Back to Ember page
Ember free download for Mac

Ember Reviews

1.8.3
31 January 2015

Versatile digital scrapbook.

Fishscale
27 July 2013

Most helpful

Hmm... thanks for making "LittleSnapper 2.0" for all of us long time license holders and giving us a treat for our patience, YEARS, between updates to LS. Oh wait, we can't even try this 2.0/renamed for profit version even if we were willing to dish out the full price on MAS. @Dev, We know why you made the choices you did and so be it, if the product is great I will pay for it even though I don't plan to see updates too often but at least don't make me throw $50 on red just to try the app! Give us a demo that doesn't save but otherwise functions so we can at least get a sense of the new product. Better yet, if you don't want to give users a demo to try out, even crippled beyond usability, at least offer those who paid for LittleSnapper a chance to try the "new" app. Have the demo only accept valid serials from LittleSnapper to unlock and email the file to those email addresses linked to LittleSnapper Licenses. So you don't want to maintain two versions of the product, okay... your choice but remember their are apps like ClamXAV that are free, have been for years, and the developer even offers a MAS version and non-MAS version. If he can do it for free, you can't do it for a paid app? Look how MultiMarkdown Composer 2 was handled by Mr. Fletcher and you will see how a developer who cares about his customers while still wanting to "protect" and stay within MAS gives faithful users who supported previous versions of his product gives those users a chance to give it a test-drive while the product itself remains unusable since you can't save your work, etc... The app is useless in it's demo state but at least the user has a chance to work with the program and see if it fits their needs. By the way, MMC2 is much cheaper than $50 and it's previous versions were updated frequently, and no yearly is not frequently. - Oh well, you lost a customer here for sure. Your actions and policies have quickly told us all what matters more to your company. Money over customers... at least you have made one decision easy on me. There is no way I buy another realmac product. Prices go up but product version numbers hover around 1.0.1. Won't rate the app and hurt the overall stars this app receives, company deserves no stars imo, but oh well. Good job making Apple wealthier while hurting your customers. There is not much backbone at realmac it seems, let those who supported you when you were just getting started bear all the risk. Good luck squeezing blood from a rock and please do right by those who pay you hard earned money for an app they have only seen pictures of. Give them updates and listen to their requests. They do deserve that much, our opinions differ greatly though it seems.
Like (18)
Version 1.0.1

Read 109 Ember User Reviews

Rate this app:

Yoshita
29 February 2020
Realmac is a super shady company specialised in buggy abandonware. Move on.
Like
Version 1.8.3
Akrobat
12 January 2017
I've been trying to update this for weeks now via the MacUpdate App. Never worked. Today went to the developer's website. Ember is not even listed. Tried downloading the link here above on Macupdate and it sends you to a dead page. Bought this as part of the MacUpdate bundle only last year.... so what's happening? Read the reviews below and all became clear. Shame really 'cause it worked well. Pity the developers at RealMac treated their customers like garbage. It's behaviour like this that encourages people to crack, hack or pirate software instead of buying it.
Like
Version 1.8.3
Cowicide
06 December 2016
CowTip: On the plus side, the old LittleSnapper app still works in macOS Sierra 10.12.1 and can grab entire website pages to one image. All I needed it for anyway.
Like
Version 1.8.3
jftrottier75
03 November 2016
No update anymore. Like others said, it has been abandoned by Realmac. Don't buy!
Like
Version 1.8.3
silvio-dante
17 August 2016
Yet another abandonware from Realmac Software.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.3
Mindplay
03 August 2016
Realmac has a long history of hard selling products that are soon discontinued or sold. They don't give notice and don't help transitioning and this is so wrong. Ember is no longer under development and there's no mention of it in Realmac website.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.3
Sixbillships
27 April 2016
An "upgrade" from LittleSnapper minus some very important, yet basic features: e.g: the ability to modify a shape once you've drawn it. To call this app "disappointing" would be kind.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.3
Xplicit
31 December 2015
Abandonware. Ember is not even listed on the developer's website under Products. For more info visit: http://blog.realmacsoftware.com/article/a-long-overdue-update-on-our-product-roadmap. Untrustworthy developer.
Like (6)
Version 1.8.3
1 answer(s)
Emrys0821
Emrys0821
03 February 2016
Thank you for sharing that blog post. I missed that, and am disappointed that YET again RealMacSoftware has killed off LittleSnapper / Ember (online service) / Ember the app.

