Back to Prizmo page
Prizmo free download for Mac

Prizmo Reviews

3.7.2
22 July 2019

Scan and OCR documents with your digital camera or scanner.

GRMartin
22 April 2015

Most helpful

For a lot of users Prizmo can see like a real niche tool, however i have found it useful in some of the most bizarre aways in my regular workflow. When i look to buy any software--like any other tool--i look at the perceived ROI. I have to admit that Prizmo didn't seem like it had much at first. However i had first gotten a copy as part of some other flash-sale like deal in the past, and started using it for 1 feature alone and have found it useful in a handful of small, strange ways since. My first real use for this too was as a fast way to unskew whiteboard pictures--i am a mobile application developer, and since cellular cameras have gotten so good, we rarely copy them down in notes anymore--I had an iPhone App for this, many actually, but found them to be reasonably rough to use on such a small screen. Now i just send them to myself as i take them, use Prizmo to straiten up on my Mac and save them to Evernote. The completely unexpected use i found was the handiness of having a live on-screen OCR tool. What i mean by that is Prizmo can sit in your menu bar--not a new feature so many apps do it, i now have too to simply manage that--however, one thing i do find really cool is you can tell it to OCR the screen, it will give you a cross hair cursor and you can lasso a portion of your screen, it will then OCR that section and copy it to your clipboard for further processing. I use this to copy content from things like the Mac AppStore, UI elements that I'm putting in documentation and would like the exact text too, extracting text out of protected PDFs for simple things such as extracting times and costs rather than retyping it all--did this for my mortgage, put it through Soulver and saved me and full of pricing questions--its an incredible feature, and since i use many Virtual Machines for my job (Linux, Windows) and Simulators and Emulators for devices (Android and iOS) this feature transitions really well to any of those programs to simply grab the text on the screen. Anyway i know some of these are narrow uses, but i felt the need to simply point them out as for me it is an oddly unique part of my personal workflow.
Like (13)
Version 3.1.1

Read 50 Prizmo User Reviews

Rate this app:

Miminana
07 August 2018
Works well in a number of different and flexible ways and I am impressed with its ability to make sense of dodgy scans. I would recommend this to anyone!
Like (1)
Version 3.5.3
selizabethwebb
26 April 2018
Good app, convenient and easy to use.
Like
Version 3.5
Marko85
26 April 2018
Prizmo 3.5 seems to have greatly improved OCR accuracy when you don't have high-quality scanned material in very high DPI to work with (if you don't have like 300 DPI or 600 DPI images, like what someone would want to use for OCR usually)... for example, I opened a picture of a newspaper in the Preview.app and that image had only about 150 DPI... individual lowercase letters on that image were about 5px wide (I zoomed in first to count the pixels, then pressed CMD+0 to zoom out)... and I first tried it with the Menu Bar tool, to just select that part of the screen where that image was and get text copied to the clipboard... and the recognized text was mostly accurate (there were some small errors in some places, but only a minimal amount of manual corrections was needed... and I'm very satisfied with how accurate it was considering that letters on that image were pixelated and I understand that it can be very difficult for an OCR app to distinguish between some characters if letters on some image are only about 5 px wide... and as I mentioned, that was just a quick OCR with that Menu Bar tool). So for that I would give it 5 stars... But I was kind of disappointed that they removed some languages... I'm especially disappointed that OCR for Hebrew is missing because that's not the same like if one of the languages that uses Latin or Cyrillic script was removed, since if two languages use almost the same alphabet (or exactly the same in some cases), then OCR for one mostly works for another language which uses that alphabet (and maybe it would only need some corrections here and there or something like that)... but Hebrew has it's own alphabet, so if Hebrew isn't supported in some version of the app, you can't do OCR for it at all with that version of the app. But at least the previous version still works... so I'm not going to reduce the amount of stars for this rating, since I hope that they will bring back Hebrew and make OCR for it more accurate.
Like (1)
Version 3.5
1 answer(s)
Marko85
Marko85
29 April 2018
After using the new version (Prizmo 3.5) for a couple of days and comparing it to the previous version (Prizmo 3.1.18), I've noticed that the previous versions can be somewhat more accurate in some cases, while the new version seems more accurate in some other cases... so if you haven't updated yet, I would recommend that you back up the previous version before updating if you need it later.

The new version (3.5) seems more accurate when recognizing text in conditions that are less optimal, like when trying to do OCR from photos in lower resolution where text is more pixelated and less clear... it seems to make fewer errors in those cases when compared to the previous version... the new version also seems to recognize more words correctly when dealing with some "calligraphic" fonts where letters can have more "decorations" (for example, the "Old English" and "Old German" font styles... although some characters in some of those font styles can still have recognition issues, especially some of the uppercase characters with more "decorations", which usually make letters more difficult to recognize for OCR apps... but it seems better than it was)...

That new OCR that the new version (Prizmo 3.5) is using seems better for things that were more difficult for the old version to do...

But the previous version (Prizmo 3.1.18) seems to be more accurate when the conditions for OCR are more optimal, like when recognizing text from high-quality Retina screenshots with very clear text that uses some very common font in larger sizes and where the background is just a plain color without some "noise"... or if you have scanned some page in high DPI and the font is very readable... or something like that...

