Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to iFlicks page
iFlicks free download for Mac

iFlicks Reviews3.6

16 November 2020

Easily import your video collection into iTunes.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
freddofoxxy
freddofoxxy
May 14 2021
3.6
4.0
May 14 2021
4.0
Version: 3.6
Great when you can watch your favorite videos. Now, I can add to iTunes. Let we see, how it is working,
acecarne
acecarne
Feb 22 2021
3.6
1.0
Feb 22 2021
1.0
Version: 3.6
iFlicks is a piece of shit software..... what are you talking about. Nothing but problems
Verne-Arase
Verne-Arase
Mar 31 2019
3.0.1
0.0
Mar 31 2019
0.0
Version: 3.0.1
I've been using iFlicks for a long time, and went to the SetApp version when version 3 came out. I've noticed that loading videos into the queue now takes *forever*. Lately I've been buying iTunes box sets, and unfortunately iTunes delivers a box set as a single season with the episode names mangled to include the season and episode number. My standard practice has been to segment episodes into season folders and use an ABFR droplet to rename them back to the format you'd get if you bought individual seasons, and pour them into iFlicks a season at a time to get iFlicks' better metadata. Under iFlicks v2, pouring in a season of episodes into the queue would make the episode posters all appear within a couple of seconds; under v3 it takes minutes for each episode to appear. Is this the fault of SetApp, or has iFlicks v3 taken performance down a dozen or so notches?
Morlo
Morlo
Feb 22 2019
3.0.1
4.0
Feb 22 2019
4.0
Version: 3.0.1
Coolness!!! I give it a 4 because the metadata search is extremely slow.. but in general it is a great piece of software.
Austinnate
Austinnate
Feb 5 2019
3.0.1
5.0
Feb 5 2019
5.0
Version: 3.0.1
I flicks 3 is the latest update to an extremely valuable software! It is an excellent application for incorporating metadata into a movie or TV episode. It’s very simple to use, it also has a convenient batch option - drag, drop, make a few tweaks, select import into iTunes, then press Start. Simple and easy! So….what does it do? It looks up your video files (based on file name or whatever you put in the search field ) from several online databases, and then adds the metadata and artwork to them. It will also encode the files to fit on almost every single device you could think of! Included in the metadata search it also finds the release dates, actors, description, artwork, and more! For movies, it adds rectangular, and for TV shows, it adds square artwork, as the iTunes Store does. iFlicks’ also has user definable rules, available in the app’s preferences. I use these mainly for my personally edited home movies. It lets you choose what the app does when it loads files, after metadata is updated, and after videos are processed. I have it set to add my personal artwork, season & episode, tagline, etc. The developers are ALWAYS listening for feedback. Very responsive. This year they have switched to a subscription model. This seems to be where everyone is slowly heading. All in all…..iFlicks does an amazing job of making video importing easy. If you like a clean iTunes library and are always adding TV shows and/or movies……. It is worth it!
anonymous-buzzard-3462
anonymous-buzzard-3462
Mar 21 2018
2.6.2
4.5
Mar 21 2018
4.5
Version: 2.6.2
Best way to transcode and add metadata to movies to make them macOS and iOS compatible out of the box. Transcoding only takes place if necessary for compatibility, otherwise only metadata is added, which is automatically downloaded from the internet.
Hagar06
Hagar06
Mar 16 2017
2.4.7
3.0
Mar 16 2017
3.0
Version: 2.4.7
Nice interface and handles most but not all files (some inexplicably fail) and slow on metadata. Therefore I prefer VideoDrive which also uses HandBrake, the best in its class, for video conversions. And while the adding videos to iTunes is great and all, I do wish Apple would overhaul iTunes as it has become too bloated
Morlo
Morlo
Jan 17 2016
2.2.4
4.0
Jan 17 2016
4.0
Version: 2.2.4
this is a fantastic app and as they say below, the best of its kind. there are a few caveats imho, which is why I'm not giving it 5 stars. The first is speed. Fetching the metadata is very slow. I have a very fast 150mbit fibre connection and i tested iFlicks before and after I upgraded from a 20mbit speed. There was almost no improvement. Ok if you have a few films, but if you have hundreds it gets complicated. Transcoding each into an itunes compatible format is also cumbersome. I would like to be able to rename files and use rules without having to transcode.
