Back to DaisyDisk page
DaisyDisk free download for Mac

DaisyDisk Reviews4.12.1

27 November 2020

Free up disk space by quickly finding and deleting big, useless files.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Fromage-Head
Fromage-Head
Oct 13 2020
4.11
0.0
Oct 13 2020
0.0
Version: 4.11
Not crazy how it handles APFS partitioning. I want to quickly know how much space each partition uses. About this mac is far more clever doing that.
fredleonard4
fredleonard4
Jul 9 2020
4.10
1.0
Jul 9 2020
1.0
Version: 4.10
It's NOT a sector map. It's just a pie chart. Not that they claim that it is, but it's funny how people will pay for something because subconsciously they think it's something that it's not. This app will not help with fragmentation, or anything else. It just shows file sizes in a way that tricks your brain into thinking it's your disk. You could dump your file list into any charting program and get the same thing.
artie505
artie505
Mar 10 2020
4.10
2.0
Mar 10 2020
2.0
Version: 4.10
v 4.10 still can't scan the data partition of my boot volume. Grand Perspective CAN! Wha't keeping DD? DD also returns incomplete results for a clone I maintain in the same container as my boot volume. Newly improved, though, DD gives me complete results for my clone in another container. (Is there a way to get paragraph breaks in my posts?)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Feb 29 2020
4.9
5.0
Feb 29 2020
5.0
Version: 4.9
This is an excellent app, with a bonzo interface. I've used it for years. It has kept up with changes in the macOS, which is remarkable in itself, when so many of the apps I use have been abandoned. In particular I used it to find the large sleep image files that were eating up space on my small startup partitions. I finally learned how to prevent the creation of those files, but it took a while for the solution to turn up. Not only does DD show you your files, but it enables you to locate them (until APSF started hiding stuff more securely). There are other apps that show your files, like GrandPerspective, but I think DD is superior.
artie505
artie505
Feb 20 2020
4.9
2.0
Feb 20 2020
2.0
Version: 4.9
v 4.9 still cannot see the data portion of a System/Data pair. Grand Perspective has no such problems, so what's wrong with DD?
rbruce27
rbruce27
Jan 10 2020
4.8.2
5.0
Jan 10 2020
5.0
Version: 4.8.2
very goo;, fast and clear to understand till in detail of files.
artie505
artie505
Dec 29 2019
4.8.2
2.0
Dec 29 2019
2.0
Version: 4.8.2
I won't give DD a star review, because although I'm pretty sure that what I'm about to complain about is its fault, it may be an inherent problem with Catalina...or it may be a combo of the two. DD is unable to see Catalina's system & data volumes as a complete unit, even my boot volume, so it doesn't find, at the least, /Library. GrandPerspective doesn't find everything in my clones, but it does find everything in my boot volume. Happily, I got DD on sale for only $5.
Mcr
Mcr
Jul 10 2019
4.7.2.2
5.0
Jul 10 2019
5.0
Version: 4.7.2.2
This 5 star rating is to help offset the 1 star rating posted on Mar 17, 2019. I donl't believe that the user who posted that review understood that one can 'drill down' through the folder structure until each individual file is as large a section of the pie as you want. As for whether a pie display is the most efficient...well given that the average macOS disk has literally MILLIONS of files, I think the graphical display is the only way to go. Navigating a traditional Finder List View doesn't give you the instant feedback that pie section gives you regards relative size of a file compared to files around it and above it in the hierarchy. To each his own. I've tried all the 'file and disk size comparision' apps; this one is the best and very quick response when navigating.
iMacWare
iMacWare
Apr 26 2019
4.7.2
4.0
Apr 26 2019
4.0
Version: 4.7.2
DaisyDisk Has been the Gold Standard for visual drive exploration. Please note that you can now do this with CleanMyMac X and other applications, but Daisy Disk has a certain "Aroma and Grace" that you just can't beat.
