Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Capto page
Capto free download for Mac

Capto Reviews

11 June 2021

Capture, annotate, organize, and share media (was Voila).

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Jun 7 2021
1.2.27
2.0
Jun 7 2021
2.0
Version: 1.2.27
App decided to ask me to give it Screen Recording Permissions again (out of the blue) but somehow system does not register them.. already ran into this issue when app was launched (post-Voilà). Basically it is now usless.. again.. and when it does work it is sluggish.. I always hope it gets really FIXED but am losing hope now.. too bad it has all the tolls one needs but who needs tools if they do not work well.
ivryernest
ivryernest
Jun 6 2021
1.2.27
0.0
Jun 6 2021
0.0
Version: 1.2.27
Unfortunately, the black interface of the application does not make it possible to understand the many commands and options. It is impossible for me to use it - I don't see anything !
stijnf
stijnf
Jun 5 2021
1.2.26
1.0
Jun 5 2021
1.0
Version: 1.2.26
not good. Used it to record payed conference and couldn't save afterwards as it gave an error. Waste of money.
Dannymontani
Dannymontani
May 23 2021
1.2.26
1.0
May 23 2021
1.0
Version: 1.2.26
Version 12.2.6 just out a few days ago May 19 or so. Here I am AGAIN CAPTO! This version is worse yet....sorry. I've been trying to use Command+Shift+4 for screen capture area and it is going BACK to default Apple every 2 captures for at least 8 or 9 times now. PLEASE get this together and fix. This is still a problem here on my MacBook Air with High Sierra and my iMac with High Sierra. I am looking elsewhere now for a different application. You don't answer ANY of my emails to you.
Dannymontani
Dannymontani
Apr 29 2021
1.2.24
1.0
Apr 29 2021
1.0
Version: 1.2.24
Capto 1224. ......and today, dear Capto has quit dragging by the header to anywhere. Have done a number of restarts here on the iMac as well as MacBook Air. Eventually it does, but stalls at times and does it again. Both machines. ugh
Dannymontani
Dannymontani
Apr 29 2021
1.2.24
1.0
Apr 29 2021
1.0
Version: 1.2.24
Well here I am again, year after year from Capto's inception. Voila was fine if not great.....the predecessor. Never had a problem with it. Capto.......still...after years, reverts to Apples screen shop app, sometime after 2 captures and sometimes after a dozen. Every month. Just happened yesterday again after a dozen while I was doing some important screenshots of pref files for another program. So infuriating. I've written the parent company probable 5 or 7 times. C'mon guys, can't be a hard fix, lay off the Big Sur and fix this issue first. Waitinggggg.
pokechiachang
pokechiachang
Jan 22 2021
1.2.22
2.0
Jan 22 2021
2.0
Version: 1.2.22
I've tried to record a video but I clicked on stop it prompted the error something and cannot save to the disk. It's a very important meeting and I cannot believe this has happened. Although it's not frequent after a period of use. And the organizer is such a mess after you remove one video actually you can still find the video file in Finder. I seriously don't like this software, but this is the only one mainly used for screen recording in Setapp.
jhorner10
jhorner10
Jan 13 2021
1.2.22
1.0
Jan 13 2021
1.0
Version: 1.2.22
"I donot know why many people have this app 3 stars review ," Why?! Here is why! I recorded 3 hour long and it crashed in the end. Even though the saved 6.7 gb file is still in my files neither Capto nor any other app can open the .mov file within the Capto File Package. How is that for a why? And also. No reply to my email from the developers as well.
jhorner10
jhorner10
Jan 13 2021
1.2.22
1.0
Jan 13 2021
1.0
Version: 1.2.22
"I donot know why many people have this app 3 stars review ," Why?! Here is why! I recorded 3 hour long and it crashed in the end. Even though the saved 6.7 gb file is still in my files neither Capto nor any other open the .mov file within the Capto File Package. How is that for a why? And also. No reply to my email from the developers as well.
jhorner10
jhorner10
Jan 13 2021
1.2.22
1.0
Jan 13 2021
1.0
Version: 1.2.22
"I donot know why many people have this app 3 stars review ," Why?! Here is why! I recorded 3 hour long and it crashed in the end. Even though the saved 6.7 gb file is still in my files neither Capto nor any other open the .mov file within the Capto File Package. How is that for a why? And also. No reply to my email from the developers as well.
