Back to Right Zoom page
Right Zoom free download for Mac

Right Zoom Reviews

2.1
11 July 2016

Changes the default behavior of the OS X window zoom button.

Encro
07 March 2009

Most helpful

Excellent work. This tool has standardised the behaviour to do the exact same thing in every app and has made the green zoom button useful again rather than an ignored button because you couldn't guarantee the result. Fantastic little helper.
Like (4)
Version 1.2

Read 55 Right Zoom User Reviews

Rate this app:

evilinstone
15 June 2016
'inconvenient zoom button behaviour' - WHAT???
Totally convenient.

Maybe you from Windows...
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Lvalue
Lvalue
16 June 2016
I think you should have written this as a comment;
your 1-star "review" doesn't give any info on this product
like whether it works as intended or not.
Instead it just gives your opinion on what the zoom button should do,
even if that opinion aligns with Apple's.
Like
emil-vissing
09 April 2015
Its awesome :-)
Like
Version 1.81
Mikael-B
04 December 2014
Works fine I believe, but it did mess up a VISE installer I ran. Probably a good idea to activate just for the apps that need it.
Like
Version 1.81
zoob
14 November 2014
I sure miss this utility since upgrading to Yosemite!
Like (1)
Version 1.81
2 answer(s)
huymac
huymac
28 January 2015
You don't need this utility for Yosemite anymore: http://apple.stackexchange.com/a/151729/6278
Like (1)
jermerf
jermerf
07 February 2015
I want to say to huymac that yes this is still needed in Yosemite. The functionality given is not the same. When you click the green button it goes full screen, it does not fill the width and height. Option+green button is just the old behaviour without right zoom, ie, filling height only (And honestly max don't really do that either, a finder window will just go from being one arbitrary Wid.xHei. to another arbitrary Wid.xHei.) option+shift+green only maximizes width+height of some programs. This is even to mention that, we don't want to press any other keys. We want to click the green button and maximize width and height (not go fullscreen) and have that be the default behaviour with no other keys
Like (1)
lefnire
04 November 2014
No longer works for Yosemite
Like (2)
Version 1.81
1 answer(s)
lefnire
lefnire
06 February 2015
Per @huymac above, this project is dead and the replacement can be found at http://apple.stackexchange.com/a/151729/6278 (spectacle)
Like
unGraphic
16 October 2014
Given that Apple completely SCREWED the green button functionality in Yosemite, will Rightzoom be updated to make the green button work as it should? Please say there's a fix for that coming!
Like (2)
Version 1.81
1 answer(s)
huymac
huymac
28 January 2015
No fix needed. Functionality is built into Yosemite:: http://apple.stackexchange.com/a/151729/6278
Like (1)
novkev24
30 September 2014
I tried using the RightZoon app on OS X Yosemite Public beta 3. The app did not appear to work correctly. When will you be supporting the new OS?
Like
Version 1.81
The BEST app ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Like
Version 1.81
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
26 June 2015
Puh-lease!
Useful yes, and I miss it on Yosemite, but that's going waaaaayyy overboard with the praise. Hope that was sarcasm.

And NO, I don't to use yet another keyboard shortcut, nor do I want Spectacle! Why should I have to install a third-party app that does multiple things, just one of which is to zoom windows to their "normal" size like OSX USED to do natively?

