Back to Mac DVDRipper Pro page
Mac DVDRipper Pro free download for Mac

Mac DVDRipper Pro Reviews

8.0.2
05 April 2019

Copy, backup, and convert your DVDs.

Jomama7366
18 June 2010

Most helpful

This program is awesome. Unlike another program some of us know all-too-well (which feels like a social experiment designed to see just how far they can push your patience), this one "just works." It is a breath of fresh air. And the price is very fair. Highly recommended.
Like (11)
Version 1.5.6

Read 260 Mac DVDRipper Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

Fsckthemembership!
15 January 2019
Help me to understand the function of the following and why this would be better than a 'free' application such as Handbrake or a 'paid' application like ffWorks...both of which have significantly smaller footprint:

AtomicParsley
HandBrakeCLI
mkisofs
traineddata

Thanks,

=:-\
Like
Version 8.0.1
OhEssex
01 January 2019
Eeek! This application is a staggering half gigaByte in size. Can the developer please respond why that is so?...
Like (1)
Version 8.0
1 answer(s)
Miner
Miner
04 April 2019
Not the developer but: it is the software that performs the OCR on subtitles, in a wealth of languages.
Like (1)
Fariborz
19 December 2018
I really wish this could also handle blu-ray discs. With all high resolution TVs everywhere who wants a DVD at home?!
Like (1)
Version 8.0
3 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
20 December 2018
MakeMKV is a very nice application for blu-ray, and DVDs if you want this for ripping for local streaming. MakeMKV is $50, or you can use it free, but the free version has an expiration date. I've paid the $50, and find the program to be well worth the cost. Also, it's not limited to the Mac, so you can use the program, and the license you purchase on Linux, and Windows as well. FreeBSD may also be supported.
Like (4)
Fariborz
Fariborz
20 December 2018
Hello Macinman and thank you for your kind advice. I'll surely take a look at it. Thanks again and Happy Holidays.
Like (2)
OhEssex
OhEssex
16 January 2019
Just bear in mind that makeMKV is *not* robust when it comes to subtitles. If your movies don't need subtitles then you should be OK. However, if you have e.g. a spy movie where two Russians briefly chat in their native language then those subtitles may or may not appear, and even when they do sometimes the subtitles continue on while English is being spoken. It's just totally unreliable and it ruins that kind of movie.
Like
NedC
09 October 2017
Loyal User and worked with the developer over the years to make this a great working product.
Like (3)
Version 7.0.4
Chrischram
20 August 2017
"DVDRemaster has been acquired by DVDSuki Software and will be merged into Mac DVDRipper Pro." That statement is from FIVE YEARS AGO! Five years later it still hasn't happened. I'm glad this product has a free trial. At least I'm not out 25 bucks for a piece of worthless software.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.1
2 answer(s)
Y-Guy
Y-Guy
15 September 2017
Been using MDRP for years, great piece of software handles all of my DVDs without an issue.
Like (5)
Miner
Miner
07 December 2017
Why do you say it has not happened? The key features of DVDRemaster for the current day and age HAVE been integrated, I think.
I really like the product, as a owner of several versions of DVDMaster license, as well as the last 3 or 4 editions of MDRP.
Like (3)
Madmeg
03 June 2017
Fast and intuitive. I've ripped several discs and so far so good. Ran into the naming issue mentioned in one of the other reviews and contacted support. They quickly replied that they are aware of it and it will be corrected in the next update.
Like (3)
Version 7.0
Northern-Steve
19 May 2017
