Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Mac DVDRipper Pro page
Mac DVDRipper Pro free download for Mac

Mac DVDRipper Pro Reviews9.1.1

21 April 2021

Copy, backup, and convert your DVDs.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
LKN G-Man
LKN G-Man
Mar 14 2021
9.0.2
5.0
Mar 14 2021
5.0
Version: 9.0.2
I've tried every product of this type since Mac the Ripper was first issued as freeware many years ago. This is by far the easiest to use and the most consistently accurate. You can archive the entire disc as a mountable image or save just the main movie, either as a DVD image or a fully converted M4V or several other player files. If you only get one DVD ripper this is the Pro! NOTE: There is another app with a nearly identical name don't get them confused. MacX ≠ Mac.
Gibby-gibby
Gibby-gibby
Mar 1 2021
9.0.2
5.0
Mar 1 2021
5.0
Version: 9.0.2
I have been using Mac DVDRipper Pro for a lot of years now and have upgraded at least 3 times now. The new version includes up scaling to hd which I am trying just now. I have primarily used it for backing up dvd’s to a network hard drive and now using to rip old camcorder footage of my family. It’s a super easy product to use and I can highly recommend it.
MyronV9060
MyronV9060
Oct 10 2020
9.0.2
4.0
Oct 10 2020
4.0
Version: 9.0.2
I have used the FREE 5 rips of Mac DVDRipper Pro on a couple of DVDs. One ripped and burned just fine. The other was too large to fit on the DVD... about 7.5GB I believe. I then used DVDRemaster to recompress the file down to 4.5GB and was then able to burn it to a standard DVD. I have read that MDRP compresses VIDEO_TS folders to fit onto a standard DVD. In fact, I read that DVDRemaster was going to be merged into MDRP after it was no longer supported. All I have been able to find in MDRP is that it can convert and compress a DVD into other formats. But I simply want to rip a DVD and have it compress it enough to fit a standard 4.7 DVD disc. Am I missing something? I am looking for a 64-bit solution to using RipIt, Toast Titanium 14.2, and DVDRemaster (because sometimes Toast could not compress the VIDEO_TS folder enough). I thought MDRP could replace those 3 applications for use on macOS 10.15 Catalina (and now Big Sir). Thank you.
coriolanusmagnus
coriolanusmagnus
Sep 21 2020
9.0.2
1.0
Sep 21 2020
1.0
Version: 9.0.2
This is some kind of a scam. They are unresponsive to requests for assistance. When you try to log in to their assistance, the link is already expired and you are unable to do so. AVOID!
Rahb
Rahb
Sep 5 2020
9.0.2
4.0
Sep 5 2020
4.0
Version: 9.0.2
Can't think of any improvements that they haven't already made. Have been using this for over ten years because I haven't found any easier product! Like LKN G-Man, I am concerned that the developer dos not intend to continue beyond v9, the current version. OTOH, I also love their MVRP software for copying from YouTube and the like. Easily the best program I have ever used for this (previously used VideoBox).
NedC
NedC
Aug 3 2020
9.0.2
5.0
Aug 3 2020
5.0
Version: 9.0.2
Long time user and its a great app for my needs.
alyssaluvsu
alyssaluvsu
Jul 22 2020
9.0.2
5.0
Jul 22 2020
5.0
Version: 9.0.2
I have been using this way back when it was available. It wasn't perfect from the beginning, but the MDRP has advanced like no other out in the market. Easy to install, to use, and the best of the best. -Alyssa
Zunga
Zunga
Jul 15 2020
9.0.1
5.0
Jul 15 2020
5.0
Version: 9.0.1
Very satisfied user since version 1 (I've subsequently upgraded to versions 2, 4, 4, 6, 7, 9). This is simply the best DVD ripper for Mac.
LKN G-Man
LKN G-Man
Mar 20 2020
8.0.6
5.0
Mar 20 2020
5.0
Version: 8.0.6
I have been using this app since it first came out. I think it is the best available in its category! I used a couple of others prior to this that I believe the same developer was involved in that were best available during their respective times. I've been sad though for several months. The developer sent an email stating he only intended to release one more version, v9.
