Back to Stacks page
Stacks free download for Mac

Stacks Reviews

4.0.4
20 January 2020

New way to create pages in RapidWeaver.

Denflinkegrafiker
31 October 2019

Most helpful

Stacks plugin (4) by YourHead for RapidWeaver (8) by RealMac Software is a game changer for the RapidWeaver community. Stacks makes it easy for developers to code Stacks – that makes it easy for users & designers – to focus on design & creativity rather than code. It's made for Mac – offline – but with an option to build client cms sites – with third party Stacks. Best, DeFligra Mac'o'holic | Stack'oholic | Web'o'holic
Like (1)
Version 4.0.3

Read 37 Stacks User Reviews

Rate this app:

Denflinkegrafiker
31 October 2019
Stacks plugin (4) by YourHead for RapidWeaver (8) by RealMac Software is a game changer for the RapidWeaver community. Stacks makes it easy for developers to code Stacks – that makes it easy for users & designers – to focus on design & creativity rather than code. It's made for Mac – offline – but with an option to build client cms sites – with third party Stacks. Best, DeFligra Mac'o'holic | Stack'oholic | Web'o'holic
Like (1)
Version 4.0.3
Kihoalu
26 January 2017
STACKS helps define the methodology OF Rapidweaver.
They are nearly mutually inseparable.

Made RW my choice over Wordpress!

Dropping several "frame types" onto a page canvas. These are containers for content & what makes RW work.

Like drawing perimeters around paragraphs & images in a word processor, so that you move it as its own object on the page.

You can nest frames inside of other frames to form what would be a group in a graphic program & slide them around together as well.

You can lock any of these frames down into position to avoid accidentally moving them.
Like
Version 3.2.6
Gawan78
02 November 2016
It is a fantastic program. It is really useful
Like
Version 3.2.5
Denflinkegrafiker
19 October 2016
As a long time RapidWeaver user (since RapidWeaver 3) the Stacks plugin by Yourhead Software created a whole new way of designing websites – from simple websites to full blown cart solutions – created on the Mac, published on the web. With the Stacks plugin and 1000 of extensions developed for the RapidWeaver Stacks plugin you can build a website simply by dragging Stacks extensions to the RapidWeaver Stacks page. If the Stacks plugin wasn't developed I'd have chosen another tool to create websites. But with the Stacks plugin – it's simply one of (if not the) best tools for building websites on the Mac! Best | DeFligra | www.defligra.com Mac'O'Holic | Stack'O'Holic | Web'O'Holic
Like (1)
Version 3.2.4
JacobsG
15 October 2016
Must have when you are using RapidWeaver. Very flexible plugin making websites far more easier. It does have a high price tag imo. Nevertheless very highly recommened
Like
Version 3.2.4
Steeps-Patrick
29 May 2016
Essential when you use Rapidweaver !
Like
Version 3.1.0
Macbookpro
27 August 2015
Stacks 3 was just announced.
Like
Version 2.7.2
Peternew
26 April 2015
To an extremely large extent t Stacks IS RapidWeaver. RW itself becomes simply a vehicle to deliver Stacks and the RW team would do well to recognise that fact and weld the two together - having said that however buying enough individual Stacks to give a decently productive program can run into the hundreds of $'s. The 5 star rating is for Stacks not RapidWeaver 'carrier'.
Like (3)
Version 2.6.11
1 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
29 June 2018
I was wondering about that. Stacks looks very useful and seems to provide the functionality my client is asking for. When you say that the five stars is not for RW do you mean there is some problem with Rapidweaver?
Like
Peternew
26 April 2015
To an extremely large extent t Stacks IS RapidWeaver. RW itself becomes simply a vehicle to deliver Stacks and the RW team would do well to recognise that fact and weld the two together - having said that however buying enough individual Stacks to give a decently productive program can run into the hundreds of $'s. The 5 star rating is for Stacks not RapidWeaver 'carrier'.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.11
Gary-box
15 November 2014
Without Stacks, Rapidweaver is like a girly bike. With Stacks, Rapidweaver is a Super bike. :) For if you did not get the messages: If you buy Rapidweaver you HAVE to buy Stacks too. It makes creating good website a breeze.
Like (3)
Version 2.6.8
1 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
26 January 2017
Good line & funny. Accurate. One should bundle Stacks with RW.
This changes the cost basis for the core RW application.

