Back to Fiwi page
Fiwi free download for Mac

Fiwi Reviews

2.0.9
15 December 2014

Move files and folders via symmetrical Finder windows.

markrfriedman
23 May 2009

Most helpful

I can't say I actually need this update, since the current one works so well. However -what else can you buy for less than a buck? With high quality and easy access to the developer? Highly recommended, under all circumstances. It would be interesting if he could make it work with Safari and/or Firefox...maybe next time. I'd pay $1.98 for that upgrade!
Like (5)
Version 1.9.4

Read 27 Fiwi User Reviews

Rate this app:

Roland_S
27 October 2019
I love Fiwi for Mac. I have version 2.0.9 and use it every day to make dual windows to be able to easily drag and drop files. I hope a version for Mac OS 10.15 (Catalina) version will be coming.
Like
Version 2.0.9
Sugeet
17 January 2014
Fiwi is simple. Fiwi just makes another finder window next to or above the one that you're looking at. Now it's easy to move things from where you put them to where they need to go. OR you could create different screen and set each one up and then move things between screens (maybe). Just use Fiwi. It's simple. It works.
Like
Version 2.0.8
Gaberdine
01 April 2013
Used to love Fiwi on Tiger but I have found it to be incompatible with TotalFinder for Snow Leopard. If you don't use TotalFInder, Fiwi is useful (if a little slow).
Like
Version 2.0.8
1 answer(s)
Gaberdine
Gaberdine
04 April 2013
I should clarify that I experienced these problems with Fiwi 2.0.8 and Total Finder 1.3.2 running on Max OSX 10.6.8 Snow Leopard. I emailed the developer of Fiwi and he was very responsive - so mucho kudos for that! He has run tests and says Fiwi works fine with TotalFinder 1.4.9 on Mountain Lion (all latest versions as of April 2013). He is looking into issues with Snow Leopard and 1.3.x versions of TotalFinder.
Like
Alessandro82
23 September 2012
i succeded in making it work even with retina macbook pro just setting custom windows size!
Like
Version 2.0.8
Grayson-Manley
08 March 2012
Tried launching it and it started spawning infinite tabs. I'm using TotalFinder so my guess is its not compatible.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.8
2 answer(s)
Gaberdine
Gaberdine
01 April 2013
Yeah I have the same thing. Fiwi does not like TotalFinder at all. It's OK if you already have 2 Finder windows open, then it works as intended, but if you have one or none open it just keeps spawning more Finder tabs and if you use TotalFinder's Visor feature, it grabs that from the bottom of the screen and spawns infinite new tabs on that! Shame I like Fiwi years ago.
Like
Gaberdine
Gaberdine
04 April 2013
Following my comment (below) I should clarify that I experienced these problems with Fiwi 2.0.8 and Total Finder 1.3.2 running on Max OSX 10.6.6 Snow Leopard. I emailed the developer of Fiwi and he got back to me very quickly - so kudos for that!. He has run tests and says Fiwi works fine with TotalFinder 1.4.9 on Mountain Lion (latest versions as of April 2013). He is looking into issues with Snow Leopard.
Like
mgml
28 November 2011
WordPower would like to reassure all readers that Fiwi 2.0.8 runs excellently on Lion 10.7.2 on thousands of Macs all over the world and that the information provided by Dochoz below is incorrect. We ask MacUpdate.com admin to delete Dochoz posting below as it is wrong and damaging to Fiwi.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.8
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
29 November 2011
Hi! Nice app! How come that you didn't change the version number? The 2009 version was already 2.0.8. ;-)
Like
mgml
mgml
29 November 2011
Hi Aargl, Thanks for your support. Fiwi stayed at 2.0.8 because it required no change at all to work on Lion.
Like
Dochoz
28 November 2011
Not compatible with 10.7 Lion.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.8
1 answer(s)
mgml
mgml
28 November 2011
Hi Dochoz, Thank you for trying Fiwi. Fiwi is running on all our Lion (10.7 to 10.7.2) Macs since day one and it is a lot faster than on Snow Leopard. It also runs with Lion on thousands Macs all over the world. Try again and please, if you can, delete your rating of 2 as it is based on inexact information. It damages our near perfect rating, without just cause. If you have any problems with your System Software or a faulty Finder, please contact us directly at support@wordpower-software.com and we will be pleased to help.
Like (2)
pandora-1
13 October 2011
I was looking at various window management apps and ran across FiWi. Unfortunately the above links to either the download or the dev site result in 404 errors.
Like
Version 2.0.8
1 answer(s)
Wordpower
Wordpower
27 November 2011
Hi This-person-died-in-2011 Thank you for pointing this out. We have corrected the URL in our profile. As soon as MacUpdate updates accordingly everything should be back to normal In any case here are the correct links: http://wordpower-software.com/wordpower/fiwi_files/Fiwi.zip http://wordpower-software.com/wordpower/fiwi.html
Like (1)
mgml
02 June 2011
WordPower does appreciate constructive reviews of Fiwi. These help us to improve the product and serve our users better. The cstephen87 review below does not give any indication why he believes Fiwi merits such a low rating. Perhaps he just prefers another product...