The new version isn't really "bad" at recognizing text from Retina screenshots or high DPI scans, but I've noticed multiple times that it sometimes made some small mistakes when doing an OCR from a high-resolution image in places where the previous version didn't seem to get "confused" with the same image and the same font... like confusing a lowercase "i" in some words with "1" in a text that uses the Georgia font with 18px font size or something like that (and if you take a screenshot and zoom in, since it's a Retina screenshot, that lowercase "i" has about 28px in height on the actual screenshot, out of which 5px is just the dot, with about 4px between the dot and rest of the letter)... and confusing the lowercase "i" for "1" would maybe be expected when dealing with a lower-resolution image or if the image was noisy and it wasn't clear that the dot on the letter "i" was there (the rest of the letter does look similar to "1" in Georgia font, although "1" in Georgia font would still be somewhat taller and wider than "i" without a dot, but on a low-resolution image that may not be very clear), but with a 18px font size on a Retina screenshot it is very clear that it's a letter "i" and not "1" and the previous version didn't seem to get confused with it in places where the new version confused it with "1"... with some other fonts without "serifs", I've also noticed that the new version confused a lowercase "l" (lowercase L) in some words with a lowercase "i" or something like that (which would also be expected if the resolution was low, but I'm writing about text on Retina screenshots, that was clear enough for the previous version to identify same letters correctly)... it doesn't seem like a huge drawback, but I've just seen cases where the previous version recognized all words correctly and when trying to do OCR of the same text with the new version, a few small corrections were needed.

So, for the kind of images that already had very high OCR accuracy when using the previous version, the previous version still seems better for those images.

I hope that there would be some update soon to make the new version as optimized for larger font sizes as the previous version is... and that they would also bring back OCR support for Hebrew in that update.
Like (1)
OhEssex
23 April 2018
I use this program and I do like it - but, seriously, their marketing guy has to go. All this complete drivel about neural network enhancements within their software is just making my stomach turn...
Like
Version 3.5
Meitnik
14 October 2017
App has matured into a great tool for me. Btw, its vastly better than ReadIris 16! Abbyy is second best but many flawed features; not feature parity with the windows version. However, Creeed is deeply dependent on Google's OCR tech; not a good situation. So I don't see Prizmo eating Omnipage anytime soon. After 25 yrs, no one is willing to make a really powerful OCR tool for the Mac.
Like
Version 3.1.18
Marko85
30 April 2017
I tried the demo version and I especially liked that Menu Bar tool to get the text from screenshots, so I wouldn't have to retype them if I have to get some text from a screenshot. Although OCR software can sometimes make a mistake if the letters on some picture aren't very clear and the demo version additionally replaces random words with characters like this "••••••••", it's still easier to make corrections here and there and to retype some words than to retype everything manually if the scanned image has more than a few words. I think it's one of the best OCR apps for Mac, but it's kind of expensive for me, since I don't need to use OCR software a lot... and usually I only need it for getting text from screenshots... so I mostly just used that Menu Bar tool that Prizmo has... but if they have some sale or a discount, I would definitely consider getting it. BTW... I wish there was an option to just always have that Menu Bar tool in the Menu Bar, without having to open the app to use it.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.17
1 answer(s)
TomLoredo
TomLoredo
08 September 2017
Marko85, FYI, Condense is an inexpensive app specifically for grabbing text from your screen using OCR. I have it and have only occasionally used it, but it's worked pretty well for me. I've added it to the "Similar Software" list here; currently has 4.5* here on MacUpdate (albeit with just 7 reviews).
Like
Psifi
07 December 2016
The developer has confirmed that this app is compatible with Sierra.
Like
Version 3.1.16
Meitnik
28 March 2016
3.19 is very, very slow on a 4k imac with 10.11.3....I need 3.18 please. I am a registered user. Can anyone help me. please. Simple things take forever now. Sorry I updated the app.
Like
Version 3.1.9
3 answer(s)
Jlock
Jlock
28 March 2016
Here is the download for 3.1.8: http://creaceed.s3.amazonaws.com/downloads/prizmo3_3.1.8.zip
Like (1)
Meitnik
Meitnik
02 April 2016
Found out it was Adobe CC crap app that slowing 3.1.9 down. Fixed now. Hate adobe.
Like
Xenophile
Xenophile
10 January 2017
So you nailed Prizmo with a two star review because Adobe CC slowed down your Mac???
Like
bobembry
12 January 2016
Very handy for taking notes from Kindle using the screen grab feature. Imagine combining this with a clipboard manager—Copy'em Paste. Also useful for extracting text from email images
Like
Version 3.1.6
GRMartin
22 April 2015
For a lot of users Prizmo can see like a real niche tool, however i have found it useful in some of the most bizarre aways in my regular workflow. When i look to buy any software--like any other tool--i look at the perceived ROI. I have to admit that Prizmo didn't seem like it had much at first. However i had first gotten a copy as part of some other flash-sale like deal in the past, and started using it for 1 feature alone and have found it useful in a handful of small, strange ways since. My first real use for this too was as a fast way to unskew whiteboard pictures--i am a mobile application developer, and since cellular cameras have gotten so good, we rarely copy them down in notes anymore--I had an iPhone App for this, many actually, but found them to be reasonably rough to use on such a small screen. Now i just send them to myself as i take them, use Prizmo to straiten up on my Mac and save them to Evernote. The completely unexpected use i found was the handiness of having a live on-screen OCR tool. What i mean by that is Prizmo can sit in your menu bar--not a new feature so many apps do it, i now have too to simply manage that--however, one thing i do find really cool is you can tell it to OCR the screen, it will give you a cross hair cursor and you can lasso a portion of your screen, it will then OCR that section and copy it to your clipboard for further processing. I use this to copy content from things like the Mac AppStore, UI elements that I'm putting in documentation and would like the exact text too, extracting text out of protected PDFs for simple things such as extracting times and costs rather than retyping it all--did this for my mortgage, put it through Soulver and saved me and full of pricing questions--its an incredible feature, and since i use many Virtual Machines for my job (Linux, Windows) and Simulators and Emulators for devices (Android and iOS) this feature transitions really well to any of those programs to simply grab the text on the screen. Anyway i know some of these are narrow uses, but i felt the need to simply point them out as for me it is an oddly unique part of my personal workflow.
Like (13)
Version 3.1.1
4 answer(s)
PaulDWeiss
PaulDWeiss
22 April 2015
That's one of the best reviews of actual usage models I've ever seen. Thanks!
Like (2)
macsavy
macsavy
01 May 2015
I agree with PaulDWeiss. When I saw the ad for this app, I said, I don't need OCR, but BOY would I make use of it the same way that Glenn R. Martin does. Thanks for the great, insightful review.
Like (2)
Pir-anha
Pir-anha
28 August 2015
Thank you for one of the most useful use case reviews I've seen on this site, ever.
Like (1)
Brookhaven
Brookhaven
18 November 2015
Good grief - wish I had known that earlier. Nice tip.
Like (2)
SMS1
15 November 2014
Well - lots of disappointments in version 3! On 14 November 2014 I was promised a 20% discount on the app store. Purchased and got charged full price! Sheesh! Don’t count on this app to save PDFs with both the image and the text layer — the text layer isn’t subsequently searchable in Adobe Acrobat! On the upside -— the OCR is better than Adobe Acrobat XI on the Mac and it is MUCH easier to edit the resulting text than in Acrobat. But if the app can’t produce a standard PDF isn’t pretty much niche stuff. Lots of work to do guys. Can I get my money back?
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
1 answer(s)
mikokim
mikokim
16 November 2014
@SMS1: Dealing with the MAS and getting a refund is super easy; simply click the Report a problem link on the invoice you get in your mail and then fill out the form, in this case: if you're overcharged, mention it; if you want your money back, tell them the app does not perform as promised. An Apple rep usually will get back to you within 24 hours. I've "returned" several apps in the past, and refunds happen within a couple of days. Never had a problem in all those years since I've been using MAS; when an app underperforms based on what it promises, you can always ask for a refund (but you lose, of course, access to the app).
Like (5)
Meitnik
14 November 2014
I am disappointed. I am not interested in upgrading to 10.10 just to use ver 3.0. Shame you have chosen to abandoned 2.x users who still need important improvements and are using 10.7 still. You are as greedy and controlling as Apple.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.3
1 answer(s)
Leoofborg
Leoofborg
16 November 2014
Nooooooooooo Prizmo 3 is a FREE UPGRADE.