Twisterella
Twisterella
Oct 5 2014
2.1
5.0
Oct 5 2014
5.0
Version: 2.1
Excellent application for incorporating metadata into a movie or TV episode. Pretty simply to use, utilising a very convenient batch option - drag, drop, make a few tweaks, select import into iTunes, then press Start. Simple. Highly recommend to those who like reliable and accurate info on their imported movies and TV shows when playing through iTunes or Apple TV.
Austinnate
Austinnate
Jul 22 2014
2.1
5.0
Jul 22 2014
5.0
Version: 2.1
Great app made by a good developer. the developer listens to feedback from users and adds what he sees fit. SOLID app!!
Ianonline
Ianonline
Oct 12 2013
2.0
5.0
Oct 12 2013
5.0
Version: 2.0
Best App of it's Kind! Version 2 is a huge improvement. New layout with all in one queue and edit. New rules added let you customize and automate everything. Square TV cover art, Faster processing Just to name a few new features. Nothing comes close to this app, Dev has done an outstanding job!
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
Oct 6 2013
1.4.8
4.5
Oct 6 2013
4.5
Version: 1.4.8
There is a iFlicks 2.0 beta available to try out: http://support.iflicksapp.com/entries/26079868-iFlicks-2-0-beta :-)
Povilas
Povilas
Mar 23 2013
1.4.7
5.0
Mar 23 2013
5.0
Version: 1.4.7
The issue with iFlicks selecting the wrong audio track is a big one. Best would be just to let me pick an audio track when multiple audio tracks found, because now it's a lottery and usually the wrong audio track is selected. Fix it please.
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
Sep 30 2012
1.4.6
4.5
Sep 30 2012
4.5
Version: 1.4.6
I would give it a perfect 5 if the preset "Reference File" would work. But no, I have change iTunes to work in 32bit (because thats the recommendation on iFlicks site for this preset to work) and although it makes the small reference file appear and play fine in iTunes, it does not appear or play in my Apple TV 3. I have to mux (without encoding) all my MKV films with the option "iTunes compatible". Witch is perfect by the way. But it takes more time than a simple "Reference File". Waiting for the next update to "fix" this. But still, a great app that I'm going to by in the next update. ;-)
Jolly-joker
Jolly-joker
Aug 21 2012
1.4.6
4.5
Aug 21 2012
4.5
Version: 1.4.6
Isn't iFlicks supposed to embed SubStation Alpha from MKV?! it should, but it doesn't work! Really annoying! I'm importing in iTunes all my movies from DVD, extracting them with makeMKV, and, before using iFlicks, I have an MKV with every subtitles I want; after iFlicks, no subs. Am I doing something wrong or it's an iFlicks problem?
Jolly-joker
Jolly-joker
Jun 24 2012
1.4.5
4.5
Jun 24 2012
4.5
Version: 1.4.5
Great App!!! The best in its genre, with its precise metadata and artworks from "The Movie Database". But.. 1) It's not possible to import a video with its subtitles (.srt and .sub files) 2) It's not possible to import from a DVD (like from a VIDEO_TS folder or an .iso file) 3) It's not possible to specifically choose which fields take from TMDb (for example I would like to deselect to import comments, tagline and stars). 4) It doesn't work on correcting genre and stars when you select multiple movies. 5) It sometimes crashes, specially with .flv video Fix these things, and this app will be a 5 STAR app!
moog5
moog5
Mar 20 2012
1.4.3
3.0
Mar 20 2012
3.0
Version: 1.4.3
Nice functionality, however... Only processes one file at a time, making progress very slow for multi-file batches. Generates a large amount of inactive RAM when doing batches, and never seems to release it. If I do a TV season for example, I have to restart my Mac afterwards to get my memory back (2.8 GHz i7 with 16 GB RAM).
