Back to uTorrent page
uTorrent free download for Mac

uTorrent Reviews

1.8.7
06 May 2019

Lightweight BitTorrent client.

Most helpful

Installed uTorrent with an old-style .pkg installer (which is completely unnecessary for an app like this. Then I found out why. In both Chrome and Safari it installed a SearchMe extension and changed my homepage and search engine to Yahoo.
Like (19)
Version 1.8.4

Read 229 uTorrent User Reviews

Rate this app:

singerg
14 November 2019
A bit confusing.
Like
Version 1.8.7
1 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
14 November 2019
Hey! Thank you for leaving a comment on uTorrent! Can I ask you what exactly confuses you? We will do our best to clear things out for you!
Like
Version 1.8.7
GLW
12 November 2019
I received an ad in the uTorrent window that said, "The new macOS Catalina is coming soon. Your uTorrent client will auto-update in September." Well, it's now mid-November and so far, nada. Are they still planning to update uTorrent (and if so, when?), or should I be looking at a replacement app before I take the Catalina plunge? That would be too bad, because I really like uTorrent!
Like
Version 1.8.7
angus010
08 November 2019
I love it but now I have Mac Catalina 32 bit apps are not supported:-(
Like (1)
Version 1.8.7
tashanl1998
11 September 2019
I've been a loyal consumer of utorrent for years. But it's just been said with the new Mac Catalina update, it will remvoe all 32-bit applications meaning no more utorrent. So i will be looking for another application. Apparently qbitrorrent is 64 bit?
Like
Version 1.8.7
Jack-the-Mac
29 April 2019
I'm not leaving, just cleaning up to install the newest version.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.7
Tlance
05 February 2019
Are ever going to get a 64 bit version?! I have tried Transmission, qBittorrent, and Deluge. Neither do for me as does uTorrent. Nor have I had to deal with the nefarious aspects.
Like
Version 1.8.7
RogerKatz
05 February 2019
ClamXAV found both MacUpdate's download dmg, and the download dmg from the Developer's website (for this version 1.8.7) to be infected with PUA.OSX.InstallCore
Like
Version 1.8.7
wadgurshi
06 December 2018
قفف
Like
Version 1.8.7
Borisd
19 November 2018
Not uninstalling. I am just upgrading. I have nothing bad to say about this software, but I am not the right person to ask either.
Like
Version 1.8.7
DennyWatsons
23 February 2018
I use this application on a daily basis as I need to download several different videos and formats for the testing. Just a fast torrent application!
Like
Version 1.8.7
1 answer(s)
fahlman
fahlman
09 May 2018
You're either oblivious or enjoy adware on your computer, because uTorrent is known to include it.

Edit: Your account was registered on the same day you made this comment. That tells me everything I need to know about your trustworthiness.
Like
alisalevchenko07
23 February 2018
Usual torrent program and free of charge. Nothing bad can be said, works smoothly and fast. No problems.
Like
Version 1.8.7
1 answer(s)
fahlman
fahlman
09 May 2018
"Nothing bad can be said". Are you serious? It installs adware on your Mac. I can say that, and that is bad.

Edit: Your account was registered on the same day you made this comment. That tells me everything I need to know about your trustworthiness.
Like
gbsaab
22 February 2018
ClamXav keeps reporting that uTorrent downloads are infected with "PUA.OSX.InstallCore". That's happening with downloads from MacUpdate and from the main uTorrent site.

Is there an adware free version of uTorrent available ?
Like (1)
Version 1.8.7
polocanada
26 March 2017
TODAY ADWARE INFESTED SYSTEM AND TOMORROW BITCOIN MINING ZOMBIE?

NEW VERSIONS OF UTORRENT INCLUDE ADWARE PAYLOAD. YOU CAN'T DELETE IT OR DISABLE. NO MATTER WHAT YOU DO THE ADWARE GETS RE-INSTALLED.

WHO KNOWS ONE DAY HARMLESS LOOKING ADWARE AND THE NEXT DAY UTORRENT AUTOUPDATE COULD INSTALL A BITCOIN MINING APP AND HAVE MY COMPUTER BECOME A ZOMBIE EFFECTIVELY USED FOR MINING BITCOINS WITHOUT YOUR KNOWLEDGE.