I've used MDRP since (I think) v3 and have found it to be very effective. When I saw 'per action naming' in the spec for v7 I was keen to get the upgrade. However I can't get this feature to work. All my rips are still coming out as 'disk name + track number'. Has anybody had success with this?
Like
Version 7.0
2 answer(s)
Madmeg
Madmeg
03 June 2017
I asked support about this and they promise a fix for this bug. In the meantime, type in your preferred action name, but make sure you press "return" afterwards. Typing in the field, then clicking outside of it to exit causes it to ascribe the generic name to a rip.
Like (2)
DVDSuki Software Inc.
DVDSuki Software Inc.
19 July 2017
Fixed in v7.0.1.
Like (2)
Zoidbert
16 May 2017
I would like to be able to purchase the update to the app via MacUpdate's Desktop App or via PayPal. The current method (via the fairly frequent emails I get from DVDSuki) only allows for purchasing the upgrade via their website, which is not a secured transaction website. Other than that, no complaints about this app. Haven't used it in a while but when I did it was pretty flawless in creating .dvdmedia files -- something I need as the subtitle/cc track is needed for my household.
Like
Version 7.0
Mebear
10 May 2017
I give this a 4 not a 5 because it offers even less control than earlier versions. The key missing element is DVD Remaster Pro, which I still use because the functions "built in" to Mac DVDRipper that "do the same thing" are useless. I wish they would update and re-issue DVD Remaster. It did was it did very well and still does as a stand alone app. Shame for buying it out and them discontinuing it.
Like
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
Mebear
Mebear
19 May 2017
BTW, asked the same question in my comment to the support people - response not helpful or constructive. Will be looking more closely at MTR 5.
Like
Macintosh-Sauce
03 May 2017
I've owned this product for all versions. Just upgraded for $9.95 to the newest version. Love MDRP! It rips all my DVDs to ISO files perfectly. That way I never have to touch the physical DVDs again.
Like (4)
Version 7.0
Wonderwarthog
31 March 2017
Considering it's mostly a spruced up frontend for HandBrake it's still a decent app. Mostly happy with it.
Like
Version 6.1.3
higherterrain-com
15 March 2017
So far so good. It works 50% better and 75% faster than MacXDVD Ripper. One problem I have though is when just "Rip and convert" the end file does not give the Cover Photo as does other apps. You can not buy it through PayPal which is a pain in the butt. I also use MacXDVD Ripper and RipIt as a last resort if Mac DVDRipper can not perform or has problem reading the DVD.
Like
Version 6.1.3
Macfoto
09 February 2017
Mac DVD Ripper Pro works (missing some options, but ok). Only unsafe upgrade options - they need your Credit Card AND your address information!!! Sorry, too easy for criminals & too dangerous! Please, allow upgrades through giro pay, paypal...whatever! Thanks!
Like
Version 6.1.2
1 answer(s)
DVDSuki Software Inc.
DVDSuki Software Inc.
24 April 2017
Paypal doesn't allow ripping products to use their service, unfortunately. As for the address, only the payment provider (Paddle) gets it, and only to make the transaction.
Like (2)
me-211
22 January 2017
easy 5 stars. best non apple program (re lack of bugs and weird quits). also customer service that really beats anyone else. this team is good.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.1
Morlo
07 January 2017
great app. best thing about is that it uses handbrake cli for ripping, so it is fast. it can also select a video_ts folder from your files.. easy, straightforward, clean ui.. im giving it 4.5 because you can't drag and drop a video_ts folder into the app, and the "select with player" feature doesn't work for me, but everything else is just fantastic.
