Back to Folx Pro page
Folx Pro free download for Mac

Folx Pro Reviews

5.11
09 October 2019

Download manager.

brucetwarzensamsung
22 March 2016

Most helpful

Used the Previous Versions of Folx pro and was fully satisfied. I use Folx 4 as standard download manager within my Browser to guarantee a hassle free download. Its definitely the most convenient way to manage your downloads, available for Mac.
Like (9)
Version 4.2

Read 200 Folx Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

simu-ro
10 October 2019
4 stars for the reputation but is it just me having issues not being able to download torrents ? I have the port open within the FOLX PRO app, latest version 5.11.13873 on latest macOS Catalina 10.15 but it simply won't start downloading the torrents files... pffff ;(
Like
Version 5.11
1 answer(s)
simu-ro
simu-ro
10 October 2019
Transmission's working, they're ahead and on top of the game, apparently.
Like
Version 5.11
jrquinello-1
09 September 2019
Everything you wanted for downloading!
Like
Version 5.10
ZyQuaza
30 July 2019
One of the best download managers on the Mac, almost comparable to IDM on Windows!
Like
Version 5.9
swaroop-crazefun
23 July 2019
One of the best tool!
Like
Version 5.9
Fariborz
22 July 2019
How is it that MacUpdate is publishing some applications like this one for the second time with exactly the same version number (this one released on July 16, 2019)?! Maybe it's because of the heat outside there?!!!!
Like
Version 5.9
ratajczak-pawel
17 July 2019
A great program for professional and home use. Versatile, intuitive with advanced options. "Must have" among download programs. I would recommend!
Like
Version 5.9
h3-m0m
25 March 2019
Great software! Love it.
Like
Version 5.7
SyungYou2080
01 March 2019
Great software! Love it.
Like
Version 5.7
zt17600067667
27 February 2019
Folx is everything I wanted for downloading - fast, reliable and neat. And what's important for me - works perfectly well with Chrome, my favorite browser.
Like
Version 5.7
istasym
20 February 2019
One of the most easy to use downloaders available.
Like
Version 5.7
alex59-o
05 February 2019
super logiciel devenu indispensable sur mac
Like
Version 5.7
romceg
25 January 2019
I tried a lot of similar programs, but it was on this fantastic program. I really liked her for its simplicity and reliability in use. Many thanks to the developers for the opportunity to use such a high-quality program.
Like
Version 5.7
tibborkusic
21 January 2019
I find this app the best I’ve used for torrent downloading, it works as fast as transmission and has more features than utorrent. I find it especially usefull that you can search for torents within the app! :)
Like
Version 5.7
fluffycat1994
13 December 2018
I like the beautiful designed applications on Mac OS. I tryed many torrent-clients, but only Folx have a fresh design and simply for using with Safari browser. I recommend this app for everyone, who want to use simply and fast download / torrent manager.
Like
Version 5.7
m-jubouri
12 December 2018
Great software! Love it.
Like
Version 5.7
littlepenny430
02 November 2018
i love this app。i think it is the wonderful app for my mac. i love it.
Like
Version 5.7
ahmedhatata-ah
05 October 2018
The best download manager ever across all the alternatives , very fast , user friendly and the most killing feature on it is the scheduling download and unlimited speed . A wonderful software really . Every mac user should get it
Like
Version 5.6
monty-3
29 September 2018
Since upgrading to Safari 12 which breaks so many things, I've not been able to get Folx to work. It will not take over the download, even with the updated extension (and it is enabled). Safari does it every time.
Like
Version 5.6
1 answer(s)
Eltima Software
Eltima Software
02 October 2018
Due to the limitations of the new Apple's policy it is impossible to implement the extension that would catch links from Safari browser. We suggest using Chrome browser instead of Safari if this feature is crucial for you.
----
Folx extension in Safari works only via context menu -> Download with Folx.
Like
pton072
26 September 2018
very useful application. I love it because can help download faster and very easy to use.
Like
Version 5.5
z8
24 September 2018
This software is for managing and speed up your downloads and easy to use
Like
Version 5.5
pieci3533
18 September 2018
Great software! Love it.
Like
Version 5.5
@thvi
17 September 2018
An efficient application to optimise downloads.
Like
Version 5.5
Mcr
03 September 2018
Why I will not use Eltima software products: So I understand that Folx is a torrent client and that's fine, there is nothing legally or morally wrong with that. But on the Eltima site it blatantly and overtly provides links AS WELL AS current working proxy links to PirateBay, RARGG and other popular torrent sites. AND on top of that prefaces this information by openly stating quote:
"Millions of User can Once Again Access TPB Proxy in 2018
The Pirate Bay website is the best source where you can download torrents with your favourite movies, games, tv series or music. If the Pirate Bay is blocked by your Internet Service Provider or you’re unable to access it for any reason, simply access one of the Pirate Bay Proxy sites. You will get instant access through The Pirate Bay mirror so you can download all the media content you need." Translation, here's where you can go to use our software to obtain really cool stuff like movies and music, ALL the stuff you want [without paying for it]. Eltima even continually updates the page with the links with status (check mark) showing which proxies are currently working or not; and we know that proxies for TPB change constantly as they try to stay one step ahead of legal authorities to shut it down.

