Back to DaisyDisk page
DaisyDisk free download for Mac

DaisyDisk Reviews

4.8
21 September 2019

Free up disk space by quickly finding and deleting big, useless files.

Drdul
17 February 2016

Most helpful

If you are using the Mac App Store version, like I was, do yourself a favour and download the non-MAS version from the developer. You can install it in place of the MAS version and it will recognize your licence. The reason to use the non-MAS version is that you can Scan as Administrator (in the dropdown menu next to the Scan button), and when you do that DaisyDisk can see everything on the disk. I had 160 GB of trashed Time Machine local backups eating up my disk space, and I was able to find them and delete them within DaisyDisk in a matter of minutes. I had spent a few hours trying to figure out where my disk space had gone, and once I switched to the non-MAS version of DaisyDisk I had my answer!
Like (11)
Version 4.0.2

Read 77 DaisyDisk User Reviews

Rate this app:

Mcr
10 July 2019
This 5 star rating is to help offset the 1 star rating posted on Mar 17, 2019. I donl't believe that the user who posted that review understood that one can 'drill down' through the folder structure until each individual file is as large a section of the pie as you want. As for whether a pie display is the most efficient...well given that the average macOS disk has literally MILLIONS of files, I think the graphical display is the only way to go. Navigating a traditional Finder List View doesn't give you the instant feedback that pie section gives you regards relative size of a file compared to files around it and above it in the hierarchy. To each his own. I've tried all the 'file and disk size comparision' apps; this one is the best and very quick response when navigating.
Like (1)
Version 4.7.2.2
iMacWare
26 April 2019
DaisyDisk Has been the Gold Standard for visual drive exploration. Please note that you can now do this with CleanMyMac X and other applications, but Daisy Disk has a certain "Aroma and Grace" that you just can't beat.
Like (1)
Version 4.7.2
YHC
17 March 2019
I don't know why this app is so famous? Because the FIRST one app is using a Pie Chart? I won't buy it again, if someday an upgrade needs to pay. Reasons: 1. A pie chart is so beautiful, but it's not a good solution. Especially there are a few small pieces, because your cursor is very hard to touch this small pieces to show the information. 2. Now, there are a lot of apps about Disk, and they are also using a Pie Chart, and their price are cheaper or free. Thanks.
Like
Version 4.7.2
1 answer(s)
Software Ambience
Software Ambience
02 October 2019
The developer writing here. DaisyDisk uses a special kind of visualization that is called "tree pie" or "sunburst". You can think of it as a tree-like pie chart, where each slice is a "child" pie chart in itself. On early stages of our design process we analyzed and tested all existing kinds of charts for visualizaing file systems and concluded that the tree pie works best in most cases for most people. The tree pie was invented long before DaisyDisk, but in order to achieve its real efficiency, we came up with a multitude of our original enhancements that drastically improved readability and navigabilty of the tree pie chart. In particular, we sorted segments, reduced visual noise, added navigational colors and animations etc. Also we introduced the two-panel design that adds a lot of contextual information without cluttering the main view. Before DaisyDisk tree maps were a nightmare to use, now all apps of this kind copy our design :) Now let me comment on your reasons: 1. The point is that you're looking for big files, small files are not important for the purpose of freeing up space, so they are deliberately made small, low contrast or removed from view altogether, as visual noise. 2. There are a lot of apps in this category, but unfortunately they are either poorly designed and a pain to use or low-quality knockoffs of DaisyDisk. No other developers invested so much time and effort in the easy & comfortable user experience as we did, and our price is very moderate. I'm proud that DaisyDisk is now the most popular app in its category, it has won "Best of the Mac App Store" three times and all major media titles have written editorial reviews of DaisyDiks (there are over 500 publications in total). No other app can boast that.
