Back to Automatic page
Automatic free download for Mac

Automatic Reviews

2.4.8
14 November 2016

Download content and files from RSS feeds automatically.

Shane-Smith
20 October 2010

Most helpful

I really like this software my only negative feedback is the price. Make it cheaper and I'm sold.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.5

Read 20 Automatic User Reviews

Rate this app:

RRRob
29 October 2015
Otomatic (sic) is the successor to Automatic. Upgrades from Automatic are available. http://codingcurious.com/otomatic/
Like (1)
Version 2.4.5
andgelcid
20 January 2015
No longer allow you to add new shows
Like
Version 2.4.5
User042
02 April 2014
test
Like
Version 2.4.4
1 answer(s)
schmelding
schmelding
07 October 2014
fail
Like (2)
User042
28 July 2013
I've used Automatic since 1.x and it's always worked well. I now use 2.x and it is even better. However I only use custom subscriptions with regex. I find that it is a nice clean app that does what it is supposed to. I also tried TVShows a few times but always ended up uninstalling it. As it wasn't as powerful (regex) or as nice to use as Automatic. I've had a couple of issues but it had some thing to do with some other file getting messed up which is extremely common with OSX software at the moment even with major league software. But luckily the support is amazing which prompted me to buy this software in the first place.
Like
Version 2.3.5
Walksonair
17 July 2013
After purchasing and using for less than a year, the program no longer works. I installed on a Mac Mini and did not update software or do anything different from when I bought the program. Email sent to support has gone unanswered. I cannot recommend buying this program. There is an awesome free alternative named "TVShows" that has filled the $20 void that this program's developers left.
Like
Version 2.3.5
andgelcid
18 October 2012
Activity, and the loading on the tvshow page crash everytime i open them. For a 20$ app this isn't cool at all. Even if this app is kinda great and save some time. I'm not ready to pay for it.
Like
Version 2.3.5
tobacco
26 September 2012
not good in quality
Like
Version 2.3.5
tobacco
26 September 2012
this ware could be better, so I do not think is a very good one! just an ok one!
Like
Version 2.3.5
kjconrad
12 December 2011
Sad to hear people say v2.x doesn't work well. I'm still using v1.x (available free on their website) and it's still rock solid and a wonderful tool. Not quite as easy as the newer version looks to use, but a large part of may automated TV Show workflow (Automatic -> Transmission -> Magic Media Marker -> iTunes/Apple TV).
Like
Version 2.1.7
Brighton-Pete
08 November 2011
As great. Not now. Always have to stop it, and 99% of the TV shows in the list have disappeared. Look for something else, as this doesn't look like it will be updated.
Like
Version 2.1.7
Chuckb84
26 April 2011
Good when it works, but for over a month it fails with about 90% of the shows. This has something to do with the RSS source, but the developer is very unresponsive. The support forum is FILLED with complaints "doesn't work", "stopped working", etc and the developer is making vague promises of an update "hopefully" in May. Great when it works, but the support is unimpressive. I can't recommend it over free alternatives unless there is some support.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.6
Piranha
02 December 2010
Fantastic app, saves me a lot of time :-)
Like (1)
Version 2.1.6
Shane-Smith
20 October 2010
I really like this software my only negative feedback is the price. Make it cheaper and I'm sold.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.5
Shane-Smith
13 May 2010
I'm not to sure why this is not showing up here but there is a new version 2. It's not free anymore but has lots of new features. You should check it out!
Like
Version 1.1
Dash77
08 February 2010
fantastic application! small footprit, lots of options, absolutly reliable! did replace TVSHOWS with automatic + transmission + showRSS btw. version 1.1.4 is out -- MU isn't uptodate here...
Like
Version 1.1
Stickyc
28 June 2009
Latest version locks up the Preferences pane when I click the Log button...
Like (1)
Version 0.9.8
Maboroshi
12 May 2009
Ironic that MacUpdate's RSS feed link gets rejected by this. I wonder if there's a workaround for this?
Like
Version 0.9.8
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
12 May 2009
Thanks for bringing this to our attention, we'll investigate.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.8
Wcitymike
26 February 2009
QUITE nice. Thank you, and thank you for making it freeware.
Like
Version 0.9.7
Lee123
13 January 2009
I currently have automator doing this very same thing and it is already on your mac. I will try this though as automator has a few quirks that this software may solve and it looks a little easier to set up.
Like
Version 0.9.5
Algos
12 January 2009
I've been using earlier versions of Automatic (initially offered at the Transmission forums) for a couple of months and have been very happy with it. Recommended!
Like
Version 0.9.5