Now sure there are torrents on TPB that cover legal downloadable content., but we all know the vast majority of content on TPB, RARGB etc is copyrighted material that is not legal to download. And don't give me that argument that torrent sites aren't doing anything wrong because they don't actually host the content, only provide links to it. Supporters just use that to ease their conscience to convince themselves they aren't 'really' criminals because they don't actually 'handle' the stolen goods directly. Because the courts have already stated that it is a bogus argument and rightfully so. If a person hosts a site that told you were you can illegally obtain narcotic drugs and firearms, and enabled buyers and sellers to get together, it would breaking the law. If someone asks you that they want to buy some drugs and you give them a phone number to a dealer, directions to a meth house, or a name, you are breaking the law. So if you facilitate the exchange of and distribution of copyrighted media without consent of the owner, you are breaking the law, period, whether you handle the material directly or not.

I've no objection to Eltima selling a torrent client software, but to openly facilitate and promote torrent sites, explicitly guide a person to where they can go, that engage primarily in the illegal exchange of copyrighted content, is just too blatant. I won't post link to Eltima where this info is posted, because then I would just be aiding and abetting, but just do a simple Google search for "eltima software pirate bay". You will also find posted info on Eltima on how to get around ISP blocking of torrent sites, Top Ten sites to download movies, and more.

This is no different than if I was a legal seller of ammunition, posting information on where you can illegally obtain firearms, just to promote my business so I could sell ammo to people using illegally obtained firearms that I helped them in acquiring.

Even other torrent software makers are not that blatant at thumbing their nose at the law; I don't know of uTorrent, Transmission, qbittorrent, Vuze, etc or any other torrent software maker that openly encourages and provides access to torrent hosting sites, AS WELL AS PROVIDE and update current proxy links and informaiton. Some may argue this is no different that offering a torrent search feature; I disagree and so do the courts. Search engines are broad and general, and only report back what is technically already available for anyone to find on their own. The difference here is that Eltima is specifically linking too and calling out by name specific torrent sites AND promoting the fact that one can obtain "all the media content you need" quote, knowing full well that the vast majority of that content is copyright protected.

