Back to Espresso page
Espresso free download for Mac

Espresso Reviews

5.2.2
25 September 2018

Powerful HTML, XML, CSS, and JavaScript development tool.

Tim27
16 August 2013

Most helpful

Another .X update. Macrabbit, what we could use is the next version. 2.x has been out for a long time now. We need the functionality of CSSEdit. Many of your customers have asked for it, but you still have not provided it.
Like (18)
Version 2.1.2

Read 100 Espresso User Reviews

Rate this app:

Iaian7
30 June 2019
The new developer announced this spring they are seeking to sell off the software rights; doesn't sound like they'll be updating it any further.
Like (2)
Version 5.2.2
Tim27
23 May 2018
The new owner of this app has a LOT of work to do if he wants to win back trust with MacRobbit's customer base. Hope he's up to the challenge. I'd like to see it back to a usable app like CSSEdit.
Like (5)
Version 5.1.1
2 answer(s)
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
05 November 2018
Yeah. It's really sad how a good app, CSSEdit, with wonderful usability, became a simplified, dumbed-down Espresso.

And in the latest version of Espresso (version "5") they've REALLY messed things up. Low contrast, small text, small abstract icons, bad X-Ray and override implementation... Really sad.
Like (2)
Iaian7
Iaian7
30 June 2019
Agreed! I'm still hoping someone will release an updated CSSEdit-like app that includes the newer CSS3 features, but for now...I just have to keep using the old CSSEdit, because nothing else comes close!
Like
fukurokujo
18 November 2017
Expensive for the very very rare and tiny updates it gets and it does nothing better than any texteditor + codekit etc. does. It went downhill from cssedit quite a bit.
Like (4)
Version 5.0.4
jrxpress
14 October 2017
I replaced Dreamweaver for Espresso a few years ago, and I love it ;-) so does all my web projects
Like
Version 5.0.4
Albertkinng
30 September 2017
guys I've been an espresso user for a long time. I like it. I need to know if it worst the upgrade? my old version is working on High Sierra so...
Like
Version 5.0.3
Mikael-B
31 July 2017
Kudos to the development team for listening to reason and going back to normal versioning that you can understand. Espresso is a serious contender for any web developer. I'll review it fully later when I've had the time to get into it.
Like (2)
Version 5.0.1
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
11 September 2017
Unfortunately I couldn't do this for yet some time as I had to go back to a machine that only support OS X 10.11. I think the 10.12 requirement is reasonable though not ideal. 10.13 is around the corner, so….
Like
Scott-C-H-
21 July 2017
It's a lost cause at $79. Buyers, be aware; MacRabbit has a past track record on abandoning their apps for several years at a time, and it looks like they are already slowing down like they always have. I would not trust this developer at all. It would be a matter of time before they completely disappear again like they always have.

As for the product itself, I do not see anything compelling enough to throw $79 at them. Atom, Brackets and Visual Studio Code are all FREE, they are open source, and the community has maintained all of them consistently. Using one of these editors with Chrome Dev Tools, there is nothing in Espresso that makes me think it is worth $79.

MacRabbit would be better off creating a lightweight visual code editing tool for CSS animation, CSS transition, and Flexbox that is similar to Webflow's implementation of these CSS features. There is no desktop app equivalent of Webflow's CSS editor that's worth considering. Pinegrow comes somewhat close, but its convoluted UI is counter-productive. I find it quicker and better to just code by hand. Espresso could change that if it offered those features.
Like (5)
Version 5
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
31 July 2017
I think arguing about the price is somewhat odd here. If you're not making $79 in a few hours of coding then maybe you need new clients?

