Back to calibre page
calibre free download for Mac

calibre Reviews

4.2.0
19 October 2019

Complete e-book library management system.

Robertcoogan
06 December 2013

Most helpful

You can't beat Calibre for features, but JerryFisher1625 is right. The GUI is really dated, and it prevents any real organization of the library other than by tags (cumbersome). Adding the ability to create subfolders (or additional libraries) based upon custom criteria would be great. Using tags is a pain, I constantly feel I need to tweak the tags for different books, just to keep certain ones from popping up in certain virtual libraries. Even viewing the books, files, etc. via a GUI like Delicious Library or Bento would be a plus. But you cannot beat the value, it is what iBooks should have been.
Like (19)
Version 1.13.0

Read 183 calibre User Reviews

Rate this app:

johnklute847
08 October 2019
is anyone else having trouble mounting the DMG file and crashing your system? Tried it from the desktop and from within the download folder and when the mounting process gets to "Attaching" my system crashes and reboots.
Like
Version 4.1.0
4 answer(s)
Miner
Miner
08 October 2019
Yes, it occurred with version 4.0.0, so I waited for a next update, but now 4.1.0 still gives that very hard crash...
Like
Version 4.1.0
Miner
Miner
08 October 2019
I found that using the DVD burning app Burn, I can activate and mount the DMG file without issues. A workaround.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.0
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
09 October 2019
Unfortunately, I was not able to reproduce this so can't provide any suggestions. Just FYI, that this does not happen to everyone. You may try Miner's suggestion
Like
Version 4.1.0
Miner
Miner
18 October 2019
The 4.2 DMG can be mounted without problems, on my Mac.
Like
Version 4.2.0
Scion777
05 October 2019
Hmmm. Support for High Sierra and lower has been dropped. Not a smart move at this time.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.0
1 answer(s)
Wade-Smith
Wade-Smith
07 October 2019
I agree
Like
Version 4.0.0
Scion777
13 September 2019
MacUpdate Admins - version 3.48.0 is now out
Like
Version 3.47.1
Scion777
04 February 2019
version 3.39.1 is out MacUser Admin!
Like
Version 3.39.0
1 answer(s)
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
27 March 2019
Latest version here right now is 3.40.1 …
Like
ben-marko
30 September 2018
Calibre is...awesome. But it leaves you wanting something a bit cleaner. It is bloated, hopefully the devs clean it up.
Like (2)
Version 3.32.0
2 answer(s)
Scion777
Scion777
04 February 2019
just because the file size is large doesn't mean it's bloated - this app opens things CORRECTLY in a way that Apple's iBooks just can't compete with
Like (1)
xttb
xttb
30 April 2019
@scion777 I think what ben-marko was referring to wasn't the file size of the app but rather the convoluted UI of calibre. and I have to agree with him. It's still a great app and open source. recommended but could use some UI cleanup.
Like (2)
jasonbnovak0
28 August 2018
It's a powerful ebook manager and converter. I've been using it since I got my Kindle. It gets better with the updates.
Like (1)
Version 3.30.0
cig0
20 August 2018
Calibre is nice and all, but it is also a behemoth full of bloat and slow like a snail -- maybe because it's coded in Python?

Me, I love agile apps that doesn't ship everything-AND-the-kitchen-sink, are quick to open and do its thing well without much fanfare.

Do you guys know of any good alternative fully macOS native?
Like (1)
Version 3.29.0
2 answer(s)
neeklamy
neeklamy
29 September 2018
The problem is the ‘everything and the kitchen sink’ would bloat out any alternative. If the core application made use of extensions, then there could be native frontends and updates wouldn’t be monolithic either. A PyObjC frontend would probably be appreciated around here…

