Back to iFlicks page
iFlicks free download for Mac

iFlicks Reviews

3.0.3
28 August 2019

Easily import your video collection into iTunes.

Hendsch
19 April 2009

Most helpful

This is excellent software! Does exactly what it says and is easy to use. Way better than VideoDrive: iFlicks can import movies from removable media as well! (VideoDrive imports these files too, but the file information is not editable afterwards) Would be perfect if the information source would be customizable. Actually iFlicks doesn't find any german videos. That's why I gave only 4 stars.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.3

Read 33 iFlicks User Reviews

Rate this app:

Verne-Arase
31 March 2019
I've been using iFlicks for a long time, and went to the SetApp version when version 3 came out. I've noticed that loading videos into the queue now takes *forever*. Lately I've been buying iTunes box sets, and unfortunately iTunes delivers a box set as a single season with the episode names mangled to include the season and episode number. My standard practice has been to segment episodes into season folders and use an ABFR droplet to rename them back to the format you'd get if you bought individual seasons, and pour them into iFlicks a season at a time to get iFlicks' better metadata. Under iFlicks v2, pouring in a season of episodes into the queue would make the episode posters all appear within a couple of seconds; under v3 it takes minutes for each episode to appear. Is this the fault of SetApp, or has iFlicks v3 taken performance down a dozen or so notches?
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
Morlo
22 February 2019
Coolness!!! I give it a 4 because the metadata search is extremely slow.. but in general it is a great piece of software.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Austinnate
05 February 2019
I flicks 3 is the latest update to an extremely valuable software! It is an excellent application for incorporating metadata into a movie or TV episode. It’s very simple to use, it also has a convenient batch option - drag, drop, make a few tweaks, select import into iTunes, then press Start. Simple and easy! So….what does it do? It looks up your video files (based on file name or whatever you put in the search field ) from several online databases, and then adds the metadata and artwork to them. It will also encode the files to fit on almost every single device you could think of! Included in the metadata search it also finds the release dates, actors, description, artwork, and more! For movies, it adds rectangular, and for TV shows, it adds square artwork, as the iTunes Store does. iFlicks’ also has user definable rules, available in the app’s preferences. I use these mainly for my personally edited home movies. It lets you choose what the app does when it loads files, after metadata is updated, and after videos are processed. I have it set to add my personal artwork, season & episode, tagline, etc. The developers are ALWAYS listening for feedback. Very responsive. This year they have switched to a subscription model. This seems to be where everyone is slowly heading. All in all…..iFlicks does an amazing job of making video importing easy. If you like a clean iTunes library and are always adding TV shows and/or movies……. It is worth it!
Like
Version 3.0.1
Best way to transcode and add metadata to movies to make them macOS and iOS compatible out of the box. Transcoding only takes place if necessary for compatibility, otherwise only metadata is added, which is automatically downloaded from the internet.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.2
Hagar06
16 March 2017
Nice interface and handles most but not all files (some inexplicably fail) and slow on metadata. Therefore I prefer VideoDrive which also uses HandBrake, the best in its class, for video conversions. And while the adding videos to iTunes is great and all, I do wish Apple would overhaul iTunes as it has become too bloated
Like
Version 2.4.7
Morlo
17 January 2016
this is a fantastic app and as they say below, the best of its kind. there are a few caveats imho, which is why I'm not giving it 5 stars. The first is speed. Fetching the metadata is very slow. I have a very fast 150mbit fibre connection and i tested iFlicks before and after I upgraded from a 20mbit speed. There was almost no improvement. Ok if you have a few films, but if you have hundreds it gets complicated. Transcoding each into an itunes compatible format is also cumbersome. I would like to be able to rename files and use rules without having to transcode.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.4
2 answer(s)
WilloSF
WilloSF
28 June 2017
I am reading all I can before I buy. My files are already iTunes compatible. Can we not just edit the metadata without transcoding?
Like
Tryme
Tryme
23 July 2017
WilloSF - yes you can edit metadata without transcoding. Most files don't need transcoding - just a container change, i.e.: mkv to mp4 or m4v. I batch process that task, then add the files to iTunes and then send them to iFlicks for metadata. For that purpose iFlicks is very quick and painless.
Like (2)
Twisterella
05 October 2014
Excellent application for incorporating metadata into a movie or TV episode. Pretty simply to use, utilising a very convenient batch option - drag, drop, make a few tweaks, select import into iTunes, then press Start. Simple. Highly recommend to those who like reliable and accurate info on their imported movies and TV shows when playing through iTunes or Apple TV.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Austinnate
