Back to PS3 Media Server page
PS3 Media Server free download for Mac

PS3 Media Server Reviews

1.90.1
18 August 2013

DLNA-compliant UPnP Media Server.

Dundy972
04 February 2009

Most helpful

This is simply the best Upnp media server availaible for mac users. It can transcode files which means your ps3 can read everything (even mkv file, even dvdrip with external subtitle .srt). I tried a 720p mkv file and it worked like a charm with a core2duo 2ghz. The only glitch is when you close the application window, you can't open it again by clicking on the dock icon, you have to close the app and relaunch but anyways once its configured you dont have to go back to the setting so its not a big deal.
Like (4)
Version 1.03

Read 39 PS3 Media Server User Reviews

Rate this app:

Macs-Pain
23 January 2018
Still working better than Universal Media Player...
Like
Version 1.90.1
Quiiick
26 February 2014
I have several media servers, including PMS, on my Mac. Since upgrading to MacOS X 10.9.2 earlier today, none of them finds my PS3 renderer anymore! Has anyone else experienced similar problems?
Like
Version 1.90.1
Gravitonmatrix
01 December 2013
Easy to install, easy to use. Works perfectly getting my MKV files on my Mac running Mavericks to my PS3 and my WD TV LIVE streaming player. I was using TVMOBiLi until I ran into their data streaming limit. PS3 Media Server is noticeably faster. Instant streaming instead of waiting up to 30 seconds for video to start using TVMOBiLi. Streaming via TVMOBiLi also would pause video quite often while PS3 Media Server simply allow the videos to stream uninterrupted. This is the solution that I have been looking for!
Like
Version 1.90.1
Eddiemp
28 November 2013
After 3 months still no fix on the installer problem ...
Like (1)
Version 1.90.1
Arnauld
24 September 2013
Intego's "Virus Barrier Express" (Definitions 09/17/2013) reports me of an infection inside the downloaded -> SelfModifier.class Java/CVE-2012-1723.gen As a Mac-user I have not much knowledge in viruses and I'm not able to assess the "nastiness(?)" of this "thing". Any ideas? TNX!
Like
Version 1.90.1
2 answer(s)
Arnauld
Arnauld
24 September 2013
* the file: pms-1.90.1-setup-macosx.tar.gz
Like
Grayson-Manley
Grayson-Manley
29 September 2013
It isn't a virus it is detecting but a known vulnerability in Java that this program may be susceptible to. Make sure you have the latest version of Java installed and you won't have any problems. It's fixed in later versions.
Like (2)
Eddiemp
23 August 2013
This new installer gives me a "Permission Denied" while it is NOT asking for an ADMINUSER/PASS ... I can not install/upgrade the latest version :-(((
Like
Version 1.90.1
4 answer(s)
Quiiick
Quiiick
23 August 2013
That's the Mac OS, not the installer which "gives" you a "Permission Denied". Control-click or right-click on the installer-icon and choose "open" from the popup-menu.
Like (1)
Eddiemp
Eddiemp
23 August 2013
That is NOT the solution. The INSTALLER runs fine, but on 2/3 of installing, it gives a "permission denied" probably because it SHOULD have prompt me for a ADMINUSER/PASS and the installer didn't ...
Like
Quiiick
Quiiick
23 August 2013
Sorry for not being of any help to you. As I said before, the developer should return to a "drag 'n' drop" installation. By doing so, your problems would probably vanish as well.
Like (1)
Eddiemp
Eddiemp
08 November 2013
Problem still not solved, even running as admin gives me a "permission denied" in the installer, it tries to install something but gives no clue, no log, nothing, too bad
Like
Quiiick
19 August 2013
Can someone please explain to me why the new version (1.90.1) needs an installer now. I prefer having "drop 'n' drag" installs of software on my desktop computer.
Like (1)
Version 1.90.1
2 answer(s)
Eddiemp
Eddiemp
28 November 2013
Indeed, useless installer. AND after 3 months of waiting still no solution ... I can NOT upgrade due to an error which does not give a clue where to look I should start giving negative feedback !
Like (1)
Quiiick
Quiiick
28 November 2013
Let's hope the next version of "PS3 Media Server" forgoes this useless installer. ... and and update to the atrocious GUI would be appropriate as well.