Rob-h
Rob-h
Oct 21 2020
1.2.20
1.0
Oct 21 2020
1.0
Version: 1.2.20
Getting to my wits end with this developer. Registered Capto on a 2013 iMac which then died (unable to boot) and according to the developers website you have to contact them if you are unable to de-register the software yourself from the device it's installed on so that they can de-register it for you allowing you to use it on another machine. So I emailed them on 1/Oct. No reply after a few days so sent a 2nd to chase. After a few more days got an email asking for the serial number of the machine to de-register which I provided by return. 8 days later and they still haven't responded. They either have such abysmal support procedures that they can't deal satisfactorily with support requests or they just don't care. Either way, this is not the way to run a software company. I'll update this review if they deign to respond and let me use the software I've paid for.
santoshoommen
santoshoommen
Jul 26 2020
1.2.17
2.0
Jul 26 2020
2.0
Version: 1.2.17
It worked. and now it keeps crashing. Sometimes sound works, it switch audio and I end up with mute captures.. THey need to update it!!
bhwang72
bhwang72
Jul 24 2020
1.2.17
1.0
Jul 24 2020
1.0
Version: 1.2.17
when you have some number of screenshots built up. it becomes extremely slow opening any image. It takes roughly 10s to open any images hence if you wanted to do any annotations, forget about it. I had to remove all images from library and store them and use it to make it faster. then when you have few hundreds of images then it just happens again. contacted support without any response. I don't recommend. macbook pro 18 with 16 GB ram/512 SSD/i7
mnaoshram22
mnaoshram22
Jul 19 2020
1.2.17
1.0
Jul 19 2020
1.0
Version: 1.2.17
Honestly, I hate this app. During my last few days of the trail for the app, it kept quitting unexpectedly. Like dude, don't try and force me to buy the app.
chiobeo13
chiobeo13
Apr 15 2020
1.2.17
1.0
Apr 15 2020
1.0
Version: 1.2.17
"App Not Responding" is all I'm getting! It worked for a day or two but then, nothing!!!!
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Feb 12 2020
1.2.17
4.0
Feb 12 2020
4.0
Version: 1.2.17
Will the developers EVER get rid of the 24/7 dark scheme? I personally can't stand it so I won't use it.
Rostasi
Rostasi
Jan 12 2020
1.2.16
1.0
Jan 12 2020
1.0
Version: 1.2.16
Doesn't work. All of the menu items are greyed out. I could've thrown my money down the toilet and enjoyed the spinning action.
Dannymontani
Dannymontani
Dec 20 2019
1.2.16
1.0
Dec 20 2019
1.0
Version: 1.2.16
Screen shot, command>shift>4 still defaults to Apples capture at some points whether one capture or many. Just happened with one capture. Both my iMac and Macbook Pro.
Xipper
Xipper
Dec 3 2019
1.2.14
1.0
Dec 3 2019
1.0
Version: 1.2.14
Does not actually work with Catalina, never requests access for Screen Recording permissions and thus you cannot enable it. There is limited options to engage for support, perhaps the worst for paid apps that I use frequently.
Frankp
Frankp
Jul 14 2019
1.2.12
1.0
Jul 14 2019
1.0
Version: 1.2.12
The early versions were great. But for the past few upgrades Capto pops up a screen every 5 - 10 seconds demanding access to the Internet to check that it's up to date. This was fixed once and then crept back in. It happens so often that the app has become completely unusable. I'm going back to using SnapZPro.
ahmedhatata-ah
ahmedhatata-ah
May 10 2019
1.2.11
5.0
May 10 2019
5.0
Version: 1.2.11
I donot know why many people have this app 3 stars review , capto is the most convenient and powerful all in one screen recording tool for mac , very easy , convenient and easy to use and anotate that helped me save a lot of time with best results .
Frankp
Frankp
Feb 8 2019
1.2.11
1.0
Feb 8 2019
1.0
Version: 1.2.11
I want to like this app, I really do. But it had the annoying habit of popping up demanding access to the Internet to make sure it was updated, even when something else was going on, like giving a Powerpoint presentation to a client. The problem seemed to have gotten fixed in the previous update, but is back with the latest update. I have to quit Capto to avoid constant pop-ups. I'm on Sierra OS.