JonStuck
JonStuck
Mar 11 2020
8.0.5
5.0
Mar 11 2020
5.0
Version: 8.0.5
I have been using this application since version 1 and it always just works. It will rip things that nothing else will touch. I had an error and contacted the developer and within hours I had a new version to test that fixed the error. I have owned every version and always look forward to the next update.
joejackson-1
joejackson-1
Feb 19 2020
8.0.4
0.0
Feb 19 2020
0.0
Version: 8.0.4
Tediously slow compared to the X version
lucabn
lucabn
Nov 3 2019
8.0.3
3.0
Nov 3 2019
3.0
Version: 8.0.3
Works well but poor usability and insufficient documentation. I've spent more than $20 on it and yet they haven't come back to me from support.
Fsckthemembership!
Fsckthemembership!
Jan 15 2019
8.0.1
0.0
Jan 15 2019
0.0
Version: 8.0.1
Help me to understand the function of the following and why this would be better than a 'free' application such as Handbrake or a 'paid' application like ffWorks...both of which have significantly smaller footprint:

AtomicParsley
HandBrakeCLI
mkisofs
traineddata

Thanks,

=:-\
OhEssex
OhEssex
Jan 1 2019
8.0
0.0
Jan 1 2019
0.0
Version: 8.0
Eeek! This application is a staggering half gigaByte in size. Can the developer please respond why that is so?...
Fariborz
Fariborz
Dec 19 2018
8.0
0.0
Dec 19 2018
0.0
Version: 8.0
I really wish this could also handle blu-ray discs. With all high resolution TVs everywhere who wants a DVD at home?!
NedC
NedC
Oct 9 2017
7.0.4
5.0
Oct 9 2017
5.0
Version: 7.0.4
Loyal User and worked with the developer over the years to make this a great working product.
Chrischram
Chrischram
Aug 20 2017
7.0.1
1.5
Aug 20 2017
1.5
Version: 7.0.1
"DVDRemaster has been acquired by DVDSuki Software and will be merged into Mac DVDRipper Pro." That statement is from FIVE YEARS AGO! Five years later it still hasn't happened. I'm glad this product has a free trial. At least I'm not out 25 bucks for a piece of worthless software.
Madmeg
Madmeg
Jun 3 2017
7.0
5.0
Jun 3 2017
5.0
Version: 7.0
Fast and intuitive. I've ripped several discs and so far so good. Ran into the naming issue mentioned in one of the other reviews and contacted support. They quickly replied that they are aware of it and it will be corrected in the next update.
Northern-Steve
Northern-Steve
May 19 2017
7.0
0.0
May 19 2017
0.0
Version: 7.0
I've used MDRP since (I think) v3 and have found it to be very effective. When I saw 'per action naming' in the spec for v7 I was keen to get the upgrade. However I can't get this feature to work. All my rips are still coming out as 'disk name + track number'. Has anybody had success with this?
Zoidbert
Zoidbert
May 16 2017
7.0
0.0
May 16 2017
0.0
Version: 7.0
I would like to be able to purchase the update to the app via MacUpdate's Desktop App or via PayPal. The current method (via the fairly frequent emails I get from DVDSuki) only allows for purchasing the upgrade via their website, which is not a secured transaction website. Other than that, no complaints about this app. Haven't used it in a while but when I did it was pretty flawless in creating .dvdmedia files -- something I need as the subtitle/cc track is needed for my household.
Mebear
Mebear
May 10 2017
7.0
4.0
May 10 2017
4.0
Version: 7.0
I give this a 4 not a 5 because it offers even less control than earlier versions. The key missing element is DVD Remaster Pro, which I still use because the functions "built in" to Mac DVDRipper that "do the same thing" are useless. I wish they would update and re-issue DVD Remaster. It did was it did very well and still does as a stand alone app. Shame for buying it out and them discontinuing it.