Sometimes Apple just sucks!
Like
MagdaC1369
04 December 2013
This just makes me so happy every time I press the green button. Thank you
Like (1)
Version 1.8
MagdaC1369
26 November 2013
When I try to open it to install it it says "RightZoom" can't be opened because it is from an unidentified developer. :(
Like
Version 1.8
3 answer(s)
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
26 November 2013
MagdaC1369, here's how to get around that problem…. - Right-click (Control-click) on the application's icon. - Select Open from the contextual menu. - In the next dialog which appears, click Open. The application will open, and you will not have any further problems opening the application in the future--the application will open normally.
Like
MagdaC1369
MagdaC1369
27 November 2013
Why thank you. However when I closed it it won't open again. I've probably done something wrong. I give up
Like
MagdaC1369
MagdaC1369
27 November 2013
nvm it works now. :)
Like
FransnicoS2058
20 November 2013
Works well in OSX Mavericks. A very handy app.
Like (1)
Version 1.8
BenjaminP8914
24 October 2013
Worked great for OS X Mountain Lion, Looks like it is not ready for OS X Mavericks...eagerly awaiting an update so it works with Mavericks!
Like
Version 1.73
risnandar
23 October 2013
standard osx should work like this zoom.. this small app is great and i use it everyday
Like
Version 1.73
LizzyLisa
29 September 2013
Yes there is a problem with Adobe apps but it should be fixed from Adobe side. That's problem is very old and is described in right zoom readme. Just use Exclusions.
Like (1)
Version 1.73
ohmmmmmm
03 September 2013
We installed Right Zoom on several iMacs running 10.7 with Acrobat Pro (CS4) installed. Acrobat slowed to less than a crawl. Upon deleting Right Zoom, problem vanished.
Like
Version 1.73
Terry-R
23 January 2013
I love Apple and I love Mac's. On my 21.5'' I Mac I have never been able to totally expand my window to the entire desk top until now. Have no idea why apple designed it that way as all other pc's already utilize the entire screen. This had been my only complaint with I Mac in the past, but is now resolved and is the perfect computer. This is a must have application for your Mac.
Like (1)
Version 1.73
Dana-Sutton
11 July 2012
Works as advertised and does something useful. My only complaint is that I think I'd prefer this as a preference panel.
Like (2)
Version 1.73
1 answer(s)
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
04 August 2013
Yeah, it should definitely be a preference panel.
Like (1)
sameerrajimwale
13 June 2012
ALL, Please remember to create an exclusion for Adobe Reader! Adobe Reader becomes very unresponsive and unusably slow due to Rightzoom. Creating an exclusion would fix this! (I did not discover that, I read that somewhere on the net) SAMEER RAJIMWALE. PUNE.
Like
Version 1.72
1 answer(s)
zo219
zo219
20 June 2012
Or just use Preview. Which comes on every Mac and is way superior to Adobe Reader anyway.
Like (4)
swalker26
22 May 2012
Wonderful App, works great. Does just what it's supposed to and is so easy it became habit and when I didn't have it(when I upgraded) I was lost. If you have issues, remember to update and check the exclusion list, it's there for a reason.
Like
Version 1.72
lugesm
23 July 2011
RightZoom was great under "Snow Leopard" but does not work properly under "Lion."
Like (1)
Version 1.72
1 answer(s)
lugesm
lugesm
23 July 2011
Sorry about that. I didn't have the latest version. 1.72 appears to work well with Lion
Like (3)
Kzx72
11 June 2011
Work great going left to right but up and down (on Firefox for example) there's a thin horizontal gap revealing part of my desktop wallpaper that doesn't fill the entire window frame. This should be built into apple by now but since it's not, here's a suggestion for a future release: "Down Zoom"
Like
Version 1.72
Ackee
30 January 2011
Used to work OK, but recently upgraded to latest version and now I can't stop the configure screen coming up every time Right Zoom is launched. I'm running Snow Leopard in a user (not admin) account, with Right Zoom as one of my login items. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.7
Drew-bailey
16 June 2010
I like RightZoom a lot, but it created a conflict with Word 2008, wherein I've had problems placing the cursor within selected text. As word processing is one of the main things I do on my computer, I have, unfortunately, had to move on to Klicko.
Like (1)
Version 1.7
cstephen87
14 May 2010
