Back to VideoVangelist page
VideoVangelist free download for Mac

VideoVangelist Reviews

2.1.6
17 September 2009

Easy video conversion from any format.

Pontines
01 August 2009

Most helpful

A hefty download. Almost 100MB for a program just doing some converting? That's just plain silly if you compare other comparable programs. OK then, for starters the interface doesn't feel right to me. It wants to look like iTunes I guess but that doesn't mean it is functional for converting videos. Converting is the name of the game : I have tried to convert some file to PSP and PS3 and both failed to work on my PSP and PS3. They just do not want to play except showing the first frame.Tried the same files with Handbrake and iVideoConverter and both resulted in working PSP and PS3 files. It also have a lot of problems with 5.1 and 7 channels files. In fact, three I tried did not convert. Handbrake and iVideoConverter doesn't have any problem with these. In short - this program is not worth any penny. It fails in almost every test I did. Avoid this at all costs ! Other free apps do work.
Like (10)
Version 2.1

Read 21 VideoVangelist User Reviews

Rate this app:

Palmharbor
24 September 2009
Simply it does not work. Tried converting WMP files to DV and after 20 minutes of processing it produced nothing. I tried three times but got zip. Worth what you pay for it.
Like
Version 2.1.6
Nathancollings
14 September 2009
I am already a registered ivideo converter user but I was curious and wanted to try this converter too. Without going into details it lacks in many aspects. It just does not cut it in today standards. It has a crap interface, to few options, had some apple scripts error and so on. The asking price is fortunality kept low but it is still not worth registering. 2 stars.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.5
Applejack78
29 August 2009
A two star rating isn't much so I do not expect much either. Downloaded it anyway because I like the screenshot interface. Things I noticed: - The screenshot is not how the program is looking. In fact it is plain different and not very good. - Dragging has a strange behavior. After you dragged a file it sweeps back to the folder. - PSP converted files do not play on my PSP3000. - Even on good to best quality mode it still produce mediocre movie quality. Why can I not choose a bitrate my self? - Only 16/9 and 4/3 aspect ratios. - 2 pass encoding doesnt work correct. In fact it gives the same result as 1 pass. - Stitching 2 files didnt work either. Got a applescript error. Possible there are other issues to be solved also. At version 2.x this is not convincing for me.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.4
djmacintosh
29 August 2009
This software is not based on the Techspansion source code. It is of my own development. It has been worked on and worked on for months and always works flawlessly on al the machines I test on. I wouldn't release it if it didn't work. Therefore, I wish I could give you a better reason as to why some users are experiencing problems with it, I haven't experienced them and neither have a grand multitude of people who use the product and are very happy and satisfied with it. However, there seems to be a ground swelling of people who seem destined to destroy the app at all costs for what reason I do not know. Rest assured the app and it's descendants will be around for a very long time to come.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.4
2 answer(s)
Applejack78
Applejack78
29 August 2009
That is just plain ignorance and saying all users having problems with videovangelist are stupid and have a flawed setup. Ok, if one or two people having problems with your tool it could be the setup. Apparently plenty of people have issues with videovangelist. So do I. I too got applescript errors ones in a while. Is my setup flawed? No it is not. I do not have any issues with other tools. Maybe your setup has something installed most users doesnt have? I did try three different converters for converting to my psp and yours came out the worst. Sorry.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.4
Robotank
Robotank
14 September 2009
I find that comment extremely hard to swallow. I really don't think that the people claiming to have problems with VV (including me) are doing it for our own amusement or out of some wanton desire to ruin your product's reputation. If I give you the benefit of the doubt and assume that you're not lying through your teeth, then I'm left to wonder how your results (and allegedly the results of the "vast majority" of VV users) can be so different from what many of us posting here on MU are getting. Is it a testing issue? Your website states that you don't have an Intel Mac yet; are you getting someone with an Intel Mac to test VV for you before you release builds? Also, you consistently post fixes for very serious issues that that call into question your claim that VV works flawlessly for you. I'm also curious as to why more of your supposedly satisfied users