Back to AudioBook Converter page
AudioBook Converter free download for Mac

AudioBook Converter Reviews

2.2.0
20 September 2016

Convert audio books to MP3 or AAC.

adamtrider
03 August 2009

Most helpful

It's quiet simple. The prices makes it not worth it in my opinion. Nothing more to say
Like (11)
Version 1.0.8

Read 19 AudioBook Converter User Reviews

Rate this app:

barnesgrantt
20 March 2017
Should be $10.
Like
Version 2.2.0
dassy
06 July 2016
Work well for my purchased Audiobooks.
Like
Version 2.1.1
intacthd-inc
29 May 2016
This not only works on the purchased Audiobook of iTunes Store, it still supports Audible.com Audiobooks.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Krysstal
17 March 2015
The audio book converter updated a new user interface. Much more simpler than before! It can convert audible .aax files to my Sony Walkman fast . It is so wonderful tool.
Like
Version 2.1.0
Lancy
05 February 2015
It works well with my audiobooks from iTunes Store, i like it.
Like
Version 2.0.4
Stupot
14 January 2015
This does work for .aax though it is hit and miss. I had success converting to .m4a with chapters and then to .mp3. This suits me as I can then use .mp3 on my squeezebox system; .aax does not work and will never be supported on Squeezebox server. The Audible files I am converting are those I have purchased and I want to listen to the files in my own home (and car).
Like
Version 2.0.3
Amily
08 January 2015
Easy to use. Convert my audiobook files quickly. Choose some a chapter to convert, i think it it very helpful.
Like
Version 2.0.3
M-Jorge
24 September 2014
Do not buy. Customer support appears to be totally nonexistent. I thought this would be great for chapterizing and converting my large mp3 abook collection into m4b. Unfortunately it crops off the beginning of every file (30-60sec), ruining the beginning and continuity of the narrative. Please save your money, I wish I had.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Screamname
03 April 2013
I had some issues with some files, but overall a simple, easy to use tool. However, it, like the Ondesoft product, has priced itself out of the market. It is a one trick pony which puts it into the $10-15 range, not $35.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.7
Thaiwest
28 November 2011
This has worked most wonderfully for me... that is prior to Adudible coming out with their best sound formate, aax. With that it broke into a billion pieces! I sent an email requesting support. I received a prompt reply with a suggestion for fixing it. I tried the fix and it didn't work. I wrote back with a detailed and technical report. That was about three weeks past. Still, I'm waiting for some reply to my last message... And, I remain very disappointed. For US$36.xx I do not believe I am expecting too much! With the above in mind, I must give the lowest rating I can... if there were a 0.00 rating that would be appropriate.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.4
2 answer(s)
Thaiwest
Thaiwest
28 November 2011
At this time for converting on-line purchased (Audiable.com) files, the best is Audio Hijack Pro. It requires a bit of a set-up but the end product is equal to or greater than can be obtained by any other method. I highly recommend it!
Like (2)
Balanchine
Balanchine
04 March 2013
Yes, Audio Hijack still seems to be the best way to do it. Play the Audible file in iTunes, capture to Audio Hijack (do it overnight with the sound muted), then edit and save to AAC. It's the only way I can play my Audible purchases on my 2nd Gen Shuffles.
Like
mark-bischoff
07 October 2010
still the new version does not work properly. They fix some old problems, but added new Problems also. The new Prolem is: when you need to convert a bigger amount of files (aa) and add them to the list, start to convert - until now everything seems to works fine, after converting several files the app hangs (crashes) and so itunes crashes also. Sorry the app is still in Betaphase but its worth to keep an eye on it;-)
Like
Version 1.4.5
mark-bischoff
23 September 2010
in the future this app has the potential to be a good app… But… for now the soft is beto the output files are often buggy ore incomplete. to fix this the developer ask me to slow down the speed of audiobook converter back to single speed… this means, to convert all my 300 audiobooks takes up to 300 hours - sorry there is a lot of work to do in this app… does anyone knows a alternative for audible audiobooks?
Like
Version 1.4.4
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
11 February 2011
I highly recommend Audiobook Builder at http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/23162/audiobook-builder It is robust, allows you to define Chapter marks, and many flexible ways of combining or splitting the book, the bitrate, the cover art, etc. Have never had a problem with the output files.
Like (1)
Raist999
21 August 2010
I keep looking at this app, but I too cannot pay $35 for it.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.3
Flomet
13 January 2010
If this was at at reasonable price I would purchase and the author would make more money. This has been priced so as to give them very little market share when compaired with other software, so here is one person that will not buy.
Like (10)
Version 1.3.5
mackle
26 December 2009
This tool would be great for converting DRMed files (like those from Audible.com or older iTMS songs) to open formats so you could listen to them anywhere. However, I, too, think the price is too high.
Like (8)
Version 1.3.3
Dlwhite
24 December 2009
If it were $20, I'd buy it this minute. Oh, well.
Like (7)
Version 1.3.3
Rubaiyat
01 December 2009
If its on a CD just convert, join and rename the tracks in iTunes. A lot faster than 5x and all in one go. If they are files, join them in MP3 Trimmer and convert and rename them in iTunes. Always amazes me how people don't know, and/or misuse, the tools available to them.
Like (4)
Version 1.3.1
adamtrider
03 August 2009
It's quiet simple. The prices makes it not worth it in my opinion. Nothing more to say
Like (11)
Version 1.0.8
Bugsman-(i-Zap-Germs)
30 December 2008
WHY? Audio Hijack has been the de facto answer for years. I love the Mac developer community for producing some amazingly good value shareware, even freeware, programs. God bless you all, and I always pay up if I reckon the app is worth it. This is ridiculous! $35?? Get out of here.
Like (6)
Version 1.0.3
3 answer(s)
monty-3
monty-3
30 December 2008
I agree the price is way too high, but in trying it, I feel it much simpler than Audio Hijack in that I do NOT have to play the entire book. Unless I don't know how to properly use Audio Hijack (not an unreasonable conclusion), I think you have to play the entire file to "hijack" it, whereas this program converts it directly. The 3 minute trial converted perfectly on the two files I tried.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.3
Easer
Easer
25 September 2009
For $5 more, you can buy Amadeus Pro. I've had success making these kinds of conversions with AP. Plus, I now also have the ability to manipulate those files (and music files as well). AP also accepts a variety of free VST and related plug-ins. No, I'm not affiliated with AP (check out any of my replies on MU). I just think AP is a really good program and is worth investigating as an alternative. http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/23719/amadeus-pro
Like (2)
Version 1.2
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
01 December 2009
You would only use Audio Hijack Pro if the material was on cassette, otherwise it is COMPLETELY the wrong tool. Given that audio tape are now long in the past and make a pretty bad result, and that CDs are the norm, this suggestion should go straight into the "Doesn't know what they are talking about" bin.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1