Otherwise a ridiculous application that a developer had to go to the trouble of making, but a seriously needed one: I don't know how anyone works with these haphazardous expand/shrink/minimize/maximize without some sort of modification made to the core system in their everyday computing... In any case, this is long needed... But what NEEDS to happen is: Apple simply makes that stupid green button... Work! On the other hand, if you're willing to spend a little money, you might want to check out this combo to get a "Windows 7 effect": Cinch + SizeUp Good luck!
Like (3)
Version 1.7
1 answer(s)
Bmanmac
Bmanmac
19 February 2011
Check out Hyperdock if you really want some Win7 features :-)
Like (2)
Claudio-wilmanns
09 February 2010
Perfect! 5 Stars!
Like
Version 1.7
gcoghill
08 February 2010
With the default settings, the default keyboard combo for right Zoom with disable that combo in Photoshop CS4, even if the settings are set (as in the default settings) to "only enable Right Zoom in these specific apps". Might affect other apps, I only noticed in Ps CS4. I sent this info to the developer as well.
Like
Version 1.7
4 answer(s)
Codemaster
Codemaster
08 February 2010
why not change the hotkey?
Like
Version 1.7
gcoghill
gcoghill
08 February 2010
I'm just giving people a heads up in case they run RZ without looking at the options. Also, since the options state that it should only be active on specific applications, this is a bug. I just disabled the hotkey altogether, but like I said wanted to give a heads up to other Photoshop users to avoid spending two hours troubleshooting their setup when a key combo stops working (like I did) :)
Like
Version 1.7
Codemaster
Codemaster
08 February 2010
The hotkey is designed to work for all apps, not only for selected
Like
Version 1.7
gcoghill
gcoghill
08 February 2010
If that's the case, the wording on the options screen should be more specific. The Applications tab says "Use Right Zoom in the following applications only". The key combo should have a note that it will take effect in all applications, regardless of the settings on the Applications tab. Personally, if I want the RZ app to only work within certain apps, not sure why I would want the key combo to work on *all* apps.
Like
Version 1.7
Thanks for this app. I find it particularly useful on small displays, with the exception of the configuration dialog, which is too tall to fit some screens.
Like (1)
Version 1.63
Alan-C-
05 November 2009
Love the app. Can't believe Apple messed this up. However, one little quirk: Adobe Illustrator CS3 seems to have difficulty with it. With Right Zoom installed and running, Illustrator begins to hang up nearly every time you select something. The beach ball appears and it only hangs for a few seconds, but it is troublesome. Otherwise, this is excellent.
Like
Version 1.63
Faeryjane
01 November 2009
I've just installed this app and it's fantastic, especially as a former Windows user!! I've been looking for something like this since I bought my Mac 2 years ago! So, thanks! My only problem seems to be that even though it maximises on the right hand side, it always leaves about 2mm on the left hand side, even when I use it on a screen that has already been manually maximised. As it happens, this has been an issue from day dot with Safari, that whenever I open it, no matter that I have dragged it to maximise the screen in my last session, it always opens a little to the right. Any suggestions would be appreciated!
Like
Version 1.63
Codemaster
14 September 2009
why not read a guide to find out that there ARE options available
Like (1)
Version 1.62
Orion-Mk-V
13 September 2009
Works great. Easy to use with no config, but nice to have the options.
Like
Version 1.62
obergsson
13 September 2009
Click on the app ... and doesn't load ... nothing happens .... 10.5.6
Like
Version 1.62
star-affinity
09 September 2009
Please help me fix the stupid zoom-button behaviour of iTunes 9 and bring support for Snow Leopard! :) Apple - give me a break with your inconsistent zoom-button behaviour! :P
Like
Version 1.61
2 answer(s)
webstuff
webstuff
13 September 2009
Actually, iTunes 9 DOES make the zoom button behavior consistent. Prior to version 9, it did something no other window did.
Like (1)
Version 1.62
star-affinity
star-affinity
14 September 2009
In what way is it consistent? Or maybe it is consistent, but in a non-logical way. At least it makes no sense to me nor to any of the others I've discussed the behavior with.
Like
Version 1.62
Mstielau
09 September 2009
I really like this app. Here's hoping the developer updates it for Snow Leopard.
Like
Version 1.61
Noraa
05 September 2009
Doesn't seem to work with Snow Leopard :(
Like (1)
Version 1.61
Springheelmac
29 March 2009
This is one OS X enhancer I can't live without. Just one thing, how do you get to the screen to configure it? (Not to sound like a total TOOL but I can't find it.)
Like (2)
Version 1.61
1 answer(s)