Like
Version 6.1.1
broox-M
04 January 2017
Reliable software for a reasonable price. I upgraded it last month and the payment was processed very quickly,. Have no problem with the app so far.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.1
OhEssex
19 November 2016
This is a great program. I agree with some others that the interface could be better, but one thing sticks in my craw a bit - what on earth is going on that the final size of this program in your Applications folder is a whopping 640MB!! MDRP alone is about half the size of the entire installation of MS Office 2011. That's just not right...
Like
Version 6.1
1 answer(s)
Miner
Miner
21 December 2016
The big size is related to the Tesserract text recognition engines that convert the subtitles for you. You could think about slimming down by removing unwanted languages from the application package.
Like
LKN G-Man
19 November 2016
This is the best of the best! With few exceptions, it will archive any DVD.
Like
Version 6.1
Staps Fanny
17 August 2016
Most reliable way of copying DVDs. Seldom fails what it supposes to do. Recommended !
Like
Version 6.0.6
sub-dude
14 July 2016
Works reliably, regularly updated, feature packed and easy to use. That about sums it up! It's regular price is fair and at the current 50% off, it's a steal. Buy without hesitation!
Like
Version 6.0.5
Tedg
10 July 2016
Been using it for years without much problem. From time to time, it will see certain disks as much larger than they are, I think because of DRM spoofing.
Like
Version 6.0.5
2 answer(s)
slim-ferno
slim-ferno
12 July 2016
Will It Rip Encrypted/ Protected DVDs?
Like
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
20 December 2016
@ slim-ferno: Yes, that's it's specialty.
Like
Brighton-Pete
16 June 2016
Great app! Easy to use & saves me from having to plug in my DVD player to an overloaded TV system!
Like
Version 6.0.5
Baccaroeja
09 May 2016
Basic and not so great looking GUI but it definitely is the best app for backing up your DVD collection. Always works as expected with great results. If you need to rip/backup your DVDs, then don't look any further !!
Like (1)
Version 6.0.3
MKMGraphics
14 February 2016
Awesome software but their payment company is rather slow. I did the 9.95 upgrade on Dec 31, 2015 and their payment processing company (paddle.com) didn't run my card until Feb 10, 2016. Over 2 months later! Because of this, I didn't recognize the charge (it just says paddle.com on the statement, nothing about MDRP) and had to get a new card number, assuming my card number had been stolen. Again, I love the software and it works great buy you might want to consider a new payment processor.
Like
Version 6.0
1 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
12 April 2016
I wonder if it's based on your location. I've done business with them for every version since 2 i think and haven't had a delay on payment. Maybe also the kind of card maybe? Anyway Just thought it was a strange problem to have .
Like (1)
robojock
02 January 2016
Love it! Very easy to use and gets the job done
Like (2)
Version 6.0
Lounge-Deluxe
27 December 2015
I've just upgraded to version 6 but according to Little Snitch MDRP continuously has connection to its servers during converting a dvd to mp4, despite having unchecked the option "send anonymous rip statistics". What's going on here? This is a clear violation of local law as well as the EU privacy Directive (including the upcoming one).
Like (1)
Version 6.0
1 answer(s)
Mdrpro
Mdrpro
21 January 2016
If you unchecked the anonymous stats, MDRP can still connect if you enabled either "Use DiscIdent to find movie titles" or "Soft-subtitles (remote or local)". That is normal.