I have only tried version 3 and it's one of the best text editors I've tried for HTML/CSS. I applaud them for not going Macaw, PInegrow and all other tired "visual" time wasters. Will try version 5 soon.
Like
Tim27
21 July 2017
Any updates coming soon? It's been a while now.
Like
Version 5
1 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
15 March 2018
I have to say, the number of decent updates to this app with any kind of new features given the new "subscription pricing model" is pretty disappointing. I doubt I will be paying for another version.
Seriously, MacRabbit. You know what people want. They've told you many times... CSSEdit updated. Espresso ain't it.
Like
RJC.NJNYC
25 May 2017
Replying to MacUpdate's reply on my 5-11-17 comment, My information was based on an email I received on 5-10-17 promoting Espresso v3 via Paddle.
Like
Version 5
ChrisMoon
14 May 2017
General mixed feelings: + I like because is similar to my workflow (one man army) + Xray and preview + Dynamo - general strange developer long time without any update, without info about new version for clients (I'm Espresso 2 user long time), support without responding, now "this" versioning - This dont give trusting, I like this app, but I don't know what will be soon... - no options for updating from v2 (promo price)
Like (3)
Version 5
RJC.NJNYC
11 May 2017
I believe its v3, not 5. And developer is giving a 25% discount from $99 (via Paddle), which should be $74.25?
Like
Version 5
1 answer(s)
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
11 May 2017
RJphotovideo, when Espresso first moved from version 2.x to its new release, the version *was* version 3, but MacRabbit has consistently changed their major version numbers (from 3 to 4, and now to 5). If you download the app and open an info window for it, it'll indicate that it's version 5.
Like
seba-szwarc
02 May 2017
I don't like situation when changing version of the app with small usefull features requiers me MacOS Sierra. I am on El Cap and my laptop won't get upgrde to Sierra, so rly? I stick with version 2 :)
Like (1)
Version 5
3 answer(s)
ChrisMoon
ChrisMoon
09 May 2017
Hi Seba do you have an old version (2.2.4)? Unfortunately I overwritten by last version (trial). No answer from support. On espresso website old versions not available for download - for me strange. Pozdrawiam
Like (2)
seba-szwarc
seba-szwarc
09 May 2017
Yes I have.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/u4bsz46ksrci0e8/Espresso.zip?dl=0
Like (1)
ChrisMoon
ChrisMoon
10 May 2017
Thank you :)
Like
fukurokujo
29 April 2017
X-Ray is really it's only useful feature! The rest are badly documented, very limited and do not fit into a modern workflow. The Developers should simply bring back a modernized CSSEdit and concentrate on that.
Like (4)
Version 5
CSS Monkey
28 April 2017
This just keeps getting worse. CSSEdit was a class act that could have used a decent text editor. Nothing on the Mac did CSS better. Then along came Espresso, a weak text editor that did CSS rather poorly, and not as good as CSS Edit, which, though dead, still works on my Mac. Espresso was lame from the beginning, despite a few upgrades, one of which I paid for to get the CSS options, which then died on the vine and went into disrepair for a couple of years. Now it's back, with even fewer CSS options than earlier versions of Espresso, and a crazy subscription. The versioning scheme is nuts. So is the price. The interface ranks among the most confusing I've found in a commercial text editor; clumsy and unintuitive. Note To Developer: Fix CSSEdit to run well on macOS Sierra, add a decent text editor, and I'm willing to pay a modest annual fee for what was the best CSS editor, Mac or Windows. Espresso just doesn't cut it. Not worth the money. Text editors I can find anywhere. A good CSS editor is worth gold.
Like (18)
Version 5
5 answer(s)
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
07 June 2017
I agree with everything you've written. Each and every word. And the developer is like "whatever" when offered valid feedback.
Like (2)
Iaian7
Iaian7
18 June 2017
Agreed. I have yet to find any usable alternative to CSSedit, and of course now it's dead in Sierra. Really hoping someone steps in with a new product.
Like
JoeyAnthony
JoeyAnthony
24 August 2017
I actually really like Espresso. It's no CSSEdit, but I find the app to be intuitive, aesthetically pleasing, and a great compliment to my workflow. So why don't I use it as my primary editor? I just don't have faith that it will continue to be updated regularly. Espresso has been abandoned numerous times over the years and I don't want to go through that again. So, as nice as version 3 (or 5 or whatever they want to call it) is, I'll probably stick to something else.
Like (1)
Colin-☕
Colin-☕
10 October 2017
That's odd, Ianian7. I'm running it just fine in Sierra. (Haven't gotten to High Sierra yet.)
TIP: If you go into CSSEdit's Resources folder (right-click on app, "Show package contents") you can edit the AutoCompletion.plist file to add new CSS attributes to CSSEdit. (But make a backup first!)
Like
Iaian7
Iaian7
12 October 2017
@Colin You're absolutely right. I don't know why the icon was marked as un-usable (big grey cancel mark overlaid on top), but I have it working now as well! Thank you!
Like
Macd
26 April 2017
Coming (really) soon…

Version 99:
- Fixed a typo in a help file.

This is just stupid. Call me whatever you want, but I don't feel like developer tools need this sort of versioning scheme. I mean we, as developers, do understand what full release, point release and bug fix release means. This approach brings the software to level of general-public oriented stuff like Chrome and Firefox (which I still don't get, but guess they consider the bigger version the better, or whatever…).

