Back to MozyHome page
MozyHome free download for Mac

MozyHome Reviews

2.16.1
20 January 2017

Online backup service; free 2GB account.

pandora-1
30 October 2009

Most helpful

I had been using Mozy for the Mac since it was in beta in 2007. Things had been going along pretty smoothly until August of this year (2009) when suddenly connections would be dropped when backing up either of our two computers. I ran several network speed tests and all passed with upload and download speeds right at my ISP's specs. I uploaded and downloaded several gigs of files to my remote host and never encountered sluggish or complete shutdowns in speed. I was completely satisfied that my Macs and my network connection were reliable. When I contacted Mozy "support," I got no response for a week. I sent multiple messages and included my primary and alternate email addresses as well as my phone number. Still no luck except an automated response providing me with a trouble ticket number. I had had an email correspondence with one of their technical engineers in March or April so I began copying him on my emails. Even those went unanswered. I found that Mozy had been acquired by some larger (ie cost-cutting) firm and one of the things that went by-by was the toll-free tech support number. There was no way to easily get in touch with Mozy support! I tried the "live chat" route and had a drone on the other end who had no inkling of what I was trying to describe as my problem, even though I was copy-pasting info from the Mozy log into the chat window. She went off onto tangents, such as "What's your ISP?" "Uh, Comcast." "Oh, yes, Comcast has been known to have service disruptions in the past. Do you like lamb and curry?" I thought that well, every ISP has had disruptions in the past but I can prove that that wasn't the case with me. I located the Mozy Business services blog and wrote a comment at random to one of the blogger's recent posts, begging him to get someone to contact me and help me get my backups working. A week later (now nearly three weeks into my odyssey) he responded and appeared to take some semblance of ownership of my case. Also at that point I simply wanted a refund of the unused amount of my advance subscription. Done he told me. Nothing further happened, no further contact with me. Then I researched the company and found the VP in charge of Decho (Mozy) and wrote him a letter sent by the old-fashioned way - the USPS. No response. Dog-gone it. What is with this outfit where no one gives a flying teabag about a customer's problems? Finally, on October 14, six weeks into this journey to nowhere, I get a note from someone informing me that my credit card account has been credited with the balance on my subscription. I quickly went to my CC online service center to verify (and to take a screen grab!) that I had finally been credited. This outfit used to be really responsive. Now they simply wade about in copious amounts of deep kaka. Furthermore, the treatment I received has demonstrated yet again how truly awful off-shore tech support has become. Can you spell i-n-d-i-a? Very precise English but not an ounce of technical expertise or individual initiative. Why did no one take total ownership and responsibility of my case? Why did no one telephone me as I had suggested? Because those are things not spelled out in the little drone handbook and script they read from. If you're looking for mission critical cloud backups, Mozy is NOT for you. However, if you enjoy online mystery or hidden object games, then try Mozy - see if you can find the hidden tech support engineer within five calendar days. Bonus points if you find the lamb & curry.
Like (11)
Version 1.5.2.1

Read 37 MozyHome User Reviews

Rate this app:

JoanneB9139
12 February 2014
False promises. There's nothing that can annoy me more than that. Speed sucks, backup isn't entirely reliable, the cost is unreasonable. Good luck guys. My Mac is better off without you.
Like
Version 2.12.2
Prince-Isaac
18 January 2013
Good grief, is this sucker still in business? And just wow, a whole TWO GIGS free! How can they afford that with all the other el cheapo cloud backup sites around giving away 3, 4, oven 5+ free GB (like Sugarsync, Skydrive, ZipCloud...).
Like (1)
Version 2.9.0.585
1 answer(s)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
18 January 2013
oops! ZipCloud is Windoze only. I meant iCloud. :-( Give me a frownie.
Like (3)
pcharles
08 May 2012
Mozy was my first cloud backup solution, but I have just abandoned it for Backblaze due to their switch from the unlimited plan. Even though I am not backing up a huge amount (200-300 GB of mostly photos and some movies) the new plan would more than double my current cost. Backblaze, however, will let me do this for $4 per month with a two year subscription. Mozy offers a few more features, file "sharing" access, and a mobile app, but I have never used any of those features. I just want an inexpensive, fast, and reliable backup solution. If you have less than 125GB to backup then Mozy is still an excellent choice, but not if you have a lot more. I've also found the Mozy application/prefpane to be a little slower at uploading than Backblaze, and a little more buggy. It tends to stop backing up a little more often than Backblaze, which on my network (3MBit/s) chomped through about 30GBytes per day!