Like
apelike22
04 May 2012
Extremely easy to set up and use. I have a Macbook Pro with an external USB drive with my movie collection on it. I have a wifi connection and my PS3 is connected to an Airport Base Station via an ethernet cable. PS3 Media Server automatically found my PS3 (as well as my Panasonic Viera TV) and on my PS3 I was able to navigate to my drive and pull up my movies. It seamlessly played back a copy of Dolphin Tale encoded by Handbrake from the Blu Ray disc. Minimal and rare stuttering of playback, no worse than what you'd get from Netflix or Amazon, and the overall quality looked better than those. Can't believe this is free. Don't stress about the user interface unless you have to. I don't have anything special or unique about my setup and it worked fine without me doing anything. I highly, highly recommend this app.
Like (2)
Version 1.52.1
1 answer(s)
Coreyammons
Coreyammons
11 June 2012
The new version of the Plex Media Server now streams DLNA to the PS3 works great. Honestly it is the only version I have been able to get to work 100% to my PS3.
Like (1)
Scottyo
26 March 2012
The new version started pausing playback and loading buffers every 10-15 seconds on my 802.11n connection (iMac i7, pretty new Samsung 46"/Rosewill wireless USB dongle), for 640x480 movies. In the Transcode Settings tab, inputting keyint=5:vqscale=1:vqmin=3 got it streaming smoothly; IOW, I increased vqmin from 2 to 3. I also lowered the AC3 bit rate to 384 kbps, though that may not have been necessary. These were shot on our ca 2005 point-and-shoot, so didn't really benefit from high-quality settings. But this change probably wouldn't get 720p or 1080i/p streaming working smoothly, though increasing the vqscale and vqmin parameters *might* do so. For the HD formats you might need a 100 mbps wired ethernet connection.
Like
Version 1.52.0
incrzr
24 February 2012
Yeah, it works great with my WD TV Live and Lion! Thanks.
Like
Version 1.50.1
Ry-ma
30 January 2012
For me the best Media server. The only one, which operates error free so far.
Like (1)
Version 1.50.1
folivares
29 October 2011
Had to upgrade to Isedora; unstable (at time's would stream to my Xbox 360, at times would not). Video quality was terrible (or I just couldn't figure out how to tweak it).
Like (1)
Version 1.50.0
Darukaru
24 October 2011
The developers of this app need to take a good hard look at what StreamToMe/ServeToMe has accomplished, *also* using open-source components but having significantly improved playback compatibility, interface quality, and overall polish and presentation If ServeToMe could act as a DLNA server there would be no reason to use PS3MS ever again.
Like
Version 1.50.0
bigbearhunter
08 October 2011
AMAZING! First off, this is not the most intuitive program at all. It's got buttons and weird names for items and protocols, so, you have no idea what it's talking about. The next version needs to have an interface more like HANDBRAKE, where you just punch a few presets in and it works. It couldn't find my PS3 at first. Then after some research I found out that you have to make some changes to get it to sync. You might have to go to general settings and under Force switch it to 1o0 and under that type in your COMPUTERS IP Address. That did it for me and at worked just fine. So despite it's complicated nature I give this 5 stars because it's free and it does exactly what I needed it to. It's not a cure all by any means and you shouldn't expect it to be, but it showed some videos I had on the computer just fine and others not so much, but avi's and mpegs play perfect. And again. It's FREE.
Like (1)
Version 1.40.0
truthhurts
04 October 2011