Like
Version 2.0.8
cstephen87
07 March 2011
OS Lion will SURELY offer this foundational function... This app is a waste of money, however. Instead, why not get a WHOLE NEW FINDER WITH BETTER FUNCTIONALITY?! TotalFinder. Look it up. Bye
Like (1)
Version 2.0.8
Trashie
02 February 2011
Can do this with forklift or any dual pane file manager cleaner in one window. Just put it on a space no need to resize or mess about and work from that. Still for this price you won't get those kind of applications so for that it is very useful for those who don't need all the extras which come with those dual pain file managers.
Like
Version 2.0.8
Robinart
14 December 2010
Whow! I'll never waste time opening and resising windows manually anymore!
Like
Version 2.0.8
Sgginc
01 April 2010
One killer utility!!! Once in a while a utility comes around that is a must have ... This is it. And 99¢ too. Thanks ... Ken
Like (3)
Version 2.0.8
moog5
21 October 2009
I cannot believe how much time I've wasted over the years messing about resizing Finder windows. Fiwi is an absolute godsend, one of the most useful productivity apps I've come across in a long time.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.8
skikel
12 July 2009
Great piece of niche software. Does one thing well. But.... This version 2.0.6 keeps asking me for a password and my version 1.9+ password which has worked to the latest release does not unlock the application. Emailed the author and await an explanation. Paid for another password anywho. Work a buck 99 as far as I'm concerned.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.6
3 answer(s)
mgml
mgml
15 July 2009
WordPower replied to SKikel on the same day, July 12 2009: Hi Stephen, Thank you for supporting Fiwi. By now you should have the right password for Fiwi 2.0 and later. Unfortunately to transition from 1.9 to 2.0 we require an new licence. The following features requested by some users were added: Version 2.0, finished 16 June 2009 at 08:24 SNZT Fiwi 2.0 works with other applications besides the Finder. Shift key down at startup toggles the format of the two windows from columns (side by side) to rows (one on top of the other ) New Fiwi set up allows for changing the format, setting up customised windows and toggling the use of other applications besides the Finder. Here is WordPower Upgrade Policy: WordPower makes upgrades free whenever possible and keeps the price at 99 cents US. The version of Fiwi bought works forever on that Mac with that operating system. At times Fiwi users ask us to add new features and WordPower implements them. WordPower makes improvements available to all Fiwi users and asks them to share in the expenses with the purchase of a new licence at 99 cents US. Upgrade if you think the new features will benefit you. I hope this helps and thanks for your feedback. Regards, Mario Leonti Owner WordPower
Like (2)
Version 2.0.7
skikel
skikel
16 July 2009
The author asked me to let readers know that he had responded to my inquiry. He did so in a expedient fashion. The point I made about the application being worth twice the asking price and my having upgraded, I thought represented by belief in the application, and the developer. My apologies for not having clarified your having responded quickly to my inquiry. I was actually more interested in spreading the word about a software I use, believe is well written, and worth more than every penny I have spent on licenses for it. Mea Culpa. I did pay the upgrade price. skikel
Like (4)
Version 2.0.7
mgml
mgml
16 July 2009
Dear skikel, Thank you very much for your kind words, belief in and support for Fiwi. We did not mean to suggest you did anything wrong, we just wanted to explain our upgrade policy.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.7
Dom21
29 June 2009
Pardon my ignorance but after reading these glowing comments, visiting the website and even watching the video I still can't figure out what practical use Fiwi is. Why do you need it? What does it do?? What's the need for two Finder windows in the first place? Thank you.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.3
CollinBl
28 June 2009
Great addition to my MBP - nice to find something unpretentious and useful.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.2
mgml
18 June 2009
Thank you Doobiexx for bringing Sizeup to our attention. It is always interesting to compare applications. Our intention with Fiwi is to create an application that uses no real nor virtual memory when not actually setting up the windows and does not take any space in the menubar, that automatically creates two windows, positions them and, in doing so, requires minimal user input and where the windows are customisable to any size and on any monitor, even one on one display and the other on another.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
28 June 2009
sizeup has the option of getting rid of the menubar icon if you don't want. The real thing is sizeup is an application while fiwi is a simple script one trick pony. SizeUp's footprint is extremely small and does more than just finder windows. Compare 4 way or 2 way. Thanks for fiwi but charging for updates to this app! CRAZY!!