Codemaster
Codemaster
31 March 2009
Hold Cmd key when you run the program
Like
Version 1.61
Lainsnavi
28 March 2009
I don't know if it's possible, but I'd like to be able to set a modifier key to enable it when clicking the green button instead of just all the time or a keyboard shortcut. For example option-click the green button to expand to fullscreen. Clicking it normally would maintain the default OS X behavior. This would make it act like how it used to be in the days of OS 9.
Like (1)
Version 1.6
2 answer(s)
Codemaster
Codemaster
29 March 2009
Yes, that's a good idea for the next update! Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 1.6
Codemaster
Codemaster
29 March 2009
it's done now
Like (2)
Version 1.6
John-Mcdonnell
22 March 2009
If you make one widow full screen you defeat the heart of the operating system. The heart of the operating system is drag and drop. If you have one window covering the entire screen you can not drag and drop. Let me give you an example. I was helping someone who wanted every window full screen, so we had word and safari full screen. Then the person I was helping wanted to know how save a picture from safari into word. It took us twelve steps. The person said to me "there must be a better way". I showed the person that if you had both windows side by side, with no overlap you could transfer the same picture from safari to word in three steps, using drag and drop, and save yourself nine steps. In a nutshell if you make all of your windows full screen it slows you down, lowers your productivity, and takes more time. When you click the green button the default behavior is to make the window only as big as necessary. Give the default behavior a try, you will probably find that you become more productive and have more time for the rest of your life.
Like (3)
Version 1.5
3 answer(s)
Codemaster
Codemaster
23 March 2009
So don't expand the window when you need drag and drop, is it too hard? Or use Alt+Tab to switch to another window or F11 to show Desktop.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Zzamboni
Zzamboni
27 March 2009
This comment makes no sense. Blasting RightZoom because of drag-and-drop? First: having windows full screen doesn't prevent drag and drop. Try this: drag from one window, and without releasing the dragged object, switch to a different app by pressing Alt-Tab, F9 for Expose, or even Ctrl-number for switching to a different Space. Once you are on the window you want, drop the object there. Works even if all your windows are full-screen. Second: you don't _always_ need drag and drop. When I'm writing, coding or reading, I prefer to have the corresponding window full screen, to minimize distractions and maximize my writing/reading space.
Like (7)
Version 1.6
Peter-Black
Peter-Black
27 March 2009
12-steps for drag and drop!?? How about drag into the expose corner for all windows, hover over the app you want, wait until the window comes to the front and the + sign appears, then drop. Simple.
Like (1)
Version 1.6
Dalahast
17 March 2009
Is it just a coincidence that a friend of mine made a SIMBL plugin to do this system-wide and called it WrongZoom?
Like
Version 1.5
3 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
17 March 2009
http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/18245/8ball
Like
Version 1.5
Codemaster
Codemaster
17 March 2009
He did that under impression from this proggie :) he could better write a GUI for RightZoom :)
Like
Version 1.5
Dalahast
Dalahast
17 March 2009
On that note, *takes out iPhone, selects dice roller, selects coin flip* It seems to be a coincidence. :-)
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Asdfasd
17 March 2009
I was (and I am) looking for an application like this for a long time. I was also expecting to see apple changing the green plus sign behaviour, the way it originally works seems more like a bug than anything else. Right Zoom works perfectly if you are in a one monitor situation, unfortunately when working with a dual setup (my case) its behaviour starts to become quite annoying. Since instead maximising the window size to the size of the monitor where that window is, it simply moves the window to the first monitor and than maximizes it... So no use for me... and I am still looking for the right zoom application still. Regarding the cmd + tab shortcut it was really a bad idea since it is the default key for a new tab in Safari, fortunately you can easy change the key or delete that option from the option .plist file inside the app, so it is really fixable. Has I said good app for a one monitor, not that useful for multiple monitors...
Like (1)
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Codemaster
Codemaster