It’s the iTunes of ebooks.
Like (1)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
19 October 2018
Alternatives? As noted above, the closest are Sigil (free, open source) and Adobe Acrobat. Otherwise, no. There are several simple ePub reading apps:
• Kindle
• Nook
• Adobe Digital Editions
• Apple's Books app
Like
Michael-Mayer
19 June 2018
I've been using calibre since version 0.8. In that time the team (and the main developer) have worked tirelessly to improve the product. It's by far the most powerful ebook tool in existence. It's robust and great at converting your old PDB books into ePub format, and the ePub editor is getting better all the time. If you have a lot of ebooks to keep track of, this is the tool you want!
Like (1)
Version 3.26.1
shellyroddy758
03 June 2018
It stopped working unexpectedly on my machine.
Like
Version 3.25.0
StimulusR9647
26 May 2018
This app is nearly perfect. The PDF to epub is somewhat lacking, but for that a dedicated, current version of an OCR app would work better. I've been using this app for the past 4 years and it's only gotten better over time. The developers know what to do with this app to keep the good features and add great features that make the app better. EPUB to MOBI and vice versa conversion is nearly perfect, and the conversion options are optimal. It can handle huge libraries and the organization is excellent. It's really easy to find a book in the pile. The random book selector is a wonderful feature when you can't decide what to read next. I hope this app keeps going for as long as there are ebooks.
Like (1)
Version 3.24.0
Ervins Strauhmanis
10 April 2018
Great app! I especially like that I can simply use the "ebook-viewer.app", which is a part of the calibre package, to open/view EPUB files where they are, without files being copied to a specialized folder. iBooks automatically saves a copy of a file to the iBooks shelf, and I do not need that, as I manage my documents in DEVONthink.
Like (1)
Version 3.20.0
Albabe
29 March 2018
I have been over the Prefs for this app 4 or 5 times and I can not figure-out how to View Files in their Original Ratio. Not that User Friendly.
Like
Version 3.20.0
ben-marko
21 December 2017
A very stable ebook manager. It has some serious shortcomings, though. The filters used for organizing your library are so limited that you are still reduced to scrolling through a long list (if your library is as large as mine - 600+ files). Trying to narrow that down requires adding keywords - like I remember to add those every time (ha!). Plugins are also not updated regularly (with few exceptions). And you also cannot organize all of your ebooks into folders and subfolders (which would help solve the filter problem). However, it is still light years ahead of iBooks and not nearly as restrictive as Kindle. I am a regular user, but I really, really, really hope that an alternative comes out soon.
Like
Version 3.14.0
Pfackelmann
07 October 2017
v 3.9.0 is quarantined by ClamXAV:: calibre.app Html.Exploit.CVE_2017_8749-6338876-0 Downloaded from Developer website: KOVID GOYAL not from MacUpdate Peter
Like
Version 3.9.0
2 answer(s)
Pfackelmann
Pfackelmann
13 October 2017
The ClamXAV Guard quarantined it.
The ClamXAV app considered it OK
Funny.

Peter
Like (2)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
01 June 2018
This problem was apparently part of the hack that occurred at MU. What you downloaded was NOT the real Calibre app. It was a malware infested substitute. I'm glad you caught it!

Presumably, MU has hardened their servers to stop further hacking.
Like
m-67man
29 March 2017
Calibre is working well, I'm satisfied with the order in my libraries the app made. I just had a little problem trying to convert into PDF format but my tech friend helped me with that and everything's working fine so far.
Like
Version 2.82.0
Panocha
25 December 2016
Warning: This is a fake MU virus/SpyWare download link. It is NOT the real download. If you get a file called "calibre installer.dmg" that's just under 1MB in size, you got the MU adware installer, not the real DMG from the author. Your download should be over 80MB. Go to the author's website to get the real file. http://calibre-ebook.com/download
Like (7)
Version 2.75.0
3 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
27 December 2016
it should be noted, that unless you log into MacUpdate, there is a strong likelihood that ANY download you attempt will result in the MU malware installer.
Like (3)
ben-marko
ben-marko
21 December 2017
The installer is only 79 MB, not over 80 MB.
Like
Mcr
Mcr
21 December 2017
"The installer is only 79 MB, not over 80 MB"
Um, @Panocha's comment was made a year ago; at that time the file may have been over 80 MB. Size will vary depending the version, and in any case, going by MB size is too vague and still dangerous; hackers can build fake installers matching any file size.

The developer of Calibre publishes checksum signatures for all his downloads,
https://calibre-ebook.com/signatures/
People should be comparing against the signatures, if you want to be sure you have an unaltered download, not debating over whether it is 70, 80, 90 or 200 whatever megabytes. The IMPORTANT point made by @Panocha remains true, if the installer is +/- 1MB or something a size that is obviously not even close to 70-80MBs, then red flag. Folks who don't understand what a checksum signature is or how to determine it, or don't understand why developers provide it, please get yourself educated, it is one of the best ways to protect yourself from cyber dangers. A very good layman explanation is here, not technical:
https://www.lifewire.com/what-does-checksum-mean-2625825
I use the app HashTab by Implbits to calculate checksums for files; it's on the App Store. There are others, I just use this because I still have the pre-app store free version. The point is, get a hash calculator app and start using to validate your downloads; most worthy developers provide checksums for their downloads.
Like (1)
Nontroppo
07 November 2016
Calibre is a unique program, and it makes keeping my collection of PDFs and EBooks so simple. Conversion is great and the ecceptionally powerful EBook editing really makes light work of very complex changes. Regular improvements and great plugins. And it works brilliantly with Marvin, by far the best EPub app for iOS.
Like
Version 2.71.0
Derekcurrie
06 November 2016
I <3 Calibre. Happy 10th Birthday! Long may you live.