Dannymontani
Dannymontani
Feb 6 2019
1.2.11
1.0
Feb 6 2019
1.0
Version: 1.2.11
Capto 1.2.11 Still has problems with screenshot capture. Command/shift/4 for me. Ongoing for a year, two different machines with plenty of speed, memory, and capacity. That being that it will revert to Apples capture after 2 to 6 captures. I have to quit and restart the applications. I've deleted and reinstalled a few times on each machine. My portal does not work and the last time I tried to email the company I get no response to reset. Not happy with the program I use all nearly daily. (I hope this gets some contact with the developer not in the least to be able to access them) Still love Voila on my older machine with no issues.
RoXXXy
RoXXXy
Jan 13 2019
1.2.10
0.5
Jan 13 2019
0.5
Version: 1.2.10
MoJave broke it. Cant record computers sounds.. MoJave prevents it..
Webmaus
Webmaus
Nov 23 2018
1.2.9
5.0
Nov 23 2018
5.0
Version: 1.2.9
very astonishing reviews. for me capto works like a charm. I love it. No problems and usually fast replies from the serviceline. I use it lot for screen recording. no problems at all. File management works fine too. I use OS 10.11.6 and capto on a macpro
Darryllewis
Darryllewis
May 4 2018
1.2.9
1.0
May 4 2018
1.0
Version: 1.2.9
I was a long-time user of Voila!, and transitioned to Capto. I depended on them for creating instructional screen shots for my computer support clients. The latest upgrade suddenly required that I enter my user ID and license...and then refused to accept the license. I contacted their support, but it took 2 weeks for them to respond, and another week to do anything about it. Finally, when they did, they told me to reinstall Capto from scratch.. I did, but when I opened it all the menus were grayed out...including the Register... menu item. I could not register the product. I've contacted their support several times, but they've stopped responding. What was once an indispensable tool for me became a huge time waster, so I've moved on. I often tell my clients, "If I don't provide what you need when you need it, why do you need me?" Perhaps Golden Delight ought to ask the same question. The answer is, "I don't need you."
priusjames
priusjames
Apr 9 2018
1.2.9
5.0
Apr 9 2018
5.0
Version: 1.2.9
I've used Capto for years, and I've *never* seen a pop-up dialog box. Weird. I have an upgrade offer for Screenflow, which I used at work (retired now). Capto and OBS have been my go-to's at home...I found this thread when I was looking to see how Capto rates among other screen capture titles today. Now, I feel lucky!
Frankp
Frankp
Feb 24 2018
1.2.9
1.0
Feb 24 2018
1.0
Version: 1.2.9
The current update did not fix the problems with continuous Internet access pop-ups.
rocc0talbert
rocc0talbert
Feb 20 2018
1.2.8
4.0
Feb 20 2018
4.0
Version: 1.2.8
Great tool!
Frankp
Frankp
Jan 30 2018
1.2.8
1.0
Jan 30 2018
1.0
Version: 1.2.8
I have to agree with the complaints below. This is poorly programmed with popups multiple times per day asking to make an Internet connection. This is no opt-out option, the only button says OK. The popups happened multiple times when I was giving a presentation to a SW development team in the Middle East two weeks ago. Worst, it bypasses Little Snitch so there's no way to turn it off that way. Just is just incredibly bad programming and a complete lack of concern for the users.
SMS1
SMS1
Jan 1 2018
1.2.7
0.5
Jan 1 2018
0.5
Version: 1.2.7
Support is non-existent. E-mails dating back a month have generated NO RESPONSE! I've deleted the software.
Kkam
Kkam
Dec 16 2017
1.2.6
0.5
Dec 16 2017
0.5
Version: 1.2.6
I purchased the bundle of Capto and Boom on Friday, December 15, 2017. I am very disappointed in Capto. I installed it on a Mac running 10.12.6 (Sierra) and found that the software crashes everytime I try to record a video. I can use it to take snapshots of the desktop just fine, but the screen recording feature does not work on Sierra. The User Manual does not include any troubleshooting help, and I found the user forum of no help. I suspect that there is a driver that is not installed properly. In preferences, there is an option to uninstall the Capto driver, but I don't see any way to have it reinstalled properly. I have emailed customer support. Their autoreply said to give them 2 business days to respond. Right now I feel like I wasted my money.