I've been in the tech business over 40 years, and have seen the negative impact of software piracy and loss of intellectual and creative property and rights. Eltima is guilty of the worst crime, they are potentially selling out other software vendors to make their own profit. "Buy Folx, go HERE and steal software from our competitors and other software vendors, we don't care as long as you PAY for our product."
Like
Version 5.5
MarcusTung86
30 August 2018
I have been usjng this for 2-3 years and it has become one of my favorite programs. I am a computer nerd and appreciate a well-written program. Works logically and dependably. What more can I say? You want more than your money’s worth? This is it.
Like
Version 5.5
ywagle
14 August 2018
Avoid this company. I bought Folx for the torrent search feature, and found it doesn't work as advertised. Unfortunately they don't offer a trial version of this "pro" feature. You MUST buy a license to even try it out. The feature is extremely buggy. The company claims to have a money back guarantee, but I found this to be a false claim. I sent them screen capture videos demonstrating the bugs and shortcomings of the software. Basically, it does not work as advertised. The search yields virtually no results. In spite of having this proof, they STILL REFUSED to refund my money. I recommend avoiding purchasing or even using this company's software. Late last year their software was found to be bundles with malware. Just do a google search.
Like (1)
Version 5.5
2 answer(s)
Eltima Software
Eltima Software
04 September 2018
We are very sorry for the inconveniences you encountered with our software. We contacted our support team regarding this issue. They told that our technicians couldn't reproduce the same behavior on our side and the torrent search feature worked well. The most probable reason is that you were using not the latest version of the software or you are using VPN or proxy. Also ISP can be the reason for the issue if it blocks the torrent trackers. If you are still willing to receive a refund, please contact our support team.
Like
albertrat
albertrat
19 November 2018
Thanks for the heads up Ywagle (Whatever that means ??)..
I hope your a real person and not just a sleazy competitor trying to defame your fellow software slingers...
Any rate if this is real I would say FOLX should have refunded you without all the drama they made you experience ....Only now with the viewing public scrutinizing their self-serving actions will they step up to the plate and offer you a refund ...I don't know which is worse... in any case, they are low life's that would give scum a bad name and I for one would not dare have anything to do with Folx ...ever....
I made an account here just to leave my 2 Cents ....
Like
pmselman
28 July 2018
Don't get me wrong, as a downloader, this application rocks, but you don't need the "Pro" version to get everything worthwhile out of it. The biggest reason I got the Pro version was for the search function... which is AWFUL! There are no ways to constrain you search, and no matter what I search for, I either get nothing or I get a list so cluttered with the exact same results (that have nothing to do with anything I've ever searched for) that I can't find any relevant results. Frankly, I feel cheated.
Like
Version 5.5
2 answer(s)
ywagle
ywagle
14 August 2018
I found exactly the same. They refused a refund even though the feature doesn't work
Like
Eltima Software
Eltima Software
04 September 2018
Please accept our apologies for any issues you may've experienced with Folx.
Folx searches on the Torrent Trackers specified in Folx Preferences -> Search tab. We'd suggest you tweak the settings and limit the torrent trackers. This may improve the results, there will be less duplicates. Also make sure that you are using the latest version of Folx. In case you need any help, please contact our support team via support@eltima.com.
Like
dbamine
27 July 2018
thank you dear
Like
Version 5.5
svaerica
03 July 2018
The best downlaod manager i have used!
Like
Version 5.5
Jeshush
18 June 2018
Crashed and now refuses to launch.
Like
Version 5.5
1 answer(s)
Eltima Software
Eltima Software
03 September 2018
Have you contacted our Support team at support@eltima.com to investigate and solve the issue?
Like
andrei-7
27 May 2018
Excellent, small software with great functionality.
Like
Version 5.4
bill-116
24 May 2018
Great app, smooth operation!
Like
Version 5.4
Evgin
22 May 2018
It's something new ... Note! CyberBite Antivirus finds this malware (P.U.A-Threat) in version - 5.4.13714. But, what's he doing inside ?!
Like
Version 5.4
mail-510
19 May 2018
I switched to Folx from Transmission and have never looked back. It is rock-solid stable and smoothly handles every download I've thrown at it. For me, the killer features are the built-in torrent search and the scheduler.
Like
Version 5.4
shafi-malik
18 April 2018
Useful software, good integration.
Like
Version 5.2.1
i-works
17 April 2018
I recently moved from Window to Mac, and after some Googling and comparison, I found that Folx had the best features of all the stuff that I like todo. Fast and easy manager for browser download, torrenting and even downloading video from Youtube! The lifetime license is really worth it! Recommended!
Like
Version 5.2.1
anil-762
04 April 2018
Best download manager ever, i am using the free version for about 6-7 months now and I felt this is one of the best product. I was using Vuze client on my mac, once I started using Folx Pro there is no going back to Vuze. Lightweight and ease of use !
Like
Version 5.2.1
jek-bao-choo
04 April 2018