Alternatives are tools like Foundation & Foundry, which *might* get you around Stacks, but at higher price.

As of this writing: (unles I am making YUGE mistakes in understanding) Stacks has one really nice feaure with respect to Retina displays -- you can generate your images at double or triple resolution, but fit them to the page nicely, allowing a sort of “quicklook” litebox effect to pull them up larger when viewed on Apple products & decent zooming on other devices.

That won't work in your non-Stacks add-ons.
Like
Shallowp
24 October 2014
Must have RW plugin !!
Like
Version 2.6.8
Priosantos-Jan
13 September 2014
Essential plugin for RapidWeaver. But maybe .. maybe it is included as default with RW6 ? Fingers crossed.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.3
Moogan
18 July 2014
Essential for Rapidweaver as it releases your designs to be very flexible. Costs of plugins can add up though. Turns Rapidweaver into a very capable tool.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.1
bowlerboy-jmb
16 July 2014
I think that, as soon as you've gained a fundamental introduction into the RapidWeaver interface and how the program works, you will want to get this add-on feature called "Stacks." Stacks does not replace RapidWeaver; Stacks enhances the native power of RapidWeaver. While RapidWeaver provides a wide variety of built-in page types, it limits you to laying out objects on its pages to the native RapidWeaver way. Also, RapidWeaver by itself cannot accomplish a lot of neat tricks that might require the skills of an experienced programmer. Stacks solves those limitations by creating a special type of page in the Stacks format onto which you can drag other specially designed stacks by a myriad of third party developers, each one set to out-do the other by coming up with clever, useful features that extend the power of RapidWeaver by letting the program—through these individual stacks laid out upon a Stacks page—do things beyond it original conception. In other words, RapidWeaver is the big playground that you need to develop the website, while Stacks is the gateway foundation you need in order to bring other stacks designed to perform specific functions that extend the power of RapidWeaver way beyond its borders. For example, there is no easy way to build tables in RapidWeaver, but there are a few stacks that do the job quite well. RapidWeaver can give you a photo gallery page that is quite adequate, but basic; there are stacks which do this much better, adding slide show features beyond what RW itself can do. With Stacks, you can create an outline, expand your menu options, add light boxes, lay out your pages easier and cleaner, and do a whole lot more than you can do with RapidWeaver alone. First, get RapidWeaver, then get Stacks. Then browse the add-ons section at RealMac Software to see all you can do. Then get a grip on your credit card. While Stacks and most stacks and relatively inexpensive, you could get addicted to building up your collection once you see the power of using Stacks in your designs.
Like (4)
Version 2.6.0
tvalleau
16 July 2014
It's $29, not $39...
Like
Version 2.6.0
1 answer(s)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
16 July 2014
Thanks, I've updated the listing!
Like
Yazarim
15 August 2012
Without this plugin, RapidWeaver would be pretty poor. But fortunately there is Stacks. Support is simply splendid. But be ready to spend good money for the miriad of particular stacks. With them you really can do everything
Like (3)
Version 2.1.3
Maclover1-1
16 December 2011
Quantum Leap.. RapidWeaver without Stacks is like EggNog without eggs.. Previous version was quite good but a bit awkward.. This version is so much better integrated !! Excellent job as far as I've toyed with 2.0
Like (1)
Version 2.0.0
gryphonent
14 December 2011
Is 2.0 a paid for upgrade? If so, how much? It would surely help to share that info when posting major version upgrades. No info on the developer's website either.
Like
Version 2.0.0
2 answer(s)
Flec65
Flec65
16 December 2011
The upgrade is $15.
Like
Almostwise
Almostwise
16 December 2011
2.0 is a paid upgrade. It is right on their product page (you must have missed it) and the upgrade price is $14.95 currently. A great deal for a huge upgrade!
Like
Almostwise
14 December 2011
Awesome update to the must-have-add-on for Rapidweaver! I have built over 30 websites with Rapidweaver, and every single one of them use Stacks. If you have Rapidweaver, you aren't even scratching the surface of what it can do without this. Keep up the great work!
Like (2)
Version 2.0.0
glinner
29 September 2011