THIS USED TO BE RESPECTED AND REPUTABLE COMPANY. PLEASE BAN THIS VENDOR FROM MACUPDATE !!!!

Like (1)
Version 1.8.7
Rey
07 December 2016
Still installs spyware. What's interesting is that when you search MU for "torrent", uTorrent is listed as a 5-star app. MU seems to be complicit in their scam, because the actual ratings are much lower. This app should be removed from MU's listings immediately.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.7
1 answer(s)
Barry5p
Barry5p
05 August 2017
Check out the Vuze rebirth BiglyBT:
https://www.biglybt.com
Like
Derekcurrie
28 November 2016
No, you don't want this, unless you like courting trouble. There are far better, safer torrent clients. Check out the alternatives listed on this page. In every case, use your torrent client safely. Know what you're doing.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.7
Rustybrains
28 November 2016
WARNING! Installs Malware.
Like (4)
Version 1.8.7
Seedy
16 October 2016
Worthless crap. If you run Little Snitch while it tries to start it asks for an endless amount of connections. Also tries to install Yahoo adware, this is how much further Yahoo has fallen. BitTorrent Client is the same thing now. Transmission FTW but for how long yet?
Like (3)
Version 1.8.7
marko-lindgren
27 June 2016
Spyware shit.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.7
Gary30
03 November 2015
This was a nice, free app. I would have paid a few bucks for it if asked. But no. Instead I got a vicious surprise when the app no longer seemed to work after I upgraded to El Capitan. I reinstalled it and discovered that it is now an adware-malware-trackware vector. Plonk! I'll now find another.
Like (4)
Version 1.8.7
douglasmark
17 October 2015
WHY is MacUpdate, a formerly trustworthy download source, allowing their loyal users to download a system-destroying weaponized application like this one? Can all the damage to MacUpdate's brand and reputation possibly be worth whatever money they took for posting this dangerous download? Yes, I too just got hammered by the Spigot adware, which takes over the OS X ApplicationManager process and spews out thousands of calls to mybrowserbar.com, which eventually took down El Capitan and forced a restart. Have your anti-malware apps ready! It installs extensions on Safari, changes your search engine and start page. to Yahoo—and God only knows whatever other damage this weaponized app did to my system.. I'm still running anti-malware and cleaning utilities over an hour after this attack ruined my Friday night.
Like (8)
Version 1.8.7
7 answer(s)
douglasmark
douglasmark
18 October 2015
UPDATE: I lost about 40 services in my user Services folder, and still cannot get Safari to stop throwing me Yahoo.com as my default web page in all new tabs despite setting that preference to Google. This is after all the malware was supposedly removed from my system using Malwarebytes multiple times.. Threw away preferences, dumped caches, installed AVG Antivirus, but still no joy.
Like (2)
douglasmark
douglasmark
19 October 2015
UPDATE 2: STILL removing mybrowserbar.com bookmarks in Safari Favorites and elsewhere, removing suspicious Safari extensions, and re-installing deleted Services. Lost about 3 hours so far repairing the damage.
Like (2)
douglasmark
douglasmark
20 October 2015
UPDATE 3: Just now found that all of my Notification Center widgets were destroyed by this weaponized crapware. I can post a screenshot of my empty Notification Center window if anyone would like to see it.

If an iCloud logout/login cycle doesn't bring the widgets back, I'm planning to reinstall them from Time Machine, or from a Recovery Partition re-installation of El Capitan.

MacUpdate admins, are you paying attention?
Like (2)
douglasmark
douglasmark
21 October 2015
UPDATE 4: eBay, MacUpdate, uTorrent and mybrowserbar.com all need to provide responsible remedies without delay for the colossal damages, and the costs and time involved in repairs, for potentially millions of computers users worldwide who are suffering losses because of this malware.

Tonight, FIVE DAYS after the original attack, we found Google Chrome extensions damaged by the weaponized malware as well.

In Chrome, manually removed the malware Domain Error Assistant extension installed by, once again, mybrowserbar.com. This extension was marked as “corrupted” in the Chrome extensions manager, but somehow escaped removal by both Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.app and AVG AntiVirus.app.

Manually removed the malware-installed eBay Shopping Assistant extension from Chrome.

AVG AntiVirus found related malware or viruses in about 12 bands in a sparsebundle backup stored on the startup disk.