YHC
YHC
Mar 17 2019
4.7.2
0.5
Mar 17 2019
0.5
Version: 4.7.2
I don't know why this app is so famous? Because the FIRST one app is using a Pie Chart? I won't buy it again, if someday an upgrade needs to pay. Reasons: 1. A pie chart is so beautiful, but it's not a good solution. Especially there are a few small pieces, because your cursor is very hard to touch this small pieces to show the information. 2. Now, there are a lot of apps about Disk, and they are also using a Pie Chart, and their price are cheaper or free. Thanks.
Bigdave56
Bigdave56
Jun 22 2018
4.6.3
5.0
Jun 22 2018
5.0
Version: 4.6.3
This is one of those apps that might make you think to yourself as you use it, "Why don't all apps work like this?" I really don't have a serious criticism to offer. Very intuitive, fast, even helps you take the garbage out to the curb. My only caution would be to second the advice from an earlier reviewer to get the non-MAS version as it is more complete (It has safeguards against deleting critical system etc files so no worries.) That version also gives you a trial option. If you try it you'll buy it IMO. Top notch utility
SiteCR2
SiteCR2
Feb 25 2018
4.4
5.0
Feb 25 2018
5.0
Version: 4.4
Impressed with the app, provided an excellent visual on data/area I was trying to see. One question I asked the developer was responded back by very quickly.
Accountant
Accountant
Dec 7 2017
4.4
5.0
Dec 7 2017
5.0
Version: 4.4
great app!
saliha-najib
saliha-najib
Nov 27 2017
4.4
5.0
Nov 27 2017
5.0
Version: 4.4
J'ai testé l'application DaisyDisk sur mon ancien Macbook pro (mi-d-2012) dont le système High Seirra 10.13.1 est installé. DaisyDisk démarre rapidement avec le système et il ne ralentit si pas le CPU ni le RAM de mon Macbook. Le design ainsi l'interface de l'application DaisyDisk permettant d'avoir une décomposition visuelle de votre espace disque sous la forme d'une carte interactive, de révéler les plus gros gaspilleurs d'espace, et de les retirer avec un simple glisser-déposer. Les options de l'application sont multiples mais ce que j'ai aime beaucoup le plus : c'est l'option dans le menu qui te permettre se découvrez ce qui se cache dans la catégorie "Autre" et de l'effacer. Aussi il te permet de récupérer de l'espace disque en trouvant et en supprimant de gros fichiers inutiles. À la fin de mon test-je donne 5 étoiles et je recommande vivement l'achat de cette application
Bezbozny
Bezbozny
Jun 25 2017
4.4
5.0
Jun 25 2017
5.0
Version: 4.4
Excellent software. Well worth the money.
Jlock
Jlock
Feb 25 2016
4.0.4
5.0
Feb 25 2016
5.0
Version: 4.0.4
DaisyDisk is an amazing app! I use it everyday at work and it is well worth the money. This has to be the most beautiful app that I have ever used!
Drdul
Drdul
Feb 17 2016
4.0.2
5.0
Feb 17 2016
5.0
Version: 4.0.2
If you are using the Mac App Store version, like I was, do yourself a favour and download the non-MAS version from the developer. You can install it in place of the MAS version and it will recognize your licence. The reason to use the non-MAS version is that you can Scan as Administrator (in the dropdown menu next to the Scan button), and when you do that DaisyDisk can see everything on the disk. I had 160 GB of trashed Time Machine local backups eating up my disk space, and I was able to find them and delete them within DaisyDisk in a matter of minutes. I had spent a few hours trying to figure out where my disk space had gone, and once I switched to the non-MAS version of DaisyDisk I had my answer!
S-e
S-e
Dec 3 2015
4.0.2
5.0
Dec 3 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0.2
Nice app, and *extremely* customer-friendly support!
tofu-1
tofu-1
Dec 1 2015
4.0.2
5.0
Dec 1 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0.2
fantastically beautiful and functional app. have used it for years
Alvin-H
Alvin-H
Oct 3 2015
4.0
5.0
Oct 3 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0
Once again, this little app (v3.) save some space on my drive before update to 10.11. And after update i download new version (4.0.1) and i though i'll buy the upgrade price, but my licence just work... free upgrade? i bought my licence on 2012, wow... generous developers...
