Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to iDrive page
iDrive free download for Mac

iDrive Reviews3.5.9.27

10 June 2021

Automatic online backup; free 5GB account.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
bigjohhnson1
bigjohhnson1
May 20 2021
3.5.9.26
0.0
May 20 2021
0.0
Version: 3.5.9.26
Rubbish program and support (India). I keep asking for a refund but they just send me a link to chat to go through the same fixes that don't work. I'm using a new Mac (25 years pro mac and pc user). They sent me PC instructions last week to fix it despite it being logged on previous support calls that its a Mac! Just makes me think they really don't know what they are doing. Indeed its probably a ruse, as all I see buttons on the app to increase my allowance, yet I paid for 5T for 2 years, and only use 2T. Annoying begware. I have followed their advice but nothing changes. I have spent many hours with them and trying to fix it myself. They use v12 Teamviewer as their normal remote control software doesn't work on my Mac. But the Mac wont let me install v12 as it must run v14 for this OS (which I have). All the backups for past 2 months say failed. Yet the files seem to be on the server. Cannot trust it for a backup. They now want me to stop my firewall and antivirus, remove then reinstall their program and see if that works! Stopping my firewall and antivirus is a bit risky don't you think? PCs are pinged continually in order to be hacked. I know my firewall and antivirus do not block their connections. Otherwise it would not upload any files. Slow upload - took 3 weeks to upload 1.5 TB. I think they ported if from the PC but did it badly, and did not update it for latest Mac OS.
ddifranco1
ddifranco1
May 18 2021
3.5.9.26
0.0
May 18 2021
0.0
Version: 3.5.9.26
When I try to upload individual files to idrive (by going into the backup folders and selecting 'upload file') it fails every time. I'm on a mac (if that makes a difference). What am I doing wrong? Why can't I add a file to a backup folder off of my desktop?
ChristineVans
ChristineVans
Mar 23 2021
3.5.9.26
2.0
Mar 23 2021
2.0
Version: 3.5.9.26
This is ridiculous! Won't work without TM + webpage unavailable. 90% seems to be abandon
markdelira
markdelira
Mar 16 2021
3.5.9.25
0.0
Mar 16 2021
0.0
Version: 3.5.9.25
CRITICAL TO KNOW! IDrive MUST be used in conjunction with Time Machine. It does NOT have full (OS) Restore capability. If you had a catastrophic hard drive crash on your computer, and only have IDrive, it will NOT do a full/complete restore to bring you back to original state. Without backing up the MacOS files, can you truly call this a backup solution? Just learned that today after spending an hour on the phone with their tech support.
cmeuniermail
cmeuniermail
Jan 12 2021
3.5.9.24
1.0
Jan 12 2021
1.0
Version: 3.5.9.24
Slow transfers, many files disappear from cloud storage, unable now to backup and the technical assistance is not helpful, interface is weird. I gave up using it and do not recommend.
Tim27
Tim27
Aug 18 2020
3.5.9.17
0.0
Aug 18 2020
0.0
Version: 3.5.9.17
I'm confused by the icon. Why is it an e in a lock when the service is called iDrive? What does the e stand for?
saulo-2
saulo-2
Jul 2 2020
3.5.9.13
1.0
Jul 2 2020
1.0
Version: 3.5.9.13
NEVER USE THIS! Lost a LOOOOT of files using this service. They don't backup hidden files if you don't select the "SHOW hidden files" options. I'm trying to restore files they did manage to backup and some folders are simply not being restored.
Xipper
Xipper
Feb 12 2020
3.5.8.0
1.0
Feb 12 2020
1.0
Version: 3.5.8.0
AVOID! This service is unreliable and will just set false expectations for your data to be protected, and then one day you will notice it stopped backing up for no reason and hasn't backed up anything in a long time. You will then configure it again and it will just backup everything again, further consuming any metered Internet service you have. Contacting support is pointless, I spent many hours with them remotely accessing my system or collecting files for them or troubleshooting...only to have a dysfunctional service that will not refund the charges. It worked fine for the first month or 2, and then stopped...and they refuse to refund after 30-days, oh so convenient for them that it worked for 5-6 weeks before failing.