In Safari, reinstalled the AutoPagerize extension damaged by by the malware.
Like (2)
Mcr
Mcr
10 November 2015
@dlouglasmark
MacUpdate doesn't care. They are also now packaging 3rd party installers on top of MacUpdate downloads. They admit to it, but of course since they are getting financial gains from it, they don't call it adware/crapware, they call it 'value added software we believe downloaders may be interested in".

MacUpdate has gone the road of VersionTracker and CNET.
Like (3)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
27 May 2016
Douglasmark, can you post the steps it took to remove the search assistant from your Mac? I think Yahoo changed something on their end as it used to be very straight forward. Thanks, much appreciated.
Like
Bunam
Bunam
03 January 2017
AVOID !
Like
toddgarvin
08 September 2015
Been using this for years, but now installs malware. DO NOT INSTALL this application. Going back to Transmission. >:-(
Like (2)
Version 1.8.7
Rerex
05 September 2015
Installs the Adware Spigot. Not cool. Still using uTorrent, and got rid of the malware, but still...
Like (2)
Version 1.8.7
Maylbu
27 August 2015
Works fine for me, no issues, BUT I paid to have no ads and nothing happens they don't even respond, a rip off????
Like
Version 1.8.7
matt-rossner
25 July 2015
I used to use this a while ago, been using Deluge, now just installed it on Mac as apparently it's the best one, but as many others have said, it screws with Safari settings. I'm going back to Deluge. Don't install this.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.7
csaborio
07 July 2015
Just like jdoe506 mentions, it installs extensions on Safari, changes your search engine, and changes your start page. Download Transmission, do not download this crap. https://www.evernote.com/l/ABC47laf00FLyq6FlyrsYS5ulfLpGsiI07MB/image.png
Like (2)
Version 1.8.7
Virtualruffy
06 June 2015
This app has always been a POS but what was constantly being given fawning accolades by fanboys or developers of it with shill reviews who attacked anyone posting anything negative about it. Finally the tables have turned and it is exposed as the absolute trash it is. It now embeds a mybrowserbar.com installer within the package and who knows what else. AVOID this vomitous pile of donkey droppings.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.7
Penguirl
14 May 2015
uTorrent does function, albeit unintuitivly.I had to create a special folder for it to move completed .torrent files to which I've never had to do before for any other bt client. Download speeds are unimpressive, and then there is the ads. No thank you. I prefer Transmission and qBittorrent. PS: I believe that BitTorrent.app is uTorrent with a different icon. I know it is from the same developer so I wouldn't trust it either.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.7
Maylbu
30 April 2015
Version 1.8.7 changing search in preferences for Yahoo. Tried, clicked to d-load version 1.9.1(beta) , above and it downloads a buggy crashing 1.8.8 instead although no Yahoo. I have Yosomite 10.3.
Like
Version 1.8.7
alanB8048
04 April 2015
work perfectly here very surprised by the negative comments
Like
Version 1.8.7
seaneee175
03 April 2015
Better at injecting adware than actually doing what it's supposed to. Even though uTorrent claims to have rid it's software of adware, I recently downloaded v 1.8.7 and got nothing but redirects using Safari and Chrome.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.7
Slice313
03 April 2015
It has virus, don't install BE AWARE
Like
Version 1.8.7
Gary30
08 March 2015
Two curious points: Looking at the About uTorrent popup, I see v. 1.9.1. Second, downloading the current public version 1.8.7, a .dmg volume and viewing the package contents of the installer, there is an InstallerPreferences.plist file in the resources folder. If you like you can, edit out the four strings that call for downloads from mybrowser.com. You will need to remove the installer from the .dmg to do so, but that is trivial. It looks to me like once you have the app, it can update itself and then does not offer any monkey business. There is an app called AdwareMedic (yes, I know, some of these utilities are not legit, but this one is) which will easily remove adware such as Spigot and others. I hate the idea of having to closely watch the installation screens as in Windows or with CNet downloads to avoid this crap. However I am familiar with this app and like it. 5 stars trending to 2 would be my rating based on the creeping crapware monetization tactic. Why not just charge a few bucks per copy and be done with this nonsense?
Like
Version 1.8.7
Viking-the
14 February 2015
Since the "Money" versions started showing up, the bloody app, WHEN it WORKS (which is seldom), has crashed and burned. Quit the app smoothly, and it is like to CRASH every time you try to launch it thereafter. Total uninstall, reinstall, reconfigure, try to recover any paused or stopped torrent file (because everything needs to start over. You've got to be kidding me! The app has rapidly plunged from the "go to" torrent down loader app to a real piece of SH*T. Will not use it again until the consistency, stability, and full-around with the code is repaired. Pay MONEY for this piece of crap -- not on your life!
Like (1)
Version 1.8.7
1 answer(s)
jonesderek260
jonesderek260
18 February 2015
Agree with everything thing that has been said by all. Installed 1.8.7 Program opened but nothing there, no screen zero. Went back to the good old previous version. Happily working but trying out alternative torrent apps.