Like
Version 2.6.0
Frankof
09 March 2012
Generally not bad as a backup solution, but after Mozy has abandoned the unlimited data plan it became way too expensive. I cancelled my account when they changed their pricing and I was supposed to pay FIVE TIMES the amount I paid for the unlimited plan before (for less than 200GB). This is also around FIVE TIMES more than I pay now to a competitor. And, I have to add, the competitor has an excellent customer support (which Mozy traditionally lacks). I can only advise everyone who has to work for his/her money: stay clear of Mozy unless they go back to a competitive pricing!
Like (3)
Version 2.5.3
Imacjohan
22 January 2012
Support can be much better! I asked them to stop the automatic renewal of the subscription! They simply answered they cannot! On my further question why they cannot they didn't even answer!
Like (2)
Version 2.5.1
2 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
09 March 2012
I would be telling them "I can no longer continue to use your service, then."
Like
pcharles
pcharles
08 May 2012
They do say on their web page that if you do not want auto renewal, you should cancel your subscription. I think it is reasonable because they do not want the expense of bugging people who do not pay on time, or dealing with people who complain when their backup is deleted for not paying. That, however, does not excuse them for ignoring your emails.
Like
SickTeddyBear
10 November 2011
I noticed this in the readme file: "Mozy may protect you from a zombie invasion in a post-apocalyptic environment." Can someone elaborate on this feature? I come across zombies all the time in the workplace, while I'm out shopping, and on Facebook, and I'm wondering if this might also be useful in dealing with them?
Like (6)
Version 2.4.1
1 answer(s)
pcharles
pcharles
08 May 2012
There is only one solution for zombies and that is to put plants around your house that kill zombies!
Like
denny-volkardt
16 July 2011
great concept - using it to back up 2 Macs (MBP & Mac MIni - including the full itunes lib) and one Windows machine. The initial backup takes quite a while; but once done you don't feel the thing is running. Backup's and transfer is encrypted. Strongly recommend
Like
Version 2.2.1
Tubo
08 April 2011
1 - all given links here are dead, no immediate download, mozy.com asks to register first. 2 - I used mozy after very positive reviews in german c't – over a year, but ended in zero support (stability issues). My account has vanished. Actually mozy.com attempts to trick the user in a payed model – I got an ad-mail a few days ago saying 'why don't you come to backup all your data for a monthly 6$' - that doesn't exist at all (no flat). 3 - https://mozy.de/home/download gives links for downloads, but not for the version announced here... -> Stay away. PS: Rating (stars) here in MU was much simpler before...
Like
Version 2.2.1
3 answer(s)
Vince-nt
Vince-nt
09 April 2011
You can download the lastest version of Mozy US here : http://mozy.com/home/download Mozy UK/DE/FR/... has a different app.
Like
Vince-nt
Vince-nt
09 April 2011
Link for Europe is http://mozyhomeeurope.mozypro.com/downloads/MozyHomeEurope-2_2_1_155.dmg
Like
Tubo
Tubo
09 April 2011
@Vince.nt Thanks for your second link - worked. The first is switched back to .de
Like
Frankof
17 February 2011
I've been using Mozy for over a year, and it was generally working very well. My subscription is good for another years, but I will certainly not extend it now after the new prices came out. In my case, I backup a modest 160GB, and the new price would be more than three times higher than now. One other thing I noticed a few days ago, and which I suspect to have happened "on purpose": I got an error that a required file was missing, and after Mozy resumed it showed me that it had to upload many GB of Data. I was suspicious, looked into what happened, and saw that the backup set now EXcluded my folders with photos and videos. Which for me was around 100GB of important information that was now EXcluded from backup. Basically exactly the data why I have bought an online backup solution. I have heard that at least one other person had exactly the same "problem". So, guys, check your backup sets in the Mozy home program, and manually INclude your important data again.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.2.94
2 answer(s)
appleHQ
appleHQ
08 April 2011
I cannot go into details but someone gave me informations that mozy one lost a complete set of customers backups. And they never gave that information out to the affected customers. So everyone thought to be a single case. Clever.. but not very honest.