Using Folx app on my Mac now. It works great. Works on my Firefox Quantum and Chrome. Perfect for fast download speed. On a side note, I learned about the usefulness of parallel downloads from my Computer Science: Distributed Systems module. And after evaluating a few different softwares, I decided to go with Folx. Great job Eltima Software!
Like
Version 5.2.1
Ghazwi11
29 March 2018
Thanks for those who develop this app
Like
Version 5.2.1
Ghazwi11
29 March 2018
This app one of the essential app that I use. It has great features such as unlimited download speed and converting a torrent download to direct download link. I recommend to those who download a lot of data from Internet.
Like
Version 5.2.1
jrcatipay
26 March 2018
Really Love Folx Pro.. You have all the things that you need in just 1 App. More Power Eltima
Like
Version 5.2.1
john-131
01 March 2018
I was told Id get 50% off if I left a review, so thats what Im doing. Giving it 4 stars based on the demo.
Like
Version 5.2.1
edwardshahin
26 February 2018
I've been using this app for almost 4 months. Before it, I've used other download managers, but this one is great. I really love this app.
Like
Version 5.2.1
Silke Kappel
06 February 2018
I did not have an account here on MacUpdate, even though I always research new applications here. But I felt the need to create an account and share with you how scoundrel this company Eltima. So... Folx Pro is even a cool product. I like to use it but the company is the worst scoundrel! If I bought the license I should be able to use it on my computer and have the freedom to format my machine as many times as I want. Note. I only use my license on A SINGLE machine! See this yourself and draw your own conclusions: https://cl.ly/pKqi/Eltima_NEVER_AGAIN!.png I'm feeling stolen!
Like (3)
Version 5.2.1
1 answer(s)
Eltima Software
Eltima Software
12 February 2018
We are very sorry for this misunderstanding. Surely, you can use the software that you've purchased on your machine even after you format it. Each time you reinstall macOS you have to update your computer info. Please note that you can reset the activation twice on your side. If you exceed two reactivation attempts you just need to contact our support team and they will reset the counter and the previous activation. Hope for your understanding.
Like (3)
RogerKatz
27 January 2018
The current version is 5.3.13709
Like
Version 5.2.1
David Shepherdson
27 January 2018
The only download manager I've come across that properly integrates with Firefox (e.g. can handle cookies/referrer URL when choosing to download a link from within Firefox). The user interface is a little bit unusual (I'd prefer a standard list view with columns etc., and the lack of a title bar on the window makes me uncomfortable), but overall this is the the most reliable and useful choice I've found (particularly in the absence of Down Them All for Firefox 57+).
Like (4)
Version 5.2.1
Dannymontani
21 December 2017
Huh. I don't know where it came from or how it installed, but Folx....free not pro....came from somewhere. MacUpdate is the only 'download' software I use so it must have been from here. I don't like that one bit. I will update it to pro though if you folks can tell me how well it downloads at night while I am sleeping up here in the woods with a s l o w satelite called Hughsnet...and yes its their new sat. Thanks for info kids.
Like (3)
Version 5.2.1
1 answer(s)
Eltima Software
Eltima Software
25 December 2017
Please note, that speed mostly depends on your connection bandwidth and seeders. If the connection is slow and the number of seeders is small, Folx like any other alternative torrent client is unable to increase the speed. We do not guarantee that if you split the download into 20 threads download speed will be faster. It can be useful when you have the Internet connection's bandwidth more than 50 Mbps. If you have 1-10 Mbps we would recommend you to split download into 4-7 threads. Recommendations how to increase speed can be found here: https://mac.eltima.com/increase-download-speed-mac.html
Like
wh850101
23 October 2017
简单,实用,美观,下载速度快,Mac平台用着最顺手下载工具……
Like (1)
Version 5.2.1
Derekcurrie
21 October 2017
*Trojan Infection* October 19th, ESET discovered that the direct download versions of Folx software were infected with Proton RAT malware. Eltima removed and replaced the infected software later that day. It's unclear exactly when the infected versions were hacked onto their servers. This is extremely dangerous malware that must be addressed by victims immediately. Please read the following for details: OSX/Proton spreading again through supply-chain attack https://www.welivesecurity.com/2017/10/20/osx-proton-supply-chain-attack-elmedia/
Like (2)
Version 5.2.1
1 answer(s)
Eltima-Software
Eltima-Software
23 October 2017
In close cooperation with ESET and Apple representatives, we have applied all necessary measures to prevent further malware spread. Now we officially inform that Folx, Elmedia, as well as other our products are absolutely safe to install and malware-free. More detailed information: https://www.eltima.com/blog/2017/10/elmedia-player-and-folx-malware-threat-neutralized.html
Like (1)
anonymous-thrush-1279
01 October 2017
There's no doubt that Folx is the only application for Mac which works the way it should be. Either it be downloading huge files in splits with Pause / Resume services or Torrents or even YouTube Videos this App works flawlessly and a charry on top is the lifetime upgrade promise that you get at a small price. Worth every penny and saves me from frustration. I now own 2 licenses from them.
Like (6)
Version 5.2.1
farit-afz
23 September 2017
The best application of those that I had. Pleasant appearance and huge functionality. Competitors are far behind. Thanks to the developers for their work and efforts.
Like (2)
Version 5.2.1