They should pass along development to an independent developer willing to take on the project to keep it alive.
Like
mikokim
11 November 2015
Just a comment (I already rated it a few months ago): It looks like after many promises of what the future holds, Ember 2 may not see development after all, so save your money. For details head over to the Realmac blog and read the entry from November 3: http://blog.realmacsoftware.com/article/a-long-overdue-update-on-our-product-roadmap. Personally, I won't trust Realmac anymore; they come out with new apps, they make all kinds of promises — even when you ask them directly about the roadmap for an app, which I did a couple of times with regard to Ember), and then they refocus their interests; but many of you know that already. Still kicking myself for buying their products because I like to support small developers — Realmac won't see another dime from me.

I'm trying out two alternatives right now: Pixave and Inboard.
Like (4)
Version 1.8.3
2 answer(s)
Emrys0821
Emrys0821
03 February 2016
Any luck with alternatives? If so which is your favorite. I too no longer trust Realmac Software. I'm disappointed that YET again RealMacSoftware has killed off LittleSnapper / Ember (online service) / Ember the app.
Like (1)
mikokim
mikokim
07 February 2016
Realmac has been a major disappointment; I regret every penny I gave them (for Ember and Clear, and I also bought Typed, not because I needed it, but because I wanted to support them, and then Typed became yet another app they abandoned). I'm no longer using any of their products and I don't recommend them anymore.

Anyway; I've been using both Inboard and Pixave for a couple of months now. Inboard is very basic, nevertheless I favored it initially because of its simplicity. However, since I work both on an iMac and a MBP, I need my libraries to be in sync. Inboard has a buggy export/import process for shuttling libraries between systems; I contacted the developers, but so far no fix — so I stopped using it. (In general, the Inboard devs don't seem to put a lot of time into their app — the individual devs all seem to have day jobs, so updates are few and far between, which is not acceptable for an app that costs $19.99 IMO.)

I've been using Pixave more and more; you will find everything that Ember did in Pixave, and then some. It's not without bugs and a few shortcomings either, though (in fact, capturing full web pages is awkward since Pixave brings up an extra window into which you have to paste the URL).

However, Pixave does support Dropbox sync as long as you don't have the app open on two (or more) systems at the same time all works well and let Dropbox finish syncing before opening the app on another computer. The app stores all files in a single library file (similar to the old iPhoto, for example), but you can easily access the package contents via the context menu.

The developers of Pixave are working on a major update that will introduce cloud sync, as well as a mobile version, at least that's what they told me back in December.

In general, I believe the market for dedicated DAM apps is not that big, which may explain why there aren't more DAM alternatives, and why some devs either bail on those apps or are reluctant to dedicate a lot of time to them.

I bought Inboard when it was on sale for $9.99; at that price it's still overpriced for what it does (and for the effort the devs seem to put into it); but at $20 it's definitely not worth it. I bought Pixave for $9.99, and it does a lot more than Inboard, almost too much IMO — it's a busy UI ;)
Like (3)
fwilkinson
02 November 2015
alright
Like
Version 1.8.3
CynicalMike
27 October 2015
Listed as 1.8.4 but version downloaded is 1.8.3 from MacUpdate and developer's website.
Like
Version 1.8.4
1 answer(s)
Luis-J
Luis-J
04 November 2015
Yes, I agree. And when you go to the release notes (http://realmacsoftware.com/ember/releasenotes/) it only lists up to 1.8.3- 27 January 2015. Please fix MacUpdate Desktop which still lists the supposed update to 1.8.4

Update: There seems to be a version 1.8.4 on the Mac App Store... Does not help us who do not own the MAS version having Ember always appear as outdated in MacUpdate Desktop, and not being able to update...
Like
mikokim
23 August 2015
I’ve been using Ember as a digital scrapbook. What attracted me most to the app was its iOS companion app. Meanwhile, the iOS app has been shelfed for good (much to my chagrin) and not much has happened with Ember over the past year apart from some very minor bug fixes, oh yeah… and the app got a new icon when Yosemite was released as others have pointed out!

Realmac appears to be a company made up of designers first and engineers second. Look and feel takes precedence over functionality and usability; creating a new icon and investing resources in new products such as Typed (as if we needed yet another distraction-free writing app) was more important to them than fixing bugs or adding much-needed features such as sorting or fixing the painfully slow and very temperamental cloud sync.