I don't like to be played in this way, so the software went from "could probably buy" to "go to hell with your versioning even if your software is decent enough". Espresso has its limited use to me (I loved CSSEdit, and it still is unmatched in its own field), but again, not a fan of being part of this stupid, unprofessional versioning game. I'll just use WebStorm, PHPStorm, textmate, sublime, atom, CodeKit, gulp, webpack and whatnot, so thank-you-very-much…
Like (6)
Version 5
1 answer(s)
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
07 June 2017
Yes, that versioning scheme is beyond lame. That "Version 99: - Fixed a typo in a help file." made me chuckle:)
Like
ylluminate
26 April 2017
This has to be a mistake... I don't know about you, but this Chrome'esque numbering is INSANE and very much counterintuitive given such a well established history of how we can expect small incremental fixes in the .xxx pattern vs full incrementation. :(
Like (6)
Version 5
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
26 April 2017
I was going to purchase Espresso, but this stupid versioning scheme is very off-putting. I'm not going with a product I cannot trust. What's going on, MacRabbit?
Like (3)
Tekl
25 April 2017
It's really stupid to increase the major version number for a single bug fix.
Like (9)
Version 5
4 answer(s)
Shane-Smith
Shane-Smith
25 April 2017
I agree. I hate this type of versioning. (Chrome version 58)
Like (4)
Tekl
Tekl
25 April 2017
Google releases bug fixes for Chrome without increasing the major version. They also combine multiple bug fixes in most cases.
Like (3)
George6
George6
25 April 2017
a rare issue fixed... raised the version from 4 to 5... wow :)
Like (1)
Tim27
Tim27
26 April 2017
I'm thinking the reason MacRabbit is doing this is to try to make people see the value of their new yearly pricing structure - "Look how many updates we did in one year!"
Dear MacRabbit, please reconsider this version strategy... OR do more in the updates to warrant a full version number.
Like (3)
Teksestro
13 April 2017
Nice interface, but unfortunately lacking in features (and stability) for modern web development. If you're looking for an 'all-in-one' solution, specialised IDEs like Visual Studio or WebStorm offer more advanced solutions. If you're looking for feature-full, robust development with customised build tools, then Sublime Text and CodeKit are a combination that is hard to beat...
Like
Version 4
2 answer(s)
hmurchison
hmurchison
25 April 2017
Stability has been fine for me. Haven't had one crash. VS or Webstorm are nice but they are more expensive and non Mac like. I like the combo of Sublime and Codekit but that's two applications versus firing up one. Espresso is heading in that direction (build, mixins etc) though with Dynamo but it's going to take a bit for the dev to get there.
Like
Rochade
Rochade
26 April 2017
@hmurchison: you don't actually have to fire up CodeKit manually as whenever you make changes in Sublime, it will automatically start and compile your stuff (once you set it up).
Like (2)
Shane-Smith
11 April 2017
Version 3 just came out and now there is a version 4?
Like
Version 4
2 answer(s)
Sandro-Bilbeisi
Sandro-Bilbeisi
11 April 2017
April Fool's a few days late !
and to add insult to injury also requires macOS 10.12.2 or later
Like (2)
@timi
@timi
11 April 2017
On Twitter they say they're going to take the Firefox route:
https://twitter.com/espressoapp
Like
Tim27
31 March 2017
The app is pretty polished overall and I like the x-ray feature. I am pretty disappointed in the lack of CSS options. For example, the Display section still lacks options when you select List or especially for Flex. That really needs to be fleshed out. CSSEdit used to have options for List items, but this was never added to Espresso. Not sure why? And as another person said, animation options, blending modes, etc. would be nice. I'm also not a fan of the new app icon. The icon in version 2 was great and said everything it needed to say. No need to change that. I am fine with the payment model as long as this does not cause issues in the future. By this I mean if the app has a bug that does not get fixed when your year end is up and it is causing issues with your workflow. Hoping Macrabbit takes that into account and would give you and extra month free or something if that should happe. I know Adobe does not do that and their software is still riddled with bugs, which is why people are baling on them for apps like Affinity.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
hmurchison
hmurchison
31 March 2017
Tim solid review. I'm certainly looking forward to seeing where Dynamo is going and a revamp of the CSS handling. I've put in about 10 hours so far in E3 with no crashes which is a far cry from my experience with Panic Coda (sadly).
Like
orsi
31 March 2017
After years of happy using my favourite development tool Espresso. I was close to be forced to switch to another editor. So I'm very excited to see, Espresso still alive and kicking.

The new release has a lot of new and unique features. For me the most important thing is support for contemporary techniques (LESS, SASS, SCSS, Markdown etc.). With «Dynamo» a new and very interesting workflow tool is introduced. It is fascinating to see, how SASS code almost immediately reflects in the preview. My favourite Espresso feature always was the superb CSS section with the Xray tool, which is an invaluable help for styling elements. Now the Xray inspector not only works for with internal previews but also within your favourite browser: You're free to preview and live-edit in a browser with the newest technology! But espresso is not only a great and well designed editor. It is also a clever FTP tool with comfortable syncing and browsing capabilities as well as a convenient account manager.

A few words to the new licence model:
The last time I paid for espresso was in 2011. It was about € 25.– for the 2.0 Upgrade. Since then this app helped me so many times not only to work with pleasure but also to earn money with. I'm not a fan of subscription models. But in this case you don't lose the app when you decide not to extend the licence. You just lose the ability to update. This seems pretty fair to me. This model ensures a more foreseeable income for the developer and thereby for me there is more confidence in a constantly enhanced pro-tool. The best things in life may be free - but the best tools are still worth to pay for. :)