Like
Version 4.8
Bigdave56
22 June 2018
This is one of those apps that might make you think to yourself as you use it, "Why don't all apps work like this?" I really don't have a serious criticism to offer. Very intuitive, fast, even helps you take the garbage out to the curb. My only caution would be to second the advice from an earlier reviewer to get the non-MAS version as it is more complete (It has safeguards against deleting critical system etc files so no worries.) That version also gives you a trial option. If you try it you'll buy it IMO. Top notch utility
Like (2)
Version 4.6.3
sitecr2-2
25 February 2018
Impressed with the app, provided an excellent visual on data/area I was trying to see. One question I asked the developer was responded back by very quickly.
Like (2)
Version 4.4
Accountant
07 December 2017
great app!
Like (2)
Version 4.4
saliha-najib
27 November 2017
J'ai testé l'application DaisyDisk sur mon ancien Macbook pro (mi-d-2012) dont le système High Seirra 10.13.1 est installé. DaisyDisk démarre rapidement avec le système et il ne ralentit si pas le CPU ni le RAM de mon Macbook. Le design ainsi l'interface de l'application DaisyDisk permettant d'avoir une décomposition visuelle de votre espace disque sous la forme d'une carte interactive, de révéler les plus gros gaspilleurs d'espace, et de les retirer avec un simple glisser-déposer. Les options de l'application sont multiples mais ce que j'ai aime beaucoup le plus : c'est l'option dans le menu qui te permettre se découvrez ce qui se cache dans la catégorie "Autre" et de l'effacer. Aussi il te permet de récupérer de l'espace disque en trouvant et en supprimant de gros fichiers inutiles. À la fin de mon test-je donne 5 étoiles et je recommande vivement l'achat de cette application
Like (3)
Version 4.4
Bezbozny
25 June 2017
Excellent software. Well worth the money.
Like (3)
Version 4.4
Jlock
25 February 2016
DaisyDisk is an amazing app! I use it everyday at work and it is well worth the money. This has to be the most beautiful app that I have ever used!
Like (6)
Version 4.0.4
2 answer(s)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
16 January 2017
It's def gorgeous!
Like (1)
Mcr
Mcr
04 May 2018
IMO, it is very unprofessional for MU Editors to post reviews (positive or negative). Editors, as USERS of the product, are certainly entitled to their personal opinion, those opinions should be posted using a personal avatar not associated with their duties as moderators of this forum. As moderators of MU, which profits from ALL the developers who consent to have their products listed on this site, editors should not show any bias towards any products. If I were the developer of a competing product to Daisy Disk, I"d be upset and I'd be calling MU management to complain.
Like (2)
Drdul
17 February 2016
If you are using the Mac App Store version, like I was, do yourself a favour and download the non-MAS version from the developer. You can install it in place of the MAS version and it will recognize your licence. The reason to use the non-MAS version is that you can Scan as Administrator (in the dropdown menu next to the Scan button), and when you do that DaisyDisk can see everything on the disk. I had 160 GB of trashed Time Machine local backups eating up my disk space, and I was able to find them and delete them within DaisyDisk in a matter of minutes. I had spent a few hours trying to figure out where my disk space had gone, and once I switched to the non-MAS version of DaisyDisk I had my answer!
Like (11)
Version 4.0.2
2 answer(s)
dod2
dod2
11 March 2016
Hi Drdul,
I can't find the non-MAS version to download.