According to the developer’s blog, Ember 2 is in the works, and it will not be a free upgrade. Like all the other apps by Realmac, no doubt Ember 2 will be yet another piece of software that is rich in looks and poor in functionality (like Clear and Typed), yet comes at a premium price. At $19.99 Ember would be “fairly” priced; at $49.99 you are not getting your money’s worth.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.3
Quantumpanda
04 November 2014
Ember is promoted as a combination of a screen/web capture utility and an image catalog. It does the former adequately, but not as well as other options that are free or much less expensive. The latter function, however, it completely fails at. The available options for organizing your stored items are fewer than in the now out-of-date version of iPhoto that came with my Mac. The only thing it does that I've not seen in other apps is the arrange by dominant color function, but that's hardly worth $50. Everything else it does, I can accomplish as well or better with Evernote, GraphicConverter, and Captur, for $10 less total. (Plus I already have those apps.) The worst thing about Ember, though, isn't in using it—it's behind the scenes. Whether by design or bug, it does not remove files from its storage space in ~/Library when you delete them from within the app. I discovered this after testing it by importing several images from my collection, then deleting them from the app's catalog after determining that it did not meet my needs. The next day, I discovered that my available disk space had dropped by nearly 20 gigabytes (which is far greater than the amount of space normally taken by the set of images I tested with). A disk sweep showed all of that as being in Ember's library folder, which still contained all the images I had told it to delete! This is inexcusable. To boot, the app makes itself very hard to uninstall. Even with an uninstall app like AppDelete, Ember left a launch agent behind—and even after I moved that agent to the Trash and restarted so that it wasn't running, it still relaunched itself *from the Trash* and began a cycle of launch-crash-launch-crash (because the app's components were no longer installed) that did not end until after I emptied the Trash (which was possible only by the Finder catching that agent between launches so it could be deleted). I'll give it two stars only because it does an adequate (but unimpressive) job of capturing. In every other way, this app is abysmal and barely even deserves one star. Even in a bundle, it's not worth anything.
Like (11)
Version 1.8.2
Xplicit
26 October 2014
Release Notes - Ember 1.8.2 - 22nd October 2014 • Fixes for web snapping on OS X Yosemite • New icon to make Ember feel at home on OS X Yosemite Instead of making new icons the developers should instead improve the usability of the app, like adding sorting options, maybe auto-tagging etc.. On the Ember webpage they present some user stories. I really wonder if the developers have tried to reproduce those workflows because I see a lot of room for efficiency improvements.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.2
1 answer(s)
mikokim
mikokim
20 January 2015
I share the same sentiment: I'd appreciate it if they focused more on the bugs than on the icon (although the overall design is nice), but important functionality (like sorting) is dearly missed. I also experience issues when syncing (via Dropbox). On one of my systems, for example, the library only updates AFTER I add an image to the app — frustrating (even contacted support, but didn't feel they consider this a major issue [and may even blame my system for it]). Before I bought Ember, I contacted the developer about future plans, given that the app comes with a stiff price that is not justified given the current feature set. Their response: "...there are still a lot of things that we'll be adding over the coming weeks, months, and years." That was back in June 2014. Not that much has changed since then. Meanwhile, they released Typed rather than focusing on fixes to Ember. I'm about to give up on it.
Like (2)
robioto
15 October 2014
Realmac has taught me to never pay full price for their software. It always goes on sale later on. You only get punished by purchasing at full price when their apps are first released. It's a decent app, but overpriced unless purchased in discounted bundles, and missing features you can find in cheaper or free alternatives. Of course it has features not found in the free apps but when you've paid a chunk of money for something you hope that the money goes into building out a more complete feature set as part of the development roadmap. I will never purchase anything at full release price from this dev again.
Like (4)
Version 1.8.1
JamesHarrisPhoto
10 October 2014
Just got Ember in a software bundle and love it. However I wouldn't have paid the $49.99 price tag to buy Ember alone. Works beautifully however, and love having a screenshot utility with an associated library for organization.
Like
Version 1.8.1
Eviandem
20 September 2014
Worse tha Little Snapper. Crashed while importing little snapper library. At every launch I have to enter the license code over and over again. No thanks. I use Onde w3 capture agai
Like
Version 1.8.1
bumper314
04 August 2014
I've snagged the demo several times over the last year to see how it's shaping up, but I'm always frustrated by every action I tried to do. I can't think of any specific examples, but it's almost like they didn't do any user testing.