I see they even have the balls to be working on a new beta version, why the hell can,t the get their latest right.

And finally why are MacUpdate supporting in their application 1.8.7 utorrent, which clearly does not work therefore they cause people problems so are they just as bad as utorrent in this case ?
Like (2)
The-Equalizer
28 January 2015
This will install the Mac Spigot virus into your system. Used to be my only go-to app for bit-torrent, but not anymore. qBit Torrent does the same job without any malware.
Like (5)
Version 1.8.7
MichaelHaeusler
28 January 2015
This is insane. I don't care about the placement of ads, but this is the second time in a short while, where an allegedly "stable" update to an admittedly very simple application doesn't work. The main window won't even open. You guys should seriously consider firing some of your developers/coders. Buncha hacks.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.7
3 answer(s)
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
28 January 2015
Yeah… well, it worked after trashing the plist… kinda, because the sidebar is still missing folders etc. Great job. And what's with the LaunchAgent? Trashed it immediately.
Like
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
28 January 2015
Main window: "Trackers" tab > instead of just one there are now 5 columns, all with the same tracker info… and the my IP address doesn't show anymore in my tracking torrent. Very exquisite update. Really professional.
Like
Lvalue
Lvalue
28 January 2015
How about trashing the plists once again?
For me, it didn't work for the first time, but it worked on the 2nd try.
(I used Hazel to automatically trash all the plists.)
edit: that 2nd trashing also fixed that disappearing window problem for me.
Like
Lvalue
28 January 2015
I don't mind the ads if the app itself works. But 1.8.7 is broken. (I've updated from 1.8.6.) Maybe it's just me, but my installation doesn't show any of its labels on the sidebar. (Only that giant ad sits there alone.) As it's defaulting to the 'downloading' label, and I have no way to change it, I can't see all my 'completed' torrents now! (I know they're there, because when torrents for the existing ones are added it says so.)
Like (1)
Version 1.8.7
2 answer(s)
Lvalue
Lvalue
28 January 2015
It seems the plists were damaged during 1.8.7's "installation" process.
Trashing them seems to have fixed my problem.
Like
Lvalue
Lvalue
03 February 2015
It seems that somewhere in the app they hard-coded some of their files' locations. My home folder is in a non-standard location, so the app fails to locate those files; it hoses the plist file upon every launch.
Back to transmission until they fix it.
Like
badbadger
27 January 2015
Take away the trashy installer. I will not try to click on it. I'll stay with the old version.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.7
TechGuru
25 January 2015
The current latest version as of now is 1.8.7 does anyone know if the ads are still there?
Like
Version 1.8.6
1 answer(s)
Jools912
Jools912
27 January 2015
They're not if you block the servers the ads come from using Little Snitch.
Like
The-Joker
22 January 2015
uTorrent used to be the best torrent software but now they only care about money so they force ads on you and they try to make you, the user, install a searchbar when you install uTorrent. Shame on you! I will never use your software again.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.6
Stormchild
12 January 2015
I've lost all respect for this app. The installer now tries to trick you into installing crapware with what appears to be a step of the installation process (it's actually asking you to accept an "offer", hoping that most people will just try to click past it). Either way, on first launch it immediately hijacks torrent files and magnet links from any other BT app, without asking. To top it all off, the UI looks like a scummy webpage, complete with ads. Steer clear of this.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.6
Yusepe40
15 December 2014
For Macupdate: uTorrent.app Version 1.8.6 is not for OSX.5 Leopard/Intel. Not open.
Like
Version 1.8.6
PhilipE5836
13 December 2014
OK.Don't like ads but paid small amount to remove, now works beautifully on 7 year old iMac and 3 year old Macbook Pro.Want an alternative?Try qBittorent and Deluge.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.6
Arghwhymustiregister
13 December 2014
Forced install of searchbar for browsers, ads in the app
Like (1)
Version 1.8.6
mag01
07 December 2014
And as for the latest version (currently 1.8.6 build 36417):

You can download the adware installer free dmg from here: http://download-new.utorrent.com/uuid/da5a1daf-71bf-41a7-8c44-ae21ec05ae68 (it returns utorrent.dmg). They keep it up to date so once a new version is released, it's made available at the same URL.