Can you give me some help, please?
Like
Jools912
Jools912
20 March 2016
@dod2 It's right on the front page of the apps website.
Like
S-e
03 December 2015
Nice app, and *extremely* customer-friendly support!
Like (3)
Version 4.0.2
tofu-1
01 December 2015
fantastically beautiful and functional app. have used it for years
Like (3)
Version 4.0.2
Alvin-H
03 October 2015
Once again, this little app (v3.) save some space on my drive before update to 10.11. And after update i download new version (4.0.1) and i though i'll buy the upgrade price, but my licence just work... free upgrade? i bought my licence on 2012, wow... generous developers...
Like (3)
Version 4.0
BobUN
05 September 2015
Excellent pour peu que l'on fasse attention à ne supprimer que les applications ou fichiers inutiles. Il m'a trouvé de vieux fichiers et a fait super bien son job de nettoyeur. Genial.
Like (2)
Version 4.0
BobUN
05 September 2015
Excellent pour peu que l'on fasse attention à ne supprimer que les applications ou fichiers inutiles. Il m'a trouvé de vieux fichiers et a fait super bien son job de nettoyeur. Genial.
Like (1)
Version 4.0
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
03 September 2015
I've been using Daisy Disk for years. But I don't like Yosemite so I won't need this OS X 10.10 only version of DD. Mavericks, and Daisy Disk 3.0.3.1 are just fine with me.
Like (1)
Version 4.0
Nontroppo
03 September 2015
Holy Cows, Yaks and Bisons!!! The scanning speed of the New Daisy Disk is just spectacularly super fast (a couple of seconds on my 512GB SSD), unbelievable! This still has the best UI of all the free and paid disk scanning apps. Simple but sublimely functional, drill down the directory structure adding stuff the Collector to delete when you've made your way through the disk. Essential software and this is worth the money without hesitation.
Like (3)
Version 4.0
Cortig
03 September 2015
I love the new version 4. Much faster indeed and the user interface got a nice refresh. The release notes are not lying :-)
Like (2)
Version 4.0
Alex-Malinovich
29 October 2014
DaisyDisk is one of those apps that you'll rarely ever need, but once you do need it, you'll be glad you have it. Yes, there are other alternatives out there, but none of them are nearly as well designed. And, best of all, the trial version isn't crippled. If you just need to use it once, you can download it and use it and not pay a penny. Which is exactly what I did. And then I realized how awesome it is that the devs actually allow you to do that and went ahead and bought a license just because. :)
Like (5)
Version 3.0.3.1
Tomtubbs-yahoo-com
04 September 2014
150GB. Yes, 150GB Daisydisk recently saved me. Of a 500GB SSD on my laptop. Unknowingly, iDIsk (a prequel to Mobileme, now iCloud) had left orphaned backups totalling 50GB from years back. And Old iPhone backups from several years totalling 100GB were also in there. 30% of my SSD recovered, and I didn't know till running Daisydisk of these issues! (Moved files out of iDisk sparsebundles, and also out of old backups then trashed them). How did I find these huge file savings? I was helping a friend get Daisydisk (and also CleanmyMac2), and then out of curiosity ran Daisydisk on my current machine.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3.1
NickB9210
02 July 2014
Highly efficient tool for managing your Mac OS drives. Easy to use and pleasing to look at :)
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3.1
JennyB9628
01 July 2014
Very easy to use, fast scanning, cleared 20 Gbyte of disk space, recommend this app
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3.1
gelosi
15 January 2014
Awesome! Simple app for one thing I need from it - show me where is my disk space lost! The one more-less issue is scan speed - would be cool to get it faster.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
3 answer(s)
software-ambience-1
software-ambience-1
20 March 2014
Actually, we've highly optimized the scanning process and according to our tests, DaisyDisk is the fastest among the competition. Typically it takes only about 20-30 seconds to scan a SSD startup disk or a couple of minutes on HDD. It may take much longer on a Time Machine volume, due to the large number of files (20 mins and more). If you are experiencing issues with scan speed try to run Disk Utility's Repair Permissions and Repair Disk commands, you may have issues in the file system. Thanks for your feedback!
Like (1)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
05 August 2015
DaisyDisk,