Horrible little program. I kind of suspected this based on the screen shot of the interface - that's actually one of the *better* looking screens. This is a poorly done, confusing, and badly laid out port of a piece of Linux software. The interface on the PS3 isn't much better. Special folders for "# VIDEO SETTINGS #" and "# TRANSCODE #" - you know, instead of actually doing the right thing and just sending the appropriate stream. And all of that might be forgivable if it worked - but it doesn't. It transferred one YouTube video successfully, and every MKV I threw at it failed. Among other things, it doesn't support MKV header compression, which anything worth its salt supported over a year ago. The forums are worthless. Report a bug or criticize anything and you're told not to do it that way, or remux all of your files; basically, the program can do no wrong, and if it fails (and badly), well, that's your fault - never the program. Free, and yet you still don't get what you paid for, as there's no reimbursement for time wasted on this thing.
Like (1)
Version 1.40.0
P=NP
25 June 2011
I've been using PS3 Media Server since 2009 and have yet to find another media server application that is better. I've tried just about every media server available, however, none of them can beat this thing. What's most surprising is that most of the others cost money, seem to have less capabilities, or just aren't as versatile. To anyone needing a solid media server look no further — it's awesome, and best of all FREE.
Like (2)
Version 1.25.1
Version 1.25.1 – http://ps3mediaserver.googlecode.com/files/pms-macosx-1.25.1.dmg
Like (1)
Version 1.20.409
3 answer(s)
anonymous-gopher-3791
anonymous-gopher-3791
24 June 2011
It's Intel only now and not beta.
Like
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
24 June 2011
I've updated our listing. Thanks for pointing that out!
Like (1)
anonymous-gopher-3791
anonymous-gopher-3791
24 June 2011
You can also update link to Developer's Site – http://www.ps3mediaserver.org and Release Notes (Changelog) – http://bit.ly/iiPLTL Thank you too)
Like
brianmac350
07 June 2011
Uncaught exception in main method: java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space I have this issue and cannot connect has anyone ever had this before?
Like
Version 1.20.409
Maboroshi
27 May 2011
This is pretty nice work. Especially considering its free. For those having trouble getting it to see their PS3 on the network, one thing you may need to do is go under "General Configuration" and in the "Force IP of the server" field, put in the network IP of your mac running the software. For example 192.168.1.2 After that click save and then restart the server. You may also have to choose one of the network interfaces from the "Force networking on interface" dropdown. I've never had problems connecting as long as I have those 2 options set.
Like
Version 1.20.409
Leesa
22 February 2011
The newest version does NOT transcode on a PPC Mac. It does, however, connect to my G5 to play any file that my PS3 will normally play... but no transcoding. Assuming there was an older version that worked on a PPC, I was hoping to find it on their site... no luck.
Like (2)
Version 1.20.409
4 answer(s)
Tweety-
Tweety-
24 March 2011
I found v1.02.1 PPC compatible on there site. Select "Downloads" set the selector from "Current Downloads" to "All downloads", then you can find older versions.
Like (1)
Leesa
Leesa
11 April 2011
@ Tweety: I'm on a G5 os x 10.5.8 and the v1.02.1 does connect to my computer (same as the newest version) but doesn't seem to do any transcoding.
Like (3)
Billycar
Billycar
15 April 2011
Also disappointed that the newest version requires Java 1.6, which was only updated for the newer Intel Macs. Older version loads and works, but has its problems. Can't the developers include PPC Macs? Thanks.
Like (1)
Tweety-
Tweety-
24 April 2011
I still haven't worked with it, very busy at the moment. I also have the App "Playback", that's also compatible with the PPC. Haven't test it yet, sorry...
Like
ztech350
03 February 2011
best transcoder out there, and it's free! can be a little cumbersome to connect to the ps3 at times, but when it's connected, it's a powerhouse
Like
Version 1.20.409
jaspal-hothi
31 December 2010
Mediaserver cannot find my PS3. tried Medialink...unsuccesful too!! very disappointed ! need help asap ...please please
Like
Version 1.20.409
Brightadventure
24 October 2010
Easy to get going. Little hard to understand the interface, but regardless the job gets done. I had music playing in a few minutes of downloading it. AND it's free. No complaints.
Like