BobUN
BobUN
Sep 5 2015
4.0
5.0
Sep 5 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0
Excellent pour peu que l'on fasse attention à ne supprimer que les applications ou fichiers inutiles. Il m'a trouvé de vieux fichiers et a fait super bien son job de nettoyeur. Genial.
BobUN
BobUN
Sep 5 2015
4.0
5.0
Sep 5 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0
Excellent pour peu que l'on fasse attention à ne supprimer que les applications ou fichiers inutiles. Il m'a trouvé de vieux fichiers et a fait super bien son job de nettoyeur. Genial.
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Sep 3 2015
4.0
5.0
Sep 3 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0
I've been using Daisy Disk for years. But I don't like Yosemite so I won't need this OS X 10.10 only version of DD. Mavericks, and Daisy Disk 3.0.3.1 are just fine with me.
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Sep 3 2015
4.0
5.0
Sep 3 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0
Holy Cows, Yaks and Bisons!!! The scanning speed of the New Daisy Disk is just spectacularly super fast (a couple of seconds on my 512GB SSD), unbelievable! This still has the best UI of all the free and paid disk scanning apps. Simple but sublimely functional, drill down the directory structure adding stuff the Collector to delete when you've made your way through the disk. Essential software and this is worth the money without hesitation.
Cortig
Cortig
Sep 3 2015
4.0
5.0
Sep 3 2015
5.0
Version: 4.0
I love the new version 4. Much faster indeed and the user interface got a nice refresh. The release notes are not lying :-)
Alex-Malinovich
Alex-Malinovich
Oct 29 2014
3.0.3.1
5.0
Oct 29 2014
5.0
Version: 3.0.3.1
DaisyDisk is one of those apps that you'll rarely ever need, but once you do need it, you'll be glad you have it. Yes, there are other alternatives out there, but none of them are nearly as well designed. And, best of all, the trial version isn't crippled. If you just need to use it once, you can download it and use it and not pay a penny. Which is exactly what I did. And then I realized how awesome it is that the devs actually allow you to do that and went ahead and bought a license just because. :)
Tomtubbs-yahoo-com
Tomtubbs-yahoo-com
Sep 4 2014
3.0.3.1
5.0
Sep 4 2014
5.0
Version: 3.0.3.1
150GB. Yes, 150GB Daisydisk recently saved me. Of a 500GB SSD on my laptop. Unknowingly, iDIsk (a prequel to Mobileme, now iCloud) had left orphaned backups totalling 50GB from years back. And Old iPhone backups from several years totalling 100GB were also in there. 30% of my SSD recovered, and I didn't know till running Daisydisk of these issues! (Moved files out of iDisk sparsebundles, and also out of old backups then trashed them). How did I find these huge file savings? I was helping a friend get Daisydisk (and also CleanmyMac2), and then out of curiosity ran Daisydisk on my current machine.
NickB9210
NickB9210
Jul 2 2014
3.0.3.1
5.0
Jul 2 2014
5.0
Version: 3.0.3.1
Highly efficient tool for managing your Mac OS drives. Easy to use and pleasing to look at :)
JennyB9628
JennyB9628
Jul 1 2014
3.0.3.1
5.0
Jul 1 2014
5.0
Version: 3.0.3.1
Very easy to use, fast scanning, cleared 20 Gbyte of disk space, recommend this app
gelosi
gelosi
Jan 15 2014
3.0.2
5.0
Jan 15 2014
5.0
Version: 3.0.2
Awesome! Simple app for one thing I need from it - show me where is my disk space lost! The one more-less issue is scan speed - would be cool to get it faster.
