Back to Hider page
Hider free download for Mac

Hider Reviews

2.5.1
11 November 2019

Hide, encrypt, and password-protect your data.

warmup72
14 July 2019

Most helpful

Hider is discountinuied on 10.7.2019 why launching a new version on 12.7.?!?!?
Like (1)
Version 2.5

Read 19 Hider User Reviews

Rate this app:

warmup72
14 July 2019
Hider is discountinuied on 10.7.2019 why launching a new version on 12.7.?!?!?
Like (1)
Version 2.5
higherterrain-com
08 August 2017
The price will hinder me on purchasing it
Like
Version 2.4.0
MacUpdate-Ishaq
05 February 2016
We’ve arrived at a world in which the data we generate is as much a part of who we are as the things we do or the relationships we keep. Keenly aware of this fact, the developers of Hider have given us an easy-to-use, secure vault that integrates beautifully with OS X in both design and function, in order to deliver a way to keep personal, sensitive, or classified files or notes under lock and key. It’s as streamlined as can possibly be, leaving the user with minimal setup needed before using the app to its fullest extent. Files that a user would like to hide from view in Finder are dragged and dropped onto Hider, and Hide/Unhide toggle switches are immediately produced. As soon as the switch is set to Hide, the files disappear from where they just were, now housed within your encrypted vault. Toggle the switch to Unhide and they reappear in their original location. Create organized groups of files or notes to more easily navigate your hidden information. The menu item that comes with Hider is no afterthought; it does what any good menu item should do, which is reproduce the functionality of the full application in a shrunken package. View and launch recently hidden files without needing to open the full application. Don’t just protect your files with Hider – protect your self.
Like
Version 2.2.4
j1001651
24 December 2015
I should have done more investigation before trying this app. The vault got corrupt for no apparent reason and all data is gone! Be careful!
Like (1)
Version 2.2.4
FlyinRyan7
15 June 2015
Absolutely love this software. I've been looking for an app that could encrypt folders without necessarily removing them from the organization structure I had set up. This app is a reasonable compromise of moving the folder into an encrypted vault and then moving it back when I need it - dynamite idea. I've been using this app for over a year and have never lost data, though I made a backup of everything before moving it into the encrypted vault and kept the backup for several months just to be sure. I bring this point up only because that seems to be other reviewer's main complaint. My understanding is there was a bug in the first few iterations of the software that has since been resolved. My disappointment with this app was frankly the lack of information I needed to make a reasonable purchase. Things people want to encrypt are going to be either private, important, or both. For example, my intentions in using this app was to encrypt my medical data, bank data, taxes, stuff with my SSN...etc. That being said, people are going to have a lot of questions concerning the way their private information is being stored. The MacPaw website didn't have any details readily available such as: 1) Where IS this file vault on my file system? Can I change the location? 2) Is it a proprietary format? 3) Can I make a backup of it? 4) Even though this app is called Hider, please tell me it's not just "hiding" the files right!? It's actually encrypting them? 5) What if I erase the parent folder of a hidden child folder? Where will the orphan folder go? Eventually I got an answer from MacPaw, however I felt like a lot of this information should have been readily available... again... we're talking people's private and important data here. These questions may have been addressed at this point, however when the software was first introduced they were no where to be found. All in all, I really like this software and think it's a fantastic application. Recommend it for people who have folder that they want to keep organized, yet protected and "hidden".
Like (2)
Version 2.2.2
iMiNiMaL
20 February 2015
Great application of encryption!
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Dellsuxx
01 August 2014
Paid for this CRAPWARE a few years ago, tested It only to find out It Hider was Unstable and Unreliable. Know they have the nerve to try and extort more money from me by selling their garbage on the Crapple store for $20.00 just so I may get the upgrade they should have given me two years ago. I've got a better Idea. I'm deleting Hider right now and will make sure to never purchase another product from Macpaw again!
Like (3)
Version 2.1
Wts
31 July 2014
Why no "check for update" ? I find that a really important feature in any application and rely on the application itself to be able to self check. Also be carefully with remembering the password to unlock Hider or otherwise it's toast to the files you've hidden.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
TCalhau
14 June 2014
I like Hider 2 but to become really usable to me he needs to add support for iCloud / Dropbox and start using the Algorithm Serpent 256 with Whirlpool hash
Like (2)
Version 2.0.3
Dana-Sutton
07 April 2014
WARNING -- DO NOT USE THIS DANGEROUS APP. HIder 2 would be a great app. except that after using it for a few days it "ate" a lot of my data, i. e. it refused to open one of my folders containing important files. Fortunately, I was able to retrieve this stuff from Time Machine, but it taught me a valuable lesson. I've read complaints by App Store purchasers who have had the same experience. Maybe a later version will be reliable and trustworthy, but this one isn't.