Lachy
Lachy
Oct 31 2011
1.4.1
0.0
Oct 31 2011
0.0
Version: 1.4.1
Hi, I just updated my Iflicks on my wifes mac 10.5 and the new version isn't compatible with that but every time I download a previous version it reverts to the new one and I cant seem to get it to work. Is there a work around for this problem? Many thanks
Tryme
Tryme
Jul 26 2011
1.4.0
2.5
Jul 26 2011
2.5
Version: 1.4.0
If you have not updated to 1.4 yet, do yourself a favour - don't. I don't use the encoding functionality so my review is specifically about the metadata function. I have raved about and recommended iFlicks to a lot of people, it is an excellent app that does metadata search and write quickly and efficiently - except version 1.4. The switch from AppleScript to Services, while a little painful, would have been more palatable if the new method worked - the simple fact is that it doesn't. In fact with 1.4 the app has become one frustrating to use crippled mess. The selected service will work 1 in 10 times, the app 9 out of 10 times will hang - and that is when trying to add media by the service menu, + button or drag and drop. It is astounding that the developer has released such a buggy mess to the market. I have downgraded to 1.2.3 because it actually works. I'll think long and hard before upgrading again.
LizBo
LizBo
Jul 16 2011
1.4.0
0.0
Jul 16 2011
0.0
Version: 1.4.0
Requirements are incorrect for version 1.4.0! The developer has stopped support for PowerPC leaving behind those paying customers that helped paved the way for a crap store submission. Requirements Mac OS X 10.6 and higher (10.6.8 or higher recommended). iTunes 10.2 and QuickTime Perian 1.2.2 is recommended for best video format support. This is the 20th developer that has rudely abandoned paying customers in their vain hopes of making a quick buck at the MAS. And this was the last one I will ever pay for software again. I'm through with supporting people that don't give a rat's ass about their customers. I thought I left this kind of mentality behind when I converted from a Microsoft dominated platform to the Macintosh platform. The tables have turned and it's Apple who's telling everyone how high or when to jump. And the lemmings follow them off the cliff. Thank you for nothing and for adding the fixes of bugs I paid for into a version I can not use. I own a MBP 2011 but I prefer to use the G5 as a server and a workhorse to avoid slowing my work projects down.
Gex2501
Gex2501
Jul 11 2011
1.2.3
3.5
Jul 11 2011
3.5
Version: 1.2.3
I like this program, it's got some bugs and issues but I use it a lot to import my converted dvd's and tv shows. It would be really nice to see an update for 10.7 Lion and to iron out the wrinkles in it. It's been a year since the last update.
dnoguero
dnoguero
May 15 2011
1.2.3
2.5
May 15 2011
2.5
Version: 1.2.3
I really want to like this program. It does what it claims pretty well. It's nice to be able to update meta data directly in iTunes and it's auto-downloading of meta data is quite nice. Unfortunately, it is marred by a number of frustrating bugs. The app is constantly freezing (spinning beach ball) or outright crashing for me. I've submitted the first few crash reports to the developer in hopes that they can improve its stability. It also seems to have problems recognizing video types (movie, tv show, etc.) and I'm constantly having to update that manually either in the app or after it exports to iTunes. All in all, this app has great potential but for $23 I'd expect a more stable app.
Chris-Gardner
Chris-Gardner
Jun 14 2010
1.2.3
0.0
Jun 14 2010
0.0
Version: 1.2.3
Great product, works exactly as described. Saving me tons of time now getting my video collection just the way I want it. Would highly recommend.