Like
Frankof
Frankof
08 April 2011
what can I say, I am not surprised.
Like
jreffner
02 February 2011
Well, I've used Mozy for about 3 years and I've been happy with it. Now, with the new pricing scheme, it's going to cost me about $220 per year and that doesn't include any room for expansion. With Carbonite bing $56 a month, and with the performance, features, and ease being very equal between the two services, I certainly won't be staying. Honestly, I don't know why anyone would stay. True, uploading all of your data again will suck, but not as much as paying 4 or 5 times as much each month. Mozy, you've been good, but now you're even better... for Carbonite!
Like (6)
Version 2.0.1.20
anonymous-aardvark-2083
01 February 2011
I just received this in my mail box: ———————————————— Thanks for being a valued Mozy subscriber. For the first time since 2006, we’re adjusting the price of our MozyHome service and wanted to give you a heads up. As part of this change, we’re replacing our MozyHome Unlimited backup plan and introducing the following tiered storage plans: 50 GB for $5.99 per month (includes backup for 1 computer) 125 GB for $9.99 per month (includes backup for up to 3 computers) You may add additional computers (up to 5 in total) or 20 GB increments of storage to either of the plans, each for a monthly cost of $2.00. ———————————————— I normally never take the time to respond to things like these but this time I just have to: Wow! That's a 360% price increase in my case. That just doesn't make any sense — especially after what you put your customers through when you had those serious technical issues recently! I've never experienced anything like this before! I'm off! Good luck to you and your company!
Like (7)
Version 2.0.1.20
jemywhite1
29 December 2010
Great app, no need to describe how it simplifies the process of files' sharing!
Like
Version 2.0.1.20
1 answer(s)
Thyx
Thyx
16 March 2011
Ehm, the comments for working apps are over there…
Like
Boyle22
22 November 2010
I'm using it for a month only, but I'm totally satisfied - I can share any files I need - that's great!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.0
Mac3blade
22 November 2010
I've used Mozy for the last two years and have had a great experience. The free 2 GB account will backup the majority of you docs aside from music and photos. The developers are very quick to address support issues.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.0
Bordsenius
23 August 2010
I've used Mozy for 8 months now, and things generally work ok. The client is a bit of a CPU hog at times, but considering the price and the fact that i have backed up almost 1000 Gigabytes for 5 dollars a month, I can live with that. It has saved me a few lost fiels I use time machine for my daily backups, and mozy for weekly backups. In that way it does not get too intrusive.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.3
Mozy came a long way, from not being able to install when a Filevault image was present to long hangs, unexplained crashes and terrible performance. However things are a lot better now. There are regular updates, support in my experience takes your claim serious but can't always solve it immediately and performance keeps getting better. The free alternative works well if you consider the price and their efforts to build a Mac backup client (that supports a private key) that will backup your most essential files when you're away from your comfy Time Capsule deserves a better review IMHO than those listed here. Now why does one client has the 'all documents' option and mine doesn't? ;)
Like (2)
Version 1.7.2
Prospero
26 March 2010
Actually I don´t understand all these negative posts here. I use Mozy for quite some time now and all I can say is that it´s very very reliable.
Like
Version 1.7.1
1 answer(s)
pandora-1
pandora-1
06 May 2010
Prospero, the negative comments generally describe exactly what's wrong with Mozy. These comments are not written as works of fiction but rather describe various users' experiences with Mozy. In my own case I never could get anyone's attention for a very real problem. This is not a negative attitude on my part but simply writing about my own experiences and the total lack of support. Of course, as with every piece of software or service, you own mileage may vary. If Mozy works well for you, that's great.
Like (8)
Version 1.7.3
Zafal
26 March 2010
With me this tool was hardly working. It permanently lost the right data size on the server side, which could be recovered then lost again then couldn't be recovered. I was over weeks just busy with the support getting it to work again which isn't much of a backup. As soon as I said I had enough of Mozy and wanted to cancel my membership as it was not working as a backup tool the communication so far is on hold (for two weeks by now) as my case is "transferred".
