Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Backblaze page
Backblaze free download for Mac

Backblaze Reviews8.0.0.520

08 July 2021

Online backup service.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Macs-Pain
Macs-Pain
Apr 25 2021
7.0.2.494
1.0
Apr 25 2021
1.0
Version: 7.0.2.494
Ok, backing up actually works, but that's it. You better NEVER have to restore anything. After a HD crash I had to restore several TB of data. This is not possible at once, you have to split up the data to actually be possible to download anything. Downloading with a browser is WAY too slow, downloading of one chunk of 300 GB lasts for 2 days, which sucks because of the forced connection restart of internet providers here, so downloading is so slow that it is actually not possible with the browser. Ok, there is "Backblaze downloader" which should be able to reconnect and resume downloading. The problem is, this app does not even start to do anything. Starting to download? Nah, not with this app. So actually you pay for backing up your files but you will not be possible to re-download and restore them if it is more than some GB. Backblaze is a joke. NOT RECOMMENDED!
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Mar 5 2021
7.0.2.490
1.0
Mar 5 2021
1.0
Version: 7.0.2.490
Incompetent and rude, with no apologies. Look elsewhere.
Drtyrell969
Drtyrell969
Oct 10 2020
7.0.2.470
2.0
Oct 10 2020
2.0
Version: 7.0.2.470
I was a huge propionate of this service until somewhere in the middle of the night they changed their backup policy to store things for a limited time. Like mentioned in other interviews 30-days as a default. Well 30-days is an insult to the very concept of "backing up" your files. Yet again, another greedy company trying to deceive their customers however they can. Even if you pay the extra money for one-year, which I did, what other choice do I have? The software hobbles your computer 100% when it's running. It also ignores your directives for when and how to backup. Very easy to fix, but even after reporting these issues to the developers, I discovered they are the type of humans who work 12 hours a day to blame it on you instead of eight to fix the problem.
kyleander
kyleander
Jul 4 2020
7.0.0.418
1.0
Jul 4 2020
1.0
Version: 7.0.0.418
Do not trust Backblaze with your data. Maybe you'll be like me and pay for their services for 6 years, finally need it when my laptop was stolen, and then have my data deleted after 30 days because said laptop was no longer in my possession. And the Data Restore experience is terrible - incredibly slow download times and multiple crashes. This business model is like paying insurance premiums every month and then not actually having coverage when you need it. But hey, at least they gave me a protracted refund on my year subscription after I gave them money for 6 years for absolutely nothing. Thanks guys!
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Mar 17 2020
7.0.0.418
1.0
Mar 17 2020
1.0
Version: 7.0.0.418
Poor customer service. They lost their encryption key from my key pair, stopping my ability to restore files. They offered no assistance apart from blaming me for losing my key, which I still have on hand. They returned money for the unused part of my service, then told me to get lost and not return. Worthless and rude.
Odysseus
Odysseus
Sep 9 2019
6.1.0.370
3.0
Sep 9 2019
3.0
Version: 6.1.0.370
This app has a major failing -- it can't restore files by itself, and most importantly, there's no way to restore files to their original location. Why this isn't a priority for Backblaze is beyond me.
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
May 18 2019
6.1.0.338
3.0
May 18 2019
3.0
Version: 6.1.0.338
WARNING!. This backup service does not back up applications in the /Applications folder and it does not back up aliases anywhere!. This is inexplicable, especially the alias problem. You have to move your applications to another folder and this can mess up some incorrectly-made applications. Also, the search function on their web site as well as in the iOS app sucks, as does navigating through hierarchical file structures.
Tomq
Tomq
Dec 18 2018
5.4.0.250
0.0
Dec 18 2018
0.0
Version: 5.4.0.250
Trying trial: says backing up at 2GB/**day**! With 540GB to back up this will take only 270 days??!!! My internet speed is 80-100 mb/sec
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Jun 19 2018
5.2.0.200
4.5
Jun 19 2018
4.5
Version: 5.2.0.200
Hands down still the best remote backup service around. Only 4 ½ stars, though, because you still can't backup /usr/local. A warning: since one update a few months ago—don't know which—bzserv (and therefore Backblaze) is almost unusable on computers with HDDs; maybe it has quietly been optimized for SSD-based systems, but if you still have an HDD, the system (including online page loading speeds) take a heavy hit, whenever bzserv is working in the background. (Reducing Backblaze upload speed doesn't help, because it's what's happening locally on your boot volume that's the problem.) I've been on an SSD for some time, and all is great, but before the switch one to two months of Backblaze on an HDD was a real pita.
