Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to uTorrent page
uTorrent free download for Mac

uTorrent Reviews

05 July 2020

Lightweight BitTorrent client.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
hadeelkhalil92
hadeelkhalil92
Apr 29 2021
45548
0.0
Apr 29 2021
0.0
Version: 45548
hi, after download it said that the developer needs to update the application, could you please do that ? thanks,
pubuduimesh295
pubuduimesh295
Feb 6 2021
45548
0.0
Feb 6 2021
0.0
Version: 45548
Superb!
robertjameswatson17
robertjameswatson17
Nov 27 2020
45548
1.0
Nov 27 2020
1.0
Version: 45548
Refuses to work on High Sierra
lazermax2010
lazermax2010
Sep 19 2020
45548
1.0
Sep 19 2020
1.0
Version: 45548
Web version is piece of shit. The mac version was working but they stopped supported it for whatever reason. I'm using Folx now.
steveoliver360
steveoliver360
Jul 5 2020
45548
2.0
Jul 5 2020
2.0
Version: 45548
After using uTorrent for years the developers decided not to support modern Mac operating systems. I tried the online version but it sucked, I'm now using Transmission and have never looked back.
esmdesginr
esmdesginr
May 2 2020
1.8.7
5.0
May 2 2020
5.0
Version: 1.8.7
Perfect Thanks a lot..
himanshumahajan1892
himanshumahajan1892
May 1 2020
1.8.7
0.0
May 1 2020
0.0
Version: 1.8.7
Dear Developer Please update its version it's not working in updated mac os versions. Please check and do the needful if possible.
georgespringle
georgespringle
Mar 23 2020
1.8.7
0.0
Mar 23 2020
0.0
Version: 1.8.7
I used it a lot but it "upgraded" to web version it stopped working fast have not downloaded fast, I mean months to download which I have given up on. Just give me the old app back!
janie-4
janie-4
Mar 22 2020
1.8.7
1.0
Mar 22 2020
1.0
Version: 1.8.7
Not working, info Utorrent need to update app to run on 64
alexandravogiatzi
alexandravogiatzi
Jan 4 2020
1.8.7
5.0
Jan 4 2020
5.0
Version: 1.8.7
This app has helped me a lot! It works perfectly with my mac computer…!
drosskc
drosskc
Dec 4 2019
1.8.7
0.0
Dec 4 2019
0.0
Version: 1.8.7
HELP! I've used uTorrent for years! After I downloaded and installed uTorrent for macOS Catalina, 10.15.1, I had to startup in Safe mode just to install it since the installer kept opening with a blank dialog box! So, after installation, I can't find the app anywhere. The installer is for Catalina. PLEASE ADVISE!
singerg
singerg
Nov 14 2019
1.8.7
3.0
Nov 14 2019
3.0
Version: 1.8.7
A bit confusing.
GLW
GLW
Nov 12 2019
1.8.7
0.0
Nov 12 2019
0.0
Version: 1.8.7
I received an ad in the uTorrent window that said, "The new macOS Catalina is coming soon. Your uTorrent client will auto-update in September." Well, it's now mid-November and so far, nada. Are they still planning to update uTorrent (and if so, when?), or should I be looking at a replacement app before I take the Catalina plunge? That would be too bad, because I really like uTorrent!
angus010
angus010
Nov 8 2019
1.8.7
5.0
Nov 8 2019
5.0
Version: 1.8.7
I love it but now I have Mac Catalina 32 bit apps are not supported:-(
tashanl1998
tashanl1998
Sep 11 2019
1.8.7
0.0
Sep 11 2019
0.0
Version: 1.8.7
I've been a loyal consumer of utorrent for years. But it's just been said with the new Mac Catalina update, it will remvoe all 32-bit applications meaning no more utorrent. So i will be looking for another application. Apparently qbitrorrent is 64 bit?
Jack-the-Mac
Jack-the-Mac
Apr 29 2019
1.8.7
5.0
Apr 29 2019
5.0
Version: 1.8.7
I'm not leaving, just cleaning up to install the newest version.
Tlance
Tlance
Feb 5 2019
1.8.7
0.0
Feb 5 2019
0.0
Version: 1.8.7
Are ever going to get a 64 bit version?! I have tried Transmission, qBittorrent, and Deluge. Neither do for me as does uTorrent. Nor have I had to deal with the nefarious aspects.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Feb 5 2019
1.8.7
0.0
Feb 5 2019
0.0
Version: 1.8.7
ClamXAV found both MacUpdate's download dmg, and the download dmg from the Developer's website (for this version 1.8.7) to be infected with PUA.OSX.InstallCore
wadgurshi
wadgurshi
Dec 6 2018
1.8.7
0.0
Dec 6 2018
0.0
Version: 1.8.7
قفف
Borisd
Borisd
Nov 19 2018
1.8.7
4.0
Nov 19 2018
4.0
Version: 1.8.7
Not uninstalling. I am just upgrading. I have nothing bad to say about this software, but I am not the right person to ask either.
DennyWatsons
DennyWatsons
Feb 23 2018
1.8.7
4.0
Feb 23 2018
4.0
Version: 1.8.7
I use this application on a daily basis as I need to download several different videos and formats for the testing. Just a fast torrent application!
alisalevchenko07
alisalevchenko07
Feb 23 2018
1.8.7
4.0
Feb 23 2018
4.0
Version: 1.8.7
Usual torrent program and free of charge. Nothing bad can be said, works smoothly and fast. No problems.
gbsaab
gbsaab
Feb 22 2018
1.8.7
0.0
Feb 22 2018
0.0
Version: 1.8.7
ClamXav keeps reporting that uTorrent downloads are infected with "PUA.OSX.InstallCore". That's happening with downloads from MacUpdate and from the main uTorrent site.