Like (7)
Version 1.7.1
Krioni
02 February 2010
Just tried this new version after having it not installed for a couple months (and totally non-functional for a couple before that!). Still _KILLS_ the performance on your computer. I have mine throttled as far as upload, but that didn't stop it from immediately attempting a backup process. After examining files for a half hour, it showed that it was starting a backup, which involved another ten minutes of "Communicating with server." MozyHome.app crashed the first time I tried to open it. The Console.app shows the following error multiple times: CoreEndianFlipData: error -4940 returned for rsrc type FREF (id 129, length 7, native = no) Whatever that means. In short, still the same slow, bloated mess. Find something else would be my recommendation - it's clear to me that whoever is developing this software cannot build a product that runs well on Macs. Oh, when I clicked Stop it took several minutes to do so. And, my fans kicked into gear once it showed that it HAD stopped. I opened Activity Monitor and found that the MozyHomeBackup process was using about 100% CPU (maxing out one of my MacBook Pro's dual cores), heating up my Mac when it was supposed to be doing nothing! Force Quit that. Uninstalling again. Don't tell me to contact Support - last time I tried to work with them was a nightmare. I clearly described a problem with the Mac OS X version and they responded with Windows troubleshooting steps. Once I finally got through to a "Mac" support person, the troubleshooting advice was to wipe out everything and start from a clean install. Did so, it worked for less than a week before the same problems came back. Of course, if you have more than 10 or 20 GB of backup data, that week-long window of functionality is less time than it takes to make a successful full backup.
Like (5)
Version 1.6.1
Sgginc
01 February 2010
I tried this because backing up apps like Address Book and Ical required just a check box and knowing where the files where located was not necessary. Program failed to backup the files and froze frequently. Terrible program! Ken
Like (7)
Version 1.6.1
Thyx
20 January 2010
I'm at least glad to see that I'm not alone with the disastrous. Just filled out their survey. I truly believed the remaining Mac issues would be solved soon (and the trial worked quite well in late 2008) thyx
Like (3)
Version 1.6.0
chris984
15 December 2009
My experience with Mozy was terrible. It constantly lost its configuration, the handling of caches was corrupt all the time resulting in endless loops of rebuilding and the support was the worst. Never knew what the problem was, noone could me either. After reinstalling and setting everything up again and again, after a few times running the app, it lost its configuration again. Moreover, cpu and memory usage was unacceptable too. I lost a few days with this and wouldn't recommend this program in its current state to any mac user at all.
Like (4)
Version 1.5.2
2 answer(s)
Flying-meat
Flying-meat
15 December 2009
That all looks suspiciously like historical reference. What do you have to say about this specific version?
Like (2)
Version 1.5.2
chris984
chris984
15 December 2009
I tested Mozy a while back and didn't like it. Then I tried again recently (including version 1.5.2) because I thought I might not have given the program enough time. The experience was the same as before however. The only difference was that this time I didn't waste another few days with support inquiries that didn't amount to anything.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.2
pandora-1
30 October 2009
I had been using Mozy for the Mac since it was in beta in 2007. Things had been going along pretty smoothly until August of this year (2009) when suddenly connections would be dropped when backing up either of our two computers. I ran several network speed tests and all passed with upload and download speeds right at my ISP's specs. I uploaded and downloaded several gigs of files to my remote host and never encountered sluggish or complete shutdowns in speed. I was completely satisfied that my Macs and my network connection were reliable. When I contacted Mozy "support," I got no response for a week. I sent multiple messages and included my primary and alternate email addresses as well as my phone number. Still no luck except an automated response providing me with a trouble ticket number. I had had an email correspondence with one of their technical engineers in March or April so I began copying him on my emails. Even those went unanswered. I found that Mozy had been acquired by some larger (ie cost-cutting) firm and one of the things that went by-by was the toll-free tech support number. There was no way to easily get in touch with Mozy support! I tried the "live chat" route and had a drone on the other end who had no inkling of what I was trying to describe as my problem, even though I was copy-pasting info from the Mozy log into the chat window. She went off onto tangents, such as "What's your ISP?" "Uh, Comcast." "Oh, yes, Comcast has been known to have service disruptions in the past. Do you like lamb and curry?" I thought that well, every ISP has had disruptions in the past but I can prove that that wasn't the case with me. I located the Mozy Business services blog and wrote a comment at random to one of the blogger's recent posts, begging him to get someone to contact me and help me get my backups working. A week later (now nearly three weeks into my odyssey) he responded and appeared to take some semblance of ownership of my case. Also at that point I simply wanted a refund of the unused amount of my advance subscription. Done he told me. Nothing further happened, no further contact with me. Then I researched the company and found the VP in charge of Decho (Mozy) and wrote him a letter sent by the old-fashioned way - the USPS. No response. Dog-gone it. What is with this outfit where no one gives a flying teabag about a customer's problems? Finally, on October 14, six weeks into this journey to nowhere, I get a note from someone informing me that my credit card account has been credited with the balance on my subscription. I quickly went to my CC online service center to verify (and to take a screen grab!) that I had finally been credited. This outfit used to be really responsive. Now they simply wade about in copious amounts of deep kaka. Furthermore, the treatment I received has demonstrated yet again how truly awful off-shore tech support has become. Can you spell i-n-d-i-a? Very precise English but not an ounce of technical expertise or individual initiative. Why did no one take total ownership and responsibility of my case? Why did no one telephone me as I had suggested? Because those are things not spelled out in the little drone handbook and script they read from. If you're looking for mission critical cloud backups, Mozy is NOT for you. However, if you enjoy online mystery or hidden object games, then try Mozy - see if you can find the hidden tech support engineer within five calendar days. Bonus points if you find the lamb & curry.