22 July 2014
Great app made by a good developer. the developer listens to feedback from users and adds what he sees fit. SOLID app!!
Like (3)
Version 2.1
Ianonline
12 October 2013
Best App of it's Kind! Version 2 is a huge improvement. New layout with all in one queue and edit. New rules added let you customize and automate everything. Square TV cover art, Faster processing Just to name a few new features. Nothing comes close to this app, Dev has done an outstanding job!
Like (3)
Version 2.0
pedrotaquelim
06 October 2013
There is a iFlicks 2.0 beta available to try out: http://support.iflicksapp.com/entries/26079868-iFlicks-2-0-beta :-)
Like
Version 1.4.8
Povilas
23 March 2013
The issue with iFlicks selecting the wrong audio track is a big one. Best would be just to let me pick an audio track when multiple audio tracks found, because now it's a lottery and usually the wrong audio track is selected. Fix it please.
Like
Version 1.4.7
2 answer(s)
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
31 March 2013
Never notice this issue cause I just leave the original audio track. I take out all of the other audio tracks (if present) with MKVTOOLS first and than use iFlicks: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/24872/mkvtools Because it adds up to the file weight. I leave the commentaries, etc, of course. I just wish they would upgrade this with some new features to.
Like
Povilas
Povilas
31 March 2013
That is the problem if you have more than one track. I have a bunch of films that after iFlicks is done with them have commentary as the main track for some reason.
Like
pedrotaquelim
30 September 2012
I would give it a perfect 5 if the preset "Reference File" would work. But no, I have change iTunes to work in 32bit (because thats the recommendation on iFlicks site for this preset to work) and although it makes the small reference file appear and play fine in iTunes, it does not appear or play in my Apple TV 3. I have to mux (without encoding) all my MKV films with the option "iTunes compatible". Witch is perfect by the way. But it takes more time than a simple "Reference File". Waiting for the next update to "fix" this. But still, a great app that I'm going to by in the next update. ;-)
Like
Version 1.4.6
2 answer(s)
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
30 September 2012
*going to buy (...) ;-)
Like
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
18 December 2012
Where talking about a perfect witch hear. Casting perfect spells. :) Who are we too criticise?
Like
Jolly-joker
21 August 2012
Isn't iFlicks supposed to embed SubStation Alpha from MKV?! it should, but it doesn't work! Really annoying! I'm importing in iTunes all my movies from DVD, extracting them with makeMKV, and, before using iFlicks, I have an MKV with every subtitles I want; after iFlicks, no subs. Am I doing something wrong or it's an iFlicks problem?
Like
Version 1.4.6
1 answer(s)
Jolly-joker
Jolly-joker
22 August 2012
another thing I've noticed: iFlicks put the actors in a random order, not in the importance order (how it should be, and how it is already done in The Movie Database)!!
Like
Jolly-joker
24 June 2012
Great App!!! The best in its genre, with its precise metadata and artworks from "The Movie Database". But.. 1) It's not possible to import a video with its subtitles (.srt and .sub files) 2) It's not possible to import from a DVD (like from a VIDEO_TS folder or an .iso file) 3) It's not possible to specifically choose which fields take from TMDb (for example I would like to deselect to import comments, tagline and stars). 4) It doesn't work on correcting genre and stars when you select multiple movies. 5) It sometimes crashes, specially with .flv video Fix these things, and this app will be a 5 STAR app!
Like (1)
Version 1.4.5
2 answer(s)
Jolly-joker
Jolly-joker
24 August 2012
UPDATE: 2 stars! I've just bought Elgato Turbo.264 HD and I've discovered that iFlicks doesn't work with Elgato Turbo.264 HD !! Another thing: iFlicks put the actors in a random order, not in the importance order (how it should be, and how it is already done in The Movie Database)!! A lot of things to fix here. For the moment I'm looking for other apps..
Like (1)
::mile::
::mile::
03 December 2012
See here why they decided to remove compatibility with the Elgato Turbo-264 stick: http://support.iflicksapp.com/entries/20225238-elgato-turbo-264-hd-support
Like (1)
moog5
20 March 2012
Nice functionality, however... Only processes one file at a time, making progress very slow for multi-file batches. Generates a large amount of inactive RAM when doing batches, and never seems to release it. If I do a TV season for example, I have to restart my Mac afterwards to get my memory back (2.8 GHz i7 with 16 GB RAM).
Like
Version 1.4.3
2 answer(s)
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
03 November 2012
Try this and see if it helps with the RAM issue: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/memory-clean/id451444120 But I don't know how useful is this kind of apps anyway. :-)
Like
moog5
moog5
04 November 2012
Thanks, but that's just a GUI wrapper for the purge command. Already tried that in Terminal but no luck.
Like
Lachy
31 October 2011
Hi, I just updated my Iflicks on my wifes mac 10.5 and the new version isn't compatible with that but every time I download a previous version it reverts to the new one and I cant seem to get it to work. Is there a work around for this problem? Many thanks
Like
Version 1.4.1
Tryme
26 July 2011