Disable DiscIdent and remote soft-subtitles, and assuming you didn't tell the app to automatically check for updates on the first launch, it shouldn't connect anymore to the internet.
Like (2)
Skyline68
27 December 2015
Got version 3 and works just fine. Am I qualified for $9.95 upgrade? And is there any compelling reasons to do so? Is there a list of features and improvements since version 3? thanks!
Like
Version 6.0
1 answer(s)
Mdrpro
Mdrpro
21 January 2016
If you bought any version, you're qualified for the $9.95 upgrade, just use this form: http://www.macdvdripperpro.com/upgrade.html

There are many new features since v3, new GUI, soft-subtitles, actions queuing, etc. Use the free trial of v6!
Like (1)
newfound
19 December 2015
Help .. Anyone know how to get my money back .. I paid the full price when I only needed the update .. I am sad :(
Like
Version 6.0
1 answer(s)
Mdrpro
Mdrpro
19 December 2015
Just contact us via email: info@macdvdripperpro.com
Like
dogwithsocks
18 December 2015
It is one of the best DVD ripper, I have been using it for years.... but... Why should I pay the full price for the new version as a loyal customer who already has paid for upgrades before?
Like
Version 6.0
2 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
18 December 2015
the upgrade cost is $9.95, not full price. Look at the company website.
Like (1)
Mdrpro
Mdrpro
18 December 2015
As Mcr wrote, the upgrade is $9.95 for existing users. Just contact us via email if you have issues getting the $9.95 price. You can get the upgrade price here:
http://www.macdvdripperpro.com/upgrade.html
Like (1)
sstpierre68
17 December 2015
Simply one of the best :)
Like (1)
Version 6.0
glares
07 November 2015
I've had a few versions of MDRP and due to upgrades, fried hard drives I have had to reinstall it a few times. Each time it called for a purchase and I reached out to the company where they gave me a reinstall key and I did not have to repay. Excellent customer service, excellent product - Customer for life here.
Like (5)
Version 5.0.6
TCalhau
27 March 2015
Updated! ^^
Like (1)
Version 5.0.4
user0997234
22 March 2015
App works as advertised and the support is great!
I purchased the latest version, which it is unfortunately not compatible with OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard.
So the support send me a new serial for version 4 and the download-link: http://www.macdvdripperpro.com/MDRP_v419.zip
Like (6)
Version 5.0.3
Spudboy
07 January 2015
Very good product.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.3
Jazzyguy
06 January 2015
There is no new version for SnowLeopard. The Developer always included releases for SnowLeopard. Was this Developer the original one? Or was it sold?
Like (1)
Version 5.0.3
Wts
05 January 2015
This a must have in my tool box of "rippers". Although, I find it frustrating that after ripping i can not add a subtitle file before burning. To add a subtitle file to my "ripped" copy of a movie i have to use another program first.
Like
Version 5.0.3
2 answer(s)
Strider72
Strider72
14 July 2015
I just tried this app for the first time, and had no problem ripping multiple subtitle sets. As a test, I ripped both English and French subtitles, and can easily switch back and forth or turn them off at playback in iTunes or Quicktime
Like
Wts
Wts
14 July 2015
Strider72 that is because they fixed that in the current version.
Like (1)
Phloem
02 January 2015
This just keeps getting better. I've used a number of other ripping apps, but this is by far the best. You have complete control over each rip and you can automate everything too. It also gives you the option to convert all in one step. I highly recommend it.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.2
Macs007
24 December 2014
When Handbrake fails to rip your DVDs, this is what you need.
Like (2)
Version 5.0.2
2 answer(s)
Boblphd
Boblphd
30 January 2015
Handbrake has never failed on any DVD I have tried to rip.
Like (2)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
27 March 2015
Handbrake doesn't decrypt DVDs. It's the libdvdcss library that does that.
Like (2)
Lounge-Deluxe
09 November 2014
MDRP 5.01 is excellent at either making a backup of an entire dvd or ripping a single chapter or episode and saving it to .m4v format. It works both with dvd discs and .iso files. It has various options for ripping subtitles as well, but it has never worked no matter what the settings were. 2 Stars less for promising something yet not delivering it.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.1
Lounge-Deluxe
15 October 2014
I find it odd that Mac DVDRipper Pro can't simply edit a dvd and leave its file format unchanged (i.e. remove subtitles or foreign languages). It always converts the results to M4V format. It would be great is this 'feature' would be added to this otherwise great app.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.1
3 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
27 March 2015
That's lame. Handbrake already does all that for free.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
27 March 2015
This doesn't seem to be correct. I just did a successful "full disc image" save and subtitles were retained properly and it's a full disc image OI can burn to a new DVD, not a M4V in sight.
Like
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
27 March 2015
Sure you can make a full disk image but that was not what my comment was about... I want to be able to remove certain subtitles and chapters and then save to a disk image. Try that with MTRP. Handbrake sucks to me, but you seem to like it.
Like (1)
Lonewolf1
30 September 2014
What about the subtitles? Tried to rip and convert in several different ways but no subtitles. Over 600 Mb installed software... I don't have words for this issue. Freeware are better at this. Sorry, but this is not so good.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.1
Cheltenham
30 September 2014
easy to use !
Like (1)
Version 5.0.1
Thecap
28 September 2014
Is this application a joke? It uses HandBrakeCLI in the background, yet doesn't give ANY possibility to influence the output file, even basics like the audio bitrate are missing...
Like (3)
Version 5.0
2 answer(s)
Mdrpro
Mdrpro
29 September 2014
That's by design. 99.9% of users just want to push a button and have a result that will both look and sound great. That's what MDRP provide. If you like to fiddle with audio bitrates, which most users would rather not, then by all means, use HandBrake directly, although it will probably choke on some DVDs, so you can use MDRP first in the 'Main movie only' mode as a first step to workaround that.
Like (5)
Macfoto
Macfoto
29 September 2014
MDRP is big (600+MB...more than the MacOS 8 System Folder)...NO options (bitrate, chapter...) & is not more than a Handbrake CLI GUI