aren't posting positive reviews of VV. In any case, I ask you to consider this: you clearly have a substantial number of unsatisfied customers who are having serious problems with your software (again, we are NOT making these issues up). All we've gotten from you in response to comments about problems is flat out denial that the problems exist, and very questionable claims about VV's quality. Moreover, having paid for VV 1 and never having had it work properly, your releasing version 2 as a paid upgrade after only several months struck me as a deliberate and dishonest money-grab tactic. It's true that I don't want you to have a good reputation on MU, and that's because you don't deserve one. MacUpdate gives customers a voice, and so as a very dissatisfied customer I want to 1) prevent other people from getting ripped off, and 2) prevent developers who don't deserve anyone's money (that's you at this point) to continue to get paid for their sub-par products and weak customer support. Why don't you try responding to your customers and really addressing their issues instead of resorting to denials and half-baked retorts?
Like
Version 2.1.5
Teslanaut
29 August 2009
The people who are working from the source code put up by Techspansion are doing way better than you are. And they release it for FREE! Look for it people. FilmRedux and TranscoderRedux. Oh, and let's not forget Handbrake.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.4
1 answer(s)
Mrelcee
Mrelcee
14 September 2009
In the spirit of Visualhub, let me just point out you forgot to mention Visualhub. That still works great. :)
Like (3)
Version 2.1.5
Russ-Mw-Messana
26 August 2009
In two words, 'stay away'. Almost nothings works. I do a conversion, and 30 min later it says it is done but can't be found anyplace on the disk. Even doing a conversion and telling it to store it on the desktop and nothing shows up. Go to the web site and go to the forums, and get an error message the forum does not exists. OK, email the developer of all the problems, and no response. None. At the best, this program is a beta 0.1 at best. I am going to ask MacUpdate for a refund. This is a rip.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.2
Barry-Coony
17 August 2009
Bad reviews already but I still wanted to download this and give it a swing. A big download that is! +100MB But that's ok if it is a good app. First, I don't know what the developer was thinking about when creating the bottom half of the interface. A mess! Apple wouldn't be proud of this. Dragging some small (about 5mb) video files into the window worked but the file was bounced back to the window? Strange effect. The big QT logo in front of each folder/file name is unnecessary. Choosing the MP4 format and press the (ugly - not OS X like) start button. It says 'Preparing conversion..'. Some minutes - - - more minutes - - - go to the toilet - - - I am back - - - still doing some 'preparing' - - - got a coca cola - - - and hey presto I got a Applescript error: cat: /private/var/folders/9F/9FbX280pGROa3uVhuhwsOE+++TI/TemporaryItems/videotmp3.txt: No such file or directory (1) Deleted the file and tried the next video file with MPEG settings. It starts again with 'Preparing conversion ..'. After some seconds the progressbar vanished and it still saying it 'Preparing conversion..'. Some minutes later it finally starts converting. But boy - - - this is S L O O O W. I mean, this file is 5mb in size and it already took so long to do actually preparing and a bit of converting. After some more minutes it finished converting. Playing the converted file on VLC worked but the quality wasn't very high and it was a bit disappointing seeing it took so long to convert. I was expecting a very high quality. Tried a simple RSS feed but it gave me another error. Didn't go into this because I had seen enough. Browsed some more features (what the hell is the 'Run as root (sudo)' option?) and I knew enough. This converter is Bad with a capital B. Even the worst free converter gives better quality and above all faster operating. My opinion: - It is still buggy - Very slow converting even on my iMac 2.96 Duo Core - Average quality - Not user friendly interface Not recommended !
Like (8)
Version 2.1.2
Lampoon
03 August 2009
Tried it on my MacBook Pro 15 OSX 10.5.7 Installed all libraries (is there a uninstall??). I can confirm they most are outdated. Converting about 10 MP4 files. 2 work and all the rest failed for various reasons. Some had bad quality, some had wrong aspect ratio and for one it just freezed the app. Also tried to stitch two files together and it just stops reacting after a while doing nothing. Had to use Force Quit. 2 pass coding also has issues. The first time I used it it seems to work. Second time it just responded on top 'Conversion Complete' but nothing happened. Also, numerous times the main window just vanished. The menu was there but I could not show the main window. Tried everything but nothing helped except quitting and restarting. No offense to the developer but this just does not work very well. And I agree with the other users saying this is not usable and certainly not a app to recommend at this stage. For the sake of it I also checked this if it works on my iMac 24" with the latest build of OS X 10.6 10A421. And there are indeed problems. Seems it has some issues. The advertising said: 'In the spirit of VisualHub' ... to be honest? No it is not! Someone else mentioned Handbrake and imo this is the best free converter out there. FFMPEGX and iVideo Converter comes to a mutual second place but they are not free.