Disk Map took exactly 3 minutes to scan 423.8 GB on a 500 GB partition.
DaisyDisk took 1 minute, 5 seconds in Administrator mode.

So DD is certainly much faster, however I find the Disk Map results much easier to read, and for me usability wins out over speed.
Like
software-ambience-1
software-ambience-1
06 August 2015
@BigJohnson Thanks for the review and allow me a little follow-up.

Speaking of the speed, you should try our new version 4:

http://daisydiskapp.com/downloads/DaisyDiskBeta.zip
(This is a beta version, the official release is planned later this August.)

Its speed has zoomed amazingly. What used to be 1 minute will now be nearly 5-10 seconds (if you are on an SSD and a relatively new CPU). This unmatched speed is changing the whole pattern of how DaisyDisk can be used. It's now a total no-brainer if you need to make disk space. You don't have to think if you have a couple of minutes to wait.

Speaking of usability of the rectangular maps vs circular (sunburst) maps. This is actually a very old debate. Both maps have their ups and downs, and when we designed DaisyDisk we tested both approaches. The circular map has won by far, as it's proved to be more readable and navigable for most people. Of course, we had to make many original improvements to the circular map to make it really usable. No one can now even remember what a nightmare the pre-DaisyDisk sunburst implementations had been :)
Like
Raffael-M
13 December 2013
I like this app since Version 1 and it's one of my essential mac apps. It does it's job perfect, it's stupid simple to understand and the user interface is very beautiful. Should be part of OSX IMHO :D. Also the developer is very responsible = good support. (On request he/they even gave me a free non-MAS license after i bought the MAS version and sent him/them the receipt. That's very kind of him/them i think. Also check out the app "unclutter" from this developer, it's very useful on my macbook air.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
Bigboysdad
04 December 2013
My positive view of this software can be seen in my review below, but it'd be really good and save time if you could select more than just one folder to delete.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
software-ambience-1
software-ambience-1
09 December 2013
Right, and we are working to add multiple selection and improve keyboard navigation in the sidebar list, in future versions of the app. For now you can use Cmd+Backspace keyboard shortcut, to make collecting files a little faster. Thanks for your feedback!
Like
FrankG8327
30 October 2013
Lifesaver when i've ran out of disk space again.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
27 November 2013
Daisy Disc may cost more but it is well worth the money. I have both Grand Perspective and DaisyDisk and Ireally like the pictorial Graphs of Daisy Disk butI have a lot of trouble figuring out what the pictorial representations of Grand Perspective actually represent.
Like (1)
MisterE
09 September 2013
GrandPerspective is free. Highly recommended.
Like
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Xplicit
Xplicit
09 September 2013
DaisyDisk is good. Highly recommended.
Like (7)
MisterE
MisterE
09 September 2013
I tried DaisyDisk and it is good. I prefer GrandPerspective.
Like (1)
Nontroppo
08 September 2013
Nice to see the new design, and disk scanning feels faster. As always this has such a great UI, very easy to quickly drill down to find files to remove and clean. Developers are very communicative and responsive.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Macbookpro
07 September 2013
Looks like version 3.0 is out. Currently, it appears that registered users of 2.x are still treated as registered users of 3.0 meaning it looks like a free update. This applies to non-app store versions. I don't know about app store versions. http://www.daisydiskapp.com/downloads/DaisyDisk.zip
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
3 answer(s)
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
07 September 2013
Yep - can confirm that...DaisyDisk 2.x licences work with v.3 :-)
Like (1)
software-ambience-1
software-ambience-1
07 September 2013
Yes, this is a free update for all existing users of version 2.x, both stand-alone and Mac App Store editions. The stand-alone keys are the same, no need to update them.
Like (4)
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
07 September 2013
Thank you! Great app too and a very decent price as well :-)
Like (1)
AndyWood
30 March 2013
I'm using Daisydisk for some days now and since I installed it, I cleared 40 Gbyte of disk space (which is a lot on a 320 Gbyte hard drive). Most of the files I found with this app were files I didn't even know of. 10 Gbyte were left by an iMovie project I messed with a year ago and just forgot about it. Another 10 Gbyte were lying around in an archive in a subfolder of a subfolder of a subfolder as a backup I made and forgot to delete. The other files were old music files I copied when I migrated from my old PC to my Macbook. I didn't even listen to one of those files in about 2 years so obviously I didn't need them anymore. The UI speaks for itself. I love the circles and the animations and how the app visualizes the disk space in use. As some people below pointed out, there are free solutions but in my opinion they don't come anywhere near Daisydisk regarding speed and ease of use.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.2
Tedg
03 March 2013
Basically indispensable. It doesn't help with the problem of having many duplicates. I haven't yet found a good solution to that. But it is extraordinary in quickly helping find where all that space went.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