27 March 2009
Multiple monitors support is added in v.1.6, but users report it is still buggy. If you want to help us test it, you are welcome.
Like
Version 1.5
Gabrielu
17 March 2009
Why in the world would you use COMMAND + T on your App? Now I can't open a new tab on my browsers. Bad idea! I just quick the program and removed it from my startup apps list.
Like
Version 1.4
2 answer(s)
Codemaster
Codemaster
17 March 2009
am sorry, but you are just idiot yourself. The key can be easily changed.
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Robotank
Robotank
29 March 2009
What a hilarious response from the app's developer. While I normally wouldn't suggest insulting customers, even in response to a stupid question, I think this was carried off with grace and style. +1 smile!
Like
Version 1.61
Danny-2
16 March 2009
Great tool. Predictable window behaviour with Right Zoom. I like.
Like
Version 1.4
Algos
16 March 2009
This a really nice utility, but how am I supposed to open a new tab in Safari now that the new key command for maximizing changed to Cmd-T? Any way to set this to a different key??
Like
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Algos
Algos
16 March 2009
Figured it out, sorry for being a RTFM case ;)
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Encro
07 March 2009
Excellent work. This tool has standardised the behaviour to do the exact same thing in every app and has made the green zoom button useful again rather than an ignored button because you couldn't guarantee the result. Fantastic little helper.
Like (4)
Version 1.2
Arvidtp
05 March 2009
RightZoom seems to cause a problem with the Quicktime Plugin in Safari (probably only Safari because Safari the only browser was on my list of supported apps for RightZoom). Any action you take (button press, etc) on a quicktime plugin window causes the computer to become completely unresponsive for 3-5 seconds and the quicktime movie choppy. Additionally, any left click within the quicktime movie brings up the menu you normally get when right-clicking, instead of its normal function of stopping playback. This is on 10.5.6 Intel, Safari 3 This behavior also seemed to have started affecting the finder, but that was solved by a reinstall of quicktime. The safari problem was not. So I'm stopping using RightZoom for now.
Like
Version 1.2
2 answer(s)
Codemaster
Codemaster
06 March 2009
From the developer: Really there it seems to be some freezes when Quick Time movie is played inside Safari. After investigation I have found it's Apple's bug, and it seems there's no workaround at this moment. I will send a bug report to Apple.
Like
Version 1.2
Arvidtp
Arvidtp
06 March 2009
thanks for looking into it.
Like
Version 1.2
Dougward
03 March 2009
This is great, but can you extend it so it'll work for WebKit nightly builds too? I run them instead of Safari :)
Like
Version 1.1
Rynokins
03 March 2009
To the DEVELOPER: can you please make it so the 'Command-E' can be turned on or off easily? I use Command-E regularly to eject .dmg files and discs. Thanks!! Nice app!!
Like
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Codemaster
Codemaster
10 March 2009
done
Like
Version 1.3
Makai
02 March 2009
"You can also use Command + E keys to maximize the current active window in most applications." TNX for listening!! ;-) ;-) However, Cmd-e may conflict with Finder's "Eject" command, as it apparently does with Safari's "Use selection for Find". No showstopper for me, though. TNX again!!
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Arvidtp
02 March 2009
This is great on a laptop! However I'd ideally like to have the Mac OS 9 solution: Option-Click to force the window to enlarge to fill the whole screen, but auto-size as OS X normally does otherwise.
Like (2)
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
star-affinity
star-affinity
10 March 2009
Agreed on that!
Like
Version 1.3
Major-Mauser
02 March 2009
This is great.... I can't see why Apple just does not use the windows modifier for controlling window resizing. Right Zoom brings it to us now. Thanks!
Like (3)
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Gordon142
Gordon142
02 March 2009
While I understand people having different preferences on this, the Mac way of handling windows does have its own advantages. For example, on a large wide-screen monitor, there is little point in having the browser occupy the entire screen, it either does nothing since the web page dimensions are hard-coded or it strings out text and makes it hard to follow a line. On the other hand, having windows intelligently resize to fit the current content is very useful. Full-screen zooming is not a one-size-fits-all solution.
Like (1)
Version 1.1