It's Free. I bought 2.0 + Pro Pack and EVERYTHING was upgraded. For free.
Like (2)
gryphonent
10 July 2014
Constantly crashing after a scan as Prizmo tries to perform OCR. And there’s no way to tell the app that I don’t need OCR in the first place.
Like
Version 2.1.3
1 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
12 August 2014
Hi,

If you don't need OCR, please switch to the Image mode. I guess you are now using the Text Document or Business Cards modes.

You can find more information about this in the user guide: http://www.creaceed.com/prizmo/guides

If you still experience issues or crashes, please get in touch with the support team.
Like
Appledogx
20 March 2014
Tried this application in demo mode. Very nice UI and it's very logical and easy to understand. Would be better if it would OCR in multiple languages at once instead of selecting one at a time since some documents have mixed languages. Accuracy was not very good at all either with black on white background or colored text on picture background. To be fair, it was better with black on white, but even then, not terribly accurate, at least not enough to be able to consider it for purchase. Then there is the issue of crashing. After trying to close my first test, I got an infinite beach ball and had to force quit. Subsequently, it took several tries to close the document without the app hanging. I tried a second test and the app hung again and I had to force quit twice, so it was not stable at all for me on Mavericks. I wish they could improve stability, add multiple language recognition at the same time and greatly improve accuracy (which is what OCR is all about) as they do have a very nice GUI which is superior to most other, even more expensive OCR apps.
Like
Version 2.1.3
1 answer(s)
Ean
Ean
21 March 2014
There are times when an English speaker would like to keep French phrases in French, or whatever. C'est la vie. I think your idea would have to be implemented as batches of single-language OCR passes rather than multiple languages all at once. For example: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_French_words_and_phrases_used_by_English_speakers
Like
Terry-Scoble
14 March 2014
I'm rating this app low because so far it has not worked! It won't open a PDF, a jpg or anything I've tried. It has unexpectedly quit twice, so to this point I'm at a loss as to what is going on with this app, but if it don't work I want a refund!
Like
Version 2.1.3
1 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
12 August 2014
Hi,

You can open PDF files, JPEGs... by choosing "New Document..." in the Home screen.

Please have a look at the user guide, we detailed the process: http://www.creaceed.com/prizmo/guides
Like
Ocsurfreport
12 March 2014
I was very critical to this program due to so many crap Applications we have been bombarded with lately in Mac. Was especially peeved at the price for a pro version. I ended up getting Prizmo anyway as part of a MacUpdate Bundle and thought i'd give it a try. I am here to report to anyone considering this program that it is Amazing, it truly is a gem buried under heaps of Mac app garbage and it is worth every penny. Saved me tons of work on one project alone! The ease of use and great user interface is fantastic. So I want to give credit where credit is due, especially since I slammed it on a previous sale on price, without even trying it first. It is definitely a must have!
Like (2)
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
12 March 2014
Thanks!
Like
Reegor
06 March 2014
I cannot persuade the demo to open a PDF file. Acrobat, Preview, and PDFpen will open it, and 2 out of the 3 will OCR it. Is the demo crippled, so that it won't open PDF files? Drag/drop do not work. Nor does opening from the menus - pdf files are grayed out. The web site claims this software will process PDF files.
Like
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
12 August 2014
Hi,

You can open PDF files (or any other files) by choosing "New Document..." in the Home screen. I guess you tried with "Open Document..." which is intended to open Prizmo's work-in-progress documents (.pzdoc).