Version 1.20.409
Higeoff
16 October 2010
This is awesome! Just migrated to iMac from a PC. Just Googled to find this app. Took no time to install and detect my PS3. And I'm watching my video right now! Highly recommended!!!!
Like
Version 1.20.409
Cmlewan
26 August 2010
PS3 has not been found although it's definitely on. The FAQ only talks about Windows in order to solve this. Obviously others have gotten this to work, but not me. Very confused. This is not as simple as it should be. It's not about just starting it up.
Like (1)
Version 1.20.409
1 answer(s)
Keisersozze
Keisersozze
08 May 2011
I has the same problem. Using Maboroshi's suggestion I got it to work. Thanks Maboroshi. -Ian IP is found under System Preferences-Network
Like
Filipp
29 May 2010
Very nice! Gives the best performance out of all the UPNP servers I've tested. Can even play stream 3mb/s HD video (h.264) over AirPort with hardly any dropouts. Also supports subtitles. The commercial apps should really step up their game against this one. Great work!
Like
Version 1.20.409
69number69
14 April 2010
I can confirm it works with Mede8er MED500X,it detects as popcorn hour.Excellent and free program!!!
Like
Version 1.20.409
Olc
13 March 2010
1. This app is really sluggish or/and unresponsive while streaming. That's on Macbook Pro (early 2010 model). 2. On a wired network, it is nowhere close to other streaming solution for the PS3! It skips continually. 3. Network interfaces are a pain... If you often switch between wireless and wired, you'rer in for troubles...
Like
Version 1.10.5
26cab40
19 February 2010
I needed a streaming solution for my PS3 in a hurry, so I downloaded this, started it up. Went downstairs, turned on my PS3, it saw Media Server straight away and I started watching my movies downstairs. All done over Wireless G no less ! I'm not going to try 1080p yet, but 720p might be worth a try. Top Marks.
Like
Version 1.10.5
Yabadabadoo
23 October 2009
Holy smokes. The MPAA can go where the sun don't shine because this app is amazing. With my 40" flat screen, 1TB HD, PS3 and iMac [Snow Leopard], this app not only allows my PS3 to play 1080p mkv files but it includes external subs as advertised! Still in disbelief. Everything was automatically detected and all I had to do was point to my HD. I'm watching stunning 1080p with subs. Amazing. I think the guy who gave a bad review probably works for the MPAA or other media server app dev because he doesn't know what he's talking about.
Like (2)
Version 1.10.5
1 answer(s)
Rui-Meira
Rui-Meira
18 January 2010
totally agree with you !! I coudln't be more satisfied and happy when I found and saw this app working ! really amazing ! I was thinking in buying a Networked Media Tank, then I discovered PS3 Media Server...didn't even try any other app because this gives me anything I could want and for free ! I'm thinking in donating something because they deserve it :)
Like
Version 1.10.5
Brian Kendig
26 August 2009
This is almost a wonderful program - it plays music just fine, it shows videos just fine, but I can't get it to play any videos from my Mac on my PS3. I can browse through them on the PS3, but then when I try to play, it has a black screen for a few seconds then says the video file is corrupt. These files aren't corrupt, and I've tried several different files in various formats: QuickTime, MP4, and a handful of formats that VLC plays without trouble (I think MKV is one of the ones I tried). I try to play them 'straight' or through the copy in the '#TRANSCODED#' directory. All of them fail the same way. Is there some configuration I have to do in PS3 Media Server first to get videos to play on my PS3?
Like
Version 1.10.5
2 answer(s)
Brian Kendig
Brian Kendig
13 March 2010
Isn't the whole point of PS3 Media Server to *make* them compatible, by transcoding them into a format that the PS3 can handle?
Like
Version 1.10.5
Brian Kendig
Brian Kendig
13 March 2010
What list, where? I'm in the program now and I don't see any list of file types not to transcode.
Like
Version 1.10.5
Mr.Ash
22 May 2009