If you have not updated to 1.4 yet, do yourself a favour - don't. I don't use the encoding functionality so my review is specifically about the metadata function. I have raved about and recommended iFlicks to a lot of people, it is an excellent app that does metadata search and write quickly and efficiently - except version 1.4. The switch from AppleScript to Services, while a little painful, would have been more palatable if the new method worked - the simple fact is that it doesn't. In fact with 1.4 the app has become one frustrating to use crippled mess. The selected service will work 1 in 10 times, the app 9 out of 10 times will hang - and that is when trying to add media by the service menu, + button or drag and drop. It is astounding that the developer has released such a buggy mess to the market. I have downgraded to 1.2.3 because it actually works. I'll think long and hard before upgrading again.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.0
3 answer(s)
Povilas
Povilas
30 July 2011
I'm using iFlicks from the start (bought it not stole it) an it was great. New version is also very good and i haven't encountered any problems. I do only 'iTunes compatible', but it works very well. I also use folder action to import videos and i have some rules set in iFlicks itself. So far it's perfect record.
Like
Iflicks
Iflicks
30 July 2011
Please try the latest update (1.4.1), it will fix the problem with the services. It is available for download from the website now and will be in the App Store soon.
Like (2)
Tryme
Tryme
06 August 2011
Full credit to the developer for the quick update, 1.4.1 is back to working flawlessly. iFlicks is the best app for iTunes metadata on the Mac, fast, efficient and accurate.
Like (2)
LizBo
16 July 2011
Requirements are incorrect for version 1.4.0! The developer has stopped support for PowerPC leaving behind those paying customers that helped paved the way for a crap store submission. Requirements Mac OS X 10.6 and higher (10.6.8 or higher recommended). iTunes 10.2 and QuickTime Perian 1.2.2 is recommended for best video format support. This is the 20th developer that has rudely abandoned paying customers in their vain hopes of making a quick buck at the MAS. And this was the last one I will ever pay for software again. I'm through with supporting people that don't give a rat's ass about their customers. I thought I left this kind of mentality behind when I converted from a Microsoft dominated platform to the Macintosh platform. The tables have turned and it's Apple who's telling everyone how high or when to jump. And the lemmings follow them off the cliff. Thank you for nothing and for adding the fixes of bugs I paid for into a version I can not use. I own a MBP 2011 but I prefer to use the G5 as a server and a workhorse to avoid slowing my work projects down.
Like
Version 1.4.0
3 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
16 July 2011
I've updated the listing with the new system requirements. Thanks for the heads up!
Like
Jendrik
Jendrik
18 July 2011
I am sorry about this, but Apple leaves developers no other choice. When using the latest development tools (Xcode 4), compiling for 10.5 is not supported anymore.
Like
Povilas
Povilas
30 July 2011
PPC is a thing of the past, deal with this fact and move on. Legacy support is impossible and just stop the overall progress.
Like (3)
Gex2501
11 July 2011
I like this program, it's got some bugs and issues but I use it a lot to import my converted dvd's and tv shows. It would be really nice to see an update for 10.7 Lion and to iron out the wrinkles in it. It's been a year since the last update.
Like
Version 1.2.3
dnoguero
15 May 2011
I really want to like this program. It does what it claims pretty well. It's nice to be able to update meta data directly in iTunes and it's auto-downloading of meta data is quite nice. Unfortunately, it is marred by a number of frustrating bugs. The app is constantly freezing (spinning beach ball) or outright crashing for me. I've submitted the first few crash reports to the developer in hopes that they can improve its stability. It also seems to have problems recognizing video types (movie, tv show, etc.) and I'm constantly having to update that manually either in the app or after it exports to iTunes. All in all, this app has great potential but for $23 I'd expect a more stable app.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Chris-Gardner
14 June 2010
Great product, works exactly as described. Saving me tons of time now getting my video collection just the way I want it. Would highly recommend.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Landencrews
09 April 2010
I have just started using iFlicks after a friend recommended it, and it is great. I have a big collection of movies that just sits in my movies folder. But with iflicks, it almost seamlessly put the movies I wanted right into itunesor wherever I choose. This was a great way to manage my movie collection and not have to fill in the info by myself, (since it did it for me.) I was surprised how easily it was imported into iTunes. With the power of Handbrake and iFlicks, your movie collection on your computer is now a very powerful thing. It is great for any home theater guru like myself.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
Elmo151
21 February 2010
bought it [1.2.2]; launched it; loaded dvd in iMac24 10.6.2; set preferences [apple tv] and it hung up; had to force quit on screen was processing 0 of 0 can I get a refund?
Like
Version 1.2.2
csaborio
14 February 2010