My only complaints: Its icons (Write me, I know a great artist!) and its learning curve.
Like (2)
Version 2.71.0
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
16 June 2017
the new 3.0 supports icon themes (built in). I suspect at some point it will allow user defined ones, or possibly you can do that now with a little hacking of the Resource folder. Just guessing, haven't looked into it.
Like (1)
Sgspecker
05 November 2016
A fantastic app for managing my ebook library. Don't know where I'd be without it!
Like (2)
Version 2.71.0
AnnL7456
01 February 2016
[This refers to v.2.50.1]

1. No way to take notes and write annotations in Calibre, so – for my purpose – the ebooks must be converted.
2. After conversion, text in PDFs can neither be searched nor copied. The created PDFs are therefore utterly useless, until they themselves are converted again, this time with an OCR software. I have used OCRKit for this purpose. The whole process is a real pain in the butt.
3. Until now I have also converted the ebooks to Rich Text Files and read and annotated them in Nisus Writer Pro.
4. I have now decided to dump Calibre due to the above mentioned drawbacks. Clearview does an excellent job in converting ebooks to PDFs. The text is searchable and can be copied right away.
5. Clearview has a process bar, so you always see how long a conversion is going to take. In Calibre there is only a rotating wheel, and you never know when it's going to end.
6. I have been unable to find the developer's email address in order to send enhancement requests. The so-called "calibre bug tracker" takes me to a Ubuntu site. I don't have Ubuntu, so I gave up.
Like (3)
Version 2.49.0
7 answer(s)
WetNet
WetNet
14 February 2016
It's not evident but it falls under "bugs" . . .so go to this website:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/calibre
Like (1)
skippy-dies
skippy-dies
11 March 2016
1. Makes sense. Calibre has an ebook viewer, but it's a barebones option rather than being a note taker. There are a number of ebook apps (like the Kindle app) that offer this functionality. 2. I don't think calibre offers built-in support for OCR, so it stands to reason that converting a book to PDF will make it less useful rather than more. Maybe a different format choice would give you better results? 3. I'm not sure what you mean. Is this what you did prior to using calibre? Calibre itself can convert ebooks to rich text format. 4. Okay. Just glancing over Clearview. It looks like a nice reader/manager. I'm not sure if it has the flexibility of conversion options or ability to edit metadata or actual ePub and AZW3 files like calibre does, and those are features I appreciate and use. 5. Click the rotating wheel to get a progress window showing any job(s) you have running. 6. From what I can tell, the tracker site is hosted at Canonical. That doesn't mean you need to be using Ubuntu to submit a bug.
Like (1)
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
23 April 2016
If you want to take notes etc. convert the ebook to epub and open it in iBooks or some other ebook reader. Why go to the effort of converting to PDF? The reader is only good for previewing books.

There must be a problem with the pdf conversion engine. There's no reason the PDF shouldn't be searchable unless maybe it's using a font that the system can't read.
Like (1)
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
06 May 2016
This review is so bad. It represents a complete misunderstanding about Calibre's purpose, use, and features. So let's go over the author's points:

-------------------------
1. "No way to take notes and write annotations in Calibre, so – for my purpose – the ebooks must be converted."

Calibre is advertised to do the following:
Library Management for E-Books
E-book conversion to other formats.
Syncing to e-book reader devices
Downloading news from the web and converting it into e-book form
Comprehensive e-book viewer
Content server for online access to your book collection
E-book editor for the major e-book formats

The author is wrong about this assertion as a drawback to Calibre since Calibre is not advertised for taking notes or writing annotations in ebooks.

If ebooks need annotation and notes, use other applications.

If an ebook is in PDF format, it may be annotated and notes written using MacOS X Preview, Skim, PDF Expert, Adobe Acrobat, etc. The annotations and notes can then be exported as text for use in other apps using Skim, PDF Expert, etc.

If an eBook is in mobi format, it can be uploaded to Kindle and annotated and notes written in Kindle or your iPhone's or Mac's Kindle App. Annotations and notes can then be exported to use in other apps.

In fact, if you want, you can load Calibre's library in Clearview. So as you convert ebooks among different formats, you can read them in Clearview and annotate and write notes for them in Clearview. Calibre and Clearview forms a very powerful combination for organizing, converting between formats, annotating, and writing notes for ebooks!

-------------------------
2. "After conversion, text in PDFs can neither be searched nor copied. The created PDFs are therefore utterly useless, until they themselves are converted again, this time with an OCR software. I have used OCRKit for this purpose. The whole process is a real pain in the butt."

This statement is completely wrong.

I use Calibre to convert ebooks to PDFs all the time. Text in PDFs can be searched and copied. They don't need to be OCR'd.

Calibre's PDF conversion is very powerful. More powerful than Clearviews, etc. You can set parameters such as margins, font, line spacing, etc. Clearview doesn't do this at all. You can even insert book covers into your ebooks with Calibre. You can't do this wiht Clearview.

-------------------------
3. "Until now I have also converted the ebooks to Rich Text Files and read and annotated them in Nisus Writer Pro."

This statement is wrong since it is not a drawback of Calibre.

Sure, you can use Calibre to convert eBooks to Rich Text Files for use in other apps such as Nisus Writer Pro, Microsoft Word, Mac OS X TextEdit, Pages, etc.

But for annotating and writing notes for ebooks, you can use the app of your choice for whatever format you want using Calibre to do the format conversion.

As noted in my answer above, you can even linke Calibre to Clearview so you can use Calibre for eBook format conversion and organization while using Clearview for reading, annotating, and writing notes for your ebooks.

-------------------------
4.2 "I have now decided to dump Calibre due to the above mentioned drawbacks."

None of the above mentioned items are drawbacks. So this statement is completely wrong.