STACKS is a phenomenal plugin for RapidWeaver. It improves the functionality and usefulness by several orders of magnitude. Make sure you always get the most up-to-date build, as it will have been fine tuned for optimal performance. If you're the sort of person who sometimes uses C4M and MSJ, I advise you just shell out the cash for this. It really worth the money. Joe Workman makes some incredible Stacks - you have to check them out. Also be sure to buy Yourhead's "simple" stacks as they rock. Stacks does have some niggles, but I know that Isiah is always innovating, always improving.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.4
Surfingalien
03 August 2010
almost everything has been said but I'd like to add my voice as Stacks user: I bought it at 25$ and it's well worth the price, so a 50% off is a no brainer imho. Support is fantastic, there are plenty of free and inexpensive Stacks out there. Not only Stacks is a must have for any Rapidweaver user but I think I'd probably get Rapidweaver just to be able to use Stacks!
Like (4)
Version 1.3.0
Colorwave
14 July 2010
The best just got better. RapidWeaver without Stacks is like watching black and white TV. It is just fine for some things, but I wouldn't want it as a steady diet.
Like (4)
Version 1.3.0
JohnnyFave
14 July 2010
Just when you thought Stacks couldn't get any better - it did - this latest version is a big one! Stacks is a MUST for ALL RapidWeaver users - it adds steroids, afterburners, AND nitrous-oxide to RapidWeaver when combined with any of the almost 200 Stacks plugins available from the small army of highly talented independent developers. Note, many of these Stacks plugins are FREE while others can be obtained immediately through online purchase from the various developers for a small cost. If in doubt about the power of Stacks, go to YourHead's website and be prepared to be dazzled.
Like (7)
Version 1.3.0
Joeworkman
14 July 2010
Stacks is by far the best way to build your website. Stacks is first plugin that every Rapidweaver User should get. There are now a plethora of 3rd party stacks that have come available. I could not imagine building website without it.
Like (5)
Version 1.3.0
Thinkfilm
14 July 2010
IMHO YourHead's Stacks 1.3 is a game changer for template-based web-design programs. I own and have used iWeb, Sandvox, GoldFish, Freeway, RapidWeaver -- and more than a few others -- and the combo of RapidWeaver and Stacks is far and away the most useful for me. Moreover, the support -- and the dedication to that word "support" and all that it entails -- that YourHead provides for its products is really frest-rate. I own a pack of their other add-ons -- as well as their terrific Twitter-cleint Kiwi -- and they are all well-crafted products that are really useful.
Like (5)
Version 1.3.0
Kalel99
13 July 2010
Stacks is without a doubt the most powerful, flexible tool for designing web pages, while still keeping it "simple". Combined with Rapidweaver, it creates a creative playground for users who want more creative control than iWeb, but don't want to have the learning curve and expense of Dreamweaver. Stacks has an incredible developer community that continues to expand the capabilities of this incredible plugin, with many being free, and most being very reasonably priced. A MUST have plugin for any Rapidweaver user. Stacks has changed the way that I use Rapidweaver.
Like (3)
Version 1.3.0
Mark-Hogan
13 July 2010
Stacks is by far the best plugin for Rapidweaver - I have been using it since 1.0 , and I have nothing but admiration for the developer... its a beautiful addition to Rapidweaver. Stacks allows mega expandability with tones of 3rd party 'custom stacks' available. Makes designing complex sites soo much easier.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.0
Leslie-Titze
13 July 2010
I've been using and recommending Stacks since version 1.0 and I am amazed by the new 1.3 version. If you are a RapidWeaver user and haven't tried this yet, do so NOW! If you're not a RapidWeaver user yet, you have my word that it's a fantastic way to create sites. Give it a go and see for yourself.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.0
Rwt-Gary
13 July 2010
From day 1 Stacks has been an unbelievable tool for web designers using RapidWeaver as their environment. Over time Stacks has become the "go to" tool for more and more website developers (including me). However, with this latest release of Stacks (1.3) they guys at Yourhead.com have raised the bar higher still. I can not say enough positive things about this product ... not only do I highly recommend it ... I actively recommend it.
Like (5)
Version 1.3.0
David-Delmonte
27 October 2009