Like (11)
Version 1.5.2.1
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
15 December 2009
. > "… Do you like lamb and curry?" "Why yes, I do. Thankyousomuch for asking."
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
Franko
29 October 2009
While I have none of the problems aforementioned by fellow users, 1 problem that still keeps me away if Mozy's annoying feature which disallows my Mac from sleeping as per Energy Saver settings. The same, btw, exists for iDrive so I'm quickly running out of offsite backup solutions :(
Like (3)
Version 1.5.2.1
Rmf
29 October 2009
I quit Mozy after more two years as a paying customer and beta tester. The product failed to do scheduled backups and went through a multi-day seemingly endless "restore" routine on their servers that merely recreated my old data. This left me without useable offsite backups for newly created data for the 10 days that this restoration process went on. This happened twice in a 60 day period. They had no solution other than deleting and reinstalling. There was never a satisfactory explanation or fix. Their support service was TERRIBLE. I cannot emphasize enough how bad Mozy support is. Imagine the worst in the industry and then some. I could not get a straight answer or solution to the problem despite dozens of emails and attempts to use their on-line support system. It was endless mindless email replies from South Asia that did did not respond to the problem and offered nothing but "solutions" from the procedures manual. I corresponded at length with purported Mozy engineers in Utah. Responses were slow or non-existent. There was never a solution to the problem. I was told repeatedly that a new update would fix the problem. There were at least 2 during this period, but the problem would come back despite the purported fix. Even trying to cancel was a huge annoyance as I had to make a long distance phone call to Utah to get it done. Since an offsite backup that isn't reliable is useless I quit and went with Backblaze.
Like (8)
Version 1.5.2.1
1 answer(s)
pandora-1
pandora-1
30 October 2009
Your experiences mirror mine (see review above). I've heard that there's such a backlash of anger against Souther Asia support centers that some web sites have a "badge" or something indicating that all tech support is US-based. Wish I could remember where I saw that. Everyone in the market for mission critical software such as cloud backup or remote site hosting should ask one question: "Where is your tech support center located?" If they answer South Asia, you should say something like, "Sorry, no thanks." and hang up. This whole notion of outsourcing tech support to people with impeccable English that lack any inspiration or initiative is coming back to bite the outsourcing firms. I'd really rather deal with someone in the Ukraine or Lithuania whose English might not be perfect but who easily understands the issues and knows how to think rather than flip through a box of index cards with scripts on them.
