Back to SimpleTask page
SimpleTask free download for Mac

SimpleTask Reviews

1.1.1
29 August 2009

Quick and easy to-do list app with iPhone support.

Easer
28 August 2009

Most helpful

I'm surprised no one has reviewed this yet. This is a pretty nice program. I recognize there are a host of "to-do" programs out there and certainly several that are more full-featured. I like this program precisely because it doesn't have too many bells and whistles. Indeed, I find this update to demonstrate that its author is focused on the right kinds of developments. It's certainly worth taking out for a spin.
Like (3)
Version 1.1

Read 11 SimpleTask User Reviews

Rate this app:

Mikael-B
27 July 2015
Download link gives "Failed to load page content".
Like
Version 1.1.1
2 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
13 January 2016
Go here:

http://adamfishercox.com/demos/simpletaskapp/home.html
Like
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
13 January 2016
Thanks, we've fixed the link.
Like
Kripton
29 February 2012
This is what I was looking for. Easy to use with a nice GUI. Very quick to add and edit tasks. Many customizable interesting features from the preferences.
Like
Version 1.1.1
shutupxo
09 January 2012
I'm so in love with this to-do. It's simple and easy to use. I appreciate the colors as well. It is what it is, without the frills.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Dogzilla
28 November 2010
I really want to like this app. In some ways, it's the perfect Todo manager for me - simple yet with enough tagging depth, easily accessible via the menubar shortcut, and with the promise of sync to my other Macs and iPhone. Unfortunately, the (paid) iPhone app doesn't sync for me, and I've yet to read a single person having success with the Mac-iPhone sync. Since the developer uses a bit of sleight-of-hand in claiming sync between Macs (it requires syncing one mac to the iPhone app, then back to another mac), the mac-to-mac sync also doesn't work. Contacting the developer for support on this feature was no help at all. So, if you're interested in only using this on a single Mac and need a simple, quickly-accessed todo list manager, it's hard to beat this app. But if you're looking to sync your todo lists between multiple devices (be they Mac, iPhone or iPad), this is not the app for you. Should the developer add sync via iCal/MobileMe and fix the iPhone sync issues (not to mention creating an iPad version), then it might be viable.
Like
Version 1.1.1
cstephen87
05 May 2010
The idea of this application is viable, and well needed! The issue that this specific app exhibits is the obvious lack of user-friendliness upon start-up. Also, further customizations need to be available from (cmd+,) Prefs. Pane.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
Drdul
09 April 2010
Oh man, I was *this* close to buying the iPhone app and devoting my life to Simple Task when I discovered that there is no Mac-to-Mac sync capability. Even though the description on the dev's site implies that you can sync between Macs, it turns out (according to a tweet from the dev) that the only way to accomplish this is to sync the iPhone app with multiple Macs. If you use just one Mac and an iPhone, you'll be happy, but if like me you have a desktop Mac and a MacBook and you want your to do items to automatically sync between them, then you're out of luck.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
-M-S-
04 September 2009
For a simple, free To Do list SimpleTask is great. But I really, really wish you could adjust the font size/view options. Why does the little Flag icon require its own line? If every task could be on one line instead of two (the Flag being on the second line), I could see twice as many items at a time. And if I could bump everything down to a 10pt font size, I could see even more. I have a lot of things to do! Scrolling up and down just makes me have to do more ;)
Like (3)
Version 1.1.1
Rampancy
30 August 2009
I understand that it was an oversight - thanks so very much for quickly posting a PPC-compatible build of the newest version of SimpleTask. It works perfectly on my Power Mac G4!
Like
Version 1.1.1
Rampancy
28 August 2009
Their update window for version 1.1 didn't mention that it was going to be Intel-only, and furthermore they took off version 1.0 so any 10.5 PPC users left couldn't use their app. Sad. If I'm going to be left in the lurch and lied to I'm ditching this app and using something else. Other developers came out with 10.6-compatible updates to their apps which were compatible with 10.5 and were universal binaries. Why couldn't they do it?
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Joellevin
Joellevin
29 August 2009
It was a mistake, sorry about that. The release as of today (1.1.1) is a universal binary, and all future 10.5-compatible releases will also be universal binaries.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
Stephan213
28 August 2009
Created an account just to review this app. I love it! There are many To Do apps out there, for mac and in the app store. I had recently thought about using Things, and after trying out the demo, I realized it was overkill for my needs. (not to mention quite pricey) I did however, love the ability to sync it to my iphone. Then I read about simpletask on MacRumors, and BAM, I'm hooked. :D Simple, yet functional, simpletask is perfect for me. Being able to create tasks on the go with the iphone app, or creating one with a quick keyboard shortcut while I'm browsing the interwebz, simpletask is just amazing.
Like (3)
Version 1.1
Easer
28 August 2009
I'm surprised no one has reviewed this yet. This is a pretty nice program. I recognize there are a host of "to-do" programs out there and certainly several that are more full-featured. I like this program precisely because it doesn't have too many bells and whistles. Indeed, I find this update to demonstrate that its author is focused on the right kinds of developments. It's certainly worth taking out for a spin.
Like (3)
Version 1.1