Stefan1942
Stefan1942
Jan 24 2020
3.5.6.4
5.0
Jan 24 2020
5.0
Version: 3.5.6.4
I have used Idrive for a year now. I have the 2TB plan. I have it on 4 computers and 2 phones. I am very pleased! It works great. Their server speeds are lightning fast. I have tested restoring files with no problems. Idrive is well worth the price compared to other companies I've used.
Billmccl
Billmccl
Mar 11 2019
3.5.4.4
2.0
Mar 11 2019
2.0
Version: 3.5.4.4
I have used this app for about a year, and it is not inexpensive if you have any significant data. I found it easy enough to use, although I never needed to recover data, the usually least tried and most difficult part of backup programs. But I have finally uninstalled and cancelled the subscription for one major reason: it almost continuously applies nag alerts to your desktop which you cannot avoid in any configuration setting. These are not small nag alerts, and they become continuous clutter. So I am out of here, and will move to an application which is less intrusive, and does not covet my desktop quite so much.
genspanky
genspanky
Mar 10 2019
3.5.4.4
5.0
Mar 10 2019
5.0
Version: 3.5.4.4
I see most of the neg feedback is for older versions. I'm using 3.5.4.4. I have used Idrive for six months now and it works flawlessly. I have used 3 other companies and IDrive is the best so far. I orders a seed drive because I have a large amount of data. The disk arrived in 3 days. I backed up 3 computers to it and returned it to IDrive. Once they got it, it took 4 days and all my data was transferred to my account. All this at no extra charge! It would have taken months to upload all my data over the internet. The app is a little dated, but once you figure it out it's so easy to use.
The-Crow
The-Crow
Sep 18 2018
3.5.3.6
5.0
Sep 18 2018
5.0
Version: 3.5.3.6
I've tried just about every online backup solution, and I have always loved iDrive. Even if you just wanted to use it as a cloud storage & sharing app, or a syncing solution for your local devices and/or cloud, it's excellent. I find it fast, invisible, and invaluable.
Rochade
Rochade
Mar 14 2018
3.5.1.4
4.0
Mar 14 2018
4.0
Version: 3.5.1.4
After crashplan has announced the discontinuation of their home product I was looking for a replacement. I tried out or informed me about many services and found iDrive is the one to choose for me. Here is why: - Backup multiple devices (Mac, NAS) - Privacy / Security (using my own encryption key) - Advanced selection for the backup set and fine tuning options - Restoration options (e.g. restore to custom folder) - Price I have found that even the mac app isn't very nice, I really don't care about it, as a backup tool is something you once set up and forget - of course after you tested the restoration process. I also can't confirm the slow upload speed others mentioned here. So for me iDrive is the perfect replacement of crashplan.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Nov 17 2017
3.5.0.30
0.0
Nov 17 2017
0.0
Version: 3.5.0.30
The current version, which MacUpdate installs, is 3.5.0.31
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Feb 28 2017
3.4.0.36
0.0
Feb 28 2017
0.0
Version: 3.4.0.36
Th current version is 3.4.0.39
Evaluator
Evaluator
Jan 8 2017
3.4.0.35
1.0
Jan 8 2017
1.0
Version: 3.4.0.35
First experience with cloud storage. I paid for the fee-based version. The initial upload of my 133GB SSD took over 48 hours. Vendor replied to emails, but would not address specific questions. Upload speed was nowhere near my available bandwidth. Interface is confusing and data reporting appears to be inaccurate. In less than a week, our storage in the cloud had reached twice the data level on the SSD being backed-up. I really have no confidence in this company or their software. I canceled my account and asked for a full refund.
darkakia
darkakia
Jun 10 2016
3.3.0.3
1.0
Jun 10 2016
1.0
Version: 3.3.0.3
Can't del all thing.