HarrisonAnsel
HarrisonAnsel
Oct 17 2017
1.2.5
0.0
Oct 17 2017
0.0
Version: 1.2.5
I like Capto and the ability to catch videos. Thanks!
Dannymontani
Dannymontani
Oct 10 2017
1.2.4
1.0
Oct 10 2017
1.0
Version: 1.2.4
Ok so here I am. Capto is an alpha test and with no response from Global Delight help center. My portal does not work, my other email account does not work with them. I am having problem with doing screen capture....command>shift>4 to no avail. This app is installed on two machines multiple times. They did want an access to my machine at one point but that was the last contact. This newest version 124 did not help fix this problem. Both of these machines were clean installs with me trying to install as the first application. I used to use Voila for years and cannot live without this app after trying others. You can however use it from the title bar oddly enough. Crikie. Anybody else with this problem?
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Oct 5 2017
1.2.4
4.0
Oct 5 2017
4.0
Version: 1.2.4
The first versions of Capto were very buggy, but the latest release is working very well for me. I only have a couple of suggestions for the developer, and this is why I only gave it 4 stars. First, give us a choice for a lighter interface. The black-only interface is very depressing when you have to work in the app for a long time. Same with Boom 3D. Second, give us the option to have folders to keep collections in. That way my collections list isn't a mile long. If there is a way to do folders, I couldn't find it. Other than that, Capto has been a very good screen capture app for me.
liam665
liam665
Aug 9 2017
1.2.4
1.0
Aug 9 2017
1.0
Version: 1.2.4
I liked Voilà a lot and so took advantage of a price break offer to "upgrade" to Capto. Should have read the reviews here first.
1. The purchase software didn't even work: I had to contact customer service in order to complete payment--and they took several days to get back to me even though I'm trying to give them money. I wish I had walked away at that point and saved my ten bucks.
2. The whole situation where Voilà and Capto can't run simultaneously makes the transition really annoying if you're trying to do anything else at the same time. "Another instance of Voilà is still running." No it's not--I quit it. Clearly some background engine or daemon is running--it shouldn't be this hard.
3. Capto would not remember my shortcut keys and kept returning to defaults.
4. Mysteriously, after something like the tenth try (restarting, rebooting, etc.), Capto now remembers my shortcut keys BUT they don't work. I found this forum when doing a google search for "Capto shortcuts not working."
5. I will now uninstall Capto, regret the wasted money, and pray that Voilà still works as it used to. Grrrr …
stafmans
stafmans
May 31 2017
1.2.4
1.0
May 31 2017
1.0
Version: 1.2.4
Worked for some years with Voila and hoped the successor Capto would be an improvement.Postponing my judgment till now (v1.2.4) I can say I'm very dissapointed and unsatisfied with this app.

- it's slow and unreliable
- filemanagement is a nightmare
- sharing and exporting too

I made suggestions for some filehandling improvements some versions ago, but see nothing happening. A waste of money this is.
MikeyBlueEyes
MikeyBlueEyes
Mar 17 2017
1.2.3
3.0
Mar 17 2017
3.0
Version: 1.2.3
Nice useful product but hope you don't need to deal with customer support because it's been my experience that there is a total lack of it. Unanswered mail, no help with lost keys...
Robert-Morton
Robert-Morton
Feb 17 2017
1.2.3
4.5
Feb 17 2017
4.5
Version: 1.2.3
I am really not sure what the complaints are. I use to use Voila at least once a week. I have taken a bit of time away, but am not starting to use Capto every week. I thought Voila was awesome for creating quick training videos, but Capto's ability to edit them and add text and highlight areas and... This was a great improvement. I may have missed out on some buggy releases from the looks of it, but this program has been rock solid for me. Even comparing the price with Snagit, Voila + upgrade to Capto is still cheaper. I have not used Snagit, and I see no reason that I should. -.5 star because I am not a fan of the black windows.
barrybush
barrybush
Feb 7 2017
1.2.3
3.0
Feb 7 2017
3.0
Version: 1.2.3
Just purchased Capto for mac. Seems like a great program. Ican capture a youtube video and save it. I can play it back in the capto program and everything is fine. When I export it and try to burn to a dvd, I get video but no audio.. I am watching the tutorials but I must be missing something.