Raffael-M
Raffael-M
Dec 13 2013
3.0.2
5.0
Dec 13 2013
5.0
Version: 3.0.2
I like this app since Version 1 and it's one of my essential mac apps. It does it's job perfect, it's stupid simple to understand and the user interface is very beautiful. Should be part of OSX IMHO :D. Also the developer is very responsible = good support. (On request he/they even gave me a free non-MAS license after i bought the MAS version and sent him/them the receipt. That's very kind of him/them i think. Also check out the app "unclutter" from this developer, it's very useful on my macbook air.
Bigboysdad
Bigboysdad
Dec 4 2013
3.0.2
4.5
Dec 4 2013
4.5
Version: 3.0.2
My positive view of this software can be seen in my review below, but it'd be really good and save time if you could select more than just one folder to delete.
FrankG8327
FrankG8327
Oct 30 2013
3.0
5.0
Oct 30 2013
5.0
Version: 3.0
Lifesaver when i've ran out of disk space again.
MisterE
MisterE
Sep 9 2013
3.0
0.0
Sep 9 2013
0.0
Version: 3.0
GrandPerspective is free. Highly recommended.
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Sep 8 2013
3.0
5.0
Sep 8 2013
5.0
Version: 3.0
Nice to see the new design, and disk scanning feels faster. As always this has such a great UI, very easy to quickly drill down to find files to remove and clean. Developers are very communicative and responsive.
Macbookpro
Macbookpro
Sep 7 2013
2.1.2
0.0
Sep 7 2013
0.0
Version: 2.1.2
Looks like version 3.0 is out. Currently, it appears that registered users of 2.x are still treated as registered users of 3.0 meaning it looks like a free update. This applies to non-app store versions. I don't know about app store versions. http://www.daisydiskapp.com/downloads/DaisyDisk.zip
AndyWood
AndyWood
Mar 30 2013
2.1.2
5.0
Mar 30 2013
5.0
Version: 2.1.2
I'm using Daisydisk for some days now and since I installed it, I cleared 40 Gbyte of disk space (which is a lot on a 320 Gbyte hard drive). Most of the files I found with this app were files I didn't even know of. 10 Gbyte were left by an iMovie project I messed with a year ago and just forgot about it. Another 10 Gbyte were lying around in an archive in a subfolder of a subfolder of a subfolder as a backup I made and forgot to delete. The other files were old music files I copied when I migrated from my old PC to my Macbook. I didn't even listen to one of those files in about 2 years so obviously I didn't need them anymore. The UI speaks for itself. I love the circles and the animations and how the app visualizes the disk space in use. As some people below pointed out, there are free solutions but in my opinion they don't come anywhere near Daisydisk regarding speed and ease of use.
Tedg
Tedg
Mar 3 2013
2.1.2
5.0
Mar 3 2013
5.0
Version: 2.1.2
Basically indispensable. It doesn't help with the problem of having many duplicates. I haven't yet found a good solution to that. But it is extraordinary in quickly helping find where all that space went.
Bigboysdad
Bigboysdad
Nov 25 2012
2.1.2
4.5
Nov 25 2012
4.5
Version: 2.1.2
This app has deserved highly rated reviews, but I find it just as, if not more useful on external drives. When I backup, I always archive changed or deleted files to an external drive, the trouble is, its scary how quickly the external drive fills up with these archives. Using Daisydisk, it was easy for me to quickly identify and get rid of 108GB out of 125GB of archives which were truly useless (logs, cache files and video files which I already had 2 copies of, etc). So, this saves me time and makes my external archive drives last longer. The GUI makes it better than the free alternatives, it’s great software.
Qurious
Qurious
Sep 29 2012
2.1.2
5.0
Sep 29 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.2
Totally awesome way of showing disk usage. It helped me a lot understanding the system when I was new to OSX and I still use it occasionally. My iMac has SSD and space is always tight. Couldn't live without it. Admitted there are free apps that do that, but with the innovative and good looking display, heck I don't regret paying for it.
f-pal1964
f-pal1964
Jun 25 2012
2.1.1
5.0
Jun 25 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
It's a must, especially if you have limited space as a macbook air user. The visual display of the data is as cool as it is practical.