Like (2)
Version 1.8
lazlototh
26 July 2014
This is just another example of a company taking a great app "LitteSnapper" and turning it into a worthless overprices turd. What was great about LittleSnapper was the drawing tools (rectangles, ovals, arrows). These have been removed and replaced with this crappy "smart drawing" tool feature. What an idiot web developer. They should should have spent more time coding and less time producing their ridiculous hipster promo video. No thanks!
Like (2)
Version 1.7
sw2015
08 July 2014
Contrary to some other reviewers, I found this utility useful and worth the price. I got the App Store version that provides iCloud support. Ember makes it very easy for me to capture and catalog web pages and images as well as finding them at a later time. I like the browser extensions that make collection easy and also recording the original page URL which enables returning easier. Ember is much more than a screen capture utility.
Like (3)
Version 1.7
Rubaiyat
18 June 2014
Ember is inflexible. It requires OSX 10.9 (Why?) so I can't use it on my other Systems, and I can't see what it offers that Voila doesn't do for half the price. I really don't get this constant requirement to use Apple's latest OSX when there seems to be nothing requiring it. Whenever they port these apps to Windows (even Apple) they always support several older versions of that OS, so what is so essential with Mavericks? Which can be a pain otherwise.
Like (1)
Version 1.6
8 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
19 June 2014
There is no need to support older versions. Mavericks has been out long enough for it to be stable. Many developers are doing this.
Like (2)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
19 June 2014
Yes there is. We have 3 Macs in the House that won't run Mountain Lion let alone Mavericks. Even on the Macs that will run Mavericks, only 2, I prefer SL and only switch to Mavericks to test things like Pages 5 (which also sucks btw).
Like (1)
Xenophile
Xenophile
22 June 2014
It's free to update to Mavericks, so many developers figure if people want to use their app, they can update their OS X version. The strategy leaves out those who cannot update to Mavericks due to a lack of support for some other critical app they use, but it's an understandable choice by the developer. They can put the time that would have gone to supporting older OS X versions into new features and bug fixes. That said, Little Snapper, or Ember, or whatever new name they opt for, is not worth $50, regardless of which OS X versions it supports.
Like (1)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
01 July 2014
It is NOT because of some "critical" app. Apple simply will not install Mavericks on most of our Macs. The price has nothing to do with it. By contrast I can install Windows 8 and a lot of Apple's Windows version software on a quite ancient PC that is still running in our office.
Like
lazlototh
lazlototh
26 July 2014
@Pik80 Some of us are professionals that are using apps other than iPhoto and Apple mail. Many of these pro apps use plugins that are not yet supported by Mavericks.
Like (2)
Pik80
Pik80
26 July 2014
They still haven't updated their plugins for Mavericks? It's been out for nine months! I am a pro and all of my plugins work fine.
Like
x0x0
x0x0
09 August 2014
Pik80, your pluging works fine, your brain not. Please update your brain and stop being a jerk. Not all people run on the same hardware as yours.
Like
Pik80
Pik80
10 August 2014
If you are running some ancient piece of hardware you can't expect to run the latest software. Mavericks supports computers from as far back as 2008 I think. Six years is starting to get pretty old for a computer. It's fine if you want to keep using it but don't wine about not being able to run 2014 software. Developers have other things to do with their time then trying to support every previous version of an OS known to man.
Like (3)
Craniumstudio
20 May 2014
I like many of you have used Little Snapper in the past. It is unfortunate that it is no longer available. Since Ember has taken its place, I also found some of the changes a little hard to get used to. First, I agree the price is a little on the high side for a screen capture application, although I decided to give it a try and purchased it. Second, I wish the developer would consider adding the original editing tools found in Little Snapper such as the arrows, lines and outlined comment fields. They were very useful. Finally, on the positive side, the application works well, it is easy to use, does what it says, and it also does a great job organizing my snapshots.
Like (1)
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
22 May 2014
Ember is NOT worth the money. Unfortunately you installed it but I hope you get some usefulness out of it. It is not worth $49.99. The developers are capitalizing on Little Snapper's usefulness.
Like (1)
Bluestar
26 April 2014
Still trying to figure out what's so different and amazing about this app that isn't in the free Evernote & Skitch combination
Like (4)
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
03 June 2014
or Pinterest
Like
dwp-1
24 February 2014
Ember is such a great application it is only worthy of 2 stars, must be a lot of confused users.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.3
