Back to Qu-s page
Qu-s free download for Mac

Qu-s Reviews

1.53
07 July 2010

Organize your temporary items on your desktop.

Lunar-Pen
17 March 2009

Most helpful

This could potentially be the kind of PIM I would hope for. Its looks, interfaces, and functions earned itself of my 3-star rating. 1.5 stars are lost for being so buggy. During period of my 3-hrs testing time, it crashed once and froze twice. The crash happened when I moved 2 notes. Qu-s's process was up to 80s% of my CPU and hung there for almost two minutes, and then quit. These kind of bugs make me nervous of loosing my info. Some of which are too precious to leave in unstable hands. Other bugs are, text format and their short cuts which only work from time to time, and etc... All bugs mentioned above made me feel that $16.95 is too pricey. That's another half star off. Here, at macupdate, I used to pay $50 for a bunch of mature and very stable apps. Some of them I've been using as shareware without time limit, which I'd be glad to pay for them. I know that developers need to make their livings too. However, a lot less money and a longer period of trial version would attract more users who would help you id your bugs, and help your app grows faster. Before that time comes, I would hold my breath and choose not to pay for this app, just yet
Like (6)
Version 1.21

Read 20 Qu-s User Reviews

Rate this app:

peterbreis
10 September 2017
Some bugs that need fixing. In macOS 10.12.6 Manage and Print Notes reliably crashes Qu-s 1.5.3
Like
Version 1.53
Maclover1-1
12 August 2013
I wish this would be revived, made into a 64-bit app.. and also take less memory.. But most likely left to die ? Too bad really..
Like (1)
Version 1.53
1 answer(s)
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
12 August 2013
Actually it is 64-bit.. sorry about this..
Like
Fishscale
22 April 2013
This is a nice piece of software, no question about that. What is puzzling is the fact we haven't seen an update in 2 years and there is no word of anything on the horizon. If you like this app, please contact the developer before purchasing to guarantee that your money will not be wasted when no further updates arrive. I haven't contacted the dev but there are lots of little bugs that have simply gone unattended let alone new features being added. #Dev, please update this app. Competitors have been making tons of money on apps not half as useful or appealing simply because they routinely update their product... I am going to email you but it would be nice if you saw this and responded so potential customers and more importantly, those who have already paid can know if they should stick with Qu-s or seek alternatives... Thanks.
Like (2)
Version 1.53
Rubaiyat
10 April 2012
Perfect, perfect, perfect! Not only is it amazingly useful it is absolutely drop dead gorgeous!!
Like (1)
Version 1.53
1 answer(s)
peterbreis
peterbreis
09 September 2017
I love QU-s and fully agree that is really, really good, but it does need updating.

The Video tutorials won't open in macOS they report they need the QuickTime Plugin as if they are on Windows.

URLs don't open properly. They open into an intermediary window and if you click on the globe icon, they go to https://5151421.fls.doubleclick.net.

QU-s does need some loving and upgrading. I'd love to add small images to help identify or Illustrate my projects for one.

