Back to Automaton page
Automaton free download for Mac

Automaton Reviews

1.50
28 July 2011

Four tools for improving your workflow.

Cerebrl
31 January 2010

Most helpful

I have just purchased this software with the MUPromo discount. I am still getting to know the software, so I am not going to rate it yet. What I do want to inform potential customers about is the amazing support the developer provides. I am a previous user of ClipMenu, so finding out that Automaton has a pasteboard functionality as well, I wanted Automaton to provide an additional functionality for me to completely move to Automaton. When I suggested to the developer that he add this functionality (pasting as plain text), he said, "how would you like me to implement it?" I told him with a keystroke + click. The next day he said it would be option + click to past as plain text. Amazingly fast replies and very friendly support. Great value. [Cerebrl]
Like (6)
Version 1.26

Read 17 Automaton User Reviews

Rate this app:

cobold0815
19 October 2016
Too bad that Automaton stopped working for osx Sierra (10.12). Or did anyone bring it to life already again? Thanks for any suggestions or help! Michael
Like
Version 1.50
cobold0815
19 October 2016
Too bad that Automaton stopped working for osx Sierra (10.12). Or did anyone bring it to life already again? Thanks for any suggestions or help! Michael
Like
Version 1.50
stuff-7
20 July 2014
It is a shame that this dev has walked away - this set of apps is unmatched IMO. I still use them without much issue - though they do need to be quit every so often if they get bogged down (i.e. once a week). The clipboard is the main one I use - with a large memory and the option to paste or plain text paste via keystroke it's all I need now! Notes are great as are the auto-expanders. While I am migrating to Apple for this functionality, Automaton does pictures and more for those things that Apple clips can't handle. But for simple stuff the seamless integration with IOS via Apple is unmatched IMO. Autofiler I haven't used for a while but it worked well when I did. As did the notes - very handy.
Like
Version 1.50
Surfspirit
17 September 2013
Once a very promise app, but lacks updates for long time, it stop working correctly with the Snow Leopard 20013-004 Security Update, it seems to have a serious memory leak, starting with 50 Mb, and in a few seconds it gets more than a gigabyte! Making all the OS sluggish. An update needed or an alternative app.!
Like
Version 1.50
Islandmike
09 June 2013
If you use the snippet/typer feature a lot like I did.. Automaton and auto typer still work as of 10.8.4 but it is losing some access in panes and some things are not working as well as we progress up the OSX update hierarchy. The developer has stopped supporting. There is another macro program that can import the Typer.autotyper file from user/library/application support/automaton/ called aText. It imports the macro or snippet formatting, the label, the abbreviation and is much better than exporting the CSV file from Automaton/AutoTyper and then importing into aText -- aText has good support and is not expensive.
Like
Version 1.50
Ratti
14 October 2012
It's a pity that the developer is dormant since over a year.
Like (3)
Version 1.50
Steven-Goodheart
28 July 2011
Automaton has become the most-used utility; I use it dozens, if not hundreds of times of a day—taking quick notes, copying and pasting text and links for Facebook posts, and using the AutoTyper to expand boilerplate and dates and signatures. For the price, such a great combination of features and utilities can't be beat, and when I've (rarely) had questions, the developer has answered quickly and helpful. Highly recommended!
Like
Version 1.50
Drking
21 April 2011
I've been using each of these programs for awhile now. The developer keeps them updated and is very responsive to emails. I wouldn't know where to start in choosing which I like best because they all get used frequently on my computer, each with their list of features----definitely worth the money I spent for them.
Like (1)
Version 1.45
Picatinny
18 November 2010
With 1.37 running in 64bit, Automaton takes up to 700MB of memory, in contrast to about 20MB in 32bit? I've set it to 32bit, unless someone explains the huge memory usage in 64bit.
Like
Version 1.37
Cerebrl
31 January 2010
I have just purchased this software with the MUPromo discount. I am still getting to know the software, so I am not going to rate it yet. What I do want to inform potential customers about is the amazing support the developer provides. I am a previous user of ClipMenu, so finding out that Automaton has a pasteboard functionality as well, I wanted Automaton to provide an additional functionality for me to completely move to Automaton. When I suggested to the developer that he add this functionality (pasting as plain text), he said, "how would you like me to implement it?" I told him with a keystroke + click. The next day he said it would be option + click to past as plain text. Amazingly fast replies and very friendly support. Great value. [Cerebrl]
Like (6)
Version 1.26
stuff-7
04 January 2010