Like (4)
Version 2.0
Bl0dwyn
02 April 2014
When hiding files/folders, Hider 2 moves the files/folders into its vault, and encrypts the contents AND filenames. Even if you browse the vault using Terminal, you cannot tell what's inside, which is excellent. When you unhide, the files/folders are decrypted and moved back to their original place. This all seems to work flawlessly in my limited testing, and the interface makes the whole process simple. The ability to have vaults on external volumes is also an excellent feature. One caveat: the encryption/decryption process takes some time (in the user guide it says it takes roughly as long as if you copied the files). For smallish files this is no bother, but for (say) movie files this could be a nuisance. I tested with a folder with 10GB of movie files on a Firewire 800 drive, and it took around 5 minutes to hide or unhide. This would be a 5 star app for me if this time delay could somehow be overcome.
Like (3)
Version 2.0
Gary30
24 February 2014
This was in a recent bundle so I decided to check it out to see if it was worth anything to me. It is not worth a penny; others may feel differently. I use encrypted sparseimage volumes for this sort of thing. Thy are fast. You can use aliases or symbolic links to files within encrypted sparseimage volumes (when you click on the alias, the sparseimage password dialog box comes up, type the password and the document opens normally). To close a sparseimage, just select it and hit Command + E. Could not be simpler. Plus, the sparseimage is completely portable, password and all.
Like
Version 1.6.7
Pneshati
05 January 2011
I have, for awhile, enjoyed the user interface of MacPaw's software. CleanMyMac has been brilliant, and I thought the same of MacHider until I realized something. I had to do some serious work that involved showing hidden files. Much to my shock, I realized that the "hidden files" were hidden simply by reversing the letters in the file name and the old period trick. Other people probably have realized this too, so they may know how to get at your files. This looks like a reliable and secure application and was made by a good developer, so don't be tricked into thinking that your things are safe. Basically, what I'm saying is that anyone, truly anyone, could come across these files. Especially if you work with the option to view invisible files. Be warned!
Like (5)
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
Fuellemann
Fuellemann
25 August 2011
Hi, good warning. However, there are two target groups when it comes to hide files. The first one, who needs an invisible encrypted Fort Knox to hide sensible data and the other group who just wants their kids not to see some delicate files while using the family Mac. I think MacHider and our UberMaks are meant for the second group and advertised as such. Any real encryption takes quite a time and if you need to hide a couple of fotos, documents, films etc. you have to wait a while. Not recommended when the boss comes into the Office and you a have but a few seconds to make a few things invisible :-) For all other issues, try Knox or Espionage - they do hide files the encrypted way. Kind regards Jan Fuellemann
Like (5)
Frodo-life
27 February 2009
agree with previous reviewer but on top of that it's also very easy to corrupt the folder and loose it. Just had this happen to me and it took me a while to recover files with a different method as the recovery tool in MacHider always crashed. So I say stay away if you love your files
Like (10)
Version 1.1
Chin
28 January 2009
The application is easy to use and the GUI is appealing. It also work at advertised. But unfortunately the developer didn't say, that his application did not hide the files and folders very securely. All what it does is to create a folder named .SYS_INDEX which is hidden, as it begins with a '.'. But it is readily visible via corr. Finder settings or with Terminal.app via a 'ls -a' command. Then it reverse the name of the file or folder to hide. A 'Archive.txt' will be renamed to 'evihcrA.txt' and put into said folder .'SYS_INDEX'. That's it! This is not very secure and there are a lot of applications that give you the same level of "security" as this app! So after all, this app is not for me, but your mileage may vary ...
Like (15)
Version 1.1
Nicaland
27 January 2009
I would say that it is pretty easy to use, do not need to think of different ways to hide my files. The files are not found by spotlight, and what I did is that I hide the files and then closed the app. Works like a charm. Good thing it is on sale!
Like (5)
Version 1.1
Rob-h
27 January 2009
Would want to know more about how this actually works before buying - unfortunately the website doesn't say much. Does it simply hide files by moving them somewhere - in which case, what about backing them up? Does it use encryption of any sort or are files just flagged as hidden? Will they show up in Spotlight? What if the app has a problem (e.g. after an OS X update), can you retrieve your files without it?
Like (3)
Version 1.1
Carlos-Duarte
26 January 2009
Very useful app, with the free version I could hide a couple of files that didn't want my mom to see. Also I liked the design, pretty simple. Will buy it when I get a chance.
Like (4)
Version 1.0
ShawnBoucke
16 January 2009
"industry-leading product"... I don't know if you can call it that when it has been out for less then a day.
Like (11)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
19 January 2009
Industry-leading sounds ridiculous indeed. Amd MacHider is not mentioned on the website of this developer at all, only in the website's store. Odd.
Like (5)
Version 1.0