jpdemers
jpdemers
Dec 8 2015
3.3.0.3
0.5
Dec 8 2015
0.5
Version: 3.3.0.3
What a disaster. Can't get new version or old version to co-operate across old MacBook and newer iMac. Can't understand murky interface that shows folders I don't have; program deposits weirdly-named folders on the Mac, where they just sit forever unless you delete them (most have zero contents.) Finally gave up, uninstalled the software USING THEIR UNINSTALLER . . . and now there's some fricking iDrivesync daemon, still installed after a G-D system re-installation, using up all of my CPU while I try to track it down and kill it. WORST. SOFTWARE. EVER. Avoid it like the plague.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Aug 14 2015
3.3.0.3
0.0
Aug 14 2015
0.0
Version: 3.3.0.3
iDrive version 3.3.0.5 is available
Macinen
Macinen
Aug 7 2015
3.3.0.3
0.0
Aug 7 2015
0.0
Version: 3.3.0.3
The name iDrive is in use by BMW: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IDrive
Lawrence-Goodman
Lawrence-Goodman
Jun 4 2015
3.1.0.48
0.5
Jun 4 2015
0.5
Version: 3.1.0.48
Horrible. No wonder it's so cheap. My upload speeds are 2kb/second. Pathetic. If you go to their forums. you'll see lots of people complain about this: http://forum.idrive.com/topic.php?id=116 Stay away!
Alan-Burnham
Alan-Burnham
Apr 12 2015
3.1.0.27
0.5
Apr 12 2015
0.5
Version: 3.1.0.27
My case is similar to bcollura's. Too much time spent. IDrive says I was using over 1T to back up a 500GB SSD and kept requesting that I buy more space. That doesn't sound like an incremental backup to me. Responses to my questions simply restated what I was saying adding that I should buy more space. Finally they thought we should chat about the problem. I thought I had spent enough time. I ditched the software.
bcollura
bcollura
Mar 9 2015
3.1.0.27
0.5
Mar 9 2015
0.5
Version: 3.1.0.27
After spending 6 hours on trying to get the product to work, I was told I could not get a refund because I never spoke with the appropriate "level of support." Seems calling them and spending time on the phone with support was not adequate and I should have been bumped up to online support. Since that never happened, I could not get a refund unless a invested more of my time on a product that for some strange reason would not work on my Mac. I didn't want a part-time job trying to get a backup to work, I just wanted backup. Any company that needs that level of attention by the user shouldn't be in business.
gatorjim
gatorjim
Apr 15 2014
3.1.0.0
0.5
Apr 15 2014
0.5
Version: 3.1.0.0
Had this app installed for a while, then recently discovered it launches a process called iDriveSyncDaemon that consumes 100% CPU for 100% of the time!! Once I figured out how to uninstall it, the uninstall process leaves behind multiple folders in the system library and the user library. There's plenty of cloud options out there that don't consume your system resources like this one does, therefore absolutely cannot recommend this app for a cloud solution. Look elsewhere!
Rsoldin
Rsoldin
Mar 4 2014
3.0.0.42
0.5
Mar 4 2014
0.5
Version: 3.0.0.42
Totally messes up my internet connection. Tried it once a few months ago. After fighting to get my connection back for a few hours, determed that it was idrive. Tried it again recently and it did the same thing. Shut down my internet. Had to reboot everything (computer, modem, router) a couple of times to get it back. Won’t try this again. To many other clouds out there to mess with this. I’d give it zero stars, but they gave it an effort, even if it waste a bunch of my time.
Alessandro82
Alessandro82
Dec 20 2013
3.0.0.33
0.5
Dec 20 2013
0.5
Version: 3.0.0.33
wont work with mavericks fuck! it stucks on connecting
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Aug 20 2013
3.0.0.25
1.0
Aug 20 2013
1.0
Version: 3.0.0.25
Dumped this after a short while and went to Backblaze. Unlimited storage for 5 bucks a month on Backblaze. iDrive's prices were ridiculous.
Freezer
Freezer
Mar 7 2013
3.0.0.1
0.0
Mar 7 2013
0.0
Version: 3.0.0.1
there is a really nasty memory leak in the cdpwatcher process that eats private memory about 200KB every minute... and as the process starts when you start your computer, it gets big fast.
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
Mar 1 2013
3.0.0.1
1.0
Mar 1 2013
1.0
Version: 3.0.0.1
With the version 3 release, they don't support your account if you created it before 11-23-2011. So they make you download the old version 2.5 to continue using. Releasing a new update and not providing backward compatibility with their current customer accounts is a really bad idea.