And if you want to block those in-app ads, these 3 hosts should be of your interest; cdn.ap.bittorrent.com, cdn.bitmedianetwork.com, utclient.utorrent.com
Like (1)
Version 1.8.6
mag01
06 December 2014
Last version without the in-app ads and also in the "proper" form without the adware installer: 1.8.4 build 35014: http://llsw.download3.utorrent.com/mac/uTorrent-Mac-35014.dmg Grab it while it's there (it may be removed soon).
Like
Version 1.8.6
2 answer(s)
mag01
mag01
07 December 2014
And don't forget to disable automatic updates. You may need to block host update.utorrent.com as utorrent will keep attempting to update even if you disable it (also the "Automatically check for updates" option will be reenabled after every relaunch).
Like
hdebmark
hdebmark
16 December 2014
Thanks. The ads were simply vile! Your link worked perfectly. Have overwritten the upgrade with the older and ad-free 1.8.4 version and turned off the automatic updates. Much appreciated!
Like
Satyrica
06 November 2014
New 1.8.6 has ADVERTISEMENTS as the "new feature". Total crap-ware now. Stick with 1.8.4, or get a new app. Way to kill a good thing guys. Sell-outs!
Like (3)
Version 1.8.6
Mcr
06 November 2014
installer now packaged with crapware that modifies the browser, adds unwanted toolbars and extension. Windows version is now includes the OpenCandy ad engine which is run by default, giving administrator level access to whatever vendor file that OpenCandy downloads at run time. I suspect Mac version is doing the same 'OpenCandy' type thing.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.6
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
06 November 2014
TIP, if using Windows version, go to FileHippo and get 2.1.1 version of uTorrent. Pre 3.0 versions don't have OpenCandy built in. On Mac, Transmission is slower, but at least (as far as I know), there is no malicious ad ware exchange going on under the hood. Personally, for security, I only torrent from within a virtual machine, Mac or Windows under Parallels. Much safer; anything bad happens or anything nasty comes down the pipe, you can always just kill the VM and revert back to previous snapshot. No harm to your everyday system.
Like
Panocha
05 November 2014
WARNING, this may be a fake. All it does is error and won't install. It is also 1.8.6, which is very old. My installed version is 1.9.0. Be very suspect of this.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.6
1 answer(s)
Robthecomputerguy
Robthecomputerguy
11 November 2014
Good observation I was worried about that too. On their site they explained that they leveled out the feature set and rolled back the Mac version number to match the Windows version number. Apparently if you can run 1.9.1 you should continue to, because in their efforts to standardize across platforms they took a bunch of features out of the Mac version. Go figure.
Like (1)
DigiMonk
05 November 2014
Funny, since years I have 1.9.1 (some beta). It has some bugs but I can usually work around it I download this version but it's still an installer which I refuse to launch. See other comments abput add-ware and so on.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.6
michael-macupdate
05 November 2014
Wow, this WAS my go to torrent app... now it seems to be RIDDLED with adware, boarding of malware. Please do not change my default search/homepage... I know that trick, and I am not impressed... done.
Like (11)
Version 1.8.6
1 answer(s)
MacX-dk
MacX-dk
01 December 2015
The app is fine. It's the installer that contains a script to install the full version of uTorrent, and some "Crapware" AKA Payload.zip from http://download.mybrowserbar.com/ . . .

One way to avoid this Crapware, is to block this website all together BEFORE installing! Go Google "how to edit hosts file on mac" and remember to restart Mac after or flush dscache.

The clean uTorrent v1.8.7 DMG is found at this location: http://download-new.utorrent.com/uuid/da5a1daf-71bf-41a7-8c44-ae21ec05ae68
(link will only work for v1.8.7)
Like