A detailed user guide is available on our website: http://www.creaceed.com/prizmo/guides

Feel free to ask questions.
Like
Ah1
22 January 2014
I can't get any output from the TEXT setting (I'm talking about the scanner kind options Text/BW/Colour, not the Prizmo option) I've tried with both Text and Image options in Prizmo. The scanner operates , but there is no output the Prizmo document. Scanning my document in B&W works fine.
Like
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
12 August 2014
Which scanner model do you use?
We noticed Apple's API for supporting scanners is not as good as it used to be. With some scanner models, you can't import documents in Color. We reported the issue to Apple, but we are still waiting for a fix...
Like
LeonardCurtis2647
27 September 2013
Today I tried to open Prizmo and I got a message which said Prizmo is corrupted move to trash now, which I did.
Like
Version 2.0.8
2 answer(s)
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
27 September 2013
LeonardCurtis2647, try downloading Prizmo again and reinstalling it. (The ZIP archive expands without an error.) If you continue to have a problem, let the developers know by writing to: support [at] creaceed [dot] com
Like (1)
Sandrine
Sandrine
31 October 2013
Did you manage to install Prizmo?
Like
Turquoise
28 August 2013
I wish this could automatically extract and OCR text from a comics JPG or PDF page.
Like
Version 2.0.8
PS6096
23 May 2013
I've posted an earlier review. After that, with the help of support, some issues were solved for me. So I write an updated review with the knowledge of now. Although Prizmo has some minor issues with user interface, it is a very versatile and fast app. I think the workflow could be a bit more intuitive and was hoping the recognition of OCR-able section of the page was a bit more intelligent (read: automated), but overall it does a pretty nice job.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.7
PS6096
01 May 2013
Although Prizmo has a lot of potential, I think it needs some improvements, especially on the import/export part. I had a scanned multipage PDF I wanted OCR'ed with Prizmo. No can do. Convert to multi-page TIFF then? Nope. Only option: create 37 seperate JPG's. Not an option. Using it as a scan-only tool with some nice features also appears not to be possible. OCR is mandatory, no export as a JPG or PDF. I think this are 2 tiny features which would make this app extremely more versatile. Also the workflow might be a bit more intuitive. Looking forward to future versions!
Like
Version 2.0.6
5 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
22 May 2013
You can import multipage PDFs without any problem into Prizmo. Besides, OCR is not mandatory. You can choose the Image mode, no OCR is performed, and you can export the image as a JPEG or PDF for sure.
Like (2)
Sandrine
Sandrine
22 May 2013
By the way, there's a detailed user guide available on our website: http://www.creaceed.com/prizmo/guides And feel fee to get in touch with the support team.
Like (1)
PS6096
PS6096
22 May 2013
Hi Sandrine, thank you so very much. I tried to "open" a PDF, where I should have chosen "new" and drag a pdf to the application. That explains a lot. Thanks again. I think the issue with skipping OCR is fixed now too :)
Like (1)
Sandrine
Sandrine
22 May 2013
Great! If the reported issues are fixed now, could you update your rating, please? That would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :-)
Like
Sandrine
Sandrine
22 May 2013
Or I should rather say "update the review". I've just noticed you've already updated the rating, but it is hidden in the Ratings tab.
Like
Nick-Collingridge
26 March 2013
Very nicely implemented OCR application with great support for ImageKit (Image Capture-compatible) scanners. Much cleaner UI than ReadIRIS (although to be fair that app is better than it was in the new version 14). Prizmo has definitely become my go-to OCR application. My only minor gripe is that there seems to be no ability to export to Word format. You have to use RTF which is not a terrible alternative, but not quite as convenient as exporting directly to .doc or .docx.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.6
1 answer(s)
JWStewart
JWStewart
22 June 2013
Word will open .RTF files though.
Like
tyuk
24 March 2013
Are there any plans to add support for Japanese in a future release of Prizmo? The Mac version of FineReader doesn’t seem to support it, while the Mac version of Readiris does support it but doesn’t exactly have glowing reviews, so I’m hoping that Prizmo can fill the gap for Mac users needing Japanese OCR software.
Like
Version 2.0.6
2 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
26 March 2013
We tested an OCR technology in Japanese, but the accuracy rate was around 50%. So, it was far too low for including Japanese in Prizmo 2. We'll keep investigating, and we hope that on some day we'll be able to get this language supported as well.
Like (1)
tyuk
tyuk
26 March 2013
Okay, thanks for the confirmation!
Like
Thanar
21 March 2013
Any plans on adding modern Greek support?
Like (1)
Version 2.0.5
1 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
26 March 2013
The OCR technology we tested was not accurate enough in modern Greek, unfortunately. That's why we decided not to include this language in the current version of Prizmo 2. We do hope the technology will improve, and Prizmo will be able to support modern Greek as well.
Like
Ranxho
16 March 2013
Did you plan to support Chinese, I'm looking all over. Still it look like a very promising piece of App, esp it is in the bundle now, will buy for sure.
Like
Version 2.0.5
2 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
18 March 2013
We would like to support Chinese for sure, but the technology we reviewed was not accurate enough. We are waiting for it to get improved.
Like
Patpatng
Patpatng
20 March 2013
I hope the app can support Chinese sooner or later. Otherwise, the usage is limited for me. Thank you.
Like
Robk
11 March 2013
What is the license for the non-App store version? How many computers can you install it on?
Like
Version 2.0.5
1 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
12 March 2013
The license is for one user, not for one computer. So, you can use it on both your MacBook Pro and iMac for instance.
Like
Edified
09 March 2013
$618 is incorrect, their website lists it at $49, or $99 for the automator actions/batch processing. This is a deceptive way to get attention for mupromo, which otherwise is a great deal. List the correct prices.