Is there an adware free version of uTorrent available ?
polocanada
polocanada
Mar 26 2017
1.8.7
0.0
Mar 26 2017
0.0
Version: 1.8.7
TODAY ADWARE INFESTED SYSTEM AND TOMORROW BITCOIN MINING ZOMBIE?

NEW VERSIONS OF UTORRENT INCLUDE ADWARE PAYLOAD. YOU CAN'T DELETE IT OR DISABLE. NO MATTER WHAT YOU DO THE ADWARE GETS RE-INSTALLED.

WHO KNOWS ONE DAY HARMLESS LOOKING ADWARE AND THE NEXT DAY UTORRENT AUTOUPDATE COULD INSTALL A BITCOIN MINING APP AND HAVE MY COMPUTER BECOME A ZOMBIE EFFECTIVELY USED FOR MINING BITCOINS WITHOUT YOUR KNOWLEDGE.

THIS USED TO BE RESPECTED AND REPUTABLE COMPANY. PLEASE BAN THIS VENDOR FROM MACUPDATE !!!!

Rey
Rey
Dec 7 2016
1.8.7
0.5
Dec 7 2016
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
Still installs spyware. What's interesting is that when you search MU for "torrent", uTorrent is listed as a 5-star app. MU seems to be complicit in their scam, because the actual ratings are much lower. This app should be removed from MU's listings immediately.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Nov 28 2016
1.8.7
0.5
Nov 28 2016
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
No, you don't want this, unless you like courting trouble. There are far better, safer torrent clients. Check out the alternatives listed on this page. In every case, use your torrent client safely. Know what you're doing.
Rustybrains
Rustybrains
Nov 28 2016
1.8.7
0.0
Nov 28 2016
0.0
Version: 1.8.7
WARNING! Installs Malware.
Seedy
Seedy
Oct 16 2016
1.8.7
0.5
Oct 16 2016
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
Worthless crap. If you run Little Snitch while it tries to start it asks for an endless amount of connections. Also tries to install Yahoo adware, this is how much further Yahoo has fallen. BitTorrent Client is the same thing now. Transmission FTW but for how long yet?
marko-lindgren
marko-lindgren
Jun 27 2016
1.8.7
0.5
Jun 27 2016
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
Spyware shit.
Gary30
Gary30
Nov 3 2015
1.8.7
1.0
Nov 3 2015
1.0
Version: 1.8.7
This was a nice, free app. I would have paid a few bucks for it if asked. But no. Instead I got a vicious surprise when the app no longer seemed to work after I upgraded to El Capitan. I reinstalled it and discovered that it is now an adware-malware-trackware vector. Plonk! I'll now find another.
Guest
Guest
Oct 17 2015
1.8.7
0.0
Oct 17 2015
0.0
Version: 1.8.7
WHY is MacUpdate, a formerly trustworthy download source, allowing their loyal users to download a system-destroying weaponized application like this one? Can all the damage to MacUpdate's brand and reputation possibly be worth whatever money they took for posting this dangerous download? Yes, I too just got hammered by the Spigot adware, which takes over the OS X ApplicationManager process and spews out thousands of calls to mybrowserbar.com, which eventually took down El Capitan and forced a restart. Have your anti-malware apps ready! It installs extensions on Safari, changes your search engine and start page. to Yahoo—and God only knows whatever other damage this weaponized app did to my system.. I'm still running anti-malware and cleaning utilities over an hour after this attack ruined my Friday night.
toddgarvin
toddgarvin
Sep 8 2015
1.8.7
1.0
Sep 8 2015
1.0
Version: 1.8.7
Been using this for years, but now installs malware. DO NOT INSTALL this application. Going back to Transmission. >:-(
Rerex