I miss DVD Remaster!
Like (2)
bumper314
17 September 2014
Whoa, MDRP went from 45MB installed (version 4) to 637MB installed (version 5)! It's all that data for the OCR engine for soft subtitles. It might be nice to have the option to download English only as SSD space is precious.
Like (5)
Version 5.0
1 answer(s)
Igorot
Igorot
29 September 2014
I totally agree. This is shocking…. 637MB is a no go on my SSD.
I appeal to the developer to PLEASE adress this issue…. make soft subtitles optional (if that is what is creating the huge space demand), and people who need it can download as add-on or plug-in it whenver needed. Most won’t…
Like (4)
Sigil
04 September 2014
I am impressed. This app ripped Iron Man 3. Handbrake and RipIt both failed. The minimalist UI is well appreciated. I can't see any flaws in this app.
Like (1)
Version 5.0
3 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
04 September 2014
Just out of curiosity , did you try the handbrake snapshots? I keep my media on a server which run linux, so unless i absolutely need to use the mac to rip things, i tend to do it directly on the server to save the step of copying over the network. The reason I asked, is because with the latest stable release of handbrake i have had random disks fail as well, however the snapshots seem to have fixed that. I'll try iron man 3 and report and let you know if this is true for that itle.
Like (1)
Macinman
Macinman
04 September 2014
I was correct, the latest snapshot of Handbrake is handling iron man 3. I like to suggest alternatives to just mac os, because I know like me there are people out there who like to be able to use programs on any platform that they are familiar with. Many mac specific programs aren't cross platform.

Anyway the screenshot of the successful rip in progress is here: https://flic.kr/p/oM8cZt hope this is helpful to someone! :)
Like (2)
Sigil
Sigil
15 September 2014
Hi, no I haven't tried the handbrake snapshots. I will give it a try. THX!
Like
George-Baron
02 September 2014
I clicked the upgrade button for the $9.95 update but was taken to the full price site??
Like (1)
Version 5.0
2 answer(s)
jreffner
jreffner
02 September 2014
I did the same thing. Start over, but this time, after clicking the upgrade button, do NOT click the "buy" button. Instead, just paste in your old serial number.
Like (4)
Macinman
Macinman
02 September 2014
the app itself should have asked you on launch if you want to buy upgrade. i clicked the button in the dialog and it opened safari directly to the upgrade page. no issues here.. I've always upgraded directly though the app without issues.
Like (2)
Dgfarrar
02 September 2014
As always, MDRP remains the premiere program for ripping DVDs. I've noticed that the size of MDRP has increased substantially. From 46 Mb (version 4.1.9) to 639 Mb (version 5.0). 14 times the size! Looking at the "Contents," via "Show package contents," there is a new folder called "tesseract" which is 605 Mb. Virtually all the modules start with a three character prefix, denoting (I'm guessing) a language component. My question to the MDRP folks: can all of those xxx.cube.im, xxx.cube.size, xxx.traineddata, etc. files be deleted (except for the eng. ones)? If so, perhaps you could make an English only version available at your website. Thanks ...
Like (11)
Version 5.0
4 answer(s)
Johnny-K
Johnny-K
03 September 2014
Good question Dgfarrar! I hope DVD SUKI answers yes, go ahead and toss.
Like (1)
Mdrpro
Mdrpro
03 September 2014
If you do not use subtitles in any language except English, it should work fine. You will have issues, however, if you select non-English subtitles.
Like (2)
Dgfarrar
Dgfarrar
03 September 2014
Not to be argumentative, but to have the program increase in size by 14 times, all in the name of non-English subtitles, well, that seems to be a little over-the-top.