Like
Version 2.0.5
2 answer(s)
Edified
Edified
09 March 2013
Especially since there's no mention that it's a combo deal, it just says "Sale $49, 92% off today. Seems like that should be $3.92. This is confusing and deceptive. Leave the header alone (price $49) and if you must add a line: "Limited Time: Buy it in a bundle worth $618 for only $49"
Like
Sandrine
Sandrine
11 March 2013
The price at the top of the page is wrong indeed, but I can't correct it unfortunately. The information I can update lists $49.99. So, I guess it will disappear once the bundle has ended. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Like
it-umberto
09 March 2013
Excellent! I missed the possibility to see the the text and the image while/after processing ocr side by side for so many years. I can review and correct the text easily before I generate the pdf with the image above the text.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.5
Istra
12 February 2013
Does Prizmo support classical Greek & Latin? If not, any plans to include them? thnx
Like
Version 2.0.4
2 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
13 February 2013
We are going to support Latin in the next update. We have no solution yet for Ancient Greek though.
Like
Sandrine
Sandrine
20 March 2013
Prizmo now supports Latin for OCR.
Like
Tonic
11 February 2013
After having used two other softwares I tried Prizmo… and was immediately satisfied with its simplicity and efficacy. It does quickly what it announces, and it is surprising to see how it can recognize text however is the quality of the scan or photograph. Moreover it costs less than others. So, don't hesitate !
Like (2)
Version 2.0.3
Quixopix
13 January 2013
I bought Prizmo 1 from the mac store and a year later Prizmo 2 came out, they reduced the price in the mac store and I tried out the demo but at the time I was trying to scan old English and Prizmo 2 couldn't handle it. View Online: tinyurl.com/KJV1611Scripture So my other research started leading me into Hebrew text and Prizmo 2 added Hebrew. So I wrote the developer with a screen capture of my mac store purchase and got a discount on the upgrade to Prizmo 2. The Hebrew is missing most of the fancy Cantillation marks but it does recognize the Hebrew text, its made a few errors, but certainly is faster then typing by hand. I can move the text into Mellel and dress it up with Cantllation marks (all the fancy dots above and below Hebrew text) Looking forward to some updates, hopefully they add this in an update. Would love to see Old English King James Gothic text added to their OCR. Lets face it, there are lots of historic books that we need to scan and preserve accurately, so Prizmo is ahead of the pack but still needing more improvements. It would be cool if they built an engine that people could click on a letter and tell Prizmo what it is, so that the translation "profiles" could be built by MAC users correcting their work. Basically throw a tracing tool around a letter and allow you to type the answer so that Prizmo would use that in its recognizing engine, thats the update I'm looking forward to seeing. Its nice to see Mac gaining a decent player in the market and I only hope the software grow in capabilities.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.3
Odysseus
31 December 2012
How does this compare to VueScan?
Like
Version 2.0.3
2 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
04 January 2013
VueScan is only compatible with scanners. Prizmo also works with digital cameras and screenshots. Besides, Prizmo supports 40 languages for OCR, and it looks like VueScan supports only 4. Prizmo has several other unique features like text-to-speech or translation. I advise you to try the free demo version of Prizmo 2.
Like (2)
Sandrine
Sandrine
04 January 2013
And you can read the following article if you want to know how Prizmo 2 works.
Like
Ocsurfreport
01 December 2012
So I was about to jump on this thinking $30 for scanning software is extremely high but I could use this, and $50 Is just crazy. Then I saw that they have a pro pack for $100! So basically this is not a complete program till you opt for the $100 FOR A SCANNING PROGRAM! $100!!!. You know what costs $100 and probably worth it? Adobe Lightroom 4. You see the deference in value for programs here? Please don't even bother teling me how it's more then just a scanning software, or that I most people dont need the complete version. You can also buy 3 canon printer/scanners for $100 right now on amazon, and that's hardware, shipped from another country with packaging and designing and manuals and ink and, and, and etc!! So I dont, want to hear the argument about how your programers need to get paid for their work. All the mac app developers need to take a chill pill and calm down a bit because this pricing is getting out of hand and quite frankly not nearly worth the cost. Not to mention that every time apple sneezes un update, all the apps want you to upgrade at a cost. I realize that recent fanboy and popularity of apple lately, but have a realistic outlook because I have a feeling that you will all go down like the dot com boom. What do you think makes more money? If you sell 1 complete edition at $100 you would most likely sell 50 at $20 or even more. This has been proven over and over again, basic economics. Needless to say I will not buy this program, because you are too greedy. Anyway had my say good luck with all that.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.2
3 answer(s)
Raphael-Sebbe
Raphael-Sebbe
02 December 2012
Hey, that's fine if you think it has not enough value for you. Some people think otherwise. Please try alternatives and choose the best value for your needs, as it should be. Have a good day!
Like (2)
Ocsurfreport
Ocsurfreport
02 December 2012
OK sure but why not make it more affordable, and just make one version. I'm sure more people would love to own this. How do you you guys approach this when you get together and decide on the price and such, I just want to know the logic behind it. Is $50 and $100 reasonable to you? Keep in ming that my rant was about all the apps and developers and not just your program. I was just shocked that you had a $50 jump for a pro version.
Like
Raphael-Sebbe
Raphael-Sebbe
03 December 2012
We split into 2 versions (Regular / Pro) because of our OCR licensing deal. If you scan 10's of documents a day and need to automate, that's a good $50 investment in our opinion that make you gain hours (days?) each year. For choosing the appropriate price for our products, our experience has shown that selling at a lower price than market when you build quality products is not good long term.