Stormchild
Stormchild
Mar 10 2012
2.1.1
5.0
Mar 10 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
Very cool and useful app. Much faster than all the other disk usage utilities I've used. It only takes about 3-4 minutes to scan my 320 GB boot drive (and it's not a very fast drive: 5400 rpm 2.5" HD). The circular graph isn't just eye candy; it's actually a great way to see what kinds of files are eating up your space. Remember, you can hover the mouse pointer over a graph segment to see more details, and click any segment to drill down and see a new graph of that section of your disk. Another non-obvious feature: while hovering over any item, hit spacebar to open QuickLook.
Alvin-H
Alvin-H
Jan 17 2012
2.1.1
5.0
Jan 17 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
just bought the stand alone version... I'll try it couple day before write stars...it's have discount price, about $9,9.. cheap enough to buy...
Babyface4life2000
Babyface4life2000
Nov 26 2011
2.1.1
2.0
Nov 26 2011
2.0
Version: 2.1.1
This one is a trail version.It also took a long time to scan a 120 GB Hard drive using 110GB Disk Inventory X is a better program and best is it is free. Plus it makes it super easy to see the larger files.
Yanokwa
Yanokwa
Sep 12 2011
2.0.7.1
4.5
Sep 12 2011
4.5
Version: 2.0.7.1
i've tried many other space usage applications and daisydisk is the only one that i actively enjoy using. it's a fast and fun way to figure out where the big files on your hard drive are hiding.
isasc
isasc
Aug 30 2011
2.0.7.1
5.0
Aug 30 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0.7.1
With an amazing interface and architecture this app is the best way to scan and see exactly what is on your disks. After the application scan your Hard Drive, it will present it to you on a map interface where you can navigate through and see how your space is distributed on the disk letting you see all the files and folders, including the hidden ones, see their sizes and letting you delete it from the application or show it to you on the Finder. But with all the nice interface and design, you may say… it's this application really worth it?… YES, it may looks simple but the application is in fact really functional, specially for those who have their hard drive almost full and looking to get free space. With DaisyDisk you can really find out, as they say, the real space wasters and remove them, "Fast and Easy". If you are looking for the best scanner disk for your Mac ! Well, this is it, I recommend it a 100%. It works amazing and smoothly. Good Job !!!
Djefis
Djefis
Aug 9 2011
2.0.7.1
5.0
Aug 9 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0.7.1
Simply Special, the best App in its field for me.
FalstaffA
FalstaffA
Jul 9 2011
2.0.7.1
5.0
Jul 9 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0.7.1
DaisyDisk is an excellent utility application, recently I had run a disk testing/rebuilding utility that took almost two full days to complete its work, in the process of such work it gobbled up more than 22 GB off my boot disk which it used for logging its work but did not place its log file in any of the usual locations where logs are stored on Macs by applications, Spotlight couldn't find it, TechTool Pro failed to find it, the same was the case for Cocktail and TinkerTool System, I remembered that I had picked up DaisyDisk via a bundle promo when it debuted, I ran it and... voilá, it found the log file in less than a couple of minutes, showed its location on the Finder and the rest is history, I was able to recover the 22+ GB that I needed. I highly recommend DaisyDisk.
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
Jun 24 2011
2.0.7.1
0.0
Jun 24 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0.7.1
It is very upsetting to be offered the "upgrade price" of $9.99 and to learn that this is the same price being charged to new users on the App Store. Although I have liked this program, my feeling is that when user loyalty is not rewarded and a deceptive "upgrade price" is posted, I can no longer trust the developer and will either use the older version or stop using the product if the older version doesn't work. I'm willing to pay an upgrade price, but don't feel comfortable being tricked.
Jordanwags
Jordanwags
Jun 3 2011
2.0.6
4.5
Jun 3 2011
4.5
Version: 2.0.6
The thing that is so great about DaisyDisk compared to other programs like it is that it separates everything a lot better then the other programs. It tells you exactly how much space you have left on your drive and on top of it, it tells you how much space you are using in every single folder of your Hard drive; including smaller objects, like your trash and developer folder. I highly recommend this to anyone!