Back to BackupLoupe page
BackupLoupe free download for Mac

BackupLoupe Reviews

2.16.2
07 September 2019

Analyze, browse, and restore Time Machine backups.

Conflict
01 May 2016

Most helpful

Just bought this app after looking at a competitor product, that was 3 times the cost and in the process discovered that they charged 2/3 of the purchase cost for an upgrade. When I received my purchase email, I was pleasantly surprised. I am glad to be able to support this app and any further development :)
Like (7)
Version 2.9.2

Read 30 BackupLoupe User Reviews

Rate this app:

marc-130
20 December 2019
Installed the trial. Three levels on the trial does not seem sufficient to evaluate the product. But anyway Time Machine would not backup thereafter, so uninstalled.
Like
Version 2.16.2
1 answer(s)
Soma-Zone
Soma-Zone
07 January 2020
marc-130, Thank you for taking the time to trial BackupLoupe. I can assure you that BackupLoupe did not alter your backup in any way. I assume the culprit was a manually mounted backup bundle but I am only guessing here. Please contact our support if you have questions about BackupLoupe and the way it works.
Like
Version 2.16.2
ISKOTB
02 July 2019
I recently switched Macbooks and I couldn't get all my data back from TM to the new laptop so I contacted Apple support and they said what I got is what it is there is nothing else that the tech can do. luckily I ran across BL and I loved how I could view my TM backups real "easy", select which data I want to restore back and off course nothing is easy these days, I had some issues and Robby handed it all for just $15!!!!
Thank You!!!!
Like (1)
Version 2.15
YHC
02 July 2018
I really HATE this developer's Attitude. Recently, I found the following: After Time Machine Backup was completed, my external hard drive was still running (the indicator light on my external hard drive was shining as well), and I cannot unmount my external hard drive. Finally, I found this app are working in the background WITHOUT LAUNCHING IT, so I told the developer that hope he can tell users about this when they are trying to unmount their hard drive, The following is his reply; you guys can judge it by yourself. --- By default BackupLoupe scans only with the GUI open. If desired the user can configure BackupLoupe to scan in the background without user intervention. It is the user's responsibility to remember which software he/she installs. --- It is the user's responsibility to remember which software he/she installs. It is the user's responsibility to remember which software he/she installs. It is the user's responsibility to remember which software he/she installs. --- I really HATE this developer's Attitude. Please judge it by yourself.
Like (1)
Version 2.13.6
6 answer(s)
Soma-Zone
Soma-Zone
21 July 2018
YHC, You have explicitly enabled background indexing which—for obvious reasons—requires the backup drive to be mounted while indexes are created. When you enabled this option BackupLoupe told you that indexing of new snapshots would now be handled by a background task. After your complaint I added a paragraph stating that you cannot unmount your backup drive while indexing your backup. I've even sent you a screenshot of the new dialog. But even with this new paragraph in place: It is up to you to remember which software you install and run on your computer. There is no way around this simple fact.
Like (8)
YHC
YHC
21 July 2018
Oh, I am very very very sorry, because users need to remember everything, especially one-time question. Why you don't want to make a new dialog when users are trying to unmount their hard drive.




Poor Developer.
Like
Soma-Zone
Soma-Zone
21 July 2018
In the nine years of BackupLoupe's existence you were the first user to complain about this issue. You told me that you had deleted the program and wanted to share your experience with soma-zone on public web sites and social networks. You did not reply to my last email. I did not feel that any more action was necessary from my side.
Like (7)
YHC
YHC
21 July 2018
I really really hate a developer telling me I am a first one to report this issue. It’s not a point, ok? The issue is true, and I gave you my suggestion, and you told me IT’S MY RESPONSIBILITY, so I shared this bad experience.

That’s all.
Like
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
02 February 2019
I so wish users like you would stop infecting MacUpdate with this personal crap.

No one is ever going to please you. Period.

This space is for "reviews", not personal complaints. Tell the developer what ails you on your dime and through email