-------------------------
4.1 "Clearview does an excellent job in converting ebooks to PDFs. The text is searchable and can be copied right away. "

Clearview does NOT do an excellent job in converting ebooks to PDFs. Clearview does a basic job. You cannot even specify the page format, margins, nor use any font for the conversion.

Calibre does a superior conversion. Calibre's conversion has far more power, flexibility, and options than Clearview's conversion. For example, I can specify that the PDF uses legal or letter-sized pages with 0.5" margins, with double-spaced textlines, in any font on my Mac, in any size. And a table of contents can be done. And PDF bookmarks can automatically be created. Clearview's PDF conversion is amateur in comparison.

-------------------------
5. Clearview has a process bar, so you always see how long a conversion is going to take. In Calibre there is only a rotating wheel, and you never know when it's going to end.

This statement is completely wrong. It reflects how the author hasn't even used Calibre much.

Calibre has a process bar for each conversion. Calibre can do multiple simultaneous conversions. Clearview only does one job at a time. Calibre can show process bars for every simultaneous conversion.

While doing a conversion, you can press the "Jobs" section in the bottom right location of the Caibre Window. The Jobs section lists how many conversion jobs are active. When clicked, Calibre pops up a window showing you all the conversion jobs Calibre has done including those which are completed. Calibre shows a process bar, the status, the progress, the running time for the conversion and the time conversion was started. This is far more progress information than Clearview does. And you will far better know how long the conversion will run.

-------------------------
6. I have been unable to find the developer's email address in order to send enhancement requests. The so-called "calibre bug tracker" takes me to a Ubuntu site. I don't have Ubuntu, so I gave up.

Again, this final statement is completely wrong.
Where did this author download Calibre? If the author downloaded it from MacUpdate.com, then clicking on the developer website link "kovidgoyal.net" takes you to http://calibre-ebook.com

From http://calibre-ebook.com, you can directly download Calibre.
Clicking on the "Get Involved" tab takes you to http://calibre-ebook.com/get-involved.
Here you learn the multiple ways to contact Calibre's developer:
1. Calibre's user forum: http://www.mobileread.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=166
2. Calibre's developer forum: http://www.mobileread.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=240
3. Calibre on Twitter: https://twitter.com/calibreforum
4. Calibre on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/calibre.ebook/

-------------------------
This review is so bad, I wonder if the author really used Calibre.
Calibre is the best eBook converter BAR NONE. Nothing is as heavy duty and professional. And I love how the developer actively improves Calibre.

The only good point of the above review for which I am thankful is that I learned you can combine Calibre and Clearview by pointing Clearview to Calibre's library to get an even better system - for doing the conversion, for library organization, for reading, and for annotating your ebooks.

The best thing about Calibre: Calibre is FREE.

Clearview and others are NOT free.
Like (9)
Jan-rybar
Jan-rybar
20 June 2016
This review is so bad, I wonder if the author really used Calibre.
Like (3)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
02 July 2016
You only need to use OCR on a PDF if the PDF was made from a scanned image of text, since no fonts were used.

Kind of like when you find scanned copies of books on the Interwebs. But those aren't real e-books.
Like
Ptk3
Ptk3
16 October 2016
The answer of Psychiatry on May 05, 2016 is so complete that it could be used as a mini manual for Calibre ! Thanks for that, as this review is so unfair and shows how much the authour is misunterstanding Calibre purpose.
Like (1)
Knowhowe
09 October 2015
Calibre, bless it, is the only app that will let me easily add books to my Barnes & Noble Nook HD- a fine little tablet on many levels but Mac-hostile beyond belief in this day and age. Still no idea how to add photographs and music though. Any ideas people?
Like (4)
Version 2.40.0
2 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
13 January 2016
I don't have an HD, but had a 'regular' Nook several years ago for my granddaughter and had to load kid's cartoon mp4s and family photos, so presume it works the same as this:

Nook runs android. On Mac there is driver utility that allows Macs to 'see' the file system on an Android device as if it were an external drive. Windows already has this driver built in. See this link:
http://www.android.com/filetransfer/
Install the driver. Afterwards, connect via USB, Nook shows up as a device.
There should be default folders named for various things: Music, Pictures, Movies. This works with Android phones as well, or at least I it worked for me on some of the lower end ATT models, haven't tried Samsung

Nook shows up as Device in Finder. I copied my photos directly to Pictures, and mp4s to the Movies folder (you can also use subfolders under those).
If all goes well, when you open your Movie player app on the Nook, it will 'browse' the folder for additional content and it will show up. Same for Photos, Music etc. If you had subfolders in the Movies folder, it will show those and you click on those and open them, just like a normal file/folder tree structure.