Mcr
Mcr
May 14 2018
5.2.0.184
0.0
May 14 2018
0.0
Version: 5.2.0.184
Until ISPs in the USA start providing symetrical upload/download (same speed both directions), online backup for the majority of people is not practical. My ISP provides 200 Mbps down, but only 10Mbps up. Even at 10Mbps, a backup of just my data takes over 24 hours, never mind system images. By the time data is backuped, it's already gone through several local update cycles, in other words, the online is never caught up.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
May 26 2017
4.3.0.44
5.0
May 26 2017
5.0
Version: 4.3.0.44
Count me in the group that has had NO problems whatsoever with BackBlaze. I've backed up terabytes of date, and have never had any problems with restores. 100% success so far. And $5/month for unlimited storage is unbeatable. Only downside, and this is inherent of all of these services, is that upload speed can be SLOW. This, however, is a problem with your ISP, and not the software.
mrsidoric
mrsidoric
Dec 8 2016
4.2.0.990
0.5
Dec 8 2016
0.5
Version: 4.2.0.990
AVOID BACKBLAZE – As others have noted, test restores of data have been unreliable. Never assume that your data is safe without restoring data and testing results carefully. Backblaze restores were extremely problematic – and 'customer support' was slow, sketchy and unhelpful. I cancelled auto-renew after a year.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jun 15 2016
4.1.0.952
1.0
Jun 15 2016
1.0
Version: 4.1.0.952
My experience with Backblaze was that they were incompetent and didn't care to discuss the matter. Go elsewhere for cloud backup service. I'm successfully using DropBox and Box. SpiderOak and Arq have good reputations and are both Mac friendly. Box is kind of annoying in that you are stuck using Windows naming characters and they can lose track of which Mac in a mirrored pair is the primary versus secondary. Otherwise, I've had very good success with Box. The encryption dilemma: I have a password protected, encrypted Sparse Bundle Disk Image I use for storing my private data. Because it is a 'bundle', only pieces of the 'bundle' are updated as it changes, versus the entire disk image. I back it up and mirror it via Drop Box and don't have to care if government surveillance maniacs are on the loose busily destroying The Fourth Amendment. They can't get into my Sparse Bundle Disk Image, period. Meanwhile, I have it set to open up and ask for its password each time I boot my Macs. I made the Sparse Bundle directly inside Apple's provided Disk Utility set to maximum encryption.
Morlo
Morlo
Feb 7 2016
4.0.4.904
3.0
Feb 7 2016
3.0
Version: 4.0.4.904
not bad, but not great either. One very annoying issue is that folders don't appear to be checksumed. Backblaze support says files are checksumed so if you move or rename it is not backed up again. However, if you have a folder with tens of thousands of files (i had to learn this the hard way) and you decide to rename it, it has to be backed up again. So if you are not a big folder mover and renamer, i think it might work for you.
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Nov 11 2015
4.0.4.904
4.5
Nov 11 2015
4.5
Version: 4.0.4.904
I can't compare it to other similar services, e.g. CrashPlan, because I haven't tried them, but I love it: fast, easy, fair price, works great on El Capitan, satisfying so far. Some things could be improved, though: I get it that system files and directories will not be backed up. But what about additions that the user has made to the system? Third-party extensions, homebrewed and other binaries in /usr/local/? It would be easy for the Backblaze servers to diff a client's system setup against the standard Apple OS X install and only backup the additional files & directories, those that are not OS X defaults. And /Library/Application\ Support/ does contain a lot of important things for the user, not only his home folder. (!) And why not your /Applications folder? As far as I can see, they don't give us a reason. Well, I have other local backup setups, so it doesn't really matter, if all that stuff isn't backed up to the Backblaze pods… well, except when there's a catastrophic event like a fire… and isn't that what Backblaze is supposed to be for? Getting *all* your important stuff back, when disaster strikes? Not the system, of course, but all the rest? Hmmm… Still, it's a great addition to cloning and Time Machine.