Or, if all else fails ––▶︎ grow up.
Like (8)
Ssj152
Ssj152
29 May 2019
This is a useful program. If I need to remember stuff like this I Use notepad as a persistent store for one place to look for such programs under one heading.
Like (2)
Mecanique
21 November 2017
Had problems indexing at first. Got an immediate response from the developer and followup. Now works well.
Like (5)
Version 2.13.1
nevneale
20 May 2017
Excellent product - Easy to use and extremely useful - well worth the money.
Like (6)
Version 2.9.4
Conflict
01 May 2016
Just bought this app after looking at a competitor product, that was 3 times the cost and in the process discovered that they charged 2/3 of the purchase cost for an upgrade. When I received my purchase email, I was pleasantly surprised. I am glad to be able to support this app and any further development :)
Like (7)
Version 2.9.2
Cortig
25 April 2016
Very convenient tool! After indexing the backups, it made monitoring what was taking place in the background a breeze.
Like (5)
Version 2.9.2
MichaelHaeusler
01 November 2015
El Capitan 10.11.1: when indexing all your Time Machine backups at the beginning, the app tends to crash often. When finished, it seems stable. (The documentation could be better: e.g. some indexed TM backup states are in italics, and I couldn't find out, why that is the case.) All in all, it works, whereas restoring apps isn't too intuitive, but it's still great.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.3
3 answer(s)
soma-zone
soma-zone
02 November 2015
Dear Michael, Thanks for taking the time to review BackupLoupe. We'd greatly appreciate if you could send us the crash report (http://www.soma-zone.com/support) so we can fix this issue. The backup states are described in "Understanding the interface">"The main window">"Snapshot list".
Like (2)
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
11 November 2015
Sorry, but I can replicate the error. As soon as I switched to "Index snapshots in background", these crashes mid-indexing stopped. At first I had manually triggered indexing of snapshots, and that might have been a factor. Auto-indexing works fine. The only crashes I am currently experiencing are when switching from standard to mobile backups (and vice versa) via the pop-up menu. Will send you two crash reports later.
Like (1)
soma-zone
soma-zone
11 November 2015
Michael, there is a development preview available which addresses this problem. Please contact me at support@soma-zone.com and I'll provide a link.
Like (2)
xvi
16 April 2015
Great support! BackupLoupe 2.7 crashed on my Mac. Albeit an unsupported configuration, in less than 24 hours I received a 2.7.1DP2 preview that corrected this issue and worked flawlessly. Few customer supports react as fast as they did.
Like (4)
Version 2.7
1 answer(s)
mele113
mele113
25 April 2015
Agree fully, Support is without a doubt The BEST
Like (5)
Tomq
23 December 2014
Excellent. I use BackupLoupe mainly to search for files that Time Machine backed up that take up too much space and that I do not need backed up. This helps prevent my backup drive from filling up too quickly unnecessarily. Program well maintained with updates. Have used it for many years. Great!
Like (4)
Version 2.6
3 answer(s)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
27 January 2015
You do realize that in TM preferences you can add volumes and folders to the "ignore" list, right? In my case I have a separate backup scheme for my huge "Pictures" folder and I exclude that from TM.