01 July 2013
What about Gemini for detecting duplicates?
Like (1)
Bigboysdad
25 November 2012
This app has deserved highly rated reviews, but I find it just as, if not more useful on external drives. When I backup, I always archive changed or deleted files to an external drive, the trouble is, its scary how quickly the external drive fills up with these archives. Using Daisydisk, it was easy for me to quickly identify and get rid of 108GB out of 125GB of archives which were truly useless (logs, cache files and video files which I already had 2 copies of, etc). So, this saves me time and makes my external archive drives last longer. The GUI makes it better than the free alternatives, it’s great software.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.2
Qurious
29 September 2012
Totally awesome way of showing disk usage. It helped me a lot understanding the system when I was new to OSX and I still use it occasionally. My iMac has SSD and space is always tight. Couldn't live without it. Admitted there are free apps that do that, but with the innovative and good looking display, heck I don't regret paying for it.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
f-pal1964
25 June 2012
It's a must, especially if you have limited space as a macbook air user. The visual display of the data is as cool as it is practical.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1
Stormchild
10 March 2012
Very cool and useful app. Much faster than all the other disk usage utilities I've used. It only takes about 3-4 minutes to scan my 320 GB boot drive (and it's not a very fast drive: 5400 rpm 2.5" HD). The circular graph isn't just eye candy; it's actually a great way to see what kinds of files are eating up your space. Remember, you can hover the mouse pointer over a graph segment to see more details, and click any segment to drill down and see a new graph of that section of your disk. Another non-obvious feature: while hovering over any item, hit spacebar to open QuickLook.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1
Alvin-H
17 January 2012
just bought the stand alone version... I'll try it couple day before write stars...it's have discount price, about $9,9.. cheap enough to buy...
Like
Version 2.1.1
Babyface4life2000
26 November 2011
This one is a trail version.It also took a long time to scan a 120 GB Hard drive using 110GB Disk Inventory X is a better program and best is it is free. Plus it makes it super easy to see the larger files.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Daisydisk
Daisydisk
26 November 2011
The scanning speed depends on the number of files. (Not on the total size.) Normally, for startup HDDs it takes about 2-5 mins, and 1-2 mins for SSDs. If it takes significantly longer, try to Repair Permissions using the system's Disk Utility, there might be a problem in the file system. Then run DaisyDisk again. With all due respect, Disk Inventory X is aged. It was last updated in 2005, and its scanning engine is much slower than DaisyDisk's. We've done comparative tests many times, Disk Inventory X is unfortunately one of the slowest. Besides, sometimes Disk Inventory X will crash if the number of files is too large and it runs out of memory. We've done a lot of scanning optimization for DaisyDisk, and its high speed is one of the things our customers mention first in their reviews. The rectangular "tree-map" presentation in Disk Inventory X has its benefits and downsides, but our own usability tests show that our DaisyDisk's sunburst is more easily readable and navigable, in most cases. Unlike Disk Inventory X, DaisyDisk is not freeware, but the trial version is fully functional and not limited in time. We ourselves hate to buy software that doesn't allow to test itself thoroughly :).
Like (10)
Yanokwa
12 September 2011
i've tried many other space usage applications and daisydisk is the only one that i actively enjoy using. it's a fast and fun way to figure out where the big files on your hard drive are hiding.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.7.1
isasc
30 August 2011
With an amazing interface and architecture this app is the best way to scan and see exactly what is on your disks. After the application scan your Hard Drive, it will present it to you on a map interface where you can navigate through and see how your space is distributed on the disk letting you see all the files and folders, including the hidden ones, see their sizes and letting you delete it from the application or show it to you on the Finder. But with all the nice interface and design, you may say… it's this application really worth it?… YES, it may looks simple but the application is in fact really functional, specially for those who have their hard drive almost full and looking to get free space. With DaisyDisk you can really find out, as they say, the real space wasters and remove them, "Fast and Easy". If you are looking for the best scanner disk for your Mac ! Well, this is it, I recommend it a 100%. It works amazing and smoothly. Good Job !!!
Like (5)
Version 2.0.7.1
Djefis
09 August 2011
Simply Special, the best App in its field for me.
Like
Version 2.0.7.1
FalstaffA
09 July 2011
DaisyDisk is an excellent utility application, recently I had run a disk testing/rebuilding utility that took almost two full days to complete its work, in the process of such work it gobbled up more than 22 GB off my boot disk which it used for logging its work but did not place its log file in any of the usual locations where logs are stored on Macs by applications, Spotlight couldn't find it, TechTool Pro failed to find it, the same was the case for Cocktail and TinkerTool System, I remembered that I had picked up DaisyDisk via a bundle promo when it debuted, I ran it and... voilá, it found the log file in less than a couple of minutes, showed its location on the Finder and the rest is history, I was able to recover the 22+ GB that I needed. I highly recommend DaisyDisk.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.7.1