1 answer(s)
lazlototh
lazlototh
26 July 2014
No, just users that knew how great LittleSnitch was compared to this steaming turd. I can only assume that the original author left the company and was replaced by that hack that wrote this piece of crap.
Like
Jazzyguy
13 February 2014
I have Little Snapper.1.83 It works on Mavericks and on Snow Leopard I have no problems with it .It precedes the New Developer.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
07 March 2014
I Spoke too soon! Little Snapper is worthless now. I thought it was working because I saw the interface but it does not work anymore. The greedy developer wants his due. I won't give to him.
Like (3)
swimmerbear
06 February 2014
I really wanted to like this app. It was important that access to files on Ember was available on my iOs devices. They began to incorporate iCloud for this to happen. This is where trouble occurred for me. Ember worked fine on my desktop but on all my iOs devices the library could not or would not keep up to date. Files were not accessible across the platforms. I was in touch with support and they responded quickly and attempted to help unfortunately they could not solved the problem. I gave up.... and found other apps or methods to replace Ember. Also the capture function stopped working many weeks ago. I just don't think apps should need so much problem solving to work. I hope others have better luck...
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1
Mhoutman
30 January 2014
Greedy, the exact word for Realmac Software. On OS X Rapidweaver probably is the only app still in their portfolio with a track record. All others (like Courier, Littlesnapper, Sociale where either sold or discontinued. (Analog is for sale). On iOS they had trouble when releasing a second version for Clear and now they notified us that Analog is for Sale. Dan Counsell, their CEO and writer of many blog posts on how everybody should behave to make the MAS and App Store eco system sustainable is only part of it.
Like (7)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
05 February 2014
Their desire to monetize what they've made, rather than make new stuff, is showing in the RapidWeaver space. They have lots of videos on-line that you have to buy access to through a subscription. These videos are targeted toward non-technical users who are struggling to use RapidWeaver or to implement advanced features. A colleague was considering using the tool after I helped her set up her site but found the costs and the large learning curve to be to much. I've long since moved to WordPress and Drupal to build sites. The niche that RapidWeaver filled -- Pagemill and other sub $100 web design packages -- has a couple entries now. I suppose it's the end of a business cycle for them. Once RapidWeaver goes on the market, they're toast. Good riddance.
Like (2)
Canadianpj
29 January 2014
They can believe what they wish but the price is going to keep me from buying it, at $49 there are other more feature rich options which are cheaper. I was a huge fan of LittleSnapper but the pricing behind this is not going to win them my business.
Like (4)
Version 1.3
Bnax
23 December 2013
Well, I'm grateful that the trial version allowed me to export my LittleSnapper library. I'm also grateful that RealMac has shown me exactly what kind of company it is. Got my money once, but I don't duplicate my mistakes. BTW, that $50 price tag, given the competition, is laughably optimistic. 5 stars for LittleSnapper 0 stars for the company ? Stars re Ember: don't know anything beyond the quick export feature, and plan to keep it that way
Like (5)
Version 1.2.1
Fishscale
23 December 2013
Wow! realmacsoftware has done us a huge favor by removing every reference to little snapper on their support pages and everything links to ember.app instead (they still need to remove one button in the nav menu) Come on, you can stop selling the app but to cut support information and remove extensions/bookmarklets is just an even larger slap in the face to current users and those who gave you the capital to create the "professionally priced" Ember, which is amateurishly thought out and implemented. So Ember users should know that you will arbitrarily decide to cut the app and remove all reference of ember from your website so those using it can't read the FAQ or troubleshoot? I can't wait until the next great idea coming out of your lab is released and the "suite" price that comes with it. How about you do something for everyone who used the app and put back information! Too much extra cash spent on hosting those couple of pages and extensions/bookmarklets right? Even better the app, the last decent thing made by your company should be made free... drop support altogether but let everyone have access. Exactly like Panic did with Candybar. I guess true colors are hard to hide, but at least make an effort to not make screwing over customers a priority.
Like (8)
Version 1.8.5
1 answer(s)
Wonderwarthog
Wonderwarthog
04 June 2014
Yep, replacing a good product with an inferior overpriced product. I guess it a hard sell, so they have to push it.
Like
PRjohnson
13 December 2013