Like (3)
pl-svn
27 November 2012
with Prizmo 1.x I was able to open a jpg, make corrections and save back as jpg. but with Prizmo 2, without the otpional (50$) Pro-Pack you can only save to a proprietary format? =:-0 if so... it's a downgrade!
Like (3)
Version 2.0.2
2 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
28 November 2012
Hi, The proprietary format is for saving work-in-progress (which was not possible in Prizmo 1), as you can now work on multipage documents, which can be quite time-consuming. When you are ready, click the Export button, and choose where you want to export: Dropbox, Evernote, Google Drive, Mail... Then, you'll be able to choose the format: jpeg, png, tiff, pdf...
Like (7)
pl-svn
pl-svn
28 November 2012
... ok, my bad: workflow has changed in version 2 thank you very much Sandrine: outstanding (and very patient ;-) Creaceed support !
Like (5)
benoit311080
03 November 2012
I was a regular user of Prizmo 1 and I'm impressed with this new version. I really appreciate the easier UI and the easy way to make multi pages documents. Editing the text to correct the mistakes is also a great new addition.
Like (5)
Version 2.0
IloveBurma
02 November 2012
I can now edit the text before export. I am so glad this feature is now available
Like (5)
Version 2.0
polocanada
09 October 2012
I won't write a review because I don't own the license for the software. I am evaluating only on the trial version: I own the iPhone version too and it works fine with good results. Particularly the TTS voices are useful. However, Prozmo on iPhone is not the best - I find FotoNote provider better results for quality of recognition. Anyways, this comment is about the Mac version. It has useful things like curvature correction which the Abby doesn't have. But I don't see batch conversion anywhere. So while it can import pics directly from the phone, there is no option to do batch OCR. Also can't import multiple pics at once. The recognition works fine, although I would expect the tool to be more self-reliant and automated / intelligent. While Prizmo is definitely better than "OCR Kit" it's by far not as good as Abby Finereader Express. Abby, even though old software from 2010 works still better. I tried running a few difficult to recognize pictures from camera through Prizmo and Abby. Abby picked up twice as much words. Both were very inaccurate because the picture was very hard to recognize, but still Abby picked much more words. Based on my test I would recommend Abby over Prizmo.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.8
3 answer(s)
polocanada
polocanada
09 October 2012
Sorry for typos. Abbyy not Abby :)
Like
Sandrine
Sandrine
01 November 2012
Prizmo 2 is now available, and it includes a batch processing feature. Could you give it a try, and tell us what you think?
Like (4)
Raphael-Sebbe
Raphael-Sebbe
01 November 2012
Hi, we just released version 2.0 today, which includes multipage and batch (Pro Pack) processing and so many other enhancements. Feel free to evaluate it again and let us know!
Like
Shipmac
28 April 2012
Not impressed. I am using the demo version and there is a lot of hanging. Cannot undo selections for OCR scanning, which is the only part of this app I am interested in. Then when I finally got something to save as text Prizmo informed me I could not save it as text unless I bought the product! Well I am not shelling out $49.95 just to find out whether Prizmo's OCR works well enough.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.8
2 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
09 July 2012
You don't need to output text in order to check OCR accuracy. You can preview the OCR results right within the application.
Like
09 July 2012
Have to answer my own post, not Sandrine's. Have done what you said, Sandrine. The scan is OK, some words missed or messed up, but about the same quality as cheaper OCR software. Also changing the scanned area is awkward for each page, and as far as I can see you can't skirt around pix, or put text to scan in an order if required.
Like
Squidly
10 September 2011
Just curious, why is the Mac app $49.95 and the iOS app only $9.99? What features are missing from the iOS version? Thanks.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.7
4 answer(s)
arnaud-
arnaud-
25 October 2011
Hello, same question here. Please reply to Squidly.
Like
Sandrine
Sandrine
09 July 2012
The Mac version enables you to use any picture as input (either taken with a camera, or coming from a scanner) whereas you are limited to the built-in camera when you use the iPhone version. Besides, some features are only available in Prizmo for Mac: page curvature correction, tethering...
Like
Ocsurfreport
Ocsurfreport
01 December 2012
Beter question would be why is the Mac app not $9.99 and the iOS not $1.99?
Like (1)
Sandrine
Sandrine
03 December 2012
Because it would not even cover the royalties we have to pay for the app.
Like (1)
Birdy53
11 August 2011
I really like the idea of working with camera pictures. I can take picture of almost anything, and then process it within Prizmo. And by the way, it also works with my flatbed scanner.
Like (4)
Version 1.5.7
1 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
22 August 2011
How does this compare to VueScan?
Like
Marilou53
10 August 2011
Really useful for scanning documents and recording information on-the-go.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.6
IloveBurma
10 August 2011
OCR is extremely accurate if processed on sharp pictures. I regularly use Prizmo for scanning English and Spanish documents, and I am really satisfied with the output. There are of course some mistakes but it only takes a few seconds to correct them.
Like (5)
Version 1.5.6
benoit311080
04 August 2011
I'm using regularly Prizmo to save my scanned invoices as PDF with hidden text. The best way I have to easily find my invoices using Spotlight and to make copy-paste in other documents. The text recognition engine is very good. Some few errors when the text is very small or contains special characters but the most relevant text is accurately recognized. I would like to see some new features in the next updates : multitouch gestures to zoom in the document, batch recognition and a better management of documents with multiple pages.
Like (5)
Version 1.5.6
Arrozmarisco
11 September 2010