Aeschylus
24 June 2011
It is very upsetting to be offered the "upgrade price" of $9.99 and to learn that this is the same price being charged to new users on the App Store. Although I have liked this program, my feeling is that when user loyalty is not rewarded and a deceptive "upgrade price" is posted, I can no longer trust the developer and will either use the older version or stop using the product if the older version doesn't work. I'm willing to pay an upgrade price, but don't feel comfortable being tricked.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.7.1
3 answer(s)
Tbrizitsky
Tbrizitsky
02 July 2011
I understand your concern, however there're are a few things to take into account: we've decided to use a more flexible price model on the App Store version and right now there're an ongoing sale, the regular price remains the same $20… We're thinking about separating App Store and standalone version even further by clearly marking the one we have on our site as "pro". This makes sense as it already offers some advanced features (scan as administrator, hidden disk space detector) that cannot appear in the App Store version. If this happens, all existing DaisyDisk 2 users will be automatically migrated to "pro" version, but from a certain point we'll stop free migration from the App Store version to standalone. Whatever decision we make, it will be clearly explained in our blog/twitter.
Like (3)
Drdul
Drdul
07 July 2011
My reaction was the same. $10 to upgrade does not look like any kind of a deal when the App Store version is going for the same price, and offers basically the same feature set. I am holding off on upgrading until I see what "pro" features the non-App Store version might offer.
Like (2)
software-ambience-1
software-ambience-1
13 July 2011
@Drdul, you can now either upgrade to DaisyDisk 2.0 stand-alone, or buy 2.0 in the MAS, both ways it will cost you only $10, why aren't you happy? :) In fact, when the MAS was first launched, we were avalanched by people who were willing to upgrade their existing 1.0 licenses to the MAS, without paying the full price again, and this 50% MAS sale is a kind of migration program for them. There is no other technical way in the MAS to give a discount to only a selected subset of customers, so we opened it for all people, for a limited time.
Like
Jordanwags
03 June 2011
The thing that is so great about DaisyDisk compared to other programs like it is that it separates everything a lot better then the other programs. It tells you exactly how much space you have left on your drive and on top of it, it tells you how much space you are using in every single folder of your Hard drive; including smaller objects, like your trash and developer folder. I highly recommend this to anyone!
Like
Version 2.0.6
Ward
31 March 2011
The MacUpdate description (above) says "Final release of DaisyDisk 2, the stand-alone edition." I assume that means the future is the Mac App Store and 10.6 or better. Will there be an upgrade path from 2.0.6 other than paying full price for the next release?
Like (1)
Version 2.0.6
1 answer(s)
Tbrizitsky
Tbrizitsky
31 March 2011
We don't push anyone towards the App Store. Neither we're going to make DaisyDisk available in MAS exclusively. We've made a decision to support two versions and we will support these as long as possible. In other words: relax, once you have 2.0.6, 2.07, 2.1 etc will be freely available.
Like (2)
Anon-Bud
28 February 2011
I'm changing my earlier reviews to "this stinks"! The app is great. The developer is not. I purchased version 1 through a Maczot special in January 2010. The developer does not give free upgrades to those who purchased through MacZot or MacHeist. So essentially, the 50% off special is not special at all in that we have to shell out $9.99 for the upgrade to version 2. I refuse to do business with deceitful companies like this.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.6
8 answer(s)
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
28 February 2011
BTW- version 2 is a free upgrade for those who did not purchase version 1 through MacZot or MacHeist.
Like (2)
Tbrizitsky
Tbrizitsky
28 February 2011
Hi, Paul. As originally stated in http://www.daisydiskapp.com/blog/2010/09/01/one-daisy-two-daisies%E2%80%A6/ DaisyDisk 2 is a paid upgrade for most users, except for ones who get it after September 1, 2010 or before October 15, 2009. The upgrade terms haven't changed since then. Your license has been issued in January, 19, 2010 and allows you to get a discounted upgrade, the same one as for many other users worldwide. You have contacted the developer, got a more than adequate and polite answer (in 30 minutes, btw) to all your questions and now accuse us for not giving you away something for free. You've bought the application on MacZot with 50% discount and now keep nagging for the free upgrade "just because". This won't work, sorry. As Bob Dylan said "Just because you like my stuff doesn't mean I owe you something". Good luck.
Like (9)
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
28 February 2011
In fact I have not "nagged " you for anything free. In none of my emails to you did I ask for a free upgrade. I was merely stating that I think your policy is deceitful. That is all. I'd be glad to post all our correspondence here, but I think we've hashed over this more than enough. This is all really very sad as Daisy Disk is a good product. I just don't like the way you do business.