I like this software quite a bit, especially the Turbo.264 integration, the iTunes integration, and how smart it is to search files. However, it would be nice if it could keep the format of the original file. I am converting an mp4 using Turbo.264 and it generates only mov files regardless of what Format I select. If this was fixed, it'd be the perfect app for tagging mp4 files. Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
csaborio
csaborio
14 February 2010
Or even offer the option to not convert the file and just add the Metadata by a file copy just like MetaX does.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
Pedro-Fardilha
Pedro-Fardilha
05 June 2010
Hi. I'm new to iFlicks (just testing it right now) but I'm an user of MetaX. If you don't mind me getting picky MetaX actually creates a new file with the metainfo in there and then deletes the original ones, so you don't see it but temporarily MetaX duplicates the file that you are editing. For what I can see, if you already now that your file is in the proper format that you want, as long as under iFlicks preferences, in the Quicktime options under the conversion type you select "QuickTime Movie" you'll end up doing pretty much the same that you are used on MetaX. And actually, on my initial testing it seems faster than MetaX used to be. Take care Pedro Fardilha
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
Echorob
01 February 2010
This doesn't save to a .mov anymore ? Keeps them in their original format m4v mp4 ?
Like
Version 1.2.1
Jphastings
16 January 2010
Amazingly simple to use, under active development and just does what it says on the tin. Mr. T says "It'll tag your TV, fool." and he's right.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
zx
22 December 2009
Love the interface/options...but still imposble to convert MKV files!
Like (2)
Version 1.2
3 answer(s)
Echorob
Echorob
23 December 2009
I feel this app has very poor quality when converting video no features what so ever for Audio Subtitles ect.... much better to use Handbrake then use iFlicks to add Metadata which for that it is excellent.
Like
Version 1.2
Jendrik
Jendrik
23 December 2009
Can you please send me a PM explaining the problem with MKV files? I'll see what I can do to fix it.
Like
Version 1.2
A91
A91
13 January 2010
are you sure about the mkv, i think it can, i've been converting one for over an hour with 14 hours to go.
Like
Version 1.2
Tom08
13 November 2009
I use both VideoDrive and iFlicks. Both apps have their advantages and shortcomings. I do like the interface of iFlicks more, but in terms of advanced settings and batch processing, VideoDrive is much better. The weird thing is, I have several videos that cannot be processed by iFlicks (crashes, lockups), while VideoDrive handles them nicely.
Like (1)
Version 1.1b600
Nathan-Guinle
28 October 2009
The developer is on top of this app and is actively doing what he can to make it the best converter/metadata app out there.... Simple and easy to use!!!
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Echorob
28 July 2009
The download shows it's version 1.08 same on the website.
Like
Version 1.1 build 414
Echorob
18 July 2009
In order for iTunes to transfer the videos to your Apple TV they have to be modified in a special way. Since only a small portion of users requires this, the option is not enabled by default. If you want your videos to be modified, open the iFlicks Preferences and select the QuickTime tab. There you'll find an option labeled "Make compatible with hacked Apple TV". Once you have enabled this option, all videos imported to iTunes using the QuickTime preset will be transfered to your Apple TV. The option in the preferences is not selectable am i missing something ? By the way everything else it's a fantastic app.
Like
Version 1.0.8
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 July 2009
This option is only available, if "Move Video to a compatible container" is also chosen. Otherwise it wouldn't make any sense to prepare the video, because they would be playable on the Apple TV anyways, or not at all (in case of Reference files).
Like
Version 1.0.8
Echorob
Echorob
19 July 2009
ok thanks for the clarification. Nice app works very well.
Like
Version 1.0.8
Hendsch
19 April 2009
This is excellent software! Does exactly what it says and is easy to use. Way better than VideoDrive: iFlicks can import movies from removable media as well! (VideoDrive imports these files too, but the file information is not editable afterwards) Would be perfect if the information source would be customizable. Actually iFlicks doesn't find any german videos. That's why I gave only 4 stars.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 April 2009
That is exactly what I was aiming for. Thanks ;) I am from Germany myself and will add complete support for German movies as soon as possible. iFlicks is using themoviedb.org to get its metadata for movies, but the site is still very young and there are some remaining issues with their API concerning different languages, umlauts and other special characters. As soon as this fixed I'll make sure to include support in iFlicks.
Like
Version 1.0.3
zo219
13 January 2009
Why in god's name would I want my videos in iTunes, of all things.
Like (2)
Version 0.7.2
3 answer(s)
Dumond
Dumond
13 January 2009
Most likely to transfer to your iPod!
Like (4)
Version 1.0
David-Coffin
David-Coffin
14 January 2009
…or your Apple TV.
Like (3)
Version 1.0
Gryffin
Gryffin
20 April 2009
Or to view them in FrontRow, if you've set up a Mac as your media center.
Like
Version 1.0.4