this link also has some good tips but it's several years old, may not still apply to latest Nook:
http://bookclubs.barnesandnoble.com/t5/NOOK-HD-HD-Support/Top-10-Nook-HD-and-HD-Issues-Workarounds/m-p/1423397#U1423397
Like (1)
Knowhowe
Knowhowe
16 January 2016
Message to Mcr: Couldn't find a reply button on your posting re Android File Transfer for my Nook.
I want to thank you very much for the recommendation. Lots of searching failed to produce a solution but this is it! Works like a dream. Many thanks! :)
Like
droscar
28 September 2015
Version 2.39.0 is available at the developer's site.
Like
Version 2.38.0
filkasdreid
24 September 2015
You know, the big advantage of the app - it is free! and it does its work though. A little bit slowly thinking, a little bit buggy… But it does what it says and it is totally free!
Like
Version 2.38.0
juniork
12 August 2015
Great app! Does really good job for free!
Like (1)
Version 2.34.0
Essadee
23 April 2015
This software is purpose-driven and will eschew any attempts to make it into something it isn't. You will not find a more feature-complete alternative anywhere, but may find it maddeningly obtuse at times. The UI is not as modern as some of us desire, but yet nobody hates it enough to submit changes — adding to the effort will be the fact that it's not written specifically for OS X but needs to cooperate within the confines of other platforms as well. There is a place for a developer to take my books and my money if they can manage a library half as well as Calibre and it isn't hard to improve on the reading experience of iBooks, but Calibre is able to tread the ground between desktop, mobile device, and ereader without falling on it's face in spite of the interface and performance oddities that come with most any software with similar requirements and toolkits. Most of the complaints I have with Calibre have to do with it being great at accepting annotations and data about books but being completely opposed to letting that data travel with my books later — I use it to fix weird formatting in ebooks, view ebooks, and organize a large library of books, but find myself constantly wishing it could be more than the helper application that facilitates my use of other software that is equally frustrating in terms of capabilities. I don't want to use it, but it's the only card I've got in my hand. It's reliable for me, but not something I take any pleasure in using. I have to say that I didn't know what ODPS was before Calibre and I'm stunned it isn't more widely used — if you have Marvin for iOS it's pretty brilliant but you're still only halfway to where I think most readers want to be — delivery of books is important but *then what*?
Like
Version 2.25.0
2 answer(s)
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
23 June 2015
To get the metadata to "bind" to the book, you have to either reconvert the book (i.e. convert the epub to an epub) or use a plugin. I use a plugin called Modify Epub, but it basically does the same thing as reconverting the book.
Like
Erdrd
Erdrd
26 February 2016
@Mrtomato: There is a toolbar button called "Polish books", which has to be added to the toolbar from the preferences. It writes all meta data changes with pretty fine-grained control into the file without having to reconvert.

BTW, I store my ebooks in iCloud Drive, which is a bit more convenient to use with Marvin than turning on the built-in server (no need to keep the computer running). The iOS file picker integrates nicely into Marvin. I would assume this also works the same with other cloud storage services.
Like (1)
Aaron-T
06 April 2015
Simply the best bibliographic app
Like
Version 2.23.0
1 answer(s)
AnnL7456
AnnL7456
09 February 2016
Calibre is not a bibliographic app. It's an ebook manager and reader.
Like
badbadger
20 February 2015
An example of pure ugliness. Perhaps even works well.
Like (1)
Version 2.20
Dgfarrar
02 January 2015
2.15.0 runs perfectly under Yosemite, but fails to start under Lion (at least on the two independent Lion systems from which I've tried to run 2.15.0). Had to revert to 2.14.0 on my Lion systems. Don't know if it runs on MtnLion and/or Mvrks.
Like
Version 2.15
1 answer(s)
Dgfarrar
Dgfarrar
05 January 2015
Fails on MtnLion, too.
Like
rr307cc
31 December 2014
Great. Easy to use. Works well with my Sony Reader.
Like (1)
Version 2.14
Strider72
26 December 2014
This is an excellent, flexible, and powerful program. Yes, the interface could use some work, but the ease of organization and conversion, the plugin capabilities, and the ease of finding books all more than make up for that. I'm on a Mac, and I use Calibre to organize, and Clearview as my reader. (Yes, the Calibre reader is underwhelming and I don't use it.)
Like (3)
Version 2.13
1 answer(s)
Slurp
Slurp
01 April 2016
There is nothing wring with Calibre. But what is f*#u$k*&g wrong is this site. If you download direct from here you get malware/adware from MacUpdate. Advise: for downloading go to the developer's link!!
Like (1)
Alvin-H
01 December 2014
this app need GUI guy, hope they can find great guy to fix the GUI, its not match with maveric or yosemite
Like (2)
Version 2.12
Jazzyguy
28 November 2014
I really feel this app should be installed on SnowLeopard. I have it on Yosemite but I like to look at my Snow Leopard iMacs from time to time. The GUI is outdated but it is OK.
Like
Version 2.12
Hamdi
21 November 2014
Yep! Inspite of the peasantish look it's a great piece of software. I've just converted a 65 MB azw3 file to epub without any blemishes (though it took more than two hours even on my brand new iMac). And for free! I'm more than happy with it. I will certainly make a good donation to the developers. Great work!
Like (2)
Version 2.11
Alexrom1000
14 November 2014
The only issue for me is the program interface. The rest is OK. No glitches.
Like (1)
Version 2.9
Nontroppo
08 November 2014
Still by far the best cross-platform extensible and powerful ebook manager across all major OS platforms. The ebook editor, using HTML / CSS inspector is in itself worth the price of a separate app. I use this to edit styling of epubs to my preferences, ebook conversion and metadata management, at which it excels. And I use it on more than one platform, and in this case the UI is consistent across platforms.
Like (1)
Version 2.9
Ssj152
01 November 2014
To you folks carping about Calibre, I REALLY wanted to say "then by all means, don't let the door hit you in the ass on the way out!". INSTEAD, I'll say the following: Many people use Calibre for various purposes and are satisfied with the way it works, as well as being grateful to the author for all of the hard work put into this program and for making it cross-platform and FREE. It isn't perfect. NOTHING created by man is perfect, at least in my opinion. Ask the programmers who wrote software for the LEM (Lunar Landing Module) and the Space Shuttle. I personally KNOW how much work it takes to do something like Calibre and how disheartening it can be to see people disrespect your efforts. I'm a retired Sr. Systems programmer (30+ years experience) and I worked on real-time process-control systems, something enormously more complicated than what almost all of the computer users & programmers do. Does that make me SPECIAL? NO. Experienced? YES. In my working life I've done an enormous variety of things with computers and electronics. I believe that I am qualified to hold an informed opinion that could possibly be helpful in a number of subjects. I've EARNED that right. I DON"T APPRECIATE folks in the "cheap seats" - the uninformed and uninvolved - taking pot shots at someone else. Step up, do the work, and THEN you MIGHT be knowledgeable to actually have something helpful to say. Of course, EVERYONE has a right to their own opinion, but if it isn't HELPFUL, keep it to yourself, how about it? Carping is NOT a pretty personality characteristic. If you find fault, talk to the responsible party. If the fault isn't a bug, but is something you would prefer, consider offering to help or offer good old money. You may not get your way, but it doesn't hurt to ask. Please think before opening your mouth for input OR output. How would YOU like people to talk about something you made or did?
Like (5)
Version 2.8
7 answer(s)
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
01 November 2014
Crap is crap. It doesn't matter whether it's free or not.
Like (2)
Ssj152
Ssj152
02 November 2014
Bkdkennedy1. So, to you Calibre is crap. Fine. ,that is your opinion. How is that germane to my post? And if you really read my post, you saw that FREE was the LEAST and LAST of my reasons for appreciating the author and the program.