As others have said the developer is very friendly & responsive (what else would you expect from an Aussie?!). I haven't really used this to it's full potential but it is well worth the money and has many useful features. The Clips part was the main draw card for me - and it does work very well. It has a few great features though really could use integration to the Right Click Menu and a popup clip'board'. Autofiler is great, as is typer. Notes is amazingly powerful - I really should use it but I find I only really use todo's that sync with my iPhone. This is among the best value software I have bought and I hope the few missing features are added to keep it at the top!
Like (1)
Version 1.23
Ratti
30 November 2009
I already owned TextExpander and Typinator licenses. Out of curiosity I bought Automaton, and have to say that the developer really sets the new standard with AutoTyper. I have emailed him several times. As this product is quite new, maybe there are not yet that many customers, but I have never had a developer respond that fast with eMails AND new releases. I switched off TexExpander and Typinator for now, AutoTyper does it all and more. I have not yet looked that deep into AutoFiler, but it seems it does nearly everything that Hazel can do for you and a bit more. AutoClips seems, compared to other clipboard managers, the weakest part of the Automaton package, but I have not yet bombarded the developer with request eMails. So I am pretty sure AutoClips will close up fast. All Automaton modules may have less eye candy than comparable apps from other developers, but that is not important to me.
Like (1)
Version 1.21
LJMac
23 November 2009
Okay, it is true that earlier releases of this ap were quite buggy (although fortunately never in a destructive way), but as everyone else says, the developer is VERY responsive, and I've emailed him extensively to identify and squash as many bugs as I could find. Now, with version 1.2, I think I can confidently say this ap is ready for prime time. And what an insanely useful little ap it is! You'll pay nearly as much as Automaton for the AutoTyper features alone from better known utilities such as Text Expander, Typinator, TypeIt4Me etc., but this works at least as well as they do IMHO, and you get all these other useful utilities thrown in! The note taker in particular is uniquely powerful, flexible and compatible. AutoFiler is probably the dark horse in the package, as it can do some incredibly powerful and useful things, but it's a little hard to describe until you try it. For example, it's ability to remove OS X 10.5+'s annoying download warning works more easily and reliably than any of the hacks I've tried. AutoClips does have at least one good free alternative, but I feel Automaton implements this functionality very well (as it does everything else), and it's good to have it as part of this nice little package.
Like (2)
Version 1.20
JohnnyFave
26 October 2009
Oh oh! Something is wrong with Version 1.17 of this app. I've been running a demo for the past few days and my iMac is crawling at times. In reviewing Activity Monitor, the app is using up over 900MB of RAM and 1.57GB of Virtual Memory. Yikes!! Needless to say, in the trash with ya!
Like (1)
Version 1.17
1 answer(s)
Xpusostomos
Xpusostomos
11 November 2009
Hi, this is the developer. You've got to be really cautious in interpreting memory usage stats. If you've got Growl installed, which most people do, try this experiment: goto System Preferences, Growl configuration, and check "Show Growl icon in menu bar". Now look for "Growl Menu" in Activity Monitor. For me on Leopard Growl 1.2 (64 bit) shows 8 Gigabytes VSIZE for this dinky little app, which all it can do is display that menu. On Snow Leopard, it shows 300MB which is twice as big as Automaton. Turn and on and off. Starts up pretty quick huh? Do you think its allocating 8GB of memory in less than one second? Private Memory (RPRVT on Leopard) is the only number that even nearly means something, and even then has to be qualified by other considerations. Why is Automaton different to other apps? Well partly because it is 64bit, which Leopard seems to be exceedingly confused about. It may be partly due to the architecture which uses a lot of small plugins, which probably also confuses the reporting in Activity Monitor. If you've got WriteRoom, Automaton uses the plugin library that developer wrote. WriteRoom on my Leopard machine (32 bit) has VSIZE of 365MB, before I even type anything, all for a fairly basic text editor. Clearly WriteRoom doesn't really use 365MB to show an empty text editor. For example, right now I'm running Automaton 64 bit on Snow Leopard, and it says 183MB Virtual Memory (VSIZE). But the private memory is only 14MB. Shared Memory is 32.5MB. That means that Automaton is linked against Apple libraries that might be 183MB, little of which has, or ever will get into memory! All it means is these program pages *could* get into memory if the program ever asked for them. But a typical program only asks for certain features out of a large library. The 32.5MB says that at least that much has got into memory, but it might not have been Automaton that did it! If Automaton is linked against Cocoa libraries, and say Finder is linked against the same library, it might have been Finder that caused that memory to get loaded! The private memory truly belongs to Automaton, but even then it might not all be resident. Most programs will have only a small portion of their actual memory resident at once. How much memory the program demands as resident depends on how much it is "touching" at the time. Programs that have no windows open at the time typically aren't touching much. Programs that are inactive, or whose activity doesn't need much data aren't touching