Macintosh-Sauce
Macintosh-Sauce
May 3 2017
7.0
5.0
May 3 2017
5.0
Version: 7.0
I've owned this product for all versions. Just upgraded for $9.95 to the newest version. Love MDRP! It rips all my DVDs to ISO files perfectly. That way I never have to touch the physical DVDs again.
Wonderwarthog
Wonderwarthog
Mar 31 2017
6.1.3
3.5
Mar 31 2017
3.5
Version: 6.1.3
Considering it's mostly a spruced up frontend for HandBrake it's still a decent app. Mostly happy with it.
higherterrain-com
higherterrain-com
Mar 15 2017
6.1.3
4.0
Mar 15 2017
4.0
Version: 6.1.3
So far so good. It works 50% better and 75% faster than MacXDVD Ripper. One problem I have though is when just "Rip and convert" the end file does not give the Cover Photo as does other apps. You can not buy it through PayPal which is a pain in the butt. I also use MacXDVD Ripper and RipIt as a last resort if Mac DVDRipper can not perform or has problem reading the DVD.
Macfoto
Macfoto
Feb 9 2017
6.1.2
2.5
Feb 9 2017
2.5
Version: 6.1.2
Mac DVD Ripper Pro works (missing some options, but ok). Only unsafe upgrade options - they need your Credit Card AND your address information!!! Sorry, too easy for criminals & too dangerous! Please, allow upgrades through giro pay, paypal...whatever! Thanks!
me-211
me-211
Jan 22 2017
6.1.1
5.0
Jan 22 2017
5.0
Version: 6.1.1
easy 5 stars. best non apple program (re lack of bugs and weird quits). also customer service that really beats anyone else. this team is good.
Morlo
Morlo
Jan 7 2017
6.1.1
4.5
Jan 7 2017
4.5
Version: 6.1.1
great app. best thing about is that it uses handbrake cli for ripping, so it is fast. it can also select a video_ts folder from your files.. easy, straightforward, clean ui.. im giving it 4.5 because you can't drag and drop a video_ts folder into the app, and the "select with player" feature doesn't work for me, but everything else is just fantastic.
broox-M
broox-M
Jan 4 2017
6.1.1
5.0
Jan 4 2017
5.0
Version: 6.1.1
Reliable software for a reasonable price. I upgraded it last month and the payment was processed very quickly,. Have no problem with the app so far.
OhEssex
OhEssex
Nov 19 2016
6.1
0.0
Nov 19 2016
0.0
Version: 6.1
This is a great program. I agree with some others that the interface could be better, but one thing sticks in my craw a bit - what on earth is going on that the final size of this program in your Applications folder is a whopping 640MB!! MDRP alone is about half the size of the entire installation of MS Office 2011. That's just not right...
LKN G-Man
LKN G-Man
Nov 19 2016
6.1
5.0
Nov 19 2016
5.0
Version: 6.1
This is the best of the best! With few exceptions, it will archive any DVD.
Staps Fanny
Staps Fanny
Aug 17 2016
6.0.6
5.0
Aug 17 2016
5.0
Version: 6.0.6
Most reliable way of copying DVDs. Seldom fails what it supposes to do. Recommended !
sub-dude
sub-dude
Jul 14 2016
6.0.5
5.0
Jul 14 2016
5.0
Version: 6.0.5
Works reliably, regularly updated, feature packed and easy to use. That about sums it up! It's regular price is fair and at the current 50% off, it's a steal. Buy without hesitation!
Tedg
Tedg
Jul 10 2016
6.0.5
5.0
Jul 10 2016
5.0
Version: 6.0.5
Been using it for years without much problem. From time to time, it will see certain disks as much larger than they are, I think because of DRM spoofing.
brightonpete
brightonpete
Jun 16 2016
6.0.5
5.0
Jun 16 2016
5.0
Version: 6.0.5
Great app! Easy to use & saves me from having to plug in my DVD player to an overloaded TV system!
