Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Keep Drive Spinning page
Keep Drive Spinning free download for Mac

Keep Drive Spinning Reviews3.0

28 November 2019

Makes sure that a connected drive never goes to sleep.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
candiazoo
candiazoo
Dec 20 2020
3.0
3.0
Dec 20 2020
3.0
Version: 3.0
Not working with Big Sur on M1.
paul-422
paul-422
Jul 26 2020
3.0
1.0
Jul 26 2020
1.0
Version: 3.0
Program does not work on Catalina. Too bad since I hate my hard drives constantly starting and stopping.
jon-114
jon-114
Feb 6 2019
2.6.2
0.0
Feb 6 2019
0.0
Version: 2.6.2
Two questions: 1. If I uncheck "Put hard disks to sleep when possible" in Energy Saver, will that leave my drives spinning even when the computer is sleeping? 2. If so, then will Keep Drive Spinning also do that? I would rather drives slept while the computer is asleep.
Linrey
Linrey
Jun 14 2018
2.6.2
5.0
Jun 14 2018
5.0
Version: 2.6.2
WOW! Finally I can immediately see any directory on my external 6TB drive as soon as I click on it! I aliased my Documents, Movies, Music and Photos directories off of my 1 TB SSD and onto a huge, fast drive once they outgrew the boot volume. Before this utility I had to wait at dozens of times a day for the drive to spin up and the disk index to be read. THANK YOU Jon Stovel!
9268006
9268006
May 11 2018
2.6.2
2.0
May 11 2018
2.0
Version: 2.6.2
Now I try sudo pmset -c spindown 0
marc-cusumano
marc-cusumano
Aug 25 2017
2.6.2
0.5
Aug 25 2017
0.5
Version: 2.6.2
Does not work.
Spudfry
Spudfry
Apr 16 2017
2.6.2
0.0
Apr 16 2017
0.0
Version: 2.6.2
Can't get this to work on 10.12.4 Sierra. I have a 4-bay USB enclosure that I swap out Hard drives on periodically - does it recognise drives under this type of configuration? I have set each drive, and have had the same 3 in for about 2 months now - they remain unaffected & still need to spin up.
Caput-Draconis
Caput-Draconis
Aug 23 2016
2.6.2
5.0
Aug 23 2016
5.0
Version: 2.6.2
Love it!
scottalopez
scottalopez
Jul 3 2016
2.6.2
0.0
Jul 3 2016
0.0
Version: 2.6.2
I am using this application to keep my Airport awake (which has another external USB drive connected to it storing my iTunes library). This appears to work great while my Mac is powered on and even when I open/close iTunes, but when I reboot the MacI have to go into iTunes preferences to reset my iTunes library location to the External/Airport drive. Is there something I can do so that I don't have to set this every time I power on my machine or no?
planetfall
planetfall
May 5 2016
2.6.2
5.0
May 5 2016
5.0
Version: 2.6.2
I've been running this program for two days and it is fantastic. For 18 long months, I've wanted to throw my $6000 Mac Pro out the window for these constant drive load-up delays in Final Cut, After Effects, Photoshop and Finder. Keep Spinning is simple, free, and harmless as far as I can tell. I leave it in my dock and make selected drives "live" before beginning an intensive work session, and then deselect the drives when I'm done, allowing them to go into their normal energy-saver mode. While a plummeting Apple stock and lack of innovation continue to frustrate customers, thank goodness someone is creating solutions like this. Would recommend A+
Winstonsmith
Winstonsmith
Mar 10 2016
2.6.2
5.0
Mar 10 2016
5.0
Version: 2.6.2
Works beautifully! I've had a Mediasonic 4-bay ProBox running for a number of years with Keep Drive Spinning. I found this program after going through all the Mediasonic forums and endless web searches trying to fix my drive issues. Thanks. On a real positive note, I see the developer "actively" answering users in this forum. I say actively because it's not unusual for software dev to be slow and half-assed (mind you, a lot of users don't put in the effort or have the knowledge required). The fact that this is free software and nicely supported is kinda rare.
smolson999
smolson999
Feb 3 2016
2.6.2
0.5
Feb 3 2016
0.5
Version: 2.6.2
I had such high hopes for this but my external drive still disconnected. Very frustrating. It appeared to be working but that was perhaps due to the fact that I was accessing the drive constantly updating my family tree...... Wish it had worked.
TeRRyZx
TeRRyZx
Jan 30 2016
2.6.2
5.0
Jan 30 2016
5.0
Version: 2.6.2
Works especially well on drives that I use for my Plex server that need to be awake all the time. Love It!!!
Jon-Stovell
Jon-Stovell
Jan 30 2016
2.6.1
0.0
Jan 30 2016
0.0
Version: 2.6.1
It seems that MacUpdate has started serving up bogus, adware laden "installer" files instead of the real software unless you are logged in with a MacUpdate account. I think this is horrible. To bypass this, please download Keep Drive Spinning directly from http://jon.stovell.info/software.
beau-5
beau-5
Jan 15 2016
2.6.1
1.0
Jan 15 2016
1.0
Version: 2.6.1
Tried this applet but it did nothing when I clicked “Keep A Drive Awake”. It just keeps coming back to the option. I tried clicking the “Let a drive sleep” option to see if that launched anything but it said “No drives are being kept awake”. Am I missing something?
DanP7611
DanP7611
Oct 29 2015
2.6.1
5.0
Oct 29 2015
5.0
Version: 2.6.1
Does exactly what is says it will do, keeps my USB powered external drives spinning up so everything works faster and I do not have to constantly be waiting for the rainbow of death. Nice feature is open it on install, set it, quit and forget. Drives still spool down when Macbook Pro goes into sleep mode.
cto-dva-keep01
cto-dva-keep01
Sep 26 2015
2.6
0.0
Sep 26 2015
0.0
Version: 2.6
It should be noted that if a disk drive has multiple partitions, then only one of the partitions needs to be specified in order to keep the drive spinning
kostas-iliopoulos
kostas-iliopoulos
Aug 8 2015
2.5
5.0
Aug 8 2015
5.0
Version: 2.5
I would love if this app worked... It creates the file the first time but nothing happens afterwards
Foosterizer
Foosterizer
Jul 31 2015
2.5
5.0
Jul 31 2015
5.0
Version: 2.5
works great on my dual boot mac.
Luap123
Luap123
Jul 27 2015
2.4
0.0
Jul 27 2015
0.0
Version: 2.4
I'm not sure this is working with Yosemite 10.10.4