much. Its only active memory that really matters. For example, let's say you load an enormous document into AutoNotes, and then close it. Programs don't relinquish memory as far as Activity Monitor is concerned, but it gets paged out to disk, so your real memory isn't used. Yes, there is a "Real Mem" column in Activity Monitor, but it includes shared libraries, so its not that helpful. Right now I'm using 76MB of real memory, of which 70MB is shared, so at a rough guess Automaton is probably occupying 6MB or less of memory that you could save if you shut it down. Other times, if you have been doing things, especially in the GUI this number might be bigger, but you wouldn't actually save it by shutting down, because it was all paged out anyway. In fact, a large VIrtual Memory (VSIZE) in activity monitor, could actually indicate an efficient program. It means the program is using a lot of Apple libraries, (which are shared among different programs in memory), and not reinventing the wheel with code that can't be shared. At the end of the day, how much real memory is used is mostly to do with how much memory the program "touches" during normal background usage. And this should be very small indeed for Automaton. How much virtual memory is directly attributed to a program is the Private Memory (RPRVT) field. Normal users should ignore most of this stuff because it is too hard to interpret.
Like (4)
Version 1.19
Islandmike
20 October 2009
I was surprised when I emailed the developer about AutoType and he was actually interested in my opinions. I would ask and he would do. And when my first concern was addressed, he did not turn and run when I brought up another. It should happen more often that our developers listen and take us seriously. The value of this package is outstanding, and many of us can put to good use these tools he provides; even so if only one is what you need -- he will not force you to take the set if you don't want it, you can buy only one. I especially need in my everyday work a "boilerplate" program. I have bought several and used most recently (before AutoType) TextExpander, before that Typinator, and before that TypeIt4Me. AutoType is simply superior, taking the best of all and putting it all together in one slick package. The editing window is nicely big and allows you the ability to see so you can edit and to copy in one swoop a whole template and take the copy (intact with any "tokens") into a new version and easily alter it to suite another situation. The ability to call a boilerplate from within another boilerplate means you can create a nice form that is customized for a particular use but call other sub parts that remain static so you don't need to re-write 18 times if you have 18 versions. Those who have a handful of insertion needs may be able to memorize their short list and have them entered by keyboard commands, but in my case I need to access about 36 boilerplates and a nice menubar pull down is the obvious solution. This is absolutely the BEST implementation out there -- you can see your whole title (not one that is truncated) from the menubar (and preview it if the title 6 months later does not ring a bell), you can put your boilerplates into sets to make it easier to find, and they get sorted in the menubar. It also works from the dock if you like. And this puppy is responsive and very FAST, it does not hog my memory or bog down my resources! The developer even wrote an import function that allowed me to seamlessly import my old TextExpander files ALL INTACT even with "snippets" being called from other "snippets" -- saving me at least a day of work! That import is built into the program for everyone -- and I suspect there are more to come! It handles signatures, logos, styled text -- nothing I've needed it could not do -- and that's not often something I'd be able to say, I can't with any of the other "boilerplate" programs that make one compromise. It is not everyday that we get a developer that will respond until the features we need are there and the program grows and becomes EXCELLENT. We settle all the time for lower standards, you don't need to settle for mediocre with this guy -- sit back and enjoy as he raises the bar notch by notch. Give this whole set a try with the knowledge that there is a face behind the wizard's curtain that will help you when you need it.
Like (3)
Version 1.17
Docshlo
12 October 2009
This application is working very well and as described. I purchased after experiencing perfect support from the developer. This one application will replace 2 to 4 other applications and it's fully compatible with snow.
Like (1)
Version 1.14
Trahe
08 October 2009
I tried and bought this App, bcs it brings together, what i thought was good idea to put together : Clipboard Manager (also keeps Clipboard after Shutdown), rather interesting to have the Clips sorted by Spaces/App AutoTyper (replaces self defined acronyms like TIA with completion) Notes : which i never have known to be needed, but some tiny good replacement of using TextEdit, also you can have tags for linking notes to each other, might be more interesting when get used AutoFiler: some Hazel like Rule Sets for Folders Wel actually, to make it short, i like this App, bcs it is more easy to use than having mutltiple Apps, for me it replaced Savvy Clipboard, Hazel, Typinator, and can be configured all in one. I am indy developer myself so like the simplicity and ease of use
Like (1)
Version 1.12