Rerex
Sep 5 2015
1.8.7
2.5
Sep 5 2015
2.5
Version: 1.8.7
Installs the Adware Spigot. Not cool. Still using uTorrent, and got rid of the malware, but still...
Maylbu
Maylbu
Aug 27 2015
1.8.7
0.5
Aug 27 2015
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
Works fine for me, no issues, BUT I paid to have no ads and nothing happens they don't even respond, a rip off????
matt-rossner
matt-rossner
Jul 25 2015
1.8.7
1.0
Jul 25 2015
1.0
Version: 1.8.7
I used to use this a while ago, been using Deluge, now just installed it on Mac as apparently it's the best one, but as many others have said, it screws with Safari settings. I'm going back to Deluge. Don't install this.
csaborio
csaborio
Jul 7 2015
1.8.7
0.5
Jul 7 2015
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
Just like jdoe506 mentions, it installs extensions on Safari, changes your search engine, and changes your start page. Download Transmission, do not download this crap. https://www.evernote.com/l/ABC47laf00FLyq6FlyrsYS5ulfLpGsiI07MB/image.png
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
Jun 6 2015
1.8.7
0.5
Jun 6 2015
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
This app has always been a POS but what was constantly being given fawning accolades by fanboys or developers of it with shill reviews who attacked anyone posting anything negative about it. Finally the tables have turned and it is exposed as the absolute trash it is. It now embeds a mybrowserbar.com installer within the package and who knows what else. AVOID this vomitous pile of donkey droppings.
Penguirl
Penguirl
May 14 2015
1.8.7
0.5
May 14 2015
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
uTorrent does function, albeit unintuitivly.I had to create a special folder for it to move completed .torrent files to which I've never had to do before for any other bt client. Download speeds are unimpressive, and then there is the ads. No thank you. I prefer Transmission and qBittorrent. PS: I believe that BitTorrent.app is uTorrent with a different icon. I know it is from the same developer so I wouldn't trust it either.
Maylbu
Maylbu
Apr 30 2015
1.8.7
0.5
Apr 30 2015
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
Version 1.8.7 changing search in preferences for Yahoo. Tried, clicked to d-load version 1.9.1(beta) , above and it downloads a buggy crashing 1.8.8 instead although no Yahoo. I have Yosomite 10.3.
alanB8048
alanB8048
Apr 4 2015
1.8.7
4.0
Apr 4 2015
4.0
Version: 1.8.7
work perfectly here very surprised by the negative comments
seaneee175
seaneee175
Apr 3 2015
1.8.7
0.5
Apr 3 2015
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
Better at injecting adware than actually doing what it's supposed to. Even though uTorrent claims to have rid it's software of adware, I recently downloaded v 1.8.7 and got nothing but redirects using Safari and Chrome.
anonymous-chameleon-5381
anonymous-chameleon-5381
Apr 3 2015
1.8.7
0.5
Apr 3 2015
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
It has virus, don't install BE AWARE
Gary30
Gary30
Mar 8 2015
1.8.7
1.0
Mar 8 2015
1.0
Version: 1.8.7