Like (10)
Version 2.1
blablabla-1
02 August 2009
FYI the app is 50 MB, the rest are (likely outdated?)stuff which you have to install seperatly. I wouldn't do that! I extracted the stuff with "unpkg" and here is what's inside the 3 packages: Package "LibraryInstaller" (65 MB): a folder "lib" with 172 MB content. I was surprised. It contains a complete Perl-Installation (5.8.9, 31 MB) and many aliases and many many files. NOT trustworthy. There are two other packages which installs "reallib" and "rp9codecs-macosx-20041107". Looks antique. 2004? That was 5 years ago. Conclusion: this depends on too much stuff. Beware! No wonder it does not work. I wouldn't install anything.
Like (6)
Version 2.1
Pontines
01 August 2009
A hefty download. Almost 100MB for a program just doing some converting? That's just plain silly if you compare other comparable programs. OK then, for starters the interface doesn't feel right to me. It wants to look like iTunes I guess but that doesn't mean it is functional for converting videos. Converting is the name of the game : I have tried to convert some file to PSP and PS3 and both failed to work on my PSP and PS3. They just do not want to play except showing the first frame.Tried the same files with Handbrake and iVideoConverter and both resulted in working PSP and PS3 files. It also have a lot of problems with 5.1 and 7 channels files. In fact, three I tried did not convert. Handbrake and iVideoConverter doesn't have any problem with these. In short - this program is not worth any penny. It fails in almost every test I did. Avoid this at all costs ! Other free apps do work.
Like (10)
Version 2.1
Brad-Laue
07 July 2009
This application is lacking in every respect. As an attempt to replace VIsualHub it falls far short. In 5 minutes of usage I ran into many shortcomings, including the inability to transcode surround audio tracks, inability to passthrough audio and video tracks, as well as multiple types of applescript errors causing the application to abort. This app is not the replacement for VisualHub that everyone is waiting for. A much closer step in this direction is "iVideo Converter" which I highly recommend checking out, though until its featureset matures I'll be continuing to use a mixture of HandBrake and QuickTime based applications to get the job done. Waste of money.
Like (7)
Version 2.0.1
Robotank
06 July 2009
Is this developer serious? He releases version 1 of this app, which never worked properly, then less than a year later he brings out version 2 and wants an upgrade fee? Is this supposed to be a bad joke? Version 2 should be a free upgrade--maybe if it actually worked properly it would begin to make up for the fiasco that was version 1. Further evidence that this dev is clueless: for a while he was distributing a cracked version of Mac The Ripper 3 on his web site, seemingly totally unaware that it wasn't free, which is strange because the version he had must have come from a torrent site. Stay miles away from this guy. I don't know if he's actually dishonest or just grossly incompetent, but I would certainly never send him another penny for his badly written software.
Like (6)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Pontines
Pontines
01 August 2009
Let me asure you : 2.1 is the same crap It just doesn't work
Like (5)
Version 2.1
26cab40
29 June 2009
VideoVangelist cannot change the codec in an AVI, in fact, it does not specify what codec it is using ? AVI is a container, you need to be able to change the codec and the details should change as it changes. Cannot select H264 in an MP4. 2:35 ratio does not exist. Nor does the .mkv container. Nor 720P or 1080P. I can select an NTSC region in the MP4 settings ??? but still set the frame rate to 25fps, picky I know, but still. There is a LONG way to go here, for now I'll stick to using VisualHub & Handbrake.
Like (4)
Version 2.0
pnn314
29 June 2009
New VideoVangelist 2.0 does not work for me (computer with Russian localization). After launching the App it writes: AppleScript Error Invalid day and time 30èþíÿ 2009 ã.. (-30720). Regards, Nikolay
Like (1)
Version 2.0
GeogProf
10 May 2009
