental control, you need complete programs and not just extensions.
generalmike23
generalmike23
Jun 8 2012
1.3
5.0
Jun 8 2012
5.0
Version: 1.3
So far have had no problems, it blocks what i want and for how long i want. Other websites work fine. So far in college this app has helped me quite a bit. I would recommend this app, PLUS ITS FREE! Thanks for everyone who made it the app it is today and thanks for the creator for updating it!
gsm54321
gsm54321
May 31 2012
1.3
1.0
May 31 2012
1.0
Version: 1.3
This is a very dangerous program that interferes with more than just the select sites. I put this on for 4 hours, and like it should, it blocked the blacklisted sites. It also blocked a random assortment of pages like GOOGLE DOCS, and caused pages like wikipedia and EBSCO Host to render oddly, to the point where they couldn't be used. This program is dangerous and you should be very carful when using.
trest90
trest90
May 23 2012
1.3
4.5
May 23 2012
4.5
Version: 1.3
https://twitter.com/ doesn't seem to be blocked? i have copied and pasted it from safari into the blacklist but nothing seems to happen..?? thanks.
Apowell-64
Apowell-64
May 14 2012
1.3
5.0
May 14 2012
5.0
Version: 1.3
I love this app, but it blocks proquest and I can't seem to figure out why (I don't have it set to be blocked). It remains blocked even after I turn off the "block common domains" feature
sapphire
sapphire
Mar 23 2012
1.3
5.0
Mar 23 2012
5.0
Version: 1.3
I love this app! However, I think it would be great if we could block websites for longer though, for maybe a week or two, for those of us in college who need the time during finals week? Intervals would be nice too, like if it could block the blacklist for say, 5 hours, then it gives us a 20 minute break, then it blocks it again. Also, I can't seem to block YouTube without blocking Google Docs! I assume it's because the accounts are linked, but for some reason it's just Docs, Gmail and Google stay fine...