The new release ist great but not perfect. There are still some features missing and some bugs crawling. The CSS section is not complete. I'm missing a flex box section and some graphical editors for new CSS 3 features like animation, transform, blending modes etc. But I'm confident to see these features soon in upcoming updates. And as we know MacRabbit - it will be implemented in a very beautiful, new and clever manner.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Rochade
31 March 2017
Due to an almost "dead" project, I migrated to other tools (Sublime, CodeKit, …). I can see Espresso 3 adds a lot of useful features but actually I have them all (or all I need). So should I upgrade? I think I won't. $59 for long time existing users for one year is too much for me. The developer also seems to not even care about loyal customers. The price is NOT an upgrade price, it is the price for everyone. I do have a problem with time-based licenses, especially in case an app is new or hasn't seen regular useful updates in the past. I would have instantly upgraded Espresso for a full upgrade license (no time-limit) and for about 50% of the standard rate (~ $40). Even I love the new features, I will have pass on this one and let you go your own way.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
macpayne
macpayne
12 April 2017
This is exactly what I'd like to say. Also, I have been trying espresso for an hour and I couldn't see espresso will beat my current workflow (Sublime, Codekit). It's even not as fast as sublime yet. So I don't have any reason to pay for $79 (I'm a 2011 user and I'm not elligible for the upgrade price)
Like
Kris-nx
30 March 2017
I'm a long time fan of Espresso and the great, but discontinued, CSSEdit. I downloaded the Espresso 3 trial, used it for about 30 mins, and was pulling out my credit card to purchase the upgrade when I read the bottom of the Buy page where it say's "One Year of Free Updates" and goes on to claim its not a Subscription but instead a "time-based replacement". Yeah, right! Espresso has fallen in line with other good apps - Sketch (soon the be a subscription), TextExpander...etc. The one feature of Espresso I use the most is X-Ray, but the developer tools built into most browsers does an adequate job. Then I think of the really good free editors these days -Atom, Brackets, Visual Code Studio with really good addons/extensions which definitely do the job. I'll continuing using Espresso 3 until the trial ends and decide whether its worth paying for a "time-based replacement"! Probably not!
Like (2)
Version 3.0
7 answer(s)
hmurchison
hmurchison
30 March 2017
Everything is essentially a subscription at some point. The subscriptions I try to avoid are the ones in where I no longer have access to the tool or the files that i've created. With Espresso it will still work on the 13th month of your ownership you simply will not get any additional updates. That's not a big deal to me because text editors evolve rather slowly. What this pricing plan allows for is for me to choose when I want to hop back in and refresh the license assuming there are features I now have no access to that I value.

As far as the free editors. They are what they are. Atom is a resource hog, Visual Studio Code performs horribly and Brackets has a slow update cycle. None give you a Mac feel

https://github.com/jhallen/joes-sandbox/blob/master/editor-perf/readme.md
Like
Tim27
Tim27
31 March 2017
"With Espresso it will still work on the 13th month of your ownership you simply will not get any additional updates" -
That's great.. UNLESS the app has a bug that is affecting your work and it doesn't get fixed til that next update.
Like (1)
Kris-nx
Kris-nx
04 April 2017
Ok, I've got to eat my words! I used Espresso 3 (E3) to finish a project over the weekend and the app is solid, not that version 2 wasn't, but the new feature's have me loving E3! So, I paid! I'm still not a fan of "time-based-replacement", but I can't imagine my license expiring and MacRabbit leave me with a buggy version unless I pay up again.. but I'll have to wait and see! .
Like (1)
hmurchison
hmurchison
04 April 2017
@Kris-nx . I'm not a fan either of the subscription model but i'm glad that I know things will still work at the end of my 1st year and if there are features that I really need I can re-up my license. I bought in and like you it helped my quickly see error in my code and fix it. The developer has intimated that he's got a lot of ideas about improving CSS and the Dynamo feature so we'll see what he can get accomplished in the next year.
Like
Tim27
Tim27
04 April 2017
"The developer has intimated that he's got a lot of ideas about improving CSS and the Dynamo feature so we'll see what he can get accomplished in the next year."

I really hope that's true. We've gone through Espresso 1 and 2 without much improvement to the CSS styling section of the app. Some things were a backwards step from CSSEdit, so I hope Macrabbit will take that to heart and improve this area.
Like
BobRockefeller
BobRockefeller
12 April 2017
A key difference between Espresso and Atom, Brackets, and Visual Studio Code is that Espresso is a real Mac app. It uses a preferences dialog instead of a steam of text to configure. It looks like it belongs on the Mac and is not a cross-platform CSS/JavaScript app.