JBX
JBX
Jan 9 2017
1.2.3
0.5
Jan 9 2017
0.5
Version: 1.2.3
Why dose the Image quality suck?! no settings that I can see in preferences and noticeable degradation compared to just taking a screen shot or using Snagit.
Big77
Big77
Jan 8 2017
1.2.3
0.0
Jan 8 2017
0.0
Version: 1.2.3
I have no problem with an app verifying registration when I purchase it, but Capto tries to make 4 (and sometimes more) connections every single time I start it and again when I take a screen shot. I have "check for updates" off. I have no sharing of any sort turned on. It tries to make these connections even if I just ran it and allowed connections. It tries to connect to Amazonws when I capture something -- and won't stop trying. I won't run spyware. I won't run Capto.
Xipper
Xipper
Dec 20 2016
1.2.3
1.0
Dec 20 2016
1.0
Version: 1.2.3
Developers decide that they should randomly open popup windows asking users to complete some idiotic survey. There is no settings to enable/disable these popup dialogs, so you could be in the middle of a screen share with customers or presenting at a conference and have a random dialog box appear asking you do a survey. I had Capto running but it was not active, it was a background app that hasn't' been active all day...and yet it popped a dialog to the foreground. Developer, this is a bad design. DO NOT DO THIS! I don't care about the rest of the features of the app, this is an instant zero star if I could rate it such.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Dec 13 2016
1.2.3
4.0
Dec 13 2016
4.0
Version: 1.2.3
The latest version of Capto is now working fine for me. It's finally stable and I'm using it for all my screen captures now. Minus 1/2 star for taking so long to get a non-crashing version out.
Michaelthegeek
Michaelthegeek
Nov 13 2016
1.2.1
0.0
Nov 13 2016
0.0
Version: 1.2.1
Release notes ?
ld92lleo2lp
ld92lleo2lp
Nov 12 2016
1.2.1
0.5
Nov 12 2016
0.5
Version: 1.2.1
Why!? Why they killed Voila and made this sh°t combo? :( Very disappointed. I bought Voila and now have to pay for this update or stay without any updates. Very greedy and bad people!
Pugwash
Pugwash
Nov 8 2016
1.2
1.0
Nov 8 2016
1.0
Version: 1.2
Global Delight are just plain greedy. Serial numbers are only allowed to register once. If you have more than one computer you have pay again. I have Boom and Capto, will not be upgrading, will not be buying from them again. Some developers just shoot themselves in the foot with attitudes like this.
Frodo-life
Frodo-life
Oct 17 2016
1.2
3.0
Oct 17 2016
3.0
Version: 1.2
version 1.2 is not to bad however one big oversight still remains unlike Skitch Capto fails to take screenshots of many pop ups as even with time delay the actual pop up will not show on screen shoot. Skitch does the same pop ups without an issue. Also still missing a quick upload button in menu bar which you can assign to your most used upload account and alows single click uploads
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Oct 8 2016
1.2
2.0
Oct 8 2016
2.0
Version: 1.2
1.2 DELIVERS.. !! Hurrah !
Last time at version 1.03 I gave it 1/2 a star for its gruelling beachball spinning hell.. and at the same had wished I could give it 5 for its possibilities (I was a fan of Voilà originally hence feeling all the more let down.. a spurned lover is a vengeful one). Version 1.2 finally delivers ! It's fast and it does all the tricks I can want from a Screen Capture utility (and it looks good). Had they put it out using ßeta versioning until they ironed the issues of speed/memory.. I would have been gentler (and so would other reviewers on here I'm sure, take a hint devs.. no rush). Oh well, am a happy camper now.. it would have really been a waste for this app to not rise to the occasion.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Sep 23 2016
1.1
4.0
Sep 23 2016
4.0
Version: 1.1
With the shipping version of Sierra, I did a clean install of the latest version 1.1. STILL get the spinning beachball several times. Random is the only thing I can see. Hangs on choosing the prefs, hangs on choosing more than one item. It even hangs just opening up the app. Capto was in no way ready for primetime when the developer released it. Love the feature set, but with all of the crashing, it still feels like an alpha version.