Bought this over 1 month ago - on the promise that it works with !0.5.8 on my 2009 Macbook Pro - yes it did seem to work for a few times but as soon as I check what's been actually saved - they all comes out jumbled and pretty much useless and I am not talking about the OCR, I am referring to the actual image being acquired. Emailed the author for help - not much use except an advice that I should upgrade to 10.6 instead. The concept is good but the software is buggy as hell - with the price, get yourself a scanner instead.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.3
1 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
04 August 2011
We rely on some Apple technologies which are not working properly on 10.5. That's why we strongly advised users to upgrade to 10.6. By the way, we even dropped support for Mac OS X 10.5 in the latest version as we couldn't guarantee a good user experience on Leopard anymore. Don't hesitate to get back to us after upgrading your OS.
Like (3)
Dreamkatcha
14 April 2010
Version 1.5 locked up my computer on three separate occasions, and when it did perform the image adjustments I applied to my images it took forever. Complete joke of an application. Steer well clear!
Like (3)
Version 1.5
5 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
15 April 2010
Hello, If you have an issue with the application, I advise you to write to support at creaceed dot com. Please send the following information so that we can quickly help you: - Mac Model - Mac OS X Version - Prizmo version - Input image format and resolution - Camera model - Crash report if you have one - Any message about Prizmo when you open Console.app. Thank you!
Like (7)
Version 1.5
dwp-1
dwp-1
22 August 2011
I agree, I just purchased it via MacUpdate for the OCR and I so far it has not recognized any text accurately. It skips paragraphs of text. VERY DISAPPOINTED!
Like (1)
Sandrine
Sandrine
22 August 2011
Please send me the picture, and I'll check what is going wrong.
Like
Sandrine
Sandrine
26 August 2011
Thanks for sending the picture, Don. As I told you by email, Prizmo is not meant to process screenshots. Screenshots have a resolution of 72 dpi only whereas pictures taken with an iPhone 4 or a DSLR (or coming from a scanner) are around 300 dpi. It's the reason why you got poor results: the image quality is too poor.
Like (2)
dwp-1
dwp-1
26 August 2011
I appreciate your prompt customer support. The picture you sent me recognized 99% of the text. Unfortunately I wanted to convert quite a few pages of ScreenShots I had taken at 72dpi. I want to make it clear that Prizmo did a wonderful job converting images taken at 300dpi and above. So it works great with scanned images and images from a camera. Thanks Again for your help...
Like (3)
Enkaytee
05 April 2010
I got this a few months ago via a MacZot promotion...initially, I didn't have a lot of luck with the OCR and sort of gave up on it, which was a shame as I really need a good OCR package. Fired it up again today and downloaded the 1.5 update and it's like a completely different app - the OCR works brilliantly on direct scans as well as on images from a digital camera - I've not checked tethering as yet, but direct imports from the card are a really useful feature. I've tried throwing all sorts of poor quality scans, wonky images and mixes of text and graphics at it and the hit rate is really impressive. I'm not sure what's been done under the bonnet to give this improvement, but I can now wholeheartedly recommend Prizmo...
Like (3)
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
14 May 2011
Could you rate the app, please? Thanks!
Like (1)
Andrew-Scott
14 November 2009
It's the time of year where I need to record examples of my student's work for my records. I take lots of pictures of large format work while it's pinned up for presentation. Later comes the tedious task of processing it in Photoshop: removing any perspective distortion, lens distortion, image rotation and uneven lighting. This time around I'm giving my newly licensed copy of Prizmo a workout to do this. Here is what I've found: Prizmo makes short work of removing perspective and lens distortion. I can get through a lot more images in a lot less time, which I'm pretty happy with. This means I can compile more examples of work to show to next year's students as well as build up our file of exemplars for exhibition and web display purposes. Excellent. I've also discovered a significant bug in the software. The first step after importing an image is to click the four corners of the region you want cropped and straightened. Prizmo excels at this operation but for one occasional crucial bug: the processed image sometimes has it's left and bottom edges cut off. At other times it's one of the other corners. This means I must manually adjust three of the four corners to compensate, introducing much trial and error and reducing the effectiveness of the radial distortion controls. When it behaves like this it's frustrating and makes Prizmo a one-trick Pony that doesn't do its trick very well-and it's a fairly expensive pony at that. When it works as it should it's a dream. There are a few rough edges in the software that really should have been caught before release. The most embarrassing one is in the “image” slip that allows adjustment of brightness and contrast, etc.. There are three checkboxes, “Binarize”, “Invert” and “Homogenize”. Hover the mouse over any of them reveals a “tool tip” stating: “Convert the image to black and white (dual tone without gray shades), potentially increasing outline accuracy” It seems to me that this is a simple duplication of the tip for “Binarize”. There is no unique tip for Invert, which doesn't need one, and Homogenize, which desperately does. The manual states that homogenize is there to “smooth the output image luminosity”, which is a great feature for smoothing out uneven illumination on the original image though in practice it's a bit fiddly to get right. You need to play with the brightness and contract sliders to get a reasonable image with Homogenize activated. It also seems to make the image quite noisy. On the topic of sliders they aren't large, which means you can see your image while working with them, but that makes them difficult to use accurately. Prizmo should take a tip from applications like Apple's Apeture (but not iPhoto) that allow multiple interactions with sliders: clicking and dragging on the slider for gross adjustment, clicking on arrows for fine adjustment, and direct display and editing of numerical values. Once you have the