That said, it still must compete on features and community support. So far, it's not quite where I would think a $79 dollar/year program should be: there is little community, support can be slow, and there is no user forum to share ideas and solutions (that I can find.
Like
Tim27
Tim27
13 April 2017
@Bob - Yes, a user forum would really be nice.
Like
Albertkinng
14 August 2016
So, today is 2016 and I still use this app as it's new inside my El Capitan OS in my beloved Mac. So, if you're asking yourself if it's good idea to buy this app the answer is yes. I have Coda too but this little gem for the price alone it will save you time and headaches in the long run! go for it!
Like (1)
Version 2.2.3
4 answer(s)
CSS Monkey
CSS Monkey
06 October 2016
CSSEdit was one of the best CSS editors ever; Mac or Windows. Espresso, not so much. CSSEdit on macOS Sierra still works but is a bit buggy. Espresso does not work on either of my Macs (iMac, MBP). Seems like it is still for sale but appears to be more abandonware than anything. Sad.
Like (1)
Iaian7
Iaian7
02 February 2017
I still use CSSEdit as well; it remains the primary tool I use when designing for web. Espresso was never able to replace it, and I'm still hoping someone builds something similar without abandoning it (while adding CSS3 support!).
Like
Vb-23
Vb-23
22 February 2017
I just started playing around with it, but there is a public beta for v3 available on the website.
Like
Iaian7
Iaian7
02 March 2017
Espresso 3 Public Beta started in November 2016, I didn't realise it was still in active development!
Like
Strider72
09 July 2015
To me this will always be "The App That Killed CSSEdit". It's just staggering to me that a company could have such a beloved, useful product, and replace it with a LESS useful, bloated app. This is the biggest such stumble since Netscape Navigator -- the most popular web browser of its day -- decided they really needed to roll in an email client and some other crud and became Netscape Communicator. Less useful, more expensive, and harder to use than what came before. Please, Please Please, bring back CSSEdit as a stand-alone product.
Like (4)
Version 2.2.3
2 answer(s)
Eyeless
Eyeless
20 September 2015
I still use Style Master - think it was much better and easier to use than CSSEdit ... not sure why CSSEdit got so much more popular ... .
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
10 November 2015
I think it's a bit unfair to call Espresso bloated just because CSSEdit isn't around.. Espresso happens to be one of the more useful text editors out there and with a unique preview as well. I develop very fast with it.
Like
Tim27
27 June 2015
It's great to see updates to this, but I would really love to see a new version with modern features and, as others have requested, more like CSSEdit.
Like (3)
Version 2.2.3
thomasb-1
06 January 2015
I got back to this one often, to see if it has gotten as useful a learning tool, as CSSEdit was, for us non-experts, and it's just not! I still keep the latest - old - version of CSSEdit on my Dropbox, and install it as the first app, before Coda or any other editor, because I simply can't get my web-workflow to work unless I have it. Espresso is useless for the majority, who want to learn CSS - we NEED CSSEdit back in an updated form, soon!
Like (5)
Version 2.2.2
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
10 November 2015
Espresso is very useful for us that knows our HTML and CSS.
Like
Johnleh
21 November 2014
I own this as well as CSSEdit. I still use CSSEdit. I wish these guys had just developed CSSEdit a bit more instead of going after Coda and ruining it. For one thing, on the laptop it powers up the GPU. Otherwise, a general drop in usability, still.
Like (5)
Version 2.2.2
Mikael-B
24 April 2014
No rgba? Seriously? This is 2014, not 2001. I will simply not pay for this. I'm really getting tired ot the available mediocre, at best, web development software for Mac that always seem to miss the mark. Web development software should aid and make day to day operations faster and not get in the way or limit modern web development. I use the Web Developer Tools in Firefox for all CSS work, which should be telling. Once you know what you're doing, instant graphical response Espresso hands down.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.5
5 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
24 April 2014
The last bit should read "instant graphical response *beats* Espresso hands down".
Like
myersd
myersd
20 May 2014
Unless your talking about somewhere else Espresso supports RGBa? For example for color: (font color) I select the color "block" select the color I want and adjust the opacity slider. Espresso enters rgba(37, 45, 175, 0.41)?
Like (3)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
20 May 2014
Great myered! I missed that slider. Thank you!
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
20 May 2014
@myersd, your helpful insightful comments awoke my curiosity and I opened a second window, even as there is no obvious way I can see to open 2 windows. So I have one window with a rendered preview in both windows and I choose "Style sheets" and as I start to edit the code the second preview window updates with it. Exactly what I wanted. Maybe Espresso can work for me now. I'm going to try it out again some more and try do do a design with it. I bought Macaw and I'm already fed up with it.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
20 May 2014
OK, in case anyone else would like to try this the most intuitive way to open the web preview in a second window that I've found is to click the preview button and then drag the tab eye icon in left column until it becomes its own window. Then you move it to where you can see it while working on your code. I do think this should be the default way of Espresso to display previews simply because it is a very fast way of working.
Like (2)
Macluddite
05 March 2014
I have downloaded and tried to use espresso as a replacement for CSSEdit every couple months since it first started shipping. I tried again tonight. The idea that this includes CSSEdit 3 is just not realistic. The CSS editor interface is worse, the selection of (for lack of a better description) GUI tools certainly isn't expanded to any degree. Where are the CSS3 properties? Clicking on styles in the inspector only occasionally takes you to the corresponding code in the CSS file now. I really want this software to work. I used CSSEdit religiously as part of my workflow for a long time, but it's getting very long in the tooth. It seems to me that the CSS editor is the one part of espresso that should really be polished. CSSEdit was brilliant, people loved using it, and as a tool it worked exceptionally well. I am crestfallen by the thought that the CSS editor in espresso may never be an adequate replacement. I've liked macrabbit's style and the previous software they have produced. As much as it pains me, at this point I'm willing to move on. Here's hoping they pull a rabbit out of a hat, or someone else makes a usable CSSEditor soon.
Like (10)
Version 2.1.5
3 answer(s)
thomasb-1
thomasb-1
01 January 2015
I TOTALLY agree with you! I still keep the latest - old - version of CSSEdit on my Dropbox, and install it as the first app, before Coda or any other editor, because I simply can't get my web-workflow to work unless I have it. Espresso is useless, we NEED CSSEdit back in an updated form, soon!
Like (1)
Msl
Msl
14 May 2015
It's expensive, but you should take a look at Stylizer. While I have not purchased this software yet, the trial was pretty impressive.
Like (1)
Chekka
Chekka
09 September 2015
CSSEdit is – without any updates since 2010 !!! – the hero! Please bring CSSEdit back to life and just add the new CCS3 definitions for autompletion. So you will make many people very happy.