I would PREFER Calibre to have a fully implemented Mac user interface, as well as having generated ePub output to be smaller. Also, I would like Calibre to input PDF's and output perfect, minimally sized ePubs with the PDF page numbers invisibly stripped.

Those are desires, not expectations and they don't keep me from using the software AS IT IS and from being appreciative of Calibre's author(s) and the author(s) of any libraries it uses.

At the present, MY major use for Calibre is converting MOBI eBooks into ePub, which allows me to read MOBI books I've purchased on devices and readers of my choice. Calibre works well for me in this usage.
Like (3)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
08 November 2014
Ssj152 — sadly trolls never read arguments before responding...
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
19 December 2014
How can you call Bdkennedy a troll? He is entitled to his opinion like everyone else. This is a forum that is open to everyone's opinion. That remark is very WINDOW ISH.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
19 December 2014
How can you call Bdkennedy a troll? He is entitled to his opinion like everyone else. This is a forum that is open to everyone's opinion. That remark is very WINDOW ISH.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
19 December 2014
Sorry about that! MU is eroding it twice
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
19 December 2014
That word should be REPRODUCING NOT ERODING
Like
p-g-m-2998
20 October 2014
Hey Mr. Kovid Goyal, or whomever is maintaining this software. You have a great software but instead of releasing a new version every other day, could you spend some time and standardize you GUI, fix the menu items so they look like a regular Mac software? ex: Preferences should all be located under the Calibre/Preferences menu, not in a separate menu bar item, this will save some real estate on that menu bar... Add Books should be under a File menu Edit Metadata should be Edit and so on. Then the main window and other windows could use a refresh , but this can come later... You want to get customers satisfaction up and received congratulations and be appraised by the Mac user community , fix this and you'll see this all. Thanks
Like
Version 2.6
2 answer(s)
Essadee
Essadee
31 October 2014
It isn't solely OS X software, I doubt you're going to see the lead developer spend a lot of time making sure it looks like an OS X app since by necessity the UI should be consistent across all platforms supported.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
29 December 2014
and..........any way he doesn't listen to any of this. He goes his own way.
Like
Bento de Espinosa
16 October 2014
I agree with some people who say this app is overrated. I'm pretty sure people give it 4 or 5 stars out of thankfulness for being almost the only one of its kind and free. Yes, I am thankful for it as well. Thank you! But the GUI really is ugly, cumbersome, and the app not in the least "mac-like". In fact it's so unintuitive, it almost takes away the joy from making an eBook.
Like (4)
Version 2.5
3 answer(s)
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
16 October 2014
I want to add that I have Scrivener and I just found out, it's excellent for creating eBooks too!
Like
skippy-dies
skippy-dies
24 October 2014
Please speak for yourself. I donated to the project because I'm grateful for a powerful tool to manage, edit, and convert ebooks. It still manages to do what I need, despite not looking like an iLife app.
Like (2)
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
13 March 2015
I would not use Calibre to make an ebook in. Bad idea from the start. Scrivener is, as you say, very good for the task. However, I've yet to find a program that can automatically generate flawless code and Scrivener is no exception. What I do is generate books in Scrivener and then use the Calibre editor to fix bits of code I don't like. I then use Calibre to convert the book to other formats (I have a Kindle, so I need AZW3).