Very good mediaserver software indeed (and for free) but it has some annoying behaviour: 1. Transcoding of .mkv videos won't work at all. Mencoder always crashes when i try to trancode a .mkv video with my PS3. I'm using OSX 10.5.7. 2. No iTunes/iPhoto intergration. PMS dosen't offer any iTunes, iPhoto or iLive integration. This way it's impossible to access my media in iTunes, iPhoto or Aperture libraries. Except ot the transcoding feature (which is not working at all) Nullriver MediaLink offers full iTunes, iPhoto and Aperture integration and is worth the 20$ for license.
Like (1)
Version 1.10.5
Dabluest
08 March 2009
Using this with my XBOX 360. Transcodes .mkvs quite nicely. Also allows multiple folders. This just might end up replacing Connect360 for me. Keep up the good work on the 360 features!
Like
Version 1.10
Stalepez
08 March 2009
I used to use Nullriver's product, I even paid for it (wanna buy my license? I don't use it anymore...), but have always searched for something that was more complete. I tried MediaTomb, but the install and configuration was so difficult and time consuming that I didn't find it worthwhile - and I'm a developer! Eyeconnect was suffering from a combination of the issues described above. PS3 Media Server has really started down the path to what could become a pretty successful future. If they made some superficial changes, such as prettying it up a little, go from Java to Cocoa, and put some cutsie icons on it, they could win over the MediaLink people. I've noticed there have been a number of regular updates, which is a major benefit. The transcoding is such a wonderful feature, and works extremely well out of the box. Other than the UI and some usability tweaks, the developers have done a very good job winning me over.
Like (1)
Version 1.10
While this is free, MediaLink from Nullriver is an excellent paid alternative. Much easier to use than this and runs as a System Pref panel. I have been using MediaLink since it came out and it works great.
Like (1)
Version 1.10
1 answer(s)
Texinick
Texinick
08 March 2009
Sadly, Nullriver have a bad reputation for just dropping products.. namely PSPWare. I'm not the only one that refuse to give them any more money. Also, why do Nullriver sell TWO products, when one product (Rivet and now PS3 Media Server) will stream to BOTH PS3 & Xbox 360.
Like (1)
Version 1.10
Hello-
07 March 2009
http://ps3mediaserver.blogspot.com/ http://ps3mediaserver.org/ Works real nice over a fast connection
Like (1)
Version 1.10
B4tm4n
04 February 2009
It works on 10.4.x aswell
Like (1)
Version 1.03
1 answer(s)
gts-williams
gts-williams
07 March 2009
I've tried it too on Tiger. Won't recognize PS3 for me. But Medialink won't work either, and it's supposed to be approved for Tiger. No problem with either on Leopard notebook. So, apparently something wrong with my Tiger set-up. I only wish I knew what it is.
Like
Version 1.10
Dundy972
04 February 2009
This is simply the best Upnp media server availaible for mac users. It can transcode files which means your ps3 can read everything (even mkv file, even dvdrip with external subtitle .srt). I tried a 720p mkv file and it worked like a charm with a core2duo 2ghz. The only glitch is when you close the application window, you can't open it again by clicking on the dock icon, you have to close the app and relaunch but anyways once its configured you dont have to go back to the setting so its not a big deal.
Like (4)
Version 1.03
truthhurts
04 February 2009
On the one hand, an excellent feature list including transcoding that MediaLink and Rivet don't offer. On the other hand, ugly as sin. Decisions...
Like
Version 1.03
2 answer(s)
Design-Q
Design-Q
23 February 2009
Yes, it is ugly. That's Java on Mac for you. Blame Sun if you must... but I agree, this appl. is ace.
Like (1)
Version 1.04
Ayampols
Ayampols
09 January 2010
I agree that the UI is unattractive and gitchy, but don't blame java or Sun. Look at the client app for Final Cut Server -- written in java -- for just one of many examples of what one can do with the language if one applied care and attention to UI design. I don't think you'd be saying these things of java if PS3 Media Server looked like this: http://www.macworld.com.au/data/5/e/3/FinalCutServer.jpg
Like
Version 1.10.5