And, yes, I paid my $10 for the upgrade to version 5.0. Money. Mouth. You know the drill ...
Like (3)
Stilgar
Stilgar
04 January 2015
There's another (payware) app called XSlimmer which will go through all your App Bundles and rip out the languages that you don't need as well as all of the binaries you don't need (like 32-bit on a 64-bit OS for example). I think I paid $10, but I've only had to buy once and upgrades are free. You'd be amazed at how much bloat it will reduce.
Like (1)
SpiessensMark
02 September 2014
Works as advertised. Always rips a DVD without any problems. Recommend
Like (1)
Version 5.0
FireMuffin
02 September 2014
Been waiting a long time for 64-bit and soft subs, and when it finally arrives, they jump the sys requirements to 10.8 minimum. I wanted this for my 10.6.8 machine. Very disappointing. (Just a comment...not down-rating it for this.)
Like (1)
Version 5.0
10 answer(s)
Mdrpro
Mdrpro
02 September 2014
Supporting 10.6.8 was becoming a problem, it would have prevented progress. Since 10.9 is a free upgrade for all, we chose to go forward.
Like (2)
JasonE
JasonE
02 September 2014
DVDSuki, just because Mavericks is free, does not mean it is perfect for all people. There are more bugs in Mavericks than their are in 10.6.8. Frankly, if Apple had not mandated 10.9 use for most of their software, I would be back on 10.6.8 in a heartbeat.
With the same model of machine, side-by-side with one on 10.6.8 and the other on Mavericks, the 10.6.8 machine will absolutely smoke the Mavericks machine. Mavericks is all Powerpoint-style effects and stuff Microsoft use to us to sell its operating systems. Yosemite is even worse. All show, forget about the go.
Like (5)
Purps
Purps
02 September 2014
Seriously... you can't stick with Snow Leopard forever. If your machine can't support anything higher, fine. But this clinging to Snow Leopard thing is getting a bit silly. You can't blame your issues on other people moving forward just because you refuse to.
Like (1)
Guass
Guass
02 September 2014
I like Mavericks, but still have a Mac mini which doesn't support it, it supports only up to 10.7. What a pity!
Like
JasonE
JasonE
02 September 2014
Silly to cling to something that works better, is more reliable, is faster, is more resilient? How is that wrong, especially when it comes at the cost of employee productivity, frustration, support, etc? We have had more complaints from 10.7-10.9 than in all other versions of Mac OS X in its entire history. Tickets are up by a factor of over 10. Bug reports to Apple have risen dramatically, with the majority being open and unresolved. How much evidence does one need before someone actually admits Apple needs to get their quality back in line?

It is funny how your tag is F0ll0wY0urH3art, yet you seem to want us to only follow our leader. My heart tells me Apple can and should do better. They have more resources, more talent, more experience, more everything than almost any other company on the planet, especially their sector. I have absolutely no intention of giving them an easy out, just because they are Apple and Tim, Phil and Craig say they are focussed on 'perfect.'
Like (2)
Purps
Purps
02 September 2014
My point was... you can't get pissed off at a developer for moving forward.

And employee productivity.? Does your company involve all your employees ripping DVDs to their computers?

I haven't had any issues with later iterations of OS X... except for Lion... and we have 170 Macs set up. Having said that... I know issues aren't imaginary. But if you know Apple at all, then you know they're infamous for making not so old software (and occasionally hardware) obsolete in a relatively short period of time... so in order to stay ahead of the curve, you must stay updated. Apple isn't the best company of choice when it comes to back end support of older computers. Microsoft supported XP for 14 years... Snow Leopard received support for 2 years... and now every year there's a new version of OS X.

It's frustrating, yes... but you can't get angry at developers trying to stay ahead of the curve. If anything, just be mad at Apple.
Like (3)
JasonE
JasonE
02 September 2014
Points made. The developer is not the cause. It just makes it harder to make a case to Apple when all of the developers are giving in to it's planned obsolescence. I apologize whole-heartedly to the developer, as I truly did not mean to shed so much frustration towards them. It seems like there are no outlets anymore and the last rung of the ladder is the individual developers like this that held on to the older, more beneficial operating systems.
Like (4)
Neutralzone
Neutralzone
02 September 2014
"Planned obsolescence" is too loaded a term for the reality of the situation. In consumer technology, your company simply can't compete with other software operating systems and hardware if you hold yourself back while they move ahead.