Chris86314
Chris86314
Feb 2 2013
3.0.0
0.5
Feb 2 2013
0.5
Version: 3.0.0
DO NOT download this update-3.0.0. It is the WORST update of any program I have ever used. I have used iDrive for a couple years now without any problem, even quitting my CrashPlan subscription. This "so-called" update has got to be the worst update of any program I have ever seen. All it does is crash, crash and more crashes. I have been trying to do a backup since upgrading and nothing works. I have 35 gigs of data backed up from previous version and this version starts doing a complete full backup of my previously backed up files.. runs for a couple minutes and then crashes. No explanation on any updates, no release notes, no user manual on updates.. just PLAIN JUNK !! I have written their support expressing my feelings about this update in much stronger words than are used here.. haven't heard a thing. This update has multiple windows that are so convoluted you can never understand them.. plus you have multiple windows asking for the same info.. in other words, one window will show "scheduled backup" to begin at X:XX time. Then there is another window that overrides previous window. Same with forced backup quit (for bandwidth saving).. one window lets you set stop time, then another window overrides that time to the current time. Terrible, terrible, crash, crash, crash. It has crashes on me at least 15 times this morning. Junk, junk, junk !!!
Philipwheelock
Philipwheelock
Nov 4 2011
2.0.0
0.0
Nov 4 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0.0
In this version, deleting large files from the remote server by selecting the checkbox then clicking the delete icon doesn't work. They have to be deleted one at a time by selecting the file, control-clicking and selecting "Delete".
x86tech
x86tech
Nov 4 2011
2.0.0
2.5
Nov 4 2011
2.5
Version: 2.0.0
It seems there is a memory leak in the idrive daemon. I can't believe it consumes 1+gb of memory.
xati-ba
xati-ba
Oct 31 2011
2.0.0
3.5
Oct 31 2011
3.5
Version: 2.0.0
Offers more than twice the free space allotted by Dropbox. However I don't need this extra space anyway, and I find the Dropbox interface more enjoyable. However, you can use both at the same time! Overall it seems like a very decent app, though I would like to be sure I can trust the developer before sending them my most sensitive data.
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
Dec 18 2010
1.4.1
0.0
Dec 18 2010
0.0
Version: 1.4.1
-- IDrive Basic (the free option) now provides 5GB of storage space. Pricing plans for the various "Pro" versions are here: https://www.idrive.com/pricing.htm
Trevor-Pressman
Trevor-Pressman
Jul 15 2010
1.4.1
0.0
Jul 15 2010
0.0
Version: 1.4.1
BEWARE! iDrive is incompatible with OS X package files as well as legacy Mac OS files that contain resource forks. A common file that you would want to backup: QUICKEN DATA After recovering your Quicken Mac 2007 data file, you will quickly realize that the package file has become a folder and the contents of the package file (now a folder) are all corrupt and unrecoverable! Mozy, as slow and unreliable as it is, at least doesn't corrupt the contents of the package file - but it does change the package file into a folder. You have to use a utility like FileMatey (Google it) it convert the recovered folder back into a package, and then it works. With iDrive, this is NOT the case. I don't want to SPAM too much in this comment, but I want to post my iDrive tech support transcript to show that they confirm the issue, so here it is (sorry it's long): Chat Transcript Visitor: Trevor Operator: Technical Support Company: dx_tests Started: 15 Jul 2010 11:13:45 Finished: 15 Jul 2010 11:57:26 Trevor: I'm attempting to recover a backed up Quicken file for Mac and it appears that iDrive has corrupted all of my backed up Quicken files... Call accepted by operator Technical Support. Currently in room: Technical Support. Technical Support: Hello Trevor, you are chatting with Karthik. Technical Support: How are you today? Trevor: ok Trevor: are you familiar with Mac OS X files? Trevor: specifically a Mac OS X package file? Technical Support: Yes. Let me see what I can do Trevor. Could you please let me know if you are receiving any errors? Trevor: no errors. The file/package is being backed up by iDrive on an automated schedule. When I recover the file/package, it is recovered as a FOLDER instead of a package file and the contents are corrupt. The backup is useless... your FAQ states that customers should ZIP the pagage files before backup - this defeats the automated purpose of iDrive Trevor: Any way I can get the package file restored? Technical Support: Trevor, let me check this issue from our end and will let you know what could be done. Technical Support: Please give me few minutes. Trevor: here is a link to your FAQ - http://www.idrive.com/online-backup-mac-faq.htm#12sub Technical Support: Trevor, could you please let me know if this package