Like (2)
Version 2.0.2
Fishscale
17 June 2009
lame making us pay for an upgrade. Go to www.irradiatedsoftware.com and grab sizeup... does what fiwi 2.0 can + plenty more and it's truly donationware. This is shareware. With sizeup you determine the price, what it's worth, not what the dev thinks the app is worth. Shame, instead of attracting new customers fiwi is just driving them to the competition. I get SIZEUP makes of TWOUP
Like (2)
Version 2.0
markrfriedman
23 May 2009
I can't say I actually need this update, since the current one works so well. However -what else can you buy for less than a buck? With high quality and easy access to the developer? Highly recommended, under all circumstances. It would be interesting if he could make it work with Safari and/or Firefox...maybe next time. I'd pay $1.98 for that upgrade!
Like (5)
Version 1.9.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 May 2009
Thanks for your kind words Offline. I am working on Fiwi 2 that will work with Safari, Pages, Numbers and many other applications. It won't be long!
Like (2)
Version 1.9.4
markrfriedman
19 February 2009
Great application. Simple with high usability. Does one needful thing extremely well. Developer is communicative and easy to talk with. Pricing policy is unusual; but completely affordable. Highly recommended.
Like (2)
Version 1.9.2
O5220803
19 February 2009
Superb application! Very convenient. Thank you for making FIWI backward compatible with Tiger.
Like (2)
Version 1.9.2
Bruseth
09 February 2009
Nice, nice app. Does a great job. Just the type of thing I needed. Be aware, the new version, V.1.9 is another dollar. No big thing. If you don't want to pay another dollar, stick with you current, paid for, version (If you paid for V.1.8). The developer is doing a great job. Keep up the good work! Thanks for the neat app.
Like (2)
Version 1.9
Robbie1970
26 January 2009
Simple to use, customizable, almost full-featured. In addition to multiple-window resizing, I would like to see the automatic recognition of the Dock, so that the windows do not go under the Dock when automatically resized. I would like to note that the author is very responsive to e-mails and once even modified the program to solve a problem I had with it. I could not ask for more, given the price point!
Like (3)
Version 1.8
1 answer(s)
mgml
mgml
06 February 2009
Thank you for your kind words. I believe I changed the code of Fiwi sometime ago to allow for a reasonable border to accomodate the dock in all 3 positions even when you do not use the Fiwi set up appl. I tested on an iMac, a MacBook Pro and a PowerPC G5. If you are using 10.4 though I am sorry no. If I find some spare time on my hands I will relook at the version for 10.4 again.
Like (2)
Version 1.8
Drdul
06 December 2008
With version 1.7, Fiwi is now a must-have app, especially given the price. I like the dual-pane feature, but for me, the main reason i use Fiwi is that it offers a "reset" feature for Finder windows. I usually end up dragging and resizing Finder windows all over the place. Fiwi cleans up my mess in just one click.
Like (2)
Version 1.7
Gingertea
03 December 2008
I downloaded FIWI because I have always had trouble with the MAC os file management system, which makes it difficult to have tiled windows. This is such a simple program. I added it to my window buttons -- You can add a letter c or r next to the app program. If you rename it fiwic then it automatically makes 2 columns from 2 windows. It's easy to use, simple. Stable. Why didn't Apple think of this? Two thumbs up!
Like (2)
Version 1.6
Drdul
01 December 2008
Nice idea, but doesn't appear to be designed for a large monitor or multiple monitors. I use dual 30 inch monitors. Fiwi opens two giant Finder windows that fill my primary monitor (the one with the menubar). But I usually keep my Finder windows on the other monitor, and have them a "normal" size. After using Fiwi, the next time I open a Finder window, it opens giant size on the wrong monitor, so I have to resize it and drag it back where I want it. If the developer could add a pref setting to specify where and what size Fiwi opens Finder windows, I'd be sold. Otherwise, it creates more work for me than it saves.
Like (1)
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
mgml
mgml
02 December 2008
DRDUL, thank you for trying Fiwi. Fiwi creates two windows on the main monitor. It creates them big so they they hide the other windows that might be open underneath, avoiding confusion when you move files/folders from a to b. You are right to say the next window is created the same size and location of the previous one as this is how the Finder works. Fiwi is a faceless application and therefore there is no way of calling preferences up. I wrote it like this so it can quit as soon as the job is done without robbing memory (RAM) from the Mac. Thanks to your input I am now working on the idea of having a text file in the Fiwi folder where users can type their preferences. Fiwi would read them at start up and behave accordingly. I appreciate your suggestion for improving Fiwi.
Like (2)
Version 1.6