That's not to say that this app isn't otherwise helpful.
Like (2)
Tomq
Tomq
30 January 2015
Yip. I am aware of the ignore list, and I use it. Thanks. BackupLoupe helps me decide which files and folders to put into the TM ignore list.
Like (1)
Niku1000
Niku1000
14 February 2015
Have you ever asked them for help? I have and never received a reply. Well, I've only waited one day for them to answer my last question, but I asked them the first one several days ago. Fortunately, I was able to get the answer from Apple Support Forums. However, it does seem to me that the company that sells the product should be the one to answer questions about it. Apparently, they don't feel the same way.
Like
June8
26 May 2013
I use this utility since approx. 3 years. It was always very helpful for me. My decision not changed: Much better that its high priced competitor. Developer is very sensitive and helpful.
Like (5)
Version 2.3.5
Z80AL
19 April 2013
Just wanted to comment on the speed of support provided ..... After successfully indexing a gigantic backup (>200 snapshots), I attempted a further index of the additional snapshots added in the interim (since the indexing had taken some hours). This additional indexing crashed, and I emailed the developer with the details. Not only did he reply within 25 minutes(!), but he sent me a link to a newer version (2.3.5), which he's apparently releasing shortly. I've found 2.3.5 to be stable thus far (I'm using it on both Snow Leopard and Mountain Lion), and there's no denying the good value in this app for just $5. Once the indexing is done, then the speed of Backup Loupe is excellent, and it's very easy to find when a particular item was backed up. Overall, a very handy utility.
Like (5)
Version 2.3.4
Frankof
26 January 2013
New version immediately crashes when it starts to index local backups. Sometimes, rarely, it does not crash at that point, but indexes all backups properly (and shows their sizes afterwards). Then, when you click on one indexed backup to see what has been backed up, it shows that, and then is stuck. When you click on another backup, it does not change to that backup, but doesn't do anything for some time and then crashes. Used to be a good and useful program, though...
Like
Version 2.3.1
1 answer(s)
Gilby101mu
Gilby101mu
27 January 2013
I sent email to developer re getting 'stuck'. Fixed within a few hours in v 2.3.2. That seems pretty good to me!
Like (3)
Fabro
10 October 2012
Useful app with a nice UI.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
MisterE
24 June 2012
A top notch utility that I could not live without! It's a must have for anyone who manages more than a single TM backup for someone who only emails and browses the web on their computer. If you're a power user or working with multiple TM disks or perhaps disk image backups of TM disks (I do this before clean installs) BackupLoupe is the only way to go! Can't beat the price and it's maintained regularly. Interface was a little counterintuitive for me at first but then I read the help file, RTFM!, and I got it now. I discovered a lot of new features when I finally read the help file too. I wish it was possible to surgically remove something I backed-up by mistake but I know the purpose of this utility is to not write to the TM disk in any way so I know that's not going to happen. Given the choice of guaranteed data integrity by leaving it alone vs. being blamed every time someone corrupts their TM backup for whatever reason, I would always choose the former. So, if you're even on the fence trust me, a 15+ year Mac user, and just get it already. I'm not affiliated with soma-zone in any way. I just know a killer app when I see one and I knew this one was killer the first time I used it!
Like (5)
Version 2.2
Frankof
20 February 2012
I've used BackupLoupe for quite some time, and generally like it. However, I noted that twice after using BackupLoupe, the "verification" process of TimeMachine killed my backup. The first time I could repair the affected sparsebundle, the second time the bundle was too corrupt to be repaired. It MAY be a coincidence, but in both cases the failed verification happened exactly with the first backup after using BackupLoupe. As far as I understand, BackupLoupe does not modify the backups itself, so the problem might be a scheduled TimeMachine running at the same time as BackupLoupe indexing. Or BackupLoupe doesn't mount or unmount the backups properly. Whatever the reason, I am now reluctant to use or recommend BackupLoupe.
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
soma-zone
soma-zone
22 February 2012
Hi Frankof, as you said, BL does not alter your backups in any way. As a matter of fact, it even suspends all scanning operations while 'backupd', the Time Machine service, is running. Still I'd like to know what caused your problems. If you have the time, please open a support ticket at http://support.soma-zone.com. Thank you!
Like (3)
avername
24 November 2011
Unfortunately not read the contents of the backup from Time Capsule(( Displays a list of digital archives, each of 8.35 MB. Mac OS 10.7.2
Like
Version 2.1.5
1 answer(s)
soma-zone
soma-zone
22 December 2011
Hi avername, Please read section 2 ('Before you start') in the included help file. It explains how to mount the backup file system.
Like (4)
Joe-Porter
19 November 2010
A thoroughly useful utility. And a really good price - less than a Big Mac If used in superuser mode it can munge backups - but when used with some sense it is a wonderful tool. I managed to corrupt a terabyte or so of backups - but to be fair I was about to erase that disk anyway so it wasn't a big deal for me.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
soma-zone
soma-zone
21 November 2010
Hi Joe, thanks for taking the time to evaluate BackupLoupe. Please note, that BackupLoupe is not capable of modifying your backups in any way. It will read them, search them or restore items. But it does not alter your backups. Not in super user mode, nor under any other circumstances. Whatever corrupted your backup, it was not BackupLoupe.
Like (8)
Version 2.1.2
soma-zone
17 November 2010
Some users are experiencing problems with indexing snapshots. I've uploaded a fix: http://www.soma-zone.com/download/files/BackupLoupe_2.1.2_RC1.zip I've had positive feedback about this fix already, but the release of version 2.1.2 will be postponed until I get confirmation from the remaining users who reported this problem. Thanks to anybody who helped me resolving this issue!
Like (1)
Version 2.1
3 answer(s)
jocatra
jocatra
17 November 2010
Sorry, but the problem persist yet... Keep erase the old index snapshots (version 2.1.2 RC1).
Like
Version 2.1
jocatra
jocatra
19 November 2010
Now (final 2.1.2) is working, BUT don't recognize the old snapshots and unexpectedly do another without my permission... At least, this time, the app could do a new index snapshot despite of long time taked.
Like
Version 2.1.2
soma-zone
soma-zone
21 November 2010