Like (2)
software-ambience-1
software-ambience-1
28 February 2011
The MacHeist or MacZOT customers are not treated unequally compared to the rest of customers. The price of the upgrade is determined only by the date of the purchase. We gave free 2.0 upgrades to thank the early adopters of DaisyDisk (first 6 months after launch), and also we promised free upgrades shortly before the 2.0 release, which is a common practice. (though this "shortly" turned out somewhat longer than we expected :)
Like (4)
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
06 March 2011
The fact that those buying long enough ago do not get free upgrades forever is a ridiculous reason to slash the app from 5 to 1/2 star. Additionally, countering that is the fact that "early adopters" get a FREE upgrade! 8^D
Like (6)
ivan
ivan
07 March 2011
I recently fired up my copy of DaisyDisk (after long disuse) and got an upgrade offer. I'm in the same boat as Anon Bud and though the developer is entitled to set his prices, I must admit my initial reaction was irritation. Perhaps if it was an offer to download and try V2 first my reaction should have been different.
Like (1)
Jimmysmits
Jimmysmits
08 March 2011
Dude, did you really quote Dylan? Yeesh.
Like
Xplicit
Xplicit
31 March 2011
@Anal Plug Can't understand your complaints at all. New customers pay full price, grace period for recent buyers of v1, general discount of 50% for owners of a v1 licence. How's that any different from any other caring developer? What's your f..king problem man?
Like (1)
Galileo14
21 January 2011
is it possible to track disk usage as a function of time, so for example if 20GB are suddenly used up on my HD, DaisyDisk would tell me what the new files are?
Like (1)
Version 2.0.5
3 answer(s)
software-ambience-1
software-ambience-1
22 January 2011
Currently there is no feature for saving and comparing disk snapshots taken at different times, but we are planning to implement it in the future versions.
Like (2)
June8
June8
02 March 2011
There may be an option to display files with a noteworthy color; which were created/updated within a user-defined time.
Like
Tbrizitsky
Tbrizitsky
02 March 2011
We have already thought about something similar. Can't promise anything, but if we find a great solution, we'll probably implement it.
Like
R1000m
16 January 2011
Yes, DaisyDisk is pretty an easy to use. Don't let that fool you though, because the program is stable and most importantly accurate. Unlike other programs (WhatSize), DaisyDisk accurately computes disk usage even when hard links are in use. This should be the #1 consideration, and DaisyDisk passes the test.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.5
Macmaria
19 December 2010
I decided to test DaisyDisk against another very similar app called DiskRadar. To test them I used a MBP w/ 10.6.5 and a HD of 118,4GB (according to System Profile). Here are the results and my conclusions... Scan Time DaisyDisk: 4/5 → 03:07 DiskRadar: 5/5 → 02:15 Scan CPU usage DaisyDisk: 5/5 → max. 53% (mean: 20-25%) DiskRadar: 4/5 → max. 75% (mean: 40-45%) Amount of disk scanned (my HD has 118,4GB) DaisyDisk: 5/5 → 118,4GB DiskRadar: 2/5 → 109,3GB (DR didn’t scan Private or System Folders) Features DaisyDisk: 3/5 DiskRadar: 5/5 Behavior (sleekness, glitches) DaisyDisk: 5/5 DiskRadar: 3/5 Comments: DiskRadar is less polished and its UI is clearly a copy of DaisyDisk. However it displays more information on the folders and files, allows scanning of folders alone and has some other interesting features (although some of them escape my understanding). Scans faster (maybe because it doesn’t scan all the HD, missing the Private and System folders), but involves a higher CPU usage. The files are not deleted, but put on the system’s trash folder. DaisyDisk is more polished, has fewer features and scans the full HD. The scan takes more time (maybe because it scans all the HD), but uses less CPU. The files are permanently deleted after a warning is issued. Conclusion: In the end, I’ll stick with DaisyDisk since it works better and is more accurate. I prefer that to the extra features that DiskRadar offers. Besides I dislike how DiskRadar copied DaisyDisk (basically stealing the UI). I also tend to trust developers that display all the contact info on their websites: DaisyDisk is very open on their data, DiskRadar is not (only a very basic contact form and a blog that doesn’t seem to be used). I don’t know about DiskRadar support, but the DaisyDisk one is very good. Final note: I'm also placing this review in DiskRadar page.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.2
kdahl
16 December 2010
This app has been phenomenal at helping me find out where all my hard drive space goes. I had a seemingly endless task of looking for giant files buried deep within the depths of my hard drive (which looked like an episode of the TV show "Hoarders" at the time) and Daisy Disk helped me find everything I was looking for.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
Anon-Bud
14 December 2010
Very nice improvements in this new version. There is not the ability to "collect" files and folders for deletion directly from within tha app. And one can navigate to files/folders from the sidebar folder listing. These two changes alone make it much more useful for me. Congrats on a great app!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
14 December 2010
Actually I meant to write, "There is now the ability to 'collect' files and folders for deletion directly from within the app."
Like