I tried Espresso 2 by myself and are definitely not willing to any fee for this product.
Like
Mikael-B
25 February 2014
Espresso is certainly not bad and you can do some serious html/css/javascript stuff in it. I do lack a better overview of ftp connections though. While Espresso did upload properly it won't make a listing for me to verify I can see everything nor do I see a log anywhere. Also, there doesn't seem to be an obvious way to add language constructs, like HTML5 data attributes or template languages. SASS? Compass? I suppose I can get Codekit for that, but I'm not certain Espresso will fit well into my workflows. If you need something that works for pure HTML/CSS-oriented sites Espresso is probably very nice. I'm saving the money for Macaws, however, even if it's something else it's the results that counts.
Like
Version 2.1.5
6 answer(s)
myersd
myersd
20 May 2014
Not sure what's missing for you on FTP I think it is one of the best because I can Sync between multiple servers with multiple connections set up on the same project DEV/TST/UAT etc... I can either push, pull, or sync. I also like how it doesn't make me push all or none. (right click on a single file). I can test everything on DEV then once it's good push to TEST for example. I also like how you can skip a file or always skip a file. And it shows exactly what was pushed or pulled and it's current progress. When it's complete you get a list of checked off files. I use GIT for deployment now so the FTP isn't that important but, when I do use FTP/sFTP it works fine.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
20 May 2014
Where does it show "exactly what was pushed or pulled and it's current progress". I seem to get no info at all. Is there a specific view that have this info?
Like
myersd
myersd
20 May 2014
I for example have a list of 2 servers under the Publish drop down on the right. aws_dev and aws_tst. I select aws_dev and then click sync on the right. (since I want to sync my changes with the servers there are other options under the buttons as well). Espresso than logs into your server and check the files (you can see that progress). once that's done it will show you what you need to sync. You can manually make changes in that window if you like. once you are happy with the changes. Press Sync (on the right) again and it will show you the progress of each file. when complete it will show you a little check box and a up arrow or down arrow (for uploaded or downloaded or course). I would show screen grabs but you can't add them here. for example I can see exactly that 2 files where uploaded since they both have a check box next to them and up arrows.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
20 May 2014
@myersd, thank you for being so helpful. I'm afraid you lost me there though. I have the server set and it's visible under "Publish". There are no buttons or menus or any other kind of choices I can see there. The big content area just says "nor connected". I see no way of connecting or making a listing of the server content. What I can do is select a file in the site and choose to publish it. This will work, provided I know the full path to the published files folder on the server so I could set this up in the server settings. I can't see where I am in the site as I can do in full-fledged file transfer app like Cyberduck. I do get a symbol to the left of the published file, Is this what you mean with "a list of checked off files"? I don't understand how you're supposed to set a file to never sync.
Like
myersd
myersd
20 May 2014
Is your toolbar hidden at the top of the window? go under View > Show Toolbar. when you select a publish server on the left the button should be in the toolbar at the top right. Give that a shot and let me know.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
20 May 2014
@myersd, that's great. I guess this I don't like the far right buttons because I didn't read them as relevant to the left column. I'm not in favor of that choice, at least on my big screen. However, the buttons are there and I can get the file list. That's wonderful. Thank you! I still felt the biggest obstacle was the fact I can't see a design when I'm working with the CSS So I started fiddling with a separate window. Read the details further up.
Like
Msl
04 December 2013
I have no idea how to properly use this software as there is no manual, and the online help is virtually nonexistent. I've got better things to do with my time than to try and guess how this editor is supposed to work.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.5
Marcossi
24 November 2013
I second everybody prefers CSSEdit here. The first one that can make a new clean CSS editor that fully supports CSS 3, and all browsers will have my money on the spot!
Like (9)
Version 2.1.4
Tim27
16 August 2013
Another .X update. Macrabbit, what we could use is the next version. 2.x has been out for a long time now. We need the functionality of CSSEdit. Many of your customers have asked for it, but you still have not provided it.
Like (18)
Version 2.1.2
myersd
18 July 2013