I apologize to anyone who took offense to my use of such strong language in my criticism of this software and its developer. Sometimes I get stuck in a linguistic mode in which nothing but superlatives will suffice, and it is then that I am the dumbest, meanest, and most useless commentator. I especially apologize to the developer, who is obviously a person of good intent, and who clearly has much greater skill than I in the creation of software. Having said that (and truly meant it), here is my review of VideoVangelist (from memory) that disappeared from this site for reasons unknown, plus an update. The MacUpdate moderator asked that I submit a constructive review of this app rather than the stupid vitriol I issued earlier. In part, my last comments were in reaction to what I thought was unfair removal of an earlier review of VideoVangelist I posted here in February, but the review probably disappeared because of my own technological stupidity rather than editorial malice. Anyway, here is a description of my experiences with this app, which seem to track pretty closely with others' here. Around Feb. 8, 2009, I installed VideoVangelist 1.2 and its libraries -- installing the libraries was against my better judgement because the installer did not include an uninstaller (it still doesn't), and now those libraries lurk without purpose somewhere on my hard drive. (If possible, could the developer please post instructions on how to remove them?). I setup an H.264 2-pass encode at "best" quality on a 2.07 MB MPEG-4 .mov file. Right off the bat mencoder crashed. Why was VV using mencoder on an H.264 file anyway? There are much more efficient means to decode/re-encode H.264. I thought that perhaps the libraries' installation had somehow gone awry, so I reinstalled them. However, the app crashed 4 more times before I finally got it to work its way way through the whole 90-second movie, then it unceremoniously finished. The 2 MB movie of my 3-year-old son playing the harmonica -- a file that played without problem in every movie app on my then-new 2.4 GHz Intel MacBook with 4 GB of RAM running OS 10.5.6 -- had been converted into a 34 MB file that was unplayable by the latest versions of VLC, Chroma, QTAmateur, Movist, MPlayer OSEx Extended, and QuickTime 7.6 with Perian. Thank goodness I had the foresight to uncheck the "Overwrite existing output files" setting which, when I first started up the app, was selected by default! I uninstalled VV, reinstalled it and the libraries, then tried converting several different filetypes into several other formats, with no success at all. Then today with the new version 1.5 -- 19 iterations after version 1.2 -- I tried to do the same things on both my MacBook and my Intel iMac, all at the "best" quality setting, and I got the mencoder crash again several times and none of those conversions worked. I did get a .wmv to .avi conversion to work, but the resulting .avi was noticeably of much poorer quality than the original. I am convinced that ROBOTANK, myself and others who have criticized the developer's refusal to test VideoVangelist on ANY Intel Macs have identified VideoVangelist's biggest problem. I think it is impeding the developer's progress and probably wasting his time. The app simply does not work on Intel Macs (at least not mine, ROBOTANK's, and others'), and his comment [below] on May 6 flies in the face of just about every Mac developer's experience: "The app does work. I have two PowerPC computers in my house and I test everything on both. Numerous tests are fun on all kinds of media and I wouldn't release anything unless I found it worked. I have only received a handful of issues over the life of the app. Having an intel mac or non intel mac makes no difference, it's the OS that is consistent between both processors. Since I only have the two PowerPC macs and all the tests I run work out, I release the app assuming that OS X is the same on PowerPC as on Intel." - This is the root of VideoVangelist's problem. It does not work on Intel Macs, and the developer refuses to test it on one to confirm that. I'm sorry that I must give VV such a bad rating, but I vigorously tested it on 2 different Intel Macs and failed to get it to work even once, unless you count the very poor quality conversion mentioned above. I am moderately well skilled at using several free, shareware and even a couple of high end commercial video applications, including VisualHub (VV's forebear) and now FilmRedux and TranscoderRedux (both VisualHub's progeny), so it's not a competency issue. It just won't work.
Like (4)
Version 1.5
Hdrob
25 April 2009
Consistent updates come due to constant feedback from customers and those who want to see a new easy to use video converter. I use the software extensively myself for a number of different reasons. When and if I find a bug or an issue with certain video files, I fix it and release an update. Lately VersionTracker and MacUpdate have been picking up on my beta releases and not the currently released version. Please visit the website http://www.whimsplucky.com to get the most recent release.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.5b3
1 answer(s)
Robotank
Robotank
03 May 2009