Two curious points: Looking at the About uTorrent popup, I see v. 1.9.1. Second, downloading the current public version 1.8.7, a .dmg volume and viewing the package contents of the installer, there is an InstallerPreferences.plist file in the resources folder. If you like you can, edit out the four strings that call for downloads from mybrowser.com. You will need to remove the installer from the .dmg to do so, but that is trivial. It looks to me like once you have the app, it can update itself and then does not offer any monkey business. There is an app called AdwareMedic (yes, I know, some of these utilities are not legit, but this one is) which will easily remove adware such as Spigot and others. I hate the idea of having to closely watch the installation screens as in Windows or with CNet downloads to avoid this crap. However I am familiar with this app and like it. 5 stars trending to 2 would be my rating based on the creeping crapware monetization tactic. Why not just charge a few bucks per copy and be done with this nonsense?
Viking-the
Viking-the
Feb 14 2015
1.8.7
0.5
Feb 14 2015
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
Since the "Money" versions started showing up, the bloody app, WHEN it WORKS (which is seldom), has crashed and burned. Quit the app smoothly, and it is like to CRASH every time you try to launch it thereafter. Total uninstall, reinstall, reconfigure, try to recover any paused or stopped torrent file (because everything needs to start over. You've got to be kidding me! The app has rapidly plunged from the "go to" torrent down loader app to a real piece of SH*T. Will not use it again until the consistency, stability, and full-around with the code is repaired. Pay MONEY for this piece of crap -- not on your life!
The-Equalizer
The-Equalizer
Jan 28 2015
1.8.7
0.5
Jan 28 2015
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
This will install the Mac Spigot virus into your system. Used to be my only go-to app for bit-torrent, but not anymore. qBit Torrent does the same job without any malware.
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Jan 28 2015
1.8.7
0.5
Jan 28 2015
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
This is insane. I don't care about the placement of ads, but this is the second time in a short while, where an allegedly "stable" update to an admittedly very simple application doesn't work. The main window won't even open. You guys should seriously consider firing some of your developers/coders. Buncha hacks.
Lvalue
Lvalue
Jan 28 2015
1.8.7
0.5
Jan 28 2015
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
I don't mind the ads if the app itself works. But 1.8.7 is broken. (I've updated from 1.8.6.) Maybe it's just me, but my installation doesn't show any of its labels on the sidebar. (Only that giant ad sits there alone.) As it's defaulting to the 'downloading' label, and I have no way to change it, I can't see all my 'completed' torrents now! (I know they're there, because when torrents for the existing ones are added it says so.)
anonymous-skink-4656
anonymous-skink-4656
Jan 27 2015
1.8.7
0.5
Jan 27 2015
0.5
Version: 1.8.7
Take away the trashy installer. I will not try to click on it. I'll stay with the old version.
TechGuru
TechGuru
Jan 25 2015
1.8.6
0.0
Jan 25 2015
0.0
Version: 1.8.6
The current latest version as of now is 1.8.7 does anyone know if the ads are still there?
The-Joker
The-Joker
Jan 22 2015
1.8.6
0.5
Jan 22 2015
0.5
Version: 1.8.6
uTorrent used to be the best torrent software but now they only care about money so they force ads on you and they try to make you, the user, install a searchbar when you install uTorrent. Shame on you! I will never use your software again.