I have a Toshiba Canvio with 4 partitions on it and have put it on one partition.

Ive done what it says on here and I can see (When I unhide files) the updated file change once a minute, but I cant find the the launch agents made by Keep Drive Spinning in the LaunchAgents folder of my user's Library folder.

So in:
Macintosh HD>Library>LaunchAgents

My system sometimes seems slightly better, then sometimes it locks up for a second or two like it always did with this external HD attached.
Any help?
Many thanks.
federico-lite
federico-lite
Jul 14 2015
2.4
3.5
Jul 14 2015
3.5
Version: 2.4
I believe I've just found a bug; if a drive is mounted in a custom folder (for example in my case, I mount an external HD as /opt) the app doesn't work: It sees the Volume by the real folder under which it is mounted but then tries to access it with /Volumes/<foldernamehere>
aeevr
aeevr
May 20 2015
2.3
5.0
May 20 2015
5.0
Version: 2.3
Looks like my time machine backup is gonna FINALLY AT LONG LAST complete on this toshiba external hard drive because of this app. Thank you so much! I thought it was a cable issue.
Andrew8042
Andrew8042
Mar 17 2015
2.2
5.0
Mar 17 2015
5.0
Version: 2.2
Good1
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
Mar 6 2015
2.1
0.0
Mar 6 2015
0.0
Version: 2.1
Will this work on my Crucial 740 SSD? :-)
Eat-A-Peach
Eat-A-Peach
Mar 4 2015
2.0.1
4.5
Mar 4 2015
4.5
Version: 2.0.1
Great little program to keep my external Toshiba TB drives awake; works great with my model drives on OS X Yosemite 10.10.2
George-Baron
George-Baron
Mar 4 2015
2.0.1
0.0
Mar 4 2015
0.0
Version: 2.0.1
This new update is not working. I did the I did the Security & Privacy allowance, permissions, and firewall allowance things, and removal of all files for the previous version of this app. when I try to execute the order I get, "Could not tell OS X to keep I-Saeng awake. An unknown error occurred." Any suggestions? Have Yosemite, I-5 iMac.
matthew-hilton
matthew-hilton
Feb 19 2015
1.4
4.5
Feb 19 2015
4.5
Version: 1.4
Mr. Stovall Keep Spinning was recommended to me from a support guy at G - Tech. My drive falls asleep and crashed my premiere pro projects. When I downloaded your software and tried to assign this drive to keep spinning I received an error: launchctl: no plist was returned for: /Users/mhilton/Library/LaunchAgents/net.jonstovell.keepBluegrass&BackroadsSpinning.plist launchctl: no plist was returned for: /Users/mhilton/Library/LaunchAgents/net.jonstovell.keepBluegrass&BackroadsSpinning.plist nothing found to load I think your software will save the day once I get it working. Any help would be very appreciated Thanks Matt Hilton
brandon-2
brandon-2
Nov 7 2014
1.4
5.0
Nov 7 2014
5.0
Version: 1.4
I've loved this program for years! But it no longer works after upgrading to Yosemite. Anyone else had an issue? Anyone know if there's a Yosemite compatible version coming?
mgrou
mgrou
Sep 13 2014
1.4
4.0
Sep 13 2014
4.0
Version: 1.4
I use a Lacie 4Big and it keeps going to sleep. I installed KDS witch solved my "unmounting for nothing" issue. However it seems that KDS is not active after reboot since my disc is going to sleep as before. I'm on OSX 10.8.5 Beside running the app each morning is there a work around?
precapice@gmail.com
precapice@gmail.com
Sep 12 2014
1.4
5.0
Sep 12 2014
5.0
Version: 1.4
Keeps my media external hard drive awake so that My sons music can run without interruption on Mac Pro.
kwmoore76
kwmoore76
Aug 17 2014
1.4
4.0
Aug 17 2014
4.0
Version: 1.4
Just upgraded to OS X 10.9.4 and starting having problems with Time Machine to an external drive similar to those others have described (setxattr for key...). Prior to the upgrade to Mavericks, Time Machine was able to access this drive without problems. I just downloaded Keep Drive Spinning and installed it using the hints. However, I get an error when trying to run it: touch: /Volumes/TimeMachineHoneyCrisp3/.keepThisDriveSpinning: Invalid argument (same error as mentioned in the dropbox png posted by LiHongL4718). From within a terminal window, I also tried issuing the touch command just as a test from within /Volumes/TimeMachineHoneyCrisp3, both as myself and using sudo, but get the same error that the filename is an invalid argument. (I had also tried the crontab approach, but of course it also fails.) I did check the disk utilities and the disk is set up with the file system as Mac OS Extended (Case-sensitive, Journaled). Permissions on the /Volumes/TimeMachineHoneyCrisp3 directory are 775. I'm currently stumped and am looking for any suggestions.