leocrespo
leocrespo
Sep 22 2015
4.0.4.904
2.0
Sep 22 2015
2.0
Version: 4.0.4.904
Very important: even if you clear the exclusion list, backblaze will still ignore some files as being "cache" or "temporary". This isn't documented anywhere as of today, 22 Sep 2015. This might lead to files being corrupted, especially packages. This alone is enough to make me not use the app.
robfol
robfol
Jun 7 2015
4.0.2.880
5.0
Jun 7 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0.2.880
I've been using Backblaze for over 4 years now and have moved my whole company over to it. So far it has been great, backs up smoothly and test restores always work. I have found support good and new versions ooften add useful features. Also great value. 5 Star from me anyway!
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jun 5 2015
4.0.2.880
1.0
Jun 5 2015
1.0
Version: 4.0.2.880
Deeply disappointing. Great on the surface. But from personal experience, a fail when it comes to restoring lost data. Undependable. Poor technical support. I moved on to better services.

I'm done complaining now.
::mile::
::mile::
May 21 2015
4.0.1.878
0.0
May 21 2015
0.0
Version: 4.0.1.878
The current version on their website is 4.0.2.880 -- what's up with that?!
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
May 19 2015
4.0.1.878
1.0
May 19 2015
1.0
Version: 4.0.1.878
Sounds great. Is not. When it came time to restore my backed up date, I had no access because they'd lost my encryption key. No apology. No admission of fault. Just a refund for the rest of my subscription, go away and don't come back. It could not have been more disappointing.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Feb 11 2015
3.0.0.820
1.0
Feb 11 2015
1.0
Version: 3.0.0.820
I had a terrible experience with Backblaze and no one in their tech support lifted a finger to attempt to explain why. Instead their friendly but firm attitude was: We'll give you a refund, then get lost and don't come back. They did kindly give me a refund and now I'm banned for life. Here's what happened: 1) On my old MacBook running 10.7.5, I had Backblaze installed and running. I ENCRYPTED my backups with a private key I had created. I kept track of that key and still have it handy. 2) I then switched my Backblaze account from my old MacBook to my new MacBook Pro running 10.9.5. Everything moved over and the new machine backup replaced the old. This was all accomplished exactly as Backblaze prescribed, and they agree with that fact. But somehow, Backblaze messed up my account such that my one-and-only private key for my encryption NO LONGER WORKED. That specifically meant that my entire backup was INACCESSIBLE FOREVER. I'd wasted my time and money backing up to Backblaze for months. The backup was useless. Again: I have that private key right here! I know EXACTLY what it is. But stupid Backblaze messed up my backup such that my private encryption key NO LONGER WORKED. And the Backblaze staff didn't check on anything, didn't have any explanation, just told me to take back my money and go away forever. THAT is lousy service. I teach and write about Internet security. So I take Backblaze's blundering very seriously. Thus the 1/2 star review after this fiasco. I'm moving to SpiderOak, which costs a bit more but offers more services and functionality. SpiderOak also have a MUCH better encryption system that never forces the user to hand over their private key to their server, not ever. (Unlike Backblaze). It's also an entirely Mac friendly service.
Hymek
Hymek
Nov 6 2014
3.0.0.820
3.5
Nov 6 2014
3.5
Version: 3.0.0.820
I'm only at the trial stage with this software at the moment so don't regard this as the complete, definitive assessment. The upload went smoothly, with no performance hit at all as far as I noticed. Obviously before handing over any cash I wanted to test the restore function, but this wasn't so good. I used the recommended "Backblaze Restore" application, but this stalled a short way into the transfer. This was far from a disaster as the browser's ordinary download worked ok, and the second try with the proprietary software worked as well. Of course the point with backups is that you need complete trust they're going to be there when you need them and here we only managed "two out of three ain't bad". Is this good enough? Well, probably. It worked in the end. Do bear in mind that this is just a first impression; I may just have been unlucky. A flawless and confidence-inspiring dry run would have been nice, but I will be signing up.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jul 10 2014
2.5.1.750
1.0
Jul 10 2014
1.0
Version: 2.5.1.750
Um: v2.5.1.750 is from May 22, 2014. Therefore, if you keep BackBlaze up-to-date, you won't find this 'update' is 'new' on July 10, 2014. Do not be alarmed.