C'mon Realmac, where's the respect for having such an impressive list of long-time users of LittleSnapper? Many of who have also shelled out the dough for your other apps and stuck with Realmac, singing your praises to anyone who would listen along the way (i.e., years of unwavering loyalty...seriously...no, really really... scout's honor seriously...ARE you even paying attention?). We love Realmac. We love LittleSnapper. We loved feeling like we mattered and into the Realmac family...and that we felt proud to be part of something big and advocate for the little guy developer. We've thrown punches for you whenever and wherever possible. Yet now, each of us seem to have become the little guy. But who is advocating for us? Surely Realmac would be first in line? Imagine if Ember were launched not with a price tag or payola and freebies for reviewers, but had instead opted to cash in the years of building a community of users that most developers can only dream of. So Realmac, holding true to their edgy reputation and innovative flair, took crazy pills instead. Anwyay, rather than repeat the same list of qualms and complaints noted by others regarding Ember's wholesome wtf-ness (i.e., that which honestly, sincerely, and we're-not-joking just simply feels like one giant middle-finger pointed in our direction), I'd like to make a last-ditch plea to Realmac...THROW US A BONE? An omg-just-kidding-about-the-$49.99 holiday sale for $10? Or, if nothing else, maybe a get well soon card to help us get through the impending breakup.
Like (6)
Version 1.2.1
3 answer(s)
macpayne
macpayne
22 December 2013
It won't be happen. They will never put it on sale : http://realmacsoftware.com/blog/sustainability-and-the-mac-app-store
Like
Mark-Lee
Mark-Lee
11 January 2014
Excuses of a greedy company. AgileBits managed sales and refunds with MAS version of 1Password nicely. That's why I stayed with that company. Realmac? No, thanks.
Like (5)
Pik80
Pik80
29 January 2014
Keep in mind Apple collects one third the sales of every piece of software it sells in the MAS. RealMac is only seeing about $35 on each download. I think the real issue here is that Apple is collecting too much for software that they didn't write.
Like
dwp-1
03 December 2013
Longtime user of LittleSnapper but RW dropped the ball on this imitation of LittleSnapper at an additional $50.00 So I started looking elsewhere and am very pleased with Pixa. Pixa has many features of LittleSnapper and features that LittleSnapper didn't have. For the price I found it to be as close as I needed.
Like (7)
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
Bnax
Bnax
23 December 2013
Thx for the heads up re Pixa. I'll happily give my $$ to anyone but RealMac.
Like (1)
Almostwise
Almostwise
31 January 2014
Same here - I switched from Little Snapper to Pixa, and it's a great piece of software!
Like
Ronl
03 December 2013
No upgrade price.... you're going to lose most of your customers. You've certainly lost me. When my current version of LittleSnapper is nolonger supported in the OS.... I'll definitely buy another product from another developer. Lots of competition for this kind of app and with the "slap in the face" of no upgrade price.... it's enough to make previous customers look elsewhere.
Like (7)
Version 1.2.1
macpayne
05 November 2013
After tried it for 14 days, I have to say that I agree with @Felix Allard. The update is not necessary if you have Little Snapper before. I even feel it's just a Little Snapper re-packaging, except its rss function (which is quite good) - for this reason the developer should offer an upgrade price for Little Snapper owners IMO If you haven't used Little Snapper before you might found this app useful. If the price does matter, I'd suggest you to try Pica.
Like (7)
Version 1.2
Appleday88
27 October 2013
LittleSnapper was great. This app is useless. No more upload history/links Less functions Ugly popup -no more sidebar for tags, title... Can't edit text of websites any more (change username for publishing etc.)
Like (7)
Version 1.2
Felix-Allard
14 October 2013
So many people here give this app a 1/5 just because they think the price is too high, but they didn't buy it (neither tried it). And, about it, now there's a trial version (14 days) on the developer's site. I was a previous customer of LittleSnapper (luckily had it in a cheap bundle) and $50 was its price too. That's not so much for an app I use everyday, many times in a day (and far cheaper than $0,99 apps I only used once). Well the update is not necessary but I find it convenient as a daily user. Yes, there's no update pricing from the editor. But there's often up to 50% discount on iTunes gift cards (in physical stores). It's at least as good as a "special update" price.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.2
2 answer(s)
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
14 October 2013
Hey thanks for letting us know about the demo, Felix! I've added the download to the listing. You might have just saved Realmac's bacon from the, um,... embers. ;-)
Like (3)
Felix-Allard
Felix-Allard
24 May 2014
Well I alway like so much to be score « -1 :-( » juste people think themselves the soft is worth 1* agree with me whereas they didn't read my review. Maybe I should do the same...
Like
pl-svn
05 October 2013
ok, I've been so fool to jump on the wagon even without a demo and found that... you can't sort your images/snaps/whatever by name: only by date! so if you have an original, created some time ago, and an edited (later) copy... no way they'll show one beside the other =:-0 please: tell me this app is a joke!!!
Like (4)
Version 1.1.1
2 answer(s)
pl-svn
pl-svn