file in your account is being displayed as a folder or not? Trevor: its being displayed as a folder in iDrive. Trevor: and it is also a folder when recovered from iDrive back to my Mac Trevor: it is a package file originally on the Mac Trevor: I'm reading the FAQ - it states that iDrive doesn't backup files with resource forks and it also states that it may fail with package files... Trevor: Bottom line, iDrive is NOT compatible with Mac OS X. You should not be selling it to Mac users because you are giving them a false sense of security. Technical Support: Trevor, IDrive for Mac application is compatible with Mac OS X. We have tested this and there are many customers using without issues. Currently, could you please send us the log files from the application? Use the Send Error Report feature. You can find the Send Error Report feature when you right click on the IDrive Tray Icon and then click Send Error Report. Alternatively, you can find it under the Help menu, after you login into IDrive application. Trevor: there are no error reports. I don't feel that you are completely understanding what I am talking about. Trevor: the customers that are using it are unaware that they have been mislead. they are "using it without issues" because they don't know that they are losing data Trevor: where do you want me to send the error report? Trevor: what is the trouble ticket number? Technical Support: Trevor, the error report is a consolidated log that lets us know if there are any issues with the functionality of the application. This helps us in determining the issue effectively. Trevor, ignore the ticket# field for now. Fill in your details and submit. Technical Support: Trevor, we have not had any such reports. We have many customers who are backing up packages without issues. They are able to restore them as well. In this case we need to analyze what could have happened. Trevor: report sent successfully Technical Support: Ok. Let me check. Please give me 2 minutes. Trevor: how can you say this when it is listed in your FAQ? Trevor: you're lying to me!? Trevor: The IDrive for Mac application has not backed up some files inside the bundle / file package. Why? This could be because the files are Mac OS X files or hidden or the file names contain special characters. We recommend that you compress (zip) the entire bundle / file package and try backup. Trevor: Does IDrive for Mac backup files that contain extended attribute i.e. resource fork data? No. IDrive for Mac does not backup files that contain extended attributes i.e. resource fork data. Trevor: these two FAQ items make iDrive incompatible with Mac OS X. Technical Support: Trevor, could you please let us know the name of this package file? Trevor: Main Accounts Trevor: located in users/trevor/documents/quicken data/main accounts Trevor: main accounts is the package file Trevor: FYI the files inside of the package file are also being corrupted - most likely because they contain resource fork information. Technical Support: Trevor, we need to consult our development team on this. We will get back to you via email with an update at the earliest. Trevor: I have done some research and found more info... I am working on a quick solution Trevor: Apparently there is a "bundle bit" that can be toggled for a folder to make it a package. If this bundle bit is missing, the package shows as a folder instead of a folder Trevor: Mozy apparently has the same issue as iDrive for the Quicken data file when recovered Trevor: by toggling the bundle bit for the folder, it becomes a package (with Mozy's recovered file/package) Trevor: I am currently testing to see if this works for the file recovered from iDrive Trevor: i need 2 more minutes... almost there Technical Support: Ok Trevor. We thank you for the information. I will forward this to our development team for further analysis. Trevor: unfortunately, when toggling the iDrive recovered file/folder bundle bit, the contents are so corrupted that the file is unreadable by Quicken. Trevor: Will I hear back from iDrive regarding this issue? Technical Support: Yes Trevor. We will get back to you via email (rovertpressman@gmail.com). Technical Support: Is there anything else with IDrive I may assist you at the moment? Trevor: aliases have become corrupt, and more files become corrupt within the package... Trevor: I cannot see how iDrive can be considered compatible. Of all things for it to fail on, personal financial data is one of the worst! Trevor: You should test this on the OS X iphoto photo library as well - it is a package and is more than likely corrupt and unrecoverable when backed up with iDrive. Trevor: I have to switch back to Mozy now. Hope to see this major bug fixed in a future release. Technical Support: Trevor, we will analyze this further and determine the cause to fix it. We will get back to you with an update on this at the earliest. Trevor: thanks Technical Support: You are welcome Trevor.