values the way you want them Prizmo will let you save them as a preset, which is very useful. Image sizing and proportions can be quite hit and miss. Prizmo does a great job of guessing proportions most of the time and toggling the state of the “Automatic Sizing” checkbox seems to do the job. There are some custom size presets that are potentially very useful however the metric paper size presets, A5, A4 and A3, and perhaps the others for that matter (I never use them), clearly expect the image to be a portrait format document. Using them distorts any landscape images into portrait formats. There is not way of saving size presets so I can't even manually enter the sizes for portrait A4, A3 and A2 the way I'd like to. This is something that needs fixing. When you're working on a whole batch of images Prizmo lacks an obvious way of working on a new image. The easiest way is to just drag and drop one onto the work area using Finder but this inherits the settings from the previous image. Using the File > Open Image… command produces the same result. There is no large dropzone like the one you get when you first launch the application. Finally, when working on an image you'll probably want to see the preview larger to check your progress. There's a small disclosure triangle in the bottom left that does this but you can't zoom in on the preview and it doesn't fill the window. Inexplicably the preview corners are rounded although not the exported image thankfully. It would be useful to be able to view a larger preview image side-by-side with the original while you're working. Overall I'm glad I bought a license for Prizmo. I did this despite knowing that it's not quite complete and is quite overpriced compared to most Mac software because I'd like to see it improve and the developers have already shown themselves to be responsive. I'll be watching this space.
Like (7)
Version 1.2
3 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
14 November 2009
Thank you for your very detailed review of Prizmo. I talked about your suggestions with the engineer who develops Prizmo. Some of them were already on our to-do list (e.g. the dimensions for landscape documents). If you have other suggestions for product improvement, please write to us directly (contact at creaceed dot com) as we do not check our MacUpdate account every day.
Like (2)
Version 1.2
Sandrine
Sandrine
01 June 2010
What do you think of the latest version available?
Like (2)
Version 1.5.2
arnaud-
arnaud-
25 October 2011
Hi Andrew, What about the latest version? Best, Arnaud
Like
Carlos-Sz
18 October 2009
Save as text is disabled in demo. How to know if the program works? No offense but the demo is useless.
Like
Version 1.1
3 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
27 October 2009
You can preview the OCR results at the top of the window.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Carlos-Sz
Carlos-Sz
29 October 2009
Thank you. The image I used didn't show anything at top probably due the image bad quality or lack of good processing. The application didn't show any alert after not finding any text though. I'll keep testing it.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Sandrine
Sandrine
29 October 2009
Please watch following screencast explaining how to use Prizmo's OCR: http://www.creaceed.com/prizmo/screencasts.html
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Andrew-Scott
29 April 2009
I was excited to see this application and keen to try it out. Periodically I need to record drawings and images larger than my scanner and this promises to make short work of tidying up the camera images. It seems to do a good job of of taking distorted images and producing clear, straight outputs. However it's clear that Prizmo is still developing and it has many rough edges and opportunities for improvement: - The zoom view slider appears below the output image but affects the viewing size of the original image. Why not position it below the image it controls just like iPhoto? - Adjusting the output image proportions is very hit-and-miss. There are no visual indicator of proportion or ratio while you're dragging other than guesswork. It would be very useful to have a visual indicator of ratio while dragging, perhaps showing when common ratios are established, such as square, golden rectangle, metric paper sizes (eg. A4), letter size, etc.. user definable ratios would be even better. The Page Options Pane suggest some control over output proportion is possible but seems buggy, sometimes generating width and height values such as “5.018e+04” - The grid placed over the original image is useful but the blue outer border is too bold and obscures the edges of the object you're trying to frame. This makes it difficult to achieve accuracy with out a lot of trial and error. Perimeter grid lines should be adjustable in thickness or possible to replace with corner or trim lines only to facilitate precision. You can adjust the colour of the grid lines but not transparency so that's of little help. - The Image Processing Pane allows some control over the exposure values in the photograph which is good. In ideal situations you'll be able to use the resulting image without modification. Unfortunately it lacks a white point control, meaning more trial and error adjustment is necessary. Also many images are taken in less than even lighting circumstances. It would be good to be able to adjust levels across the image over a gradient, defined by the user. This would help eliminate dark corners or edges and avoid hot spots. Without this control it's necessary to process the image again in Photoshop-which raises the question, “why not use Photoshop for the whole process?” - Sometimes saved output is just a blank document for no apparent reason. In summary, Prizmo is very promising but also unfinished and costly for its features. At US$10 I'd buy it as is and make do with it's rough edges and idiosyncrasies but at US$40 I'll just have to wait to see if it gets a lot smoother and more powerful before I jump in. I wish the developer well and await developments with some anticipation.
Like (6)
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
Sandrine
Sandrine
21 September 2009
Hi Andrew, We released Prizmo 1.1 a few days ago. What do you think of the latest version?
Like (2)
Version 1.1
Andrew-Scott
Andrew-Scott
21 September 2009
I'm very impressed with Prizmo 1.1. I haven't had the opportunity to test it properly but it looks much improved. I'll revise my review when I've done so.
Like
Version 1.1