JOCATRA, I'm glad 2.1.2 works for you. Version 2.1 uses a slightly different database format. Users of previous versions where notified about this via appcast. About "unexpectedly do another without my permission": What did BackupLoupe do without your permission? BackupLoupe supports auto indexing of new snapshots, but you have to configure it. If you think you found a bug, please let us know. Via support forum, email or IRC: http://www.soma-zone.com/support I agree that BackupLoupe could be faster. But keep in mind that it has to compare hundreds of thousands of files. And I invite you to compare BackupLoupe with competing products. You may find that BackupLoupe is not slow at all.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Frankof
16 November 2010
Latest version as of today crashes reproducibly when trying to index snapshots. Not usable any more, I had to revert to the prior version
Like (1)
Version 2.1
6 answer(s)
soma-zone
soma-zone
16 November 2010
This seems to happen on systems where TM is backing up to network attached storage. Expect a fix within the next hour. I'm sorry for the inconvenience.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Frankof
Frankof
16 November 2010
maybe, I'm backing up to my TimeCapsule.
Like
Version 2.1
soma-zone
soma-zone
16 November 2010
I just released a new version. Important: the crashed process might have left some temporary files in /tmp. Please remove them (in Terminal.app enter "rm /tmp/com.soma-zone.BackupLoupe*" without the quotes) before updating. My apologies for the trouble.
Like
Version 2.1
Frankof
Frankof
16 November 2010
ok, version 2.1.1 seems to work again. Thanks for the quick fix.
Like
Version 2.1
jocatra
jocatra
16 November 2010
As FRANKOF, same problem here and I'm not using Time Capsule... Back to 2.0.6 version. Please, fix it. Many thanks.
Like
Version 2.1
soma-zone
soma-zone
16 November 2010
@JOCATRA: Version 2.1.1 does not solve your problem? Please contact me via http://support.soma-zone.com. Thank you!
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Alanralanr
16 November 2010
Loved the lack of copy protection and reasonable price. Paid quickly.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.6
Herder-Of-Cats
05 November 2010
I can't find any meaningful help documentation. I'd absolutely do my own troubleshooting, but there isn't any documentation available within which to troubleshoot. The Knowledge base has six items, all having to do with purchasing serial numbers, basically. I'm trying to find a user's guide, so I know what are the features and functionality. And what is the meaning of the colored bars to the left and right of the list in the left panel? The product looks cool and I think it would be very helpful if I had a manual to use. Sorry team - this could be the best product in the world but if I don't know how to use it or what it means, it is worthless.
Like
Version 2.0.6
1 answer(s)
soma-zone
soma-zone
07 November 2010
Have you tried the included help file? Its available via the 'Help' menu or via the 'Show help' button in the middle of the main window right after startup. It covers the colors you are wondering about. In fact any user interface element is described. It also contains step by step instruction for many common tasks. If you are missing information in the help file, please let us know. We will do our best to make it as complete and useful as possible. But saying that there is no help file/manual available for BL is not correct.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.6
Rbtkid
07 October 2010
BackupLoupe is simple, clean, and gets the job done well and without fuss. I've just used it to save Gigabytes of space on my Time Machine volume. I can't believe it costs only $5. Given the cheap cost and the developer's trust of customers, I paid up almost right away. I gave it a 4 out of 5 for features, because I think it would be great if you could delete all backups of a file or folder from within BackupLoupe. This isn't a deal-breaker however, because it's easily done from within Time Machine itself.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.5
June8
24 September 2010
Much better that its high priced competitor. Developer is very sensitive and helpful.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.5
Leoofborg
14 September 2010
Thanks to the Dev for fast tracking 2.05 and fixing that 'no index' bug.. I was wondering what was going on... Folks, Devs that are as proactive as the ones behind BackupLoupe do not grow on trees. $5 is a small price to pay for GOOD DEVS.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.5
Dana_Nau
19 August 2010
I'm very impressed. The interface both intuitive and highly capable, and it's not often that I see that combination in a piece of software this specialized.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.3
soma-zone
12 July 2010
Thanks for taking the time to review BackupLoupe. Please contact us regarding the exclusion list issue (Help menu/Report a problem…). If there is a problem, we will fix it. Thank you!
Like
Version 2.0.1
Borlox
12 July 2010
Pro: Useful insight into TM backups. Well-designed interface. Reasonable price. True shareware with no demo limitations. Con: Excluded items are added with pathnames based on /Volumes, unlike the TM prefpane. Exclusion list is hard to read. Might not work if the volume is renamed. Hung on quit the first time I ran it. Recommended for all TM users.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
Tomq
07 October 2009
Just Great! Allows me to completely review every Time Machine backup and then block unnecessary/unwanted files from being backed up using the Time Machine preference pane, saving space (and time) on my backup drives/volumes. (Could also use the BackupLoupe blocking option, but I like to use TM.) Color coding for different size files/folders is wonderful! Very well laid out structures to see exactly what is happening with TM backups. Trivially easy to use. Solid as the Rock of Gibraltar.
Like (2)
Version 1.8
Dana-Sutton
19 May 2009
I started using Time Machine when it first came out, and I've always wanted some way of seeing logs so as I could understand what it's actually doing. So I'm very glad indeed to have this utility available. I have only one problem -- the author charges 0.90 Euros (using Paypal) and I'm afraid the cost of currency conversion might turn out to be more than the cost of the software. I've written to him suggesting that he charge his American customers $1.00 instead.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 May 2009
Dana, I'll emailed you already. Thanks for your support! Just in case someone else want's to know too: In case of currency conversion, I'll be charged an extra 0.02€. So non-EU customers pay the same as the ones in good old europe. Cheers!
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Chartier
Chartier
20 May 2009
Is another ~40¢ on a $1 application really that big of a deal? C'mon, these are iPhone software prices, and while BackupLoupe may be one-trick-pony-ish, this really seems like a non-issue. Interesting app. I do believe I'll try it.
Like (3)
Version 1.0