Lik
Lik
Jul 10 2014
2.5.1.750
4.0
Jul 10 2014
4.0
Version: 2.5.1.750
Backblaze as a service is quite cool, just the app seems outdated, doesnt auto-update (which drives me crazy) …
Andyrogers
Andyrogers
Jul 10 2014
2.5.1.750
4.5
Jul 10 2014
4.5
Version: 2.5.1.750
The automatic throttle doesn’t always play nice, especially on my slow DSL connection. So I manually hit the Pause button. Otherwise, no issues. After 6 months, my 2.5 TB initial backup is almost complete!
anonymous-rabbit-5199
anonymous-rabbit-5199
Jun 26 2014
2.5.1.744
3.0
Jun 26 2014
3.0
Version: 2.5.1.744
I don't find this service very robust. First of all, this software does not implement the locale settings of my OSX. It shows the amount of remaining data in a way I'm not used to read, by using a comma instead of a dot. This way I don't have the right feeling about the status of a backup. I have told the customer service about this problem half a year ago, but they have not solved it yet: very sloppy! Same goes for the settings on the website. Also, I keep receiving emails that an external drive hasn't been connected in quite some time. That is not true. I've booted with the drive connected and left it running for a complete day. The application was clearly uploading some stuff, but somehow it thinks it had nothing to do with my external drive. As I'm a laptop user this is highly inconvenient. I'm supposed to somehow hope it backups all my data, because there is no way to clearly see what the status is: the "to do log" in the software is bullocks.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Jun 7 2014
2.5.1.744
4.0
Jun 7 2014
4.0
Version: 2.5.1.744
I love BackBlaze and recommend it to everyone! It Just Works! However, to earn the 5 stars BackBlaze need to add support for NAS
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
May 1 2014
2.5.1.744
1.0
May 1 2014
1.0
Version: 2.5.1.744
I ran into a bizarro bug whereby attempting to install this update resulted in error boxes reading: "Installation could not complete. Please contact Backblaze support." So I did contact Backblaze support! And UNLIKE so many typical modern crap companies (Hi Time Warner Cable!), they had EXACTLY the solution. It worked. Great company.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Feb 6 2014
2.5.0.706
5.0
Feb 6 2014
5.0
Version: 2.5.0.706
Migrated from iDrive to Backblaze and haven't looked back. The only thing I fault with this app is that when it starts to backup my drives, it slows my whole system down to a crawl, and many times I have to postpone the backup due to working. I have it on Automatic Throttle, which *should* recognize that I'm using the Mac and adjust accordingly, but that's not the case. Other than that, $4.99/month for unlimited backup is very nice.
sjhain
sjhain
Feb 5 2014
2.5.0.706
0.0
Feb 5 2014
0.0
Version: 2.5.0.706
The download link leads to the homepage and there is no download possible! Please correct this fault!
ylluminate
ylluminate
Dec 5 2013
2.3.1.676
0.0
Dec 5 2013
0.0
Version: 2.3.1.676
Does this allow our own storage clouds to be used? For example, I would like to use DreamObjects instead.
Merlixir
Merlixir
Nov 9 2013
2.3.1.676
0.0
Nov 9 2013
0.0
Version: 2.3.1.676
Currently the Download link yields an .exe Windows file. No thanks! Looks like someone has screwed up and linked to the wrong thing.
22duke
22duke
Nov 8 2013
2.3.1.676
0.5
Nov 8 2013
0.5
Version: 2.3.1.676
using it for 2 years 3 times now the backup got corrupted and it freezes everything for no reason so, again re-upload for several days. will not renew my membership
robfol
robfol
May 16 2013
2.1.0.608
5.0
May 16 2013
5.0
Version: 2.1.0.608
Simple, fast and unobtrusive. There's a good iOS app too. I replaced Crashplan, deleted Java and since bought a 5 seat license for my team. Very good and highly recommended. Also use Time Machine and Carbon Copy Cloner for local backups which should be done with any online backup.