Baccaroeja
Baccaroeja
May 9 2016
6.0.3
5.0
May 9 2016
5.0
Version: 6.0.3
Basic and not so great looking GUI but it definitely is the best app for backing up your DVD collection. Always works as expected with great results. If you need to rip/backup your DVDs, then don't look any further !!
MKMGraphics
MKMGraphics
Feb 14 2016
6.0
4.0
Feb 14 2016
4.0
Version: 6.0
Awesome software but their payment company is rather slow. I did the 9.95 upgrade on Dec 31, 2015 and their payment processing company (paddle.com) didn't run my card until Feb 10, 2016. Over 2 months later! Because of this, I didn't recognize the charge (it just says paddle.com on the statement, nothing about MDRP) and had to get a new card number, assuming my card number had been stolen. Again, I love the software and it works great buy you might want to consider a new payment processor.
robojock
robojock
Jan 2 2016
6.0
5.0
Jan 2 2016
5.0
Version: 6.0
Love it! Very easy to use and gets the job done
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
Dec 27 2015
6.0
3.0
Dec 27 2015
3.0
Version: 6.0
I've just upgraded to version 6 but according to Little Snitch MDRP continuously has connection to its servers during converting a dvd to mp4, despite having unchecked the option "send anonymous rip statistics". What's going on here? This is a clear violation of local law as well as the EU privacy Directive (including the upcoming one).
Skyline68
Skyline68
Dec 27 2015
6.0
0.0
Dec 27 2015
0.0
Version: 6.0
Got version 3 and works just fine. Am I qualified for $9.95 upgrade? And is there any compelling reasons to do so? Is there a list of features and improvements since version 3? thanks!
newfound
newfound
Dec 19 2015
6.0
5.0
Dec 19 2015
5.0
Version: 6.0
Help .. Anyone know how to get my money back .. I paid the full price when I only needed the update .. I am sad :(
dogwithsocks
dogwithsocks
Dec 18 2015
6.0
2.5
Dec 18 2015
2.5
Version: 6.0
It is one of the best DVD ripper, I have been using it for years.... but... Why should I pay the full price for the new version as a loyal customer who already has paid for upgrades before?
sstpierre68
sstpierre68
Dec 17 2015
6.0
4.5
Dec 17 2015
4.5
Version: 6.0
Simply one of the best :)
glares
glares
Nov 7 2015
5.0.6
5.0
Nov 7 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.6
I've had a few versions of MDRP and due to upgrades, fried hard drives I have had to reinstall it a few times. Each time it called for a purchase and I reached out to the company where they gave me a reinstall key and I did not have to repay. Excellent customer service, excellent product - Customer for life here.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Mar 27 2015
5.0.4
3.0
Mar 27 2015
3.0
Version: 5.0.4
Updated! ^^
user0997234
user0997234
Mar 22 2015
5.0.3
5.0
Mar 22 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.3
App works as advertised and the support is great!
I purchased the latest version, which it is unfortunately not compatible with OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard.
So the support send me a new serial for version 4 and the download-link: http://www.macdvdripperpro.com/MDRP_v419.zip
Spudboy
Spudboy
Jan 7 2015
5.0.3
0.0
Jan 7 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.3
Very good product.
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Jan 6 2015
5.0.3
5.0
Jan 6 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.3
There is no new version for SnowLeopard. The Developer always included releases for SnowLeopard. Was this Developer the original one? Or was it sold?
Wts
Wts
Jan 5 2015
5.0.3
4.0
Jan 5 2015
4.0
Version: 5.0.3
This a must have in my tool box of "rippers". Although, I find it frustrating that after ripping i can not add a subtitle file before burning. To add a subtitle file to my "ripped" copy of a movie i have to use another program first.
Phloem
Phloem
Jan 2 2015
5.0.2
5.0
Jan 2 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
This just keeps getting better. I've used a number of other ripping apps, but this is by far the best. You have complete control over each rip and you can automate everything too. It also gives you the option to convert all in one step. I highly recommend it.
Macs007
Macs007
Dec 24 2014
5.0.2
5.0
Dec 24 2014
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
When Handbrake fails to rip your DVDs, this is what you need.