Landencrews
Landencrews
Apr 9 2010
1.2.2
5.0
Apr 9 2010
5.0
Version: 1.2.2
I have just started using iFlicks after a friend recommended it, and it is great. I have a big collection of movies that just sits in my movies folder. But with iflicks, it almost seamlessly put the movies I wanted right into itunesor wherever I choose. This was a great way to manage my movie collection and not have to fill in the info by myself, (since it did it for me.) I was surprised how easily it was imported into iTunes. With the power of Handbrake and iFlicks, your movie collection on your computer is now a very powerful thing. It is great for any home theater guru like myself.
Elmo151
Elmo151
Feb 21 2010
1.2.2
0.0
Feb 21 2010
0.0
Version: 1.2.2
bought it [1.2.2]; launched it; loaded dvd in iMac24 10.6.2; set preferences [apple tv] and it hung up; had to force quit on screen was processing 0 of 0 can I get a refund?
csaborio
csaborio
Feb 14 2010
1.2.1
4.0
Feb 14 2010
4.0
Version: 1.2.1
I like this software quite a bit, especially the Turbo.264 integration, the iTunes integration, and how smart it is to search files. However, it would be nice if it could keep the format of the original file. I am converting an mp4 using Turbo.264 and it generates only mov files regardless of what Format I select. If this was fixed, it'd be the perfect app for tagging mp4 files. Thanks!
Echorob
Echorob
Feb 1 2010
1.2.1
0.0
Feb 1 2010
0.0
Version: 1.2.1
This doesn't save to a .mov anymore ? Keeps them in their original format m4v mp4 ?
Jphastings
Jphastings
Jan 16 2010
1.2
5.0
Jan 16 2010
5.0
Version: 1.2
Amazingly simple to use, under active development and just does what it says on the tin. Mr. T says "It'll tag your TV, fool." and he's right.
zx
zx
Dec 22 2009
1.2
3.0
Dec 22 2009
3.0
Version: 1.2
Love the interface/options...but still imposble to convert MKV files!
Tom08
Tom08
Nov 13 2009
1.1b600
3.0
Nov 13 2009
3.0
Version: 1.1b600
I use both VideoDrive and iFlicks. Both apps have their advantages and shortcomings. I do like the interface of iFlicks more, but in terms of advanced settings and batch processing, VideoDrive is much better. The weird thing is, I have several videos that cannot be processed by iFlicks (crashes, lockups), while VideoDrive handles them nicely.
pflugernate
pflugernate
Oct 28 2009
1.1
5.0
Oct 28 2009
5.0
Version: 1.1
The developer is on top of this app and is actively doing what he can to make it the best converter/metadata app out there.... Simple and easy to use!!!
Echorob
Echorob
Jul 28 2009
1.1 build 414
0.0
Jul 28 2009
0.0
Version: 1.1 build 414
The download shows it's version 1.08 same on the website.
Echorob
Echorob
Jul 18 2009
1.0.8
0.0
Jul 18 2009
0.0
Version: 1.0.8
In order for iTunes to transfer the videos to your Apple TV they have to be modified in a special way. Since only a small portion of users requires this, the option is not enabled by default. If you want your videos to be modified, open the iFlicks Preferences and select the QuickTime tab. There you'll find an option labeled "Make compatible with hacked Apple TV". Once you have enabled this option, all videos imported to iTunes using the QuickTime preset will be transfered to your Apple TV. The option in the preferences is not selectable am i missing something ? By the way everything else it's a fantastic app.
Hendsch
Hendsch
Apr 19 2009
1.0.3
4.0
Apr 19 2009
4.0
Version: 1.0.3
This is excellent software! Does exactly what it says and is easy to use. Way better than VideoDrive: iFlicks can import movies from removable media as well! (VideoDrive imports these files too, but the file information is not editable afterwards) Would be perfect if the information source would be customizable. Actually iFlicks doesn't find any german videos. That's why I gave only 4 stars.
anonymous-tapir-4715
anonymous-tapir-4715
Jan 13 2009
0.7.2
0.0
Jan 13 2009
0.0
Version: 0.7.2
Why in god's name would I want my videos in iTunes, of all things.