The non-beta releases suffer from just as many problems as the beta releases. The last comment I wrote was based on version 1.4.4; maybe I should have specified that. In any case, I'm not slandering this app for my health. I really have had almost nothing but bad experiences with it since I registered. Please fix it! I want to like VV, and I'd love to see a something that could take the mantle from VisualHub, but so far, VV isn't making the cut.
Like (1)
Version 1.5b1
Robotank
25 April 2009
Avoid this app at all costs. The two-star review I gave it was far too generous. It does almost nothing right. I tried to convert a 45-minute TV show from MP4 to AVI. With the quality slider on best (which is the default setting), it produced a 5 GB (yes, that's 5 gigabytes for a 45-minutes show) file and changed the aspect ratio (from anamorphic 16:9 to 4:3). I ran the conversion again, this time limiting the file size to 500 MB in the advanced settings, and it produced a useless 96 KB file. This crap, on top of the numerous problems I had with its to-DVD conversion tool, has absolutely convinced me that the developer of this application doesn't have a clue what he's doing. I've never seen an application that appears this badly written. The dev releases updates all the time that add new features and allegedly fix bugs, yet the most basic features still don't work. I really don't know how he could be unaware of all the numerous problems with the app. This program is absolute rubbish--avoid it!
Like (1)
Version 1.4.5b3
Dlwhite
14 April 2009
I haven't tried this yet, but I really hope the developer gets it right. VisualHub left some BIG shoes to fill, and I haven't found the perfect replacement yet. Keep at it, Devs! When the software is ready for primetime, you'll have a legion of supporters waiting for it!
Like
Version 1.4.3
Robotank
01 April 2009
This application looked hopeful, but things have not turned out well. I ended up buying it despite almost universally negative reviews for one reason and one reason only: it decodes MP4 (with H.264 video and AAC audio) files for conversion to DVD using ffmpeg instead of movtoy (like VH) and so does it in a tiny fraction of the time. Since it does manage to fulfill this one requirement, I'm not entirely displeased. Overall, however, I can't recommend this app. Its feature set is nice (or would be if it worked properly) and its price is reasonable, but its general level of buginess suggests an application that is either badly written or should still be in the alpha stage. For example, through the process of converting an MP4 to DVD I encountered the following issues: 1) The size estimator of the resulting DVD image doesn't work at all so there's no way of knowing whether the image will fit on a DVD-5. 2) Even though I had selected no change to the aspect ratio, it automatically converted the movie from 16:9 to 4:3. I had to select the 16:9 option just to prevent it from doing this. This function should work like VisualHub's option to force an aspect ratio, so selecting nothing should conserve the existing one. 3) The option to burn after DVD authoring didn't work because the image ended up being too big for a DVD-5. That would be fine except that the app never tells you there's a problem at any stage (neither before the conversion when you select a DVD size and the burn option nor after the conversion when it realizes it can't burn the image); it just does nothing. I think, for his own sake, the developer should pull this product from sale until he can work out the kinks. As it is now, the bad reviews are going to keep piling up and hurting his chances of future sales even if he does manage to improve the app. Check out HandBrake and/or MPEG2 Works 4 instead of this.
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Dr-Jones
05 March 2009
Bought this in hopes of replacing VH after several versions and a beta from the developer this program is not ready to be released. Does not convert .avi or .mkv for Apple TV when finished there are errors movie will not play. Deos not hold your setup every time you load the program you have to resize your window choose Apple TV and where you want to save your file, I would like to set up software just once and convert video and be done lack of foresight. The developer has tryed 6 times to get me a version that works but none do so Im back to handbreak. $10 is very reasonable price but the software should do what it say's. I have requested a refund but that has not happened, hopefully this review will wake up the developer to get off his a$$ and check the software before it is released.
Like (5)
Version 1.3
Robotank
05 February 2009
This looks pretty decent. It's comparable to VisualHub in terms of features and the extent of possible customization. My only issue with the demo is that it's really hard to gauge the speed with the two-minute encoding limitation. This app may help fill the gap left by VH, but it will have to compete with the free alternatives: HandBrake (which now accepts many different input sources, though doesn't convert to DVD), and whatever the app is called that's being built on the open-source release of the VH code.
Like (1)
Version 1.2