Back to R10Cipher page
R10Cipher free download for Mac

R10Cipher Reviews

5.5.1
22 April 2015

Simple but powerful encryption/decryption tool.

Steve-Cholerton
11 December 2008

Most helpful

Any suggestions for increased features for this product please contact me, the software author. Many Thanks - steve@artenscience.co.uk
Like (9)
Version 1.0.1

Read 6 R10Cipher User Reviews

Rate this app:

pettifogger0712
20 August 2014
Version 5.5.1 was released March 30th 2014 FYI :-) Download Link: http://www.artenscience.com/autoupdate/latestversions/r10cipher.zip File Name: r10cipher.zip File Size: 28 499 166 bytes File Date: Sun, 30 Mar 2014 01:56:48 GMT
Like
Version 5.2.0
Bernak
29 July 2012
Hello, I did buy version IV in 2010. I did not use it very much that time, but when I wanted to download it again to give it another try, I realized that I could not download the version that works with my license (4), but only the last version 5. I did email support for a download link, but they told me they 'don't supply old version of software'. They did offer me an upgrade price. Just wanted to point out, that the upgrades are mandatory with this application. Unless you keep a backup I guess.. which was not my case. It may be every couple of years, but still is something to keep in mind. If Apple Mail encryption feature with certificates does not suit your needs, this may be a nice alternative.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.1
2 answer(s)
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
20 August 2014
A bit late probably, given that you posted your query two years ago, but a copy of the last version of R10Cipher IV 4.5.0 is available at http://web.archive.org/web/20110904100302/http://www.artenscience.com/autoupdate/latestversions/r10cipher_osx_full.zip
File Name: r10cipher_osx_full.zip
File Size: 16 832 618 bytes
File Date: Mon, 21 Feb 2011 18:40:46 GMT
Like
Bernak
Bernak
20 August 2014
Thanks for the link Pettifogger0712!
Now I can use the old version I did pay for, if I want to.

Anyways, I prefer a certificate based approach, as easy to use implementations have improved a lot in the last years, and don't require the (usually insecure) password exchange. Even PGP is good integrated in Apple Mail with GPGMail from GPGTools.org, and all for free.
But this software is still an alternative for those that prefer this concept.
Thanks again.
Like
outer
20 July 2012
Sigh. Is your source code available for review?
Like (4)
Version 5.0.0
1 answer(s)
Arten Science Limited
Arten Science Limited
20 July 2012
Hi. No. R10Cipher is a commercial product, not Open Source. The Trial Version can be tested as much as you like to ensure integrity and security. Cheers - Steve
Like
Wyman13
18 July 2011
On sale at MacZot today for $8. Don't really know if I need this or not, and if I do, how to use it. Please put videos on your site showing persons like myself who aren't familiar w/ this how to use it. Downloaded your pdfs on R10 (42p manual, 7p product info, and 15p why R10cipher). Too much to read and learn about to make a decision in less than a day (to get the $8 price offered today only). So if i buy it today at MacZot for $8 to run on my PPC PowerBook G4 then I can also run it (free upgrade or not?) on Lion when I buy a new MacBook Pro? What is your upgrade policy? I see in your manual that you state, "Note: R10Cipher IV needs a different serial number to Versions 1.x., 2.x and 3.x Existing users can upgrade at reduced cost. Please contact upgrade@artenscience.co.uk for further details." What would that "reduced cost" be? Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 4.5.0
1 answer(s)
Arten Science Limited
Arten Science Limited
20 July 2012
Upgrade to version 5 with a 50% discount for existing users if purchased before 22nd July 2012, Midnight GMT. We now include a PowerPC build as standard again for those with older computers. One license covers installation on two computers. Good tip on the videos, it'll happen in the next few days.
Like
22duke
17 April 2010
how does it work? Does the recipient need the same software? also no info on developers web site
Like (1)
Version 3.5.0
1 answer(s)
Steve-Cholerton
Steve-Cholerton
24 May 2010
Ref: Recipient, Decryption Only From the FAQ on the Site: Have You Got a Free Version for Decryption Only ? We used to provide R10Decrypt for this purpose. However with the goal of decreasing the maintenance overhead and making it easier for 'Decrypt Only' customers to upgrade to the full version, you can now use the standard R10Cipher Trial version for this purpose. To remove the Nag Screen and Overlay / Trial Version window, just enter the User Name 'Decrypt Only' into the Preferences window and clear the Serial field. Save the Preferences.
Like (3)
Version 3.5.3
Steve-Cholerton
11 December 2008
Any suggestions for increased features for this product please contact me, the software author. Many Thanks - steve@artenscience.co.uk
Like (9)
Version 1.0.1