Stacks is a fantastic plug-in for Rapidweaver website developers (Rapidweaver is a fantastic alternative to Dreamweaver - at a fraction of the cost). Stacks allows you to create/markup a webpage with standards-based code, and is amazingly simple to use. There are tons of free and inexpensive (
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
JohnnyFave
20 April 2009
Simply put, Stacks rocks! Stacks is simply a MUST for Rapidweaver. It's incredibly smooth at laying out your webpages. The geometrics of keeping everything in aligned columns and rows ensures you don't break one of the primary rules of design - alignment. The ease of use of drag'n'drop elements, combined with the very powerfully armed dialog box/window for fine-tuning elements to exactly the way you want them to look. It's a no-brainer. Just get this one for your Rapidweaver! Also, don't stop there.... Blocks (also by YourHead) lets you put really finesse your webpages when you need it. And, of course go to the developer's website to see the other goodies (add-ons) for Rapidweaver!!!
Like (2)
Version 1.1
Sundog02
19 February 2009
If you use Rapidweaver then just get it! I have been testing it since the early stages and it is truly a great plugin IMHO. Don't take my word for it, TUAW has a review here: http://www.tuaw.com/2009/02/18/stacks-plugin-brings-fluid-layouts-to-rapidweaver/ OK, I know the Developer but he did not ask me to post this.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
Apologeticus
18 February 2009
Been using the Stacks beta for weeks and really, REALLY like it. Just recommended it to a friend who's just getting started with Rapidweaver. Definitely the most versatile plugin out there.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Webkarnage
18 February 2009
This is THE layout plugin for RapidWeaver. The use of relative/fluid positioning is far more the way forward than the limits placed by absolute positioning (iWeb style). Allow your pages to contain whatever arrangement of columns and rows you wish, varying each division to suit, including whatever type of content you can manage!! Trying to code this by hand at times would be crazy and incredibly time consuming. Stacks makes it a breeze. The beauty of the relative positioning really comes into it's own for those with restricted eyesight visiting your site, when them enlarging the text with a browser command doesn't 'break' your page, but it fluidly expands to allow this. iWeb will usually block the facility to prevent the loss of text behind other assets, as the fixed positioning doesn't cope. You will already notice if you frequent the Realmac Software Forums that 3rd party Stacks are becoming available, and some free too!! Image with caption floated left and right (thanks Phil Warrender), Twitter feed (a real corker! thanks Elixir Graphics!) and more are bound to follow. Isaiah at Yourhead Software takes incredible care to make sure the code output from his RapidWeaver Plugins is as efficient and SEO friendly as possible, and Stacks is no different. If you own RapidWeaver, you owe it to your websites to download this and see what it's all about. I'll be amazed if you then don't feel the need to buy it!!
Like (3)
Version 1.0
Yourhead
19 January 2009
I just wanted to mention that there's a great review in Ars Technica of Stacks. Very honest and in depth reporting. Have a look: http://arstechnica.com/journals/apple.ars/2009/01/13/stacks-a-rapidweaver-plug-in-for-easy-nested-site-layout
Like (3)
Version 0.3.1pb1
@timi
19 January 2009
Isaiah is definitely on top of the useful, innovative ideas. YourHead plugins far surpass the quality of the others.
Like (4)
Version 0.3.1pb1
Flowerm
19 January 2009
Most of those who use RapidWeaver to design websites already know the value of YourHead's plugin tools for extending design in useful directions. Stacks is a startling and brilliant innovation; it provides the user a leap in page design capability. Stacks is easy to use and produces superb results. Isaiah Carew, the developer of Stacks and other YourHead plugins, is meticulous in his work and that attention to detail shows in the way Stacks was conceived and in the way it works. I am using Stacks to create pages for courses that I teach; Stacks allows me to combine schematics, photos, and descriptive text in ways that are attractive and effective in displaying information. Still in beta as I write, the plugin is stable and the initial documentation and screencasts will get a new user up and running in short order. If you are a user of RapidWeaver, or if you are considering RapidWeaver as a website design tool, give Stacks a close look. I think you will immediately begin imagining page designs that Stacks will enable you to undertake.
Like (5)
Version 0.3.1pb1