07 October 2013
Wow: the answer from developers was really fast! kudos to RealMac Software :-)
Like (1)
Fishscale
Fishscale
08 October 2013
That was fast but it is not the first time they have heard that particular complaint, of course. Rather basic feature I'd say that every organization/database app should have. If Finder has a feature a 3rd party app is missing, there is a real problem with the 3rd party app. Finder is as basic and unchanging as it comes. Just my .02, congrats on the fix, I am still using LittleSnapper. Luckily, I used a friends copy of Ember and did not see a lot of positive improvements over LS.. just one actually and that had not been in v1.0 of Ember so it is pretty much a joke at this point. LittleSnapper - 4 stars (MU) Ember - 2 stars (MU) I honestly do not know who gave this app a 3+ star rating that has balanced out all these negative 1/2 - 1 star reviews...
Like (2)
Turquoise
04 September 2013
LittleSnatch was my prefered app. No way I would buy it again for $50. Bye Ember, nice to meet you.
Like (16)
Version 1.1.1
Ivan-C-
03 September 2013
They are crazy!!! No demo and completely overpriced!!!
Like (14)
Version 1.1
Markus-Winter
14 August 2013
I too own LittleSnapper and am incensed at them basically releasing a new version (same tool after all, even if they would have rewritten it from scratch) under a new name without an upgrade path. As I also own Voila (got it in a bundle) I have now switched - not because of any features but simply because I don't want to support a company with such lousy customer support.
Like (9)
Version 1.1
dwp-1
13 August 2013
I am certainly glad to read that I am not the only person disappointed in RealMac's lack of loyalty to its LittleSnapper customers. The real kick in the teeth is there is no upgrade for the LittleSnapper owners and then they removed some vital features and expect us to fork over another $50.00. Was a big fan of RealMac but they really missed the boat with Ember. Let's hope they realize their mistake and drop the price or offer an upgrade.
Like (13)
Version 1.1
Zx81
29 July 2013
Excerpt from Realmac blog : "The response Ember since its launch on Tuesday has been truly incredible." They can't be serious ; since I imagine they can't be stupid enough to believe this, I guess they're just kidding...
Like (12)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
13 August 2013
"truly incredible" can also mean that they're hugely disappointed by the fact that nobody (or hardly anybody) was suckered in to buying a $50 scrapbook utility. Or the "truly incredible" could be the backlash of email protests they received. They left the loyal users of LittleSnapper in the dust, so I have moved on.
Like (11)
Mar6473
28 July 2013
I own LittleSnapper and I've been waiting for a long time for them to release an update for retina displays. I was happy when I heard about their new app, but it has less features than Little Snapper does. It's missing the most basic annotation tools like arrows. There's also no upgrade price for Little Snapper owners. It doesn't seem very fair. Also, I don't really get the webpage feed for monitoring new images on a website. I guess that's more for designers. If this fills a niche like web developers then great, but it's not for me. Too bad though, I love the look of the interface. I'll probably migrate everything in Little Snapper over to Evernote.
Like (7)
Version 1.0.1
JasonE
28 July 2013
Shouldn't require 10.8. A scrapbook program that cannot run on anything less than 10.8? What makes it absolutely necessary that this be run on 10.8?
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
Zx81
28 July 2013
MAS only No demo Way overpriced.
Like (12)
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
29 July 2013
Fully agree here !
Like (4)
gatorjim
gatorjim
31 July 2013
If you are charging $50 in today's software market and not offering a demo, you need to hire new marketing people! I have a potential use for this application, but there is absolutely no way I'll plunk down $50 without trying it out first. IMO, you shouldn't either! They cannot be serious!
Like (6)
Macintosh-Sauce
28 July 2013
This makes me angry so much. I PAID for LittleSnapper! Now, you discontinue it and bring out Ember. You should at least give upgrade discount codes, for the Mac App Store, to ALL OWNERS of LittleSnapper. To not do so is really bad business IMHO. I will be searching for a new replacement for LittleSnapper, as I am SICK AND TIRED of being burned by software companies.
Like (8)
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
Macintosh-Sauce
Macintosh-Sauce
28 July 2013
Also, I am going to look into using something else instead of RapidWeaver. As I mentioned above, I'm tired of being screwed by software companies.
Like (3)
Zx81
Zx81
28 July 2013
I am also looking for a RW replacement for the same reasons. Unfortunately Sandvox does not seem to be on par with RW.
Like (1)
Fishscale
27 July 2013