Dellsuxx
Dellsuxx
Mar 26 2013
2.1.0.572
4.0
Mar 26 2013
4.0
Version: 2.1.0.572
WARNING: Try uninstalling on imac running osx 10.8.3 and left with self replicating trojan like file called bzbmenu that keeps self replicating after every uninstall and deletion attempt I've made in last 7 days. deleted plist file and it keeps coming back. Process can't be terminated and it attempts to access internet every hour when online! Tech Help from company is good but after three emails they haven't been able to help me get rid of this malware. Don't download this program if you plan to uninstall it!
Penguirl
Penguirl
Mar 5 2013
2.1.0.572
0.0
Mar 5 2013
0.0
Version: 2.1.0.572
With all the positive reviews I was looking forward to giving Backblaze a try, unfortunately I cannot afford to prepay at this time and as a rule I do not give any commercial entities authorization to make withdrawals from my account. I've heard too many horror stories of people having to close their account just to stop auto-withdrawals so it's going to have to wait.
Julian-Kingman
Julian-Kingman
Jan 24 2013
2.1.0.572
4.0
Jan 24 2013
4.0
Version: 2.1.0.572
It keeps out of my way and backs me up. It's simple, and the cost can't be beat. It would be nice if the app had some more features, like browsing online files, viewing status and progress, but then again the bare-bones-ness of it is nice. CrashPlan was much more sluggish, by comparison.
Mar6473
Mar6473
Nov 25 2012
2.1.0.572
5.0
Nov 25 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.0.572
Backblaze works great. Been using it for about a year for two Macs in our house. I love it. No errors, no churn, no hassle. Way to go guys... I got a new Mac a few months ago and transfered my backup easily so I didn't have to re-upload everything. Use Backblaze along with a local backup using Carbon Copy Cloner for the perfect disaster proof solution!
Sleav
Sleav
Jul 30 2012
2.0.7.524
3.5
Jul 30 2012
3.5
Version: 2.0.7.524
I wanted to give BackBlaze five stars across the board - ease of use, great value! problem is, at least for those of us with LOTS of data to back up, BackBlaze's team acknowledged a tech bug that made it impossible for me to continue to use it - after a certain amount of files are uploaded, the database file controlling BackBlaze simply hits its maximum - and no more backups can take place. I have almost 3TB of data (including lots of graphics files, html files and mp3 files) and I was unable to complete backing up these drives in several tries. BackBlaze has acknowledged the problem, said they were working on it, and sadly I haven't heard back that they've solved it.
22duke
22duke
Jul 18 2012
2.0.6.512
0.5
Jul 18 2012
0.5
Version: 2.0.6.512
cheap but quite a hassle if you change your machine, just upgraded to new MacPro and there is no easy way to associate new machine with back up so another 3-4 weeks upload and 1TB of bandwidth wasted
Satyrica
Satyrica
Jun 9 2012
2.0.6.512
5.0
Jun 9 2012
5.0
Version: 2.0.6.512
Can the Backblaze devs please post a changelog for all the updates they are rolling out recently??
Madison-mac
Madison-mac
May 9 2012
2.0.5.508
0.0
May 9 2012
0.0
Version: 2.0.5.508
There was an interesting "Security Now" podcast talking about BackBlaze that I listened to the other week. http://www.grc.com/sn/sn-350.htm
Biox
Biox
May 8 2012
2.0.5.508
3.0
May 8 2012
3.0
Version: 2.0.5.508
"The user’s private key which is stored safely in our datacenter is protected by a password that is highly guarded. But for some users this is not good enough and we allow the user to secure this file with their own password. When this is done it is impossible to access the data without the user’s password." That doesn't mean it's virtually impossible for someone else to access the data if the user can. As I understand it, user's data can be accessed via any web browser, even if secured by their own password, which means Backblaze staff can tap into the line and access the data, too--and probably not just when accessing via a web browser. I don't see this as being satisfactory for the enterprise.
schmelding
schmelding
May 8 2012
2.0.5.508
5.0
May 8 2012
5.0
Version: 2.0.5.508
Backblaze, will you marry me?