Remember when you convert to adjust the page settings in the conversion dialogue. From epub, I set the input page format to default and the output to Kindle. I mention this because it's an easy thing to do, yet so many people don't do it and the results are usually less than satisfactory.
Like
Giosette
04 October 2014
FireMuffin, If it is so "terrible" because you continue to download (and use) it ?
Like (1)
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
04 October 2014
As Firemuffin said, "They've fooled me into installing and trying it three times, hoping the updated releases are genuinely better, but they never are."

Apparently you can't read correctly.
Like (2)
FireMuffin
30 August 2014
This software is slow, buggy, intrusive, with an appallingly bad interface, and just one of the most awful high-rated apps I have ever used. It converts very poorly...one may get close to the results one wishes for, but only after many frustrating trial-and-error attempts. (And the Windows version is just as bad and probably a bit worse.) For the life of me, I will never understand these high ratings for this software. They've fooled me into installing and trying it three times, hoping the updated releases are genuinely better, but they never are. Never again, and this time I'm leaving a genuine rating regardless of all the hype. One of the most bloated, buggy, and worst designed applications I've ever seen.
Like (8)
Version 2.1
15 answer(s)
Purps
Purps
31 August 2014
Sounds like you need a hug?
Like (7)
FireMuffin
FireMuffin
02 September 2014
No. No hugs. I mean it this time. We're through, Calibre. It's always hug now, and slap later. I'm not falling for the empty promises and sweet talk any more.

I admit I was dazzled at first, by all the attention you get, the reviews, the adulation. It's true, I too fell for the glamour. Doesn't everyone want the cool software taking care of their precious e-books? But somehow, you never looked nearly as good in the morning. And you've only gotten harder on the eyes over the years.

And let's talk about all the extra weight you've gained. You sit around the computer like a bloated lazy blob of code and you hardly do any work. And the few chores you do, you get wrong…I always have to watch you like a hawk and get you to do them over and over again, and spell out every little detail each time. I'm better off just doing everything myself! Or finding a younger, more reliable app.

Your format conversions especially, were some of the worst I've ever seen. And don't get me started on how horribly you treated the PDFs! I told you when we met, I can't be with an app that treats its kids badly.

And those drunken crashes of yours. How can I count on you if you're always crashing out on me just when I need you?!

Looking through my kindle's drawers every time I plugged it in without asking…that was the last straw. Ohhhh and, refusing to stop doing it!! And to make it even worse, leaving your own dirty files lying around that you made me have to go back and clean up!

I've given you chance after chance. I wanted to believe that time and love could fix everything, but alas, I have to accept that that will never happen. You're just not the software I thought you were. And you never will be.

I left your stuff on the curb. And don't bother trying to come back in, I've changed the locks on the system. This time it's goodbye for real, Calibre. You're no good, and you've broken my heart for the last time. I never want to see you again. Mother was right about you.
Like (8)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
06 September 2014
Sounds like you want a Porsche for Chevrolet money.
Like (2)
Seanc
Seanc
26 September 2014
I think you're being too harsh on Calibre, but your Sept. 01 comment was the best bad review I have ever read. Well done, sir.
Like (4)
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
26 September 2014
I was hoping after deleting this app 2 years ago that time would heal all wounds. Apparently I don't need to bother trying again.
Like (1)
ecdltf
ecdltf
01 October 2014
I hate to agree with you, but … sometimes mother is right, yes.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
01 November 2014
@firemuffin my comment was right. You pay Chevrolet money and you éxpect. A Porsche. You didn't pay anything for this app. But you expect everything but the kitchen sink. This is disgusting behavior.
Like
Cgc
Cgc
03 January 2015
The high ratings are because it does what it claims to do and what nothing else does...the GUI is dated, but like Lemke's GraphicsConverter, it's fantastic and the GUI will be modernized someday.
Like
Xenophile
Xenophile
10 January 2015
PDF to ebook conversion is a far more difficult task than you seem to realize. Check out a few alternate converters and you'll find the stock Calibre plugin is about as good as it gets - at least that's what I found several years ago when I looked around. The solution I finally settled upon was a tablet that could display PDF files natively. Let me know if you find a better converter because I want to use it.

As for it exploring your Kindle, you need to go to Preferences, Sharing, Ignored Devices, then add your Kindle to the ignored device list.