Like (4)
Version 1.5.2.1
Bluestar
23 October 2009
I just updated from a previous version. Opening the file selection window tells me no files are selected when there are about a dozen. Also, I asked the MOZY team to indicate the release DATE for the software downloads on their downloads page not just the Fing version number, so one doesn't have to go to their MOZY on the computer and through several clicks find the app and its version number. This should be really simple. They are too lazy to do so. I've uninstalled this program.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.1.5
Steve-Copley
21 October 2009
I've been using Mozy for about a year and a half. I've recommended it to friends and family (Windows PCs). But I'm now probably going to stop using it and change to either CrashPlan or SpiderOak (I'm trying out both this week before making my final decision). Why? It's not the interface / features - I really like how Mozy works and how nicely it fits in with OS X (clean, consistent UI). It's the intermittent connection issues I've had. As I write I have 2.5GB of updates to upload (some new pics in iPhoto) and Mozy has been attempting to upload them for almost 5 days. It's managed 300MB so far. The log file is full of 'failed to write to output stream' errors. A live-chat to support resulted in some fiddling with my account (at their end) and uploads beginning - but this only lasted for a short time. A subsequent e-mail has so far not been responded to (3 days). The connection issues are definitely Mozy-related - CrashPlan and SpiderOak are happily using my (slow) Internet connection to upload a bunch of files right now without complaint. Mozy is stuck at 0.0% as always. When I was having similar issues in the past I was instructed to re-install the client and that it would 're-sync' with the files already uploaded. It didn't and I was faced with waiting 2 weeks whilst all my files uploaded again. Not good. Frankly, you want any back-up scheme to be reliable and trouble-free. My experience with Mozy has been neither. Time to switch. SC
Like (4)
Version 1.5.0.9
2 answer(s)
Rasputinsrevenge
Rasputinsrevenge
23 October 2009
I dismissed Mozy to. Now I'm very happy with DropBox although it is not a pure backup solution it does its Job very well with symlinks (need little effort to set up).
Like (2)
Version 1.5.1.5
Steve-Copley
Steve-Copley
23 October 2009
Oh joy... (Remember: I've been waiting for a couple of GBs of files to upload for *days* now) I just installed the latest version of Mozy (it mentioned something about a fix for timed-out connections - the problem I've recently encountered) and I got the following... Status: 'Uploading 0/0 files, 0.0% complete' for a few minutes Then: 'Your files are backed up. 0 files updated during last backup. 1.2GB of storage space used' 1.2GB??? So, Mozy, where are the other 30GB of files that I've already backed up with you?! Do I need to upload them again? (Ha! At the rate I've experienced over the past week, this'll take about 2 years!) What about the older revisions of the files I had backed up? Gone?! Lost? Copies of deleted files that you supposedly retain for me? Gone?! Very unhappy about this. The final straw... uninstalling Mozy tomorrow.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1.5
Tpressman
26 August 2009
I just had to do this uninstall, reinstall, reconfigure a week ago. I am uninstalling Mozy and switching to another product. Mozy is causing corruption in it's own configuration on a regular, consistent basis. For this reason, it is useless. Between the high memory use and guaranteed self-corruption, what's the point? -Trevor On Aug 26, 2009, at 6:38 AM, Shekhar Sengunthar wrote: Hi Trevor, Thank you for contacting Mozy Technical Support. I understand that the backups are not working. I have checked your log file, and the Mozy client configuration is corrupt. We'll have to reinstall the Mozy client. I suggest you to follow the following steps: 1) Please uninstall the current version without saving the Configuration. 2) Reboot the computer(Very important), and install the latest client from the following link: https://mozy.com/downloads/mozy-1_4_3_3-7023.dmg Run a backup, and let me know the result. Based on your reply I'll update your ticket. I look forward to hear from you. Have a great day! Best Regards, Shekhar Technical Support Representative Mozy Support Mozy Support hours 24/7/365 Please visit the following website to access our support knowledge base: http://support.mozy.com Ticket Details Case ID: IAV-907618
Like (7)
Version 1.4.3
1 answer(s)
pandora-1
pandora-1
04 September 2009
At least you received same-day response. I've been sending log files for over a week for connection errors 1 and 3, for client errors (which they say to reinstall Mozy and if that fails, to send a report with log files to Mozy support). I finally accessed a chat person (from guess where? Right - India) whose written English was pretty terrible. I spent more time asker that person to reword the answer, that the answers made no sense, etc. No resolution at all. I've sent them alternate email addresses and still no response. right now I'm going to flood Mozy Support with an email and log file each time Mozy quits on me. Some day Mozy might get the message but that'll happen about the time that the SF 49ers win another Superbowl.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.3
Jicho
05 August 2009
Mozy works great, even the 1.4 version. I'm using Mozy for some time now. The only problem in the upgrade from the latest 1.3 version to 1.4 is that I needed to upload ALL my files again :( This never happend before and I hope this never happens again!!!!! Strange thing is that this only happend on my paid account, I had no problems on my second mac with the free account. Besides all this trouble, I would be nice when Mozy Home (paid of free ;) could upload only the changed parts of files like Dropbox. This would speed up the backup process a lot :)
Like
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Ashkenaz
Ashkenaz
09 August 2009
Yikes. Did you request assistance from the developer? Mozy 1.4.0.6 is working well for me (as did 1.3.x before) and the transition in mid-upload went seamlessly. But with 280.5 GB already uploaded and considerably more to go, a re-upload would be out of the question. It might be interesting to learn whether other readers experienced similar difficulties.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.0.6
Kevin Aprillio
04 August 2009
Worth to download but the memory usage is too big. Compared to other apps this one is definitely awesome for backup. But still the memory is the main problem, sometimes I need to restart a few times caused of the apps.