Hmm... thanks for making "LittleSnapper 2.0" for all of us long time license holders and giving us a treat for our patience, YEARS, between updates to LS. Oh wait, we can't even try this 2.0/renamed for profit version even if we were willing to dish out the full price on MAS. @Dev, We know why you made the choices you did and so be it, if the product is great I will pay for it even though I don't plan to see updates too often but at least don't make me throw $50 on red just to try the app! Give us a demo that doesn't save but otherwise functions so we can at least get a sense of the new product. Better yet, if you don't want to give users a demo to try out, even crippled beyond usability, at least offer those who paid for LittleSnapper a chance to try the "new" app. Have the demo only accept valid serials from LittleSnapper to unlock and email the file to those email addresses linked to LittleSnapper Licenses. So you don't want to maintain two versions of the product, okay... your choice but remember their are apps like ClamXAV that are free, have been for years, and the developer even offers a MAS version and non-MAS version. If he can do it for free, you can't do it for a paid app? Look how MultiMarkdown Composer 2 was handled by Mr. Fletcher and you will see how a developer who cares about his customers while still wanting to "protect" and stay within MAS gives faithful users who supported previous versions of his product gives those users a chance to give it a test-drive while the product itself remains unusable since you can't save your work, etc... The app is useless in it's demo state but at least the user has a chance to work with the program and see if it fits their needs. By the way, MMC2 is much cheaper than $50 and it's previous versions were updated frequently, and no yearly is not frequently. - Oh well, you lost a customer here for sure. Your actions and policies have quickly told us all what matters more to your company. Money over customers... at least you have made one decision easy on me. There is no way I buy another realmac product. Prices go up but product version numbers hover around 1.0.1. Won't rate the app and hurt the overall stars this app receives, company deserves no stars imo, but oh well. Good job making Apple wealthier while hurting your customers. There is not much backbone at realmac it seems, let those who supported you when you were just getting started bear all the risk. Good luck squeezing blood from a rock and please do right by those who pay you hard earned money for an app they have only seen pictures of. Give them updates and listen to their requests. They do deserve that much, our opinions differ greatly though it seems.
Like (18)
Version 1.0.1
3 answer(s)
Lev
Lev
28 July 2013
Well... fair enough, but a couple of balancing points. (a) "Money over customers". It has to be both, if a business is to survive. Charge too little and you go under, and where does that leave your customers? (b) Times are hard and competition fierce. Realmac is a good developer with a long track record, up against a great rolling wave of developers on the MAS, an alarming number of which are doing me-too products, one-trick ponies or just plain garbage. (c) I wonder if the MAS "no trials" policy is purely for Apple's benefit. Imagine if everything on the MAS *had* to offer a free trial; I suspect 80% or more of developers would have not a single purchaser, and Apple would lose its 30% cut each time. (d) I do think the MAS should be obliged to fall in with distance-selling obligations: that is, a no-questions-asked refund within seven days of purchase. But, again, see (c) above. That being said, Ember strikes me as overpriced for what appears to be a pretty limited product. The surprising thing is that, given the number of users who deploy masses of digital media - photos, video, sound files etc -- there's still no decent way of cataloguing them. There used to be iMedia but that's sclerotic and creaky and not long for the world. Gap in the market? ObDisc: I have no relationship with Realmac Software other than as a user of RapidWeaver and (until it stopped working) iMedia Browser.
Like
Lev
Lev
28 July 2013
Sunday brain. Sorry. Karelia, not Realmac, make iMedia Browser. And I didn't mean iMedia but iView Media. Still; neither of them work properly any more, so that bit's right at least.
Like
Zx81
Zx81
28 July 2013
Anyone thought of a "non MAS apps" list?
Like
Curdaneta
27 July 2013
Like many, I think it's extremely expensive and that only works on the AppStore it's simply absurd. Everyone who bought a LittleSnapper's license were out of the game.
Like (9)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
27 July 2013
Yeah, it's way over priced. Realmac is trying to monetize it without adding any additional features. All it does is allow you to store stuff in the cloud and take snapshots. No editing. Skitch does way more and is cheaper. I wouldn't have this app if it weren't part of a MacUpdate Bundle with other stuff I really wanted. I never use it.
Like (3)
dwp-1
27 July 2013
It appears that many people are complaining about the price. Usually a more reasonable will increase sales ten fold.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Lev
Lev
28 July 2013
Oops. iMedia Browser is of course Karelia, not Realmac. Slip of the brain.
Like
Panthera
27 July 2013
The pricing seems insane, especially since many of the markup tools already in Littlesnapper are missing in action. If this company is to have any success at all they need to distribute a demo application and employ some introductory pricing. I thought about it, but it doesn't seem worth the risk of $50. I went with Snagit instead and I can use that on my PC as well.
Like (7)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
dwp-1
dwp-1
27 July 2013
I total agree, the pricing is ridiculous, especially if you paid for Little Snapper.
Like (4)