LiHongL4718
LiHongL4718
Aug 7 2014
1.4
0.0
Aug 7 2014
0.0
Version: 1.4
Hi! Has anyone tried this applet on OSX 10.9.x? I heard it would produce errors when attempted to run.
Jools912
Jools912
Jun 28 2014
1.4
5.0
Jun 28 2014
5.0
Version: 1.4
Excellent! Such a simple and effective solution. Consumes virtually zero system resources (RAM, hard disk space and CPU) and works perfectly. I was really tired of my WD external drive spinning down and then giving me the spinning beachball for 10 seconds every time I tried to access a file on it. Now, with this set to do its thing every 5 minutes, the problem is gone. Just brilliant!
JOHNNYR3864
JOHNNYR3864
May 22 2014
1.4
4.5
May 22 2014
4.5
Version: 1.4
I sincerely you thank you for this amazing App. If I ever wanted to uninstall this,could you explain how to do so, if not to much trouble. The explanation by all in getting it installed by going to the ROOT Directory was extremely Helpful as well. Thank you all !!!
Terjek
Terjek
Mar 17 2014
1.4
4.5
Mar 17 2014
4.5
Version: 1.4
Thanks for this useful little program! It eliminated the annoying problem that computer "froze" for a few seconds each time the external drive was awakened from sleep!
Saratxe
Saratxe
Mar 17 2014
1.4
5.0
Mar 17 2014
5.0
Version: 1.4
My Western Digital's MyBook drive was making me crazy if it was fall asleep. Waking up shows me the Beach Ball each time. Now it's over.
Lrwebb
Lrwebb
Mar 7 2014
1.3
0.0
Mar 7 2014
0.0
Version: 1.3
Just came across this app after finding my iTunes Library, kept on an external drive, takes a while to react cos the drive has spun down. Can I assume that if the Mac goes to sleep that the ext drive will then spin down? That's what I would expect.
Djrumpy
Djrumpy
Feb 22 2014
1.3
4.0
Feb 22 2014
4.0
Version: 1.3
Works as expected. Wondering if this will still allow the Mac to sleep normally though? Has anyone verified?
laurenR5672
laurenR5672
Feb 7 2014
1.3
4.0
Feb 7 2014
4.0
Version: 1.3
I need help big time please! I have no idea if i have installed it properly or not.. I've saved it as a application.. somehow! But my computer isn't even picking up my hard drive so I can't tell if it will work or not! :\ Thanks!
JordanG5078
JordanG5078
Feb 3 2014
1.3
0.0
Feb 3 2014
0.0
Version: 1.3
I was attempting to install on OSX 10.6.8. The file will look like it is opening once clicked on but I get no response from the machine. I have confirmed that I have administrator access and should be able to add anything to the machine. Any idea what could be wrong?
PaulF2585
PaulF2585
Jan 29 2014
1.3
0.0
Jan 29 2014
0.0
Version: 1.3
I was so happy to find this applet but I am stuck before I get started. After downloading and running for the first time I get an AppleScript? error: touch: /Volumes/ServerShares1/.keepThisDriveSpinning: Invalid argument I saw an earlier problem where the volume had no name but ServerShares1 is a valid volume name. Hope you can help or suggest a debug path for me. Thanks for writing this.
FuzzyNormal
FuzzyNormal
Dec 15 2013
1.3
2.0
Dec 15 2013
2.0
Version: 1.3
Curious why it won't work for me. I get this message: sh: line 18: /Users//Library/LaunchAgents/ net.jonstovel.keepSpinning.plist: Permission denied launchctl: Couldn't start("/Users//Library/LaunchAgents/ net.jonstovel.keepSpinning.plist"): No such file or directory nothing found to load
Bebbo
Bebbo
Oct 30 2013
1.3
4.5
Oct 30 2013
4.5
Version: 1.3