Like (1)
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Mozmac
Mozmac
04 August 2009
Are you seeing these memory issues using the 1.4 release or from the older one? We've tracked down and fixed memory leaks with the 1.4 release.
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Rdptwh2
26 June 2009
Mozy backup has a serious memory leak that consumes about 700MB or RAM per hour, and 60% of all CPU cycles whether it is backing up files, or the daemon is simply idling in the background. Once it has consumed 3GB, Mozy crashes and does not free all of the RAM that it gobbled up before the crash. On my Mac Pro, Mozy crashes at least 4 or 5 times per day and requires me to restart it. Mozy customer service reply was: "if you deselect the files from your configuration, then Mozy will not be having much difficulty in re-initializing your backup configuration and will load faster" Not very helpful. It is difficult to understand why EMC would put their name on this pre-beta test product. The subscription fee is great, but the product is not ready for prime time. If you want to back up more than a few GB, you may want to look for another solution, or wait until this flawed product is fixed.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.2
1 answer(s)
Mozmac
Mozmac
26 June 2009
We're working on an update, but I would love to get more info from you so we can make sure we've plugged the leak. Hit me up on twitter @mozmac or send me an email at marksATdechoDOTcom
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
Sampler
29 May 2009
I've also used Mozy since its beta days and I can confirm that it has become very robust about finishing backups if there is a problem on the server end. I've had to contact support a few times when I had a corrupted configuration file, and it's always been prompt. I recommend the live-support, for instant help. It's true that the backup statistics can be confusing. In my last backup after a reinstall of the configuration (see tip below), the status window said I needed to back up 9 Gig of data. Mozy had lost track of what was backed up. In fact, most of it was already on the server and the total backup took "only" 9 hours. I've done many restores, and I prefer the web interface. The site packages the restored files in a dmg disk image, and notifies you via email when the restore is ready. I especially appreciate the availability of previous versions. Mozy is very good about downloading package files, which are actually folders. I also use Jungle Disk for frequent daily backups of my current project files, as I can access them via the Network Drive. However I consider Mozy essential, because because the company will FedEx you DVD's of all your restored data for a price. JD has no such option, and so is unsuitable for restoring more than a few Gigabytes at a time. Mozy offers a limited choice of backup schedules-- at a designated time each day or when there is reduced load on the computer or you are away for a designated period of time. I would like to see the ability to schedule backups at designated intervals. Still, everything does get backed up in a relatively short period of time after the initial large backups. The configuration screen could also use some improvement. There are two types of backups--designated backup sets (e.g. Mail, iTunes, iCal, Spreadsheets) and designated files. When you open the configuration, you get the backup set screen. Mozy states that "no" files are designated for backup, and starts to count all the files in each type of set. It's safe to close the configuration or switch to the "files and folders" screen, but you might not think so. I give Mozy a 4 not a 5, because configuration files have become corrupted more often than I like--leading to the need to uninstall and re-install and to do a new backup. Still I have not lost data. Tip: When you have the configuration set up and working, save a copy of the state.db and state.dump files. These are in the Mozy folder in the Application Support folder of the root (not user) Library. If you have to re-install Mozy, copy the saved files into the Mozy folder.