Are there bugs in Mavericks? Sure. But as a former Snow Leopard user myself, I believe the benefits of Mavericks outweigh the drawbacks and I sure can't blame developers from wanting to put their limited resources to position their application where the progress is. (No, I haven't updated my DVDRP yet, because it is on a Mac that won't go past Lion. Which is too bad...Mavericks is way better than Lion.)
Like (1)
Macinman
Macinman
03 September 2014
Since this is a conversation about newer versions of mac os x vs older ones. I have a new retina macbook pro which came with mavericks so for mac os x i'm stuck without being able to have a second install of a different version. For the most part mavericks is fine, but i do have a question. Is it possible to use hackintosh concepts to get a legit mac to run an older version of os x? since it's mainly an issue of installing the right drivers onto the older version ? and with the exception of the built in hardware to boot os x natively without hackinng, intel macs are regular intel machines under the apple name ? I would be curious to try it if anyone knows.
Like
Macinman
Macinman
03 September 2014
I just wanted to add, as long as your computer can run lion and has a core 2 duo cpu, there are proven ways to install mountain lion and mavericks on macs apple officially doesn't support and from my research it appears to work no worse then lion on those machines. Since my white macbook is dead and gone now, I can't test it for myself, as in the above post my late 2013 macbook pro retina 13" came with mavericks so it works without needing a hack. The solution is simular to the one used to put leopard on slower spect machines with xpostfacto and now the patch is called MLpostfacto. so just thought i'd throw that out to see if people with older macs might want to try and relive frustration of being left back.
Like
Mrtomato
02 September 2014
As I recall, MDRP bought DVDRemaster. The idea then was that MDRP would incorporate the benefits of DVDRemaster. Maybe it's too early in the morning, but it's not clear to me if MDRP 5.0 will now compress and burn disks to a single layer DVD. Does anyone know?
Like (1)
Version 5.0
5 answer(s)
Mdrpro
Mdrpro
02 September 2014
Double-layer to single-layer compression was very rarely used in DVDRemaster, didn't work properly for all DVDs, so decided not to include it. Dual-layer blanks are cheap in bulk, and the loss of video quality is not worth it. You can continue using DVDRemaster if you absolutely need this feature.
Like (2)
Wts
Wts
02 September 2014
Mrtomato, well their answer is : Double-layer to single-layer compression was very rarely used in DVDRemaster, didn't work properly for all DVDs, so we decided not to include it. Dual-layer blanks are cheap in bulk, and the loss of video quality is not worth it. You can continue using DVDRemaster if you absolutely need this feature.

However, i do question their comments about DVDRemaster. I have on many occasions used the compression feature of DVDRemaster with great success. Also, in DVDRemaster you could eliminate certain video's such as those FBI warnings and commercials for future movies.

I also on occasion use a programme named DVD2one for compressions of those 8 GB DVD's down to a 4 GB DVD.
Like (4)
JasonE
JasonE
02 September 2014
DVDSuki, just because Mavericks is free, does not mean it is perfect for all people. There are more bugs in Mavericks than their are in 10.6.8. Frankly, if Apple had not mandated 10.9 use for most of their software, I would be back on 10.6.8 in a heartbeat.

With the same model of machine, side-by-side with one on 10.6.8 and the other on Mavericks, the 10.6.8 machine will absolutely smoke the Mavericks machine. Mavericks is all Powerpoint-style effects and stuff Microsoft use to us to sell its operating systems. Yosemite is even worse. All show, forget about the go.
Like
JasonE
JasonE
02 September 2014
Sorry about the double-post. Not sure why my reply showed up twice. It should have ben in the other thread.
Like
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
04 September 2014
Thanks for the reply, DVDSuki. FWW, I use single-layer compression all of the time and have never had a problem with it. The quality was fine IMHO. My DVD player struggles with DL copies for some reason, so single layer seemed to be a sure way of avoiding the issue. Anyway, I've got a spindle of SL discs that I'm not chucking out! I just hope DVDRemaster will continue to work!
Like