pcharles
pcharles
May 8 2012
2.0.5.508
5.0
May 8 2012
5.0
Version: 2.0.5.508
I tested Backblaze in February and was so impressed that I have now paid for a two year subscription as a replacement for Mozy. Mozy is still a great service, but if you have a lot of data to back up (anything over 125GB) it starts to get a lot more expensive now they have moved away from the unlimited plans. Backblaze offers less file access features than Mozy and some other systems, but IMHO those file access features are gimmicks. What really matters in a backup system is the ability to backup your important stuff quickly, securely, and at a reasonable price. Backblaze offers all those features. I was able to backup over 160GB of data on a 3Mbit connection at a rate of almost 31 Gigabytes per day. So it was done very quickly, all for $4 per month. The software is also mind numbingly easy to install and configure because it basically configures itself, but there is also plenty of control over which things to exclude from the backup. An important feature for me is that it will handle the backup of any external drives that are directly connected to the computer. I store all my media on an external media drive, and wanted to make sure it was backed up. The web site is fairly basic, there is no mobile app, and no sharing, but IMHO that is good. Backblaze is a backup, and I believe it should stay that way. There are plenty of dedicated photo sharing sites out there already, not to mention Dropbox and iCloud's photo sharing. Overall highly recommended.
robfol
robfol
May 8 2012
2.0.5.508
5.0
May 8 2012
5.0
Version: 2.0.5.508
I'm replacing CrashPlan with Backblaze. Very impressed with the service, no Java needed, no load on processor, fast uploads and sensible price. I had to restore one folder and that worked perfectly. Could do with pause in the menu and a few operational tweaks but overall very good indeed
Satyrica
Satyrica
Jan 10 2012
2.0.1.440
5.0
Jan 10 2012
5.0
Version: 2.0.1.440
Works great, high level of customization of backup speed, priority, and exclusion lists. Never slows my system down (mac mini 10.7.2), and has a clean mac interface! Best $5 I've spent for great peace of mind! Had my parents install, and is trouble free for them as well...
Hacky
Hacky
Jun 2 2011
1.5.1.332
4.0
Jun 2 2011
4.0
Version: 1.5.1.332
I switched from Mozy and overall like Backblaze. However, despite it being an application that according to developers cannot crash my Mac, it somehow is causing freezes on a regular basis that require forced rebooting via the power button. This happens fairly regularly when I click on the backblaze pref pane or on the icon in the menu bar. None of my other pref frames or menu bar items do this. Today I force rebooted and the menu bar item for backblaze didn't even show up (which may be a good thing as for now it is working. I have as directed made sure there are no firewalls etc.. interfering, I have even turned off Default Folder. The problem keeps recurring. I'd like to delete every trace of BB and reinstall but that gives a warning that all data previously uploaded will be deleted. Value is great, specifically compared to Mozy, which I will drop as soon as I am sure BB will work for me. Features are OK, simplicity is great but I'd like more control over what is backed up and the exclusion process sued is a bit cumbersome. Ease of use is great if into simplicity but average if you want more control over backup. I'd also like some indication of upload rate. So great promise but somehow with my current system (10.6.7 and latest BB) Backblaze is introducing considerable stability issues.
Olivier-herrbach
Olivier-herrbach
Apr 5 2011
1.5.1.332
0.0
Apr 5 2011
0.0
Version: 1.5.1.332
Hello to all, I'm just wondering, because I've downloaded an .exe file … I wrote somewhere that Mac OS X could open Windows Self Extracting Archives, BUT : I don't want to use CrossOver, Parallels or VMWare Fusion, and I'll reinstall soon Windows 7 Enterprise in BOOTCAMP. Can somebody help me to understand why it's on MacUpdate, or what mistake I've done ? Thank you very much in advance ! Best regards Olivier Herrbach olivier_herrbach@me.com
D-J
D-J
Feb 4 2011
1.5.1.332
5.0
Feb 4 2011
5.0
Version: 1.5.1.332
I adore this product, completely. It is seamless, works unobtrusively, never gets in the way or hogs bandwidth (you can select how much), and customer support is excellent. It has saved my ass twice in the past year, when other cloud-backup solutions helped only partially. I'm not sure the exclusion method is the best solution, but on the other hand by default it gives one the best coverage. Luv it.