Syzzygy
Syzzygy
Sep 17 2009
1.3.8
0.0
Sep 17 2009
0.0
Version: 1.3.8
I guess nothing beats a good, high quality fast external hard drive to back up one's data. hmmm? Personally, I wouldn't trust my valuable or sensitive data to some storage facility in God-knows-where. But, to each his/her own.
Kaz219
Kaz219
Jun 21 2009
1.3.4
3.0
Jun 21 2009
3.0
Version: 1.3.4
This app needs work. It very often freezes (it doesn't crash though): the spinning beach ball of death, and you can't do anything. This is not that relevevant if it is going on in the background since it always comes back somewhen. It's just annoying when you want to cancel an automatic backup (not enough bandwidth at the moment for example), you have to wait for iDrive to be responsive again. Another problem in my opinion is the memory usage. Right now, with *no* backup going on, it uses 150MB RAM ("real memory" column in activity monitor) which is quite a lot for a background daemon... Otherwise it's ok, and still a better (or "less worse") interface than the one from Mozy (where you can't even get rid of the menu bar item - mine is already cluttered, I really don't need another item there.).
Raddle
Raddle
May 7 2009
1.3.2
0.0
May 7 2009
0.0
Version: 1.3.2
Two requests, devs: 1. Could you please post revision notes? There's been two in about a week. 2. Sparkle updating would be very nice. Thank you!
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
Apr 15 2009
1.3.1
4.0
Apr 15 2009
4.0
Version: 1.3.1
I have been wanting offsite backup, and investigated several options. Finally I selected iDrive, mostly because their software is vastly better than that of any competitor. Yet I have one serious reservation. Since iDrive only permits archived backups, and since it limits you to 150 GB, sooner or later I'm going to use up my quota, and I haven't a clue what's going to happen then. I e-mailed their support asking about this, and never received an answer, which suggests to me that they don't have a clue either. So if by the time I hit my limit they haven't come up with a solution to this problem, I'll probably just walk away from this service and look for another one. And I bet this is going to be the reaction of a large part of their customer base. So it is really in their own best interest to face up to the fact they have a problem on their hands. There are two ways of fixing it, both of which I would find acceptable: a.) give us the option of simple mirrored backup with no archiving, or b.) use the Time Machine "first in first out" scheme, whereby old archives are automatically cleaned out to preserve space for new backups. Let's hope the developers wake up and smell the coffee over this one. (Better security protection would be very welcome too). Also, anybody with a fairly large body of data that needs to be backed up should be aware that the initial upload is going to take a long time (mine took over five days). If you aren't very cool about using the bandwidth throttle you're internet performance is going to take a massive hit.
Raddle
Raddle
Apr 5 2009
1.3
0.0
Apr 5 2009
0.0
Version: 1.3
Still persevering with this, though it's trying my patience a little. yes, there's kind of a sync option available now - though it seems to be a manual process (a per-time comparison of online and offline folders) that is far from intuitive, and not the same as mirroring. The multiple machine set-up seems flakey too. I want to like this service, and they are updating features fairly regularly, but it's just not right yet... I (and many other people) want simple, automatic mirroring of folders. This can't be that hard.
Sfurst
Sfurst
Mar 22 2009
1.2.9
3.0
Mar 22 2009
3.0
Version: 1.2.9
This is yet another backup-to-cloud client in the same vein as Mozy, SpiderOak, and JungleDisk. A 2GB account is free, while a whopping 150 GB can be had for $49.50/yr. Unfortunately, the Mac client serious lags behind the Windows client. As pointed out by numerous reviewers, there is no data encryption available for Mac, leaving your files unencrypted on the servers. While the web site claims versioning, this is only available for Windows; a poor substitute "Snapshots" is available for Mac, which makes you go through the last ten backups searching for a previous version. In my experience, Snapshots were unreliable as well as tedious (think Time Machine, only very limited). If I want a previous version of a file, I want to see what versions are available, not have to dig. Unlike SpiderOak and JungleDisk, the same storage cannot be shared between a Mac and a PC client. A web interface is available. Support from the developer is responsive but unhelpful. "Encryption is being consider in the future and we will notify our customers when it is available". I suspect this is quite a nice program on the PC, but it has a long way to go for us Mac users.