I'd love to have Calibre's functionality with a native Mac GUI and faster performance. If you do find a comparably powerful app for organizing and managing ebooks, please let us know.
Like
Dominikhoffmann
Dominikhoffmann
20 February 2015
I concur.
Like (1)
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
13 March 2015
Hmm. It's ugly, sure. It's ebook reader is not suitable for reading ebooks, but I don't find Calibre itself to be slow or buggy. Conversion usually works well enough, but if you convert an already badly coded book, the results aren't going to be nice.

I'm curious. What formats are you trying to convert? If you're trying to convert from PDF, your expectations are too high. If a different format, maybe you should say and someone can give you a few tips. To do ebook conversion properly, you need to know basic HTML and CSS.
Like
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
14 March 2015
Hell! What version did you use to draw these conclusions? Conversion is generally far better than most of the dedicated conversion apps. The only one I have found that comes close to Calibre is DeDRM. The EPubor stuff and its siblings are total crocks.
Like
Epubor Vendor
Epubor Vendor
27 July 2015
Hi,

If you think Calibre is complicated interface and not so easy to use, maybe you can have a good look at this product, EpuborUltimate eBook Converter.

http://epubor.com/ultimate.html

Like
Prlab
Prlab
17 August 2015
Well, I've used it for years and never had a problem. What's the alternative, anyway?
Like
anomia
anomia
03 September 2015
maybe you can make it better by constructive critisisms, or offer a better alternative?

iBooks was a dismal failure unless you're happy with a constrained commercial shill of a shell; which is what is has become....

so where does that leave us?
Like
Joashchee
28 August 2014
I like it for it's ability to easily handle and update metadata.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.0
Panocha
28 August 2014
Why not add CBZ or Comic Book format? http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/35397/ehon
Like
Version 2.0.0
Mcr
24 August 2014
Upgraded to 2.0 from 1.31 (Windows x32 and OS X). Two third party file plugins that worked in 1.31 (and all previous 1.x before that) no longer work in 2.0 (again, both Windows and OS X). Was wondering if anyone else was experiencing any issues with plugins? It is possible these plugins stopped working somewhere between 1.31 and 2.0, I don't know, I didn't bother to update after 1.31 as all was working fine for what I wanted. I did confirm that returning back to 1.31, the plugins worked again. plugins: ineptepub_v01.7_plugin ineptpdf_v01.4_plugin
Like
Version 2.0.0
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
24 August 2014
Never mind folks, I reviewed the changes in 2.0 and apparently the migration to QT5 may in fact cause some plugins to fail. I will need to wait for the vendor to update the plugins or stick with 1.x for now. It's easy enough to keep a VM around that runs 1.x for those few times i need to use the plugins.
Like
Dana-Sutton
22 August 2014
The thing that impresses me most about v. 2.0 of this already fine program is the much greater speed with which it launches and executes. Obviously the developer has made some important under-the-hood improvements above and beyond what he presents in his list of changes. It makes Calibre MUCH more pleasant to work with.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.0
Rick6
09 August 2014
Great software
Like
Version 1.48.0
Mar6473
06 August 2014
Does anyone know if it's possible to keep the real page numbers in Kindle books? I can run a book through Calibre, then open it in Kindle for Mac and the page numbers are gone.
Like (1)
Version 1.47.0
2 answer(s)
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
23 August 2014
Page numbers in ePub or other similar formats are all relative and variable. They will vary depending on the size of the screen used. They won't reflect what page number is used for the printed version of the book. This is why these formats don't use page numbers for referencing passages of text. They use hyperlinks instead.

The best way to get consistent page numbers is to convert the ePub or similar version of the book to the PDF version. When this is done, the page numbers will be the same no matter what reader you use, no matter what screen size is used.
Like
mwang
mwang
28 September 2014
@Psychiatry: the point of maintaining Kindle's "real page numbers" is not for consistency across screen sizes, but for academic citation. That's why Kindle's "real page numbers" feature is useful, for the page numbers are the same as in a physical book. Unfortunately Calibre never keeps those when converting Kindle books. (disclaimer: I last tried Calibre several months ago.)
Like
wildx
27 July 2014
Amazing features but can be very slow and laggy
Like
Version 1.46.0
Elzz
24 June 2014
calibre, version 1.41.0 it does not initiate ERRO: try to eliminate file: /var/folders/sn/13mhwvl51hd5w8w8v5p47yhw0000gn/T/gabinetedecriacaopropagandagabinetedecriacaopropaganda-calibre-gui.socket But doesn't exist. Any suggestion?
Like
Version 1.41.0
Nontroppo
13 June 2014
This software is simply the best available, amazingly powerful for both management, conversion and optimising any kind of electronic books. The EPUB/MOBI editor is really powerful (with a wonderful implementation of web debug tools to live-inspect styling), you can fix and optimise EPUBs changing fonts and layout **so** easily... And the sync between this and the great iOS reader Marvin is really solid. Very much worth a donation!
Like (3)
Version 1.40.0
PinkPanty
27 April 2014
It's awesome!!! Five stars just out of gratefulness to the developer for his incredibly nice work. For all the things it can do, at a price that can't be beat, great app. Try it out.
Like (9)
Version 1.34.0