Also the manual is surprisingly basic and undesigned for someone who does such a terrific job on the App UI.
Like
Jim-Neumann
08 February 2012
This is one of the most ingenious apps I own and has so much potential. Is it perfect? No (just a half star away from it - lol). I hope development will continue (start back up?) as it could be extended to reach other markets than the sticky note crowd, very effectively.
Like
Version 1.53
.
01 April 2011
No update for ages. Hope they're still developing it.
Like
Version 1.53
4 answer(s)
.
.
01 April 2011
Their website hasn't changed much either. A pity, I was interested in the forthcoming version 2.
Like
Reza-A
Reza-A
11 April 2011
Adran We are working on the next version, but due to other projects and the ambitious nature of the next version development has been slow. Please be patient as the next version will be a radical improvement of the concepts that we introduced in version 1 thanks
Like (5)
.
.
12 April 2011
That's excellent news, looking forward to it. If you're planning on using the AppStore, please don't use it exclusively, treat it as an extra sales channel.
Like
Uhuburu
Uhuburu
04 November 2011
Love this little app. Urban design's response is now seven months old. I wonder what's up with the v 2 he mentioned. Any chance of an update?
Like (1)
macuser96
15 February 2011
This piece of software is the reason why I joined MacUpdate so I can leave a comment and a 5-star-rating. I was looking for a really long time for a software where I can place a short note, todos, ideas, reminders, things like that. I tried all those sticky note applications out there but I find them not convenient enough or just too ugly. I already liked the concept of Corkboard by Ayluro, Inc. but for me it didn't work well, the performance wasn't smooth enough. Then I tried all those dedicated todo- and notebook-applications. There are pretty nice ones among them but in most of all cases they do not fit my needs, are too feature-rich or expensive for what I am intended to do with them. So what do I like about Qu-s? First of all: It's so elegant! It's appearance is very simple but so well designed. It's one of those examples for a developer not just being a programmer but also a designer. I like the ability of adding different kinds of bullets and checkboxes to my notes. I mean it sounds so unspectecular but it is not at all self-evident. You can add links and pictures and there even is a quick preview of these things when you hover your mouse over. You can group notes or collect them in different projects and there is a fullscreen mode, meaning the desktop and all other applications disappear for full concentration on your notes. And finally the notes appear at one shortkey and they fade to the desktop after a certain amount of time or they even disappear just waiting in the background to be fetched again. Quick and easy. I'm sure there is potential for improvement but I have to admit that I don't miss anything right now. So I really really hope the developer keeps on the good work and keeps this little but so useful piece of software up to date for the future.
Like (2)
Version 1.53
Just-A-User
16 September 2010
There is no option to display images as preview within the note, they are just shown as icon. Also, switching between projects is somewhat cumbersome. Otherwise this app is great.
Like
Version 1.53
Dkosiur
13 November 2009
Very useful program for many things, Qu's is more than just a stickies or note-taking program. projects allow for easy organization of notes, and the notes themselves provide for a number of format options. Once you get used to the interface, which isn't all that difficult, Qu's will probably end up being one of your most-used programs. Printing and export options have good flexibility for those occasions when data needs to be transferred. Ability to switch to full-screen mode with user-selected background image provides you with focus on a project. And archiving projects helps keep the clutter down.
Like
Version 1.5
Graham-Perrin
26 June 2009
Very savvy use of WebArchive and other technologies. It's a long, long time since I saw such potential in an application. I have a few suggestions for improvement, one of which I'll make public: - support for System Services. The other suggestions, I'll make privately.
Like
Version 1.21
Stugots
25 March 2009
It's way too easy to permanently delete a note. I hit the delete key, thinking I'm deleting a character in the note, and -poof- it's gone. No trash can, no delete confirmation message. This app needs preferably both, but definitely at least one or the other.
Like (1)
Version 1.21
1 answer(s)
Lee123
Lee123
10 June 2009
Hmmm, seems to be a delete conformation box on my system. I really do hate all those warnings though. Give me the delete over a warning any day.
Like
Version 1.21
Rubaiyat
21 March 2009
Gorgeous, functional and the best PIM/Stickies I have ever used. A couple of questions I had were quickly answered by the developer. This should be on everybody's desktop. I look forward to integration with iCal and other embellishments. The developer should be absolutely proud of this productivity aid.
Like (1)
Version 1.21
Dokodemo
20 March 2009