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
Mar 19 2009
1.2.9
0.0
Mar 19 2009
0.0
Version: 1.2.9
The lack of secure encryption on their server renders this software useless for all but the most casual uses for Mac users. We Mac users need something like this, but until iDrive becomes responsible enough to treat Mac users like PC users, this is not the solution we need.
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
Mar 12 2009
1.2.8
4.0
Mar 12 2009
4.0
Version: 1.2.8
I'm watching this one very closely because it's potenrtially so attractive. In view of customer complaints about its present shortcoming, it's a shame that the developers aren't more explicit about what's new in this version. In case the developer reads this, it's clear that it needs a.) mirrored backups, so that deletions, name changes, etc., made on the user's local computer are reflected on the remote site, b.) a cast-iron guarantee that the user's data cannot be accessed by the developer's employees, and I hope that a new version will address these concerns in the near future. As soon as these issues are fixed it's very likely that I'll become a happy subscriber. But right at the moment I'm a little hesitant to entrust my sensitive data to this product's safekeeping.
Raddle
Raddle
Feb 13 2009
1.2.4
0.0
Feb 13 2009
0.0
Version: 1.2.4
I like this, and have signed on for the package. However the Mac version needs the following very soon before I come to really rely upon it: 1. The option to sync with the server. I don't want to have to go up there and manually weed through files left there which have been moved or deleted on my computer. 2. Various app glitches, like the main window not remembering its size, and the apparent inability (or certainly non-obviousness) of how to select multiple files on the server for deletion at once.
Raddle
Raddle
Jan 26 2009
1.2.4
0.0
Jan 26 2009
0.0
Version: 1.2.4
I like this software/service, and have subscribed to the pro service, the Mac version of the software needs some work, however. It turns out that the Mac version is unable to mirror/sync your folders up to the server, which means any file which gets deleted/moved/renamed on your Mac gets left in the backup in the previous incarnations. I might not have subscribed so quickly had I realised this. It needs fixing soon, as does the Mac software's lack of continuous backup, and inability to remember window size and position. Otherwise, it's a very compelling and reassuring way of making sure your data's backed up.
Fariborz
Fariborz
Jan 15 2009
1.2.4
0.0
Jan 15 2009
0.0
Version: 1.2.4
Could anyone from Pro Softnet Corporation please comment the security issue brought up here. What's the use of storing data on a server where it can be easily spied on by any employee of the company?
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
Jan 15 2009
1.2.4
4.0
Jan 15 2009
4.0
Version: 1.2.4
What Frodo writes about lack of security bothers me. Otherwise, I might be interested in in subscribing to this service but I won't consider it until the developers can offer me a higher level of security. I also want to be assured that the issue of permissions doesn't interfere with successful uploading and backing up.
Frodo-life
Frodo-life
Jan 15 2009
1.2.4
0.0
Jan 15 2009
0.0
Version: 1.2.4
no private key for Mac only for windows so all your date is accessible by the iDrive staff on the server
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
Jan 14 2009
1.2.4
1.0
Jan 14 2009
1.0
Version: 1.2.4
There is a really great feature called "Auto-pause" that allows you to continue working at your normal paces online while the backup occurs. But once you start using active bandwidth to upload or communicate, it stops the IBackup upload, giving you full upload resources. This is really useful for people with slower DSL or Cable modem upload speeds. It keeps everything from seeming like it's grinding to a haul on my Mac, but maximizes the time things are open to continue my backup. I currently have a very slow upload speed (512Kbps), so I decided to test this feature. I checked "Auto-pause" and moved the slider down to 1%. I'm actually impressed because now my web browsing seems virtually untouched. You can choose any % you want that IDrive will continue using when Auto-pause is selected, giving all other apps partial priority over your upload bandwidth. Overall, I'm very impressed by iBackup so far. Interface is pretty good. It gives me a feeling of confidence and the app seems to be very comprehensive in features and automation.