Long time Espresso user. I really like the workflow area for open files. It stays at the top no matter how long the file list below is unlike another editor. I also really like the Sync feature where you can tell it to ignore or always ignore (which it of course remembers). Of course it has live sync as well. The Search project files works great as well. I also like being able to sync to many servers as needed (ie. testing, dev, QA, production in our workflow). Editing works as expected. The only thing I don't like is the slow search over my large projects. Once my projects get more then a few hundred files the search starts to really drag. The new FTP/sFTP is smokin fast! -- I wish they would speed up the search! -- oh and I like being able to write plugin for it in any shell language (I use PHP for example)
Like
Version 2.1.1
Phaleron
15 July 2013
Here's my little rant: I hate it when System support is dropped mid-version. I only recently bought Espresso 2.0.5, but now I cannot benefit from any bugfixes because my system version is no longer supported. Dear developer, don't be unethical. Please, maintain support for the system you begin a version with, or else tell us upfront you'll be dropping support so we don't invest in a dud.
Like (10)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
15 July 2013
Without knowing MacRabbit's reasons for dropping older OS support in 2.1 now, it would have been more considerate and acceptable if they'd preannounced it would happen after the public 10.9 release and postponed it until then. And yhy they'd do it any time without bumping the major version# and/or a preannouncement is a questionable decision.
Like (4)
MrEko
15 July 2013
I'm another CSSEdit user who believes it's still far superior to Espresso's CSS editor. As such I started a petition to persuade MacRabbit to either restart development of CSSEdit (which they say they have no intention of doing) or to release the source code as open-source. While it may not change anything it can't hurt to voice your opinion so please consider signing the petition http://www.petitionbuzz.com/petitions/cssedit.
Like (11)
Version 2.1
5 answer(s)
Tekl
Tekl
15 July 2013
What are you missing in Espresso?
Like (1)
MrEko
MrEko
15 July 2013
Basically I miss the entire UI, it felt more intuitive for CSS dev. But the beauty of CSSEdit is that it was designed for only one purpose and that's what made it better than everything else. The features that were dropped in the Espresso version were in part what made CSSEdit a standout. It's not that I think the CSS editor in Espresso is bad, far from it, it's just that CSSEdit is such an outstanding example of purpose-built software that as soon as you start stripping-out features to fit it into a larger application you lose the magic that made it great in the first place.
Like (5)
Tekl
Tekl
15 July 2013
It would be very interesting if you can be more concrete. What’s better in the CSSEdit-UI and what features are dropped in Espresso? I think Espresso is still very CSS centered.
Like
Echoz
Echoz
15 July 2013
In my list of still un-implemented feature requests, all but the first are working CSSEdit features. 1) Ability to move *down* as well as *up* the DOM hierarchy in the hierarchy bar (and a key command for this would be well used). All other tools of this functionality work this way. 2) Bring back Format / Re-Indent that we had in CSSEdit2. This was essential making a minified stylesheet readable. Yes, I keep CSSEdit for this feature, but it's a huge bother to switch apps to use it. 3) A javascript bookmarklet to preview the browser page in Espresso's web preview like we have in CSSEdit2. It's essential for easily getting urls into the preview. CSSEdit's bookmarklet was this: javascript:document.location.href='cssedit:preview?'+location.href; 4) Allow the preview's inspector to remember it's window position. 5) Keep Preview Inspector active after clicking.
Like (5)
Cowicide
Cowicide
18 July 2013
Agreed, losing 10.6.8 compatibility killed it for me.
Like (2)
Phaleron
09 February 2013
The developer's website states: "Edit any website's CSS and see it update in real-time. No need to save, publish or reload." Does anyone know where and how this feature can be invoked?
Like (1)
Version 2.0.5
4 answer(s)
Marcossi
Marcossi
15 March 2013
I am also looking for this.
Like (1)
Tekl
Tekl
15 July 2013
You (or Espresso) just add a comment to the CSS file which URL it should override. There's a trail version out there.
Like
steelie
steelie
10 October 2013
Go to “Preview” > “New Web Preview” or press Command+Option+P which will open a new preview window. Enter the URL of the site you want to tweak in the address bar. Click on the “Style Sheets” button/icon to the right of the address bar. Click on the stylesheet you wish to tweak from the drop-down menu. Edit CSS with real-time updates.
Like
CareyB
CareyB
20 October 2014
What's really great about this particular feature, is that you can 'Override' the online stylesheet with a local one. I use this all the time for tweaking Drupal, Joomla, and Wordpress themes. Target the item in the preview pane, which can take you to the style in the local copy of the stylesheet, tweak it how you want, then add the style to the theme you're hacking.