Like (4)
Version 1.3.2
Jbjoret
17 May 2009
I tried Mozy this week-end, I liked the straight forward interface, and the fact, that they have an unlimited data plan. But the upload is incredibly bad, you will probably need a year to get 100GB of Backup uploaded (though I have a 10Mbits upload connection). The second big issue is the backup itself, exluding files on a Mac, does not seem to work correctly, and ignores the 20GB of VMWare disk images I exluded from the backup. A big big plus for Mozy, is the fact that you can use a private key to encrypt your data before backing them on their servers. That is what I am really missing on iDrive.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
Abilstein
13 April 2009
I won't assign any stars yet because I haven't had to recover any data (thankfully). But, everything seems good so far. The config software is nice and they obviously hired some real Mac developers to build it. It recognizes the data stores of Mac specific apps (Backup Sets) instead of forcing you to tediously dig through your folders (although you can do it that way too if you want). Yes, the initial upload took a long time, but subsequent backups are fast enough that I don't notice them (I set it to run in the middle of the night while I'm asleep). The initial upload can be helped if you do it in chunks instead of one massive push. There really isn't much they can do about that because of typical ISP upload speeds vs. download speeds. I use Time Machine for local backups and quick restores if I need it, but Mozy is there in case of catastrophe.
Like (5)
Version 1.3.2
Simon1979
24 February 2009
I don't really understand why the previous two reviewers have written what they have written. Mozy is a great product, and is extremely cheap for what you get. I love it, and with the latest release (1.3.1), it is now (finally) extremely stable. It no longer hogs CPU resources, and is much more reliable at completing backups than ever before. I can definitely recommend this product. I have been using it for nearly two years now, since the early days of the Mac beta. Yes, there is still some room for improvement in the software itself, but the service is excellent. In response to Fyreflye, you can choose a free 2GB account or a pay for an Unlimited account. And it really IS unlimited. I currently have over 100GB backed up for $4.95/month, a real bargain. And in response to Benjo, 12% of 60GB is fairly good for two days. Firstly, your upload speed is going to be crap - nothing like your upload speed - it's just the way internet connections are. And secondly, Mozy actually cap the upload rate to 1.0Mbps (much more than most people's internet connections are capable of). Not to worry though: when Mozy restarts the backup, it doesn't have to upload what it has already done. Despite the fact it looks like it has gone back to 0%, it's actually 0% of the remainder.
Like (5)
Version 1.3.0.5
1 answer(s)
Simon1979
Simon1979
27 February 2009
I meant that upload speed is "nothing like your download speed".
Like
Version 1.3.0.5
Benjo
27 January 2009
Think Carefully about Mozy.. In a fit of New Year's precaution, I subscribed to Mozy to back up about 60GB of data from my iMac 24". I began the upload process on Monday...and by Wednesday I had managed to upload a paltry 12% of my data. Later that day I lost power and had to restart my computer...and the Mozy backup process started from 0%. I said "enough already" and am seeking my money back. Any online backup system that takes 3 days to upload 9 GB of data is just not ready for prime time. Naturally, YMMV, but for me Mozy's performance is simply unacceptable...
Like (4)
Version 1.3.0.5
1 answer(s)
Zepfhyr
Zepfhyr
12 March 2009
Your backup likely didn't start over at 0%. Any time a Mozy backup is interrupted and started again, it always reads 0% as a new backup has begun (the first 9% is on the server already and is therefore not a part of this current backup). As for the speed of the backup, that has frustrated me at times, as well, but once you've completed your initial backup, each subsequent backup is fairly quick (unless you add gigabytes of data to your computer every day). I recommend backing up your most critical data first (i.e. pictures, as they cannot be retaken the way music can be re-ripped or re-downloaded), and then move on to subsequent items. This allows you to back up the most important stuff and be certain that it's safe before moving on to the less-important content and reduce the length of time of each backup.
Like (5)
Version 1.3.0.5
Fyreflye
19 January 2009
Software is labeled "Free" but we're informed after we've downloaded it that there's a charge of $4.95 per computer per month. Not unreasonable or unethical, but shouldn't we be told this before we download?
Like (3)
Version 1.3.0.5
2 answer(s)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
19 January 2009
The Unlimited signup is the one that I was offered once I had downloaded Mozy, not the free signup. And nowhere on the Unlimited signup page or on MacUpdate is a choice between free 2GB and $4.95 per computer per month Unlimited mentioned.
Like (6)
Version 1.3.0.5
Serge
Serge
20 January 2009
Look here : http://mozy.com/mac , left column, orange window (MozyHome Free).
Like (6)
Version 1.3.0.5