I have used this little applet for a number of years and it has served me very well until the launch of Mavericks. It now tells me that KeepDriveSpinning is Damaged and can't be opened... I have re-downloaded it but the error is always the same, I guess it is a Mavericks thing (Perhaps some signing issue?) Jon, not sure if you have come across this error but wondered if you get chance to have a look I would be grateful. Anyway, fantastic little applet that worked fine for me for all these years.
VonM4332
VonM4332
Sep 17 2013
1.3
0.0
Sep 17 2013
0.0
Version: 1.3
This seems like a good solution and I set it up for my external WD 3TB USB3 drive two days ago on a Mac Mini 10.8.5 system that is on 24/7 and I'm the only user and I'm always logged in. Yesterday, it appeared that the drive was on all night/day and so I assumed everything was working. This morning, however, the drive was asleep. I had not changed any settings or logged out. I did re-install SMBUp yesterday since it was giving lag problems since 10.8.5 was installed and that seemed to fix that issue, but I don't know if re-installing that could somehow affect this program's script (I don't see how offhand). Otherwise, I have no idea why my drive was asleep, but it appears to be unreliable thus far. I think what would be nice is some kind of verification system that the last access went okay. Something like how the app "Caffeine" stays in the menu bar and shows full when it's on, perhaps. A green light to show no errors or something and perhaps a quick click on/off button like Caffeine uses to quickly disable it at say the end of the day or when leaving on a trip or whatever when the computer is not in use so it can spin down if needed (i.e. my system is on 24/7 as a media server for the house and only uses a few watts and sleep is unreliable, especially for 10.8.5 so it's always on). It's not difficult to run the script again, though, but there's no simple way to verify whether it's on/off for a given drive (if one has forgotten) and given how it was sleeping this morning, even when it IS set I'm not sure if it's set.
JustinV2489
JustinV2489
Aug 28 2013
1.3
0.0
Aug 28 2013
0.0
Version: 1.3
Hey Jon, I've noticed you're on here providing some limited support and wanted to see if you could help me. I'm getting this error message for one of the drives that I'm trying to keep awake. touch: /Volumes//.keepThisDriveSpinning: Invalid argument It just says Cancel or OK. It creates the plist file in the LaunchAgents folder, but it's not able to run the commands. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.
rakins2maccom8005
rakins2maccom8005
Aug 6 2013
1.3
2.5
Aug 6 2013
2.5
Version: 1.3
Installed the app. Found the plist file Restarted the MacBook Pro my Firewire drive still goes off line. If I use the USB connection it doesn't ? ? ?
Mark-S
Mark-S
Jul 13 2013
1.3
5.0
Jul 13 2013
5.0
Version: 1.3
Thanks, Jon, for making this helpful tool available. For some reason when I run the application as supplied I get "The operation couldn't be completed. (OSStatus error -67049.)" Opening the package contents, loading the script in Applescript Editor, and exporting as an application results in a working app for me. Seems to be working so far. I'm running 10.8.4 on a mid 2012 retina MBP.
PascalSt8020
PascalSt8020
Apr 1 2013
1.3
5.0
Apr 1 2013
5.0
Version: 1.3
Does what you expect. Solves my Problem with a TrueCrypt Image. The WD 3TB HDD sleeps after a view Minutes and makes the Image unstable. But not anymore :)
islandsound
islandsound
Mar 26 2013
1.3
0.5
Mar 26 2013
0.5
Version: 1.3
Doesn't work for me on 10.7.4 properly. Would work randomly intermittently and would crash my drives for some reason. I've since just written a simple shell script setup in cron to touch a file on interval. Good idea bad implementation.
JamesThomas4139
JamesThomas4139
Mar 17 2013
1.3
0.0
Mar 17 2013
0.0
Version: 1.3
I was very happy to find this app and all I hear was good things about it. However, there may have been some changes in 10.8.3 that doesn't all Keep Drive Spinning for working. I have tested it on three updated 10.8.3 systems with sleepy external drives and they are not kept awake. The instal went well... I am I missing something?