Note that you can drag the Preview pane out, so you have the stylesheet, and live Preview showing at the same time.
Like
Tim27
04 December 2012
MacRabbit, you have just released 2.0.5. It would do your customers a great service to update your blog and let us at least know you are working on Espresso 3 and some of the features (new or requested) it may introduce. I like this app, but like others have said, it is nowhere near as good as CSSEdit was and is starting to lag behind other editors in functionality. While Slicy is cool, I don't want to see Espresso abandoned in favor of little apps like that.
Like (7)
Version 2.0.5
1 answer(s)
Uncoy
Uncoy
11 December 2012
Thanks for letting me know the current version is still less good than CSSedit (still in use here).
Like (3)
Tekl
04 December 2012
The development progress of Espresso is very disappointing. We always get only small bug fixes but no feature improvements. • What about handling CSS files with a cachebuster string in the link tag (style.css?xyz)? • What about resizing the preview to smaller sizes for developing responsive and mobile websites? • What about a find command inside the preview? • What about previewing print style rendering? • What about enhancing Web inspector to jump to the source inside Espresso and not into the inspectors code view? • What about Magic Mouse navigation gestures in the preview? • What about remembering the window position and visibility of the Inspector? • What about auto completion of words inside the file (or project) like in other editors? (Even Textedit can do this) 3 years ago I asked for cashbuster support and improved auto complete. They said they’re looking to improve Espresso. Nothing happened. Espresso seemed so promising.
Like (8)
Version 2.0.5
myersd
27 November 2012
I really like this program. It's clean and does what I need. I really like the "workspace" idea. Most other editors use tabs which become worthless after you get 8 or more open. It's nice being able to write plugins as well.
Like
Version 2.0.4
Macd
10 November 2012
Well.. it's been a year since my previous review. Unfortunately nothing at all changed. A few 0.0.1 updates not fixing any real usability issues and not making Espresso any step closer to being the self-proclaimed CSSEdit replacement. But that's about it. Luckily, CSSEdit still works and does the job for me. But I paid for Espresso as well - not because it was better, but because I wanted to support developers, believing they would update the functionality and usability to be up to par with CSSEdit. Well what do you think? A year have passed, no real updates, and developers won't give out any information AT ALL regarding their roadmap. WELL.. it's been one bloody year, and CSS-related functionality of the software haven't improved one bit. Regret trusting these guys and giving them my money. Should've waited until Espresso has all features I need (and that ALL present in CSSEdit). Won't happen again.
Like (11)
Version 2.0.4
1 answer(s)
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
25 November 2012
I absolutely agree. I'm a long-time CSSEdit user, and was quite sad to see them discontinue it. Since then I've many times given Espresso a shot (no pun intended) but can't justify switching to it from CSSEdit, as its featureset is way below that of CSSEdit. I've also emailed the developers with some suggestions, and the response-time was long and the reply dry.
Like (8)
James-W-
29 October 2012
Love this app! Very clean and simple. Prefer it to Coda.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.4
Ctyankee
13 April 2012
A good product, but has some deal breaking flaws. The primary one is that it can't upload files larger than 16kb to some web hosts. Its FTP system truncates them. Developer is aware of this, and has been for some time. No fix and no timeline to get it fixed. Checking out Coda and others, not because I want to but because I have to. This software just no longer works in our environment.
Like (12)
Version 2.0.1
Jason818
24 March 2012
I just purchased this product and have found it quite enjoyable. With a few more features this could be a really great editor.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Johnleh
15 March 2012
Yes, as he said, for CSSEdit alone this is good. For HTML coding it's a good start, but without a way to deal with images (the app can't determine an image's size or path!) it's not useful for serious work.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.1
Macgruder
08 March 2012
This gets its 4 rating on the fact that CSSEdit within it is worth 6 stars. But CSSEdit alone was so much faster and more responsive and half the price. This seems to slow down as you use it and has a habit of crashing. If they can iron out this issues (in 2.0.2 perhaps) it'll be a great program. Although to be honest they should really still release CSSEdit as a standalone. I don't really need the rest. In short, CSSEdit was one of the best apps ever released for the Mac. The live updating is something I cannot imagine working without. Now you have to get the whole of Espresso to get CSSEdit (which to me is still worth it) but I'd prefer a lighter app.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
seba-szwarc
seba-szwarc
05 December 2012
Is there possibility to find old version of CSSEdit somewhere?
Like
Johnleh
25 February 2012
Really, it's quite good! The more I use it, the more I like it. It's prettier than Textmate, all in all, and feels solid, polished, and well integrated. I am still bummed out that it becomes an expensive way to update to CSSEdit3, when a stand-alone forward path for CSSEdit would have made me happy enough.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
Johnleh
20 February 2012
Damn, I'm another CSSEdit loyalist quite bummed to see CSSEdit rolled into this sad attempt to do it all. This would be a workflow downgrade for me, now using CSSEDit, TextMate, Fetch, Finder, etc. I don't want a weak all-in-one bloated monster. I would use Dreamweaver, which I own, if I wanted something like that. I'd happily pay for a CSSEDit upgrade, but not this. I was thinking of moving to Lion, but CSS going funky and missing will keep me at Snow Leopard for a while more.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
askogrand
28 January 2012
Unfortunately, like many others here sorely miss CSS Edit. This merging of applications doesn't really feel like a good union. Like others, most of the features I loved are gone, such as duplicating statements and statement filters. In addition, the new app takes up tons of memory. Copying large chunks of JS? Espresso has a tendency to crash when you do. Managing large projects or large clipboards leads to a lot of performance issues. CSSEdit was my all-time, favorite program. Espresso was always fine - it certainly looked better than its more powerful competitors, but it was simple. However, Espresso 2 seems to be less than the sum of its parts.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.1
2 answer(s)
Sjd
Sjd
29 January 2012
I agree with you heartily. I don't need a web editor, just the CSSEdit part. If they don't split it off after reading all the comments on here, I'll unfortunately have to find another visual CSS3 editor.
Like (2)
Strider72
Strider72
28 February 2012
Does anyone KNOW of another good stand-alone CSS editor?
Like (1)