Interesting. I have had a few glitches-Ghost Boxes after deleting-but it hasn’t frozen or crashed on me yet. Also, I kept track of Activity Monitor while I was using it and it used nothing when idle and only spiked during activation and new note creation. I guess it might be something about a particular computer set up that’s causing the crashes. I bought it during the Mupromo deal and used it extensively all night to replace my old Do It notes and weblink clipboard. The developer has answered all my emails within minutes and I’ve made all sorts of suggestions. This works well with icalviewer (in aesthetics and function) for my GTD workflow. This is one of the most impressive and aesthetically pleasing apps I’ve encountered. Check out the Demo movies at the developer’s site to see it’s features. This is not just another Sticky App.
Like
Version 1.21
Lunar-Pen
17 March 2009
This could potentially be the kind of PIM I would hope for. Its looks, interfaces, and functions earned itself of my 3-star rating. 1.5 stars are lost for being so buggy. During period of my 3-hrs testing time, it crashed once and froze twice. The crash happened when I moved 2 notes. Qu-s's process was up to 80s% of my CPU and hung there for almost two minutes, and then quit. These kind of bugs make me nervous of loosing my info. Some of which are too precious to leave in unstable hands. Other bugs are, text format and their short cuts which only work from time to time, and etc... All bugs mentioned above made me feel that $16.95 is too pricey. That's another half star off. Here, at macupdate, I used to pay $50 for a bunch of mature and very stable apps. Some of them I've been using as shareware without time limit, which I'd be glad to pay for them. I know that developers need to make their livings too. However, a lot less money and a longer period of trial version would attract more users who would help you id your bugs, and help your app grows faster. Before that time comes, I would hold my breath and choose not to pay for this app, just yet
Like (6)
Version 1.21
1 answer(s)
Reza-A
Reza-A
17 March 2009
We appreciate your very long analysis. We are working very hard to resolve all the issues with Qu-s, and if you are interested in helping us to resolve the problems you mention please contact us using our support email so we can discuss this further. Qu-s support
Like
Version 1.21
Garrison-Lemasters
06 March 2009
Really cute little app, but still crashes on first launch.
Like (3)
Version 1.21
Leo-Spill
03 March 2009
Seems interesting - Maybe the original design was heading towards or intending this to be a Dashboard widget. As it does look very much like a widgets 'limited but handy' styling and feature list. But at a price premium of a full application. The price is maybe a little steep as an impulse purchase. $10 is always a psychologically good price point - For something that looks so close to a widgets functionality. It's is a good idea, but needs to grow and maybe even sprout a proper, complete and manageable database to fit all these ever increasing stacks of notes into. ( Rather than just exporting all those notes into another database - Well, why not just use that database to start with ) Plus when looking at the demo tutorials - it's a great clear, clutter free desktop. ( Like all Dashboard apps have ) In real life, I wonder how confusing this will be to have floating around - Rather than just having a dedicated info capture management application open. ( I hope this has nothing to do with the UK 'Softchaos' developers... As they have a habit of abandoning apps ( Workstrip, Webstractor... ) I would want to count on it's still being around and regularly updated in six months to a year from now.)
Like (4)
Version 1.2
paulrudy
27 January 2009
This is a very mac-like app that's both functional and pure, clean eye-candy. It's unfortunate that the notes don't seem to be spotlight-searchable. It would be nice if they could be intergrated into organization systems by both being searchable via spotlight and taggable, say with the new openmeta system.
Like (2)
Version 1.1
Stugots
04 January 2009
Elegantly done, and works very well. Notes should have icons for creating lists and checkboxes, at the bottom edge of the note -- Little check-mark or list icons ought to fit. I managed to crash it within the first 10 minutes (OS X 10.5.6), which is a slight cautionary sign...I wasn't doing anything tricky, at least, I didn't think so. I was just flipping between a few notes I had created, and boom it crashed. The design's great, and the functionality is quite nice. I think it's a tad overpriced, though. $17 is a lot for this functionality, as good as it is. I'd buy it for work and home right now, if it were priced a bit less.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Reza-A
Reza-A
04 January 2009
If you haven't as yet, could you be kind enough to contact us, at support@qu-s.eu with your crash information as well as your crash log so we can resolve your issue. We are doing everything to make sure that Qu-s is both fun and a stable app to use. Thank You
Like
Version 1.0
Stugots
Stugots
04 January 2009
Will do.
Like
Version 1.0
Reza-A
Reza-A
26 January 2009
issues now has been resolved.
Like
Version 1.1
Jacko
01 January 2009
Great application that works as advertised. The only issue I have is truncated text in the menus. What does "Use projects to fu..." mean? Get this fixed and it will be a winner in my book.
Like
Version 1.0
Roberto-Carlos
24 December 2008
A nifty, handsome-looking menubar app with an impressive array of features. The highlights are the built-in browser, bookmarking on the fly, and a distraction-free full screen mode for taking notes and brainstorming.
Like (4)
Version 1.0